DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed December 09, 2025 has been entered. Claims 1-8, 11-15, and 17-23 remain pending in the application. Claims 3-5, 7, 11-15, and 17 remain withdrawn, as being drawn to nonelected species.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the metal stack disposed on top of the nanowire in independent claims 1 and 18 (Examiner notes that [0069] of the instant invention discloses top reflecting layers in reference to Fig 2 but does not point to any particular area of Fig 2; [0116] of the instant invention discloses Fig 7A is shown before depositing the top reflecting layer) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1, 2, 6, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mi et.
al. (US 20190148583 A1), hereinafter Mi, in view of Auzelle et. al. (“Tuning the orientation of the top-facets of GaN nanowires in molecular beam epitaxy by thermal decomposition,” Phys. Rev. Materials 3, 013402, 2019), hereinafter Auzelle, in further view of NIST (“GaN Nanowires: Knowing Which End Is Up,” https://www.nist.gov/news-events/news/2015/09/gan-nanowires-knowing-which-end, 2015), in further view of Munshi et. al. (US 20220052236 A1), hereinafter Munshi.
Regarding claim 1, Mi teaches a nanowire (Fig 1 nanowire 100, [0043]) operable for emitting light (description of nanowire photonic structures, [0005])comprising: a nitrogen-polar (N-polar) gallium nitride (GaN) layer (Fig 1 first semiconductor region 110, [0043]) having a first dopant type (n-dope, [0043]) formed by selective area growth (Fig 2 step 210, [0045]); and an axial heterostructure (Fig 1 multiple core structures 120 and 130, [0044]) disposed on top (Fig 1) of the N-polar GaN layer (Fig 1 first semiconductor region, [0043]), wherein the axial heterostructure (Fig 1 multiple core structures 120 and 130, [0044]) includes; a plurality of indium gallium nitride (InGaN) quantum well (Fig 1 InGaN, quantum core structure 120, [0044]) layers formed by the selective area growth (selective area epitaxy, [0046]); and a GaN layer (Fig 1 second semiconductor region 150, [0043]) having a second dopant type (p-dope, [0043]) formed by the selective area growth (selective area epitaxy, [0050]) disposed on top of the axial heterostructure (Fig 1 multiple core structures 120 and 130, [0044]).
With regards to the nitrogen-polar (N-polar) facet, Auzelle teaches a Ga-polar facet nanowire has a pencil-like shape and a N-polar facet nanowire has the shape of a hexagonal prism with a flat facet at top (Introduction). Mi shows the nanowire having the shape of a hexagonal prism with a flat facet at the top (Fig 1). One having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have known to grow nanowires with a N-polar facet to arrive at a structure similar to Mi. Further, it was known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that N-polar nanowires grow faster than Ga-polar nanowires (NIST article). This would improve manufacturing time. MPEP 2143(I)(G)
Mi and Auzelle fail to teach a metal stack comprising Ag, Al and Au disposed on top of the nanowire, as a reflecting layer.
However, Munshi teaches a metal stack (Fig 5b DBR 512, [0132]; Examiner notes that an alternative to a DBR is a metallic reflective layer, [0106]) comprising Ag, Al and Au (based on Al and may additionally/alternately comprise Ag and Au, [0106]) disposed on top of the nanowire (Fig 5b nanowires 514, [0132] corresponds to Mi: Fig 1 nanowire 100, [0043]), as a reflecting layer metal mirror ([0106]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Mi and Auzelle to incorporate the teachings of Munshi by having a metal stack comprising Ag, Al and Au disposed on top of the nanowire, as a reflecting layer. This would reflect light back into the nanostructure for further emission ([0047]).
Examiner notes that, while Munshi does not specifically teach a stack comprising Ag, Al and Au, one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would reasonably conclude making a stack with Ag, Al and Au. Munshi teaches the metallic reflective layer is based on Al and may additionally/alternately comprise Ag and Au to arrange for light feedback into the nanowire ([0106]). MPEP 2144.01
Regarding claim 2, Mi as modified in claim 1 teaches the nanowire (Fig 1 nanowire 100, [0043]) is a light emitting diode (LED) (nanowire photonic structures can be used for LED and laser operations, [0010]).
