DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
In response to the amendment received on 06/29/2026:
Claims 1, 6-14, 17-20, 22-23, and 25 are pending in the current application. Claims 1, 17, and 25 have been amended.
The previous prior art-based rejection have been withdrawn in light of the amendments to the claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks Page 5, filed 06/29/2026, with respect to the rejections under 25 U.S.C. 112(b) have been fully considered. The rejections have been withdrawn in light of the amendments to the claims.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot due to the amendment to the claims which changes the scope of claim 1 and the claims depending therefrom.
Due to the amendment to the claims, new rejections have been set forth below.
Claim Objections
Claims 6, 8, 10 and 18 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 6 states “…wherein a dimension T1 of each battery cell in the second direction…” when it should state “…wherein a dimension T1 of each battery cell of the plurality of battery cells…”.
Claim 8 states “…wherein a weight M1 of each battery cell…” when it should state “…wherein a weight M1 of each battery cell of the plurality of battery cells…”.
Claim 10 states “….wherein an area S1 of the first wall and an area S2 of a surface of each of the at least two heat conducting members connected to the first wall of the plurality of battery cells” when it should state “…wherein an area S1 of the first wall of each battery cell of the plurality of battery cells and an area S2 of a surface of each of the at least two heat conducting members connected to the first wall of the plurality of battery cells…”
The Examiner notes that due to the rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) below, the recitation of “the at least two heat conducting members connected to the first wall of the plurality of battery cells” may need to be re-evaluated for any possible issues.
Claim 18 states “…wherein the plurality of battery modules are arranged along the second direction…”, however, this has already been recited in claim 1. Therefore, this limitation in claim 18 should be omitted.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1, and thus claims 6-14, 17-20, 22-23, and 25, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 1, the claim recites “…a plurality of battery cells arranged along a first direction; at least two heat conducting members extending along the first direction and connected to a first wall of each battery cell in the plurality of battery cells, the first wall being a wall with the largest surface area in each battery cell, the at least two heat conducting members being configured to conduct heat of each battery cell…”.
However, as seen in Applicant’s Fig. 4, only one heat conducting member 101 is attached to the “first wall” of each battery cell in a plurality of battery cells arranged along a first direction. A second heat conducting member 101 is attached to a side of the battery cells arranged along a first direction that is opposite to the “first wall”.
Therefore, it does not appear that Applicant has support for at least two heat conducting members that extend along the first direction wherein both/at least two heat conducting members are connected to each first wall of each battery cell in the plurality of battery cells that are arranged along the first direction as claim 1 currently reads.
The Examiner notes that the claim later states wherein the battery comprises a plurality of battery modules, wherein a battery module of the plurality of battery modules comprises at least two columns of the plurality of battery cells arranged along the first direction and the at least two heat conducting members. Applicant’s P95 describing Fig. 7 sets forth a schematical structural diagram of a battery 10 including a plurality of battery modules 100.
However, as seen in Fig. 7, each battery module includes two columns of a plurality of battery cells 20 and both columns share a single heat conducting member, rather than both columns sharing at least two heat conducting members connected to their respective first wall.
Appropriate correction is required.
Given claims 6-14, 17-20, 22-23, and 25 depend from claim 1, they are rejected for the same reasons.
In order to advance prosecution and apply prior art in view of the issues set forth above and what is shown in Applicant’s specification and figures, the Examiner is interpreting the claim as if it recites:
“A battery, comprising:
a plurality of battery modules arranged along a second direction;
wherein a battery module of the plurality of battery modules comprises:
at least two columns of a plurality of battery cells, wherein each column of the plurality of battery cells comprises a plurality of battery cells arranged along a first direction, and at least two heat conducting members extending along the first direction,
the at least two columns of the plurality of battery cells and the at least two heat conducting members are provided alternately in the second direction,
the at least two heat conducting members are each connected to a first wall of each battery cell in a respective column of the plurality of battery cells of the at least two columns of the plurality of battery cells;
wherein the first wall is a wall with the largest surface area in each battery cell,
wherein the second direction is perpendicular to the first wall,
wherein the at least two heat conducting members are configured to conduct heat,
wherein a cavity is provided in each of the at least two heat conducting members,
wherein a surface of the at least two heat conducting members connected to the respective first walls is an insulating surface,
wherein the at least two heat conducting members are not provided between adjacent battery modules of the plurality of battery modules, and
wherein a dimension of the at least two heat conducting members in a second direction is 0.1-100 mm.”
