DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
Claim 4 is canceled.
Claims 17-20 are new.
Claims 1-3 and 5-20 are pending and have been examined.
This action is in reply to the papers filed on 04/09/2026 (effective filing date 04/15/2022).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) submitted: 10/02/2024, 07/22/2025, 08/01/2025, has/have been considered by the Examiner and made of record in the application file.
Amendment
The present Office Action is based upon the original patent application filed on 05/20/2022 as modified by the amendment filed on 04/09/2026.
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on xxx disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of US Pat. No. xxxx has been reviewed and has been placed in the file.
Examiner acknowledges Applicant’s filed Terminal Disclaimer to prior art patent McCauley et al. US Pat. No. 5,930,775. A terminal disclaimer may be filed to overcome or obviate a nonstatutory double patenting rejection (37 CFR 1.321; MPEP 706.02; 1490).
Double Patenting - Withdrawn
The double patenting rejection is withdrawn per the filed terminal disclaimer noted above.
Reasons For Allowance
Prior-Art Rejection withdrawn
Claims 1-3 and 5-20 are allowable over the prior-art, however, 35 USC 101 rejection remains. The closest prior art (See PTO-892, Notice of References Cited) does not teach the claimed: Claim 1. (currently amended) A method of improving efficiency of clickstream data processing, comprising: extracting, by a processor, the clickstream data, wherein the clickstream data comprises a plurality of pages; transforming, by the processor, the clickstream data into a probability matrix comprising a plurality of entries, wherein each entry of the probability matrix comprises a respective probability of proceeding from a first one of the plurality of pages to a second one of the plurality of pages; transforming, by the processor, the probability matrix by reducing dimensionality into two dimensional data using a Uniform Manifold Approximation and Projection algorithm (UMAP); generating, by the processor based on the two dimensional data, a cluster graph visualizing a plurality of clusters; determining, by the processor, a respective center and a respective edge of each cluster of the plurality of clusters; shading, by the processor based on the determined edges of each cluster, the two dimensional data within each respective cluster; and displaying, by the processor, the cluster graph on a display.
The closest prior-art (Shen et al. 2014/0101580, Martinec et al. 2022/0391445, Saunkeah et al. 2023/0162241, Pai et al. US 10,115,121, Kehler 2022/0108195, Grgicak et al. 2023/0162044) teach the features as disclosed in Non-final Rejection (01/12/2026), however, these cited references do not teach and the prior-art does not teach at least the following combination of features and/or elements:
extracting, by a processor, the clickstream data, wherein the clickstream data comprises a plurality of pages; transforming, by the processor, the clickstream data into a probability matrix comprising a plurality of entries, wherein each entry of the probability matrix comprises a respective probability of proceeding from a first one of the plurality of pages to a second one of the plurality of pages; transforming, by the processor, the probability matrix by reducing dimensionality into two dimensional data using a Uniform Manifold Approximation and Projection algorithm (UMAP); generating, by the processor based on the two dimensional data, a cluster graph visualizing a plurality of clusters; determining, by the processor, a respective center and a respective edge of each cluster of the plurality of clusters; shading, by the processor based on the determined edges of each cluster, the two dimensional data within each respective cluster; and displaying, by the processor, the cluster graph on a display.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC §101 - Withdrawn
Per Applicant’s amendments and arguments and considering new guidance in the MPEP, the rejections are withdrawn. Specifically, in Applicant’s Remarks (dated 03/14/2017, pgs. 8-11), Applicant traverses the 35 USC §101 rejections arguing that the amended claims recite new limitations that are not abstract, amount to significantly more, are directed to a practical application, etc… For example, Applicant argues….
In support of their arguments, Applicant cites to the following recent Fed. Cir. court cases (i.e., Alice Corp. v. CLS Bank Int’l, SRI Int’l, Inc. v. Cisco Systems, Inc., Ultramercial, Inc. v. Hulu, LLC, Berkheimer, Core Wireless, McRO, Enfish, Bascom, DDR, etc…).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-16 are rejected on the ground of anticipatory-nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,406,274.
17/749,206 – Claim 1. A method of improving efficiency of clickstream data processing comprising the steps of:
US 12,406,274 – Claim 1. An apparatus for improving efficiency of clickstream data processing comprising: a processor; and a memory including instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to:
17/749,206 – Claim 1. extracting the clickstream data and transforming the clickstream data into a probability matrix, where the probability matrix comprises a probability of proceeding from a first page to a second page;
US 12,406,274 – Claim 1. extract the clickstream data; transform the clickstream data into a probability matrix, wherein the clickstream data comprises a plurality of pages and the probability matrix comprises a plurality of entries, each entry of the probability matrix comprising a respective probability of proceeding from a first one of the plurality of pages to a second one of the plurality of pages;
17/749,206 – Claim 1. transforming the probability matrix by reducing dimensionality into two dimensional data using a Uniform Manifold Approximation and Projection algorithm (UMAP) and
US 12,406,274 – Claim 1. transform the probability matrix into two dimensional data by reducing dimensionality of the probability matrix using a Uniform Manifold Approximation and Projection algorithm (UMAP);
17/749,206 – Claim 1. generating a cluster graph visualizing a plurality of clusters.
US 12,406,274 – Claim 1. generate, by a Density Based Spatial Clustering of Applications with Noise (DBSCAN) algorithm based on the two dimensional data, a cluster graph visualizing a plurality of clusters of the two dimensional data;
17/749,206 – Claim 2. The method of claim 1 further comprising the steps of: feeding the two dimensional data into a Density Based Spatial Clustering of Applications with Noise algorithm (DBSCAN), and
US 12,406,274 – Claim 1. generate, by a Density Based Spatial Clustering of Applications with Noise (DBSCAN) algorithm based on the two dimensional data, a cluster graph visualizing a plurality of clusters of the two dimensional data;
17/749,206 – Claim 2. identifying the center of each cluster of the plurality of clusters.
US 12,406,274 – Claim 1. determine, by the DBSCAN algorithm based on the two dimensional data, a respective center of each cluster of the plurality of clusters;
17/749,206 – Claim 3. The method of claim 1 further comprising the steps of: applying a K-Nearest Neighbor algorithm (KNN) to identify data points closest to the center of each cluster, and
US 12,406,274 – Claim 1. process, by a K-Nearest Neighbor (KNN) algorithm, the generated cluster graph and the determined centers of each cluster, to determine a respective subset of data points of the two dimensional data closest to the center of each cluster;
17/749,206 – Claim 3. shading each of the data points to graphically identify each cluster of the plurality of clusters.
US 12,406,274 – Claim 1. shade, based on the determined edges of each cluster, each of the data points within each respective subset to graphically identify each cluster of the plurality of clusters in the cluster graph; and output the cluster graph on a display.
17/749,206 – Claim 4. The method of claim 3 further comprising the step of: illustrating the graph on the display representative of the data points shaded following application of the KNN algorithm.
US 12,406,274 – Claim 20. The apparatus of claim 19, wherein the KNN algorithm shades each of the data points.
17/749,206 – Claim 5. The method of claim 1 further comprising the step of: prior to extracting the clickstream data, first receiving and storing in a memory of a computer clickstream data over a predetermined period of time.
