DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
The present application is being examined under the claims filed 6/3/2026. Claims 1, 7, 14-15, and 19 have been amended. Claim 20 is canceled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/3/2026 have been fully considered but are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Blumrich refers to a set of operations which need to be run to completion […], which prevents other operations from running, and that the system described is a “speculative execution”, where the atomic operations will not always run to completion – “threads can be started as a sort of wager or gamble, without knowledge of whether the thread can complete successfully” (para. 41).
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., speculative execution, where threads can be started as a sort of wager or gamble, without knowledge of whether the thread can complete successfully) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Applicant’s additional arguments have been considered but are moot due to the new grounds of rejection. It should be noted that a prior art reference to Higgs in combination with Naeimi and Blumrich teaches the newly added limitations as shown in the rejections below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-10-16, and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Naeimi et al. (US 10061376 B2) in view of Higgs et al. (US 20180217655 A1) and Blumrich et al. (US 20110219215 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Naeimi discloses a computing system (Naeimi FIG. 1, data processing device 100) comprising:
a processing unit comprising a decode unit (Naeimi FIG. 1, processor 180 and controller 176 [see Col. 8 Lines 5-15, controller 176, processor 180, or related circuitry may be separate devices, or part of the same device, see response to arguments]; and Naeimi Col 8 Lines 19-22, the processor is used to perform data processing operations comprising machine-executable instructions [i.e., processor can decode instructions specifying the one or more operations]);
a program memory associated with the processing unit (Naeimi FIG. 1, processor 180 and controller 176 connected to the volatile memory (e.g., cache) 186 [i.e., program memory])); and
a power management unit (Naeimi FIG. 1, energy estimator 172);
wherein the processing unit is configured to retrieve from the program memory, decode, and execute instructions specifying one or more operations (Naeimi Col. 8 Lines 19-25, processor 180 is configured to perform a data processing operations by reading machine-executable instructions [also see Col. 24 lines 8-10, machine-readable storage [i.e., program memory] includes machine-readable instructions, that when executed, implement the method described]) and at least one energy barrier instruction (Naeimi Col. 9 lines 65-67 and Col. 10 lines 1-15, energy needs are associated with the data processing work [i.e., the operations have an energy barrier]; also see Col. 14 lines 45-52, each operation has energy cost and Col. 16 Table 2, the process is gated by energy required),
the energy barrier instruction being logically stored together with the instructions specifying the one or more operations as part of the same program code, with the one or more operations logically following the energy barrier instruction in the code (Naeimi Col. 14 lines 45-50, if viewed as software, then instruction code (software) includes energy decisions explicitly—that is, pre-existing software may be tailored to include the energy decisions [i.e., instructions for energy decisions logically stored together with the instructions specifying the one or more operations as part of the same program code]; and Naeimi Col. 15 [Table 1], energy is checked [e.g. "if energy.available < energy.work.read_temp + volatile_queue.entries *energy.checkpoint:"), the energy barrier instruction comprises a threshold energy (Naeimi Col. 15 [Table 1], energy.avaliable [i.e., threshold] is checked before carrying out operations), and the energy barrier instruction, when executed, causes the processing unit to:
request from the power management unit a first indication that the threshold energy is currently available (Naeimi Col 6 lines 1-9, estimates are based on a measure of an existing [i.e., current] voltage of the transient energy storage 170; and Naeimi Col. 5 Lines 33-42, energy estimator 172 [i.e., power management unit] is configured to determine the expected amount of energy available 130 to the data processing device 100, and its counters are used by power management logic (e.g., a controller 176) [i.e., the power management logic requests energy availability from the power management unit]);
if the first indication is received, completely execute the one or more operations without interruption […] (Naeimi Col. 15 lines 60-66, when the device depletes its available energy, it will start the process at the top after energy becomes available again [i.e., complete execution of operations without interruption required]; and Naeimi Col. 15 lines 66-67 and Col. 16 lines 1-5, avoid reading the sensor if there is insufficient energy available to both read the sensor and checkpoint all the queue entries to avoid spending energy to collect samples, which might then be lost due to lack of energy [i.e., complete all operations after the energy barrier without interruption]); and
if the first indication is not received, enter an energy conserving mode (Naeimi Col. 10 Lines 46-52, power management strategies [i.e., modes] based on energy available include waiting [i.e., an energy conserving mode] for additional harvested energy to become available; and Naeimi Col. 15 [Table 1], sleep when there is not enough energy available).
