DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the amendment filed 04/06/2026, in which claims 1-12 were canceled and claims 13 and 14 were newly added. Claims 13 and 14 are currently pending.
Applicant’s arguments have been thoroughly reviewed, but are not persuasive for the
reasons that follow. Any rejection and objections not reiterated in this action have been
withdrawn. This action is FINAL.
Priority
Acknowledgement of the receipt of the certified foreign priority application and the certified translation filed on 04/06/2026.
Therefore, all claims are given the effective filing date of 11/21/2019, filed as JP2019/210114. All claims are given the priority date of 11/21/2019.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
This is a NEW rejection necessitated by Applicant’s amendments to the claims filed on 04/06/2026.
Claims 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for an SLH-domain containing outer membrane protein or gene wherein the sequence comprises 100% identity to any of SEQ ID NOs: 1 and/or 7 as well as a cell wall-pyruvic acid modifying enzyme or gene wherein the sequence comprises 100% identity to any of SEQ ID NOs: 4 and/or 10, does not reasonably provide enablement for a gene or protein involved in the binding between the outer membrane and the cell wall is at least one of a surface layer homology (SLH) domain-containing outer membrane protein or a cell wall-pyruvic acid modifying enzyme, the SLH domain-containing outer membrane protein is:Slr1841 having an amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 1; or a protein having an amino acid sequence that is at least 90 percent identical to the amino acid sequence of the Slr1841, and the cell wall-pyruvic acid modifying enzyme is:Slr0688 having an amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 4; or a protein having an amino acid sequence that is at least 90 percent identical to the amino acid sequence of the Slr0688. The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention commensurate in scope with these claims.
Enablement is considered in view of the Wands factors (MPEP 2164.01(A)). These include: the breadth of the claims, the nature of the invention, the state of the prior art, the level of one of ordinary skill, the level of predictability in the art, the amount of direction provided by the inventor, the existence of working examples, and the quantity of experimentation needed to make or use the invention. All of the Wands factors have been considered with regard to the instant claims, with the most relevant factors discussed below.
Nature of the invention: The claims are drawn to a modified cyanobacterium in which a function of a protein involved in binding between an outer membrane and a cell wall of cyanobacterium is suppressed or lost.
Breadth of the claims: The claims broadly encompass a modified cyanobacterium in which a function of a protein involved in binding between an outer membrane and a cell wall of cyanobacterium is suppressed or lost wherein the protein involved in the binding between the outer membrane and the cell wall is at least one of a surface layer homology (SLH) domain-containing outer membrane protein or a cell wall-pyruvic acid modifying enzyme. The complex nature of the subject matter of this invention is greatly exacerbated by the breadth of the claims.
Guidance of the specification and existence of working examples: The specification describes a modified cyanobacterium in which a function of a protein involved in binding between an outer membrane and a cell wall of cyanobacterium is suppressed or lost wherein the protein involved in the binding between the outer membrane and the cell wall is at least one of a surface layer homology (SLH) domain-containing outer membrane protein or a cell wall-pyruvic acid modifying enzyme (Page 6, Line 29 bridging Page 7, Line 12). The specification describes two types of modified cyanobacteria were produced by suppressing the expression of slr1841 gene encoding a SLH domain-containing outer membrane protein (Example 1) and suppressing the expression of slr0688 gene encoding a cell wall-pyruvic acid modifying enzyme (Example 2) as methods for partially detaching the outer membrane of cyanobacterium from the cell wall (Page 32, Lines 1-7). The specification and working examples do not include the use of any other SLH domain containing outer membrane protein or cell wall-pyruvic acid modifying enzyme other than the slr1841 and slr0688, respectively, showing that no testing or experimentation was completed with other variants of the SLH domain-containing outer membrane protein and/or cell wall-pyruvic acid modifying enzymes.
Predictability and state of the art:
Qiu et al (Appl Environ Microbiol 84: e01512-18; 2018) teaches the attempted knock out the six putative porin-encoding genes in Synechocystis 6803, of which only four (sll0772, sll1271, sll1550 and slr0042) were successfully knocked out, and the mutation of five or all six porin-encoding genes was lethal to Synechocystis 6803 (Page 7, Paragraph 2). Showing that not all variants of the SLH domain proteins are capable of successfully knocking out the binding of the outer membrane to the cell wall.
