DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1, 5, 6, 7, 8, 11, 21, have been amended. Claims 2, 4, 9, 10, 12, 15-20, 22-27, and 30 have been canceled. Claims 37 and 38 have been added. Claims 1, 3, 5-8, 11, 13, 14, 21, 28, 29, 31-38 have been examined on the merits.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Page 12, filed 01/30/2026, with respect to the amendments to
the claim objections are persuasive. The previous claim objections have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see Page 12, filed 01/30/2026, with respect to the previous 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) rejections are persuasive. The previous 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) rejections have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see Pages 13-19, filed 01/30/2026, with respect to the previous 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejections are not persuasive.
With respect to “Applicants submit that Pozniak, Soberanis, Wu, KR2004, and Chen taken alone or in any combination, fail to teach or suggest, at least the elements recited in the amended claims. The elements include:…”, the examiner disagrees. As disclosed below, the combination of the prior art would result in meeting the limitations of the claim.
With respect to “Therefore, the Office Action fails to demonstrate how Pozniak, Soberanis, Wu, KR2004, and Chen, taken alone or in any combination, teach or suggest a CMP apparatus in which multiple CMP units laterally surround a centrally positioned integrated slurry mixer-dispenser that contains the recited in-line assembly of mass flow controllers, stirred mixing chamber, and enlarged spiral mixing coil with its outlet directly feeding the dispensation pipes, as recited in amended independent claim 1.”, the examiner disagrees.
As disclosed below, the combination of the prior art would result in meeting the limitations of the claim.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., “enlarged spiral mixing coil with its outlet directly feeding”) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
With respect to: “the Office Action fails to demonstrate how Wu provides any teaching or suggestion regarding real-time control of specific slurry component mass-flow setpoints in an integrated mixer-dispenser as recited in claim 11. The Office Action also fails to demonstrate how Wu provides any teaching or suggestion regarding adjusting specific slurry-component mass flow rates via MFCs, and silent on maintaining torque within a target range during a defined terminal polishing step via closed-loop feedback.”, the examiner disagrees.
As disclosed below, Wu clearly discloses: “if the torque falls below some predetermined torque threshold (indicating conditioning surface 126 is too worn), the conditioning disk 110 is deemed spent. Thus, the CMP controller 116 can notify a CMP operator that it is time to replace the conditioning disk 110” [0017]; “a feedback path 138 provides for real-time adjustment of CMP process parameters 140 based on the measured surface condition(s).” [0013]. Merriam-Webster defines “closed loop” as: “an automatic control system in which an operation, process, or mechanism is regulated by feedback”. While Wu discloses the use of “feedback”, which is consistent with the definition of “closed loop”, Chen (US 10058974 B1) specifically utilizes a closed loop control.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., “specific slurry component mass-flow setpoints”) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
With respect to: “Therefore, the Office Action fails to demonstrate how Pozniak, Soberanis, Wu, KR2004, and Chen, taken alone or in any combination, teach or suggest a multi-platen CMP cluster having a centrally located integrated slurry mixer-dispenser with a common mixing chamber feeding multiple dispensation pipes and a process controller that synchronizes slurry-composition changes across all polishing pads in response to an endpoint signal from any one platen, as recited in amended claim 21.”, the examiner disagrees.
As disclosed below, all the structure required by the claims is taught by the combination of the prior art. The structure and its intent can be easily duplicated and rearranged by someone of ordinary skill in the art to apply to numerous stations/pads.
With respect to the newly added claims, as detailed below, both have antecedent errors with regards to their parent claim.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “the integrated slurry mixer-dispenser is positioned at the center underneath the polishing pads” of claim 38, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7, 8, 34, 36, and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7, which depends on claim 5, recites: “a respective endpoint detection system” and “a respective endpoint detection signal”. Claim 5 introduces both limitations, and therefore is unclear if they’re referring to the same or different endpoint detection system/ endpoint detection signal. For examination purposes, claim 7’s limitations have been construed as the same as in claim 5.
Claim 34, which depends on claim 21, recites: “the at least two slurry components”. Claim 21 does not introduce “the at least two slurry components” and therefore, lacks antecedent basis, and is unclear if it’s referring to another component. For examination purposes, “the at least two slurry components” has been construed as “at least two slurry components”. Claim 36 depends on claim 21 and also recites “the at least two slurry components” and has been examined similarly to claim 34.
Claim 37, which depends on claim 1, recites: “the mixing coil has a spiral shape; and
the mixing coil has a greater diameter than diameters of the component supply pipes.”. Claim 1 recites: “a mixing coil which has a spiral shape and has a greater diameter than diameters of the component supply pipes”. It is unclear if claim 37 was meant to depend on another claim since claim 1 already recites what’s claimed. For examination purposes, claim 37 depends on claim 1, and the limitations have already been addressed.
Claim 38, which depends on claim 1, recites: “the common mixing chamber contains a stir bar that is attached to a stir bar motor” and “the endpoint detection system is configured to measure the torque on the drive motor”. Claim 1 recites: “a stir bar that is located in a mixing chamber that mechanically stirs a mixture of the at least two slurry components and is attached to a stir bar motor”. Claim 38’s limitations of “the endpoint detection system”, “the torque”, “the drive motor” have not been introduced in claim 1, and lack antecedent basis. Therefore, it is unclear if claim 38 was meant to depend on another claim. For examination purposes, claim 38 has been construed to depend on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5-8, 29, 31, 37, and 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pozniak et al. (U.S. Patent No. 6,616,014 B1), “KR2004” (KR20040057652A), Soberanis et al. (U.S. Patent No. 6,098,843 A), and Wu et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2013/0217306 A1).