The Examiner also notes claim 10 recites “….the at least two heat conducting members connected to the first wall of the plurality of battery cells…” and claim 19 recites “…wherein each of the at least two heat conducting members are bonded to the first wall”. In light of the rejection set forth above, these claims should also be re-evaluated for any possible issues.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
In view of the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) set forth above and in light of the Examiner’s interpretation of claim 1:
Claims 1, 14, 17, 20, 22, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al (CN208298881U, using the provided machine English translation from Espacenet) in view of Shin et al (US 20180375077 A1) in view of Weber et al (US 20110162820 A1) in view of Seo et al (US 20050206347 A1) in view of Heimer (US 20020015880 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Zhang discloses a battery, comprising:
a battery module (power battery pack comprising battery pack 10 and cooling device 50 disposed inside; see entire disclosure and especially P37) comprising:
at least two columns of a plurality of battery cells, wherein each column of the plurality of battery cells comprises a plurality of battery cells arranged along a first direction (battery cells 11 in Fig. 6; as seen in Fig. 6, there are three columns of battery cells: a bottom column having five battery cells arranged in a first direction, a middle column having ten battery cells in two rows that are arranged in the first direction, and a top column having five battery cells arranged in the first direction; see the Examiner’s annotated Fig. 6 below), and at least two heat conducting members extending along the first direction (there are two water cooling pipes 51 in Fig. 6; see entire disclosure and especially P37-38),
the at least two columns of the plurality of battery cells and the at least two heat conducting members are provided alternately in the second direction (see the Examiner’s annotated Fig. 6 below; a first water cooling pipe 51 is between the bottom column and middle column; a second water cooling pipe 51 is between the middle column and the top column; see entire disclosure and especially P37-40),
the at least two heat conducting members are each connected to a first wall of each battery cell in a respective column of the plurality of battery cells of the at least two columns of the plurality of battery cells (see the Examiner’s annotated Fig. 6 below);
wherein the first wall is a wall with the largest surface area in each battery cell (see the Examiner’s annotated Fig. 6 below),
wherein the second direction is perpendicular to the first wall (see the Examiner’s annotated Fig. 6 below),
wherein the at least two heat conducting members are configured to conduct heat (see entire disclosure and especially P39), and
wherein a cavity is provided in each of the at least two heat conducting members (the water cooling pipes 51 have coolant/water circulated throughout, therefore, they include a cavity; see entire disclosure and especially P37).
Examiner’s Annotations on Zhang Fig. 6
However, Zhang does not disclose wherein a surface of the at least two heat conducting members connected to the respective first walls is an insulating surface.
In a similar field of endeavor, Shin teaches a cooling plate can be made of a metal material so that heat of a secondary battery can be efficiently transferred through the cooling plate (P73). Shin further teaches a surface of the cooling plate can be coated with an electrically insulating layer (P120). Shin teaches electrical insulation between the secondary battery and the cooling plate may be stably secured due to the electrically insulating layer (P121).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have utilized the teaching of Shin and selected the material of the at least two heat conducting members of Zhang to be metal and provided an electrically insulating layer on a surface of the at least two heat conducting members of Zhang connected to the first wall in order to provide a surface of the heat conducting member connected to the respective first walls being an insulating surface, given Shin teaches forming a cooling plate of metal can allow heat to be efficiently transferred therethrough, Shin teaches providing a surface of a cooling plate with an electrically insulating layer can secure electrical insulation between a secondary battery and a cooling plate, and the selection of a known material, which is based upon its suitability for the intended use, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) (see MPEP § 2144.07).
However, modified Zhang does not meet the limitation wherein a dimension of the at least two heat conducting members in a second direction is 0.1-100 mm (as Zhang is silent to the thickness of the water cooling pipes 51).
