DETAILED ACTION
This is a final office action in response to Applicant’s remarks and amendments filed on May 23, 2025. Claims 1, 3, 8, 9, 11, 13 and 20 are currently amended. Claims 1-20 are pending review in this action. The previous objections to the Drawings, the Specification and the claims are withdrawn in light of Applicant’s corresponding amendments. The previous 35 U.S.C 112 rejections are withdrawn in light of Applicant’s corresponding amendments.
New grounds of rejection necessitated by Applicant’s amendments are presented below.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement submitted on September 2, 2025 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities. Line 4 of claim 1 recites the limitation: “when the each battery cell is disposed…”.
The word “the” is unnecessary and should be deleted.
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities. Line 4 of claim 1 recites the limitation: “the third wall being two opposite walls of the each battery cell …”.
The limitation should be edited to read: “the third walls being two opposite walls of the battery cell …”.
Claim 20 is objected to because of the following informalities. Line 4 of claim 20 recites the limitation: “when the each battery cell is disposed…”.
The word “the” is unnecessary and should be deleted.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2022/0416343, hereinafter He.
Regarding claim 1, He teaches a battery pack (300). The battery pack (300) comprises a plurality of battery cells (203) arranged along a first direction (y-direction) (paragraph [0070] and figures 1 and 4).
The battery pack (300) further comprises a structural reinforcing member (202) connected to a wall of each of the plurality of battery cells (203) (paragraphs [0071, 0087, 0106, 0108, 0111] and figures 4-8).
The structural reinforcing member (202) has a thickness (“size H”). The ratio between the thickness (“size H”) of the structural reinforcing member (202) and a weight of a battery cell (203) is in the range 0.15 mm/kg to 7 mm/kg (paragraph [0083]).
The battery pack (300) includes a housing (100, “box”) and an upper cover (paragraphs [0072, 0160] and figure 1). The structural reinforcing member (202) is located inside the upper cover (paragraphs [0160, 0070]). When the battery pack (300) is disposed in the power consumption device, the structural reinforcing member (202) is located both inside the upper cover and inside the power consumption device – therefore, it can be said that it is “a wall shared by the upper cover and the power consumption device”.
Under a first interpretation, plate surface (212) of the structural reinforcing member (202) is considered the instantly claimed “mounting wall” and top surface (205) of each battery cell (203) is considered the instantly claimed “first wall” of each battery cell. Under the first interpretation the 2nd direction is the z-direction. The z-direction is perpendicular to top surface (205, “first wall”). In He’s disclosure, the battery cell (203) is located below the plate surface (212, “mounting wall”) – this orientation is capable of being maintained when the battery pack (300) is disposed in a power consumption device. He teaches that the plate surface (212, “mounting wall”) is attached to the top surface (205, “first wall”) of each battery cell (paragraphs [0108,0111]) – the top surface (205, “first wall”) is thus understood to be configured to mount the battery cell.
Under a second interpretation, plate surface (209) of the structural reinforcing member (202) is considered the instantly claimed “mounting wall” and lateral surface (206) of each battery cell (203) is considered the instantly claimed “first wall” of each battery cell. Under the second interpretation the 2nd direction is the x-direction. The x-direction is perpendicular to lateral surface (206, “first wall”). The battery pack (300) is capable of being disposed in a power consumption device such that the battery cell (203) is located below the plate surface (209, “mounting wall”). He teaches that the plate surface (209, “mounting wall”) is attached to the lateral surface (206, “first wall”) of each battery cell (paragraphs [0087, 0107]) – it is thus understood to be configured to mount the battery cell.
Regarding claim 2, under the second interpretation, He teaches that the lateral surface (206, “first wall”) is connected to cell wall (205, “second wall”). The 2nd direction (x-direction) is parallel to cell wall (205, “second direction”). Second wall (205) is provided with an electrode terminal (216) (paragraph [0169] and figures 4 and 10).
Regarding claim 3, He teaches that the thickness (“size H”) of the “mounting wall” in the 2nd direction is in the range 0.5 mm to 5 mm (paragraph [0083]).
Regarding claim 4, He teaches that the “mounting wall” is in a “[“ shape (paragraph [0107] and figure 7). This shape forms a cavity which accommodates the battery cells (203).
He also teaches a gap (“cavity”) on a side of the “mounting wall” away from the battery cell (203) (paragraph [0413]). The side of the “mounting wall” away from the battery cell (203) may be considered “an inner portion” relative to the inside of the battery pack (300).
Regarding claim 5, He teaches that the gap (“cavity”) is configured to accommodate cooling air (paragraph [0143]). The cooling air is understood to adjust the temperature of the battery cells (203).
Regarding claim 6, He teaches that the “mounting wall” includes rib (211) (figure 7). Rib (211) projects from a bottom surface of the “mounting wall” below the battery cell (203) – in this sense it projects from a surface that is away from the battery cell (203). The rib (211) supports the battery cell (203) and in this way is “reinforcing”.
Regarding claim 7, He teaches that the “mounting wall” and the rib (211) are integral (figure 7).
Regarding claim 8, He teaches that the ratio between the thickness (“size H”) of the “mounting wall” and a weight of a battery cell (203) is in the range 0.15 mm/kg to 7 mm/kg (paragraph [0083]).
