DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 19 recites the limitation "a first sub connection electrode" in the third line of the claim. It is unclear whether this limitation is the same as or different from the limitation “a first sub connection electrode” recited in the third last and the second last line of claim 15. To expedite the examination, the two limitations are interpreted as referring to different elements.
Claim 19 recites the limitation "a second sub connection electrode" in the sixth line of the claim. It is unclear whether this limitation is the same as or different from the limitation “a second sub connection electrode” recited in the second last line of claim 15. To expedite the examination, the two limitations are interpreted as referring to different elements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a(1)/a(2) as being anticipated by Chang (US 2020/0219858 A1).
Regarding claim 15, Chang teaches a display device (Figs. 10-15, [0127]) comprising: a first pixel electrode (1081 of the left 1050 in Fig. 11; Fig. 13, [0163]) (Fig. 13 labeled layers 1153-1155 inconsistent with [0137] and is in error based on Fig. 4 and [0131-0134], please refer to Fig. 13 below for examination, which is the corrected and relabeled based on [0137]) and a second pixel electrode (1081 of the middle 1050 in Fig. 11; Fig. 13, [0163]) disposed on a substrate (1010; Fig. 11, [0129]) and spaced apart from each other (see Fig. 11); a first light emitting element (1051/1052/1053 of the left 1050 in Fig. 11; Fig. 13, [0132]) disposed on the first pixel electrode (1081 of the left 1050 in Fig. 11; see Fig. 13); a second light emitting element (1051/1052/1053 of the middle 1050 in Fig. 11; Fig. 13, [0132]) disposed on the second pixel electrode (1081 of the middle 1050 in Fig. 11); a first connection electrode (1083, 1071-1073 of the left 1050 in Fig. 11) disposed on at least a portion of a side surface (a left or right side surface) of the first light emitting element (1051/1052/1053 of the left 1050 in Fig. 11; see Fig. 13); a second connection electrode (1083, 1071-1073 of the middle 1050 in Fig. 11) disposed on at least a portion of a side surface (a left or right side surface) of the second light emitting element (1051/1052/1053 of the middle 1050 in Fig. 11); and a common electrode (1082 of the left 1050 and the middle 1050 in Fig. 11) disposed on the first light emitting element (1051/1052/1053 of the left 1050 in Fig. 11) and the second light emitting element (1051/1052/1053 of the middle 1050 in Fig. 11), wherein the common electrode (1082 of the left 1050 and the middle 1050 in Fig. 11) is electrically connected to at least one of the first connection electrode (1083, 1071-1073 of the left 1050 in Fig. 11) and the second connection electrode (1083, 1071-1073 of the middle 1050 in Fig. 11), wherein the first connection electrode (1083, 1071-1073 of the left 1050 in Fig. 11) is disposed on opposing side surfaces of the first light emitting element (the left and right side surface of 1051/1052/1053 of the left 1050 in Fig. 11) and the second connection electrode (1083, 1071-1073 of the middle 1050 in Fig. 11) is disposed on opposing side surfaces of the second light emitting element (the left and right side surface of 1051/1052/1053 of the middle 1050 in Fig. 11), and wherein the second connection electrode (1083, 1071-1073 of the middle 1050 in Fig. 11) includes a first sub connection electrode (1071 of the middle 1050 in Fig. 11; [0158]) and a second sub connection electrode (1072 of the middle 1050 in Fig. 11; [0158]), and the first sub connection electrode (1071 of the middle 1050 in Fig. 11) is spaced apart from the second sub connection electrode (1072 of the middle 1050 in Fig. 11; see Fig. 13).
[AltContent: textbox (1153)][AltContent: textbox (1154)][AltContent: textbox (1155)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (1154)][AltContent: textbox (1153)][AltContent: textbox (1155)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (1154)][AltContent: textbox (1155)][AltContent: textbox (1153)]
Fig. 13 of Chang corrected and relabeled to be consistent with paragraph [0137]
Regarding claim 16, Chang teaches the display device of claim 15, further comprising: a third pixel electrode (1081 of the right 1050 in Fig. 11; Fig. 13, [0163]) disposed on the substrate (1010) and spaced apart from the first pixel electrode (1081 of the left 1050 in Fig. 11) and the second pixel electrode (1081 of the middle 1050 in Fig. 11); a third light emitting element (1051/1052/1053 of the right 1050 in Fig. 11; Fig. 13, [0132]) disposed on the third pixel electrode (1081 of the right 1050 in Fig. 11); and a third connection electrode (1083, 1071-1073 of the right 1050 in Fig. 11) disposed on at least a portion of a side surface (a left or right side surface) of the third light emitting element (1051/1052/1053 of the right 1050 in Fig. 11), wherein the common electrode (1082 of the left 1050 and the middle 1050 in Fig. 11) is electrically connected to at least two of the first connection electrode (1083, 1071-1073 of the left 1050 in Fig. 11), the second connection electrode (1083, 1071-1073 of the middle 1050 in Fig. 11), and the third connection electrode (1083, 1071-1073 of the right 1050 in Fig. 11).