US 12,406,274 – Claim 2. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the memory further includes instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to: prior to the extraction of the clickstream data, first receive and store in the memory of the computer clickstream data over a predetermined period of time.
17/749,206 – Claim 6. The method of claim 5 wherein the predetermined time period is 90 days.
US 12,406,274 – Claim 3. The apparatus of claim 2, wherein the predetermined time period is 90 days.
17/749,206 – Claim 7. The method of claim 5 wherein the predetermine time period is one month.
US 12,406,274 – Claim 4. The apparatus of claim 3, wherein the predetermined time period is one month.
17/749,206 – Claim 8. The method of claim 3 further comprising the step of: labeling observations of each cluster of the plurality of clusters based on common features following the application of the KNN algorithm.
US 12,406,274 – Claim 8. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the memory further includes instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to: label observations of each cluster of the plurality of clusters based on common features following the application of the KNN algorithm.
17/749,206 – Claim 9. The method of claim 2 further comprising the step of: downsampling the two dimensional data from the UMAP algorithm, and using the downsampled data to reduce the density before the application of the DBSCAN algorithm.
US 12,406,274 – Claim 9. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the memory further includes instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to: downsample the two dimensional data from the UMAP algorithm; and use the downsampled data to reduce the density before the application of the DBSCAN algorithm.
17/749,206 – Claim 10. The method of claim 9 further comprising the step of: labeling the remaining data points in the respective clusters following the downsampling.
US 12,406,274 – Claim 10. The apparatus of claim 9, wherein the memory further includes instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to: label the remaining data points in the respective clusters.
17/749,206 – Claim 11. The method of claim 5 wherein the clickstream data comprises clickstreams received from a mobile based platform and/or a web based platform.
US 12,406,274 – Claim 5. The apparatus of claim 2, wherein the clickstream data comprises clickstreams received from a mobile based platform and/or a web based platform.
17/749,206 – Claim 12. The method of claim 1 wherein the method is characterized by a lack of any step utilizing functionality of a Natural Language Processing algorithm.
US 12,406,274 – Claim 7. The apparatus of claim 2, wherein the apparatus is characterized by a lack of any step utilizing functionality of a Natural Language Processing algorithm.
17/749,206 – Claim 13. The method of claim 2 wherein the method is characterized by a lack of any step utilizing functionality of a Natural Language Processing algorithm.
US 12,406,274 – Claim 7. The apparatus of claim 2, wherein the apparatus is characterized by a lack of any step utilizing functionality of a Natural Language Processing algorithm.
17/749,206 – Claim 14. The method of claim 3 wherein the method is characterized by a lack of any step utilizing functionality of a Natural Language Processing algorithm.
US 12,406,274 – Claim 7. The apparatus of claim 2, wherein the apparatus is characterized by a lack of any step utilizing functionality of a Natural Language Processing algorithm.
17/749,206 – Claim 15. The method of claim 5 wherein the method is characterized by a lack of any step utilizing functionality of a Natural Language Processing algorithm.
US 12,406,274 – Claim 7. The apparatus of claim 2, wherein the apparatus is characterized by a lack of any step utilizing functionality of a Natural Language Processing algorithm.
17/749,206 – Claim 16. The method of claim 11 wherein the clickstream data further comprises data from 100,000 patrons who utilize the mobile based platform and/or the web based platform.
US 12,406,274 – Claim 6. The apparatus of claim 5, wherein the clickstream data further comprises data from 100,000 patrons who utilize the mobile based platform and/or the web based platform.
The remaining independent claims contain feature similar to that of claim 1 and are rejected accordingly. The dependent claims are further rejected for their dependency upon a rejected independent base claim.
Claims 1-16 are rejected on the ground of anticipatory-nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,614,198.
17/749,206 – Claim 1. A method of improving efficiency of clickstream data processing comprising the steps of: extracting the clickstream data and transforming the clickstream data into a probability matrix, where the probability matrix comprises a probability of proceeding from a first page to a second page;
Application No. 17/659,407 (Notice of Allowance dated 01/05/2026; US Patent No. Not yet Issued) Claim 1. extract the patron clickstream data and transform the patron clickstream data into a probability matrix, where the probability matrix comprises a probability that a patron would proceed from a first page to a second page;
transforming the probability matrix by reducing dimensionality into two dimensional data using a Uniform Manifold Approximation and Projection algorithm (UMAP) and
Application No. 17/659,407 (Notice of Allowance dated 01/05/2026; US Patent No. Not yet Issued) Claim 1. transform the probability matrix by reducing dimensionality into two dimensional data using a Uniform Manifold Approximation and Projection algorithm (UMAP) and generate a cluster graph visualizing a plurality of clusters;
generating a cluster graph visualizing a plurality of clusters.
Application No. 17/659,407 (Notice of Allowance dated 01/05/2026; US Patent No. Not yet Issued) Claim 1. using the two dimensional data from the UMAP algorithm and the center of each cluster from the DBSCAN algorithm, apply a K-Nearest Neighbor algorithm (KNN) to identify data points closest to the center of each cluster and shade each of the data points to graphically identify each cluster of the plurality of clusters; and illustrate a graph on the display representative of the data points shaded following application of the KNN algorithm.
The remaining independent claims contain feature similar to that of claim 1 and are rejected accordingly. The dependent claims are further rejected for their dependency upon a rejected independent base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
35 U.S.C. § 101 reads as follows:
Claims 1-3 and 5-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. These claims recite a method for graphically clustering high dimensional patron clickstream data.
Claim 1 recites [a] method of improving efficiency of clickstream data processing, comprising: extracting, by a processor, the clickstream data, wherein the clickstream data comprises a plurality of pages; transforming, by the processor, the clickstream data into a probability matrix comprising a plurality of entries, wherein each entry of the probability matrix comprises a respective probability of proceeding from a first one of the plurality of pages to a second one of the plurality of pages; transforming, by the processor, the probability matrix by reducing dimensionality into two dimensional data using a Uniform Manifold Approximation and Projection algorithm (UMAP); generating, by the processor based on the two dimensional data, a cluster graph visualizing a plurality of clusters; determining, by the processor, a respective center and a respective edge of each cluster of the plurality of clusters; shading, by the processor based on the determined edges of each cluster, the two dimensional data within each respective cluster; and displaying, by the processor, the cluster graph on a display.
The claims are being rejected according to the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance (Federal Register, Vol. 84, No. 5, p. 50-57 (Jan. 7, 2019)).
Step 1: Does the Claim Fall within a Statutory Category?
Yes. Claims 1-3, 5-18 recite a method and, therefore, are directed to the statutory class of a process. Claim 20 recites a system/apparatus and, therefore, are directed to the statutory class of machine. Claim 19 recites a non-transitory computer readable medium/computer product and, therefore, are directed to the statutory class of a manufacture.
Step 2A, Prong One: Is a Judicial Exception Recited?
Yes. The following tables identify the specific limitations that recite an abstract idea. The column that identifies the additional elements will be relevant to the analysis in step 2A, prong two, and step 2B.
