DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 1/6/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-2, 4-9 and 11-20 are pending.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-2 and 4-9 are objected to because of the following informalities: Regarding claim 1, it is unclear whether “the frequency and time division duplexing components” in lines 18-19 are referencing the “frequency division duplexing components and time division duplexing components” recited previously in the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6, 8, 9 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the patent application US 20160134356 A1, Rappaport et. al., hereby referred to as Rappaport in view of the WIPO document WO 2020005362 A1, Arditti, hereby referred to as Arditti., the patent application US 20210126625 A1, Wang et. al., hereby referred to as Wang, US 2020/0343928, Welsch et al., hereby referred to as Welsch, the patent application US 20150149654 A1, Vecchi et. al., hereby referred to as Vecchi, US 6,411,646, hereby referred to as Walley and US 2020/0044729 (hereinafter Malaga).
Regarding claim 1
Rappaport teaches a wireless network (Rappaport figure 1; paragraph [0029]) comprising: a network of access points (APs) (Rappaport figure 1, AP 120, BAP 130; paragraph [0029]) wherein each AP includes: a broadband electronically steerable differential segmented aperture (Rappaport paragraph [0034-0035] Antenna array made of MxN grid of antenna elements of any type of antenna topology known to persons of ordinary skill; paragraph [0033-0034], adaptive antenna arrays that can be configured to provide one or more "steerable beams").
Rappaport does not explicitly teach operable over a frequency range at least 1GHz wide, the broadband electronically steerable differential segmented aperture comprising a two-dimensional array of electrically conductive tapered projections having bases disposed on a support board and extending away from the support board, the broadband electronically steerable differential segmented aperture having differential radio frequency receive or transmit elements corresponding to adjacent pairs of the electrically conductive tapered projections; and electronics connected with the broadband electronically steerable differential segmented aperture to receive and transmit wireless messages via the broadband electronically steerable differential segmented aperture over a plurality of different frequency bands, wherein the electronics include a plurality of modular analog front ends (MAFE's) configuring the broadband electronically steerable differential segmented aperture for respective wireless services, each MAFE of the plurality of MAFEs including analog amplification and filtering component for the corresponding wireless service and further include frequency division duplexing components and time division duplexing components for the corresponding wireless service, the frequency and time division duplexing components include (i) a diplexer for frequency division duplexing and (ii) a transmit receive switch for time division duplexing.
However, Arditti teaches electronics connected with the broadband electronically steerable aperture (Arditti figure 1, Antenna 132, TX RF Front End 106; paragraph [0053], analog front end connected to and antenna) to receive and transmit wireless messages via the broadband electronically steerable aperture over a plurality of different frequency bands (Arditti paragraph [0053-0054], front end may include an I and Q branch, each converting digital baseband signals to different frequencies for transmission. Arditti paragraph [0438], exemplary aspects can be applied to other wireless protocols as would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the relevant arts.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that applying the modification would have allowed the system to use and take instructions of digital nature, not just an analog signal from/for an antenna (Arditti paragraph [0054], D/A converter, paragraph [0057], A/D converter).
Moreover, Wang teaches operable over a frequency range at least 1GHz wide (Wang paragraph [0176], RF circuits configured to process frequency range from 30kHz-300GHz, as at least 1 GHz wide; Also, this limitation may not have the desired patentable weight because “operable” merely require the capability to perform; therefore, Examiner suggests positively claiming this feature).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that applying the modification would have allowed the system to operable over a frequency range at least 1GHz wide as taught by Wang [0176]. Such a wide band permits full use of many protocols. All of Frequency Range 1 of the 5G NR operating bands is available, and the wide range would allow dual connectivity when given filters (Wang [0176-0177]).
Furthermore, Welch teaches the broadband electronically steerable differential segmented aperture comprising a two-dimensional array of electrically conductive tapered projections having bases disposed on a support board and extending away from the support board, the broadband electronically steerable differential segmented aperture having differential radio frequency receive or transmit elements corresponding to adjacent pairs of the electrically conductive tapered projections (Figs. 64-81).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that applying the modification would have allowed the system to compact and lightweight. (Welch, paragraph [0054]).
