DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-15, in the reply filed on August 11, 2025 is acknowledged.
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species II and Species B, claims 1-5, 7-11, 14, and 15, in the reply filed on February 9, 2026 is acknowledged.
As a result of the amendments to the claims received February 8, 2026 and the search of the elected claims 1-5, 7-11, 14, and 15, the Examiner had determined that there is no serious burden to examine non-elected claims 16-20. Therefore, claims 16-20 are rejoined and examined below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7-11, and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thaulad et al, US 10,509,052 B2; Jensen et al, US 2011/0074341 A1; and JP 6981049 B2 (‘049).
Regarding claim 1, Thaulad et al teaches a substrate treating apparatus 1000 comprising: an index part 1042 having a load port 1054; and a process executing part 1064, 1060 configured to receive a substrate 1062 from the index part 1042 and treat the substrate 1060.
Thaulad et al differs from the present invention in that Thaulad et al does not teach that the load port includes: a housing having an interior space; a seating part disposed on an upper side of the housing, and on which a container that receives a substrate type sensor is positioned; and a charging unit configured to charge a power source device installed in the container in a wireless charging scheme, wherein the charging unit includes a signal transmitting member provided in the seating part and configured to deliver electric power to the power source device, wherein the seating part includes one or more alignment pins configured to align a location of the container positioned on the seating part, wherein the signal transmitting member is installed at a location, at which the signal transmitting member does not overlap the one or more alignment pins when viewed from a top, wherein the container includes a body having a reception space having, one side of which is opened, a door configured to selectively open and close the reception space, a shelf part configured to support the substrate type sensor in the reception space, the power source device configured to deliver electric power for charging the substrate type sensor, and a charging module configured to charge the substrate type sensor supported by the shelf part, and wherein the charging module is configured to charge the substrate type sensor supported by the shelf part in an electromagnetic induction scheme.
Jensen et al teaches the use of a FOUP 201 configured to receive the substrate type sensor 100 and a power source device 216 configured to deliver electric power for charging the substrate type sensor 100, and a charging module 211 configured to charge the substrate type sensor 100 supported by the shelf part 203, and wherein the charging module 211 is configured to charge the substrate type sensor 100 supported by the shelf part 203 in an electromagnetic induction scheme. (Figure 2A)
The motivation for replacing the receptacles for holding substrate type sensor of Thaulad et al with a FOUP configured to receive and charge the substrate type sensor is to provide an alternate and equivalent place to hold/store/charge the substrate type sensor of Thaulad et al as taught by Jensen et al. Furthermore, it has been held that the simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results is obvious (see KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc.).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the invention was effectively filed to replace the receptacles for holding substrate type sensor of Thaulad et al with a FOUP configured to receive the substrate type sensor as taught by Jensen et al.
‘049 teaches that the load port 40 includes: a housing having an interior space (Figure 1); a seating part 46 disposed on an upper side of the housing, and on which a container 22; and a charging unit 45 configured to charge a power source device 36 installed in the container in a wireless charging scheme, wherein the charging unit 45 includes a signal transmitting member 45a provided in the seating part 46 and configured to deliver electric power to the power source device 36, wherein the seating part includes one or more alignment pins 49a configured to align a location of the container positioned on the seating part 46, wherein the signal transmitting member is installed at a location, at which the signal transmitting member does not overlap the one or more alignment pins when viewed from a top (Figure 6), wherein the container 22 includes a body having a reception space having (Figure 1), one side of which is opened 22a, a door 47 configured to selectively open and close the reception space (Figure 1), a shelf part 24 configured to support a substrate in the reception space.
The motivation for adding the load port of ‘049 to the apparatus of Thaulad et al and Jensen et al is to provide a specific support for the FOUP of Thaulad et al and Jensen et al as required to function but not shown. Furthermore, it has been held that applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results is obvious (see KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc.).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the invention was effectively filed to add the load port of ‘049 to the apparatus of Thaulad et al and Jensen et al.
Regarding claims 2-5, ‘049 does not specifically teach that the charging unit 45 further includes: a conversion member provided in the interior space, and provided between an external power source line and the signal transmitting member; a switch member configured to selectively deliver a power source of the external power source line to the signal transmitting member; and a detection member. The use of a conversion member to convert the power to the desired form (AC to DC) and voltage; a switch to turn the power on/off; and a detection member are well known in the art and are inherently present in the apparatus of ‘049.
