DETAILED ACTION
Background
The amendment dated January 20, 2026 (amendment) amending claim 1 and adding new claim 16 has been entered. Claims 1-7, 10 and 12-16 as filed with the amendment have been examined. Claims 8-9 and 11 have been canceled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7, 10 and 12-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 1, at lines 5-6, the recited (b) “removing components other than proteins from the sample by performing an alkaline treatment” is indefinite because the recited alkaline treatment does not appear to remove anything from a plant protein raw material sample. It is not clear how one is removing anything from the recited sample.
The Office interprets the claim as merely reciting an alkaline treatment in step (b), without any material removal step. If the alkaline treatment results in precipitating a solid, then the alkaline treatment results in removing a component from a solution phase but not from the sample of plant protein raw material.
Claims 2-7, 10 and 12-16 are rejected as depending from a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 10 and 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP1106696 A1 to Yamaguchi et al. (Yamaguchi) in view of US 20220079187 A1 to Stiles et al. (Stiles), both of record.
The Office interprets claim 1, step (b) as reciting an alkaline treatment, without any material removal step. If the alkaline treatment results in precipitating a solid, then the alkaline treatment results in removing a component from a solution phase but not from the sample of plant protein raw material.
Regarding instant claims 1-4, 10, 12, 14 and 16, Yamaguchi at Abstract discloses a new bacterium of the genus Chryseobacterium (claim 4) that produces a deamidase enzyme, wherein at [0072] a method of using the deamidase comprises treating a cereal or bean (“(a) treating a sample comprising a plant protein raw material”…”in an enzyme reaction solution”) comprising soybeans (claim 2) to improve later protein extraction comprising (at [0073]) suspending soybean powder in a dilute alkali solution and then removing insoluble substances (“(b) removing components other than proteins from the sample by performing an alkaline treatment of the enzyme reaction solution …to separate soluble components”). The deamidase reaction conditions disclosed in Yamaguchi at Example 5 for the Chryseobacterium are optimized (see Table 4 on page 16) at a pH of 8.65 (claims 1 and 16). Further, the Yamaguchi process disclosed at [0073] produces soybean protein concentrate or isolate (claim 14), followed by insolubilizing the protein in an isoelectric point treatment at a pH around 4.5 (“(c) recovering proteins from the separated soluble components” -also claims 10 and 12).
Further, and regarding instant claims 5 and 7, Yamaguchi does not disclose its (b) alkaline treatment performed at a pH of from 9 to 12 as in claim 1, and does not disclose (d) subjecting recovered proteins to a neutralization process; further, Yamaguchi does not disclose that its Chryseobacterium microorganism is a Chryseobacterium proteolyticum as in claim 5; further, Yamaguchi does not disclose that the concentration of its plant protein raw material in its sample is from 10 to 35 wt% as in claim 7. However, Yamaguchi at [0009] discloses that its deamidase removes amide groups from glutamine and asparagine and thereby creates negatively charged carboxyl groups wherein the protein is solubilized. Further, at [0072] Yamaguchi discloses bean and cereal flours in general as substrates and does not limit the concentration of a plant protein raw material in a deamidase substrate.
Stiles at [0147]-[0155] discloses generally refining or isolating plant proteins from a plant protein raw material including (at [0156]) soybeans. Further, at [0161] Stiles discloses generally that in refining precipitation pH is the opposite pH for extraction to allow for precipitation. In alkaline treatment for extraction, Stiles discloses at [0158] extraction at a pH of at least 9, at least 10 and at least 11. In addition, at [0172]-[0173] and Example 1 Stiles discloses adding protein glutaminase to deamidate a refined protein wherein the starting refined protein has a pH neutralized to 7.0 adding alkali as NaOH to pea flour in a solid concentration of 20% wt/wt plant protein raw material in water for deamidase treatment. In general, Stiles discloses a pH of a refined protein of from 5 to 7 arrived at by pH adjustment such as with NaOH. In addition, Stiles at [0104] particularly discloses a protein glutaminase from a Chryseobacterium proteolyticum.
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, the ordinary skilled artisan would have found it obvious in view of Stiles for Yamaguchi in its alkaline treatment to subject its plant protein raw material to an alkaline treatment at a pH of from 9 to 12 as in Stiles and to neutralize its protein product that is recovered from acidic precipitation to neutralization as in Stiles before use. In addition, the ordinary skilled artisan in Yamaguchi would have found it obvious in view of Stiles to treat its protein at a raw material concentration of from 10 to 35% (w/w) of the reaction as in Stiles to optimize deamidation and, further, to propagate a Chryseobacterium proteolyticum as in Stiles as its Chryseobacterium to produce deamidase. Both references are drawn to methods of refining or purifying plant proteins in aqueous media using alkali and acid to effect isoelectric protein precipitation from other raw materials and to methods for treating a plant protein raw material with a deamidase from Chryseobacterium. The ordinary skilled artisan working in Yamaguchi would have desired to optimize its method of protein extraction by performing an alkali treatment at pH of 9-11 as in Stiles to optimize dissolution of proteins, particularly as Yamaguchi refines a deamidated protein that has additional acid groups that are dissolved at a basic pH. In addition, the ordinary skilled artisan in Yamaguchi would have desired to neutralize its acidic protein concentrate as in Stiles to carboxylate it and render it is more easily dispersed or dissolved in liquid when used in a food or beverage. And the ordinary skilled artisan in Yamaguchi would have desired in view of Stiles to treat its plant protein raw material at a pH of from 10 to 35% (w/w) as in Stiles and use a Chryseobacterium proteolyticum as its Chryseobacterium species as in Stiles to optimize its deamidation and to efficiently produce its deamidase for deamidation.
Regarding instant claim 4, Yamaguchi discloses at [0068] that its enzyme is a glutaminase enzyme
Regarding instant claim 6, Yamaguchi at [0060] discloses an amount of the protein deamidase of 0.1 to 100 units per gram of plant protein raw material.
Regarding instant claim 13, Yamaguchi at [0062] discloses that its plant proteins are used as a tempura powder or as dried.
Regarding instant claim 15, Yamaguchi at [0073] discloses food products such as ham, sausages and baby food.
Response to Arguments
In view of the amendment dated January 20, 2026, the following rejections have been withdrawn as moot:
The rejections of claims 1-7, 10 and 12-15 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20220079187 A1 to Stiles et al. in view of US 20090011083 A1 to Wong et al.; and,
The rejections of claims 1-7, 10 and 12-15 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20220079187 A1 to Stiles et al. in view of US 20130150556 A1 to Chen.
The positions taken in the remarks accompanying the amendment dated January 20, 2026 (Reply) with respect to Wong and Chen, both of record have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on Wong or Chen as applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument
The positions taken in the Reply have been fully considered but they are not found persuasive for the following reasons:
Regarding the position taken in Reply that Stiles first refines or concentrates its plant protein raw material prior to deamidation, the Office does not disagree. However, Stiles is used for its general disclosure of concentrating plant protein from a plant protein raw material and, independently, for optimizing the obtention of a deamidase. None of obtaining a deamidase and obtaining a plant protein in concentrated form as disclosed in Stiles is dependent on the other, so their order relative to one another in the rejection is no longer relevant
Conclusion
/ANDREW E MERRIAM/Examiner, Art Unit 1791