DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Furthermore, the 112(b) rejection has been removed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7, 9, 12-14, 17-21, 23, 25-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (US 2023/0354047 A1), hereinafter Liu in view of 3GPP TSG RAN WG1 #109-e R1-2203338 (3GPP Draft, R1-2203338; Spreadtrum Communications; Discussion on potential solutions to further reduce UE complexity; 2022-04-29.), hereinafter R1-2203338 in further view of Pezeshki (US 2022/0408381).
Regarding Claim 1, Liu discloses (Currently Amended) A method performed by a User Equipment, UE, [0005: A method for wireless communication at a first user equipment (UE) is described.]
which UE [0005: The method may include performing a channel access procedure to gain access to a bandwidth part (BWP)]
and that a bandwidth of the SSB is larger than the bandwidth of the UE [0105: For example, a wireless communications standard may specify that an OCB is larger than 80% of a respective nominal channel bandwidth.]
Liu fails to explicitly disclose detecting
determining
such that the UE of receiving the SBand
R1-2203338, in analogous art, discloses detecting [2.1.1: According to R17 RedCap WID [2], a R17 RedCap UE is required to support 20MHz in FR1.]
determining [2.1.3: if the SCS is 15KHz, the total span of SSB in frequency domain is 3.6MHz, which is smaller than 5MHz. While for 30KHz SCS, the SSB span is 7.2MHz, which is wider than 5MHz. However, the PSS/SSS only occupies 127 SCs[4], 5MHz eRedCap can receive the entire PSS/SSS and a part of PBCH (puncturing of PBCH). As the code rate of PBCH is quite small, then the PBCH can still be successfully decoded. A contribution [5] discussed similar issues for <5MHz dedicated spectrum item.]
such that the UE of receiving the SBand [2.1.3: if the SCS is 15KHz, the total span of SSB in frequency domain is 3.6MHz, which is smaller than 5MHz. While for 30KHz SCS, the SSB span is 7.2MHz, which is wider than 5MHz. However, the PSS/SSS only occupies 127 SCs[4], 5MHz eRedCap can receive the entire PSS/SSS and a part of PBCH (puncturing of PBCH). As the code rate of PBCH is quite small, then the PBCH can still be successfully decoded. A contribution [5] discussed similar issues for <5MHz dedicated spectrum item.]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of Liu with the teachings of R1-2203338 to improve the support for the current and new use cases. [R1-2203338 - Introduction]
Pezeshki teaches skipping based on the decoding performance the predicted for an SSB that results from skipping the determined part of the SBB (Paragraphs 0062-0065). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Liu in view of R1-2203338 and teach the skipping of SSB as taught by Pezenshki in order to reduce power consumption (paragraph 0027).
Regarding Claim 2, Liu and R1-2203338 disclose (Currently Amended) The method according to claim 1.
Furthermore, R1-2203338 discloses wherein the determiningresultant SSB achieves a performance that is any one out of: [[-]] above a first threshold[[,]]; [2.1.3: if the SCS is 15KHz, the total span of SSB in frequency domain is 3.6MHz, which is smaller than 5MHz. While for 30KHz SCS, the SSB span is 7.2MHz, which is wider than 5MHz. However, the PSS/SSS only occupies 127 SCs[4], 5MHz eRedCap can receive the entire PSS/SSS and a part of PBCH (puncturing of PBCH). As the code rate of PBCH is quite small, then the PBCH can still be successfully decoded. A contribution [5] discussed similar issues for <5MHz dedicated spectrum item.]
Regarding Claim 3, Liu and R1-2203338 disclose (Currently Amended) The method according to claim 1.
Furthermore, Liu discloses wherein the decoding performance of the resultant SSB is predicted based on any one or more out of: parameters and configuration related to the SSB[[,]]; [0088: In some cases, UEs 115 may configure one or more communication parameters to satisfy an OCB threshold, which may be specified in a wireless communications standard. However, some sidelink signaling may be unable to satisfy the OCB threshold.]
Regarding Claim 4, Liu and R1-2203338 disclose (Currently Amended) The method according to claim 1.