Rappaport and Arditti teach wherein the electronics include a plurality of modular analog front ends (MAFE's) configuring the broadband electronically steerable differential segmented aperture for respective wireless services (Rappaport paragraph [0034-0035] Antenna array made up of an M x N grid of antenna elements of any type of antenna topology known to persons of ordinary skill; paragraph [0033], as antenna has steerable beams, Arditti teaches configuring an antenna for respective wireless services (Arditti figure 1, analog front end attached to antenna; paragraph [0054-0055], analog front end configuring antenna for wireless transmission).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that applying the modification would have allowed the system to follow instructions from a processor, making a more versatile and usable system. (Arditti paragraph [0054-0055]).
While Rappaport and Arditti teach the electronics include a plurality of analog front ends (AFE’s) (Arditti figure 1, analog front end attached to antenna; paragraph [0054-0055], analog front end configuring antenna for wireless transmission), it does not teach the electronics include a plurality of modular analog front ends (MAFE's).
Vecchi teaches modular analog front ends (MAFE’s) (Vecchi figures 3, 4, 5, modular analog front end; paragraph [0010] discloses a modular analog frontend).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that applying the modification would have allowed the system to reuse different amps/ADCs that are needed for multiple different protocols to reduce parasitic capacitance from increased coverage of protocols (Vecchi figure 3, amps and ADCs 310, 320, 330, paragraph [0016]).
In addition, Walley teaches each MAFE of the plurality of MAFEs including analog amplification and filtering component for the corresponding wireless service and (FIG. 3; col. 5, ll. 26-50: details time division duplex cordless phone handset or base unit with analog amplifier and filter).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that applying the modification would have allowed the MAFE to would provide an architecture that is less sensitive to errors (Walley; col. 7, ll. 13-15).
Furthermore, Malaga teaches frequency division duplexing components and time division duplexing components for the corresponding wireless service, the frequency and time division duplexing components include (i) a diplexer for frequency division duplexing and (ii) a transmit receive switch for time division duplexing ([0024]: details The Tx/Rx duplexer 222F can be implemented, e.g., by a diplexer or a cavity duplexer when the communications system is designed for frequency division duplex operation, or by a Tx/Rx switch when the radio system is designed for time division duplex operation or push-to-talk/carrier sense duplex operation).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further apply this modification. Doing so would reduce SWaP-C and complexity (Malaga, paragraph [0001]).
Regarding claim 2
Rappaport and Arditti teaches wherein the electronics are connected with the broadband electronically steerable differential segmented aperture to receive and transmit wireless messages via the broadband electronically steerable differential segmented aperture over said plurality of different frequency bands in a spectral range of 400MHz to 30GHz (Rappaport paragraph [0034-0035] Antenna array made of MxN grid of antenna elements of any type of antenna topology known to persons of ordinary skill, Rappaport paragraph [0033] discloses antenna has steerable beams, therefore electronically steerable differential segmented aperture; Arditti figure 1, analog front end attached to antenna, paragraph [0054-0055], analog front end configuring antenna for data of specific protocol, therefore electronics connected with the broadband electronically steerable differential segmented aperture to receive and transmit wireless messages via the broadband electronically steerable differential segmented aperture; Rappaport paragraph [0052], radio transceiver can be configured to facilitate a communication using millimeter-wave radio technologies that operate in frequency bands near or above 20GHz, therefore over said plurality of different frequency bands).
Wang teaches in a spectral range of 400MHz to 30GHz (Wang paragraph [0176], RF circuits configured to process frequency range from 30kHz-300GHz).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that applying the modification would have allowed the system to utilize the spectral range of 30kHz-300GHz as taught by Wang [0176]. Such a wide band permits full use of many protocols. All of Frequency Range 1 of the 5G NR operating bands is available, and the wide range would allow for dual connectivity when given filters (Wang [0176-0177]).
Regarding claim 4
Rappaport teaches wherein the plurality of different frequency bands includes 3rd Generation Partnership Project (3GPP) bands in a spectral range of 600MHz to 7.125GHz. (Rappaport paragraph [0052], radio transceiver can be configured to facilitate a communication using millimeter-wave radio technologies that operate in frequency bands near or above 20GHz, therefore plurality of different frequency bands; Rappaport teaches includes 3rd Generation Partnership Project (3GPP) bands (paragraph [0048] apparatus 300, radio transceiver 340, utilizing exemplary methods of fig. 1 and 2 including AP and BAP, capable of communicating with one or more wireless communication protocols standardized by 3GPP, 3GPP2, or IEEE.)