Regarding claim 6, Mi as modified in claim 1 teaches the nanowire (Fig 1 nanowire 100, [0043]) comprises a lateral dimension less than 1 micrometer (approximately 200nm, [0045]).
It is noted for clarity of the record that the lateral dimension in Mi is for the lower portion of the nanowire (Fig 1 lower portion of the nanowire 110, [0045]). One having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would recognize that the nanowire would have a lateral dimension of approximately the same size as the lower portion as the nanowire is grown from the bottom up.
Regarding claim 8, Mi as modified in claim 1 teaches the axial heterostructure (Fig 1 multiple core structures 120 and 130, [0044]) further includes a plurality of aluminum gallium nitride (AlGaN) barrier layers (Fig 1 first quantum barrier region 130, [0047]) formed by the selective area growth (selective area epitaxy, [0047]).
Claims 18 and 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mi et. al. (US 20190148583 A1), hereinafter Mi, in view of Mi et. al. (US 20120205613 A1), hereinafter Mi2, in further view of Brick et. al. (US 20210082886 A1), hereinafter Brick, in further view of Munshi et. al. (US 20220052236 A1), hereinafter Munshi, with support from Auzelle et. al. (“Tuning the orientation of the top-facets of GaN nanowires in molecular beam epitaxy by thermal decomposition,” Phys. Rev. Materials 3, 013402, 2019), hereinafter Auzelle and NIST (“GaN Nanowires: Knowing Which End Is Up,” https://www.nist.gov/news-events/news/2015/09/gan-nanowires-knowing-which-end, 2015).
Regarding claim 18, Mi teaches a light emitting device (Fig 3 nanowire device, [0052]) comprising: a plurality of nanowires (Fig 3 nanowire device 310, [0052]), wherein each of the plurality of nanowires (Fig 3 nanowire device 310, [0052]) comprises; a nitrogen-polar (N-polar) gallium nitride (GaN) layer (Fig 1 first semiconductor region 110, [0043]) having a first dopant type (n-dope, [0043]) formed by selective area growth (Fig 4A the first semiconductor region 110 is formed in openings of the nano-pattern layer, [0058]; additionally, selective area epitaxy is described in the formation of the first semiconductor region 110, [0045]); an axial heterostructure (Fig 1 multiple core structures 120 and 130, [0044]), disposed on top of the N-polar GaN layer (Fig 1 first semiconductor region 110, [0043]), comprising a plurality of polar c-plane indium gallium nitride (InGaN) quantum well layers (Fig 1 InGaN, quantum core structure 120, [0044]) disposed on the N-polar GaN layer (Fig 1 first semiconductor region, [0043]); a plurality of aluminum gallium nitride (AlGaN) barrier layers (Fig 1 first quantum barrier region 130, [0047]) disposed on respective ones of the plurality of polar c-plane indium gallium nitride (InGaN) quantum well layers (Fig 1 InGaN, quantum core structure 120, [0044]); a conformal passivation layer (Fig 3 optically transmissive layer 345, [0054]) between the plurality of nanowires (Fig 3 nanowire device 310, [0052]); wherein the light emitting device (Fig 3 nanowire device, [0052]) is operable for emitting light (windows are present for emitting light, [0054]).
Mi fails to teach an AlGaN layer having a second dopant type disposed on a top one of the plurality of aluminum gallium nitride (AlGaN) barrier layers; and a conformal passivation layer formed by atomic layer deposition (ALD) between the plurality of nanowires, wherein the LED has an external quantum efficiency (EOE) greater than 5%, and wherein the LED is in the range of 1-10 micrometers in lateral dimension.