Furthermore, R1-2203338 discloses wherein the determining [2.1.3: if the SCS is 15KHz, the total span of SSB in frequency domain is 3.6MHz, which is smaller than 5MHz. While for 30KHz SCS, the SSB span is 7.2MHz, which is wider than 5MHz. However, the PSS/SSS only occupies 127 SCs[4], 5MHz eRedCap can receive the entire PSS/SSS and a part of PBCH (puncturing of PBCH). As the code rate of PBCH is quite small, then the PBCH can still be successfully decoded. A contribution [5] discussed similar issues for <5MHz dedicated spectrum item.]
and wherein the part or parts of the SSB to be skipped comprises any one out of: [[-]] the first q subcarriers of the SSB[[,]]; [2.1.3: For {SS/PBCH block, PDCCH} SCS is {15, 15} kHz and for the frequency bands with minimum channel bandwidth 5 MHz or 10 MHz, table 13-1 (copied as below, 38.213 [6]) can be used for 5 MHz eRedCap. However, only the first six index are available, since for the other index, the total span of CORESET#0 is larger than 5MHz.]
Regarding Claim 5, Liu and R1-2203338 disclose (Currently Amended) The method according to claim 4.
Furthermore, R1-2203338 discloses wherein the parts of the SSB to be skipped comprises the first qLsubcarriers and the last qR subcarriers of the SSB, wherein: [2.1.3: if the SCS is 15KHz, the total span of SSB in frequency domain is 3.6MHz, which is smaller than 5MHz. While for 30KHz SCS, the SSB span is 7.2MHz, which is wider than 5MHz. However, the PSS/SSS only occupies 127 SCs[4], 5MHz eRedCap can receive the entire PSS/SSS and a part of PBCH (puncturing of PBCH). As the code rate of PBCH is quite small, then the PBCH can still be successfully decoded. A contribution [5] discussed similar issues for <5MHz dedicated spectrum item.]
[[-]] one half of the subcarriers to be skipped are comprised in the first qLsubcarrier[[,]]; [2.1.3: For {SS/PBCH block, PDCCH} SCS is {15, 15} kHz and for the frequency bands with minimum channel bandwidth 5 MHz or 10 MHz, table 13-1 (copied as below, 38.213 [6]) can be used for 5 MHz eRedCap. However, only the first six index are available, since for the other index, the total span of CORESET#0 is larger than 5MHz.]
and[[-]] the other half of the subcarriers to be skipped are comprised in the last qR subcarriers of the SSB. [2.1.3: For {SS/PBCH block, PDCCH} SCS is {15, 15} kHz and for the frequency bands with minimum channel bandwidth 5 MHz or 10 MHz, table 13-1 (copied as below, 38.213 [6]) can be used for 5 MHz eRedCap. However, only the first six index are available, since for the other index, the total span of CORESET#0 is larger than 5MHz.]
Regarding Claim 7, Liu and R1-2203338 disclose (Currently Amended) The method according to claim 1.
Furthermore, Liu discloses further comprising: sending [0108: In accordance with the techniques described herein, a UE 115 may transmit one or more S-SSBs 305, which may be multiplexed with PSCCH/PSSCH in a same subchannel (20 MHz subchannel) in a TTI (e.g., a slot).]
Furthermore, R1-2203338 discloses which message indicates the part or parts of the SSB that are determined to be skipped in order to make the bandwidth of the SSB equal or smaller than the bandwidth of the UE [2.1.3: if the SCS is 15KHz, the total span of SSB in frequency domain is 3.6MHz, which is smaller than 5MHz. While for 30KHz SCS, the SSB span is 7.2MHz, which is wider than 5MHz. However, the PSS/SSS only occupies 127 SCs[4], 5MHz eRedCap can receive the entire PSS/SSS and a part of PBCH (puncturing of PBCH). As the code rate of PBCH is quite small, then the PBCH can still be successfully decoded. A contribution [5] discussed similar issues for <5MHz dedicated spectrum item.]
Regarding Claim 9, Liu and R1-2203338 disclose (Currently Amended) The method according to claim 1.
Furthermore, R1-2203338 discloses further comprising: receiving [2.1.3: if the SCS is 15KHz, the total span of SSB in frequency domain is 3.6MHz, which is smaller than 5MHz. While for 30KHz SCS, the SSB span is 7.2MHz, which is wider than 5MHz. However, the PSS/SSS only occupies 127 SCs[4], 5MHz eRedCap can receive the entire PSS/SSS and a part of PBCH (puncturing of PBCH). As the code rate of PBCH is quite small, then the PBCH can still be successfully decoded. A contribution [5] discussed similar issues for <5MHz dedicated spectrum item.]
