DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the application No. 17/758,011 filed on June 26, 2022.
Acknowledgment
The amendment filed on 12/26/2025 responding to the Office action mailed on 10/15/2025, has been entered. The present Office action is made with all the suggested amendments being fully considered. Claims 4, 7-14, and 18 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a non-elected invention/species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Accordingly, pending in this Office action are claims 1-5 and 7-19.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3, 5, 15-17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 1 and 15 recite that “an orthographic projection of the gate electrode on the substrate falls within an orthographic projection of the active layer on the substrate”. However, there is not written description in the specification as originally filed for this limitation in the claims. At paragraph [0040] the specification simply recites that the gate electrode 21 is disposed corresponding to the active segment 231. Being disposed corresponding to the active segment does not mean that an orthographic projection of the gate electrode on the substrate falls within an orthographic projection of the active layer on the substrate. There is not a positive recitation in the specification as originally filed for the claimed limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 15-17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xue (US 2022/0077264).
Regarding Claim 1, Xue (see, e.g., Figs. 3-4 and Annotated Fig. 4), teaches a display panel including an oxygen supplement functional layer 5 (i.e., top layer 5) (see, e.g., par. 0057), comprising:
a substrate 1 (see, e.g., par. 0041);
a thin film transistor layer TL disposed on the substrate 1, wherein the thin film transistor layer TL comprises a gate electrode 3, a gate insulating layer 2, an active layer 4, and a source-drain electrode layer 7 disposed on the substrate 1, material of the active layer 4 is metal oxide semiconductor (see, e.g., pars. 0042, 0051-0052);
the oxygen supplement functional layer 5 located on a side of the source-drain electrode layer 7 away from the active layer 4 (see, e.g., par. 0060);
an electrode layer 6 located on a side of the oxygen supplement functional layer 5 away from the thin film transistor layer TL, wherein material of the electrode layer 6 is metal oxide material (see, e.g., pars. 0061-0062);
wherein the oxygen supplement functional layer 5 is located between the gate insulating layer 2 and the electrode layer 6, and oxygen content on a side of the oxygen supplement functional layer 5 close to the electrode layer 6 is greater than oxygen content on a side of the oxygen supplement functional layer 5 close to the active layer 4 (see, e.g., pars. 0060, 0069, 0076, 0117).
Xue does not show that an orthographic projection of the gate electrode on the substrate falls within an orthographic projection of the active layer on the substrate.
However, this claim limitation is merely considered a change in the size of the gate electrode and/or the active layer in Xue’s device. The specific claimed orthographic projection of the gate electrode on the substrate falling within an orthographic projection of the active layer on the substrate, absent any criticality, is only considered to be an obvious modification of the size of the gate electrode and/or the active layer in Xue’s device, as the courts have held that changes in size without any criticality, are within the level of skill in the art. According to the courts, a particular size is nothing more than one among numerous sizes that a person having ordinary skill in the art will find obvious to provide using routine experimentation. See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Accordingly, since the applicant has not established the criticality (see next paragraph below) of having the claimed orthographic projection of the gate electrode on the substrate falling within an orthographic projection of the active layer on the substrate, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to adjust the size of the gate electrode and/or the size of the active layer and meet the claimed limitation of having an orthographic projection of the gate electrode on the substrate falling within an orthographic projection of the active layer on the substrate in the Xue’s device.
CRITICALITY
The specification contains no disclosure of either the critical nature of having an orthographic projection of the gate electrode on the substrate falling within an orthographic projection of the active layer on the substrate or any unexpected results arising therefrom. Where patentability is said to be based upon particular chosen size or upon another variable recited in a claim, the applicant must show that the chosen size is critical. In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578, 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding Claim 2, Xue teaches all aspects of claim 1. Xue (see, e.g., Figs. 3-4), teaches that:
the display panel comprises a first passivation layer 10 on a side of the thin film transistor layer away from the substrate 1, the oxygen supplement functional layer 5 comprises the first passivation layer 10 (see, e.g., par. 0055);
the electrode layer 6 is one of a pixel electrode, a common electrode, or an anode (see, e.g., par. 0056).