Claim 1: Identification of Abstract Idea and Additional Elements, using Broadest Reasonable Interpretation
Claim Limitation
Abstract Idea
Additional Element
1. A method of improving efficiency of clickstream data processing, comprising:
No additional elements are positively claimed.
extracting, by a processor, the clickstream data, wherein the clickstream data comprises a plurality of pages;
This limitation includes the step(s) of: extracting, by a processor, the clickstream data, wherein the clickstream data comprises a plurality of pages.
This limitation is directed to processing and/or communicating known information in order to facilitate graphically clustering high dimensional patron clickstream data which may be categorized as any of the following:
mathematical concept (Data Transformation and Visualization)
and/or
certain method of organizing human activity (Data Analysis and Visualization). Extracting and organizing clickstream data.
extracting, by a processor, the clickstream data…
transforming, by the processor, the clickstream data into a probability matrix comprising a plurality of entries, wherein each entry of the probability matrix comprises a respective probability of proceeding from a first one of the plurality of pages to a second one of the plurality of pages;
This limitation includes the step(s) of: transforming, by the processor, the clickstream data into a probability matrix comprising a plurality of entries, wherein each entry of the probability matrix comprises a respective probability of proceeding from a first one of the plurality of pages to a second one of the plurality of pages.
This limitation is directed to processing and/or communicating known information in order to facilitate graphically clustering high dimensional patron clickstream data which may be categorized as any of the following:
mathematical concept (Data Transformation and Visualization) Converting raw clickstream data into a mathematical matrix representing transition probabilities between pages. This is a mathematical concept—a data structure encoding probabilistic relationships.
and/or
certain method of organizing human activity (Data Analysis and Visualization).
transforming, by the processor, the clickstream data into a probability matrix…
transforming, by the processor, the probability matrix by reducing dimensionality into two dimensional data using a Uniform Manifold Approximation and Projection algorithm (UMAP);
This limitation includes the step(s) of: transforming, by the processor, the probability matrix by reducing dimensionality into two dimensional data using a Uniform Manifold Approximation and Projection algorithm (UMAP).
This limitation is directed to processing and/or communicating known information in order to facilitate graphically clustering high dimensional patron clickstream data which may be categorized as any of the following:
mathematical concept (Data Transformation and Visualization) Applying a mathematical algorithm (UMAP) to reduce a high-dimensional probability matrix to two-dimensional data. UMAP is a well-known dimensionality reduction algorithm based on topological data analysis and manifold learning—fundamental mathematical concepts.
and/or
certain method of organizing human activity (Data Analysis and Visualization).
transforming, by the processor, the probability matrix by reducing dimensionality into two dimensional data using a Uniform Manifold Approximation and Projection algorithm (UMAP)
generating, by the processor based on the two dimensional data, a cluster graph visualizing a plurality of clusters;
This limitation includes the step(s) of: generating, by the processor based on the two dimensional data, a cluster graph visualizing a plurality of clusters.
This limitation is directed to processing and/or communicating known information in order to facilitate graphically clustering high dimensional patron clickstream data which may be categorized as any of the following:
mathematical concept (Data Transformation and Visualization) Generating clusters and determining geometric properties (centers, edges) of those clusters. This involves mathematical clustering operations.
and/or
certain method of organizing human activity (Data Analysis and Visualization).
generating, by the processor based on the two dimensional data, a cluster graph…
determining, by the processor, a respective center and a respective edge of each cluster of the plurality of clusters;
This limitation includes the step(s) of: determining, by the processor, a respective center and a respective edge of each cluster of the plurality of clusters.
This limitation is directed to processing and/or communicating known information in order to facilitate graphically clustering high dimensional patron clickstream data which may be categorized as any of the following:
mathematical concept (Data Transformation and Visualization) Generating clusters and determining geometric properties (centers, edges) of those clusters. This involves mathematical clustering operations.
and/or
certain method of organizing human activity (Data Analysis and Visualization). Transforming it into a visual representation (cluster graph)
determining, by the processor, a respective center and a respective edge of each cluster of the plurality of clusters
shading, by the processor based on the determined edges of each cluster, the two dimensional data within each respective cluster; and
This limitation includes the step(s) of: shading, by the processor based on the determined edges of each cluster, the two dimensional data within each respective cluster.
This limitation is directed to processing and/or communicating known information in order to facilitate graphically clustering high dimensional patron clickstream data which may be categorized as any of the following:
mathematical concept (Data Transformation and Visualization) Assigning visual attributes (shading/color) to clusters based on mathematical properties (edges).
and/or
certain method of organizing human activity (Data Analysis and Visualization).
shading, by the processor based on the determined edges of each cluster, the two dimensional data within…
displaying, by the processor, the cluster graph on a display.
This limitation includes the step(s) of: displaying, by the processor, the cluster graph on a display.
This limitation is directed to processing and/or communicating known information in order to facilitate graphically clustering high dimensional patron clickstream data which may be categorized as any of the following:
mathematical concept (Data Transformation and Visualization)
and/or
certain method of organizing human activity (Data Analysis and Visualization). Displaying it for human interpretation.
displaying, by the processor, the cluster graph on a display
As shown above, under Step 2A, Prong One, the claims recite a judicial exception (an abstract idea). The claims are directed to the abstract idea of graphically clustering high dimensional patron clickstream data, which, pursuant to MPEP 2106.04, is aptly categorized as a mental process and/or a method of organizing human activity. Therefore, under Step 2A, Prong One, the claims recite a judicial exception.
Next, the claims recite additional functional elements that are associated with the judicial exception, including: a processor and display for performing calculations and displaying information. Examiner understands these limitations to be insignificant extrasolution activity. (See Accenture, 728 F.3d 1336, 108 U.S.P.Q.2d 1173 (Fed. Cir. 2013), citing Cf. Diamond v. Diehr, 450 U.S. 175, 191-192 (1981) ("[I]nsignificant post-solution activity will not transform an unpatentable principle in to a patentable process.”).
The aforementioned claims also recite additional technical elements including: a “processor” and “display” to execute the method, a “non-transitory computer-readable storage medium” (claim 19) for storing executable instructions, a “memory” and/or “storage medium” (claims 19 and 20) for storing data and executable instructions, and a “display” or “graphical user interface” (claims 1, 19, 20) for displaying and transmitting data. These limitations are recited at a high level of generality and appear to be nothing more than generic computer components. Claims that amount to nothing more than an instruction to apply the abstract idea using a generic computer do not render an abstract idea eligible. Alice Corp., 134 S. Ct. at 2358, 110 USPQ2d at 1983. See also 134 S. Ct. at 2389, 110 USPQ2d at 1984.
Step 2A, Prong Two: Is the Abstract Idea Integrated into a Practical Application?
No. The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The additional elements listed above that relate to computing components are recited at a high level of generality (i.e., as generic components performing generic computer functions such as communicating, receiving, processing, analyzing, and outputting/displaying data) such that they amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computing components. Simply implementing the abstract idea on a generic computer is not a practical application of the abstract idea. Additionally, the claims do not purport to improve the functioning of the computer itself. There is no technological problem that the claimed invention solves. Rather, the computer system is invoked merely as a tool. Accordingly, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Therefore, these claims are directed to an abstract idea.
