DETAILED ACTION
General Remarks
When responding to this office action, applicants are advised to provide the examiner with line numbers and page numbers in the application and/or references cited to assist the examiner in locating appropriate paragraphs.
Per MPEP 2111 and 2111.01, the claims are given their broadest reasonable interpretation and the words of the claims are given their plain meaning consistent with the specification without importing claim limitations from the specification.
For Examiner’s Interview fill out the online Automated Interview Request (AIR) form (http://www.uspto.gov/patent/uspto-automated-interview-request-air-form.html).
Status of claim(s) to be treated in this office action:
Independent: 1 and 11.
Pending: 1-20.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
IDS
Applicant’s IDS(s) submitted on 11/19/2025 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has/have considered by the examiner and made of record.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: INTERLEAVED PARALLEL CAPACITOR CELL STRUCTURE WITH DUAL METAL LINES.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4,7-14 and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kang US Patent 6118687 A.
Re: Independent Claim 1, Kang discloses a first metal line (75, fig. 6a);
a second metal line (74, fig. 6a);
a plurality of first capacitor cells (SWL cell first cell in first row and first column, fig. 6b) coupled in parallel between the first metal line (75, fig. 6a) and the second metal line (74, fig. 6a), the first capacitor cells (SWL cell first cell in first row and first column, fig. 6b) are arranged along a first direction, wherein each of the first capacitor cells (SWL cell first cell in first row and first column, fig. 6b) comprises:
a first bottom electrode (electrode connected to metal line 75, fig. 6a) coupled to the first metal line (75, fig. 6a);
a first dielectric material (C1 is an ferroelectric capacitor in between electrode is ferroelectric material which are dielectric material, fig. 6a) over the first bottom electrode (electrode connected to metal line 75, fig. 6a); and
a first top electrode (electrode connected to T1 which connected to metal line 74, fig. 6a) over the first dielectric material (C1 is an ferroelectric capacitor in between electrode is ferroelectric material which are dielectric material, fig. 6a) and coupled to the second metal line (74, fig. 6a);
and a plurality of second capacitor cells (SWL cell second cell in first row and second column, fig. 6b) coupled in parallel between the first metal line (75, fig. 6a) and the second metal line (74, fig. 6a), the second capacitor cells (SWL cell second cell in first row and second column, fig. 6b) are arranged along the first direction, wherein each of the second capacitor cells (SWL cell second cell in first row and second column, fig. 6b) comprises:
a second bottom electrode (C2 electrode connected to metal line 74, fig. 6a) coupled to the second metal line (74, fig. 6a);
a second dielectric material (C2 is an ferroelectric capacitor in between electrode is ferroelectric material which are dielectric material, fig. 6a) over the second bottom electrode (C2 electrode connected to metal line 74, fig. 6a); and
a second top electrode (C2 electrode connected to T2 and metal line 75, fig. 6a) over the second dielectric material (C2 is an ferroelectric capacitor in between electrode is ferroelectric material which are dielectric material, fig. 6a) and coupled to the first metal line (75, fig. 6a),
wherein the second capacitor cells (SWL cell second cell in first row and second column, fig. 6b) and the first capacitor cells (SWL cell first cell in first row and first column, fig. 6b) are coupled in parallel,
wherein the first direction is perpendicular to a stacking direction
of the first bottom electrode (electrode connected to metal line 75, fig. 6a) and the first top electrode (electrode connected to T1 which connected to metal line 74, fig. 6a); and
wherein the first metal line (75, fig. 6a) and the second metal line (74, fig. 6a) are extended perpendicular to the first direction and the stacking direction.
Re: Claim 2, Kang disclose(s) all the limitations of claim 1 on which this claim depends. Kang further discloses: wherein two adjacent first capacitor cells (SWL cell first cell in first row and first column, fig. 6b) are separated by one of the second capacitor cells (SWL cell second cell in first row and second column, fig. 6b), and two adjacent second capacitor cells (SWL cell second cell in first row and second column, fig. 6b) are separated by one of the first capacitor cells (SWL cell first cell in first row and first column, fig. 6b).
Re: Claim 3, Kang disclose(s) all the limitations of claim 1 on which this claim depends. Kang further discloses: wherein the first bottom electrode (electrode connected to metal line 75, fig. 6a)s of the first capacitor cells (SWL cell first cell in first row and first column, fig. 6b) and the second bottom electrode (C2 electrode connected to metal line 74, fig. 6a)s of the second capacitor cells (SWL cell second cell in first row and second column, fig. 6b) are formed in the same level, and the first top electrode (electrode connected to T1 which connected to metal line 74, fig. 6a)s of the first capacitor cells (SWL cell first cell in first row and first column, fig. 6b) and the second top electrode (C2 electrode connected to T2 and metal line 75, fig. 6a)s of the second capacitor cells (SWL cell second cell in first row and second column, fig. 6b) are formed in the same level.