Referring to claim 1: Pozniak et al. teaches a chemical mechanical polishing (CMP) apparatus, comprising: and an integrated slurry mixer-dispenser (12 Figs. 1, 2A, and 2B) comprising a mixer dispenser-frame (frame of 12 shown in Figs. 1 and 2B) and a dispensation pipe (pipe of 42 shown in Fig. 1; “Pipe” as defined by Merriam Webster is: “2a: a long tube or hollow body for conducting a liquid, gas, or finely divided solid or for structural purpose”) that is attached to the mixer-dispenser frame (frame of 12 shown in Figs. 1 and 2B), wherein the mixer-dispenser frame contains therein an assembly of components that comprise, in order from a supply side (SUP-S Fig. 1-A inserted below) to a dispensation side (DS Fig. 1-A inserted below), at least two inlet ports (IP Fig. 1-A inserted below; “A slurry component feed line 48 extends from the slurry component supply 16 to each reservoir” Col. 5, lines 66-67) configured to receive a respective slurry component (respective slurry component of 22-1, 22-2, 22-3, 22-4, 22-5; Col. 4, lines 62-64) from a respective component supply pipe (C-Supply Fig. 1-A inserted below),
the integrated slurry mixer-dispenser further comprises
at least two in-line component-flow-control mass flow controllers (34-1, 34-2, 34-3, 34-3, 34-4, 34-5 Figs. 1, 2A, and 2B) configured to control a mass flow rate of the respective slurry component (mass flow rate is controlled through opening of the valves via an “open signal and the repetitive sequencing”; Col. 7, lines 31-36) to generate a first mixture (first mixture comprising of the received slurry component (components 1-5 shown in Fig. 1) prior to entering the mixing chamber 39) of the slurry component from the component supply pipes (C-Supply Fig. 1-A inserted below), and a mixing chamber (39 Figs. 1 and 2A).
But is silent on:
the integrated slurry mixer-dispenser is centrally positioned among the plurality of chemical mechanical polishing units such that the plurality of chemical mechanical polishing units laterally surrounds the integrated slurry mixer-dispenser in a plan view and comprises a mixer-dispenser frame and a plurality of dispensation pipes each attached to the mixer-dispenser frame;
the integrated slurry mixer-dispenser comprises a plurality of dispensation ports located at an end of a respective dispensation pipe among the plurality of dispensation pipes to dispense the slurry over a respective one of the polishing pads;
the mixing chamber specifically containing a stir bar that is located in a mixing chamber that mechanically stirs a mixture of the at least two slurry components and is
attached to a stir bar motor and is configured to provide a first mixing of the at least two slurry components, and a mixing coil which has a spiral shape and has a greater diameter than diameters of the component supply pipes and is configured to provide a second mixing of the first mixture to further mix the slurry components, wherein an output orifice of the mixing coil is attached to an input orifice of the dispensation pipe;
and the chemical mechanical polishing apparatus further comprises a process controller to simultaneously change the mass flow rate of at least one slurry component to all of the plurality of polishing pads upon receiving an endpoint detection signal from any one of the plurality of chemical mechanical polishing units to achieve inter-wafer uniformity in removal rate.
“KR2004” teaches wherein the similar configuration integrated slurry mixer-dispenser (Fig. 2) is centrally positioned (shown in Fig. 2) among the plurality of chemical mechanical polishing units (PD1-4 Fig. 2) and comprises a similar configuration mixer-dispenser frame (frame of 100 shown in Fig. 2) and a plurality of dispensation pipes (dispensation pipes which distribute slurry to pads PD1-4 Fig. 2) each attached to the mixer-dispenser frame;
the integrated slurry mixer-dispenser comprises a plurality of dispensation ports (dispensation ports which distribute slurry to pads PD1-4 Fig. 2) located at an end of a respective dispensation pipe among the plurality of dispensation pipes (dispensation pipes which distribute slurry to pads PD1-4 Fig. 2) to dispense the slurry over a respective one of the polishing pads (PD1-4 Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the chemical mechanical polishing (CMP) apparatus of Pozniak et al. with the additional dispensation port as taught by KR2004 for the purpose of, as it is known in the art, increasing the efficiency of the distribution of slurry onto numerous polishing pads.
It also would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the such that the plurality of chemical mechanical polishing units laterally surrounds the integrated slurry mixer-dispenser in a plan view for the purpose of organizing the pads in a manner which fits best with the space available, and since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C)
Soberanis et al. in an analogous CMP apparatus (Cols. 3-4, lines 66-5), teaches wherein the similar configuration integrated slurry mixer-dispenser (1100 Figs. 11A and 11B)
generates slurry by mixing at least two slurry components (“mixing two chemicals” Col. 7, lines 47-50) provided through the at least two similar configuration inlet ports (1117 and 1119 Fig. 11A);
and the similar configuration the mixing chamber (1106 Figs. 11A and 11B) specifically containing a stir bar (1121 Figs. 11A and 11B) that is located in the mixing chamber (1106 Figs. 11A and 11B) that mechanically stirs a mixture of the at least two slurry components (“mixing two chemicals” Col. 7, lines 47-50) and is attached to a stir bar motor (1121 Figs. 11A and 11B) and is configured to provide a first mixing (first mixing located in the similar configuration 1106 Figs. 11A and 11B) of the at least two similar configuration slurry components (“mixing two chemicals” Col. 7, lines 47-50), and a mixing coil (1116 Figs. 11A and 11B) which has a spiral shape (shown in Figs. 11A and 11B) and is configured to provide a second mixing (second mixing located in the mixing coil) of the first mixture to further mix the slurry components, wherein an output orifice (output orifice of 1116 shown in Figs. 11A and 11B) of the mixing coil (1116 Figs. 11A and 11B) is attached to an input orifice (IO Fig. 2-A inserted below) of the dispensation pipe (P-DS Fig. 2-A inserted below).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the CMP apparatus of Pozniak et al. as modified with the stir bar and mixing coil as taught by Soberanis et al. for the purpose of, as it is known in the art, an ideal way to mix time sensitive chemistries and maintain a constant, non-pulsed output of the blended chemicals (Col. 7, lines 63-65 of Soberanis et al.).