Regarding claim 17, Chang teaches the display device of claim 16, wherein each of the first light emitting element (1051/1052/1053 of the left 1050 in Fig. 11), the second light emitting element (1051/1052/1053 of the middle 1050 in Fig. 11), and the third light emitting element (1051/1052/1053 of the right 1050 in Fig. 11) includes: a first sub light emitting element (1051; Fig. 13, [0132]); a second sub light emitting element (1052; Fig. 13, [0132]) disposed on the first sub light emitting element (1051; Fig. 13, [0132]); and a third sub light emitting element (1053; Fig. 13, [0132]) disposed on the second sub light emitting element (1052), each of the first sub light emitting element (1051), the second sub light emitting element (1052), and the third sub light emitting element (1053) includes a first semiconductor layer (1155; Fig. 13, [0137]), an active layer (1154; Fig. 13, [0137]), and a second semiconductor layer (1153; Fig. 13, [0137]) sequentially stacked (1155, 1154 and 1153 are sequentially stacked according to [0137], while Fig. 13 labeled layers 1153-1155 inconsistent with [0137] and is in error based on Fig. 4 and [0131-0134], please see the corrected and relabeled Fig. 13 based on [0137] above).
Regarding claim 18, Chang teaches the display device of claim 17, wherein the first connection electrode (1083, 1071-1073 of the left 1050 in Fig. 11) is electrically connected to the second semiconductor layer (1153) of the first sub light emitting element (1051), the first semiconductor layer (1155), the active layer (1154), and the second semiconductor layer (1153) of the second sub light emitting element (1052), and the first semiconductor layer (1155), the active layer (1154), and the second semiconductor layer (1153) of the third sub light emitting element (1053; see Fig. 13 above) of the first light emitting element (1051/1052/1053 of the left 1050 in Fig. 11).
Regarding claim 19, Chang teaches the display device of claim 17, wherein the second connection electrode (1083, 1071-1073 of the middle 1050 in Fig. 11) includes: a first sub connection electrode (1083, 1071, 1072 of the middle 1050 in Fig. 11) electrically connected to the first semiconductor layer (1155), the active layer (1154), and the second semiconductor layer (1153) of the first sub light emitting element (1051) and the first semiconductor layer (1155) of the second sub light emitting element (1052) of the second light emitting element (1051/1052/1053 of the middle 1050 in Fig. 11); and a second sub connection electrode (1083, 1073 of the middle 1050 in Fig. 11) electrically connected to the second semiconductor layer (1153) of the second sub light emitting element (1052), and the first semiconductor layer (1155), the active layer (1154), and the second semiconductor layer (1153) of the third sub light emitting element (1053) of the second light emitting element (1051/1052/1053 of the middle 1050 in Fig. 11).
Regarding claim 20, Chang teaches the display device of claim 17, wherein the third connection electrode (1083, 1071-1073 of the right 1050 in Fig. 11) is electrically connected to the first semiconductor layer (1155), the active layer (1154), and the second semiconductor layer (1153) of the first sub light emitting element (1051), the first semiconductor layer (1155), the active layer (1154), and the second semiconductor layer (1153) of the second sub light emitting element (1052), and the first semiconductor layer (1155) of the third sub light emitting element (1053) of the third light emitting element (1051/1052/1053 of the right 1050 in Fig. 11).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-14 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art of record does not teach or suggest, singularly or in combination, at least the limitations of "wherein the connection electrode includes a first sub connection electrode disposed on opposing side surfaces of the first sub light emitting element and a second sub connection electrode disposed on opposing side surfaces of the second sub light emitting element, and wherein the first sub connection electrode is spaced apart from the second sub connection electrode" as recited in claim 1.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments, filed 03/27/2026, overcome the rejections to claims 15-20 under 35 U.S.C. 112. The rejections to claims 15-20 under 35 U.S.C. 112 have been withdrawn.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Chae et al. teach a LED having a stacked of light emitting elements and the electrodes to connect the stack of the light emitting elements (US 20190164944 A1).
/HSIN YI HSIEH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2899 5/16/2026