DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Ryu (US 2020/0325952).
Regarding claim 1.
Ryu teaches a display device (fig 12A:DD;[para 0116]) comprising:a display panel (fig 12b:DP;[para 0116]) for displaying an image (fig 1:IM;[para 0044]); a support member (fig 12b:BL;[para 0103]) disposed under the display panel (fig 12a:DP;[para 0117]); and a cushion plate (fig 12b:SAM;[para 0050]) disposed under the support member (fig 12a:BL;[para 0103]) and including a porous substrate (fig 12a:cp,rs;[para 0064]), wherein corresponding side surfaces of the display panel (fig 12b:DP;[para 0116]), the support member (fig 12b:BS;[para 0076]), and the cushion plate (fig 12b:SAM;[para 0050]) are aligned with each other, the cushion plate (fig 12b:SAM;[para 0050]) further includes an adhesive member (fig 12a:EM,ADH1,ADH2;[para 0129]),
wherein the adhesive member (fig 12a:em,adh1.adh2;[para 0129]) includes a base (fig 12b:adh1;[para 0100]), a first adhesive layer (fig 12b:PT;[para 0077]) disposed on a first surface of the base (fig 12a:adh1;[para 0100]),and a second adhesive layer (fig 12b:adh2;[0100]) disposed on a second surface of the base (fig 12b:adh1[0100]) opposite to the first surface of the base (fig 12b:adh1[0100]), and wherein the first adhesive layer (fig 12a:PT;[para 0077]) has an embossed pattern (fig 12b:PT;[para 0076]) adhered to the support member (fig 12b:BS;[para 0076])and the second adhesive layer (fig 12b:adh2;[0100]) is adhered to the porous substrate(fig 12a:cp,rs;[para 0064]).
Regarding claim 2,
Ryu teaches the display device of claim 1, further:
Ryu teaches the display panel (12a:DP;[para 0117]) includes an optical film (fig 11:WD;[para 0102]), an encapsulation unit (fig 11:TFE;[para 0102]), a pixel array (fig 11:ODL;[para 0105]), and a display substrate (fig 12b:CL;[para 0052]), and wherein corresponding side surfaces of the optical film (fig 11:WD;[para 0102]), the encapsulation unit (fig 11:TFE;[para 0102]), the display substrate (fig 12b:CL;[para 0052]), the support member (fig 12b:BS;[para 0052]), and the cushion plate (fig 12a:CSL;[para 0099]) are aligned with each other (fig 12b).
Regarding claim 3,
Ryu teaches the display device of claim 1, further:
Ryu teaches at least three side surfaces (fig 1:DA;[para 0049]) of the display panel (fig 1,12b:DP;[para 0048]), at least three side surfaces of the support member (fig 12b:BS;[para 0052]), and at least three side surfaces of the cushion plate (fig 12b:csl;[para 0084]) are aligned with each other, respectively (fig 1,12b;[para 0048,0051]).
Regarding claim 4,
Ryu teaches the display device of claim 3, further:
Ryu teaches an upper-side surface, a left-side surface, and a right-side surface of the display panel (fig 1,2:DD;[para 0044]), an upper-side surface, a left-side surface, and a right- side surface of the support member (fig 12b:BL;[para 0103]), and an upper-side surface, a left-side surface, and a right- side surface of the cushion plate (12b:csl;[para 0056]) are aligned with each other, respectively (fig 1,12b).
Regarding claim 5,
Ryu teaches the display device of claim 1, further:
Ryu teaches corresponding distal ends of the display panel (fig 1,12a:DP;[para 0102]), the support member (fig 12b:BL;[para 0103]), and the cushion plate (fig 12b:CSL;[para 0054]) coincide with each other in at least a part of the display device (fig 1,12b:DD;[para 0116]) ).
Regarding claim 6,
Ryu teaches the display device of claim 5, further:
Ryu teaches an upper-distal end, a left-distal end, and a right-distal end of the display panel (fig 1,2:DD;[para 0044]), an upper-distal end, a left-distal end, and a right-distal end of the support member (fig 12b:BL;[para 0103]), and an upper-distal end, a left-distal end, and a right-distal end of the cushion plate (fig 12b:csl;[para 0084]) are aligned with each other, respectively (fig 1,12b;[para 0048,0051]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9, 10, 11, 12, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryu (US 2020/0325952) as applied to claim 1 and further in view Sun (US 2021/0408456).
Regarding claim 9.
Ryu the display device of claim 1 above.
Ryu teaches a side surfaces of the display panel, the support member, and the cushion plate (fig 12b).
Ryu does not teach resin on the side surfaces.
Sun teaches a resin (fig 3:4;[para 0034]) disposed on the side surfaces of the display module (fig 3:1,2,3;[para 0034,0035]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide resin on the side surface in order to seal out oxygen and moisture (Sun ;[para 0034])
Regarding claim 10,
Ryu in view of Sun teaches the display device of claim 9, further:
Sun teaches the resin (fig 3:4;[para 0034]) is further disposed on a back surface of the cushion plate (fig 3:2,3;[para 0034]).
Regarding claim 11,
Ryu in view of Sun teaches the display device of claim 9, further:
Sun teaches the resin (fig 3:4;[para 0034]) includes a thermosetting resin or a UV curable resin (PMMA) ([para 0035]).