Naeimi does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the energy barrier instruction is a single instruction relating to energy usage that includes a plurality of fields with one of the plurality of fields comprising an operation code, if the first indication is received, completely execute the one or more operations without interruption in a single atomic run.
In the analogous art of optimizing power consumption in an electrical device through mode switching, Higgs teaches:
wherein the energy barrier instruction is a single instruction relating to energy usage that includes a plurality of fields with one of the plurality of fields comprising an operation code (Higgs FIG. 2 & [0021] teach example instruction set 200 has a plurality of fields labeled as opcode field 202, branch field 204, options field 206, mask field 208, time field 210, hints field (also known as sleep decision index (SDI)) 212, and Reserved field 214, where the SDI field 212 includes bits to select options including, but not limited to, “always power save”, “never power save”, etc. The SDI field 212 is used to control entry and exit of the power-saving state and contains additional information that the software developer would like to pass to the hardware; see also FIG. 3 & [0022], which teaches sleep decision index (SDI) field 300 having various opcodes 302, parameters 304, and states 306),
Therefore, it would have been obvious of one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Naeimi and Higgs before them, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine Naeimi’s method for saving power by switching modes based on a threshold set for an operation with Higgs’s instruction structure, the motivation being to further optimize power consumption for a device via instructions to enter/exit low-power mode based on parameters and provide, via a user interface, a user with notice of a current state of the processor (Higgs [0002-0003]).
Naeimi in view of Higgs does not explicitly disclose:
completely execute the one or more operations without interruption in a single atomic run.
In the analogous art of scheduling instructions, Blumrich teaches:
completely execute the one or more operations without interruption in a single atomic run (Blumrich par. 44, the programmer will put instructions in a program delimiting sections in which transactional memory is desired… this may be done by marking the sections as requiring atomic execution);
Therefore, it would have been obvious of one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Naeimi, Higgs, and Blumrich before him, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine Naeimi and Higgs’ energy gated operations running without interruption with Blumrich’s method for implementing atomic instructions, the motivation being to guarantee atomicity of the instructions in various systems by allowing all instructions to run without interruption (Blumrich par. 9-10, method is directed towards execution in a multiprocessor system, and in particular guaranteeing atomicity in such a system).
Regarding Claim 2, Naeimi in view of Higgs and Blumrich discloses the computing system of claim 1, wherein the processing unit is configured to, if the first indication is received, execute the one or more operations and then continue to execute instructions in the program code until the next energy barrier instruction is encountered (Naemi Col. 16 Table 2, method contains a loop in which operations are continued as long as sufficient energy is available, and operations are halted to wait for more energy if an energy barrier is encountered without sufficient energy).
Regarding Claim 4, Naeimi in view of Higgs and Blumrich discloses the computing system of claim 1, wherein the processing unit comprises one or more of a fetch unit, a load/store unit (Naeimi Col 3 lines 47-67, regarding saving program state and reloading at a later time [load/store unit required order to complete the described checkpointing functionality]), and a change of flow unit.
Regarding Claim 5, Naeimi in view of Higgs and Blumrich discloses the computing system of claim 1, wherein if the first indication is not received, the energy barrier instruction causes the processor to wait in energy conserving mode until a second indication is received that threshold energy has become available (Naeimi Col. 10 Lines 46-52, power management strategies [i.e., modes] based on energy available include waiting for additional harvested energy to become available [which is an energy conserving mode]; also see FIG 3. step 390, low power (idle mode) if expected value of available energy is less than checkpoint energy), and to exit the energy conserving mode and execute the one or more operations in response to receipt of the second indication (Naeimi Col 16 Table 2, pseudocode shows waiting for more energy in else portion of main loop [it only exits this portion of code if available energy meets energy needs; return for query of energy is an indication]; also see Naeimi Col. 15 Table 1, remain in sleep state until energy check is passed).