Regarding Claim 3, Xue teaches all aspects of claim 2. Xue (see, e.g., Figs. 3-4), teaches that the electrode layer 6 is one of the pixel electrode or the common electrode, the display panel further comprises a second passivation layer 8 on a side of the electrode layer 6 away from the oxygen supplement functional layer 5 (see, e.g., pars. 0053, 0056).
Regarding Claim 5, Xue teaches all aspects of claim 1. Xue (see, e.g., Figs. 3-4), teaches that the material of the electrode layer 6 is indium gallium zinc oxide (see, e.g., par. 0062).
Regarding Claim 15, Xue (see, e.g., Figs. 3-4 and Annotated Fig. 4), teaches a mobile terminal, wherein the mobile terminal comprises a terminal body and a display panel including an oxygen supplement functional layer 5 (i.e., top layer 5), the terminal body and the display panel are combined integrally (see, e.g., pars. 0162-0163), the display panel comprises:
a substrate 1 (see, e.g., par. 0041);
a thin film transistor layer TL disposed on the substrate 1, the thin film transistor layer TL comprises a gate electrode 3, a gate insulating layer 2, an active layer 4, and a source-drain electrode layer 7 disposed on the substrate 1, material of the active layer 4 is metal oxide semiconductor (see, e.g., pars. 0042, 0051-0052);
the oxygen supplement functional layer 5 located on a side of the source-drain electrode layer 7 away from the active layer 4 (see, e.g., par. 0060);
an electrode layer 6 located on a side of the oxygen supplement functional layer 5 away from the thin film transistor layer TL, material of the electrode layer 6 is metal oxide material (see, e.g., pars. 0061-0062);
wherein the oxygen supplement functional layer 5 is located between the gate insulating layer 2 and the electrode layer 6, and oxygen content on a side of the oxygen supplement functional layer 5 close to the electrode layer 6 is greater than oxygen content on a side of the oxygen supplement functional layer 5 close to the active layer 4 (see, e.g., pars. 0060, 0069, 0076, 0117).
Xue does not show that an orthographic projection of the gate electrode on the substrate falls within an orthographic projection of the active layer on the substrate.
However, this claim limitation is merely considered a change in the size of the gate electrode and/or the active layer in Xue’s device. The specific claimed orthographic projection of the gate electrode on the substrate falling within an orthographic projection of the active layer on the substrate, absent any criticality, is only considered to be an obvious modification of the size of the gate electrode and/or the active layer in Xue’s device, as the courts have held that changes in size without any criticality, are within the level of skill in the art. According to the courts, a particular size is nothing more than one among numerous sizes that a person having ordinary skill in the art will find obvious to provide using routine experimentation. See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
See also the comments stated above in claim 1 regarding criticality which are considered repeated here.
Regarding Claim 16, Xue teaches all aspects of claim 15. Xue (see, e.g., Figs. 3-4), teaches that:
the display panel comprises a first passivation layer 10 on a side of the thin film transistor layer away from the substrate 1, the oxygen supplement functional layer 5 comprises the first passivation layer 10 (see, e.g., par. 0055);
the electrode layer 6 is one of a pixel electrode, a common electrode, or an anode (see, e.g., par. 0056).
Regarding Claim 17, Xue teaches all aspects of claim 16. Xue (see, e.g., Figs. 3-4), teaches that the electrode layer 6 is one of the pixel electrode or the common electrode, the display panel further comprises a second passivation layer 8 on a side of the electrode layer 6 away from the oxygen supplement functional layer 5 (see, e.g., pars. 0053, 0056).
Regarding Claim 19, Xue teaches all aspects of claim 15. Xue (see, e.g., Figs. 3-4), teaches that the material of the electrode layer 6 is indium gallium zinc oxide (see, e.g., par. 0062).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 12/26/2025 with respect to the rejection of claims 1 and 15 have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Wael Fahmy can be reached on (571)272-1705. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/Nelson Garces/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2814