DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4 and 6-11 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen, US-PGPUB 2021/0063471 in view of the Applicant Admitted Prior Art, US, US-PGPUB 2022/0390509 (hereinafter AAPA)
Regarding Claim 1. Chen discloses a testing equipment, comprising: a machine, and a plurality of testing modules disposed on the machine (Fig. 1; Fig. 12; Paragraph [0111]), multiple testing modules), wherein each of the testing module includes a circuit board, a testing carrier disposed on the circuit board and carrying a target object (Paragraphs [0027], [0068], Figs. 1-2, testing a semiconductor wafer-form package that include dies or target objects, and sockets; Paragraph [0105], testing whether there is sufficient contact between the dies) and a processor disposed on the circuit board and electrically connected to the testing carrier (Paragraph [0031], automatic testing equipment. The controller may include a processor, and “in some alternative embodiment, the controller is a built-in component of the testing module), wherein the testing carrier is used for capturing a target information of the target object and for transmitting the target information to the processor via the circuit board (Paragraph [0068]). Note: Chen discloses that each testing module includes a circuit board with a processor as part of the built-in component. Although, Chen does not explicitly disclose a processor in each testing module, one of ordinary skill in the art would have obviously recognized that each circuit boards would have a built-in processor in one embodiment, involving multiple testing modules. Applicant’s argument in regard to a single controller for testing more than one testing module is merely one particular embodiment, and Chen is certainly not restricted to that particular embodiment. Furthermore, as known in the art, it is conventional to include a processor as part of the circuit board in each of the testing modules, as disclosed in AAPA in Fig. 1 (as indicated by control chip 12). As such, it would have been obvious to have a plurality of testing modules, with each testing modules including a processor, as claimed, based on what is already known.
Regarding Claim 5. Chen discloses the testing carrier is used for capturing a target information of the target object (Paragraph [0031], sending testing signal and receiving the responsive signal and evaluating the test result)
Regarding Claim 3. Chen discloses the machine is electrically connected to the circuit board of each of the plurality of testing modules (Paragraph [0031], ATE; Paragraph [0111], multiple testing modules)
Regarding Claim 4. Chen discloses the circuit board is electrically connected to the testing carrier and/or the processor (Fig. 1; Paragraph [0031], controller 300)
Regarding Claim 6. Chen discloses the processor is used for processing the target information of the target object to calculate a detecting information of the target object (Paragraph [0031], controller 300 evaluating the test results)
Regarding Claim 7. AAPA discloses a plurality of testing modules export the detecting information for compiling operations (Fig. 1; Paragraph [0004])
Regarding Claim 8. Chen discloses each of the plurality of testing modules further includes a controller disposed on the circuit board (Paragraph [0031], Paragraph [0111])
Regarding Claim 9. Chen discloses the controller is electrically connected to the circuit board (Paragraph [0031]; Figs. 1, 12)
Regarding Claim 10. Chen discloses the controller is electrically connected to the testing carrier and/or the processor (Paragraph [0031])
Regarding Claim 11. Chen discloses the circuit board has at least one transmission port electrically connected to the testing carrier (Figs. 2-15)
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/14/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
5. Applicant argues that Chen, in view of AAPA, fails to disclose “each of the plurality of testing modules includes a circuit board….and a processor disposed on the circuit board.” Furthermore, Applicant argues that the control chip of AAPA merely performs low-end control functions, and cannot be equivalent to the processor as recited in independent claims 1.
In Response, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. The Fig. 12A discussed by the Applicant is merely one of several different embodiments disclosed in Chen, and certainly does not represent the entire Chen. Having said that, Chen discloses in Paragraph [0031] that in some alternative embodiment, the controller 300 (which includes processor) is a built-in component of the testing module 100A. This means that for a plurality of testing modules 100As, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to recognize each testing modules having the built-in controller 300 as well in one embodiment, particularly given that it is conventional to include a processor as part of the circuit board in each of the testing modules according to AAPA.
Furthermore, the claim 1 does not recites any processing of the processor (such as receiving and processing the target information); rather, it merely recites a generic processor. The claim 6 recites “the processor is used for processing the target information of the target object to calculate a detecting information of the target object.” However, said limitation is merely an intended use of the processor and don’t have any patentable weight (although it has been rejected in the rejection). Furthermore, even when given patentable weight, the said limitation is generic, and the control chip 12 in AAPA is certainly capable of processing such a generic information. Applicant is also advised that the manner of operating the apparatus claim does not differentiate apparatus claim from the prior art (MPEP 2114, section II).
In summary, particularly given that it is conventional to have a processor in each of the testing modules, it would have been obvious to use the teachings of Chen and AAPA and arrive at the claimed apparatus claim. For these reasons, the rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HYUN D PARK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2857