Regarding Claim 6, Naeimi in view of Higgs and Blumrich discloses the computing system of claim 1, wherein the power management unit (Naeimi FIG. 1, energy estimator 172) configured to receive the request from the processing unit, determine whether the threshold energy is available, and return the first or second indication when it is determined that the threshold energy is available (Naeimi Col. 5 Lines 33-42, energy estimator 172 is configured to determine the expected amount of energy available 130 to the data processing device 100, and its counters are used by power management logic; and Naeimi Col. 16 Table 2, pseudocode shows loop that determines if energy is available, do work from both queues [return for query of energy is an indication]).
Regarding Claim 7, Naeimi in view of Higgs and Blumrich discloses the computing system of claim 6, comprising an energy storage unit (Naeimi FIG. 1, energy storage 170) for supplying energy to the processing unit (Naeimi Col. 7, Lines 51-59, the processor is an energy consumer for the device).
Regarding Claim 8, Naeimi in view of Higgs and Blumrich discloses the computing system of claim 7, wherein determining whether the threshold energy is available by the power management unit comprises determining whether the threshold energy is present on the energy storage unit (Naeimi Col 6 Lines 4-9, energy availability estimates are based on a measure of existing voltage in energy storage 170).
Regarding Claim 9, Naeimi in view of Higgs and Blumrich discloses the computing system of claim 1.
Naeimi in view of Higgs and Blumrich also disclose wherein the threshold energy of the energy barrier instruction is configurable (see Higgs FIG. 2 and [0021] as taught above in claim 1, where options field 206 encodes how the set of triggering events waited for will be handled, mask field 208 can be used to identify those operations that will not be considered in the decision to exit the wait state, time field 210 which encodes the maximum time interval for the processor to wait, and SDI field 212 is used to control entry and exit of the power-saving state and contains additional information that the software developer would like to pass to the hardware; FIG. 3 and [0022] teaches sleep instructions contain parameters of operations threshold, where information in a particular SDI table 300 entry controls when the power-saving state is entered and when the power-saving state is exited, including time delay 310, where the SDI field 300 sends instructions to enter a power-saving state if the previous consecutive N wait states have taken longer than a specified threshold parameter. The parameters include a number of operations and a threshold value. The state includes a current number of prior consecutive operations exceeding a threshold. Another example algorithm includes exceeding an average threshold 312. This SDI field has a Sleep Op Code 302 that specifies entering a power savings state if the exponential moving average of wait event times exceeds a threshold. Another example algorithm includes another time delay 314, where the power savings state is exited after a predetermined time. Another example algorithm includes not entering a power-saving state if the exponential moving average is less than a threshold 318. Other algorithms are possible and are not limited to the embodiments described above).
The same motivation that was utilized for combining Naeimi and Higgs as set forth in claim 1 is equally applicable to claim 9.
Regarding Claim 10, Naeimi in view of Higgs and Blumrich discloses the computing system of claim 1, wherein the threshold energy represents an amount of energy required to execute the one or more operations (Naeimi Col. 15 lines 66-67 and Col. 16 lines 1-5, avoid reading the sensor [i.e., threshold energy for operations, see Table 1] if there is insufficient energy available to both read the sensor and checkpoint all the queue entries) or an estimate of the amount of energy required to execute the one or more operations (Naeimi FIG. 2 step 250 and Col. 10 lines 34-45, comparing the expected value of energy available and the work and checkpoint energy costs [threshold is whether or not to continue operation based on energy required]).
Regarding Claim 11, Naeimi in view of Higgs and Blumrich discloses the computing system of claim 10, wherein the processing unit is configured to run the one or more operations (Naeimi Col. 8 Lines 19-25, processor 180 is configured to perform a data processing operations and machine-executable instructions [also see col. 24 lines 8-10, machine-readable storage includes machine-readable instructions, that when executed, implement a method as described herein]), to measure an amount of energy required to execute the one or more operations (Naeimi FIG. 3 steps 230 and 240, where energy required to execute the work tasks is calculated [also see col. 10 lines 1-20 on ways work energy expenditure is measured]), and to adapt the threshold energy to the amount of energy measured (Naeimi FIG. 3 step 250, method 200 includes comparing 250 the expected value of energy available and the work and checkpoint energy costs [threshold energy amount to continue operations is dictated by the work and checkpoint energy costs, which are updated after the measuring step]).