Gordon et al (Adv Exp Med Biol. 2018; 1080: 281-315) teaches that while some slr proteins showed 10-fold repression, the slr0091 protein only showed 2-fold repression in PCC6803 (Page 14, Paragraph 1). Therefore, targeting of different slr proteins/genes showed different levels of repression of that gene/protein.
Amount of experimentation necessary: In order to practice the claimed invention, an immense amount of experimentation would be required. As disclosed above, the specification itself provides description of the SLH-domain containing outer membrane proteins and the cell wall-pyruvic acid modifying enzymes comprising the sequences of SEQ ID NOs: 1-12. No description is provided of any fragments or sequences comprising less than 100% identity to the sequences claimed that is capable of functioning and preforming the same activity of the sequences claimed. Except for the full sequences disclosed and claimed, for experimentation, first the SLH-domain containing outer membrane protein and/or the cell wall-pyruvic acid modifying enzyme would need to be identified wherein this would require a large amount of experimentation with no knowledge of which structures would be capable of performing the exact activity to cause the separation of the cell wall from the outer-membrane. Second, the SLH-domain containing outer membrane protein and/or the cell wall-pyruvic acid modifying enzyme would need to be tested in order to confirm that the protein/enzyme would be capable of successfully causing separation of the cell wall from the outer-membrane of the cyanobacteria. The specification does teach how the miRNA inhibitors function and how the structure of the miRNA inhibitor structure contributes to that function. Therefore, experiment could be conducted, but in view of the specification there does not appear to be any amount of experimentation that would be sufficient to reliably produce the exact product of the invention. Such experimentation would not be possible due to not having the steps or complete required structure of the SLH-domain containing outer membrane protein and/or the cell wall-pyruvic acid modifying enzyme. Therefore, it would require immense amount of unpredictable experimentation to practice the claimed invention with such variants in the possible result.
In view of the breadth of the claims and the lack of guidance provided by the specification as well as the unpredictability of the art, the skilled artisan would have required an undue amount of experimentation to make and/or use the claimed invention. Therefore, claims 13 and 14 are not considered to be fully enabled by the instant disclosure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable by Qiu et al (Appl Environ Microbiol 84: e01512-18, Pgs. 1-15; 2018; Cited in a Prior Office Action) as evidenced by GenBank Accession Number BAA17449.1 (slr1841 [Synechocystis sp. PCC 6803]; Oct. 7, 2016; Pg1/2-2/2) and NCBI Reference Sequence: NC_000911.1 (Synechocystis sp. PCC 6803 DNA, complete genome; Jan, 7th, 2019; Pgs 1/2-2/2). This is a NEW rejection necessitated by Applicant’s amendments to the claims filed on 04/06/2026.
Regarding claims 13 and 14, the claim is interpreted that “a sequence” means two or more consecutive amino acids/nucleotides and not the entirety of the sequence.
Qiu teaches the Synechocystis 6803 has six putative porin proteins, Sll0772, Sll1271, Sll1550, Slr0042, Slr1908, and Slr1841 (all comprising SLH domains) were tested for knock out and knock down wherein four (sll0772, sll1271, sll1550 and slr0042) of the six proteins were successfully suppressed or completely inactivated (Page 7, Paragraph 2). Qiu teaches the TonB proteins have a cytoplasmic transmembrane domain in the N terminus which serves as a cytoplasmic membrane anchor, a proline-rich elongated linker that allows them to span the periplasmic space, and antiparallel β-sheets in the C terminus that may interact with the TonB box domain of TBDTs (Page 3, Paragraph 2). The Genbank accession number is cited as evidence due to Qiu teaching the use of the highly conserved protein of slr1841 which was known in the art (GenBank Accession Number BAA17449.1; 2016). The sequence shown in GenBank Accession Number BAA17449.1 is 100% identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 1 (See NEW Appendix I). The NCBI Reference sequence is cited as evidence due to Qiu teaching the use of the highly conserved protein of slr1841 which was known in the art wherein the protein is encoded by the slr1841 gene (NCBI Reference Sequence: NC_000911.1; 2019). The sequence shown in NCBI Reference Sequence: NC_000911.1 at nucleotide positions 958137 to 960029 of the complete genome of Synechocystis sp. PCC 6803 is 100% identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 7 (See NEW Appendix II).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
The previous rejection of claims 1-12 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) have been withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendments to the claims filed on 04/06/2026.