Furthermore, looking at the elements individually and in combination, under Step 2A, Prong Two, the claims as a whole do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application because they fail to: improve the functioning of a computer or a technical field, apply the judicial exception in the treatment or prophylaxis of a disease, apply the judicial exception with a particular machine, effect a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing, or apply the judicial exception beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment. Rather, the claims merely use a computer as a tool to perform the abstract idea(s), and/or add insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception, and/or generally link the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment.
Step 2B: Does the Claim Provide an Inventive Concept?
Next, under Step 2B, the claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional elements, when considered both individually and as an ordered combination, do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. Furthermore, looking at the limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. Simply put, as noted above, there is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer (or any other technology), and their collective functions merely provide conventional computer implementation. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements relating to computing components amount to no more than applying the exception using a generic computing components. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computing component cannot provide an inventive concept. Furthermore, the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claimed computer components (i.e., additional elements) includes any generic computing components that are capable of being programmed to communicate, receive, send, process, analyze, output, or display data. Furthermore, Applicant’s Specification (PGPub. 2023/0334512 [0033]) refers to a general computer system, but they do not include any technically-specific computer algorithm or code.
Additionally, pursuant to the requirement under Berkheimer, the following citations are provided to demonstrate that the additional elements, identified as extra-solution activity, amount to activities that are well-understood, routine, and conventional. See MPEP 2106.05(d).
Capturing an image (code) with an RFID reader. Ritter, US Patent No. 7734507 (Col. 3, Lines 56-67); “RFID: Riding on the Chip” by Pat Russo. Frozen Food Age. New York: Dec. 2003, vol. 52, Issue 5; page S22.
Receiving or transmitting data over a network. Symantec, 838 F.3d at 1321, 120 USPQ2d at 1362; OIP Techs., Inc., v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1093 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (sending messages over a network); buySAFE, Inc. v. Google, Inc., 765 F.3d 1350, 1355, 112 USPQ2d 1093, 1096 (Fed. Cir. 2014).
Storing and retrieving information in memory. Versata Dev. Group, Inc. v. SAP Am., Inc., 793 F.3d 1306, 1334, 115 USPQ2d 1681, 1701 (Fed. Cir. 2015); OIP Techs., 788 F.3d at 1363, 115 USPQ2d at 1092-93.
Outputting/Presenting data to a user. Mayo, 566 U.S. at 79, 101 USPQ2d at 1968; OIP Techs., Inc. v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1092-93 (Fed. Cir. 2015); MPEP 2106.05(g)(3).
Using a machine learning model to determine user segment characteristics for an ad campaign. https://whites.agency/blog/how-to-use-machine-learning-for-customer-segmentation/.
Thus, taken alone and in combination, the additional elements do not amount to significantly more than the above-identified judicial exception (the abstract idea), and are ineligible under 35 USC 101.
Dependent claims 2, 3, 5-18 further describe the abstract idea. The additional elements of the dependent claims fail to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application and do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. Thus, as the dependent claims remain directed to a judicial exception, and as the additional elements of the claims do not amount to significantly more, the dependent claims are not patent eligible.
As such, the claims are not patent eligible.
Invention Could be Performed Manually
It is conceivable that the invention could be performed manually without the aid of machine and/or computer. For example, Applicant claims extracting data, transforming a matrix, and generating a graph. Each of these features could be performed manually and/or with the aid of a simple generic computer to facilitate the transmission of data.
See also Leapfrog Enterprises, Inc. v. Fisher-Price, Inc., and In re Venner, which stand for the concept that automating manual activity and/or applying modern electronics to older mechanical devices to accomplish the same result is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art. Here, applicant is merely claiming computers to facilitate and/or automate functions which used to be commonly performed by a human.
Leapfrog Enterprises, Inc. v. Fisher-Price, Inc., 485 F.3d 1157, 82 USPQ2d 1687 (Fed. Cir. 2007) "[a]pplying modern electronics to older mechanical devices has been commonplace in recent years…"). The combination is thus the adaptation of an old idea or invention using newer technology that is commonly available and understood in the art.
In In re Venner, 262 F.2d 91, 95, 120 USPQ 193, 194 (CCPA 1958), the court held that broadly providing an automatic or mechanical means to replace manual activity which accomplished the same result is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art. MPEP 2144.04, III Automating a Manual Activity.
MPEP 2144.04 III - Automating a Manual Activity and In re Venner, 262 F.2d 91, 95, 120 USPQ 193, 194 (CCPA 1958) further stand for and provide motivation for using technology, hardware, computer, or server to automate a manual activity.
Therefore, the Office finds no improvements to another technology or field, no improvements to the function of the computer itself, and no meaningful limitations beyond generally linking the use of an abstract idea to a particular technological environment. Therefore, based on the two-part Alice Corp. analysis, there are no limitations in any of the claims that transform the exception (i.e., the abstract idea) into a patent eligible application.
Claim Rejections - Not an Ordered Combination
None of the limitations, considered as an ordered combination provide eligibility, because taken as a whole, the claims simply instruct the practitioner to implement the abstract idea with routine, conventional activity.
Claim Rejections - Preemption
Allowing the claims, as presently claimed, would preempt others from graphically clustering high dimensional patron clickstream data. Furthermore, the claim language only recites the abstract idea of performing this method, there are no concrete steps articulating a particular way in which this idea is being implemented or describing how it is being performed.
Examiner’s Response to Arguments
Per Applicants’ amendments/arguments, the rejections are withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Examiner’s Response: Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
Per Applicants’ amendments/arguments, the rejections are withdrawn. See notes above for additional reasoning and rationale for dropping prior-art rejection including Applicant’s amendments and arguments and unique combination of features and elements not taught by the prior-art without hindsight reasoning.
Examiner’s Response: Claim Rejections – 35 USC §101
Per Applicants’ amendments/arguments, the rejections are withdrawn. See notes above for additional reasoning and rationale for dropping 35 USC 101 rejection including Applicant’s amendments, arguments, lack of abstract idea, and practical integration.
Applicant's arguments have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Applicants’ amendments have necessitated the new grounds of rejection noted above.
Regarding Claims 1-3 and 5-20, on page(s) 1-11 of Applicant’s Remarks (dated 04/09/2026), Applicants traverse the 35 USC §101 rejections arguing the following: the claims are not abstract, additional elements are integrated into a practical application, the claims amount to significantly more than any abstract idea, etc…
With respect, the Office maintains the rejection as stated above and further detailed herein.
Step 1: Statutory Category Determination
Regarding Claim 1, The claim explicitly recites “A method…” comprising a series of steps performed by a processor. Thus, claim 1 recites a process (method) under 35 U.S.C. § 101. Consequently, the claim falls within a statutory category and passes Step 1.
Step 2A, Prong 1: Identify Judicial Exception(s)
The Office contends that method claim 1 recites an Abstract Idea – Mathematical Concept (Data Transformation and Visualization). For example, method claim 1 describes the following series of mathematical transformations:
“transforming…the clickstream data into a probability matrix”
“transforming…the probability matrix by reducing dimensionality into two dimensional data using a Uniform Manifold Approximation and Projection algorithm (UMAP)”
“generating…a cluster graph visualizing a plurality of clusters”
“determining…a respective center and a respective edge of each cluster”
“shading…the two dimensional data within each respective cluster”
It is apparent that the claim describes a series of mathematical transformations:
Probability matrix creation: Converting raw clickstream data into a mathematical matrix representing transition probabilities between pages. This is a mathematical concept—a data structure encoding probabilistic relationships.
