DETAILED ACTION
Amendments
Applicants’ amendments to the claims filed 9/19/2025 have been entered. Any objection\rejections from the previous office action filed 3/19/2025 not addressed below has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1,3-15,17 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Babich et al. (US 2013/0336888), as applied to claims 1-3,8-13,15,17 and 20 above, in view of William et al. (US 2007/0041934) in view of Kim et al. (US 2012/0256102) in view of Chen et al. “Integrin Targeting for Tumor Optical Imaging”, Theranostics 2011; 1:102-126, for the reasons set forth in the previous action filed 3/19/2025.
Claim(s) 1,3-18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Babich et al. (US 2013/0336888), in view of William et al. (US 2007/0041934) in view of Kim et al. (US 2012/0256102) in view of Chen et al., cited above, as applied to claims 1-15,17 and 20 above, in view of Lesniak et al. (US 2019/0060490), for the reasons set forth in the previous action filed 3/19/2025.
Double Patenting
Claims 1,3-18 and 20 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1,5-10,13-16,18,20,22-23,26-29 and 31-33 of copending Application No. 17/312,548 (reference application), for the reasons set forth in the previous action filed 3/19/2025.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/19/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicants assert Babich teaches at least 80% of the surface groups are conjugated to PSMA while their claimed compounds have an upper limit of 30%.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., 30% PSMA upper limit) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Applicants assert that while Babich teaches the PSMA-dendrimers can contain DOTA they provide no specific conjugation chemistry, radiolabeling, in-vivo imaging or pharmacokinetic data. Thus, applicants surmise one of ordinary skill could not arrive at the presently claimed dendrimers.
Since Babich teaches chelating agents could be bound to the dendrimer one of ordinary skill would readily envisage or find it obvious to produced a dendrimer with bound chelating agent. Chemistry is a mature field and one of ordinary skill in the art, a chemist, could attach chemical moieties to the dendrimer through routine techniques with a reasonable expectation of success. Obviousness does not require absolute predictability of success. In re 0 'Farrell, 853 F.2d 894, 903-04 (Fed. Cir. 1988). Regardless the claimed imaging agent is also provided by the secondary references Kim and Chen.
With regard to the secondary reference Lesniak, applicants assert it teaches CEST agents as opposed to the claimed PSMA agents and would not be applicable to the inventive dendrimers.
In response to applicant's argument that Lesniak teaches CEST agents, the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981). Lesniak was used for its disclosure that amino propane-1,3-diol was a well-known end group for PAMAM dendrimers before the time of the claimed invention and endgroup modification provided different surface properties to modify the dendrimers pharmacokinetics. The CEST agents were not incorporated into the primary reference, only endgroup modification with amino propane-1,3-diol. Since the references are all generally related in their teachings of PAMAM dendrimer conjugates one of ordinary skill would have a high expectation of success in substituting some of the dendrimer end groups with amino propane-1,3-diol.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAMES W ROGERS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1618