Regarding Claim 12, Naeimi in view of Higgs and Blumrich discloses the computing system of claim 10, wherein the threshold energy represents an estimate of the amount of energy required to execute the one or more operations (Naeimi Col. 15 lines 26-28, e.g., work energy estimate is sub-divided and based on cost to read the temperature sensor and the energy to transmit a sample [which are operations]) and the amount of energy is determined using static code analysis (Naeimi Col. 14 lines 45-52, a practical system implementation could be designed to include energy costs explicitly; and Naeimi Col 15 Table 1, code uses explicit values for cost of operations [ex. energy.work.read_temp]; also see Col. 14 lines 45-52, each operation has energy cost; and Naeimi Col. 15 Lines 29-34, work energy counter is used to analyze the cost of performing the necessary operations in the code).
Regarding Claim 13, Naeimi in view of Higgs and Blumrich discloses the computing system of claim 7, comprising a counter configured to increment every time a fixed amount of energy is added to the energy storage unit and decrement every time the fixed amount of energy is removed from the energy storage unit (Naeimi Col. 5 lines 30-42, energy estimator 172 maintains counters of available energy for the data processing device, which may be incremented or decremented when energy is added or used [also see Col. 15 lines 31-37, the work energy counter is constant i.e., fixed]).
Regarding Claim 14, Naeimi in view of Higgs and Blumrich discloses the computing system of claim 1, wherein one of the plurality of fields includes the threshold energy (see Higgs FIG. 2 and [0021] as taught above in claim 1, where options field 206 encodes how the set of triggering events waited for will be handled, mask field 208 can be used to identify those operations that will not be considered in the decision to exit the wait state, time field 210 which encodes the maximum time interval for the processor to wait, and SDI field 212 is used to control entry and exit of the power-saving state and contains additional information that the software developer would like to pass to the hardware; FIG. 3 and [0022] teaches sleep instructions contain parameters of operations threshold, where information in a particular SDI table 300 entry controls when the power-saving state is entered and when the power-saving state is exited, including time delay 310, where the SDI field 300 sends instructions to enter a power-saving state if the previous consecutive N wait states have taken longer than a specified threshold parameter. The parameters include a number of operations and a threshold value. The state includes a current number of prior consecutive operations exceeding a threshold. Another example algorithm includes exceeding an average threshold 312. This SDI field has a Sleep Op Code 302 that specifies entering a power savings state if the exponential moving average of wait event times exceeds a threshold. Another example algorithm includes another time delay 314, where the power savings state is exited after a predetermined time. Another example algorithm includes not entering a power-saving state if the exponential moving average is less than a threshold 318. Other algorithms are possible and are not limited to the embodiments described above).
The same motivation that was utilized for combining Naeimi and Higgs as set forth in claim 1 is equally applicable to claim 14.
Regarding Claim 15, Naeimi in view of Higgs and Blumrich discloses the computing system of claim 1, wherein one of the plurality of fields specifies a type of the energy conserving mode (see Higgs FIG. 2 and [0021] as taught above in claim 1, where options field 206 encodes how the set of triggering events waited for will be handled, mask field 208 can be used to identify those operations that will not be considered in the decision to exit the wait state, time field 210 which encodes the maximum time interval for the processor to wait, and SDI field 212 includes bits to select options including, but not limited to, “always power save”, “never power save”, etc. [i.e., energy conserving mode]) and is used to control entry and exit of the power-saving state and contains additional information that the software developer would like to pass to the hardware; FIG. 3 and [0022] teaches sleep instructions contain parameters of operations threshold, where information in a particular SDI table 300 entry controls when the power-saving state is entered and when the power-saving state is exited, including time delay 310, where the SDI field 300 sends instructions to enter a power-saving state if the previous consecutive N wait states have taken longer than a specified threshold parameter. The parameters include a number of operations and a threshold value. The state includes a current number of prior consecutive operations exceeding a threshold. Another example algorithm includes exceeding an average threshold 312. This SDI field has a Sleep Op Code 302 that specifies entering a power savings state if the exponential moving average of wait event times exceeds a threshold. Another example algorithm includes another time delay 314, where the power savings state is exited after a predetermined time. Another example algorithm includes not entering a power-saving state if the exponential moving average is less than a threshold 318. Other algorithms are possible and are not limited to the embodiments described above).
