DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-7 and 10-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The limitation “bias circuitry configured to switch between adjacent coil portions with different biases and biasing each coil portion with a same bias, wherein the bias circuitry is configured to, in a first state, bias adjacent coil portion as opposing electrodes using different biases” in claim 2, is confusing since it is not clear to which adjacent coil portions the claim is referring to. It should be noted that the limitation introducing the plurality of separate coil portions was deleted from independent claim 1. Clarification and/or correction are/is required.
The limitation “wherein the bias circuitry is configured to bias adjacent coil portions with different biases” in claim 4-line 2, is confusing since it is not clear to which adjacent coil portions the claim is referring to. It should be noted that the limitation introducing the plurality of separate coil portions was deleted from independent claim 1. Clarification and/or correction are/is required.
The limitation “wherein the bias circuitry is configured to, in a second state, bias adjacent coil portions with the same bias” in claim 5, lines 1-2, is confusing since it is not clear to which adjacent coil portions the claim is referring to. It should be noted that the limitation introducing the plurality of separate coil portions was deleted from independent claim 1. Clarification and/or correction are/is required.
The limitation “wherein the bias circuitry is configured to bias each coil portion with the same bias” in claim 7, lines 1-2, is confusing since it is not clear to which adjacent coil portions the claim is referring to. It should be noted that the limitation introducing the plurality of separate coil portions was deleted from independent claim 1. Clarification and/or correction are/is required.
The limitation “bias circuitry configured to switch between biasing adjacent coil portions with different biases and biasing each coil portion with a same bias, wherein the bias circuitry is configured to, in a first state, bias adjacent coil portion as opposing electrodes using different biases” in claim 10, is confusing since it is not clear to which adjacent coil portions the claim is referring to. It should be noted that the limitation introducing the plurality of separate coil portions was deleted from independent claim 8. Clarification and/or correction are/is required.
The limitation “wherein the bias circuitry is configured to bias adjacent coil portions with different biases” in claim 12-line 2, is confusing since it is not clear to which adjacent coil portions the claim is referring to. It should be noted that the limitation introducing the plurality of separate coil portions was deleted from independent claim 8. Clarification and/or correction are/is required.
The limitation “wherein the bias circuitry is configured to, in a second state, bias adjacent coil portions with the same bias” in claim 13, lines 1-2, is confusing since it is not clear to which adjacent coil portions the claim is referring to. It should be noted that the limitation introducing the plurality of separate coil portions was deleted from independent claim 8. Clarification and/or correction are/is required.
The limitation “wherein the bias circuitry is configured to bias each coil portion with the same bias” in claim 15-line 2, is confusing since it is not clear to which adjacent coil portions the claim is referring to. It should be noted that the limitation introducing the plurality of separate coil portions was deleted from independent claim 8. Clarification and/or correction are/is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khater et al., US 2002/0023899 in view of Choi, US 2013/0307414 or Tomasel et al., US 2008/0127893 or Bennett, US 6,495,963.
With respect to independent claim 1, Khater et al. shows the invention as claimed including a remote plasma source chamber configured for coupling to a processing chamber, the remote plasma source chamber comprising: a cylindrical chamber having: an inner portion 114 comprising a dielectric; an outer portion 140 comprising a dielectric; a conductive middle portion 150 between the inner and outer portion defining one or more magnetic-field-passage windows 152/652, wherein the one or more magnetic-field-passage windows are elongated along a longitudinal axis of the cylindrical chamber; and a conductive coil 130 arranged outside and coaxially with the chamber but in contact with the cylindrical chamber, the conductive coil including a first end and a second end, the first end configured for coupling to a high voltage node of an alternating current power supply 126, the second end configured for coupling to a low voltage or ground node of the alternating current power supply; (see, for example, figs. 1, 4a-4b, and 6a-6d, and their descriptions, figs. 4a-4b are shown below).
Kather et al. does not expressly disclose that the coil is a cylindrical coil. Choi discloses an inductive plasma apparatus comprising a cylindrical coil 22a/22b (see, for example, Figs. 6-9, and their descriptions, Figs. 7, 8, and 9, are shown below).
Also, Tomasel et al. discloses an inductive plasma apparatus comprising a cylindrical coil 110/210/310/410 (see, for example, Figs. 1-4, and their descriptions, Figs. 1-2, are shown below).