In a similar field of endeavor, Weber teaches a cooling plate disposed between adjacent battery cells (P18-19). Weber teaches the cooling plate includes a flow channel and has a substantially planar surface (P19). Weber teaches the cooling plate includes a cooling fin making up the planar surface (P21). Weber teaches a thickness of the cooling fin is desirably minimized for improved volumetric battery pack efficiency (P21). Weber teaches the thickness of the cooling fin is between 0.05mm and 1.0 mm, but that one of ordinary skill in the art may select other suitable thicknesses based upon the strength and thermal conductivity of the material employed for the cooling fin (P21).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have utilized the teaching of Weber and selected the thicknesses of the at least two heat conducting members of modified Zhang (a dimension of the at least two heat conducting members in a second direction) to be between 0.05 and 1.0 mm, given Weber teaches this a suitable thickness of a cooling structure between battery cells to that can improve volumetric battery pack efficiency.
Alternatively, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optimized, through routine experimentation, the thicknesses of the at least two heat conducting members of modified Zhang (a dimension of the at least two heat conducting members in a second direction), given Weber teaches one of ordinary skill in the art may select suitable thicknesses for a cooling structure based upon the strength and thermal conductivity of the material employed for said cooling structure. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The discovery of an optimum value of a known result effective variable, without producing any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) (see MPEP § 2144.05, II.).
However, modified Zhang does not meet the limitation wherein the battery comprises a plurality of battery modules arranged along a second direction, wherein the at least two heat conducting members are not provided between adjacent battery modules.
In a similar field of endeavor, Seo teaches a plurality of power modules each including a plurality of battery cells can connected in series with one another to permit a power supply apparatus to yield a high output voltage (P51). Seo teaches the power supply apparatus can be used to drive a motor of a vehicle (P51).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have utilized the teaching of Seo and duplicated the battery module of modified Zhang and connected the battery modules of modified Zhang together, given Seo teaches this can provide a power supply apparatus that yields a high output voltage, and a power supply apparatus can be used to drive a motor of a vehicle. Further, the mere duplication of parts, without any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Harza, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) (see MPEP § 2144.04).
Also in a similar field of endeavor, Heimer teaches a plurality of identical modules may be stacked one on top of another in any reasonable desired number so as to accommodate a plurality of cells in vertical orientation thereby minimizing the floor space required to house the batteries (P38).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have utilized the teaching of Heimer and provided wherein the plurality of battery modules of modified He are stacked vertically, given Heimer teaches this can minimize the floor space required to house the batteries.
Given the second direction (as seen in the Examiner’s annotated Fig. 6 above) is the vertical direction, the battery of modified Zhang would comprise a plurality of battery modules arranged along a second direction.
Further, given “the at least two heat conducting members” can be drawn to just one of the battery modules (as they are provided in “a battery module” of the plurality of battery modules), the “at least two heat conducting members” are provided in that said battery module and not provided between adjacent battery modules.
Alternatively, each battery module includes its own water cooling pipes 51 inside the modules itself. The water cooling pipes 51 are not provided on the outside of the plurality of battery columns and instead are provided on the inside of the plurality of battery columns. Therefore, there would not be a water cooling pipe 51 between two adjacent battery modules of the plurality of battery modules.
Regarding claim 14, Zhang discloses wherein each battery cell comprises two first walls provided opposite to each other in the second direction and further comprises two second walls provided opposite to each other in the first direction, and wherein the second walls of two adjacent battery cells are opposite (see the Examiner’s annotated Fig. 6 below).
Examiner’s Annotations on Zhang Fig. 6
Regarding claim 17, modified Zhang meets the limitation wherein each battery module comprises N columns of battery cells and N-1 heat conducting member(s), each of the N-1 heat conducting member(s) is provided between two adjacent columns of battery cells, and N is an integer greater than 1 (given the battery module of Zhang has been duplicated to provide a plurality of battery modules; see the Examiner’s annotated Fig. 6 below).
Examiner’s Annotations on Zhang Fig. 6
Regarding claim 20, modified Zhang meets the limitation a power consumption device, comprising: the battery according to claim 1, and the battery being configured to provide electric energy (given Zhang discloses a vehicle is provided including the power battery pack of Zhang, and one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the battery is configured to provide electric energy; see Zhang P4, 20, 59).
