DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is sent in response to Applicant’s Communication received 11 May 2026 for application number 17/744,535. The Office hereby acknowledges receipt of the following and placed of record in file: Applicant Arguments/Remarks, and Claims.
Claims 1-4, 6-18, and 21-22 are presented for examination. Elected claims 1-4, 6-8, and 21-22 are examined below. Non-elected claims 9-18 have been withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant contends that the prior art does not teach, “a first electronic or optoelectronic device monolithically formed on a first build surface of the top layer, the first electronic or optoelectronic device being energy-coupled to the microchannels through the top layer; and a second electronic or optoelectronic device formed on a second build surface on the bottom layer of the epitaxial structure opposed to the first build surface, the second electronic or optoelectronic device being energy-coupled to the microchannels through the bottom layer”; Examiner respectfully disagrees. As expressed below, Matioli teaches a first electronic or optoelectronic device [optoelectronic components 8 or high voltage application; paras 0100 and 0102] monolithically formed on a first build surface [surface of 2/7, hereinafter as “1BS”] of the top layer [8 is on 2/7], the first electronic or optoelectronic device [8] being energy-coupled [8 is coupled to 6 through 2 and 7 to dissipate heat energy; para 0104 discloses microchannel is in direct contact with semiconductor top and active layers 7, 9] to the microchannels [6] through the top layer [2/7], in a particular, the first build surface [2/7] and electronic or optoelectronic device [8] being energy-coupled to the microchannels [6] through the top layer [2/7]. Matioli and Wells teach a second electronic or optoelectronic device [circuit device 122 may be formed on surface 120 or surface 118; Figs. 30-31, col. 12, lines 1-20 of Wells] formed on a second build surface [118 of Wells] on the bottom layer [3 of Matioli, analogously, semiconductor material 12 of Wells] of the epitaxial structure [AS of Matioli] opposed to the first build surface [1BS of Matioli], the second electronic or optoelectronic device [122] being energy-coupled to the microchannels [6 of Matioli, analogously, trenches 14 of Wells] through the bottom layer [semiconductor material 12 of Wells]. That is, it is the combination of Matioli and Wells, not either reference alone, that teaches, “a second electronic or optoelectronic device formed on a second build surface on the bottom layer of the epitaxial structure opposed to the first build surface, the second electronic or optoelectronic device being energy-coupled to the microchannels through the bottom layer”.
The instant invention is essentially directed towards a first electronic or optoelectronic device coupled to a microchannel on one side and a second electronic or optoelectronic device coupled on the other side of the microchannel. Matioli teaches a first electronic or optoelectronic device coupled to a microchannel on one side. Wells teaches that a (second) electronic or optoelectronic device may be coupled to an epitaxial channel structure on either side. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine these features of Matioli and Wells to provide an epitaxial channel structure with electronic or optoelectronic device coupled on both either sides. One would have been motivated to do so to conserve space and provide heat dissipation for multiple devices simultaneously.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, and 21-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matioli et al. [hereinafter as Matioli] (US 2023/0037442 A1) in view of Wells et al. [hereinafter as Wells] (US 7,557,002 B2).
In reference to claim 1, Matioli teaches An apparatus comprising:
an epitaxial structure [epitaxial structure AS, as shown in Figs. 1a-h; paras 0091-0104] comprising a bottom layer [non-native support layer 3], channel walls [walls of cavities 6, hereinafter as “CW”] formed on the bottom layer [3], and a top layer [upper layer 2/semiconductor top layer 7] that encloses the channel walls [2 encloses 6] and forms microchannels [6] therebetween, the bottom layer [3], channel walls [CW], and top layer [2/7] comprising a monolithic, crystalline formation [para 0014 discloses creating microchannels in a monocrystalline silicon substrate; para 0025 discloses the structure is monolithic]; and
a first electronic or optoelectronic device [optoelectronic components 8 for high voltage application; paras 0100 and 0102] monolithically formed on a first build surface [surface of 2/7, hereinafter as “1BS”] of the top layer [8 is on 2/7], the first electronic or optoelectronic device [8] being energy-coupled [8 is coupled to 6 through 2 and 7 to dissipate heat energy; para 0104 discloses microchannel is in direct contact with semiconductor top and active layers 7, 9] to the microchannels [6] through the top layer [2/7].