Regarding, a AlGaN layer having a second dopant type disposed on a top one of the plurality of aluminum gallium nitride (AlGaN) barrier layers. Mi2 teaches a AlGaN layer (Fig 28 AlGaN EBL) having a second dopant type (p-doped,[0161]; Fig 28 bottom of nanowire is n-doped GaN; same structure as in Fig 26,[0160] and [0151]). One having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been able to modify the nanowire of Mi by adding the AlGaN EBL of Mi2 with a reasonable expectation of success to arrive at a structure with a AlGaN layer having a second dopant type disposed on a top one of the plurality of aluminum gallium nitride (AlGaN) barrier layers. This would aid in controlling electron leakage ([0160]). MPEP 2143(I)(G)
Regarding a conformal passivation layer formed by atomic layer deposition (ALD) between the plurality of nanowires. The limitation formed by atomic layer deposition (ALD) in line 10 is a process, and the claim is directed to a product. It has been held that a product-by-process claim is directed to the product per se, regardless of how the product is actually made. In re Thorpe, 227 USPQ 964 (CAFC, 1985) and the related case law cited therein make it clear that it is the final product which must determine patentability in a product-by-process claim, and not the process by which it is made. Further, an old or obvious product produced by a new method is not patentable as a product, whether claimed in a product-by-process claim or not. As stated in In re Thorpe, even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. In re Brown, 459 F.2d 531, 535, 173 USPQ 685, 688 (CCPA 1972); In re Pilkington, 411 F.2d 1345, 162 USPQ 145 (CCPA 1969); Buono v. Yankee Maid Dress Corp., 77 F.2d 274, 279, 26, USPQ 57, 61 (2d. Cir 1935) Perdue Pharma v. Epic Pharma, App. No. 2014-1294 (Fed. Cir. 2016);
In this claim, the claimed process step “formed by atomic layer deposition (ALD)” has not been given any patentable weight because it is a product–by-process limitation, and the claim as a whole is directed to a product. See In re Hirao, 190 USPQ 15 at 17 (footnote 3). See also In re Brown, 173 USPQ 685; In re Luck, 177 USPQ 523; In re Fessmann, 180 USPQ 324; In re Avery, 186 USPQ 161; In re Marosi et al., 218 USPQ 289, all of which make it clear that it is the patentability of the final product per se which must be determined in a product-by-process claim, and not the patentability of the process, and that old or obvious product produced by a new method is not patentable as a product, whether claimed in “product-by-process” claim or not.
Regarding the LED has an external quantum efficiency (EOE) greater than 5%. Mi recognizes quantum efficiency is affected by defects and recombination ([0003]). The EQE is therefore a result-effective variable.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to vary, through routine optimization, the fabrication of the nanowires to improve the quality of the nanowires, as Mi has identified the defects, recombination, and carrier injection efficiency as a result-effective variable. Further, one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have had a reasonable expectation of success to arrive at an EQE of greater than 5%. MPEP 2144.05
Further, the Applicant has not presented persuasive evidence that the claimed EQE is for a particular purpose that is critical to the overall claimed invention (i.e., that the claimed invention would not work without the EQE being over 5%)
Regarding the LED is in the range of 1-10 micrometers in lateral dimension. Mi fails to teach the LED is in the range of 1-10 micrometers in lateral dimension. Brick teaches that µ-LED’s have dimensions in the range of 1-10 µm ([0058]). This size allows for a high density with a small pitch, thus allowing for use in small displays for AR applications ([0058]). One having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention could have modified the nanowire device of Mi to have the dimensions of a µ-LED taught by Brick to allow for usage in small displays with a reasonable expectation of success. Further, Brick teaches that the active layers, the layer in which charge carriers recombine, can comprise multi-quantum wells ([0015]).