Regarding claim 22, modified Zhang meets the limitation wherein each of the at least two heat conducting members comprises a metal plate and an insulating layer, and the insulating layer is provided on a surface of the metal plate (given, from the modification provided by the teaching of Shin in the rejection of claim 1 above, modified Zhang’s at least two heat conducting members are flat metal pipes (thereby, can be considered hollow metal plates) having an electrically insulting layer provided on a surface adjacent to the respective first walls of the battery cells).
Regarding claim 25, Zhang discloses wherein the cavity is configured to accommodate a fluid to adjust a temperature of each battery cell (the water cooling pipes 51 have coolant/water circulated throughout; see entire disclosure and especially P37).
Claims 6-7 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al (CN208298881U, using the provided machine English translation from Espacenet) in view of Shin et al (US 20180375077 A1) in view of Weber et al (US 20110162820 A1) in view of Seo et al (US 20050206347 A1) in view of Heimer (US 20020015880 A1) as applied to claim 1, further in view of He et al (US 20220416343 A1).
Regarding claims 6-7, modified Zhang includes the thicknesses of the at least two heat conducting members of modified Zhang (a dimension of the at least two heat conducting members in a second direction) to be between 0.05 and 1.0 mm. Zhang is silent to the dimensions of the plurality of battery cells.
However, modified Zhang does not meet the limitation wherein a dimension T1 of each battery cell in the second direction and a dimension T2 of each of the at least two heat conducting members in the second direction satisfy: 0<T2/T1<7.
In a similar field of endeavor, He teaches a battery cell has a thickness of 10 mm to 90 mm (P24, 25).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have utilized the teaching of He and substituted the plurality of battery cells of modified Zhang with battery cells having a thickness of 10 mm to 90mm, such as the battery cell as taught by He, given both are known battery cells and the simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved. See KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, B.).
Shin is silent to the thickness of the electrically insulating layer, therefore, the thickness of the electrically insulating layer in modified Zhang is unknown.
Therefore, the thickness of each of the at least two heat conducting members is at minimum greater than 0.05 mm, given the thickness of the electrically insulating layer is unknown.
Using these numbers we can calculate that T2/T1.
T2 = at minimum greater than 0.05 mm
T1 = 10 mm as smallest value, 90 mm as largest value
T2 / T1 = 0.05/90 = 0.000556
Therefore, T2 / T1 is in a range of greater than 0.000556, which overlaps wherein a dimension T1 of each battery cell in the second direction and a dimension T2 of each of the at least two heat conducting members in the second direction satisfy: 0<T2/T1<7 (claim 6) or 0<T2/T1<1 (claim 7), and in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (See MPEP § 2144.05).
Regarding claim 19, modified Zhang does not meet the limitation wherein each of the at least two heat conducting members are bonded to the first wall.
In a similar field of endeavor, He teaches a heat conductive structural adhesive can be utilized to ensure a good bonding effect between a first lateral surface of a battery cell and a reinforcing member while also conducting heat generated by the battery cell during operation (P112-113).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have utilized the teaching of He and provided a heat conductive structural adhesive between the at least two heat conducting members and the respective first walls of the respective plurality of battery cells, given He teaches this allows bonding between a battery cell and another structure while also allowing heat generated by a battery cell during operation to be conducted by the adhesive.
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al (CN208298881U, using the provided machine English translation from Espacenet) in view of Shin et al (US 20180375077 A1) in view of Weber et al (US 20110162820 A1) in view of Seo et al (US 20050206347 A1) in view of Heimer (US 20020015880 A1) as applied to claim 1, further in view of Ramamurthi et al (US 20120301768 A1) and Chiu et al (US 20130309531 A1).
Regarding claims 8-9, modified Zhang does not meet the limitation wherein a weight M1 of the battery cell and a weight M2 of each of the at least two heat conducting members satisfy: 0<M2/M1<20 and wherein 0.1<M2/M1<1.
In a similar field of endeavor, Ramamurthi teaches an invention wherein there are less cathode materials in a core area of the battery cell giving it a lighter weight (P24).