Wang teaches in a spectral range of 600MHz to 7.125GHz. (Wang paragraph [0176], RF circuits configured to process frequency range from 30kHz-300GHz)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that applying the modification would have allowed the system to utilize the spectral range of 30kHz-300GHz as taught by Wang [0176]. Such a wide band permits full use of many protocols. All of Frequency Range 1 of the 5G NR operating bands is available, and the wide range would allow dual connectivity when given filters (Wang [0176-0177]).
Regarding claim 6
Rappaport teaches the plurality of different frequency bands includes 5G bands (Rappaport paragraph [0048] apparatus 300, radio transceiver 340, utilizing exemplary methods of fig. 1 and 2 including AP and BAP, capable of communicating with one or more wireless communication protocols standardized by 3GPP, 3GPP2, or IEEE. These standards include 5G bands.).
Regarding claim 8
Rappaport teaches the wireless network supports at least one office (Rappaport paragraph [0040], network of devices can include fixed-and-bounded locations, e.g. office) 5G service (Rappaport figure 3, radio transceiver 340, paragraph [0051-0052] radio transceiver can comprise some or all of the functionality of the access point, radio transceiver can include transmitter and receiver that facilitate communication with various 5G networks) and the APs include indoor APs (Rappaport figure 1, paragraph [0029], network of APs located within a fixed structure e.g. a building).
Regarding claim 9
Rappaport teaches at least two APs of the network of APs supports both a cellular service and a Wi-Fi service (Rappaport paragraph [0048] apparatus 300, radio transceiver 340, utilizing exemplary methods of fig. 1 and 2 including AP and BAP, capable of communicating with one or more wireless communication protocols standardized by 3GPP, 3GPP2, or IEEE. These standards include 5G and Wi-Fi.) using the same broadband electronically steerable differential segmented aperture (Rappaport paragraph [0048] apparatus 300, radio transceiver 340, utilizing exemplary methods of fig. 1 and 2, can comprise a border access point capable of communicating with one or more wireless communication protocols standardized by 3GPP, 3GPP2, or IEEE. These standards include 5G and Wi-Fi; Rappaport paragraph [0033], BAP can utilize adaptive antenna array capable of beam steering).
Regarding claim 18
Rappaport teaches a network of access points (APs) (Rappaport figure 1, AP 120, BAP 130; paragraph [0029]) wherein each AP includes a differential segmented aperture (DSA) comprising a two-dimensional array of electrically conductive tapered projections (Rappaport paragraph [0034-0035] Antenna array made of MxN grid of antenna elements of any type of antenna topology known to persons of ordinary skill; paragraph [0033], discloses antenna has steerable beams) disposed on a support board (Rappaport paragraph [0034], antenna elements can be arranged in a rectangular grid, each antenna array element can have various physical forms), the network of APs support two or more different wireless communication protocols operating in different RF bands (Rappaport paragraph [0048], exemplary apparatus — and therefore the components facilitating its communication i.e. access points — can communicate using wireless protocols including one or more of 3GPP, 3GPP2, IEEE, or any other protocols known now or in the future that can be utilized in conjunction with a radio transceiver and/or host interface; Rappaport figure 1, paragraph [0010], network walled off and inaccessible aside from a portal of material permeable to select range of frequencies, these frequencies being one or more bands of mmW frequencies, that can access the network. Can be used to determine operating bands.).
Rappaport does not explicitly teach operable over a frequency range at least 1GHz wide and the broadband electronically steerable differential segmented aperture comprising a two-dimensional array of electrically conductive tapered projections having bases disposed on a support board and extending away from the support board, the broadband electronically steerable differential segmented aperture having differential radio frequency receive or transmit elements corresponding to adjacent pairs of the electrically conductive tapered projections, an in-phase/quadrature (IQ) board, and one or more network cards.
However, Wang teaches operable over a frequency range at least 1GHz wide (Wang paragraph [0176], RF circuits configured to process frequency range from 30kHz-300GHz, as at least 1 GHz wide).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that applying the modification would have allowed the system to operable over a frequency range at least 1GHz wide as taught by Wang [0176]. Such a wide band permits full use of many protocols. All of Frequency Range 1 of the 5G NR operating bands is available, and the wide range would allow dual connectivity when given filters (Wang [0176-0177]).