Regarding Claim 12, Liu discloses (Currently Amended) A method performed by a network node [0005: A method for wireless communication at a first user equipment (UE) is described.]
sending [0005: The method may include performing a channel access procedure to gain access to a bandwidth part (BWP)]
when a bandwidth of the SSB is larger than the bandwidth of the UE [0105: For example, a wireless communications standard may specify that an OCB is larger than 80% of a respective nominal channel bandwidth.]
receiving[0107: In particular, the UE 115-b may use some techniques for transmitting S-SSBs in accordance with a configuration of the S-SSB such that the S-SSB occupies a full slot and…. The slot used for the S-SSB, however, may not be used for other message types, such as PSSCH transmissions 310.]
such that the UE of receiving the SSB[[,]];[0192: The signal receiver 1235 may be configured as or otherwise support a means for receiving a signal from the first UE using one or more sub-bands of the bandwidth part, the signal including one or more S-SSBs multiplexed with frequency resources associated with a physical sidelink shared channel]
andsending [0108: In accordance with the techniques described herein, a UE 115 may transmit one or more S-SSBs 305, which may be multiplexed with PSCCH/PSSCH in a same subchannel (20 MHz subchannel) in a TTI (e.g., a slot).]
Liu fails to explicitly disclose preparing
R1-2203338, in analogous art, discloses preparing bandwidth of the second UE [2.1.3: For {SS/PBCH block, PDCCH} SCS is {15, 15} kHz and for the frequency bands with minimum channel bandwidth 5 MHz or 10 MHz, table 13-1 (copied as below, 38.213 [6]) can be used for 5 MHz eRedCap. However, only the first six index are available, since for the other index, the total span of CORESET#0 is larger than 5MHz.]
which message indicates a part or parts of the SSB that are determined to be skipped in order to make the bandwidth of the SSB equal or smaller than the bandwidth of the UE [2.1.3: if the SCS is 15KHz, the total span of SSB in frequency domain is 3.6MHz, which is smaller than 5MHz. While for 30KHz SCS, the SSB span is 7.2MHz, which is wider than 5MHz. However, the PSS/SSS only occupies 127 SCs[4], 5MHz eRedCap can receive the entire PSS/SSS and a part of PBCH (puncturing of PBCH). As the code rate of PBCH is quite small, then the PBCH can still be successfully decoded. A contribution [5] discussed similar issues for <5MHz dedicated spectrum item.]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify the network node of Liu with the teachings of R1-2203338 to improve the support for the current and new use cases. [R1-2203338 - Introduction].
Pezeshki teaches skipping based on the decoding performance the predicted for an SSB that results from skipping the determined part of the SBB (Paragraphs 0062-0065). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Liu in view of R1-2203338 and teach the skipping of SSB as taught by Pezenshki in order to reduce power consumption (paragraph 0027).
Regarding Claim 13, Liu and R1-2203338 disclose (Currently Amended) The method according to claim 12.
Furthermore, R1-2203338 discloses wherein the part or parts of the SSB to be skipped comprises any one out of: [[-]] the first q subcarriers of the SSB[[,]]; [2.1.3: For {SS/PBCH block, PDCCH} SCS is {15, 15} kHz and for the frequency bands with minimum channel bandwidth 5 MHz or 10 MHz, table 13-1 (copied as below, 38.213 [6]) can be used for 5 MHz eRedCap. However, only the first six index are available, since for the other index, the total span of CORESET#0 is larger than 5MHz.]
Regarding Claim 14, Liu and R1-2203338 disclose (Currently Amended) The method according to claim 13.
Furthermore, R1-2203338 discloses wherein the parts of the SSB to be skipped comprises the first qLsubcarriers and the last qR subcarriers of the SSB, wherein: [2.1.3: For {SS/PBCH block, PDCCH} SCS is {15, 15} kHz and for the frequency bands with minimum channel bandwidth 5 MHz or 10 MHz, table 13-1 (copied as below, 38.213 [6]) can be used for 5 MHz eRedCap. However, only the first six index are available, since for the other index, the total span of CORESET#0 is larger than 5MHz.]