Dimensionality reduction via UMAP: Applying a mathematical algorithm (UMAP) to reduce a high-dimensional probability matrix to two-dimensional data. UMAP is a well-known dimensionality reduction algorithm based on topological data analysis and manifold learning—fundamental mathematical concepts.
Cluster identification and visualization: Generating clusters and determining geometric properties (centers, edges) of those clusters. This involves mathematical clustering operations.
Data shading/coloring: Assigning visual attributes (shading/color) to clusters based on mathematical properties (edges).
These operations are fundamentally mathematical in nature—they involve algorithms, data structures, and mathematical transformations. See for example, the Manual of Patent Examining Procedure (MPEP) which identifies operations that are fundamentally mathematical in nature: MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2), subsection I – Mathematical Concepts.
The MPEP explicitly defines "mathematical concepts" as falling into three main categories:
Mathematical relationships – relationships between variables or numbers, expressed in formulas, equations, or words (e.g., the Arrhenius equation, pressure as force divided by area).
Mathematical formulas or equations – numerical or textual expressions representing calculations (e.g., F = ma for force).
Mathematical calculations – operations or acts of calculating using mathematical methods, such as arithmetic, exponentiation, or algorithmic manipulations of numbers.
Judicial Recognition as Abstract Ideas: The MPEP references Supreme Court and Federal Circuit precedents (e.g., Gottschalk v. Benson, Parker v. Flook, Diamond v. Diehr, Bilski v. Kappos, Alice Corp. v. CLS Bank) that characterize fundamental mathematical formulas and methods as judicial exceptions to patent eligibility. This is because such mathematical tools are "basic tools of scientific and technological work" and cannot be patented in the abstract.
The Office contends that method claim 1 also recites an Abstract Idea – Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity (Data Analysis and Visualization). For example, method claim 1 describes the following steps of organizing and presenting data for human analysis including:
“improving efficiency of clickstream data processing”
“generating…a cluster graph visualizing a plurality of clusters”
“displaying…the cluster graph on a display”
The claim describes a method of organizing and presenting data for human analysis:
Extracting and organizing clickstream data
Transforming it into a visual representation (cluster graph)
Displaying it for human interpretation
While this has a practical application context (analyzing clickstream data), the core operations are abstract—organizing information for human analysis is a method of organizing human activity. See for example, MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2), subsection II explicitly defines this category. It covers human activities that are recognized as abstract and ineligible for patent protection if claimed without practical application.
Prong 1 Conclusion: The claim recites judicial exceptions: primarily an abstract idea (mathematical concepts: dimensionality reduction, clustering, visualization) and Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity (Data Analysis and Visualization).
Step 2A, Prong 2: Integration into a Practical Application
Under Step 2A, Prong 2, the examiner must determine whether the claim integrates the judicial exception into a practical application such that the claim is directed to “significantly more” than the exception itself. See MPEP § 2106.04(d) – Integration of a Judicial Exception Into a Practical Application. MPEP § 2106.04(d)(I)) lists several factors for evaluating whether additional claim elements integrate the judicial exception:
Improvement to technology or computer functioning
Application to a particular machine
Transformation of an article or thing
Other meaningful limitations beyond merely applying the exception
Improvement to technology or computer functioning? Applicant argues that the additional elements reflect an improvement in the functioning of a technology or technical field by improving the methods by which clickstream data is processed and analyzed (Remarks pgs. 7-8). The preamble explicitly recites “A method of improving efficiency of clickstream data processing.” This language suggests a technological improvement. However, the claim must demonstrate:
What specific efficiency improvement is achieved? (reduced processing time, reduced memory usage, reduced network bandwidth, etc.)
How is the improvement measured? (quantitative metrics)
What is the technical mechanism that achieves the improvement? (specific algorithm or hardware configuration)
Specification Support Required: To establish that this is a technological improvement (not merely a conclusory statement), the specification must disclose:
Comparative performance data (e.g., “UMAP reduces processing time by X% compared to conventional methods”)
Technical explanation of how the specific algorithm selection improves efficiency
Benchmarks or test results demonstrating the efficiency improvement
Here, the language of Claim 1 alone does not establish how efficiency is improved. The claim recites:
Extracting clickstream data
Converting to a probability matrix
Applying UMAP dimensionality reduction
Generating clusters
Shading and displaying
UMAP is a well-known, published algorithm (McInnes, Healy, and Melville, 2018). However, the claim does not explain why UMAP specifically improves efficiency compared to other dimensionality reduction techniques (e.g., t-SNE, PCA, autoencoders). The claim does not explain how the specific sequence of operations (probability matrix → UMAP → clustering → visualization) improves efficiency compared to conventional clickstream analysis methods.
Without specification support demonstrating specific efficiency improvements and the technical mechanisms achieving them, the “improving efficiency” language is conclusory and insufficient to establish Step 2A, Prong 2 integration.
Application to a Particular Machine? No machine is claimed. The claim recites only “a processor” performing generic operations (extracting, transforming, generating, determining, shading, displaying). This is a generic computer performing generic data processing operations. In contrast, an eligible claim might specify:
“a specialized processor configured with dedicated hardware for real-time dimensionality reduction”
“a graphics processing unit (GPU) optimized for parallel clustering operations”
“a particular machine with specific memory architecture for efficient matrix operations”
This claim does not provide such specificity.
Transformation of an Article? There is No transformation of a physical article. The claim involves only data processing and visualization:
Receiving clickstream data (abstract information)
Transforming it mathematically
Displaying it on a screen
There is no transformation of a physical article into a different state or thing. The claim is directed to processing abstract information.
Other Meaningful Limitations Beyond Insignificant Extra-Solution Activity or Field-of-Use Limitations? The Office finds that the additional limitations are either insignificant extra-solution activity or field-of-use limitations.
Probability Matrix Creation (e.g., Transforming, by the processor, the clickstream data into a probability matrix comprising a plurality of entries, wherein each entry of the probability matrix comprises a respective probability of proceeding from a first one of the plurality of pages to a second one of the plurality of pages): Converting clickstream data to a probability matrix is a routine data preprocessing step. Probability matrices are well-understood, conventional data structures used in many domains (Markov chains, graph analysis, etc.).
UMAP Dimensionality Reduction (e.g., Transforming, by the processor, the probability matrix by reducing dimensionality into two dimensional data using a Uniform Manifold Approximation and Projection algorithm (UMAP)): UMAP is a published, well-known algorithm. Applying a known algorithm to data is routine. The claim does not recite any novel modification to UMAP or any specific technical improvement to how UMAP is implemented.