However, while Matioli teaches the first build surface [2/7] and electronic or optoelectronic device [8] being energy-coupled to the microchannels [6] through the bottom layer or the top layer [2/7], Matioli does not explicitly teach a second electronic or optoelectronic device formed on a second build surface on the bottom layer of the epitaxial structure opposed to the first build surface, the second electronic or optoelectronic device being energy-coupled to the microchannels through the bottom layer.
Matioli and Wells teach a second electronic or optoelectronic device [circuit device 122 may be formed on surface 120 or surface 118; Figs. 30-31, col. 12, lines 1-20 of Wells] formed on a second build surface [118 of Wells] on the bottom layer [3 of Matioli, analogously, semiconductor material 12 of Wells] of the epitaxial structure [AS of Matioli] opposed to the first build surface [1BS of Matioli], the second electronic or optoelectronic device [122] being energy-coupled [Matioli: 8 is coupled to 6 through 2 and 7 to dissipate heat energy; para 0104 discloses microchannel is in direct contact with semiconductor top and active layers 7, 9] to the microchannels [6 of Matioli, analogously, trenches 14 of Wells] through the bottom layer [3 of Matioli, analogously, 12 of Wells].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art, absent unexpected results, having the teachings of Matioli and Wells before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include the ability to form an electronic device on a top or bottom semiconductor layer as disclosed by Wells into the epitaxial structure with an electronic device formed on a top semiconductor layer of Matioli in order to obtain an epitaxial structure with a first electronic device formed on a top semiconductor layer and a second electronic device formed on a bottom semiconductor layer.
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to obtain an epitaxial structure with a first electronic device formed on a top semiconductor layer and a second electronic device formed on a bottom semiconductor layer to conserve semiconductor wafer real estate [Wells, col. 1, line 16] and provide heat dissipation for multiple devices simultaneously.
In reference to claim 2, Matioli and Wells teach the invention of claim 1.
Matioli teaches The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the energy coupling of the first electronic or optoelectronic device [8] to the microchannels [6] comprises heat transfer [paras 0006, 0021-0022 disclose heat transfer, cooling, and heat dissipation of semiconductor devices via the microchannels] from the first electronic or optoelectronic device [8] to a heat transfer fluid or gas [para 0021 discloses the microchannels may be used to flow matter in liquid, i.e. fluid, or gaseous states] in the microchannels [6].
In reference to claim 4, Matioli and Wells teach the invention of claim 2.
Matioli teaches The apparatus of claim 2, wherein the first electronic device comprises a transistor [para 0021 discloses the device may be a transistor].
Matioli is silent as to explicitly teaching the transistor is a high-electron-mobility transistor.
It is readily known that HEMTs are one of a plurality of known types of transistors.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art, absent unexpected results, having the teachings of Matioli and Wells before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include an HEMT into the epitaxial structure with microchannels of Matioli and Wells in order to obtain an epitaxial structure with high performance transistors which are energy coupled to microchannels that can dissipate heat effectively.
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to obtain an HEMT with an epitaxial structure with microchannels that can dissipate heat such in an application which requires a high performance transistor with reliable heat dissipation.
In reference to claim 21, Matioli and Wells teach the invention of claim 1.
Matioli and Wells teach The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first electronic or optoelectronic device [8 of Matioli] and the second electronic or optoelectronic device [122 of Wells] are disposed on opposite sides of the microchannels [6 of Matioli, analogously 14 of Wells].
In reference to claim 22, Matioli and Wells teach the invention of claim 1.
Matioli and Wells teach The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the microchannels [6 of Matioli, analogously 14 of Wells] are disposed between the first build surface and the second build surface [Matioli teaches that 8 may be coupled on one side; Wells teaches that 122 may be coupled on either side; therefore, the combination of Matioli and Wells teaches the claimed structure].
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matioli in view of Wells further in view of Rust, III et al. [hereinafter as Rust] (US 2015/0207465 A1).
In reference to claim 3, Matioli and Wells teach the invention of claim 2.
However, Matioli and Wells do not explicitly teach The apparatus of claim 2, wherein the heat transfer fluid evaporates to a vapor in first part of the microchannels proximate the first electronic or optoelectronic device and condenses to a liquid in a second part of the microchannels away from the first electronic or optoelectronic device, wherein the liquid flows back to the first part of the microchannels via capillary forces.