Regarding claim 12,
Ryu in view of Sun teaches the display device of claim 9, further:
Sun teaches the resin (fig 3:4;[para 0034]) has one or more characteristics of waterproof, rigidity, and static dissipation ([para 0034]).
Regarding claim 13,
Ryu in view of Sun teaches the display device of claim 9, further:
Ryu teaches a respective upper-side surface, left-side surface, and right-side surface of the display panel (fig 1,12b:dd;[para 0044]), the support member (fig 12b:BL;[para 0103]), and the cushion plate (fig 12b:csl;[para 0054]).
Sun teaches the resin (fig 3:4;[para 0034]) is disposed on respective upper-side surface, left-side surface, and right-side surface of the display panel (fig 3:2,3;[para 0034])
Claim(s) 14, 15, 16 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryu (US 2020/0325952) in view of Lee (US 2020/0328382) in view Sun (US 2021/0408456).
Regarding claim 14.
Ryu teaches a display device (fig 12a:dd;[para 0116]) comprising: a display panel (fig 12b:dp;[para 0116]) for displaying an image (fig 1:IM;[para 0044]), the display panel (fig 12b:dp;[para 0116]) including a display substrate (fig 12b:CL;[para 0104]), a pixel array on the display substrate […] and light-emitting elements (fig 12b:ODL;[para 0105]), and an encapsulation unit (fig 12b:TFE;[para 0102]) on the pixel array; a cushion plate (fig 12:SAM disposed under the display panel (fig 12b:dp;[para 0116]) and including an adhesive member (fig 12a:em,adh1,adh2;[para 0076,0100]); […], wherein the cushion plate (fig 12b:SAM) further includes a porous (fig 12b:cp;[para 0064]) substrate (fig 12b:rs;[para 0064]), wherein the adhesive member (fig 12b:em,adh1,adh2;[para 0076,0100]) includes a base (fig 12b:adh1;[para 0100]), a first adhesive layer (fig 12b:em;[para 0076]) disposed on a first surface of the base (fig 12b:adh1[0100]), and a second adhesive layer (fig 12a:adh2[0100]) disposed on a second surface of the base opposite to the first surface of the base, and wherein the first adhesive layer (fig 12b:em;[para 0076]) has an embossed pattern (fig 12b:pt; [para 0076])and the second adhesive layer (fig 12a:adh2[0100]) is adhered to the porous substrate (fig 12b:csl;[para 0054]).
Ryu does not teach the display substrate includes thin film transistors
Lee teaches a thin film transistor layer (fig 4:300;[para 0057]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a thin film transistor in order to control the application of current to the light emitting elements(Lee; [para 0068]).
Sun teaches a resin (fig 3:4;[para 0034]) disposed on the side surfaces of the display panel (fig 3:2,3;[para 0034,0035]) and a side surface of the cushion plate (fig 3:1;[para 0028]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide resin on the side surface in order to seal out oxygen and moisture (Sun ;[para 0034])
Regarding claim 15,
Ryu in view of Lee in view of Sun teaches the display device of claim 14, wherein:
Ryu teaches corresponding side surfaces of the display panel (fig 12b:dd;[para 0044]) and the cushion plate (fig 12b:csl;[para 0084]) are aligned with each other (fig 12b).
Regarding claim 16,
Ryu in view of Lee in view of Sun teaches the display device of claim 14, wherein:
Sun teaches the resin (fig 3:4; [para 0034]) is further disposed on a back surface of the cushion plate (fig 3:1; [para 0028]).
Regarding claim 20,
Ryu in view of Lee in view of Sun teaches the display device of claim 14, further comprising a support member (fig 12b:BL;[para 0052])between the display panel and the cushion plate (fig 12b:csl;[para 0054]).
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryu (US 2020/0325952) in view of Lee (US 2020/0328382) in view Sun (US 2021/0408456) as applied to claim 14 and further in view of Cho (US 2018/0310426).
Regarding claim 19, Ryu in view of Lee in view of Sun teaches the display device of claim 14 above.
Ryu in view of Lee in view of Sun does not teach how the resin is cured.
Chi teaches the resin (fig 5:319;[para 0064]) includes a thermosetting resin or a UV curable resin ([para 0064]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use heat or ultraviolet to cure the resin in order to convert liquid resin to a solidified structure thereby enabling waterproofing (Cho [para 0064])
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7 and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 7, the prior art does not teach a display device comprising:a display panel for displaying an image; and a cushion plate disposed under the support member and including a porous substrate, wherein corresponding side surfaces of the display panel, the support member, and the cushion plate are aligned with each other, the cushion plate further includes an adhesive member, wherein the porous substrate contains a conductive metal and a plurality of pores located inside the conductive metal, and wherein the porous substrate has a porosity in a range from 50% to 76% in combination with the other elements of the claim.
Regarding claim 17, the prior art does not teach a display device comprising: a cushion plate disposed under the display panel and including an adhesive member; and a resin disposed on a side surface of the display panel and a side surface of the cushion plate, wherein the cushion plate further includes a porous substrate, and wherein the cushion plate further comprises a porous substrate under the adhesive member, wherein the porous substrate contains a conductive metal and a plurality of pores located inside the conductive metal, and wherein the porous substrate has a porosity in a range from 50% to 76%.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
The Ryu (US 2020/0325952) as is newly applied anticipates the claims.
Conclusion
/D.J.G/Examiner, Art Unit 2817
/Kretelia Graham/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2817 March 23, 2026