DETAILED ACTION
Status of the application
This office Action is in response to Applicant's Application filled on 05/14/2025. Claims 1-20 are pending for this examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s reply filed on 05/14/2025 has been entered and considered. Applicants’ amendments necessitated the shift in grounds of rejection detailed below. The shift in grounds of rejection renders Applicant’s arguments moot. Thus, this rejection is properly made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 13-14 and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as failing to set forth the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 13, The instant claims recite limitation “a third pixel of the plurality of pixels includes a concavo-convex portion in a right peripheral portion of the pixel region in the plan view, and the concavo-convex portion of the third pixel is configured to extend at least from the center portion towards a left peripheral portion of the pixel region without reaching a boundary portion between the first pixel and an adjacent pixel of the plurality of pixels” is not clear because the third pixel is configured to extend at least from the center portion towards a left peripheral portion of the pixel region, however third pixel of the plurality of pixels includes a concavo-convex portion in a right peripheral portion of the pixel region in the plan view, appears inconsistence. It appears it may be in a right peripheral portion of the pixel region without reaching a boundary portion between the first pixel. In addition, a boundary portion between the first pixel and an adjacent pixel of the plurality of pixels is not clear because adjacent pixel meant by first pixels or second pixel or third pixel is not defined. Therefore, the resulting claim is indefinite and is failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter. Appropriate corrections defining these limitations within metes and bounds of the claimed invention are required.
Regarding Claim 14, The instant claims recite limitation “a fourth pixel of the plurality of pixels includes a concavo-convex portion a left peripheral portion of the pixel region in the plan view, and the concavo-convex portion of the fourth pixel is configured to extend at least from the center portion towards a right peripheral portion of the pixel region without reaching a boundary portion between the first pixel and an adjacent pixel of the plurality of pixels” is not clear because a fourth pixel of the plurality of pixels includes a concavo-convex portion a left peripheral portion of the pixel region in the plan view, however the fourth pixel is configured to extend at least from the center portion towards a right peripheral portion of the pixel region, appears inconsistence. It appears it may be in a left peripheral portion of the pixel region without reaching a boundary portion between the first pixel and an adjacent pixel of the plurality of pixels. In addition, adjacent pixel of the plurality of pixels is not clear because adjacent pixel meant by first pixels or second pixel or fourth pixel is not defined. Therefore, the resulting claim is indefinite and is failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter. Appropriate corrections defining these limitations within metes and bounds of the claimed invention are required.
Regarding Claim 16, The instant claims recite limitation “a boundary portion between the first pixel and an adjacent pixel of the plurality of pixels” is not clear because adjacent pixel meant by first pixels or second pixel is not defined. Therefore, the resulting claim is indefinite and is failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter. Appropriate corrections defining these limitations within metes and bounds of the claimed invention are required.
Regarding Claim 17, The instant claims recite limitation “a third pixel of the plurality of pixels includes a concavo-convex portion in a right peripheral portion of the pixel region in the plan view, and the concavo-convex portion of the third pixel is configured to extend at least from the center portion towards a left peripheral portion of the pixel region without reaching a boundary portion between the first pixel and an adjacent pixel of the plurality of pixels” is not clear because the third pixel is configured to extend at least from the center portion towards a left peripheral portion of the pixel region, however third pixel of the plurality of pixels includes a concavo-convex portion in a right peripheral portion of the pixel region in the plan view, appears inconsistence. It appears it may be in a right peripheral portion of the pixel region i without reaching a boundary portion between the first pixel. In addition, a boundary portion between the first pixel and an adjacent pixel of the plurality of pixels is not clear because adjacent pixel meant by first pixels or second pixel or third pixel is not defined. Therefore, the resulting claim is indefinite and is failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter. Appropriate corrections defining these limitations within metes and bounds of the claimed invention are required.