Rust teaches The apparatus of claim 2, wherein the heat transfer fluid evaporates to a vapor in first part of the microchannels proximate the first electronic or optoelectronic device and condenses to a liquid in a second part of the microchannels away from the first electronic or optoelectronic device, wherein the liquid flows back to the first part of the microchannels via capillary forces [Fig. 2, para 0017-0025 discloses that a micro-channel has an evaporator portion and a condensation portion; fluid flows, i.e. capillary flow, to allow heat to be transferred via vaporization].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art, absent unexpected results, having the teachings of Matioli, Wells, and Rust before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include the evaporation/condensation process within microchannels as disclosed by Rust into the epitaxial structure with microchannels of Matioli and Wells in order to obtain an epitaxial structure with microchannels that can dissipate heat via an evaporation/condensation process.
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to obtain an epitaxial structure with microchannels that can dissipate heat via an evaporation/condensation process to provide an efficient way of dissipating heat.
Claim(s) 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matioli in view of Wells further in view of Cooksey et al. [hereinafter as Cooksey] (US 2021/0055201 A1).
In reference to claim 6, Matioli and Wells teach the invention of claim 1.
However, Matioli and Wells do not explicitly teach The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first electronic or optoelectronic device comprises a light emitter optically coupled to the microchannels and the second electronic device comprises a light detector optically coupled to the microchannels, and wherein an analyte flows through the microchannels, and the light emitter and light detector are configured to perform a spectral analysis on the analyte.
Cooksey teaches The apparatus [Figs. 1-3, para 0020] of claim 5, wherein the first electronic or optoelectronic device comprises a light emitter [first light source 219.1] optically coupled to the microchannels [microchannel 213] and the second electronic device comprises a light detector [optical detector 205] optically coupled to the microchannels [213], and wherein an analyte [first analyte 201] flows through the microchannels [213], and the light emitter [219.1] and light detector [205] are configured to perform a spectral analysis [para 0038-0041 disclose spectral analysis of an analyte] on the analyte [201].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art, absent unexpected results, having the teachings of Matioli, Wells, and Cooksey before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include the light emitting/detecting device as disclosed by Cooksey into the epitaxial structure of Matioli and Wells in order to obtain an epitaxial structure with a light emitting/detecting device that allows for analysis of an analyte in microchannels.
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to obtain an epitaxial structure with a light emitting/detecting device that allows for analysis of an analyte in microchannels to provide an easier, more accurate way of optical detection [Cooksey, para 0016].
In reference to claim 7, Matioli and Wells teach the invention of claim 1.
However, Matioli and Wells do not explicitly teach The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first electronic or optoelectronic device comprises an electromagnetic transmitter or receiver that is electromagnetically coupled to the microchannels, the microchannels configured as waveguides to propagate electromagnetic energy from or to the electromagnetic transmitter or receiver.
Cooksey teaches The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first electronic or optoelectronic device comprises an electromagnetic transmitter or receiver [219.1/205] that is electromagnetically coupled to the microchannels [213], the microchannels [213] configured as waveguides [paras 0050, 0053 disclose microchannels/waveguides in a substrate to facilitate light detection] to propagate electromagnetic energy from or to the electromagnetic transmitter or receiver [219.1/205].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art, absent unexpected results, having the teachings of Matioli, Wells, and Cooksey before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include the light emitting/detecting device with microchannels/waveguides as disclosed by Cooksey into the epitaxial structure with microchannels of Matioli and Wells in order to obtain an epitaxial structure with a light emitting/detecting device with microchannels/waveguides.
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to obtain an epitaxial structure with a light emitting/detecting device with microchannels/waveguides to provide an easier, more accurate way of optical detection [Cooksey, para 0016].
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matioli in view of Wells further in view of Chen et al. [hereinafter as Chen] (US 2022/0208694 A1).
In reference to claim 8, Matioli and Wells teach the invention of claim 1.
However, Matioli and Wells do not explicitly teach The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the epitaxial structure is formed from AlxGa1-x-yInyN.
Chen teaches The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the epitaxial structure is formed from AlxGa1-x-yInyN [para 0027 discloses an epitaxial structure formed from AlGaInN].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art, absent unexpected results, having the teachings of Matioli, Wells, and Chen before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include the AlGaInN material as disclosed by Chen into the epitaxial structure with microchannels of Matioli and Wells in order to obtain an epitaxial structure made from AlGaInN.
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to obtain an epitaxial structure made from AlGaInN to provide more efficient application with optoelectronic devices due to smaller bandgaps and smaller effective masses of AlGaInN compounds.
Conclusion
/ANDREW CHUNG/
Examiner, Art Unit 2898