Wu et al. teaches a process controller (116 Fig. 1) to simultaneously change the mass flow rate (adjusting the mass flow rates by altering the composition of the slurry; “The CMP controller 116 … can alter the composition of slurry 111, and/or can increase the temperature of the slurry 111” [0016]; “composition, temperature, angular velocities” [0017]) of at least one slurry component to the polishing pad upon receiving an endpoint detection signal (“Based on the measured condition of conditioning surface 126, the CMP controller 116 can make real-time changes to CMP process parameters” [0016]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the CMP apparatus of Pozniak et al. as modified with the endpoint detection system and process controller as taught by Wu et al. for the purpose of, as it is known in the art, automating the CMP elements to increase efficiency and productivity.
It also would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the endpoint detection system and process controller to be configured to be applied to a plurality of polishing pads/units to achieve inter-wafer uniformity in removal rate for the purpose of increasing the efficiency and output of the operation, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B)
Referring to claim 3: Pozniak et al. as modified teaches the CMP apparatus of Claim 1, wherein the integrated slurry mixer- dispenser (12 Figs. 1, 2A, and 2B of Pozniak et al.) comprises at least two component feed pipes (22-1, 22-2, 22-3, 22-4, 22-5 Figs. 1, 2A, and 2B of Pozniak et al.) connected to the respective one of the at least two inlet ports (IP Fig. 1-A inserted above; “A slurry component feed line 48 extends from the slurry component supply 16 to each reservoir” Col. 5, lines 66-67 of Pozniak et al.) and to a respective one of the at least two in-line component-flow-control mass flow controllers (34-1, 34-2, 34-3, 34-3, 34-4, 34-5 Figs. 1, 2A, and 2B of Pozniak et al.).
Referring to claim 5: Pozniak et al. as modified teaches the CMP apparatus of Claim 1, but is silent on wherein each of the chemical mechanical polishing units comprises a respective endpoint detection system configured to detect a change in a removal rate of materials from respective substrate and to generate a respective endpoint detection signal; and the process controller for receiving an endpoint detection signal from any one of the plurality of chemical mechanical polishing units and to simultaneously change at least one mass flow rate among mass flow rates of the at least two slurry components.
Wu et al. teaches wherein the chemical mechanical polishing unit comprises an endpoint detection system (136, 144 Fig. 1) configured to detect a change in a removal rate of materials (“the surface condition analyzer 136 makes use of the fact that measured torque is proportional to the amount of friction between the engagement and conditioning surfaces” [0015]) from substrate and to generate the endpoint detection signal (signal from endpoint detection system 136 Fig. 1); and the process controller (116 Fig. 1) for receiving an endpoint detection signal (“Based on the measured condition of conditioning surface 126, the CMP controller 116 can make real-time changes to CMP process parameters” [0016]) from the chemical mechanical polishing unit and to simultaneously change at least one mass flow rate among mass flow rates (adjusting the mass flow rates by altering the composition of the slurry; “The CMP controller 116 … can alter the composition of slurry 111, and/or can increase the temperature of the slurry 111” [0016]; “composition, temperature, angular velocities” [0017]) of the at least two slurry components.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the CMP apparatus of Pozniak et al. as modified with the endpoint detection system and process controller as taught by Wu et al. for the purpose of, as it is known in the art, automating the CMP elements to increase efficiency and productivity.
It also would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the CMP apparatus of Pozniak et al. as modified with specifically to have a plurality/respective endpoint detection system, respective substrate; respective endpoint detection signal from any one of the plurality of chemical mechanical polishing units to simultaneously change at least one mass flow rate among mass flow rates of the at least two slurry components for the purpose increasing the efficiency and output of the operation, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B)
Referring to claim 6: Pozniak et al. as modified teaches the CMP apparatus of Claim 5, wherein: the at least two slurry components (respective slurry component of 22-1, 22-2, 22-3, 22-4, 22-5; Col. 4, lines 62-64 of Pozniak et al.) comprise a first slurry component (slurry component of 22-1 of Pozniak et al.) and a second slurry component (slurry component of 22-2 of Pozniak et al.); and the process controller (116 Fig. 1 of Wu et al.) changes a ratio of a mass flow rate (adjusting the mass flow rates by altering the composition of the slurry; “The CMP controller 116 … can alter the composition of slurry 111, and/or can increase the temperature of the slurry 111” [0016]; “composition, temperature, angular velocities” [0017] of Wu et al.) of the first slurry component to a mass flow rate of the second slurry component upon receipt of an endpoint detection signal (136 Fig. 1;“surface condition analyzer 136 to determine surface condition(s) of polishing pad 104 and/or conditioning disk 110 in real-time during polishing.” [0013] of Wu et al.) from any one of the plurality of chemical mechanical polishing units (PD1-4 Fig. 2 of “KR2004”).
Referring to claim 7: Pozniak et al. as modified teaches the CMP apparatus of Claim 5, wherein the respective endpoint detection system (136, 144 Fig. 1 of Wu et al.) in one of the plurality of chemical mechanical polishing units (PD1-4 Fig. 2 of “KR2004”) measures an increase in torque (“a torque measurement element 144 to measure a torque exerted by the motor assembly 114 during polishing.” [0015] of Wu et al.) on a drive motor (114 Fig. 1 of Wu et al.) of the respective platen above a threshold value (140 [0017]; “For example, as the conditioning surface 126 becomes more worn (as indicated by less friction and less measured torque), the CMP controller 116 can apply more down-force to the conditioning disk 110 (and/or more up-force from the platen 102) so there is greater frictional engagement between the conditioning surface 126 and polishing surface 112.” [0016] of Wu et al.), and to generate the endpoint detection signal upon measurement of the torque above the threshold value (“In making this determination, the surface condition analyzer 136 makes use of the fact that measured torque is proportional to the amount of friction between the engagement and conditioning surfaces 126, 112.” [0015] of Wu et al.).