Clustering and Visualization (e.g., generating, by the processor based on the two dimensional data, a cluster graph visualizing a plurality of clusters; determining, by the processor, a respective center and a respective edge of each cluster of the plurality of clusters; shading, by the processor based on the determined edges of each cluster, the two dimensional data within each respective cluster; and displaying, by the processor, the cluster graph on a display): Generating clusters, determining cluster properties, and visualizing them are routine data analysis operations. These are conventional in any data analysis or business intelligence system.
Field-of-Use Limitation: The claim is applied to “clickstream data” from web/mobile platforms, but this is a field-of-use limitation. The MPEP discusses field-of-use limitations that do not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application in MPEP 2106.05 (h). This section explains that limitations that amount to merely indicating a field of use or technological environment in which to apply a judicial exception do not amount to significantly more than the exception itself and cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application. The Supreme Court has established that simply limiting a judicial exception to a particular field or technological environment is not enough to make it patent-eligible.
Prong 2 Conclusion: The claim does NOT clearly integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. The claim recites “improving efficiency,” but without specification support demonstrating:
Specific efficiency improvements (quantitative metrics)
Technical mechanisms achieving those improvements
Comparison to conventional methods
Thus, the claim is directed to applying known mathematical algorithms (UMAP, clustering) to clickstream data and visualizing the results. This is insufficient to establish Step 2A, Prong 2 integration.
Step 2B
Under Step 2B: Significantly More / Well-Understood, Routine, Conventional (WURC) Analysis, the Office finds that all additional elements are WURC.
For example,
Extracting clickstream data is WURC because extracting clickstream data is a routine data input operation and well-established in web analytics and data processing.
Converting to probability matrix is WURC because creating a data matrix is routine exercise for organizing data and probability matrices are conventional in data analysis.
Applying UMAP is also WURC because UMAP is a published algorithm (McInnes et al., 2018), applying a known algorithm is routine, and no novel modification or implementation is claimed.
Clustering and visualization is WURC because clustering and visualization are routine data analysis operations and well-understood in the art.
Displaying on a display is also WURC, as displaying information is a routine output operation and displaying data on a screen is conventional.
Step 2B Conclusion: All additional elements are WURC. The claim does not include “significantly more” than the judicial exception.
Independent Method Claim 1 is Patent Ineligible under 35 USC § 101
Thus, Claim 1 is patent ineligible under 35 USC § 101. The claim recites a method and is directed to the statutory class of a process (Step 1). However, the claim is found to be directed towards an abstract idea of a Mathematical Concept and/or towards Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity (Step 2A, Prong 1) without integrating the abstract idea into a practical application (Step 2A, Prong 2) and all the additional elements are found to be Well-Understood, Routine, Conventional (Step 2B).
Dependent Claims are Patent Ineligible under 35 USC § 101
The dependent claims (Claims 2–18) are found to be ineligible under § 101 for the same reasoning as Claim 1. Regarding Claims 2, 3, 8, 9, 10: These claims depend from Claim 1 and add specific algorithmic details (DBSCAN, KNN, downsampling, labeling). While these claims add more specific algorithmic steps, they do not cure the fundamental § 101 deficiency. They recite:
Claim 2: DBSCAN algorithm (known clustering algorithm)
Claim 3: KNN algorithm (known nearest-neighbor algorithm)
Claim 8: Labeling based on common features (routine post-processing)
Claim 9: Downsampling (routine data preprocessing)
Claim 10: Labeling remaining data (routine post-processing)
All of these are routine, well-known algorithmic operations. They do not integrate the exception into a practical application or constitute “significantly more” than the exception.
Regarding Claims 5, 6, 7, 11: These claims add data collection/storage steps and specify data sources.
Claim 5: “Receiving and storing…clickstream data over a predetermined period of time” – routine data collection
Claim 6: “Predetermined period of time is 90 days” – arbitrary time specification
Claim 7: “Predetermined period of time is one month” – arbitrary time specification
Claim 11: “Clickstream data comprises clickstreams received from a mobile based platform and/or a web based platform” – field-of-use limitation
These limitations do not integrate the exception into a practical application. Data collection and field-of-use limitations are routine and do not cure § 101 deficiency.
Regarding Claims 12–16: These claims add negative limitations and data volume specifications.
Claims 12–15: “Characterized by a lack of any step utilizing functionality of a Natural Language Processing algorithm” – negative limitations do not add meaningful technical substance.
Claim 16: “Data from 100,000 patrons” – arbitrary data volume specification.
Negative limitations and data volume specifications do not integrate the exception into a practical application.
Regarding Claims 17–18: These claims add visual rendering details.
Claim 17: “Shading further comprises the processor assigning a respective color to each cluster” – routine visualization
Claim 18: “Shading graphically identifies each cluster of the plurality of clusters in the cluster graph” – routine visualization
These are routine visualization operations that do not integrate the exception into a practical application.
Claim 19 (Computer-Readable Storage Medium) and Claim 20 (Apparatus)
Regarding Claim 19 (New) – A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, the computer-readable storage medium including instructions that when executed by a processor, cause the processor to: [same steps as Claim 1].
Claim 20 (New) – An apparatus, comprising: a processor; and a memory storing instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to: [same steps as Claim 1].
Claims 19 and 20 are INELIGIBLE under § 101 (because the underlying method is ineligible).
Conclusion
PERTINENT PRIOR ART – Patent Literature
The prior-art made of record and considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kehler 2022/0108195 [0115 - probability matrix][0153 - model which outputs a vector with reduced dimensionality, such as vector having 2 or 3-Dimensions. In some embodiments, dimensionality may be reduced to a 3-D space based on one or more principal component analysis (PCA), t-Distributed Stochastic Neighbor Embedding (t-SNE), or uniform manifold approximation and projection (UMAP) analysis techniques]
Grgicak et al. 2023/0162044 [Claim 10 - utilizing, by the at least one processor, a Uniform Manifold Approximation and Projection model to generate a high dimensional graph representation of each cluster of each subset of cell vectors; and generating, by the at least one processor, at least one visualization comprising the high dimensional graph representation]
PERTINENT PRIOR ART – Non-Patent Literature (NPL)
The NPL prior-art made of record and considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Hahsler, Michael, and Matthew Bolaños. "Clustering data streams based on shared density between micro-clusters." IEEE transactions on knowledge and data engineering 28.6 (2016): 1449-1461. (Year: 2016).
Wang, Gang, et al. "Clickstream user behavior models." ACM Transactions on the Web (TWEB) 11.4 (2017): 1-37. (Year: 2017).
Smit, Gijs, et al. "Customer Segmentation using Clickstream Data." Bachelor Thesis, Eindhoven University of Technology, Eindhoven (2019). (Year: 2019).
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/MATTHEW T SITTNER/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3629b
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over: Shen et al. 2014/0101580; in view of Martinec et al. 2022/0391445.