With regards to the nitrogen-polar (N-polar) facet, Auzelle teaches a Ga-polar facet nanowire has a pencil-like shape and a N-polar facet nanowire has the shape of a hexagonal prism with a flat facet at top (Introduction). Mi shows the nanowire having the shape of a hexagonal prism with a flat facet at the top (Fig 1). One having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have known to grow nanowires with a N-polar facet to arrive at a structure similar to Mi. Further, it was known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that N-polar nanowires grow faster than Ga-polar nanowires (NIST article). This would improve manufacturing time. MPEP 2143(I)(G)
Mi, Mi2 and Brick fail to teach a metal stack comprising Ag, Al and Au disposed on top of the nanowire, as a reflecting layer.
However, Munshi teaches a metal stack (Fig 5b DBR 512, [0132]; Examiner notes that an alternative to a DBR is a metallic reflective layer, [0106]) comprising Ag, Al and Au (based on Al and may additionally/alternately comprise Ag and Au, [0106]) disposed on top of the nanowire (Fig 5b nanowires 514, [0132] corresponds to Mi: Fig 1 nanowire 100, [0043]), as a reflecting layer metal mirror ([0106]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Mi and Mi2 to incorporate the teachings of Munshi by having a metal stack comprising Ag, Al and Au disposed on top of the nanowire, as a reflecting layer. This would reflect light back into the nanostructure for further emission ([0047]).
Examiner notes that, while Munshi does not specifically teach a stack comprising Ag, Al and Au, one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would reasonably conclude making a stack with Ag, Al and Au. Munshi teaches the metallic reflective layer is based on Al and may additionally/alternately comprise Ag and Au to arrange for light feedback into the nanowire ([0106]). MPEP 2144.01
Regarding claim 22, Mi as modified in claim 18 teaches each of the plurality of nanowires (Mi: Fig 3 nanowire device 310, [0052]) further comprises: a AlGaN shell (Mi: Fig 1 quantum shell structure 140, [0044]) surrounding a plurality of InGaN quantum well layers (Mi: Fig 1 InGaN, quantum core structure 120, [0044]).
Regarding claim 23, Mi as modified in claim 22 teaches, wherein the plurality of InGaN quantum well layers (Fig 1 InGaN, quantum core structure 120, [0044]) comprise polar c-plane InGaN quantum well layers (Fig 1 InGaN, quantum core structure 120, [0044]).
Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mi et. al. (US 20190148583 A1), hereinafter Mi, in view Mi et. al. (US 20120205613 A1), hereinafter Mi2, in further view of Brick et. al. (US 20210082886 A1), hereinafter Brick, in further view of Munshi et. al. (US 20220052236 A1), hereinafter Munshi, in further view of Yang et. al. (“Improvement in Electrical and Optical Performances of GaN-Based LED With SiO2/Al2O3 Double Dielectric Stack Layer,” IEEE Electron Device Letters, Vol 33; 4, 2012), hereinafter Yang, with support from Auzelle et. al. (“Tuning the orientation of the top-facets of GaN nanowires in molecular beam epitaxy by thermal decomposition,” Phys. Rev. Materials 3, 013402, 2019), hereinafter Auzelle and NIST (“GaN Nanowires: Knowing Which End Is Up,” https://www.nist.gov/news-events/news/2015/09/gan-nanowires-knowing-which-end, 2015).
Regarding claim 19, Mi as modified in claim 18 fails to teach the conformal passivation layer comprises Al203.
However, Yang teaches the conformal passivation layer (Al2O3 passivated LED, [Device fabrication] corresponds to Mi: Fig 3 optically transmissive layer 345, [0054]) comprises Al203 ([Device fabrication]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Mi, Mi2, Brick, and Munshi to incorporate the teachings of Yang by having the conformal passivation layer comprising Al203. This would reduce the current leakage ([abstract]).
Regarding claim 20, Mi as modified in claim 18 fails to teach the conformal passivation layer comprises an oxide.