Referring to claim 8: Pozniak et al. as modified teaches the CMP apparatus of Claim 7, wherein the process controller (116 Fig. 1 of Wu et al.) comprises a processor (processor of 116 Fig. 1 of Wu et al.) that is configured with processor executable instructions to: monitor (“the CMP controller 116 can make real-time changes to CMP process parameters during polishing” [0016] of Wu et al.) the torque on the drive motor of the platen that generates the endpoint detection signal (“For example, as the conditioning surface 126 becomes more worn (as indicated by less friction and less measured torque), the CMP controller 116 can apply more down-force to the conditioning disk 110” [0016] of Wu et al.); and maintain the torque on the drive motor within a target torque range by continually adjusting (“real-time changes” [0016] of Wu et al.) the at least one mass flow rate (“For example, for a given slurry composition, temperature, angular velocities, etc” [0017] of Wu et al.) among the mass flow rates of the at least two slurry components.
Referring to claim 29: Pozniak et al. as modified teaches the CMP apparatus of Claim 1, further comprising at least two component supply pipes (C-Supply Fig. 1-A inserted above of Pozniak et al.) connected to a respective component supply tank (17-2, 17-2, 17-3, 17-4, 17-5 Fig. 1; “The slurry component supplier 16 includes a plurality of slurry component supply members, 17-1 through 17-5” Col. 4, lines 43-45 of Pozniak et al.) and to a respective one of the at least two inlet ports (IP Fig. 1-A inserted above; “A slurry component feed line 48 extends from the slurry component supply 16 to each reservoir” Col. 5, lines 66-67 of Pozniak et al.), wherein the diameter of the mixing coil (1116 Figs. 11A and 11B of Soberanis et al.) is greater than any diameter of the at least two component supply pipes (C-Supply Fig. 1-A inserted above of Pozniak et al.).
Referring to claim 31: Pozniak et al. as modified teaches the CMP apparatus of Claim 1, but is silent on further comprising an additional polishing pad located on a top surface of an additional platen configured to rotate around an additional vertical axis passing through the additional platen, wherein the integrated slurry mixer- dispenser further comprises an additional injection-point mass flow controller disposed between the mixing chamber and an additional dispensation port located over the additional polishing pad.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the CMP apparatus of Pozniak et al. as modified with the additional polishing pad located on a top surface of an additional platen configured to rotate around an additional vertical axis passing through the additional platen for the purpose of increasing the capabilities of the system and operate of a plurality of polishing pads, and since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B)
“KR2004” teaches wherein the similar configuration integrated slurry mixer-dispenser (Fig. 2) further comprises an additional injection-point mass flow controller (VL1, VL2, VLn-1, VLn-2 Fig. 2) disposed between the similar configuration mixing chamber (100 Fig. 2) and an additional dispensation port (dispensation ports which distribute slurry to pads PD1-4 Fig. 2) located over the additional polishing pad (PD1-4 Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the chemical mechanical polishing (CMP) apparatus of Pozniak et al. with the additional injection-point mass flow controller and additional dispensation port as taught by KR2004 for the purpose of, as it is known in the art, increasing the efficiency of the distribution of slurry onto numerous polishing pads.
Referring to claim 37: Pozniak et al. as modified teaches the CMP apparatus of Claim 1, teaches the mixing coil (1116 Figs. 11A and 11B of Soberanis et al.) has a spiral shape (shown in Figs. 11A and 11B of Soberanis et al.); and the mixing coil has a greater diameter than diameters of the component supply pipes (see claim 1’s modification with reasonable expectations of success);
but is silent on wherein: a slurry mixture ratio change is triggered upon sensing of a torque change in the drive motor of a respective platen;
the process controller comprises a processor that is configured with processor executable instructions;
Wu et al. teaches a slurry mixture ratio change (adjusting the mass flow rates by altering the composition of the slurry; “The CMP controller 116 … can alter the composition of slurry 111, and/or can increase the temperature of the slurry 111” [0016]; “composition, temperature, angular velocities” [0017]) is triggered upon sensing of a torque change (“a torque measurement element 144 to measure a torque exerted by the motor assembly 114 during polishing.” [0015]; “In making this determination, the surface condition analyzer 136 makes use of the fact that measured torque is proportional to the amount of friction between the engagement and conditioning surfaces 126, 112.” [0015]) in the drive motor (“a torque measurement element 144 to measure a torque exerted by the motor assembly 114 during polishing” [0015]) of a respective platen (102 Fig. 1);
the process controller comprises a processor (processor of 116 Fig. 1) that is configured with processor executable instructions (“the CMP controller 116 can make real-time changes to CMP process parameters during polishing” [0016]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the CMP apparatus of Pozniak et al. as modified with the process controller as taught by Wu et al. for the purpose of, as it is known in the art, automating the CMP elements to increase efficiency and productivity.
Referring to claim 38: Pozniak et al. as modified teaches the CMP apparatus of Claim 1,
the common mixing chamber (1106 Figs. 11A and 11B of Soberanis et al.) contains a stir bar (1121 Figs. 11A and 11B of Soberanis et al.) that is attached to a stir bar motor (1121 Figs. 11A and 11B of Soberanis et al.);
but is silent on wherein: the integrated slurry mixer-dispenser is positioned at the center underneath the polishing pads;
and the endpoint detection system is configured to measure the torque on the drive motor of a respective platen as a basis for determining the removal rate.