One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the weight of a battery cell is a result-effective variable based upon the amount of electrode materials, in Ramamurthi’s case cathode materials, within a battery cell. Therefore, it is up to one of ordinary skill in the art to optimize the weight of the battery cell based upon the amount of electrode materials a manufacture decides to use within the battery cell, and “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The discovery of an optimum value of a known result effective variable, without producing any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) (see MPEP § 2144.05, II.).
However, modified Zhang does not give a weight for the heat conducting member.
In a similar field of endeavor, Chiu teaches a cooling plate has a reduced weight thereby decreasing its cost by using fewer materials (P2, 10).
One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the weight of a heat conducting member is a result-effective variable based upon the desired cost and amount of materials a manufacturer wishes to use. Therefore, it is up to one of ordinary skill in the art to optimize the weight of the heat conducting member based upon the desired cost and amount of materials a manufacturer wishes to use, and “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The discovery of an optimum value of a known result effective variable, without producing any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) (see MPEP § 2144.05, II.).
Therefore, the ratio of the weight M1 of the battery cell and the weight M2 of each of the at least two heat conducting members is dependent upon the optimization of the amount of electrode materials used in a battery cell and the desired cost and amount of materials a manufacturer wishes to use in a heat conduction member.
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al (CN208298881U, using the provided machine English translation from Espacenet) in view of Shin et al (US 20180375077 A1) in view of Weber et al (US 20110162820 A1) in view of Seo et al (US 20050206347 A1) in view of Heimer (US 20020015880 A1) as applied to claim 1, further in view of Khan Academy (What is thermal conductivity?, hereinafter referred to as “Khan”).
Regarding claims 10-11, modified Zhang does not meet the limitation wherein an area S1 of the first wall and an area S2 of a surface of each of the at least two heat conducting members connected to the first wall of the plurality of battery cells satisfy: 0.2 < S2/S1 < 30 and 2 < S2/S1 < 30.
Khan teaches the transfer of heat between two objects in contact is thermal conduction (page 1). Khan teaches there are four factors that affect the rate at which heat is conductive through a material (Q/t): the thermal conductivity constant for the material (k), a cross-sectional area of the material transferring heat (A), the difference in temperature between one side of the material and another (T1-T2), and the thickness of the material (d, page 3). Khan gives the equation for the rate of thermal conduction:
Q
t
=
k
A
(
T
h
o
t
-
T
c
o
l
d
)
d
(page 3).
One of ordinary skill in the art would not only recognize this equation, but be able to rearrange the equation to:
A
=
d
*
(
Q
/
t
k
)
(
T
h
o
t
-
T
c
o
l
d
)
One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize from the rearranged thermal conductivity equation that the cross-sectional surface areas of the materials transferring heat (the cross-sectional area of the first wall surface and the cross section area of the heat conduction member connected to the first wall) are result-effective variable of the: the thermal conductivity constant for the objects (k), the thickness of the materials (d), the difference in temperature between one side of the object and another object (T1-T2), and the rate at which heat is conductive through an object (Q/t). Therefore, it is up to one of ordinary skill in the art to optimize the relationship between the surface areas of the first wall and of each of the at least two heat conducting members connected to each respective first wall based upon the factors listed above, and “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The discovery of an optimum value of a known result effective variable, without producing any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) (see MPEP § 2144.05, II.).
Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al (CN208298881U, using the provided machine English translation from Espacenet) in view of Shin et al (US 20180375077 A1) in view of Weber et al (US 20110162820 A1) in view of Seo et al (US 20050206347 A1) in view of Heimer (US 20020015880 A1) as applied to claim 1, further in view of Xiao et al (US 20210028425 A1), as evidenced by Accuratus (Aluminum Oxide, Al2O3 Ceramic Properties), and Chiu et al (US 20130309531 A1).
Regarding claims 12-13, modified Zhang does not meet the limitation wherein a specific heat capacity Q of each of the at least two heat conducting members and a weight M2 of each of the at least two heat conducting members satisfy: 0.02 KJ/(kg2*°C)<Q/M2<100 KJ/(kg2*°C) and 0.3 KJ/(kg2*°C)<Q/M2<20 KJ/(kg2*°C).