Regarding claim 7, Thaulad et al teaches a substrate treating system 1000 comprising: an index part 1042 having a load port; a process executing part 1060, 1064 configured to receive a substrate 1062 from the index part 1042 and treat the substrate 1062; and a container 1054 positioned in the load port, wherein the container further includes a body having a reception space having, one side of which is opened, a door configured to selectively open and close the reception space a shelf part (Figure 10 and 12)
Thaulad et al differs from the present invention in that Thaulad et al does not teach that the container is configured to support the substrate type sensor in the reception space, a power source device configured to deliver electric power for charging the substrate type sensor, and a charging module configured to charge the substrate type sensor supported by the shelf part; or the load port includes a housing having an interior space, a seating part disposed on an upper side of the housing, and on which the container is positioned, and a charging unit configured to charge the power source device installed in the container in a wireless charging scheme, and wherein the charging module is configured to charge the substrate type sensor supported by the shelf part in an electromagnetic induction scheme.
Jensen et al teaches the use of a FOUP 201 configured to receive the substrate type sensor 100 and a power source device 216 configured to deliver electric power for charging the substrate type sensor 100, and a charging module 211 configured to charge the substrate type sensor 100 supported by the shelf part 203, and wherein the charging module 211 is configured to charge the substrate type sensor 100 supported by the shelf part 203 in an electromagnetic induction scheme. (Figure 2A)
The motivation for replacing the receptacles for holding substrate type sensor of Thaulad et al with a FOUP configured to receive and charge the substrate type sensor is to provide an alternate and equivalent place to hold/store/charge the substrate type sensor of Thaulad et al as taught by Jensen et al. Furthermore, it has been held that the simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results is obvious (see KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc.).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the invention was effectively filed to replace the receptacles for holding substrate type sensor of Thaulad et al with a FOUP configured to receive the substrate type sensor as taught by Jensen et al.
‘049 teaches that the load port 40 includes: a housing having an interior space (Figure 1); a seating part 46 disposed on an upper side of the housing, and on which a container 22; and a charging unit 45 configured to charge a power source device 36 installed in the container in a wireless charging scheme, wherein the charging unit 45 includes a signal transmitting member 45a provided in the seating part 46 and configured to deliver electric power to the power source device 36, wherein the seating part includes one or more alignment pins 49a configured to align a location of the container positioned on the seating part 46, wherein the signal transmitting member is installed at a location, at which the signal transmitting member does not overlap the one or more alignment pins when viewed from a top (Figure 6), wherein the container 22 includes a body having a reception space having (Figure 1), one side of which is opened 22a, a door 47 configured to selectively open and close the reception space (Figure 1), a shelf part 24 configured to support a substrate in the reception space.
The motivation for adding the load port of ‘049 to the apparatus of Thaulad et al and Jensen et al is to provide a specific support for the FOUP of Thaulad et al and Jensen et al as required to function but not shown. Furthermore, it has been held that applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results is obvious (see KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc.).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the invention was effectively filed to add the load port of ‘049 to the apparatus of Thaulad et al and Jensen et al.
Regarding claims 8-11, ‘049 does not specifically teach that the charging unit 45 further includes: a conversion member provided in the interior space, and provided between an external power source line and the signal transmitting member; a switch member configured to selectively deliver a power source of the external power source line to the signal transmitting member; and a detection member. The use of a conversion member to convert the power to the desired form (AC to DC) and voltage; a switch to turn the power on/off; and a detection member are well known in the art and are inherently present in the apparatus of ‘049.
Regarding 14, Jensen et al teaches a plurality of shelf parts 203. Jensen et al does not teach a plurality of shelf parts and a plurality of charging modules are provided. It has been held in In re Harza (124 USPQ 378) that the duplication of parts is obvious. (See MPEP 2144) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the invention was effectively filed to duplicate the charging module of Jensen et al to charge a plurality of sensor type substrates.
