DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 4/12/2026 and 6/23/2026 was filed after the mailing date of the non-final rejection on 3/25/2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Rejection Note: Italicized and struck through claim limitations indicate limitations that are not explicitly disclosed in the primary reference, but disclosed in the secondary reference(s).
Claims 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Ryu (US 2020/0325952) in view of Park (US 2022/0209167) in view of Mischitz (US 2016/0133584).
The applied reference has a common LG Display, Ltd with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2).
Regarding claim 1.
Ryu teaches:
a display device (fig 12A:DD; [para 0116]) comprising:a display panel (fig 12b:DP; [para 0116]) for displaying an image (fig 1:IM; [para 0044]);
a support member (fig 12b:BL; [para 0103]) disposed under the display panel (fig 12a:DP; [para 0117]);
and a cushion plate (fig 12b:SAM; [para 0050]) disposed under the support member (fig 12a:BL; [para 0103]) and including a porous substrate (fig 12a:cp,rs; [para 0064]), wherein corresponding side surfaces of the display panel (fig 12b:DP; [para 0116]), the support member (fig 12b:BS; [para 0076]), and the cushion plate (fig 12b:SAM; [para 0050]) are aligned with each other, the cushion plate (fig 12b:SAM; [para 0050]) further includes an adhesive member (fig 12a:EM,ADH1,ADH2; [para 0129]),
wherein the adhesive member (fig 12a:em,adh1.adh2; [para 0129]) includes a base (fig 12b:adh1; [para 0100]), a first adhesive layer (fig 12b:PT; [para 0077]) disposed on a first surface of the base (fig 12a:adh1; [para 0100]),and a second adhesive layer (fig 12b:adh2; [para 0100]) disposed on a second surface of the base (fig 12b:adh1[para 0100]) opposite to the first surface of the base (fig 12b:adh1[para 0100]), and wherein the first adhesive layer (fig 12a:PT; [para 0077]) has an embossed pattern (fig 12b:PT; [para 0076]) adhered to the support member (fig 12b:BS; [para 0076])and the second adhesive layer (fig 12b:adh2; [para 0100]) is adhered to the porous substrate (fig 12a:cp,rs; [para 0064])
Ryu does not teach the porous substrate comprises metal.
Park teaches:
a cushion plate (fig 5:300; [para 0143]) including a porous substrate (fig 5:321,320; [para 0143])
wherein the porous substrate (fig 5:321,320; [para 0143]) contains a conductive metal (fig 5:320; [para 0143]) and a plurality of pores (fig 5:321; [para 0143]) located inside the conductive metal (fig 5:320; [para 0143])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the cushion to comprise a porous metal a metal foam that has both a heat-dissipation function and a cushion function (paragraph 15).
Ryu does not teach the range of porosity.
Mischitz teaches:
porous substrate (fig 4a:106; [para 0032]) contains a conductive metal and a plurality of pores located inside the conductive metal ([para 0032]), and wherein the porous substrate has a porosity in a range from 50% to 76% ([para 0021]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a porosity in the range in order to optimize the thermal conductivity, elasticity and shear modulus (paragraph 0023)
Given the teaching of the references, it would have been obvious to determine the optimum porosity of the layers involved. See In re Aller, Lacey and Hall (10 USPQ 233-237) It is not inventive to discover optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. Note that the specification contains no disclosure of either the critical nature of the claimed ranges or any unexpected results arising therefrom. Where patentability is said to be based upon particular chosen dimensions or upon another variable recited in a claim, the Applicant must show that the chosen dimensions are critical. In re Woodruff, 919 f.2d 1575,1578, 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claim 2,
Ryu in view of Park in view of Mischitz teaches the display device of claim 1, further:
Ryu teaches:
the display panel (12a:DP; [para 0117]) includes an optical film (fig 11:WD; [para 0102]), an encapsulation unit (fig 11:TFE; [para 0102]), a pixel array (fig 11:ODL; [para 0105]), and a display substrate (fig 12b:CL; [para 0052]), and wherein corresponding side surfaces of the optical film (fig 11:WD; [para 0102]), the encapsulation unit (fig 11:TFE; [para 0102]), the display substrate (fig 12b:CL; [para 0052]), the support member (fig 12b:BS; [para 0052]), and the cushion plate (fig 12a:CSL; [para 0099]) are aligned with each other (fig 12b).
Regarding claim 3,
Ryu in view of Park in view of Mischitz teaches the display device of claim 1, further:
Ryu teaches:
at least three side surfaces (fig 1:DA; [para 0049]) of the display panel (fig 1,12b:DP; [para 0048]), at least three side surfaces of the support member (fig 12b:BS; [para 0052]), and at least three side surfaces of the cushion plate (fig 12b:csl; [para 0084]) are aligned with each other, respectively (fig 1,12b; [para 0048,0051]).