Wu et al. teaches wherein the chemical mechanical polishing unit comprises an endpoint detection system (136, 144 Fig. 1) to measure the torque (“the surface condition analyzer 136 makes use of the fact that measured torque is proportional to the amount of friction between the engagement and conditioning surfaces” [0015]) on the drive motor (“a torque measurement element 144 to measure a torque exerted by the motor assembly 114 during polishing.” [0015]) of a respective platen (102 Fig. 1) as a basis for determining the removal rate (“For example, as the conditioning surface 126 becomes more worn (as indicated by less friction and less measured torque), the CMP controller 116 can apply more down-force to the conditioning disk 110” [0016]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the CMP apparatus of Pozniak et al. as modified with the endpoint detection system as taught by Wu et al. for the purpose of, as it is known in the art, automating the CMP elements to increase efficiency and productivity.
It also would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the integrated slurry mixer-dispenser to be specifically positioned at the center underneath the polishing pads for the purpose of organizing the pads in a manner which fits best with the space available, and since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C)
Claims 11, 13, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pozniak et al. (U.S. Patent No. 6,616,014 B1), Wu et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2013/0217306 A1), Soberanis et al. (U.S. Patent No. 6,098,843 A), and Chen (US 10058974 B1).
Referring to claim 11: Pozniak et al. teaches a chemical mechanical polishing (CMP) apparatus, comprising: an integrated slurry mixer-dispenser (12 Figs. 1, 2A, and 2B) comprising a mixer dispenser-frame (frame of 12 shown in Figs. 1 and 2B) and a dispensation pipe (pipe of 42 shown in Fig. 1) that is attached to the mixer-dispenser frame, wherein the mixer-dispenser frame (frame of 12 shown in Figs. 1 and 2B) contains therein an assembly of components that comprise, in order from a supply side (SUP-S Fig. 1-A inserted above) to a dispensation side (DS Fig. 1-A inserted above), at least two inlet ports (IP Fig. 1-A inserted above; “A slurry component feed line 48 extends from the slurry component supply 16 to each reservoir” Col. 5, lines 66-67 of Pozniak et al.) configured to receive a respective slurry component (respective slurry component of 22-1, 22-2, 22-3, 22-4, 22-5; Col. 4, lines 62-64) from a respective component supply pipe (C-Supply Fig. 1-A inserted above), at least two in-line component-flow-control mass flow controllers (34-1, 34-2, 34-3, 34-3, 34-4, 34-5 Figs. 1, 2A, and 2B) configured to control a mass flow rate of the respective slurry component (mass flow rate is controlled through opening of the valves via an “open signal and the repetitive sequencing”; Col. 7, lines 31-36) to generate a first mixture (first mixture comprising of the received slurry component (components 1-5 shown in Fig. 1) prior to entering the mixing chamber 39) of the slurry component from the component supply pipes (C-Supply Fig. 1-A inserted above) and a mixing chamber (39 Figs. 1 and 2A) and dispensed from a dispensation pipe (pipe of 42 shown in Fig. 1).
But is silent on:
a polishing pad located on a top surface of a platen configured to rotate around a vertical axis passing through the platen; a wafer carrier configured to hold a substrate and facing the polishing pad;
the mixing chamber specifically containing a stir bar that is attached to a stir bar motor provides a first mixing of the at least two slurry components, and a mixing coil which has a spiral shape and has a greater diameter than diameters of the component supply pipes and provides a second mixing of the first mixture to further mix the slurry components, wherein an output orifice of the mixing coil is attached to an input orifice of the dispensation pipe;
an endpoint detection system configured to detect a change in a removal rate of materials from the substrate and to generate an endpoint detection signal by measuring torque on a drive motor of the platen; and a process controller configured to receive the endpoint detection signal and to change a mixture rate for slurry that comprises the at least two slurry components and is dispensed from the dispensation pipe, wherein the process controller is configured to continuously monitor the torque on the drive motor and adjust at least one mass flow rate of a slurry component in real-time via closed-loop feedback to maintain the torque within a target torque range during a terminal polishing step.
Wu et al. teaches a polishing pad (104 Fig. 1) located on a top surface (top surface shown in Fig. 1) of a platen (102 Fig. 1) configured to rotate around a vertical axis (120 Fig. 1) passing through the platen; a wafer carrier (108 Fig. 1) configured to hold a substrate (substrate held by wafer carrier 108 Fig. 1) and facing the polishing pad (104 Fig. 1);
an endpoint detection system (136, 144 Fig. 1) configured to detect a change in a removal rate of materials (“the surface condition analyzer 136 makes use of the fact that measured torque is proportional to the amount of friction between the engagement and conditioning surfaces” [0015]) from the substrate and to generate an endpoint detection signal (signal from endpoint detection system 136 Fig. 1) by measuring torque on a drive motor of the platen (“a torque measurement element 144 to measure a torque exerted by the motor assembly 114 during polishing” [0015]);
and a process controller (116 Fig. 1) configured to receive the endpoint detection signal (“Based on the measured condition of conditioning surface 126, the CMP controller 116 can make real-time changes to CMP process parameters” [0016]) and to change a mixture rate (adjusting the mass flow rates by altering the composition of the slurry; “The CMP controller 116 … can alter the composition of slurry 111, and/or can increase the temperature of the slurry 111” [0016]) for the slurry (111 Fig. 1) that comprises the at least two slurry components (“can alter the composition of slurry 111” [0016]) and is dispensed from the similar configuration dispensation pipe (106 Fig. 1), wherein the process controller (116 Fig. 1) is configured to continuously monitor the torque (“a torque measurement element 144 to measure a torque exerted by the motor assembly 114 during polishing” [0015]) on the drive motor and adjust at least one mass flow rate (adjusting the mass flow rates by altering the composition of the slurry; “The CMP controller 116 … can alter the composition of slurry 111, and/or can increase the temperature of the slurry 111” [0016]) of a slurry component in real-time via feedback (“a feedback path 138 provides for real-time adjustment of CMP process parameters 140 based on the measured surface condition(s).” [0013]) to maintain the torque within a target torque range (“In making this determination, the surface condition analyzer 136 makes use of the fact that measured torque is proportional to the amount of friction between the engagement and conditioning surfaces 126, 112.” [0015]; “if the torque falls below some predetermined torque threshold (indicating conditioning surface 126 is too worn), the conditioning disk 110 is deemed spent. Thus, the CMP controller 116 can notify a CMP operator that it is time to replace the conditioning disk 110” [0017]) during a terminal polishing step (514 Fig. 5).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the chemical mechanical polishing apparatus of Pozniak et al. with the polishing pad and platen for the purpose of, as it is well known in the art, having the basic components necessary for accomplishing the CMP process.