Regarding Claim 18, The instant claims recite limitation “a fourth pixel of the plurality of pixels includes a concavo-convex portion a left peripheral portion of the pixel region in the plan view, and the concavo-convex portion of the fourth pixel is configured to extend at least from the center portion towards a right peripheral portion of the pixel region without reaching a boundary portion between the first pixel and an adjacent pixel of the plurality of pixels” is not clear because a fourth pixel of the plurality of pixels includes a concavo-convex portion a left peripheral portion of the pixel region in the plan view, however the fourth pixel is configured to extend at least from the center portion towards a right peripheral portion of the pixel region, appears inconsistence. It appears it may be in a left peripheral portion of the pixel region without reaching a boundary portion between the first pixel and an adjacent pixel of the plurality of pixels. In addition, adjacent pixel of the plurality of pixels is not clear because adjacent pixel meant by first pixels or second pixel or fourth pixel is not defined. Therefore, the resulting claim is indefinite and is failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter. Appropriate corrections defining these limitations within metes and bounds of the claimed invention are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 10-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by KIM (US 2021/0120199 A1; hereafter KIM).
Regarding claim 1. KIM discloses a solid-state imaging device, comprising:
a pixel region comprising a plurality of pixels (Fig 1-4, pixel array, plural pixels 110, 120, Para [0050-0051]), wherein the plurality of pixels includes (Fig 1-4, pixel array, plural pixels 110, 120, Para [0050-0051]);
a first pixel (first pixels 120, Para [0053]) in a central portion of the pixel region (first pixels 120 disposed in the central region, Para [0053]); and
a second pixel (second pixels 110, Para [0053]) in a peripheral portion of the pixel region (plurality of second pixels 110 disposed in the peripheral region, Para [0053]), wherein each of the first pixel and the second pixel (Fig 2, plural pixels 110, 120) includes:
a photoelectric conversion unit (photo diode (PD) 114a/124, para [0058-0059]) configured to photoelectrically convert incident light formed on a semiconductor substrate (Para [0055-0059, 0087-0088]);
a concavo-convex (lenses 128, 118, Para [ 0059]) portion above the photoelectric conversion unit (photo diode (PD) 114a/124, para [0058-0059]) and on a light receiving surface side of the semiconductor substrate (Fig [1-4], Para [ 0063-0065]), wherein a number of irregularities of the concavo-convex portion (Fig [1-4], lenses 128, 118, Para [ 0055]) in the first pixel (first pixels 120, Para [0053]) is different from a number of irregularities of the concavo-convex (Fig [1-4], lenses 128, 118, Para [ 0055]) portion in the second pixel (second pixels 110, Para [0053]).
Regarding claim 2. KIM discloses the solid-state imaging device according to claim 1, KIM further discloses wherein the number of irregularities of the concavo-convex portion (Fig [1-4], lenses 128, 118, Para [0055]) in the first pixel is smaller (first pixels 120, Para [0053]) than the number of irregularities of the concavo-convex portion Fig [1-4], lenses 128, 118, Para [ 0055]) included in the second pixel (second pixels 110, Para [0053]).
Regarding claim 3. KIM discloses the solid-state imaging device according to claim 1, KIM further discloses wherein the number of irregularities of the concavo-convex portion (Fig [1-4], lenses 128, 118, Para [0055]) changes from the first pixel (first pixels 120, Para [0053]) in the central portion of the pixel region to the second pixel in the peripheral portion of the pixel region (Fig [1-4], lenses 128, 118, Para [ 0055]).
Regarding claim 4. KIM discloses the solid-state imaging device according to claim 1, KIM further discloses wherein the number of irregularities of the concavo-convex portion gradually increases (Fig [1-4], lenses 128, 118, Para [ 0055]) from the first pixel (first pixels 120, Para [0053]) disposed in the central portion of the pixel region to the second pixel (second pixels 110, Para [0053]) in the peripheral portion of the pixel region (Fig [1-4], lenses 128, 118, Para [0055]).
Regarding claim 10. KIM discloses the solid-state imaging device according to claim 1, KIM further discloses wherein the concavo-convex (lenses 128, 118, Para [ 0059]) portion included in each pixel of the plurality of pixels (plural pixels 110, 120) is configured to cover a light converging region in which the incident light formed in the photoelectric conversion unit converges ( photodiode, Para [ 0055-0059, 0087-0088]).