Regarding claim 4,
Ryu in view of Park in view of Mischitz teaches the display device of claim 3, further:
Ryu teaches:
an upper-side surface, a left-side surface, and a right-side surface of the display panel (fig 1,2:DD; [para 0044]), an upper-side surface, a left-side surface, and a right- side surface of the support member (fig 12b:BL; [para 0103]), and an upper-side surface, a left-side surface, and a right- side surface of the cushion plate (12b:csl; [para 0056]) are aligned with each other, respectively (fig 1,12b).
Regarding claim 5,
Ryu in view of Park in view of Mischitz teaches the display device of claim 1, further:
Ryu teaches:
corresponding distal ends of the display panel (fig 1,12a:DP; [para 0102]), the support member (fig 12b:BL; [para 0103]), and the cushion plate (fig 12b:CSL; [para 0054]) coincide with each other in at least a part of the display device (fig 1,12b:DD; [para 0116]).
Regarding claim 6,
Ryu in view of Park in view of Mischitz teaches the display device of claim 5, further:
Ryu teaches:
an upper-distal end, a left-distal end, and a right-distal end of the display panel (fig 1,2:DD; [para 0044]), an upper-distal end, a left-distal end, and a right-distal end of the support member (fig 12b:BL; [para 0103]), and an upper-distal end, a left-distal end, and a right-distal end of the cushion plate (fig 12b:csl; [para 0084]) are aligned with each other, respectively (fig 1,12b; [para 0048,0051]).
Claim(s) 9, 10, 11, 12, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryu (US 2020/0325952) in view of Park (US 2022/0209167) in view of Mischitz (US 2016/0133584) as applied to claim 1 and further in view Sun (US 2021/0408456).
Regarding claim 9.
Ryu in view of Park in view of Mischitz teaches the display device of claim 1 above.
Ryu teaches:
a side surfaces of the display panel, the support member, and the cushion plate (fig 12b).
Ryu in view of Park in view of Mischitz does not teach resin on the side surfaces.
Sun teaches:
a resin (fig 3:4; [para 0034]) disposed on the side surfaces of the display module (fig 3:1,2,3; [para 0034,0035]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide resin on the side surface in order to seal out oxygen and moisture (Sun; [para 0034])
Regarding claim 10,
Ryu in view of Park in view of Mischitz in view of Sun teaches the display device of claim 9, further:
Sun teaches:
the resin (fig 3:4; [para 0034]) is further disposed on a back surface of the cushion plate (fig 3:2,3; [para 0034]).
Regarding claim 11,
Ryu in view of Park in view of Mischitz in view of Sun teaches the display device of claim 9, further:
Sun teaches:
the resin (fig 3:4; [para 0034]) includes a thermosetting resin or a UV curable resin (PMMA) ([para 0035]).
Regarding claim 12,
Ryu in view of Park in view of Mischitz in view of Sun teaches the display device of claim 9, further:
Sun teaches:
the resin (fig 3:4; [para 0034]) has one or more characteristics of waterproof, rigidity, and static dissipation ([para 0034]).
Regarding claim 13,
Ryu in view of Park in view of Mischitz in view of Sun teaches the display device of claim 9, further:
Ryu teaches:
a respective upper-side surface, left-side surface, and right-side surface of the display panel (fig 1,12b:dd; [para 0044]), the support member (fig 12b:BL; [para 0103]), and the cushion plate (fig 12b:csl; [para 0054]).
Sun teaches:
the resin (fig 3:4; [para 0034]) is disposed on respective upper-side surface, left-side surface, and right-side surface of the display panel (fig 3:2,3; [para 0034])
Claim(s) 14, 15, 16 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryu (US 2020/0325952) in view of Park (US 2022/0209167) in view of Mischitz (US 2016/0133584) in view of Lee (US 2020/0328382) in view Sun (US 2021/0408456).
The applied reference has a common LG Display, Ltd with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2).
Regarding claim 14.
Ryu teaches:
a display device (fig 12a:dd; [para 0116]) comprising: a display panel (fig 12b:dp; [para 0116]) for displaying an image (fig 1:IM; [para 0044]), the display panel (fig 12b:dp; [para 0116]) including a display substrate (fig 12b:CL; [para 0104]), a pixel array on the display substrate and light-emitting elements (fig 12b:ODL; [para 0105]), and an encapsulation unit (fig 12b:TFE; [para 0102]) on the pixel array;
a cushion plate (fig 12:SAM) disposed under the display panel (fig 12b:dp; [para 0116]) and including an adhesive member (fig 12a:em,adh1,adh2; [para 0076,0100]);
, wherein the cushion plate (fig 12b:SAM) further includes a porous (fig 12b:cp; [para 0064]) substrate (fig 12b:rs; [para 0064]), wherein the adhesive member (fig 12b:em,adh1,adh2; [para 0076,0100]) includes a base (fig 12b:adh1; [para 0100]), a first adhesive layer (fig 12b:em; [para 0076]) disposed on a first surface of the base (fig 12b:adh1[0100]), and a second adhesive layer (fig 12a:adh2[0100]) disposed on a second surface of the base (fig 12b:adh1; [para 0100]) opposite to the first surface of the base (fig 12b:adh1; [para 0100]), and wherein the first adhesive layer (fig 12b:em; [para 0076]) has an embossed pattern (fig 12b:pt; [para 0076])and the second adhesive layer (fig 12a:adh2[0100]) is adhered to the porous substrate (fig 12b:csl; [para 0054]),
Ryu does not teach the porous substrate comprises metal.