Regarding claim 9, under the first interpretation, He teaches a spacer plate (209) (figure 7).
The spacer plate (209) extends in the 1st direction (y-direction) and is connected to lateral surface (206, “third wall”) of each battery cell (203) (paragraph [0107]). The battery cell (203) includes two lateral surfaces (206), which are opposite to each other in a 3rd direction (x-direction) (paragraph [0071] and figures 4 and 10). The 3rd direction (x-direction) is perpendicular to the 1st direction (y-direction) and the 2nd direction (z-direction) (paragraph [0115]).
Regarding claim 10, He teaches that the lateral surface (206, “third wall”) is a wall of each battery cell (203) with largest surface area (paragraph [0071] and figure 10).
Regarding claim 11, He teaches that a size of the spacer plate (209) in the 3rd direction (x-direction) is in the range 0.5 mm to 5 mm (paragraph [0083]).
Regarding claim 12, He teaches that the battery comprises multiple columns of the battery cells (203). Within each column the battery cells (203) are arranged along the 1st direction (y-direction). The multiple columns of battery cells (203) are alternately arranged with multiple spacer plates (219) in the 3rd direction (x-direction) (paragraph [0087] and figures 1 and 2).
Regarding claim 13, He teaches alternating columns of battery cells (203) and spacer plates (219) disposed in the 3rd direction (x-direction). At least one column of battery cells (203) and at least one spacer plate (219) may be arbitrarily selected to be designated as a “module”.
Regarding claim 14, He teaches alternating columns of battery cells (203) and spacer plates (219) disposed in the 3rd direction (x-direction). Two columns of battery cells (203) and one spacer plate (219) between them may be arbitrarily designated as a “module”.
Regarding claim 15, He teaches “battery modules” disposed in the 3rd direction (x-direction). A gap exists between adjacent “battery modules” (paragraph [0143]).
Regarding claim 16, He teaches that the spacer plate (219) and the plate surface (212, “mounting wall”) are integral and have the same length along the 1st direction (y-direction) (figure 7). Thus, an end portion of the spacer plate (219) in the 1st direction (y-direction) includes a “fixing structure” and the spacer plate (219) is fixed to the plate surface (212, “mounting wall”) via the “fixing structure”.
Regarding claim 17, He teaches that the spacer plate (219) is bonded to the lateral surface (206, “third wall”) (paragraphs [0071, 0106]).
Regarding claim 18, He teaches that the “mounting wall” is bonded to the “first wall” of the battery cell (203) (paragraph [0071]).
Regarding claim 19, He teaches an electric vehicle (“power consumption device”) powered by the battery of claim 1 (paragraph [0047]).
Regarding claim 20, He teaches a method for forming a battery pack (300).
The method includes a step of providing a plurality of battery cells (203) arranged along a first direction (y-direction) (paragraph [0070] and figures 1 and 4).
The method further includes a step of providing a structural reinforcing member (202) connected to a wall of each of the plurality of battery cells (203) (paragraphs [0071, 0087, 0106, 0108, 0111] and figures 4-8).
The structural reinforcing member (202) has a thickness (“size H”). The ratio between the thickness (“size H”) of the structural reinforcing member (202) and a weight of a battery cell (203) is in the range 0.15 mm/kg to 7 mm/kg (paragraph [0083]).
The battery pack (300) includes a housing (100, “box”) and an upper cover (paragraphs [0072, 0160] and figure 1). The structural reinforcing member (202) is located inside the upper cover (paragraphs [0160, 0070]). When the battery pack (300) is disposed in the power consumption device, the structural reinforcing member (202) is located both inside the upper cover and inside the power consumption device – therefore, it can be said that it is “a wall shared by the upper cover and the power consumption device”.
Under a first interpretation, plate surface (212) of the structural reinforcing member (202) is considered the instantly claimed “mounting wall” and top surface (205) of each battery cell (203) is considered the instantly claimed “first wall” of each battery cell. Under the first interpretation the 2nd direction is the z-direction. The z-direction is perpendicular to top surface (205, “first wall”). In He’s disclosure, the battery cell (203) is located below the plate surface (212, “mounting wall”) – this orientation is capable of being maintained when the battery pack (300) is disposed in a power consumption device. He teaches that the plate surface (212, “mounting wall”) is attached to the top surface (205, “first wall”) of each battery cell (paragraphs [0108,0111]) – the top surface (205, “first wall”) is thus understood to be configured to mount the battery cell.
Under a second interpretation, plate surface (209) of the structural reinforcing member (202) is considered the instantly claimed “mounting wall” and lateral surface (206) of each battery cell (203) is considered the instantly claimed “first wall” of each battery cell. Under the second interpretation the 2nd direction is the x-direction. The x-direction is perpendicular to lateral surface (206, “first wall”). The battery pack (300) is capable of being disposed in a power consumption device such that the battery cell (203) is located below the plate surface (209, “mounting wall”). He teaches that the plate surface (209, “mounting wall”) is attached to the lateral surface (206, “first wall”) of each battery cell (paragraphs [0087, 0107]) – it is thus understood to be configured to mount the battery cell.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s newly added limitations have been considered. However, after further search and consideration, the previously presented He reference was found to address the amended claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
LILIA V. NEDIALKOVA
Examiner
Art Unit 1724
/MIRIAM STAGG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1724