Additionally, Bennett discloses an inductive plasma apparatus comprising a cylindrical coil 10c (see, for example, Fig. 6, and its description, Fig. 6 is shown below).
Therefore, in view of these disclosures, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the apparatus of Kather et al. as to comprise the claimed cylindrical coil because such configuration is known and used in the art as suitable means for effectively and efficiently supply power independently to the coil portions to generate inductive coupling plasma having the desired/required characteristics.
Concerning claim 8, it should further be noted that Choi further discloses that the cylindrical coil comprises a gap between a first end and a second end, wherein the gap is elongated along the longitudinal axis of the cylindrical chamber (see, for example, Figs. 6-7).
Also, Bennett that the cylindrical coil comprises a gap between a first end and a second end, wherein the gap is elongated along the longitudinal axis of the cylindrical chamber (see, for example, Fig. 6, and its description, Fig. 6 is shown below).
Additionally, the configuration of the claimed conductive coil is a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed conductive coil is significant.
Regarding claim 9, it should be noted that in the apparatus of Kather et al. modified by Choi or Tomasel et al. or Bennett, the cylindrical coil follows a circumferential path around the cylindrical chamber rather than a helical.
Claim(s) 2-7, 10-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khater et al., US 2002/0023899 in view of Choi, US 2013/0307414 or Tomasel et al., US 2008/0127893 or Bennett, US 6,495,963, as applied to claims 1 and 8-9 above, and further in view of Gesche et al., US 5,146,137 or Imahashi, US 5,554,223 or Sato et al., US 5,907,221 or Rhee et al., US 10,109,459 or Lill et al., US 6,518,190.
With respect to claims 2, 10, and 17, Kather et al., Choi, Tomasel et al. and Bennett do not expressly disclose the claimed bias circuitry and coil portions. Gesche et al. discloses a chamber comprising a conductive coil comprising a plurality of separate coil portions 50,51/36-39/36-43, each coil portion including a first end and a second end, the first end configured for coupling to a high voltage node of an alternating current power supply, the second end configured for coupling to a low voltage or ground node of the alternating current power supply; and a bias circuitry capable of switching between biasing coil portions with different biases and biasing each coil portion with a same bias (note that the coil portions are connected to separate sources which are capable of independently biasing the coil portions); see, for example, figs. 5-11, and their descriptions, Figs. 5, 9-11 are shown below.
Also, Imahashi discloses a chamber comprising a conductive coil comprising a plurality of separate coil portions 13A, each coil portion including a first end and a second end, the first end configured for coupling to a high voltage node of an alternating current power supply, the second end configured for coupling to a low voltage or ground node of the alternating current power supply; and a bias circuitry capable of switching between biasing coil portions with different biases and biasing each coil portion with a same bias (note that the coil portions are connected to separate sources which are capable of independently biasing the coil portions); see, for example, figs. 1-4, and their descriptions, Figs. 2-3 are shown below.
Additionally, Sato et al. discloses a chamber comprising a conductive coil comprising a plurality of separate coil portions 52/54, each coil portion including a first end and a second end, the first end configured for coupling to a high voltage node of an alternating current power supply, the second end configured for coupling to a low voltage or ground node of the alternating current power supply; and a bias circuitry capable of switching between biasing coil portions with different biases and biasing each coil portion with a same bias (note that the coil portions are connected to separate sources which are capable of independently biasing the coil portions); see, for example, figs. 1-4, and their descriptions, Figs. 1-2 are shown below.
Furthermore, Rhee et al. discloses a chamber comprising a conductive coil comprising a plurality of separate coil portions 410c/420c, each coil portion including a first end and a second end, the first end configured for coupling to a high voltage node of an alternating current power supply, the second end configured for coupling to a low voltage or ground node of the alternating current power supply; and a bias circuitry capable of switching between biasing coil portions with different biases and biasing each coil portion with a same bias (note that the coil portions are independently connected to the source and thereby capable of being independently biased, additionally switches 412c/422c are capable of switching between biasing coil portions as claimed); see, for example, fig. 7, and its description, Fig. 7 is shown below.