[[-]] one half of the subcarriers to be skipped are comprised in the first qLsubcarrier[[,]]; [2.1.3: For {SS/PBCH block, PDCCH} SCS is {15, 15} kHz and for the frequency bands with minimum channel bandwidth 5 MHz or 10 MHz, table 13-1 (copied as below, 38.213 [6]) can be used for 5 MHz eRedCap. However, only the first six index are available, since for the other index, the total span of CORESET#0 is larger than 5MHz.]
and [[-]] the other half of the subcarriers to be skipped are comprised in the last qR subcarriers of the SSB. [2.1.3: For {SS/PBCH block, PDCCH} SCS is {15, 15} kHz and for the frequency bands with minimum channel bandwidth 5 MHz or 10 MHz, table 13-1 (copied as below, 38.213 [6]) can be used for 5 MHz eRedCap. However, only the first six index are available, since for the other index, the total span of CORESET#0 is larger than 5MHz.]
Regarding Claim 17, Liu discloses (Currently Amended) A User Equipment, UE, a wireless communicationsnetwork [0025: A method for wireless communication at a second UE is described. The method may include receiving a signal from a first UE using one or more sub-bands of the BWP, the signal including one or more S-SSBs multiplexed with frequency resources associated with a PSSCH, where the one or more S-SSBs are received using a set of symbol periods of a TTI that are preceded by at least four initial symbol periods of the TTI and decoding the one or more S-SSBs based on receiving the signal.; 0026: An apparatus for wireless communication at a second UE is described.]
and that a bandwidth of the SSB is larger than the bandwidth of the UE [0105: For example, a wireless communications standard may specify that an OCB is larger than 80% of a respective nominal channel bandwidth.]
Liu fails to explicitly disclose detect an SSB from the network node
determine which part of the SSB to skip to make the bandwidth of the SSB equal or smaller than the bandwidth of the UE
and
R1-2203338, in analogous art, discloses detect an SSB from the network node [2.1.1: According to R17 RedCap WID [2], a R17 RedCap UE is required to support 20MHz in FR1.]
determine which part of the SSB to skip to make the bandwidth of the SSB equal or smaller than the bandwidth of the UE [2.1.3: For {SS/PBCH block, PDCCH} SCS is {15, 15} kHz and for the frequency bands with minimum channel bandwidth 5 MHz or 10 MHz, table 13-1 (copied as below, 38.213 [6]) can be used for 5 MHz eRedCap. However, only the first six index are available, since for the other index, the total span of CORESET#0 is larger than 5MHz.]
and[2.1.3: if the SCS is 15KHz, the total span of SSB in frequency domain is 3.6MHz, which is smaller than 5MHz. While for 30KHz SCS, the SSB span is 7.2MHz, which is wider than 5MHz. However, the PSS/SSS only occupies 127 SCs[4], 5MHz eRedCap can receive the entire PSS/SSS and a part of PBCH (puncturing of PBCH). As the code rate of PBCH is quite small, then the PBCH can still be successfully decoded. A contribution [5] discussed similar issues for <5MHz dedicated spectrum item.]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify the UE of Liu with the teachings of R1-2203338 to improve the support for the current and new use cases. [R1-2203338 - Introduction]
Pezeshki teaches skipping based on the decoding performance the predicted for an SSB that results from skipping the determined part of the SBB (Paragraphs 0062-0065). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Liu in view of R1-2203338 and teach the skipping of SSB as taught by Pezenshki in order to reduce power consumption (paragraph 0027).
Regarding Claim 18, Liu and R1-2203338 disclose (Currently Amended) The UE
Furthermore, Liu discloses further configured to determine which part of the SSB to be skipped such that the predicted decoding of the SSB achieves a performance that is any one out of: [[-]] above a first threshold[[,]]; [0054: In some cases, the UE may use signaling that satisfies an occupied channel bandwidth (OCB) threshold associated with shared spectrum transmissions. In some cases, the OCB threshold for shared spectrum communications may be specified in a wireless communications standard. The OCB threshold may include a threshold percentage of a channel to be occupied or used for wireless communications (e.g., 80% of a 20 megahertz (MHz) channel).]
Regarding Claim 19, Liu and R1-2203338 disclose (Currently Amended) The UE claim 17.
Furthermore, Liu discloses wherein the decoding performance of the SSB is [0088: In some cases, UEs 115 may configure one or more communication parameters to satisfy an OCB threshold, which may be specified in a wireless communications standard. However, some sidelink signaling may be unable to satisfy the OCB threshold.]
Regarding Claim 20, Liu and R1-2203338 disclose (Currently Amended) The UE claim 17.