Moreover, Welch teaches the broadband electronically steerable differential segmented aperture comprising a two-dimensional array of electrically conductive tapered projections having bases disposed on a support board and extending away from the support board, the broadband electronically steerable differential segmented aperture having differential radio frequency receive or transmit elements corresponding to adjacent pairs of the electrically conductive tapered projections (Figs. 64-81).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that applying the modification would have allowed the system to compact and lightweight. (Welch, paragraph [0054]).
Furthermore, Arditti teaches an in-phase/quadrature (IQ) board (Arditti figure 1, paragraph [0056], I/Q modulator, a device which converts I/Q information into radio frequency signals), and one or more network cards (Arditti paragraph [0438], exemplary aspects can be applied to wireless protocols as would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the relevant arts. Examples listed include Bluetooth, NFC and 802.11 protocols i.e. Wi-Fi. Access to networks implies existence of the respective network cards).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that applying the modification would have allowed the system to use and take instructions of digital nature, not just an analog signal, from/for an antenna (Arditti paragraph [0054], D/A converter, paragraph [0057], A/D converter).
While Rappaport and Arditti teaches AFEs configuring a DSA (Rappaport paragraph [0034-0035] Antenna array made of MxN grid of antenna elements of any type of antenna topology known to persons of ordinary skill; paragraph [0033], discloses antenna has steerable beams; Arditti figure 1, analog front end attached to antenna; paragraph [0054-0055], analog front end configuring antenna for wireless transmission) for different respective wireless services (paragraph [0438], exemplary aspects can be applied to wireless protocols as would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the relevant arts), it does not teach modular analog front ends (MAFE's) configuring a DSA for different respective wireless services.
Vecchi teaches modular analog front ends (MAFEs) (Vecchi figures 3, 4, 5, modular analog front end; paragraph [0010] discloses a modular analog frontend).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that applying the modification would have allowed the system to reuse different amps/ADCs that are needed for multiple different protocols to reduce parasitic capacitance from increased coverage of protocols (Vecchi figure 3, amps and ADCs 310, 320, 330, paragraph [0016]).
In addition, Walley teaches each MAFE of the plurality of MAFEs including analog amplification and filtering component for the corresponding wireless service and further include frequency or time division duplexing components for the corresponding wireless service (FIG. 3; col. 5, ll. 26-50: details time division duplex cordless phone handset or base unit with analog amplifier and filter).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that applying the modification would have allowed the MAFE to would provide an architecture that is less sensitive to errors (Walley; col. 7, ll. 13-15).
Furthermore, Malaga teaches frequency and time division duplexing components for the corresponding wireless service ([0024]: details The Tx/Rx duplexer 222F can be implemented, e.g., by a diplexer or a cavity duplexer when the communications system is designed for frequency division duplex operation, or by a Tx/Rx switch when the radio system is designed for time division duplex operation or push-to-talk/carrier sense duplex operation).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further apply this modification. Doing so would reduce SWaP-C and complexity (Malaga, paragraph [0001]).
Regarding claim 19
Rappaport, Arditti, Shrivastava and Vecchi teach the multiband digital data network infrastructure of claim 18 and each AP of the network supports both a cellular service and a Wi-Fi service (Rappaport figure 3, radio transceiver 340, paragraph [0048] apparatus comprising partially of border access points from figure 1, BAP 130. The apparatus — and thereby any components of the apparatus that facilitate communication with other devices — are capable of utilizing cellular 3gpp protocols and Wi-Fi service 802.11 standards, or any other protocols known now or in the future that can be utilized in conjunction with radio transceiver and/or host interface.) using the same DSA (Rappaport paragraph [0034-0035] Antenna array made of MxN grid of antenna elements of any type of antenna topology known to persons of ordinary skill; Rappaport paragraph [0033], discloses antenna has steerable beams; Rappaport paragraph [0048], exemplary apparatus — and therefore the components facilitating its communication i.e. access points, the DSA, etc. — can communicate using wireless protocols including one or more of 3GPP, 3GPP2, IEEE, or any other protocols known now or in the future that can be utilized in conjunction with a radio transceiver and/or host interface, therefore apparatus, which can have one DSA, capable of using the same DSA for multiple wireless services).