It also would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the CMP apparatus of Pozniak et al. as modified with the endpoint detection system and process controller as taught by Wu et al. for the purpose of, as it is known in the art, automating the CMP elements to increase efficiency and productivity.
Chen in an analogous CMP apparatus teaches feedback mechanism that is specifically closed-loop (“a real-time closed-loop control process” Col. 7, lines 51-52).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the feedback mechanism as taught by Pozniak et al. as modified with the closed loop as taught by Chen for the purpose of improving the accuracy and error correction of the process.
Soberanis et al. in an analogous CMP apparatus (Cols. 3-4, lines 66-5), teaches the similar configuration mixing chamber (1106 Figs. 11A and 11B) specifically containing a stir bar (1121 Figs. 11A and 11B) that is attached to a stir bar motor (1121 Figs. 11A and 11B) and provides a first mixing (first mixing located in the similar configuration mixing chamber 1106 Figs. 11A and 11B) of the at least two slurry components (“mixing two chemicals” Col. 7, lines 47-50), and a mixing coil (1116 Figs. 11A and 11B) which has a spiral shape (shown in Figs. 11A and 11B) and is configured to provide a second mixing (second mixing located in the mixing coil) of the first mixture to further mix the slurry components, wherein an output orifice (output orifice of 1116 shown in Figs. 11A and 11B) of the mixing coil (1116 Figs. 11A and 11B) is attached to an input orifice (IO Fig. 2-A inserted above) of the similar configuration dispensation pipe (P-DS Fig. 2-A inserted above).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the CMP apparatus of Pozniak et al. as modified with the stir bar and mixing coil as taught by Soberanis et al. for the purpose of, as it is known in the art, an ideal way to mix time sensitive chemistries and maintain a constant, non-pulsed output of the blended chemicals (Col. 7, lines 63-65 of Soberanis et al.).
Per MEPE 2143-E, choosing from a finite number of identified predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success supports a conclusion of obviousness. In the instant case, the finite number of identified predictable solutions that the coil diameter and supply pipe diameter can be the same, or either can be relatively larger; further, the prior art teaches both the coil diameter and supply pipe diameter. Therefore, modifying the mixing coil diameter to be greater than the diameters of the supply pipes, can easily be made without any change in the operation of the CMP apparatus of Soberanis et al. with reasonable expectations of success. Further, the Applicant’s paragraph 0030 of the specification discloses: “although lesser and greater diameters may also be used”. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the diameter of the mixing coil so it is greater than any diameter of the at least two component supply pipes for the purpose of, as it is known in the art, having the appropriate diameter sizes for the efficient and/or desired flow rates.
Referring to claim 13: Pozniak et al. as modified teaches the CMP apparatus of Claim 11, wherein the integrated slurry mixer- dispenser (12 Figs. 1, 2A, and 2B of Pozniak et al.) comprises: at least two component feed pipes (22-1, 22-2, 22-3, 22-4, 22-5 Figs. 1, 2A, and 2B of Pozniak et al.) connected to a respective one of the at least two inlet ports (12 Figs. 1, 2A, and 2B of Pozniak et al.)
Referring to claim 14: Pozniak et al. as modified teaches the CMP apparatus of Claim 11, wherein: the at least two slurry components (slurry component of 22-1, 22-2, 22-3, 22-4, 22-5 of Pozniak et al.) comprise a first slurry component (slurry component of 22-1 of Pozniak et al.) and a second slurry component (slurry component of 22-2 of Pozniak et al.); and the process controller (116 Fig. 1 of Wu et al.) is configurated to change a ratio of a mass flow rate (adjusting the mass flow rates by altering the composition of the slurry; “The CMP controller 116 … can alter the composition of slurry 111, and/or can increase the temperature of the slurry 111” [0016] of Wu et al.) of the first slurry component to a mass flow rate of the second slurry component after receipt of the endpoint detection signal (136 Fig. 1; “surface condition analyzer 136 to determine surface condition(s) of polishing pad 104 and/or conditioning disk 110 in real-time during polishing.” [0013] of Wu et al.).
Claims 21, 32, 33, 34, 35, and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “KR2004” (KR20040057652A), Wu et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2013/0217306 A1), and Pozniak et al. (U.S. Patent No. 6,616,014 B1).
Referring to claim 21: “KR2004” teaches a chemical mechanical polishing (CMP) apparatus, comprising: a plurality of polishing pads (PD1-4 Fig. 2) on a top surface (shown in Fig. 2);
an integrated slurry mixer-dispenser (100 Fig. 2) centrally located (shown in Fig. 2)
the integrated slurry mixer-dispenser (100 Fig. 2) comprising:
a plurality of dispensation pipes (dispensation pipes which distribute slurry to pads PD1-4 Fig. 2) extending from the common mixing chamber (chamber of 100 Fig. 2) to a respective dispensation port (dispensation ports which distribute slurry to pads PD1-4 Fig. 2) over each polishing pad (PD1-4 Fig. 2).
But is silent on:
a plurality of polishing platens, each of the plurality of polishing platens having a polishing pad and configured to rotate about a respective vertical axis;
and a plurality of wafer carriers, each of the plurality of wafer carriers press a substrate against a respective polishing pad;
at least two inlet ports for receiving respective slurry components;
an integrated slurry mixer-dispenser centrally located in a surrounding configuration in a top-down view such that the plurality of polishing platens are arranged around the integrated slurry mixer-dispenser;
a common mixing chamber fluidly connected to the at least two inlet ports for pH stability across units;
and at least two mass flow controllers for independently controlling flow rates of the slurry components into the common mixing chamber;
wherein the chemical mechanical polishing apparatus further comprises a process controller configured to synchronize a change in slurry composition by adjusting at least one mass flow rate simultaneously across all dispensation ports in response to an endpoint signal from any one of the polishing platens.