Furthermore, R1-2203338 discloses further configured to determine which part of the SSB to be skipped by[[:]] determining which part or parts of the SSB to be skipped, and wherein the part or parts of the SSB to be skipped [2.1.3: For {SS/PBCH block, PDCCH} SCS is {15, 15} kHz and for the frequency bands with minimum channel bandwidth 5 MHz or 10 MHz, table 13-1 (copied as below, 38.213 [6]) can be used for 5 MHz eRedCap. However, only the first six index are available, since for the other index, the total span of CORESET#0 is larger than 5MHz.]
Regarding Claim 21, Liu and R1-2203338 disclose (Currently Amended) The UE
Furthermore, R1-2203338 discloses wherein the parts of the SSB to be skipped L subcarriers and the last qa subcarriers of the SSB, [2.1.3: For {SS/PBCH block, PDCCH} SCS is {15, 15} kHz and for the frequency bands with minimum channel bandwidth 5 MHz or 10 MHz, table 13-1 (copied as below, 38.213 [6]) can be used for 5 MHz eRedCap. However, only the first six index are available, since for the other index, the total span of CORESET#0 is larger than 5MHz.]
wherein: [[-]] one half of the subcarriers to be skipped are [2.1.3: For {SS/PBCH block, PDCCH} SCS is {15, 15} kHz and for the frequency bands with minimum channel bandwidth 5 MHz or 10 MHz, table 13-1 (copied as below, 38.213 [6]) can be used for 5 MHz eRedCap. However, only the first six index are available, since for the other index, the total span of CORESET#0 is larger than 5MHz.]
and [[-]] the other half of the subcarriers to be skipped are [2.1.3: For {SS/PBCH block, PDCCH} SCS is {15, 15} kHz and for the frequency bands with minimum channel bandwidth 5 MHz or 10 MHz, table 13-1 (copied as below, 38.213 [6]) can be used for 5 MHz eRedCap. However, only the first six index are available, since for the other index, the total span of CORESET#0 is larger than 5MHz.]
Regarding Claim 23, Liu and R1-2203338 disclose (Currently Amended) The UE claim 17.
Furthermore, Liu discloses further configured to: send a message to the network node [0108: In accordance with the techniques described herein, a UE 115 may transmit one or more S-SSBs 305, which may be multiplexed with PSCCH/PSSCH in a same subchannel (20 MHz subchannel) in a TTI (e.g., a slot).]
Furthermore, R1-2203338 discloses which message indicates the part or parts of the SSB that are determined to be skipped in order to make the bandwidth of the SSB equal or smaller than the bandwidth of the UE [2.1.3: For {SS/PBCH block, PDCCH} SCS is {15, 15} kHz and for the frequency bands with minimum channel bandwidth 5 MHz or 10 MHz, table 13-1 (copied as below, 38.213 [6]) can be used for 5 MHz eRedCap. However, only the first six index are available, since for the other index, the total span of CORESET#0 is larger than 5MHz.]
such that the UE of receiving the SSB. [2.1.3: For {SS/PBCH block, PDCCH} SCS is {15, 15} kHz and for the frequency bands with minimum channel bandwidth 5 MHz or 10 MHz, table 13-1 (copied as below, 38.213 [6]) can be used for 5 MHz eRedCap. However, only the first six index are available, since for the other index, the total span of CORESET#0 is larger than 5MHz.]
Regarding Claim 25, Liu and R1-2203338 disclose (Currently Amended) The UE claim 17.
Furthermore, R1-2203338 discloses further configured to: receive SSB in which the determined part or parts are skipped. [2.1.3: For {SS/PBCH block, PDCCH} SCS is {15, 15} kHz and for the frequency bands with minimum channel bandwidth 5 MHz or 10 MHz, table 13-1 (copied as below, 38.213 [6]) can be used for 5 MHz eRedCap. However, only the first six index are available, since for the other index, the total span of CORESET#0 is larger than 5MHz.]
Regarding Claim 26, Liu discloses (Currently Amended) A network node [0203: FIG. 13 shows a diagram of a system 1300 including a device 1305 that supports S-SSB designs for shared spectrum in accordance with one or more aspects of the present disclosure. The device 1305 may be an example of or include the components of a device 1005, a device 1105, or a UE 115 as described herein.]
send an SSB to a User Equipment, UE, configured to operate with a reduced bandwidth, which SSB comprises unused parts[[,]];[0025: A method for wireless communication at a second UE is described. The method may include receiving a signal from a first UE using one or more sub-bands of the BWP, the signal including one or more S-SSBs multiplexed with frequency resources associated with a PSSCH, where the one or more S-SSBs are received using a set of symbol periods of a TTI that are preceded by at least four initial symbol periods of the TTI and decoding the one or more S-SSBs based on receiving the signal.; 0026: An apparatus for wireless communication at a second UE is described.]