In a similar field of endeavor, Xiao teaches an insulation thermal-dissipation member can be made of an aluminum oxide ceramic as it has electrical insulation and a large thermal conductivity (P19, 61).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have utilized the teaching of Xiao and formed the at least two heat conducting members of modified Zhang from an aluminum oxide ceramic rather than forming them from a metal having an electrically insulating layer disposed on one surface, given Xiao teaches a thermal dissipation member formed of an aluminum oxide ceramic can provide a heat dissipation structure with electrical insulation and a large thermal conductivity. The selection of a known material, which is based upon its suitability for the intended use, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) (see MPEP § 2144.07).
Accuratus states that 94%, 96%, and 99.5% Aluminum Oxide has specific heat of 880 J/Kg•°K / 0.21 Btu/lb•°F. Therefore the specific heat of each of the at least two heat conducting members of modified Zhang is 880 J/Kg•°K / 0.21 Btu/lb•°F.
However, modified Zhang does not give a weight for each of the at least two heat conducting members.
In a similar field of endeavor, Chiu teaches a cooling plate has a reduced weight thereby decreasing its cost by using fewer materials (P2, 10).
One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the weight of a heat conducting member is a result-effective variable based upon the desired cost and amount of materials a manufacturer wishes to use. Therefore, it is up to one of ordinary skill in the art to optimize the weight of each of the at least two heat conducting members based upon the desired cost and amount of materials a manufacturer wishes to use, and “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The discovery of an optimum value of a known result effective variable, without producing any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) (see MPEP § 2144.05, II.).
Therefore, the ratio of the specific heat capacity Q of each of the at least two heat conducting members and the weight M2 of each of the at least two heat conducting members is dependent upon the optimization of the weight of each of the at least two heat conducting members based upon the desired cost and amount of materials a manufacturer wishes to use.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al (CN208298881U, using the provided machine English translation from Espacenet) in view of Shin et al (US 20180375077 A1) in view of Weber et al (US 20110162820 A1) in view of Seo et al (US 20050206347 A1) in view of Heimer (US 20020015880 A1) as applied to claim 1, further in view of Knape et al (US 20180301765 A1).
Regarding claim 18, modified Zhang meets the limitation wherein the plurality of battery modules are arranged along the second direction (see the rejection of claim 1 above).
However, modified Zhang does not meet the limitation wherein there is a gap between adjacent battery modules.
In a similar field of endeavor, Knape teaches thermally insulating element can be arranged between battery modules in order to prevent heat from being exchanged between adjacent battery modules in the module assembly (P46).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have utilized the teaching of Knape and provided a thermally insulating element between the adjacent battery modules of modified Zhang, given Knape teaches this can prevent heat from being exchanged between adjacent modules.
The space in which the thermally insulating element of modified Zhang sits is the “gap” between the adjacent battery modules.
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al (CN208298881U, using the provided machine English translation from Espacenet) in view of Shin et al (US 20180375077 A1) in view of Weber et al (US 20110162820 A1) in view of Seo et al (US 20050206347 A1) in view of Heimer (US 20020015880 A1) as applied to claim 1, further in view of Xiao et al (US 20210028425 A1).
Regarding claim 23, modified Zhang does not meet the limitation wherein each of the at least two heat conducting members are a non-metallic material plate.
In a similar field of endeavor, Xiao teaches an insulation thermal-dissipation member can be made of an aluminum oxide ceramic as it has electrical insulation and a large thermal conductivity (P19, 61).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have utilized the teaching of Xiao and formed the at least two heat conducting members of modified Zhang from an aluminum oxide ceramic rather than forming them from a metal having an electrically insulating layer disposed on one surface, given Xiao teaches a thermal dissipation member formed of an aluminum oxide ceramic can provide a heat dissipation structure with electrical insulation and a large thermal conductivity. The selection of a known material, which is based upon its suitability for the intended use, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) (see MPEP § 2144.07).
Given aluminum oxide is a ceramic, modified Zhang meets the limitation wherein each of the at least two heat conducting members are a non-metallic material plate.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/M.G.H./Examiner, Art Unit 1729
/ULA C RUDDOCK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1729