Park teaches:
a cushion plate (fig 5:300; [para 0143]) including a porous substrate (fig 5:321,320; [para 0143])
wherein the porous substrate (fig 5:321,320; [para 0143]) contains a conductive metal (fig 5:320; [para 0143]) and a plurality of pores (fig 5:321; [para 0143]) located inside the conductive metal (fig 5:320; [para 0143])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the cushion to comprise a porous metal a metal foam that has both a heat-dissipation function and a cushion function (paragraph 15).
Ryu does not teach the range of porosity.
Mischitz teaches:
porous substrate (fig 4a:106; [para 0032]) contains a conductive metal and a plurality of pores located inside the conductive metal ([para 0032]), and wherein the porous substrate has a porosity in a range from 50% to 76% ([para 0021]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a porosity in the range in order to optimize the thermal conductivity, elasticity and shear modulus (paragraph 0023)
Given the teaching of the references, it would have been obvious to determine the optimum porosity of the layers involved. See In re Aller, Lacey and Hall (10 USPQ 233-237) It is not inventive to discover optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. Note that the specification contains no disclosure of either the critical nature of the claimed ranges or any unexpected results arising therefrom. Where patentability is said to be based upon particular chosen dimensions or upon another variable recited in a claim, the Applicant must show that the chosen dimensions are critical. In re Woodruff, 919 f.2d 1575,1578, 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Ryu does not teach the display substrate includes thin film transistors
Lee teaches:
a thin film transistor layer (fig 4:300; [para 0057]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a thin film transistor in order to control the application of current to the light emitting elements(Lee; [para 0068]).
Sun teaches:
a resin (fig 3:4; [para 0034]) disposed on the side surfaces of the display panel (fig 3:2,3; [para 0034,0035]) and a side surface of the cushion plate (fig 3:1; [para 0028]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide resin on the side surface in order to seal out oxygen and moisture (Sun; [para 0034])
Regarding claim 15,
Ryu in view of Park in view of Mischitz in view of Lee in view of Sun teaches the display device of claim 14, wherein:
Ryu teaches:
corresponding side surfaces of the display panel (fig 12b:dd;[para 0044]) and the cushion plate (fig 12b:csl;[para 0084]) are aligned with each other (fig 12b).
Regarding claim 16,
Ryu in view of Park in view of Mischitz in view of Lee in view of Sun teaches the display device of claim 14, wherein:
Sun teaches:
the resin (fig 3:4; [para 0034]) is further disposed on a back surface of the cushion plate (fig 3:1; [para 0028]).
Regarding claim 20,
Ryu in view of Park in view of Mischitz in view of Lee in view of Sun teaches the display device of claim 14, further
Ryu teaches
a support member (fig 12b:BL;[para 0052])between the display panel and the cushion plate (fig 12b:csl;[para 0054]).
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryu (US 2020/0325952) in view of Park (US 2022/0209167) in view of Mischitz (US 2016/0133584) in view of Lee (US 2020/0328382) in view Sun (US 2021/0408456) as applied to claim 14 and further in view of Cho (US 2018/0310426).
Regarding claim 19,
Ryu in view of Park in view of Mischitz in view of Lee in view of Sun teaches the display device of claim 14 above.
Ryu in view of Park in view of Mischitz in view of Lee in view of Sun does not teach how the resin is cured.
Chi teaches:
the resin (fig 5:319; [para 0064]) includes a thermosetting resin or a UV curable resin ([para 0064]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use heat or ultraviolet to cure the resin in order to convert liquid resin to a solidified structure thereby enabling waterproofing (Cho [para 0064])
This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C.102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B); or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement. See generally MPEP § 717.02.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Newly applied rejection Ryu (US 2020/0325952) in view of Park (US 2022/0209167) in view of Mischitz (US 2016/0133584) anticipates the claims.
Relevant prior art: Figure 4 of Ma (US 2021/0333610) teaches a display panel including a conductive foam tape 107 to absorb energy generated from vibrations (see para. 53).
Conclusion
/D.J.G/Examiner, Art Unit 2817
/Kretelia Graham/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2817