when a bandwidth of the SSB is larger than the bandwidth of the UE [0105: For example, a wireless communications standard may specify that an OCB is larger than 80% of a respective nominal channel bandwidth.]
prepare a second SSB such that a second UE of receiving the SSB, [0108: In accordance with the techniques described herein, a UE 115 may transmit one or more S-SSBs 305, which may be multiplexed with PSCCH/PSSCH in a same subchannel (20 MHz subchannel) in a TTI (e.g., a slot).]
making the bandwidth of the second SSB equal or smaller than a bandwidth of the second UE [0152: At 905, the UE 115-d may perform a channel access procedure to gain access to a bandwidth part in a shared spectrum for sidelink communications with a UE 115-e. For example, the UE 115-d may perform an LBT procedure. In some cases, the UE 115-d may perform the channel access procedure and establish one or more communication links with the UE 115-e based on performing the channel access procedure. For example, the UE 115-d may reserve a channel for communicating with the UE 115-e. In some cases, the UE 115-e may perform a channel access procedure to gain access to the bandwidth part in the shared spectrum for sidelink communications with the UE 115-d.]
and send the second SSB to the second UE [0153: At 910, the UE 115-d may transmit, via a PSCCH, an SCI message indicating which of one or more sub-bands include one or more S-SSBs.]
Liu fails to explicitly disclose based on the indicated part or parts of the SSB that are determined to be skipped and the unused parts of the SSB, such that in the second SSB the unused parts are replaced by the parts of the SSB that was determined to be skipped,
receive a message from the UE
which message indicates a part or parts of the SSB that are determined to be skipped in order to make the bandwidth of the SSB equal or smaller than the bandwidth of the UE receiving the SSB[[,]];
R1-2203338, in analogous art, discloses based on the indicated part or parts of the SSB that are determined to be skipped and the unused parts of the SSB, such that in the second SSB the unused parts are replaced by the parts of the SSB that was determined to be skipped, [2.1.3: if the SCS is 15KHz, the total span of SSB in frequency domain is 3.6MHz, which is smaller than 5MHz. While for 30KHz SCS, the SSB span is 7.2MHz, which is wider than 5MHz. However, the PSS/SSS only occupies 127 SCs[4], 5MHz eRedCap can receive the entire PSS/SSS and a part of PBCH (puncturing of PBCH). As the code rate of PBCH is quite small, then the PBCH can still be successfully decoded. A contribution [5] discussed similar issues for <5MHz dedicated spectrum item.]
receive a message from the UE [2.1.3: For {SS/PBCH block, PDCCH} SCS is {15, 15} kHz and for the frequency bands with minimum channel bandwidth 5 MHz or 10 MHz, table 13-1 (copied as below, 38.213 [6]) can be used for 5 MHz eRedCap. However, only the first six index are available, since for the other index, the total span of CORESET#0 is larger than 5MHz.]
which message indicates a part or parts of the SSB that are determined to be skipped in order to make the bandwidth of the SSB equal or smaller than the bandwidth of the UE receiving the SSB[[,]]; [2.1.3: if the SCS is 15KHz, the total span of SSB in frequency domain is 3.6MHz, which is smaller than 5MHz. While for 30KHz SCS, the SSB span is 7.2MHz, which is wider than 5MHz. However, the PSS/SSS only occupies 127 SCs[4], 5MHz eRedCap can receive the entire PSS/SSS and a part of PBCH (puncturing of PBCH). As the code rate of PBCH is quite small, then the PBCH can still be successfully decoded. A contribution [5] discussed similar issues for <5MHz dedicated spectrum item.]
Pezeshki teaches skipping based on the decoding performance the predicted for an SSB that results from skipping the determined part of the SBB (Paragraphs 0062-0065). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Liu in view of R1-2203338 and teach the skipping of SSB as taught by Pezenshki in order to reduce power consumption (paragraph 0027).
Regarding Claim 27, Liu and R1-2203338 disclose (Currently Amended) The network node
Furthermore, R1-2203338 discloses wherein the part or parts of the SSB to be skipped [0064: FIG. 4 is a block diagram 400 illustrating an example slot format 410 in accordance with various aspects of the present disclosure. The available time frequency resources may be partitioned into resource blocks. Each resource block may cover a set of subcarriers (for example, 12 subcarriers) in one slot and may include a quantity of resource elements. Each resource element may cover one subcarrier in one symbol period (for example, in time) and may be used to send one modulation symbol, which may be a real or complex value.]
