DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7 and 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1, line 8, new limitation “a plurality of lens elements comprising an organic material” is not described in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 and 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hikichi Kunihiko [JP 2008270679] IDS in view of Lee [US 2005/0130071] IDS.
With respect to claim 1, as best understood, Hikichi Kunihiko (figs 2-3) disclose a solid-state imaging device, comprising:
a semiconductor substrate (10, pp [0021]) including a plurality of photoelectric conversion elements (12, pp [0021]) two-dimensionally formed in a first direction and a second direction orthogonal to the first direction (figs. 1 and 2);
a plurality of color filters (41, pp [0024]) of respective colors formed on the semiconductor substrate such that the color filters are aligned with the respective photoelectric conversion elements; and
a plurality of lens elements (51, pp [0024]) formed on the color filters,
wherein each of the lens elements includes a transmission portion (flat region of the groove 53) and a microlens portion (51) protruding from the transmission portion and is aligned with the photoelectric conversion element,
wherein the microlens portion has a height greater than a height of the transmission portion, the transmission portion is a flat layer and is formed between the microlens portion and the color filter such that light from the microlens portion is transmitted toward the photoelectric conversion element, and the lens elements are formed such that the microlens portions have gaps between the microlens portions adjacent in the first direction, the second direction, and a third direction intersecting the first direction and the second direction at an angle of 450, and that the transmission portions are formed connected to each other with no gaps therebetween in the first direction, the second direction, and the third direction, and wherein the plurality of lens elements is formed such that the rectangular shape of the microlens portion has a width W1 in the first direction and the second direction and a width W2 in the third direction such that the width W1 is smaller than the width W2.
Hikichi Kunihiko fails to disclose the microlens portion has a hemispherical shape in a cross section. However, Lee (fig. 5) discloses the microlens portion (210A, pp [0021]) has a height greater than a height of the transmission portion (the flat portion) and has a hemispherical shape in a cross section. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skill in the art to have the hemispherical shape as taught by Lee into the device of Hikichi Kunihiko in order to improve yields of image sensors with enhanced competitiveness. Moreover, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to has a hemispherical shape since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
With respect to claims 2-7 and 11-20, Hikichi Kunihiko and Lee do not mention a gap range, the width range, an arc length range .et. as recited in claims 2-7 and 11-20.
However, the gap range the width range, an arc length range .et. would have been obvious to an ordinary artisan practicing the invention because, absent evidence of disclosure of criticality for the range giving unexpected results, it is not inventive to discover optimal or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). Furthermore, it appears that these changes produce no functional differences and therefore would have been obvious. See In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578, 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/03/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Hikichi and Lee do not teach or suggest lens elements comprising an organic material. Applicant argument is not persuasive because this limitation is not described in the specification. Moreover, the Wikipedia describes that:
Acrylic resin is not an organic material; it is a synthetic polymer derived from acrylic acid and related compounds. Acrylic resins are thermoplastic materials that can be made from natural or synthetic sources, but they are always man-made and do not belong to the organic category.
Transparent nitride is not classified as an organic material; it is a type of inorganic compound. Nitrides are chemical compounds that typically consist of nitrogen and one or more other elements, making them inorganic materials. They are known for their hardness, thermal stability, and chemical resistance, and are widely used in various applications, including hard coatings and semiconductor materials.
Transparent oxides are not classified as organic materials. They are typically composed of metal oxides, such as indium tin oxide (ITO), zinc oxide (ZnO), and tin oxide (SnO2), which are used in optoelectronic applications like OLEDs and solar cells. These materials are known for their ability to conduct electricity while remaining optically transparent, making them essential in various electronic devices.
Applicant argues that Hikichi and Lee fail to disclose or suggest that the plurality of lens elements is formed such that the rectangular shape of the microlens portion has a width W1 in the first direction and the second direction and a width W2 in the third direction such that the width W1 is smaller than the width W2. Applicant argument is not persuasive because Hikichi (fig. 2) clearly disclose the plurality of lens elements is formed such that the rectangular shape of the microlens portion has a width W1 in the first direction and the second direction and a width W2 in the third direction such that the width W1 is smaller than the width W2.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HOAI V PHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2892