Response to Amendment
The amendments with respect to claims 1 and 6, filed on 05/21/2025, after the Final Rejection, filed on 03/20/2025, are acknowledged. No new matter has been introduced.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 8-14, filed 05/21/2025, with respect to claims 1-3, 5-7, and 9-13 have been fully considered and are persuasive in view of the amendments filed on 05/21/2025. Therefore, the rejections of claims 1-3, 5-7, and 9-13 have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of a newly found prior art reference as necessitated by the claim amendments, filed 05/21/2025.
Claim Interpretation
Examiner acknowledges the amendment to claim 1 wherein the comprising language was amended to consisting of language with respect to the composition. However, the acrylic polymer of the composition uses comprising language regarding the structural units, wherein this is interpreted to include one or more monomers, one of which is represented by Chemical Formula 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 5-7, and 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rowell et al. (US 2017/0255103 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 5-6, Rowell et al. teaches photoresist pattern trimming compositions coated over a photoresist pattern [0012] wherein the photoresist pattern trimming compositions consist of a polymer [0013-0014] formed from one or more monomers including acylate monomers such as (meth)acrylate exemplified as [0014]:
,
,
,
,
. Regarding claims 1 and 9-11, the composition further consists of a solvent such as monoether-based solvents [0017] including 1,4-cineole, 1,8-cineole, pinene oxide, di-n-propyl ether, diisopropyl ether, di-n-butyl ether, di-n-pentyl ether, diisoamyl ether, dihexyl ether, diheptyl ether and dioctyl ether, anisole, ethylbenzyl ether, diphenyl ether, dibenzyl ether and phenetole [0018] and a fluorinated acid [0023] such as perfluoroacetic acid, perfluorooctanoic acid, trifluoromethanesulfonic acid, 1-perfluorobutanesulfonic acid, 1,1,2,2-tetrafluorobutane-l-sulfonic acid, 1,1,2,2-tetrafluoro-4-hydroxybutane-l-sulfonic acid or the following acids [0025]:
,
. Further, Rowell et al. teaches the solids content of the trimming compositions is from 1 to 10 wt % [0034] (claim 3) wherein the acid is about 0.01 to 20 wt % based on the total solids [0025] and the polymer is from 80 to 99 wt % based on the total solids [0015]; and the weight average molecular weight (Mw) of the polymer is preferably from 3,000 to 50,000 [0015] (claim 7). Regarding claim 12, Rowell et al. teaches a method of trimming a photoresist pattern comprising: (a) providing a semiconductor substrate; (b) forming a photoresist pattern over the semiconductor substrate; (c) coating a pattern trimming composition over the photoresist pattern (as described above); (d) heating the coated semiconductor substrate; and (e) rinsing the photoresist pattern with a rinsing agent [0007].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rowell et al. (US 2017/0255103 A1), as applied to claim 1 above.
Rowell et al. teaches the photoresist pattern trimming compositions coated over a photoresist pattern, as explained and applied to claim 1 above, and further teaches the solids content of the trimming compositions is from 1 to 10 wt % [0034] wherein the acid is about 0.01 to 20 wt % based on the total solids [0025] and the polymer is from 80 to 99 wt % based on the total solids [0015]. Therefore, the weight ratio of the polymer to the acid ranges from 99:20 to 80:0.01 or 4.95:1 to 8,000:1. Furthermore, Rowell et al. teaches composition examples in Table 1 (pg. 19) wherein the weight ratio of the polymer to the acid ranges from ~18:1 to 30:1.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have selected the overlapping portion range of 4.95:1 to 30:1 as disclosed by Rowell et al. because selection of overlapping portion of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness. See MPEP § 2144.05.I. In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rowell et al. (US 2017/0255103 A1), as applied to claim 12 above.
Rowell et al. teaches a method of trimming a photoresist pattern comprising: (a) providing a semiconductor substrate; (b) forming a photoresist pattern over the semiconductor substrate; (c) coating a pattern trimming composition over the photoresist pattern (as described above); (d) heating the coated semiconductor substrate; and (e) rinsing the photoresist pattern with a rinsing agent [0007] wherein the heating is conducted with a hotplate or oven from about 70 to 160 °C [0057] (claim 13).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the range from 100 to 160 °C as disclosed by Rowell et al. because selection of overlapping portion of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness. See MPEP § 2144.05.I. In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
Conclusion
/CHRISTINE CURIAC/Examiner, Art Unit 1737
/MARK F. HUFF/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1737