17/749,206 – Claim 1. Shen et al. 2014/0101580 teaches A method of improving efficiency of clickstream data processing comprising the steps of: extracting the clickstream data and transforming the clickstream data into a probability matrix (Shen et al. 2014/0101580 [0025 - probability model may comprise a Markov chain] In some embodiments, the system may further comprise a data mapping module, executable by the machine, configured to map clickstream data to a two-dimensional plane to form the plurality of clickstreams. In some embodiments, the data mapping module may be configured to apply an SOM with a probability model to the clickstream data. In some embodiments, the probability model may comprise a Markov chain.), where the probability matrix comprises a probability of proceeding from a first page to a second page (Shen et al. 2014/0101580 [0075 - The "similarity" between a clickstream and a probability model may be measured by the probability at which the clickstream fits in the model. As such, SOM with probability models can be applied to map the clickstream data]); transforming the probability matrix by reducing dimensionality into two dimensional data using a Uniform Manifold Approximation and Projection algorithm (UMAP) and generating a cluster graph visualizing a plurality of clusters (Shen et al. 2014/0101580 [0093 - the 2D visualization 700b shown in FIG. 7B may be provided for visual cluster exploration]).
Shen et al. 2014/0101580 may not expressly disclose the “transform the probability matrix by reducing dimensionality into two dimensional data using a Uniform Manifold Approximation and Projection algorithm (UMAP)” features, however, Martinec et al. 2022/0391445 disclose these features as follows (Martinec et al. 2022/0391445 [0032 - The evaluation agent 16 gathers browsing history and clickstreams from a browser 50 with which it is integrated or in communication with, which data is transmitted to the evaluation manager 20 via an evaluation application program interface (“API”)][0074 - A data analyzing method for dimensionality reduction such as t-SNE or Uniform Manifold Approximation and Projection (“UMAP”) is applied to reduce the number of columns of the table to two, without affecting the rows which still correspond to the search results. These two newly created columns can be represented as x and y coordinates. Clusters are formed of coordinates that are close to each other]).
Shen et al. 2014/0101580 and Martinec et al. 2022/0391445 are concerned with effective data analysis. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include transform the probability matrix by reducing dimensionality into two dimensional data using a Uniform Manifold Approximation and Projection algorithm (UMAP); apply a K-Nearest Neighbor algorithm (KNN) to identify data points closest to the center of each cluster; and determine, based on the KNN algorithm, a respective edge of each cluster in Shen et al. 2014/0101580, as seen in Martinec et al. 2022/0391445, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over: Shen et al. 2014/0101580; in view of Martinec et al. 2022/0391445; in further view of Saunkeah et al. 2023/0162241.
17/749,206 – Claim 2. The method of claim 1 further comprising the steps of: Shen et al. 2014/0101580 may not expressly disclose the following features, however, Saunkeah et al. 2023/0162241 teaches feeding the two dimensional data into a Density Based Spatial Clustering of Applications with Noise algorithm (DBSCAN), and identifying the center of each cluster of the plurality of clusters (Saunkeah et al. 2023/0162241 [0037 - through the cookie, the gift advertisement sub-system 104 may collect clickstream data (e.g., data corresponding to webpages the user has accessed)][0195 - A set of data may be analyzed using one of a variety of machine learning algorithms to identify correlations between different elements of the set of data without supervision and feedback (e.g., an unsupervised training technique). A machine learning data analysis algorithm may also be trained using sample or live data to identify potential correlations. Such algorithms may include k-means clustering algorithms, fuzzy c-means (FCM) algorithms, expectation-maximization (EM) algorithms, hierarchical clustering algorithms, density-based spatial clustering of applications with noise (DBSCAN) algorithms]). Shen et al. 2014/0101580 and Saunkeah et al. 2023/0162241 are concerned with effective data analysis. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include feed the two dimensional data into a Density Based Spatial Clustering of Applications with Noise algorithm (DBSCAN); and identify the center of each cluster of the plurality of clusters in Shen et al. 2014/0101580, as seen in Saunkeah et al. 2023/0162241, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over: Shen et al. 2014/0101580; in view of Martinec et al. 2022/0391445; in view of Pai et al. US 10,115,121.
17/749,206 – Claim 3. Shen et al. 2014/0101580 further teaches The method of claim 1 further comprising the steps of: applying a K-Nearest Neighbor algorithm (KNN) to identify data points closest to the center of each cluster, and shading each of the data points to graphically identify each cluster of the plurality of clusters (Shen et al. 2014/0101580 [0093 - the 2D visualization 700b shown in FIG. 7B may be provided for visual cluster exploration. As previously described, each rectangular block denotes a clickstream pattern]).
Shen et al. 2014/0101580 may not expressly disclose the “apply a K-Nearest Neighbor algorithm (KNN) …” features, however, Pai et al. US 10,115,121 teaches (Pai et al. US 10,115,121 [column 2, lines 40-45 – determining of the mathematical distances may also involve the use of a learning algorithm, such as, for example, a large margin nearest neighbor (LMNN) algorithm. In some implementations, the resulting mathematical distances may then be used to classify or group the visitor sessions using a k-nearest neighbor (kNN) algorithm][column 11, lines 8-13 – In one example, those visitor sessions that resulted in a purchase from the website are labeled as residing in the target group, while those visitor sessions that did not result in a purchase are labeled as belonging to the non-target group. As mentioned above, one particular classification algorithm that may be utilized is the k-nearest neighbor (kNN) algorithm]). Shen et al. 2014/0101580, Martinec et al. 2022/0391445 and Pai et al. US 10,115,121 are concerned with effective data analysis. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include transform the probability matrix by reducing dimensionality into two dimensional data using a Uniform Manifold Approximation and Projection algorithm (UMAP); apply a K-Nearest Neighbor algorithm (KNN) to identify data points closest to the center of each cluster; and determine, based on the KNN algorithm, a respective edge of each cluster in Shen et al. 2014/0101580, as seen in Martinec et al. 2022/0391445 and Pai et al. US 10,115,121, respectively, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over: Shen et al. 2014/0101580; in view of Martinec et al. 2022/0391445; in view of Pai et al. US 10,115,121.
17/749,206 – Claim 4. Shen et al. 2014/0101580 further teaches The method of claim 3 further comprising the step of: illustrating the graph on the display representative of the data points shaded following application of the KNN algorithm (Shen et al. 2014/0101580 [Figs. 7-11; 0119] The data visualization module 1230 may be configured to perform any of the data visualization functions disclosed herein (e.g., the functions described in the "VISUALIZATION" section). In some embodiments, the data visualization module 1230 may be configured to receive the mapped clickstreams from the data mapping module 1220. The data visualization module 1230 may be configured to cause a visual representation of each clickstream to be displayed on a device (e.g., a computer). Each visual representation may comprise a distinct graphical element for each user action of the corresponding clickstream, and each visual representation may be configured to indicate a frequency level of the corresponding clickstream. In some embodiments, each distinct graphical element may comprise a geometric shape and a corresponding color that distinctly represents the corresponding user action. In some embodiments, the geometric shape may be a rectangle. However, it is contemplated that other geometric shapes are also within the scope of the present disclosure. In some embodiments, graphical elements of each visual representation may comprise a size that is proportional to the frequency level of the corresponding clickstream.).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over: Shen et al. 2014/0101580; in view of Martinec et al. 2022/0391445.
17/749,206 – Claim 5. Shen et al. 2014/0101580 further teaches The method of claim 1 further comprising the step of: prior to extracting the clickstream data, first receiving and storing in a memory of a computer clickstream data over a predetermined period of time (Shen et al. 2014/0101580 [0067 - First, at 410, clickstream data may be received. This clickstream data may be obtained from one or more databases]).