Wu et al. teaches a polishing platen (102 Fig. 1), polishing pad (104 Fig. 1) and configured to rotate about a vertical axis (shown in Fig. 1);
and a wafer carriers (108 Fig. 1), the wafer carriers press (substrate held by wafer carrier 108 Fig. 1) a substrate against the polishing pad (104 Fig. 1); wherein the chemical mechanical polishing apparatus further comprises a process controller (116 Fig. 1) configured to synchronize a change in slurry composition by adjusting at least one mass flow rate (adjusting the mass flow rates by altering the composition of the slurry; “The CMP controller 116 … can alter the composition of slurry 111, and/or can increase the temperature of the slurry 111” [0016]; “composition, temperature, angular velocities” [0017]) simultaneously across all dispensation ports in response to an endpoint signal (“Based on the measured condition of conditioning surface 126, the CMP controller 116 can make real-time changes to CMP process parameters” [0016]) from the polishing platen.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the CMP apparatus of “KR2004” with the endpoint detection system and process controller as taught by Wu et al. for the purpose of, as it is known in the art, automating the CMP elements to increase efficiency and productivity.
It also would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the endpoint detection system and process controller to be configured to be applied to a plurality of polishing pads/units/platens to achieve inter-wafer uniformity in removal rate for the purpose of increasing the efficiency and output of the operation, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B)
Pozniak et al. teaches at least two inlet ports (IP Fig. 1-A inserted above; “A slurry component feed line 48 extends from the slurry component supply 16 to each reservoir” Col. 5, lines 66-67) for receiving respective slurry components;
a common mixing chamber (39 Figs. 1 and 2A) fluidly connected to the at least two inlet ports (IP Fig. 1-A inserted above; “A slurry component feed line 48 extends from the slurry component supply 16 to each reservoir” Col. 5, lines 66-67) for pH stability (“Many bulk delivery systems include instrumentation (conductivity, density, pH, specific ion, etc.) that report this parameter to a central factory control and monitoring system (FCMS). This information is often readily available in the typical semiconductor fab facility. The electronic controller in the present invention can be programmed, to adjust the ratios of valve actuation times between the up to five liquids such that variations in incoming chemical concentrations can be eliminated from the resultant mixed liquid” Col. 9, lines 41-49) across units;
and at least two mass flow controllers for independently controlling flow rates of the slurry components (mass flow rate is controlled through opening of the valves via an “open signal and the repetitive sequencing”; Col. 7, lines 31-36) into the common mixing chamber (39 Figs. 1 and 2A).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the chemical mechanical polishing apparatus of “KR2004” with the inlet ports and mass flow controllers for the purpose of, as it is well known in the art, having the basic components necessary for accomplishing the CMP process.
It also would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the such that the integrated slurry mixer-dispenser centrally located in a surrounding configuration in a top-down view such that the plurality of polishing platens are arranged around the integrated slurry mixer-dispenser for the purpose of organizing the pads in a manner which fits best with the space available, and since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C)
Referring to claim 32: “KR2004” as modified teaches the CMP apparatus of Claim 21, further comprising:
an additional polishing pad located on a top surface of an additional platen configured to rotate around an additional vertical axis passing through the additional platen;
and an additional wafer carrier configured to hold an additional substrate and facing the additional polishing pad, wherein the integrated slurry mixer-dispenser comprises an additional dispensation port configured to dispense the slurry over the additional polishing pad.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the CMP apparatus of “KR2004” as modified with the additional polishing pad located on a top surface of an additional platen configured to rotate around an additional vertical axis passing through the additional platen and an additional wafer carrier configured to hold an additional substrate and facing the additional polishing pad,
for the purpose of increasing the capabilities of the system and operate of a plurality of polishing pads, and since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B)
“KR2004” teaches wherein the integrated slurry mixer-dispenser comprises an additional dispensation port (dispensation ports which distribute slurry to pads PD1-4 Fig. 2) configured to dispense the slurry (slurry supply unit [0008]) over the additional polishing pad (PD1-4 Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the chemical mechanical polishing (CMP) apparatus of Pozniak et al. with the additional dispensation port as taught by “KR2004” for the purpose of, as it is known in the art, increasing the efficiency of the distribution of slurry onto numerous polishing pads.
Referring to claim 33: “KR2004” as modified teaches the CMP apparatus of Claim 32,
But is silent on:
further comprising an additional endpoint detection system configured to detect a change in a removal rate of materials from the additional substrate and to generate an additional endpoint detection signal,
wherein the process controller is configured to change the at least one mass flow rate among the mass flow rates of the at least two slurry components after receiving the endpoint detection signal and the additional endpoint detection signal, and to reduce a downforce on the substrate until the additional endpoint detection signal is generated or to reduce a downforce on the additional substrate until the endpoint detection signal is generated.