Regarding claim 11. KIM discloses the solid-state imaging device according to claim 1, KIM further discloses wherein a position of the concavo-convex portion (lenses 128, 118, Para [ 0059]) in the first pixel seen in a plan view (first pixels 120, Para [0053]) is different from a position of the concavo-convex portion (Fig 2, lenses 128, 118, Para [ 0059]) the second pixel in the plan view (second pixels 110, Para [0053]).
Regarding claim 12. KIM discloses the solid-state imaging device according to claim 11, KIM further discloses wherein the concavo-convex (lenses 128, 118, Para [0059]) portion in the first pixel (Fig 2, pixels 120) at least in a center portion in the first pixel when in the plan view (Fig 2, pixels 120), and
the concavo-convex (lenses 128, 118, Para [ 0059]) portion in the second pixel (Fig 2, pixels 110) is configured to extend at least from the center portion towards the peripheral portion without reaching a boundary portion between the first pixel (Fig 2, pixels 120) and an adjacent pixel of the plurality of pixels (Fig 2, plural pixels 110, 120).
Regarding claim 13. KIM discloses the solid-state imaging device according to claim 11, KIM further discloses wherein the concavo-convex portion (lenses 128, 118, Para [0059]) in the first pixel (first pixels 120, Para [0053]) at least in a center portion in the first pixel in the plan view (Fig 2, pixels 120),
a third pixel (Fig 2, right side pixels, central region 120) of the plurality of pixels (plural pixels 110, 120) includes a concavo-convex portion (lenses 128, 118, Para [ 0059]) in a right peripheral portion of the pixel region in the plan view (Fig 2, right side pixels, central region 120), and
the concavo-convex portion (lenses 128, 118, Para [ 0059]) of the third pixel is configured to extend at least from the center portion (Fig 2, right side pixels, central region 120) towards a left peripheral portion of the pixel region without reaching a boundary portion between the first pixel (Fig 2, pixels 120) and an adjacent pixel of the plurality of pixels (plural pixels 110, 120).
Regarding claim 14. KIM discloses the solid-state imaging device according to claim 11, KIM further discloses wherein the concavo-convex portion (lenses 128, 118, Para [ 0059]) in the first pixel at least in a center portion in the first pixel in the plan view (Fig 2, pixels 120),
a fourth pixel (Fig 2, left side pixels, central region 120) of the plurality of pixels includes a concavo-convex portion (lenses 128, 118, Para [0059]) a left peripheral portion of the pixel region in the plan view (Fig 2, left side pixels, central region 120), and
the concavo-convex (lenses 128, 118, Para [ 0059]) portion of the fourth pixel (Fig 2, left side pixels, central region 120) is configured to extend at least from the center portion towards a right peripheral portion of the pixel region without reaching a boundary portion between the first pixel (Fig 2, pixels 120) and an adjacent pixel of the plurality of pixels (plural pixels 110, 120).
Regarding claim 15. KIM discloses a solid-state imaging device, comprising:
a pixel region comprising a plurality of pixels (Fig 1-4, pixel array, plural pixels 110, 120, Para [0050-0051]), wherein each of the plurality of pixels includes (Fig 1-4, pixel array, plural pixels 110, 120, Para [0050-0051]);
a first pixel in a central portion of the pixel region (first pixels 120 disposed in the central region, Para [0053]); and
a second pixel in a peripheral portion of the pixel region (plurality of second pixels 110 disposed in the peripheral region, Para [0053]), wherein each of the first pixel and the second pixel (Fig 2, plural pixels 110, 120) includes:
a photoelectric conversion unit (photo diode (PD) 114a/124, para [0058-0059]) configured to photoelectrically convert incident light formed on a semiconductor substrate (Para [0055-0059, 0087-0088]); and
a concavo-convex portion (lenses 128, 118, Para [ 0059]) above the photoelectric conversion unit (photo diode (PD) 114a/124, para [0058-0059]) on a light receiving surface side of the semiconductor substrate (Para [0055-0059, 0087-0088]), wherein the concavo-convex portion (lenses 128, 118, Para [ 0059]) is in a left upper portion or a right upper portion of each of the first pixel and the second pixel (Fig 2, plural pixels 110, 120), and
a position at which of the concavo-convex portion (Fig [1-4], lenses 128, 118, Para [0055]) of the first pixel (first pixels 120, Para [0053]) in the pixel region, as seen in a plan view, is different from a position of the concavo-convex portion of the second pixel, as seen in the plan view (Fig 2, plural pixels 110, 120).