Re: Claim 4, Kang disclose(s) all the limitations of claim 1 on which this claim depends. Kang further discloses: wherein the first and second metal lines (75 and 74, fig. 6a) are formed in the same metal layer over the first and second capacitor cells (SWL cell second cell in first row and second column, fig. 6b).
Re: Claim 7, Kang disclose(s) all the limitations of claim 1 on which this claim depends. Kang further discloses: wherein the first capacitor cells (SWL cell first cell in first row and first column, fig. 6b) and the second capacitor cells (SWL cell second cell in first row and second column, fig. 6b) overlap the first and second metal lines (75 and 74, fig. 6a), and the first capacitor cells (SWL cell first cell in first row and first column, fig. 6b) and the second capacitor cells (SWL cell second cell in first row and second column, fig. 6b) are alternately arranged under the first and second metal lines (75 and 74, fig. 6a).
Re: Claim 8, Kang disclose(s) all the limitations of claim 1 on which this claim depends. Kang further discloses: wherein each of the first capacitor cells (SWL cell first cell in first row and first column, fig. 6b) and each of the second capacitor cells (SWL cell second cell in first row and second column, fig. 6b) have the same capacitance, and the number of first capacitor cells (SWL cell first cell in first row and first column, fig. 6b) is equal to the number of second capacitor cells (SWL cell second cell in first row and second column, fig. 6b).
Re: Claim 9 and 10, Kang disclose(s) all the limitations of claim 1 on which this claim depends. Kang further discloses: wherein the first and second bottom electrode (C2 electrode connected to metal line 74, fig. 6a)s have the same first area, and the first and second top electrode (C2 electrode connected to T2 and metal line 75, fig. 6a)s have the same second area, wherein the first area is greater than the second area.
Re: Independent Claim 11, Kang discloses a capacitor array (fig. 6b shown a SWL which include capacitors in cell array), comprising:
a plurality of first metal line (75, fig. 6a)s;
a plurality of second metal line (74, fig. 6a)s parallel to the first metal line (75, fig. 6a)s, wherein the first and second metal lines (75 and 74, fig. 6a) are arranged alternately and are oriented parallel to rows of the capacitor array (fig. 6b shown a SWL which include capacitors in cell array);
a plurality of first capacitor cells (SWL cell first cell in first row and first column, fig. 6b) arranged in odd columns of the capacitor array (fig. 6b shown a SWL which include capacitors in cell array); and a plurality of second capacitor cells (SWL cell second cell in first row and second column, fig. 6b) arranged in even columns of the capacitor array (fig. 6b shown a SWL which include capacitors in cell array),
wherein first bottom electrode (electrode connected to metal line 75, fig. 6a)s of the first capacitor cells (SWL cell first cell in first row and first column, fig. 6b) are coupled to the first metal line (75, fig. 6a)s, and first top electrode (electrode connected to T1 which connected to metal line 74, fig. 6a)s of the first capacitor cells (SWL cell first cell in first row and first column, fig. 6b) are coupled to the second metal line (74, fig. 6a)s,
wherein second bottom electrode (C2 electrode connected to metal line 74, fig. 6a)s of the second capacitor cells (SWL cell second cell in first row and second column, fig. 6b) are coupled to the second metal line (74, fig. 6a)s, and second top electrode (C2 electrode connected to T2 and metal line 75, fig. 6a)s of the second capacitor cells (SWL cell second cell in first row and second column, fig. 6b) are coupled to the first metal line (75, fig. 6a)s,
wherein a first voltage (as shown in figure 7a the voltage SWL2s) applied to the first metal line (75, fig. 6a)s is different from a second voltage (as shown in figure 7a the voltage SWL1s has different voltage then in SWL2s) applied to the second metal line (74, fig. 6a)s,
wherein the second capacitor cells (SWL cell second cell in first row and second column, fig. 6b) and the first capacitor cells (SWL cell first cell in first row and first column, fig. 6b) are coupled in parallel.
Re: Claim 12, Kang disclose(s) all the limitations of claim 11 on which this claim depends. Kang further discloses: wherein in each row of the capacitor array (fig. 6b shown a SWL which include capacitors in cell array), the first capacitor cells (SWL cell first cell in first row and first column, fig. 6b) of two adjacent columns are separated by one of the second capacitor cells (SWL cell second cell in first row and second column, fig. 6b), and the second capacitor cells (SWL cell second cell in first row and second column, fig. 6b) of two adjacent columns are separated by one of the first capacitor cells (SWL cell first cell in first row and first column, fig. 6b).
Re: Claim 13, Kang disclose(s) all the limitations of claim 11 on which this claim depends. Kang further discloses: wherein the first bottom electrode (electrode connected to metal line 75, fig. 6a)s of the first capacitor cells (SWL cell first cell in first row and first column, fig. 6b) and the second bottom electrode (C2 electrode connected to metal line 74, fig. 6a)s of the second capacitor cells (SWL cell second cell in first row and second column, fig. 6b) are formed in the same level, and the first top electrode (electrode connected to T1 which connected to metal line 74, fig. 6a)s of the first capacitor cells (SWL cell first cell in first row and first column, fig. 6b) and the second top electrode (C2 electrode connected to T2 and metal line 75, fig. 6a)s of the second capacitor cells (SWL cell second cell in first row and second column, fig. 6b) are formed in the same level.
