DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In lines 4-5, “the power transfer contract” should be changed to --a power transfer contract--.
In line 6, “a power transfer contract” should be changed to --the power transfer contract--.
This change is necessary to provide proper antecedent basis.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-13, 15 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Mach et al (US 2016/0329751 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Mach et al teaches: A wireless power receiver (1300, Fig. 10A), which receives a wireless power from a wireless power transmitter (1200) and is capable of receiving an additional power from an additional power source in addition to the wireless power (see Fig. 20 and para. [0480], EOC reason code 0x8: Alternate source for charging such as a wired adaptor has been connected and prioritized over wireless charger), configured to: during receiving the wireless power from the wireless power transmitter according to the power transfer contract established with the wireless power transmitter (see para. [0314], a power transfer contract is established using instruction signals when the system 1000 transitions from a standby mode to a wireless power transfer mode), enter a suspend state for receiving the wireless power transmitted according to a power transfer contract (see Fig. 20 and para. [0480], the receiver enters a suspend state for receiving wireless power by sending EOC reason code 0x8, indicating that a wired adaptor has been connected, representing a change in the additional power) during a predetermined time (the communication timing is based on the particular protocol used, see para. [0374], [0468], [0511], [0521], [0536] and Fig. 18) based on a change in the additional power (the wired adaptor having been connected).
Regarding claim 9, Mach et al teaches: A method for receiving a wireless power from a wireless power transmitter (1200, Fig. 10A), the method performed by a wireless power receiver (1300) which is capable of receiving an additional power from an additional power source in addition to the wireless power (see Fig. 20 and para. [0480], EOC reason code 0x8: Alternate source for charging such as a wired adaptor has been connected and prioritized over wireless charger) and comprising: receiving (by receiver 1300), from the wireless power transmitter (1200), the wireless power according to a power transfer contract established with the wireless power transmitter (see para. [0314], a power transfer contract is established using instruction signals when the system 1000 transitions from a standby mode to a wireless power transfer mode); and entering a suspend state for receiving the wireless power transmitted according to the power transfer contract (see Fig. 20 and para. [0480], the receiver enters a suspend state for receiving wireless power by sending EOC reason code 0x8, indicating that a wired adaptor has been connected, representing a change in the additional power) during a predetermined time (the communication timing is based on the particular protocol used, see para. [0374], [0468], [0511], [0521], [0536] and Fig. 18) based on a change in the additional power (the wired adaptor having been connected).
Regarding claims 2 and 10, Mach et al teaches: The wireless power receiver of claim 1, and the method of claim 9, wherein, after entering the suspend state (after sending the EOC message), the wireless power receiver (1300) transmits, to the wireless power transmitter (1200), a message notifying a change in the additional power or a change in a load state due to a change in the additional power (for example, at a later time the receiver 1300 having been disconnected from the wired adaptor, may request wireless power from the transmitter 1200, which would represent a change in the additional power).
Regarding claims 3 and 11, Mach et al teaches: The wireless power receiver of claim 1, and the method of claim 9, wherein, after entering the suspend state (after sending the EOC message), the wireless power receiver (1300) transmits, to the wireless power transmitter (1200), update information for updating the power transfer contract (for example, the Tx Sleep field 1906A, Fig. 20, represents information for updating the power transfer contract).
Regarding claims 4 and 12, Mach et al teaches: The wireless power receiver of claim 3, and the method of claim 11, wherein the wireless power receiver (1300) updates the power transfer contract with the wireless power transmitter (1200) during the predetermined time (the communication timing is based on the particular protocol used, see para. [0374], [0468], [0511], [0521], [0536] and Fig. 18).
Regarding claims 5 and 13: The wireless power receiver of claim 4, and the method of claim 12, wherein the predetermined time varies according to a communication method for transmitting the update information (the communication timing is based on, and will vary with, the particular protocol used, see para. [0219-0220], [0374], [0468], [0511], [0521], [0536] and Fig. 18).
Regarding claims 7 and 15, Mach et al teaches: The wireless power receiver of claim 1, and the method of claim 9, wherein the change in the additional power is that a reception of the additional power is stopped during receiving the wireless power or the additional power is received while the wireless power is received (see Fig. 20 and para. [0480], EOC reason code 0x8, indicating that a wired adaptor has been connected, while the wireless power is received).
Regarding claims 8 and 16, Mach et al teaches: The wireless power receiver of claim 7, and the method of claim 15, wherein the additional power is a power supplied through at least one of a power cable and a battery (the additional power is supplied through a power cable of a wired adaptor, see para. [0480]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6 and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Regarding claims 6 and 14, while Mach et al teaches that communication may be performed in-band or out-of-band (see para. [0219-0220]), Mach et al does not specifically teach that, wherein, in a case of transmitting the update information to the wireless power transmitter through out-band communication using a frequency other than an operating frequency, the predetermined time is set shorter compared to a case of transmitting the update information to the wireless power transmitter through in-band communication using the operating frequency for receiving the wireless power.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Shevde et al (US 10,686,330 B2) teaches smart priority detection for wired and wireless charging that selects wired or wireless charging based on determined power transfer capabilities for each of the wired and wireless charging (see Figs. 7-9).
Fan et al (US 10,797,502 B2) teaches a charging method and devices that select wired and wireless charging, or both, based on the particular protocols used (see Fig. 6).
Please see the additional references cited on the attached PTO-892, which relate to wireless and/or wired charging.
/JARED FUREMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859