DETAILED ACTION
Summary
This is the second Office Action based on Application 17/746,977 and is in response to Applicant Arguments/Remarks filed 08/08/2025.
Claims 1-20 previously pending, of those claim 1 has been amended, all amendments have been entered. Claims 1-20 are currently pending and have been fully considered.
Claim Objections
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 6 is dependent upon claim 1. Claim 6 recites “”and the connecting plate is connected to the first column through a first connector”. Claim 1 has been amended to recite “the first connecting beam is connected to the first column with a first connection”. Based on the Applicant Arguments/Remarks the first connector and the “first connection” appear to be mapped to the same element in the specification. However the claim does not make it clear if the “first connector” of claim 6 is the same as the “first connection” of claim 1. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 9-15, and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by LEE (US 2020/0161612 A1).
With respect to claim 1. LEE teaches an energy storage device which includes a battery rack for a plurality of battery modules (abstract). The modules may be inserted into the rack in a sliding manner (abstract). The battery rack 100 includes a plurality of modules 200 installed in the inner space of the rack (paragraph 0029). The rack includes a base frame 100, front frame 120, rear frame 130, upper frame 140, reinforcing frame 150, and a module guide 160 (paragraph 0030). The module guide 160 is in contact with the lower and side surface of the module (paragraph 039). The module guide 160 is coupled to the front frame, the rear frame the reinforcing frame to partition the inside space of the rack (paragraph 0039). The module guide 160 includes a side cover covering a lower portion of the side surface of the battery module, and a lower cover for covering a portion of one side of a lower surface of the battery module (paragraph 0041). The side cover then includes a plurality of fastening holes formed at a positions corresponding to the front frame 120, and positioned corresponding to the reinforcing frame (paragraph 0042). The module guide 160 may have a hook unit 163 which is formed on the lower cover 162 to fix the rear surface of the battery module 200 (paragraph 0045). When the battery module 200 is fixed in the rack, the front surface of the module 200 is fixed to the rack in a bolt type coupling manner, and the rear surface is fixed with a hook type coupling manner (paragraph 0047). The front and rear frames 120 and 130 are taken to be the claimed first and second beam. The front of the module is taken to be the claimed first connecting beam and connects to the front frame 120 by bolts (paragraph 0052). The bolts are taken to be the first connection in the insertion direction of the battery (see Figures 1-2). The guide 160 is taken to be the claimed second connecting beam and is connected to the rear frame (paragraph 0039). The third fastening hole 161c of the side cover is positioned in a spot corresponding to the rear frame 130 (paragraph 0042). As seen in Figure 3 then the fixing holes 161c connect to the rear frame in a direction perpendicular to the insertion direction.
With respect to claim 2. LEE teaches rack includes an insertion end and a limit end. The limit end being the rear cover 230 for covering the rear surface of the battery module (paragraph 0049-0050).
With respect to claims 3-4. LEE teaches the reinforcing frame 150 located between the front and rear frames (paragraphs 0030 and 0038) and the reinforcing frame 150 is taken to be the claimed middle column. The module guide 160, which is the claimed second connecting beam, is connected to the reinforcing frame 150 (paragraph 0039).
With respect to claim 5. LEE teaches as seen in Figure 1 that the first, second, and middle column are disposed at equal intervals.
With respect to claim 9-10. LEE teaches the second connecting beam is the guide 160 which is connected to the front frame, rear frame, and the reinforcing frame (paragraph 0039). The rear frame 130 is taken to be the claimed second column. The side of the guide 160 is taken to be the claimed side plate, and includes fastening 161b for fastening to the reinforcing frame 150, and a third fastening hole 161c for the rear frame (paragraph 0042). These may then be connected with bolts to secure them (paragraph 0043) and are taken to be the claimed second and third connectors. Where the portion protruding from the side plate of the guide 160 is taken to be the claimed top plate, and is on the top end (see Figure 3). The top and side plate are then an integrated structure (see Figure 3).
With respect to claim 11-15, and 19-20. LEE teaches the batter modules which are inserted into the battery rack (paragraph 0029) and these modules are taken to be the claimed battery insert box.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6-8, and 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LEE (US 2020/0161612 A1) in view of OKURA (JP 2017073270 A).
Claim 6 is dependent upon claim 1 which is rejected above under 35 U.S.C. 102 in view of LEE. LEE teaches the first connecting beam which is the front of the module 200. The front of the module includes the front cover 220 which has the fastening holes for bolting the cover to the front frame (paragraph 0052).
OKURA teaches a battery storage unit including a support members for guiding the detachable movement of a battery module (abstract). One of the support members includes a second support member 22 having a plate like base portion and an extending portion protruding parallel to each other on the upper and lower ends of the base portions (paragraph 0057). The support member 22 is attached to the
support column (Figure 3).
At the time the invention was filed one having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated combine the support member 22 of OKURA with the battery rack of LEE as this is a combination of known prior art elements in order to achieve predictable results, as both LEE and OKURA battery racks, and then the support member is taught to be functional to increase the housing body (paragraph 0057). OKURA teaches the connecting plate 22c which is located under the support plate 22a (Figure 3 and paragraph 0057). The plate 22c of OKURA does not explicitly teach the connection to the column. Claim 1 recites that the first connecting beam is connected to the first column with a first connection, and claim 6 recites the connecting plate of the first connecting beam is connected to the first column through a first connector. This is taken to be a different connector than that of the connection of claim 1. For example claim 1 recites that the first connection is along the first direction, whereas the connecting plate of claim 6 is connected to the support plate along the first direction.
LEE teaches an alternative method of connection which includes a hook unit (paragraph 0045). At the time the invention was filed one having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use the hooking connector of LEE for connecting of the base connector 22c of OKURA as this is a simple combination of known prior art elements in order to achieve predictable results, as LEE teaches a known connection method.
With respect to claim 7. LEE further teaches the hook corresponds to a hook insert hole (paragraph 0015) and is taken to be the claimed lug.
With respect to claim 8. OKURA teaches the support and connecting plate are integrated structures (see Figure 3).
With respect to claim 16-18. LEE teaches the batter modules which are inserted into the battery rack (paragraph 0029) and these modules are taken to be the claimed battery insert box.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 6-9 of Applicant Arguments/Remarks, filed 08/08/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-8 and 11-18 under 35 U.S.C. 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of LEE (US 2020/0161612 A1).
On pages 7-9 of Applicant Arguments/Remarks Applicant argues that YOUN does not teach the amended claim limitations of “the first connecting beam is connected to the first column with a first connection … the first connection is along a first direction … the first direction is parallel to an insertion direction of the battery insert box”. Applicant argues that YOUN would teach the connection of the guide plate through the tray fixing unit and the side frames, and the connection is along a Y direction instead of an insertion direction. This argument is persuasive, however new grounds of rejection are made in view of LEE.
LEE teaches a battery rack in which battery modules are inserted (abstract). The battery modules include a first column, being the front frame 120, and a first connection beam being the front face of the module is taken to be the first connecting beam and connects to the front frame 120 by bolts, the bolts being the first connector connecting in the insertion direction (paragraph 0052 and Figures 1-3).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JONATHAN G JELSMA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1722