Moreover, Lill et al discloses a chamber comprising a conductive coil comprising a plurality of separate coil portions 20,40/20,50,55/22,23,45/25,55 each coil portion including a first end and a second end, the first end configured for coupling to a high voltage node of an alternating current power supply, the second end configured for coupling to a low voltage or ground node of the alternating current power supply; and a bias circuitry 80/83/84/85 capable of switching between biasing coil portions with different biases and biasing each coil portion with a same bias; see, for example, figs. 1-5, and their descriptions, Figs. 2A-2B are shown below.
Therefore, in view of these disclosures, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the apparatus of Kather et al. modified by Choi or Tomasel et al. or Bennett, as to comprise the claimed bias circuitry coupled to adjacent coil portions because such configuration is known and used in the art as suitable means for effectively and efficiently supply power independently to the coil portions to generate inductive coupling plasma having the desired/required characteristics.
Furthermore, and also with respect to claims 3, 11, and 18, it should be noted that such limitation is directed to a method limitation instead of an apparatus limitation, and since an apparatus is being claimed as the instant invention, the method teachings are not considered to be the matter at hand, since a variety of methods can be done with the apparatus. The method limitations are viewed as intended uses which do not further limit, and therefore do not patentably distinguish the claimed invention. The bias circuitry (power sources and/or switching circuitry) of the apparatus of Khater et al. modified by Choi or Tomasel et al. or Bennett and Gesche et al. or Imahashi or Sato et al. or Rhee et al. or Lill et al., is capable of, in a first state, bias adjacent coil portions as opposing electrodes using different biases so that the conductive coil is used as a capacitive source. It should be noted that the specification of the instant claimed invention, in paragraph 0072, discloses that by biasing adjacent coil portions as opposing electrodes the coil portions would capacitively couple to the plasma.
Regarding claims 4, 7, 12, and 15 it should be noted that such limitation is directed to a method limitation instead of an apparatus limitation, and since an apparatus is being claimed as the instant invention, the method teachings are not considered to be the matter at hand, since a variety of methods can be done with the apparatus. The method limitations are viewed as intended uses which do not further limit, and therefore do not patentably distinguish the claimed invention. The bias circuitry (power sources and/or switching circuitry) of the apparatus of Khater et al. modified by Choi or Tomasel et al. or Bennett and Gesche et al. or Imahashi or Sato et al. or Rhee et al. or Lill et al., is capable of biasing adjacent coil portions with different biases during plasma ignition, and/or biasing each coil portion with the same bias during plasma maintenance.
Concerning claims 5-6, 13-14, and 19-20, it should be noted that such limitation is directed to a method limitation instead of an apparatus limitation, and since an apparatus is being claimed as the instant invention, the method teachings are not considered to be the matter at hand, since a variety of methods can be done with the apparatus. The method limitations are viewed as intended uses which do not further limit, and therefore do not patentably distinguish the claimed invention. The bias circuitry (power sources and/or switching circuitry) of the apparatus of Khater et al. modified by Gesche et al. or Imahashi or Sato et al. or Rhee et al. or Lill et al., is capable of, in a second state, bias adjacent coil portions with the same bias, so that the conductive coil is configured to be an inductive source while the bias circuitry is in the second state.
With respect to claim 16, Khater et al. further discloses that the outer portion 140 of the cylindrical chamber is formed of a dielectric that is electrically insulating and thermally conductive (see, for example, paragraph 0029). With respect to the inner portion 114 of the cylindrical chamber comprising a dielectric that is electrically insulating and thermally conductive, it is well known in the inductive coupling plasma art the use of Al2O3 as a suitable material for the material of a chamber wall of an inductive coupling plasma apparatus. This notwithstanding, Rhee et al. discloses that the chamber wall 140 of the ICP apparatus can be made of Al2O3 (see, for example, col. 6, lines 28-35). Also, Lill et al. discloses that the chamber wall 10 of the ICP apparatus can be made of aluminum oxide, quartz, ceramic, silicon, carbon, or the like, (see, for example, col. 4, lines 43-47). Therefore, in view of these disclosures, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the apparatus of Kather et al. as to comprise an inner portion 114 of the cylindrical chamber made of a dielectric material that is electrically insulating and thermally conductive because such material is known and used in the art as a suitable material for the chamber wall to effectively and effectively generate inductive coupling plasma.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Hull et al. (US 4,795,879) is cited for its teaching of an ICP apparatus comprising a cylindrical chamber having a wall comprising a plurality of portions.
/LUZ L ALEJANDRO MULERO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716
July 17, 2026