Regarding claim 15, ‘049 teaches a preservation unit 40 configured to preserve the container 22, wherein the preservation unit includes: a seating frame 46, on which the container is positioned; and a signal transmitting device 45 installed in the seating frame 46 and configured to deliver electric power to the power source device 34. ‘049 does not specifically teach a conversion device provided between the external power source line and the signal transmitting device; and a switch device configured to selectively deliver electric power of the external power source line to the signal transmitting device. The use of a conversion device to convert the power to the desired form (AC to DC) and voltage; and a switch to turn the power on/off are well known in the art and are inherently present in the apparatus of ‘049.
Regarding claim 16, Thaulad et al teaches a substrate treating system 1000 comprising: an index chamber 1042, an interior of which is maintained at an atmospheric pressure atmosphere, and provided with a first transfer robot 1050; an index part 1054 having a load port connected to the index chamber; a load lock chamber 1044 connected to the index chamber 1042, and an interior of which is converted between a vacuum pressure atmosphere and the atmospheric pressure atmosphere; a transfer chamber 1064 connected to the load lock chamber 1044 and provided with a second transfer robot 1052; a process chamber 1060 connected to the transfer chamber 1064, and configured to treat a substrate 1062; and a container (FOUP) positioned in the load port. Thaulad et al also teaches the use of a substrate type sensor 1048 that collects a transfer location of an expendable component transferred to the process chamber.
Thaulad et al differs from the present invention in that Thaulad et al does not teach that the container (FOUP) positioned in the load port, is configured to receive the substrate type sensor.
Jensen et al teaches the use of a FOUP 201 configured to receive the substrate type sensor 100. (Figure 2A)
The motivation for replacing the receptacles for holding substrate type sensor of Thaulad et al with a FOUP configured to receive the substrate type sensor is to provide an alternate and equivalent place to hold/store the substrate type sensor of Thaulad et al as taught by Jensen et al. Furthermore, it has been held that the simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results is obvious (see KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc.).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the invention was effectively filed to replace the receptacles for holding substrate type sensor of Thaulad et al with a FOUP configured to receive the substrate type sensor as taught by Jensen et al.
Thaulad et al and Jensen et al differ from the present invention in that they do not teach that the load port includes: a housing having an interior space; a seating part disposed on an upper side of the housing, and on which the container is positioned; and a charging unit configured to charge a power source device installed in the container in a wireless charging scheme.
‘049 teaches a load port 40 includes: a housing having an interior space (Figure 1); a seating part 46 disposed on an upper side of the housing, and on which the container 22 is positioned; and a charging unit 45 configured to charge a power source device 34 installed in the container in a wireless charging scheme.
The motivation for adding the load port of ‘049 to the apparatus of Thaulad et al and Jensen et al is to provide a specific support for the FOUP of Thaulad et al and Jensen et al as required to function but not shown. Furthermore, it has been held that applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results is obvious (see KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc.).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the invention was effectively filed to add the load port of ‘049 to the apparatus of Thaulad et al and Jensen et al.
Regarding claim 17-19, ‘049 teaches that the charging unit further includes: a signal transmitting member 45 provided in the seating part 46 and configured to deliver electric power to the power source device 35. ‘049 does not specifically teach a conversion member provided in the interior space, and provided between an external power source line and the signal transmitting member; a switch member configured to selectively deliver electric power of the external power source line to the signal transmitting member; and a detection member. The use of a conversion member to convert the power to the desired form (AC to DC) and voltage; a switch to turn the power on/off; and a detection member are well known in the art and are inherently present in the apparatus of ‘049.
Regarding claim 20, Thaulad et al teaches the expendable component is a ring member provided in the process chamber, wherein the system further includes: a controller, wherein the controller is configured to: control the first transfer robot and the second transfer robot such that the expendable component is transferred into the process chamber; and control the first transfer robot and the second transfer robot such that the substrate type sensor is transferred into the process chamber, wherein the substrate type sensor acquires an image including the expendable component and a chuck provided in the process chamber to support the substrate and transmits the image to the controller, and wherein the controller measures an interval between the expendable component and the chuck in the image, and determines whether the expendable component is aligned through the measured interval. (Column16 line 11 through column 17 line 14)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The cited art teaches the technological background of the invention. US 20200373190 A1 or US 20130080099 A1 could be used in place of Thaulad et al in the rejections.
/Jeffrie R Lund/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716