Regarding Claim 28, Liu and R1-2203338 disclose (Currently Amended) The network node
Furthermore, R1-2203338 discloses wherein the parts of the SSB to be skipped L subcarriers and the
subcarriers of the SSB, [2.1.3: if the SCS is 15KHz, the total span of SSB in frequency domain is 3.6MHz, which is smaller than 5MHz. While for 30KHz SCS, the SSB span is 7.2MHz, which is wider than 5MHz. However, the PSS/SSS only occupies 127 SCs[4], 5MHz eRedCap can receive the entire PSS/SSS and a part of PBCH (puncturing of PBCH). As the code rate of PBCH is quite small, then the PBCH can still be successfully decoded. A contribution [5] discussed similar issues for <5MHz dedicated spectrum item.]
wherein:[[-]] one half of the subcarriers to be skipped are adapted to be comprised in the first qLsubcarrier[[,]]; [2.1.3: if the SCS is 15KHz, the total span of SSB in frequency domain is 3.6MHz, which is smaller than 5MHz. While for 30KHz SCS, the SSB span is 7.2MHz, which is wider than 5MHz. However, the PSS/SSS only occupies 127 SCs[4], 5MHz eRedCap can receive the entire PSS/SSS and a part of PBCH (puncturing of PBCH). As the code rate of PBCH is quite small, then the PBCH can still be successfully decoded. A contribution [5] discussed similar issues for <5MHz dedicated spectrum item.]
and [[-]] the other half of the subcarriers to be skipped are adapted to be comprised in the last qa subcarriers of the SSB. [2.1.3: if the SCS is 15KHz, the total span of SSB in frequency domain is 3.6MHz, which is smaller than 5MHz. While for 30KHz SCS, the SSB span is 7.2MHz, which is wider than 5MHz. However, the PSS/SSS only occupies 127 SCs[4], 5MHz eRedCap can receive the entire PSS/SSS and a part of PBCH (puncturing of PBCH). As the code rate of PBCH is quite small, then the PBCH can still be successfully decoded. A contribution [5] discussed similar issues for <5MHz dedicated spectrum item.]
Claims 8 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of R1-2203338, in view of Pezeshki (US 2022/0480381) in further in view of Akkarakaran et al. (US 2019/0140881 A1), hereinafter Akkarakan.
Regarding Claim 8, Liu and R1-2203338 disclose (Currently Amended) The method according to claim 1.
Combination of Liu and R1-2203338 fails to explicitly disclose wherein subsequent SSBs from the network node
Akkarakaran, in analogous art, discloses wherein subsequent SSBs from the network node [0005: The described techniques relate to improved methods, systems, devices, or apparatuses that support frequency division multiplexing (FDM) for bandwidth part (BWP) transmissions with mixed attributes.]
changing [0006: According to aspects of the present disclosure, a base station may configure a configuration for a BWP of a carrier for downlink transmissions. The BWP configuration may include a first transmission attribute (e.g., a BWP SCS, etc.) for downlink transmissions within the BWP. The base station may then transmit a grant for a downlink transmission to a UE. In some cases, the downlink transmission may be scheduled (e.g., via the grant) for a set of resources that are overlapping in time with a SS block for the carrier. The downlink transmission may be associated with transmission attributes such as a beam direction. Where there is overlap in time (e.g., at least a portion of the set of resources are FDMed with the SS block), efficient techniques for handling transmission attributes associated with SS blocks and transmission attributes associated with transmissions within BWPs are now described.]
so that the skipped part or parts of the SSB in some or all of the subframes are non-overlapping or partially overlapping. [0007: In a first example, the set of resources of the downlink transmission that overlap with the SS block may be transmitted using a second transmission attribute (e.g., the SS block SCS, the SS block beam direction, etc.). Further, the remainder of the downlink transmission (e.g., the remaining time resources of the downlink transmission not including the set of overlapping resources) may be transmitted using the first transmission attribute (e.g., a BWP SCS different from the SS block SCS, a beam direction different from the SS block beam direction, etc.).]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of Liu and R1-2203338 with the teachings of Akkarakaran in order to overcome the relatively high path losses associated with frequencies in these systems. [Akkarakaran - 0004]
Regarding Claim 24, Liu and R1-2203338 disclose (Currently Amended) The UE claim 17.