Regarding claim 20
Rappaport teaches wherein at least one of: the network of APs form a network of cell towers of a cellular service, and/or the network of APs form a network of APs of an indoor wireless network (Rappaport paragraph [0040], network of devices can include fixed-and-bounded locations, e.g. office; Rappaport figure 1, paragraph [0029], network of APs located within a fixed structure e.g. a building), fulfilling at least one of: the network of APs form a network of cell towers of a cellular service; and/or the network of APs form a network of APs of an indoor wireless network.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rappaport in view of Arditti, Wang, Welch, Vecci, Walley and Malaga as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of patent application US 20190394704 A1, Lou et. al., hereby referred to as Lou.
Rappaport teaches wherein the plurality of different frequency bands includes National Telecommunications and Information Administration (NTIA) bands in a spectral range of 600MHz to 7.125GHz. (Rappaport paragraph [0052], radio transceiver can be configured to facilitate a communication using millimeter-wave radio technologies that operate in frequency bands near or above 20GHz, therefore plurality of different frequency bands)
Lou teaches includes National Telecommunications and Information Administration (NTIA) bands (Lou paragraph [0003], NTIA is a governmental organization in the United States of America which allocates frequency bands within the RF spectrum to various other organizations and entities, including mobile network operators. E.g. a first frequency range of x-yMHz assigned to telecom company z for abc purposes).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that applying the modification would have allowed the system to follow the NTIA regulations as taught in Lou paragraph [0003]. Doing this would the system access to well established, regulated, and widely used channels and bands for communication.
Wang teaches in a spectral range of 600MHz to 7.125GHz (Wang paragraph [0176], RF circuits configured to process frequency range from 30kHz-300GHz).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that applying the modification would allow the system to utilize the spectral range of 30kHz-300GHz as taught by Wang [0176] for Rappaport, Arditti, and Lou. Such a wide band permits full use of many protocols. All of Frequency Range 1 of the 5G NR operating bands is available, and the wide range would allow dual connectivity when given filters (Wang [0176-0177]).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rappaport in view of Arditti, Wang, Welch, Vecci, Walley, and Malaga as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of patent application US 20210152892 A1, Ramaswamy, hereby known as Ramaswamy.
Rappaport teaches the wireless network supports at least one cellular service (Rappaport figure 3, radio transceiver 340, paragraph [0048] apparatus comprising partially of APs capable of utilizing cellular 3gpp protocols and Wi-Fi service 802.11 standards, or any other protocols known now or in the future that can be utilized in conjunction with radio transceiver and/or host interface.).
Ramaswamy teaches the APs include cellular towers (Ramaswamy figure 1, paragraph [0041], a mobile device (UE) communicates with a second access point that may be a cell tower.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that applying the modification to the system would allow for long range, outdoor communications with many devices (Ramaswamy figure 1, paragraph [0041], second access point — i.e. cell tower — may be located along a travel route or other useful location).
Claims 11, 13-15, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arditti, in view of Vecchi, Rappaport, Wang, Walley, and Malaga.
Regarding claim 11
Arditti teaches a radio (Arditti figures 1-2, 4, 6-8, 11-15, 17-18, an embodiment of a radio transmitter) comprising: an in-phase/quadrature (IQ) board (Arditti figure 1, paragraph [0056], I/Q modulator, a device which converts I/Q information into radio frequency signals); and one or more network cards (Arditti paragraph [0438], electronics can be applied to a plurality of wireless protocols such as Bluetooth or Wi-Fi. Access to networks implies existence of respective network cards); wherein the IQ board is configured to at least one of: (i) convert analog data received from the MAFE's to digital data delivered to the one or more network cards in a receive mode of the radio, and/or (ii) convert digital data received from the one or more network card to analog data delivered to the MAFE's in a transmit mode of the radio (Arditti paragraph [0056], figure 1, non-idealities, 120.1 and 120.2 D/A conversion, 132 antenna, I/Q Modulator introduces non-idealities while performing its duty to convert baseband digital signal to analog signal for the antenna. I/Q modulator used during transmission, fulfills condition ii.).