Wu et al. teaches wherein a process controller (116 Fig. 1) is configured to change the at least one mass flow rate (adjusting the mass flow rates by altering the composition of the slurry; “The CMP controller 116 … can alter the composition of slurry 111, and/or can increase the temperature of the slurry 111” [0016]; “composition, temperature, angular velocities” [0017]) among the mass flow rates of the at least two slurry components (can alter the composition of slurry 111 [0016]) after receiving the endpoint detection signal (136 Fig. 1; “surface condition analyzer 136 to determine surface condition(s) of polishing pad 104 and/or conditioning disk 110 in real-time during polishing.” [0013] of Wu et al.); to reduce a downforce (“the CMP controller 116 can apply more down-force to the conditioning disk 110 (and/or more up-force from the platen 102) so there is greater frictional engagement between the conditioning surface 126 and polishing surface 112. The CMP controller 116 can also apply more down-force to the wafer via the wafer carrier 108, can increase the platen's angular velocity 122, can increase the wafer's angular velocity 132, can alter the composition of slurry 111, and/or can increase the temperature of the slurry 111 to increase the polish rate to offset the change in conditioning surface 126. Other changes to CMP process parameters 140 could also be made.” [0016] of Wu et al.) on the substrate until the endpoint detection signal is generated (“Based on the measured condition of conditioning surface 126” [0016] of Wu et al.) or to reduce a downforce on the additional substrate until the endpoint detection signal is generated.
Regarding the process controller, the endpoint detection system, and the endpoint detection signal Wu et al. teaches the limitations and their functionality. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the CMP apparatus of “KR2004” as modified with the additional endpoint detection system; additional substrate; additional endpoint detection signal; for the purpose of increasing the productivity of the overall operation, and since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B)
Referring to claim 34: “KR2004” as modified teaches the CMP apparatus of Claim 21,
but is silent on wherein: the at least two slurry components comprise a first slurry component and a second slurry component;
the process controller is configurated to change a ratio of a mass flow rate of the first slurry component to a mass flow rate of the second slurry component after receipt of the endpoint detection signal.
Wu et al. teaches the at least two slurry components comprise a first slurry component and a second slurry component (“adjusting the mass flow rates by altering the composition of the slurry” [0016]), a process controller (116 Fig. 1) is configurated to change a ratio of a mass flow rate of the first slurry component to a mass flow rate of the second slurry component (adjusting the mass flow rates by altering the composition of the slurry; “The CMP controller 116 … can alter the composition of slurry 111, and/or can increase the temperature of the slurry 111” [0016]; “composition, temperature, angular velocities” [0017]) after receipt of the endpoint detection signal (“Based on the measured condition of conditioning surface 126, the CMP controller 116 can make real-time changes to CMP process parameters” [0016]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the CMP apparatus of “KR2004” as modified with the process controller as taught by Wu et al. for the purpose of, as it is known in the art, automating the CMP elements to increase efficiency and productivity.
Referring to claim 35: “KR2004” as modified teaches the CMP apparatus of Claim 21, but is silent on wherein the endpoint detection system is configured to measure an increase in torque on a drive motor of the platen above a threshold value, and to generate the endpoint detection signal upon measurement of the torque above the threshold value.
Wu et al. teaches wherein the endpoint detection system (136, 144 Fig. 1) is configured to measure an increase in torque (“a torque measurement element 144 to measure a torque exerted by the motor assembly 114 during polishing.” [0015]) on a drive motor (114 Fig. 1) of the platen above a threshold value (140 [0017]; “For example, as the conditioning surface 126 becomes more worn (as indicated by less friction and less measured torque), the CMP controller 116 can apply more down-force to the conditioning disk 110 (and/or more up-force from the platen 102) so there is greater frictional engagement between the conditioning surface 126 and polishing surface 112.” [0016]), and to generate the endpoint detection signal upon measurement of the torque above the threshold value (“In making this determination, the surface condition analyzer 136 makes use of the fact that measured torque is proportional to the amount of friction between the engagement and conditioning surfaces 126, 112.” [0015]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the CMP apparatus of “KR2004” as modified with the endpoint detection system as taught by Wu et al. for the purpose of, as it is known in the art, automating the CMP elements to increase efficiency and productivity.
Referring to claim 36: Pozniak et al. as modified teaches the CMP apparatus of Claim 35, but is silent on wherein the process controller comprises a processor that is configured with processor executable instructions to: monitor the torque on the drive motor of the platen after the endpoint detection signal is generated; and maintain a torque on the drive motor within a target torque range by continually adjusting the at least one mass flow rate among the mass flow rates of the at least two slurry components.
Wu et al. teaches a process controller (116 Fig. 1) comprises a processor (processor of 116 Fig. 1) that is configured with processor executable instructions to: monitor (“the CMP controller 116 can make real-time changes to CMP process parameters during polishing” [0016]) the torque on the drive motor of the platen after the endpoint detection signal is generated (“For example, as the conditioning surface 126 becomes more worn (as indicated by less friction and less measured torque), the CMP controller 116 can apply more down-force to the conditioning disk 110” [0016] of Wu et al.); and maintain a torque on the drive motor within a target torque range by continually adjusting (“real-time changes” [0016]) the at least one mass flow rate among the mass flow rates of the at least two slurry components (“For example, for a given slurry composition, temperature, angular velocities, etc” [0017] of Wu et al.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the CMP apparatus of “KR2004” as modified with the process controller as taught by Wu et al. for the purpose of, as it is known in the art, automating the CMP elements to increase efficiency and productivity.
Claim 28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pozniak et al. (U.S. Patent No. 6,616,014 B1), “KR2004” (KR20040057652A), Soberanis et al. (U.S. Patent No. 6,098,843 A), and Wu et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2013/0217306 A1), as applied above in claim 1, and in further view of CHEN (CN206924709U).
Referring to claim 28: Pozniak et al. as modified teaches the CMP apparatus of Claim 1, but is silent on wherein the stir bar motor is specifically encased in the mixer-dispenser frame.
CHEN in an analogous slurry mixer teaches wherein the similar configuration stir bar motor (6 Fig. 1) is specifically encased in the similar configuration mixer-dispenser frame (1 Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the stir bar motor of Pozniak et al. as modified with the placement as taught by CHEN for the purpose of, as it is known in the art, having an alternate placed motor which is accommodated to streamline the apparatus overall profile to occupy less space, and since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C)
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
CHRISTOPHER SOTO
Examiner
Art Unit 3723
/CHRISTOPHER SOTO/Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/JOEL D CRANDALL/Examiner, Art Unit 3723