Combination of Liu and R1-2203338 fails to explicitly disclose wherein subsequent SSBs from the network node configured to be detected in a periodicity comprising a time interval, and the UE
Akkarakaran, in analogous art, discloses wherein subsequent SSBs from the network node configured to be detected in a periodicity comprising a time interval, and the UE [0005: The described techniques relate to improved methods, systems, devices, or apparatuses that support frequency division multiplexing (FDM) for bandwidth part (BWP) transmissions with mixed attributes.]
change the skipped part or parts of the subsequent SSBs within the time interval, [0006: According to aspects of the present disclosure, a base station may configure a configuration for a BWP of a carrier for downlink transmissions. The BWP configuration may include a first transmission attribute (e.g., a BWP SCS, etc.) for downlink transmissions within the BWP. The base station may then transmit a grant for a downlink transmission to a UE. In some cases, the downlink transmission may be scheduled (e.g., via the grant) for a set of resources that are overlapping in time with a SS block for the carrier. The downlink transmission may be associated with transmission attributes such as a beam direction. Where there is overlap in time (e.g., at least a portion of the set of resources are FDMed with the SS block), efficient techniques for handling transmission attributes associated with SS blocks and transmission attributes associated with transmissions within BWPs are now described.]
so that the skipped part or parts of the SSB in some or all of the subframes are non-overlapping or partially overlapping. [0007: In a first example, the set of resources of the downlink transmission that overlap with the SS block may be transmitted using a second transmission attribute (e.g., the SS block SCS, the SS block beam direction, etc.). Further, the remainder of the downlink transmission (e.g., the remaining time resources of the downlink transmission not including the set of overlapping resources) may be transmitted using the first transmission attribute (e.g., a BWP SCS different from the SS block SCS, a beam direction different from the SS block beam direction, etc.).]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify the UE of Liu and R1-2203338 with the teachings of Akkarakaran in order to overcome the relatively high path losses associated with frequencies in these systems. [Akkarakaran - 0004]
Claims 6, 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of R1-2203338, in view of Pezeshki (US 2022/0480381)and further in view of 3GPP Draft, R1-2203996 (3GPP Draft, R1-2203996; OPPO; Simulation and evaluation for RedCap enhancement; 2022-04-29.), hereinafter R1-2203996.
Regarding Claim 6, Liu and R1-2203338 disclose (Currently Amended) The method according to claim 1.
Combination of Liu and R1-2203338 does not disclose wherein the part of the SSB to be skipped is determined
R1-2203996, in analogous art, discloses wherein the part of the SSB to be skipped is determined [Page 3, Figure 2: 30kHz subcarrier spacing for operating in 5MHz bandwidth – PBCH and SIB1 are punctured] (The SSB/PBCH is punctured from 20 to 12 PRBs, while covering the PSS and SSS. It is considered to be implicit that these 8 punctured PRBs must be 4 at the top and 4 at the bottom, while covering the PSS/SSS.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of Liu and R1-2203338 with the teachings of R1-2203996 to further reduce the complexity of RedCap devices. [R1-2203996 - Introduction]
Regarding Claim 22, Liu and R1-2203338 disclose (Currently Amended) The UE claim 17,
Combination of Liu and R1-2203338 does not disclose wherein the part of the SSB to be skipped is adapted to be determined such that any one or more out of a Primary Synchronization Signal, PSS, a Secondary Synchronization Signal, SSS,and a Physical Broadcast Channel, PBCH, comprised in the SSB are least affected or not affected.
R1-2203996, in analogous art, discloses wherein the part of the SSB to be skipped is adapted to be determined such that any one or more out of a Primary Synchronization Signal, PSS, a Secondary Synchronization Signal, SSS,and a Physical Broadcast Channel, PBCH, comprised in the SSB are least affected or not affected. [Page 3, Figure 2: 30kHz subcarrier spacing for operating in 5MHz bandwidth – PBCH and SIB1 are punctured] (The SSB/PBCH is punctured from 20 to 12 PRBs, while covering the PSS and SSS. It is considered to be implicit that these 8 punctured PRBs must be 4 at the top and 4 at the bottom, while covering the PSS/SSS.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify the UE of Liu and R1-2203338 with the teachings of R1-2203996 to further reduce the complexity of RedCap devices. [R1-2203996 - Introduction]
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAMIE J ATALA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2486