Double Patenting
Claims 13 and 14 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 of copending Application No. 17/845,022 (reference application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-8 of ‘022 application teaches the SEQ ID NOs: 1, 4, 7 and 10 of the instant application denoted as SEQ ID NOs: 1, 4, 7 and 10 for the purpose of a modified cyanobacterium where the proteins encoded by any of SEQ ID NOs: 1, 4, 7 and 10 is involved in binding between an outer membrane and a cell of cyanobacterium that is suppressed or lost.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 13 and 14 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 4-10 of copending Application No. 17/748,678 (reference application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1 and 4-10 of ‘678 application teaches the SEQ ID NOs: 1, 4, 7 and 10 of the instant application denoted as SEQ ID NOs: 1, 4, 7 and 10 for the purpose of a modified cyanobacterium where the proteins encoded by any of SEQ ID NOs: 1, 4, 7 and 10 is involved in binding between an outer membrane and a cell of cyanobacterium that is suppressed or lost.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 13 and 14 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 of copending Application No. 18/339,501 (reference application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-8 of ‘501 application teaches the SEQ ID NOs: 1, 4, 7 and 10 of the instant application denoted as SEQ ID NOs: 1, 4, 7 and 10 for the purpose of a modified cyanobacterium where the proteins encoded by any of SEQ ID NOs: 1, 4, 7 and 10 is involved in binding between an outer membrane and a cell of cyanobacterium that is suppressed or lost.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 13 and 14 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 of copending Application No. 18/456,037 (reference application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-8 of ‘037 application teaches the SEQ ID NOs: 1, 4, 7 and 10 of the instant application denoted as SEQ ID NOs: 1, 4, 7 and 10 for the purpose of a modified cyanobacterium where the proteins encoded by any of SEQ ID NOs: 1, 4, 7 and 10 is involved in binding between an outer membrane and a cell of cyanobacterium that is suppressed or lost.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 13 and 14 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 of copending Application No. 17/845,022 (reference application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-8 of ‘022 application teaches the SEQ ID NOs: 1, 4, 7 and 10 of the instant application denoted as SEQ ID NOs: 1, 4, 7 and 10 for the purpose of a modified cyanobacterium where the proteins encoded by any of SEQ ID NOs: 1, 4, 7 and 10 is involved in binding between an outer membrane and a cell of cyanobacterium that is suppressed or lost.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 13 and 14 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims | and 4-10 of copending Application No. 18/456,897 (reference application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1 and 4-10 of ‘897 application teaches the SEQ ID NOs: 1, 4, 7 and 10 of the instant application denoted as SEQ ID NOs: 1, 4, 7 and 10 for the purpose of a modified cyanobacterium where the proteins encoded by any of SEQ ID NOs: 1, 4, 7 and 10 is involved in binding between an outer membrane and a cell of cyanobacterium that is suppressed or lost.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 13 and 14 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 of copending Application No. 18/457,500 (reference application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-8 of ‘500 application teaches the SEQ ID NOs: 1, 4, 7 and 10 of the instant application denoted as SEQ ID NOs: 1, 4, 7 and 10 for the purpose of a modified cyanobacterium where the proteins encoded by any of SEQ ID NOs: 1, 4, 7 and 10 is involved in binding between an outer membrane and a cell of cyanobacterium that is suppressed or lost.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 13 and 14 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 of copending Application No. 18/458,443 (reference application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-8 of ‘443 application teaches the SEQ ID NOs: 1, 4, 7 and 10 of the instant application denoted as SEQ ID NOs: 1, 4, 7 and 10 for the purpose of a modified cyanobacterium where the proteins encoded by any of SEQ ID NOs: 1, 4, 7 and 10 is involved in binding between an outer membrane and a cell of cyanobacterium that is suppressed or lost.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 13 and 14 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of copending Application No. 18/974,875 (reference application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-10 of ‘875 application teaches the SEQ ID NOs: 1, 4, 7 and 10 of the instant application denoted as SEQ ID NOs: 1, 4, 7 and 10 for the purpose of a modified cyanobacterium where the proteins encoded by any of SEQ ID NOs: 1, 4, 7 and 10 is involved in binding between an outer membrane and a cell of cyanobacterium that is suppressed or lost.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALEXANDRA ROSE LIPPOLIS/Examiner, Art Unit 1637
/CELINE X QIAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1637