Claims 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over: Shen et al. 2014/0101580; in view of Martinec et al. 2022/0391445; in view of Pai et al. US 10,115,121.
17/749,206 – Claim 6. The method of claim 5 Shen et al. 2014/0101580 may not expressly disclose the following features, however, Pai et al. US 10,115,121 teaches wherein the predetermined time period is 90 days (Pai et al. US 10,115,121 [column 11, lines 47-53 – disclose based on new visitor session data, including visitor session data associated with both new users and previous users, the methods discussed above may be performed periodically, such as, for example, once a day or week. The resulting classification or labeling of new visitor sessions may then be employed to direct new advertising or offers on an ongoing basis]). Shen et al. 2014/0101580 and Pai et al. US 10,115,121 are concerned with effective data analysis. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the predetermined time period is 90 days and the predetermine time period is one month in Shen et al. 2014/0101580, as seen in Pai et al. US 10,115,121, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
17/749,206 – Claim 7. The method of claim 5 Shen et al. 2014/0101580 may not expressly disclose the following features, however, Pai et al. US 10,115,121 teaches wherein the predetermine time period is one month (Pai et al. US 10,115,121 [column 11, lines 47-53 – disclose based on new visitor session data, including visitor session data associated with both new users and previous users, the methods discussed above may be performed periodically, such as, for example, once a day or week. The resulting classification or labeling of new visitor sessions may then be employed to direct new advertising or offers on an ongoing basis]). Shen et al. 2014/0101580 and Pai et al. US 10,115,121 are concerned with effective data analysis. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the predetermined time period is 90 days and the predetermine time period is one month in Shen et al. 2014/0101580, as seen in Pai et al. US 10,115,121, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
17/749,206 – Claim 8. The method of claim 3 further comprising the step of: Shen et al. 2014/0101580 may not expressly disclose the following features, however, Pai et al. US 10,115,121 teaches labeling observations of each cluster of the plurality of clusters based on common features following the application of the KNN algorithm (Pai et al. US 10,115,121 [column 2, lines 40-45 – determining of the mathematical distances may also involve the use of a learning algorithm, such as, for example, a large margin nearest neighbor (LMNN) algorithm. In some implementations, the resulting mathematical distances may then be used to classify or group the visitor sessions using a k-nearest neighbor (kNN) algorithm]). Shen et al. 2014/0101580 and Pai et al. US 10,115,121 are concerned with effective data analysis. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include label observations of each cluster of the plurality of clusters based on common features following the application of the KNN algorithm in Shen et al. 2014/0101580, as seen in Pai et al. US 10,115,121, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over: Shen et al. 2014/0101580; in view of Martinec et al. 2022/0391445; in further view of Saunkeah et al. 2023/0162241.
17/749,206 – Claim 9. The method of claim 2 further comprising the step of: Shen et al. 2014/0101580 may not expressly disclose the following features, however, Martinec et al. 2022/0391445 teaches downsampling the two dimensional data from the UMAP algorithm, and using the downsampled data to reduce the density before the application of the DBSCAN algorithm (Martinec et al. 2022/0391445 [0032 - The evaluation agent 16 gathers browsing history and clickstreams from a browser 50 with which it is integrated or in communication with, which data is transmitted to the evaluation manager 20 via an evaluation application program interface (“API”) 32][0074 - A data analyzing method for dimensionality reduction such as t-SNE or Uniform Manifold Approximation and Projection (“UMAP”) is applied to reduce the number of columns of the table to two, without affecting the rows which still correspond to the search results. These two newly created columns can be represented as x and y coordinates. Clusters are formed of coordinates that are close to each other]). Shen et al. 2014/0101580 and Martinec et al. 2022/0391445 are concerned with effective data analysis. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include downsample the two dimensional data from the UMAP algorithm; and use the downsampled data to reduce the density before the application of the DBSCAN algorithm in Shen et al. 2014/0101580, as seen in Martinec et al. 2022/0391445, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
17/749,206 – Claim 10. Shen et al. 2014/0101580 further teaches The method of claim 9 further comprising the step of: labeling the remaining data points in the respective clusters following the downsampling (Shen et al. 2014/0101580 [0067 - Analysts may also label or name the selected clusters and their corresponding detailed information, and store them in one or more databases. The labels or names may be used to organize and search for the clusters and their corresponding detailed information. At 450, the selected groups can be shown with statistical summarization and/or used to refine the clustering result]).
Claims 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over: Shen et al. 2014/0101580; in view of Martinec et al. 2022/0391445.
17/749,206 – Claim 11. Shen et al. 2014/0101580 further teaches The method of claim 5 wherein the clickstream data comprises clickstreams received from a mobile based platform and/or a web based platform (Shen et al. 2014/0101580 [0101 - Understanding how people use a website is critical to the success of an e-commerce business. Analysts and product managers often have difficulties in obtaining insights into user behavior patterns from the clickstream data]).
17/749,206 – Claim 12. Shen et al. 2014/0101580 further teaches The method of claim 1 wherein the method is characterized by a lack of any step utilizing functionality of a Natural Language Processing algorithm (Shen et al. 2014/0101580 disclose the apparatus is characterized by a lack of any step utilizing functionality of a Natural Language Processing algorithm (i.e., Shen et al does not recite the use of an NLP algorithm)).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over: Shen et al. 2014/0101580; in view of Martinec et al. 2022/0391445; in further view of Saunkeah et al. 2023/0162241.
17/749,206 – Claim 13. Shen et al. 2014/0101580 further teaches The method of claim 2 wherein the method is characterized by a lack of any step utilizing functionality of a Natural Language Processing algorithm (Shen et al. 2014/0101580 disclose the apparatus is characterized by a lack of any step utilizing functionality of a Natural Language Processing algorithm (i.e., Shen et al does not recite the use of an NLP algorithm)).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over: Shen et al. 2014/0101580; in view of Martinec et al. 2022/0391445; in view of Pai et al. US 10,115,121.
17/749,206 – Claim 14. Shen et al. 2014/0101580 further teaches The method of claim 3 wherein the method is characterized by a lack of any step utilizing functionality of a Natural Language Processing algorithm (Shen et al. 2014/0101580 disclose the apparatus is characterized by a lack of any step utilizing functionality of a Natural Language Processing algorithm (i.e., Shen et al does not recite the use of an NLP algorithm)).
Claims 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over: Shen et al. 2014/0101580; in view of Martinec et al. 2022/0391445.
17/749,206 – Claim 15. Shen et al. 2014/0101580 further teaches The method of claim 5 wherein the method is characterized by a lack of any step utilizing functionality of a Natural Language Processing algorithm (Shen et al. 2014/0101580 disclose the apparatus is characterized by a lack of any step utilizing functionality of a Natural Language Processing algorithm (i.e., Shen et al does not recite the use of an NLP algorithm)).
17/749,206 – Claim 16. Shen et al. 2014/0101580 further teaches The method of claim 11 wherein the clickstream data further comprises data from 100,000 patrons who utilize the mobile based platform and/or the web based platform (Shen et al. 2014/0101580 [0053]).