Although teaching an analog front end (AFE) configuring an antenna (Arditti figure 1, analog front end attached to antenna; paragraph [0054-0055], analog front end configuring antenna for wireless transmission) for different respective wireless services (Arditti figure 1, analog front end attached to antenna; paragraph [0054-0055], analog front end configuring antenna for wireless transmission; Arditti paragraph [0438], electronics can be applied to a plurality of wireless protocols such as Bluetooth or Wi-Fi.), Arditti does not teach modular analog front ends (MAFE's) configuring an antenna for different respective wireless services.
Vecchi teaches modular analog front ends (MAFE’s) (Vecchi figures 3, 4, 5, modular analog front end; paragraph [0010] discloses a modular analog frontend).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that applying the modification would have allowed the system to reuse different amps/ADCs that are needed for multiple different protocols to reduce parasitic capacitance from increased coverage of protocols (Vecchi figure 3, amps and ADCs 310, 320, 330, paragraph [0016]).
Although Arditti and Vecchi teach modular analog front ends (MAFE’s) configuring an antenna for different respective wireless services as noted above, they do not teach a differential segmented aperture (DSA) operable over a frequency range at least 1 GHz wide and comprising a two-dimensional array of electrically conductive tapered projections disposed on a support board; modular analog front ends (MAFE's) configuring the DSA for different respective wireless services.
Rappaport teaches a differential segmented aperture (DSA) comprising a two-dimensional array of electrically conductive tapered projections (Rappaport paragraph [0034-0035] Antenna array made up of an M x N grid of antenna elements of any type of antenna topology known to persons of ordinary skill; paragraph [0033], discloses antenna has steerable beams) disposed on a support board (Rappaport paragraph [0034], antenna elements can be arranged in a rectangular grid, each antenna array element can have various physical forms).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that applying the modification would allow the system to utilize beam steering (Rappaport paragraph [0033]) to capture only expected signals and while rejecting arbitrary noise. Even if an interfering signal is directed toward the DSA, the DSA can cause the interfering signal to be substantially weaker than expected (Rappaport paragraph [0033]).
Moreover, Wang teaches operable over a frequency range at least 1GHz wide (Wang paragraph [0176], RF circuits configured to process frequency range from 30kHz-300GHz, as at least 1 GHz wide).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that applying the modification would have allowed the system to operable over a frequency range at least 1GHz wide as taught by Wang [0176]. Such a wide band permits full use of many protocols. All of Frequency Range 1 of the 5G NR operating bands is available, and the wide range would allow dual connectivity when given filters (Wang [0176-0177]).
In addition, Walley teaches each MAFE of the plurality of MAFEs including analog amplification and filtering component for the corresponding wireless service (FIG. 3; col. 5, ll. 26-50: details time division duplex cordless phone handset or base unit with analog amplifier and filter).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that applying the modification would have allowed the MAFE to would provide an architecture that is less sensitive to errors (Walley; col. 7, ll. 13-15).
Furthermore, Malaga teaches frequency and time division duplexing components for the corresponding wireless service ([0024]: details The Tx/Rx duplexer 222F can be implemented, e.g., by a diplexer or a cavity duplexer when the communications system is designed for frequency division duplex operation, or by a Tx/Rx switch when the radio system is designed for time division duplex operation or push-to-talk/carrier sense duplex operation).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further apply this modification. Doing so would reduce SWaP-C and complexity (Malaga, paragraph [0001]).
Regarding claim 13
Arditti teaches the one or more network cards include a plurality of network cards providing coverage for multiple radio frequency bands (Arditti paragraph [0438], electronics can be applied to a plurality of wireless protocols such as Bluetooth or Wi-Fi. Access to networks implies existence of respective network cards.).
Regarding claim 14
Arditti teaches the one or more network cards include at least one cellular network card and at least one Wi-Fi network card (Arditti paragraph [0037], RF transmission device complies with target RF communications protocols; Arditti paragraph [0438], electronics can be applied to a plurality of wireless protocols such as Bluetooth or Wi-Fi. Access to networks implies existence of the respective network cards.).