The same motivation that was utilized for combining Naeimi and Higgs as set forth in claim 1 is equally applicable to claim 15.
Regarding Claim 16, Naeimi in view of Higgs and Blumrich discloses the computing system of claim 1, wherein the energy conserving mode is one or more of a state wherein memory is retained (Naeimi Col 11 lines 12-21, if there is not sufficient energy to finish a process, the process checkpointed [saved/retained] and the data processing device sleeps), a state wherein the clock is stopped (Naeimi Col. 16 Table 2, system is slept [i.e., operations are stopped] while waiting for more energy), complete shut-down of the system, and switching off of RAM.
Regarding Claim 18, Naeimi in view of Higgs and Blumrich discloses the computing system of claim 1, wherein the processing unit is a core processing unit (Naeimi Col. 17 Lines 59-62, CPU is a core).
Regarding Claim 19, Naeimi discloses a method for operating a computing system (Naeimi FIG. 3, method for selecting a power management strategy for data processing device 100).
The remainder of claim 19 is similar in scope to claim 1 as addressed above and is thus rejected under the same rationale.
Claims 3 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Naeimi in view Higgs and Blumrich, further in view of Elboim et al. (US 10782772 B2).
Regarding Claim 3, Naeimi in view of Higgs and Blumrich discloses the computing system of claim 1, processing unit comprises a register file (Naeimi FIG. 1, non-volatile memory 184 or volatile memory 186; also see Naeimi Col. 20 lines 23-31, volatile state is held in the cache and some is also held in volatile registers inside the core) [and performs algorithmic operations] (Naeimi Col. 3 lines 1-14, processor calculates incremental results).
Naeimi in view of Higgs and Blumrich does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the processing unit comprises a register file and an algorithmic logic unit.
In the analogous art of power saving by calculating expected energy expenditure, Elboim discloses using a processing unit with an arithmetic logic unit (Elboim Col 3 Lines 12-16, processor core 111 may carry out the instructions of a computer program in order to perform the basic arithmetic, logical, control and input/output (I/O) operations specified by the instructions [an ALU must be present to perform the arithmetic operations]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious of one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Naeimi, Higgs, Blumrich, and Elboim before them, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine Naeimi, Higgs, and Blumrich’s processing unit with Elboim’s ALU, the motivation being to carry out calculations by the processor to perform the described functionality (Elboim Col 1 lines 35-46).
Regarding Claim 17, Naeimi in view of Higgs and Blumrich discloses the computing system of claim 1.
wherein the system […] compris[es] a plurality of blocks including:
the processing unit (Naeimi FIG. 1, processor 180 and controller 176 [see Col. 8 Lines 5-15, controller 176, processor 180, or related circuitry may be separate devices, or part of the same device]) and the program memory (Naeimi FIG. 1, processor 180 and controller 176 connected to the volatile memory (e.g., cache) 186 [i.e., program memory]).
Naeimi in view of Higgs and Blumrich does not explicitly disclose wherein the system is a monolithic system on chip.
In the analogous art of power saving by calculating expected energy expenditure, Elboim teaches wherein the system is a monolithic system on chip (Elboim FIG. 1, SoC 100; also see claim 1, a plurality of execution functions integrated in a system on chip (SoC)) comprising a plurality of blocks including:
the processing unit (Elboim FIG. 1, MCU 100) and the program memory (Elboim FIG. 1, retention memory 140).
Therefore, it would have been obvious of one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Naeimi, Higgs, Blumrich, and Elboim before them, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine Naeimi, Higgs, and Blumrich’s method of energy evaluation with Elboim’s architecture, the motivation being to lower energy needs by offering multiple “execution functions” in a single device (Elboim Col. 1, Lines 27-34).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDREW J JUNG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2175