However, Yang teaches the conformal passivation layer (Al2O3 passivated LED, [Device fabrication] corresponds to Mi: Fig 3 optically transmissive layer 345, [0054]) comprises an oxide (Al2O3, [Device fabrication]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Mi, Mi2, Brick, and Munshi to incorporate the teachings of Yang by having the conformal passivation layer comprising an oxide. This would reduce the current leakage ([abstract]).
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mi et. al. (US 20190148583 A1), hereinafter Mi, in view of Mi et. al. (US 20120205613 A1), hereinafter Mi2, in further view of Brick et. al. (US 20210082886 A1), hereinafter Brick, in further view of Munshi et. al. (US 20220052236 A1), hereinafter Munshi, in further view of Chowdury et. al. (US 20190013440 A1), hereinafter Chowdury, with supporting evidence from Liu et. al. (WO 2021168098 A1), hereinafter Liu.
Mi as modified in claim 18 fails to teach each nanowire further comprises: a first GaN tunnel junction layer having the second dopant type disposed on top of the AIGaN layer; a second GaN tunnel junction layer having the first dopant type disposed on top of the first GaN tunnel junction layer; and a GaN layer having a second dopant type disposed on top of the second GaN tunnel junction layer.
However, Chowdury teaches each nanowire (Fig 9 nanowire 900, [0045] corresponds to Mi: Fig 3 nanowire device 310, [0052]) further comprises: a first GaN tunnel junction layer (Fig 9 layers of tunnel junction 905 not shown, [0045]; first layer heavily doped n-type GaN, [0045]); a second GaN tunnel junction layer (Fig 9 layers of tunnel junction 905 not shown, [0045]; second layer heavily doped p-type GaN, [0045]) disposed on top of the first GaN tunnel junction layer (Fig 9 layers of tunnel junction 905 not shown, [0045]; first layer heavily doped n-type GaN, [0045]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Mi, Mi2, Brick, and Munshi to incorporate the teachings of Chowdury by having a tunnel junction within each nanowire. This would improve the efficiency of the nanowires ([0045]).
Regarding the choice of placing the tunnel junction between the AlGaN layer and a GaN top laeyer, this particular location would have been obvious to try. As stated above, Chowdury shows there was a known need in the display arts to place a tunnel junction in the nanowire, in order to improve efficiency. In pursuing this arrangement in the device of Mi, there are only three locations for the tunnel junction to achieve this result: in the first semiconductor region 110, between the AlGaN from Mi2 and the second semiconductor region 150, or in the second semiconductor region 150. One having ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the improved efficiency would be achieved equally, regardless of which of these three locations is chosen. That is, "a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely that product [was] not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense. In that instance the fact that a combination was obvious to try might show that it was obvious under § 103." KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 421.
In pursuing the arrangement, one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would recognize the dopants of the first and second tunnel layers would have to change depending on where the tunnel junction layers are placed. That is, the first layer of the tunnel junction is the same charge type as the layer it is disposed on top of and the second layer of the tunnel junction is the same charge type as the layer is it under. In the case of Chowdury, the first layer of the tunnel junction is doped with a n-type dopant and the second layer of the tunnel junction has a p-type dopant. Using Liu as an example, the first layer is doped with a p-type dopant and the second layer of the tunnel junction is doped with a n-type dopant. Examiner notes Liu is being referred to show the level of one of ordinary skill in the art around the effective filing date of the claimed invention and not as prior art. That is, “References which do not qualify as prior art because they postdate the claimed invention may be relied upon to show the level of ordinary skill in the art at or around the relevant time. See Ex parte Erlich, 22 USPQ2d 1463 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1992).” MPEP 2144
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see 35 USC §103 section starting on page 7, filed May 04, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 2, 6 and 8 under 35 USC §103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Munshi et. al. (US 20220052236 A1).
Applicant’s arguments, see 35 USC §103 section starting on page 10, filed May 04, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 18-23 under 35 USC §103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Munshi et. al. (US 20220052236 A1).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The Examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply.
/ALVIN L LEE/Examiner, Art Unit 2813
/STEVEN B GAUTHIER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2813