Regarding claim 16. KIM discloses the solid-state imaging device according to claim 15, KIM further discloses wherein the concavo-convex portion (lenses 128, 118, Para [0059]) of the first pixel at least in a center portion in the first pixel as seen in the plan view (Fig 2, pixels 120), and
the concavo-convex portion (lenses 128, 118, Para [ 0059]) of in the second pixel (Fig 2, pixels 110) in the peripheral portion of the pixel region is configured to extend at least from the center portion towards the peripheral portion without reaching a boundary portion between the first pixel (Fig 2, pixels 120) and an adjacent pixel of the plurality of pixels (Fig 2, plural pixels 110, 120).
Regarding claim 17. KIM discloses the solid-state imaging device according to claim 15, KIM further discloses wherein the concavo-convex portion (lenses 128, 118, Para [ 0059]) of the first pixel at least in a center portion in the first pixel, as seen in the plan view (Fig 2, pixels 120),
a third pixel (Fig 2, right side pixels, central region 120) of the plurality of pixels (plural pixels 110, 120) includes a concavo-convex portion (lenses 128, 118, Para [ 0059]) in a right peripheral portion of the pixel region, as seen in the plan view (Fig 2, right side pixels, central region 120), and the concavo-convex portion of the third pixel (Fig 2, right side pixels, central region 120) is configured to extend at least from the center portion towards a left peripheral portion of the pixel region without reaching a boundary portion between the first pixel (Fig 2, pixels 120) and an adjacent pixel of the plurality of pixels (plural pixels 110, 120).
Regarding claim 18. KIM discloses the solid-state imaging device according to claim 15, KIM further discloses where in the concavo-convex portion (lenses 128, 118, Para [0059]) of the first pixel least in a center portion in the first pixel, as seen in the plan view (Fig 2, pixels 120),
a fourth pixel (Fig 2, left side pixels, central region 120) of the plurality of pixels includes a concavo-convex portion (lenses 128, 118, Para [0059]) in a left peripheral portion in the pixel region as seen in the plan view (Fig 2, left side pixels, central region 120), and
the concavo-convex portion (lenses 128, 118, Para [ 0059]) of the fourth pixel (Fig 2, left side pixels, central region 120) is configured to extend at least from the center portion towards a right peripheral portion of the pixel region without reaching a boundary portion between the first pixel (Fig 2, pixels 120) and an adjacent pixel of the plurality of pixels (plural pixels 110, 120).
Regarding claim 19. KIM discloses Electronic equipment on which the solid-state imaging device according to claim 1 is mounted (Fig 1-4, Para [0050-0061]).
Regarding claim 20. KIM discloses the Electronic equipment on which the solid-state imaging device according to claim 15 is mounted (Fig 1-4, Para [0050-0061]).
Claim Rejection- 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM (US 2021/0120199 A1; hereafter KIM) as applied claims above and further in view of NOJIMA et al (US 2019/0215474 A1; hereafter NOJIMA).
Regarding claim 8. KIM discloses the solid-state imaging device according to claim 1, KIM further discloses wherein the concavo-convex portion (lenses 128, 118, Para [ 0059]) in each of the first pixel (Fig 2, pixels 120) and the second pixel (Fig 2, pixels 110) has a point-symmetrical shape with a center of the concavo-convex portion as a point of symmetry when seen in plan view (lenses 128, 118, Para [ 0059]).
But Kim does not disclose explicitly the concavo-convex portion has a rectangular shape (Fig [16-17], lens 42, Para [0069, 0076]).
In a similar field of endeavor, NOJIMA discloses the concavo-convex portion has a rectangular shape (Fig [16-17], lens 42, Para [0069,0076]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine KIM in light of NOJIMA teaching “the concavo-convex portion has a rectangular shape (Fig [16-17], lens 42, Para [ 0069])” for further advantage such as stable optical performance is obtained and color separation precision of photoelectric conversion element can be improved.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MOIN M RAHMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2898