Regarding claim 15
Arditti, Vecchi, Walley, Wang and Rappaport teach wherein the at least one cellular network card includes at least one of a 3G network card, a 4G network card, or a 5G network card. (Arditti paragraph [0438], electronics can be applied to a plurality of wireless protocols such as Bluetooth or Wi-Fi. Access to networks implies existence of the respective network cards; Rappaport figure 3, radio transceiver 340, paragraph [0051-0052] radio transceiver can comprise some or all of the functionality of the access point, radio transceiver can include transmitter and receiver that facilitate communication with various 5G networks, access to 5g network implies existence of respective 5g network card).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that applying the modification would have allowed the system to utilize a cellular network that will provide service in a wide variety of environments across long ranges (Rappaport paragraph [0052], facilitate communication with 5G networks, access implies existence of respective network card; paragraph [0021], short, mid, and long-range transmissions; paragraph [0029], indoor and outdoor use).
Regarding claim 17
Arditti, Vecchi, Walley, Wang and Rappaport teach wherein the MAFE's, the IQ board, and the one or more network cards are disposed on a backside of the support board of the DSA opposite from a frontside of the support board which supports the two-dimensional array of electrically conductive tapered projections (Vecchi figures 3, 4, 5, modular analog front end, paragraph [0010] discloses a modular analog frontend; Arditti figure 1, paragraph [0056], I/Q modulator, a device which converts I/Q information into radio frequency signals, therefore IQ board; Arditti paragraph [0438], electronics can be applied to a plurality of wireless protocols such as Bluetooth or Wi-Fi, access to networks implies existence of the respective network cards; Rappaport paragraph [0034-0035] Antenna array made up of an M x N grid of antenna elements of any type of antenna topology known to persons of ordinary skill; paragraph [0033], discloses antenna has steerable beams, therefore 2D array of electrically conductive tapered projections and a DSA; Rappaport paragraph [0034], antenna elements can be arranged in a rectangular grid, each antenna array element can have various physical forms, therefore support board of the DSA supporting the array; Arditti, figures 1,2,4,6,7,8,12,13,14,15,17,18, antenna always shown at opposite side of all other electronics in the block diagram).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that applying the modification would allow the system to utilize beam steering (Rappaport paragraph [0033]) to capture only expected signals and while rejecting arbitrary noise. Even if an interfering signal is directed toward the DSA, the DSA can cause the interfering signal to be substantially weaker than expected (Rappaport paragraph [0033]).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arditti, Vecchi, Walley, Wang, Rappaport and Malaga as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of the patent application JP 2006503465 A, Haskell et. al., hereby known as Haskell.
Arditti does not explicitly teach the IQ board performs at least one of beam steering and/or beam forming.
However, Haskell teaches the IQ board performs at least one of beam steering and/or beam forming (Haskell paragraph [0050], Phases V3 and V4 are mixed in IQ modulator, this mixed signal has a phase stably adjusted to form a desired beam.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that applying the modification would have allowed the system to utilize beam forming techniques which allows for independent control of the phase and/or amplitude of the signals making up a beamform (Haskell Abstract) Beam forming, by providing precise direction, reduces noise and interference in a signal and therefore improves quality.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arditti, Vecchi, Walley, Wang, Rappaport and Malaga as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of the patent US 8963791 B1, Edwards et. al., hereby referred to as Edwards.
Although the references teach plurality of radio frequency bands (Arditti [0438]) and MAFE (Vecchi figures 3, 4, 5, modular analog front end; paragraph [0010]), the references do not teach wherein the plurality of radio frequency bands supported by the MAFE's include at least two of: a channel in L-Band, a channel in S-Band, and/or a channel in C-Band.
Edwards teaches include at least two of: a channel in L-Band, a channel in S-Band, and/or a channel in C-Band (Edwards column 5, lines 35-end, an antenna and horn where the first RF signal and the second RF signal can each be in a different one of the following frequency bands: the L-band, S-band, C-band, and a number of other bands).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that applying the modification would have allowed the system to, like Edwards, cover the 1-2, 2-4, and 4-8GHz bands respectively (Edwards column 5, lines 35-end, an antenna and horn where the first RF signal and the second RF signal can each be in a different one of the following frequency bands: the L-band, S-band, C-band, and a number of other bands), providing a range of common communication frequencies to the system.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-2, 4-9 and 11-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JASPER KWOH/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2415