Re: Claim 14, Kang disclose(s) all the limitations of claim 11 on which this claim depends. Kang further discloses: wherein the number of first capacitor cells (SWL cell first cell in first row and first column, fig. 6b) is equal to the number of second capacitor cells (SWL cell second cell in first row and second column, fig. 6b), and each of the first capacitor cells (SWL cell first cell in first row and first column, fig. 6b) and each of the second capacitor cells (SWL cell second cell in first row and second column, fig. 6b) have the same capacitance.
Re: Claim 17, Kang disclose(s) all the limitations of claim 11 on which this claim depends. Kang further discloses: wherein the first capacitor cells (SWL cell first cell in first row and first column, fig. 6b) arranged in the same column share the same first bottom electrode (electrode connected to metal line 75, fig. 6a), and the second capacitor cells (SWL cell second cell in first row and second column, fig. 6b) arranged in the same column share the same second bottom electrode (C2 electrode connected to metal line 74, fig. 6a).
Re: Claim 19, Kang disclose(s) all the limitations of claim 11 on which this claim depends. Kang further discloses: wherein the first and second metal lines (75 and 74, fig. 6a) have a fixed width (as shown in figure 16b the metal lines connect to the transistor and capacitor have fixed width).
Re: Claim 20, Kang disclose(s) all the limitations of claim 11 on which this claim depends. Kang further discloses: wherein the first and second metal lines (75 and 74, fig. 6a) have different widths (fig. 16b) in odd columns and even columns of the capacitor array (fig. 6b shown a SWL which include capacitors in cell array).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang US Patent 6118687 A; in view of Kang’s fig. 4 US Patent 6118687 A.
Re: Claim 18, Kang disclose(s) all the limitations of claim 11 on which this claim depends. Kang further discloses: wherein the first and second bottom electrode (C2 electrode connected to metal line 74, fig. 6a)s have the same first area, and the first and second top electrode (C2 electrode connected to T2 and metal line 75, fig. 6a)s have the same second area.
Kang is silent regarding: wherein the first area is greater than the second area
Kang figure 4 discloses the first area first and second electrode 44 could have a greater area than second area top electrode 46.
However, area range would have been obvious to an ordinary artisan practicing the invention because, absent evidence of disclosure of criticality for the range giving unexpected results, it is not inventive to discover optimal or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 105 USPQ 223, 235 (CCPA 1955). Furthermore, the specification contains no disclosure of either the critical nature of the claimed dimensions of any unexpected results arising therefrom. Where patentability is aid to be based upon particular chosen dimensions or upon another variable recited in a claim, the applicant must show that the chosen dimensions are critical. See In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578, 16 USPQ2sd 1934, 1936 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 5-6 and 15-16 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Re: Claim 5, (and dependent claim 6) the prior art of record do not disclose or suggest, in combination with all other limitations in the claim: a plurality of first capacitor cells coupled in parallel between the first metal line and the second metal line, the first capacitor cells are arranged along a first direction, wherein each of the first capacitor cells and a plurality of second capacitor cells coupled in parallel between the first metal line and the second metal line, the second capacitor cells are arranged along the first direction, wherein each of the second capacitor cells wherein the first direction is perpendicular to a stacking direction of the first bottom electrode and the first top electrode; and wherein the first metal line and the second metal line are extended perpendicular to the first direction and the stacking direction, wherein the first and second metal lines are formed in the same metal layer over the first and second capacitor cells, and wherein the first bottom electrode of each of the first capacitor cells is coupled to the first metal line through a plurality of first connecting features, and the first top electrode of each of the first capacitor cells is coupled to the second metal line through a plurality of second connecting features, wherein a first height of the first connecting feature is greater than a second height of the second connecting feature.
Re: Claim 15, (and dependent claim 16) the prior art of record do not disclose or suggest, in combination with all other limitations in the claim: a plurality of second metal lines parallel to the first metal lines, wherein the first and second metal lines are arranged alternately and are oriented parallel to rows of the capacitor array; wherein the number of first capacitor cells is equal to the number of second capacitor cells, and each of the first capacitor cells and each of the second capacitor cells have the same capacitance, wherein the first bottom electrode of each of the first capacitor cells is coupled to the first metal line through a plurality of first connecting features, and the first top electrode of each of the first capacitor cells is coupled to the second metal line through a plurality of second connecting features, wherein a first height of the first connecting feature is greater than a second height of the second connecting feature.
Conclusion
/TSZ K CHIU/Examiner, Art Unit 2898 Tsz.Chiu@uspto.gov
/AJAY OJHA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2898