Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Acknowledgment
The amendment filed on 01/22/2026 has been entered. The present Office action is made with all the suggested amendments being fully considered. Applicant has amended claim 1, canceled claims 2-3, 5-6, and 10-14, and added new claim 15. Accordingly, pending in this application are claims 1, 4, 7-9 and 15.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 4, 7-9 and 15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Regarding new claim 1:
Applicant asserts:
Amended claim 1 requires a joining layer disposed between the power-generating layer and the second conductive layer (porous self-supporting sheet), wherein the organic material of the joining layer "impregnates an interior of the porous self-supporting sheet.
Wei does not teach the amended limitation cited above.
Examiner’s response:
Examiner agrees with the above assertion. However, the amendments necessitated an updated search. Based on the updated search, a new ground of rejection has been applied over new prior art, Liu et al. (US 20190122830 A1; hereinafter “Liu”), Shimizu et al. (US 20130206227 A1; hereinafter “Shimizu”) and Hiroshi et al. (WO 2011046011 A1; hereinafter “Hiroshi”) as described below (see rejection of claim 1 below).
Applicant asserts:
Neither Rybtchinski nor Takada cures this deficiency. Rybtchinski discloses porous CNT films but is silent on a joining layer that impregnates such a film to interface with a perovskite layer. Takada discloses porous layers generally but fails to teach the specific integration of an adhesive/semiconductor polymer impregnating a CNT sheet.
Examiner’s response:
This argument is moot as neither Rybtchinski nor Takada has been relied upon to teach the amended limitation “the organic material of the joining layer impregnates an interior of the porous self-supporting sheet”.
Regarding claims 4, 7-9:
Applicant asserts:
Claims 4 and 9 depend from claim 1 and further include all of its limitations. Accordingly, these claims are also nonobvious and patentable over the cited art for at least by virtue of their dependency and for the additional limitations recited therein.
Claims 7 and 8 depend from claim 1 and include all its limitations. As discussed above, the base combination of Wei, Rybtchinski, and Takada fails to teach the "impregnated" joining layer structure of independent claim 1. Yukio, cited only for specific CNT parameters, does not cure this deficiency regarding the joining layer structure.
Therefore, claims 7 and 8 are nonobvious patentable for at least the same reasons as claim 1. Therefore, the combination is improper, and Applicant respectfully requests withdrawal of these rejections.
Examiner’s response:
This argument is moot as claim 1 stands rejected over a new ground of rejection over Liu et al. (US 20190122830 A1; hereinafter “Liu”) in view of Shimizu et al. (US 20130206227 A1; hereinafter “Shimizu”) and Hiroshi et al. (WO 2011046011 A1; hereinafter “Hiroshi”).
Regarding new claim 15:
Applicant asserts:
New Claim 15 is a method claim depending from claim 1 and reciting the steps of immersing the porous sheet in a solution, pulling it up, heating and drying it to form the joining layer on the sheet, and then affixing it to the power-generating layer.
As noted above, Wei teaches forming the functional layer on the photoactive layer, not the electrode. Wei does not teach the specific sequence of treating the electrode sheet separately (dip-dry) to create a pre-impregnated joining layer before assembly.
Since the cited art fails to teach this specific process sequence, claim 15 is patentable.
Examiner’s response:
This argument is moot as claim 15 stands rejected over a new ground of rejection over Liu et al. (US 20190122830 A1; hereinafter “Liu”) in view of Shimizu et al. (US 20130206227 A1; hereinafter “Shimizu”) and Hiroshi et al. (WO 2011046011 A1; hereinafter “Hiroshi”).
Therefore, claims 1, 4, 7-9 and 15 stand rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (US 20190122830 A1; hereinafter “Liu”) in view of Shimizu et al. (US 20130206227 A1; hereinafter “Shimizu”) and Hiroshi et al. (WO 2011046011 A1; hereinafter “Hiroshi”).
In re claim 1, Liu discloses in fig. 1, a photoelectric conversion element comprising a unified laminate that includes, in stated order,
a light-transmitting base plate 100 (e.g., a glass layer; ¶20),
a first conductive layer 111 (¶22),
a power-generating layer 140 (¶2-3, 15; the absorbing layer 140 including the perovskite structure 143 generates power for the perovskite solar cell. Therefore, the absorbing layer 140 is functionally indistinguishable to a power-generating layer), and
a second conductive layer (211a, 230a) (¶16),
wherein the second conductive layer (211a, 230a) is formed of a porous self-supporting sheet that at least contains one or more single-walled carbon nanotubes (¶16),
the power-generating layer 140 contains a perovskite compound (¶15),
a joining layer 213a is disposed in at least a portion of a region between the power-generating layer 140 and the second conductive layer (211a, 230a) (¶16),
the joining layer 213a is formed of an organic material (e.g., Polymethyl methacrylate, PMMA; ¶34) and has a different composition and property to the power-generating layer 143 and the second conductive layer (211a, 230a), and
in the at least a portion of the region where the joining layer 213a is disposed, the organic material of the joining layer impregnates an interior of the porous self-supporting sheet (211a, 230a) (as shown in fig. 1; the organic material of the joining layer 213a impregnates an interior of the porous self-supporting sheet 211a, 230a).
Liu does not expressly disclose a transparent conductive film.
In the same field of endeavor, Shimizu discloses in fig. 9, a transparent conductive film 55 above a transparent substrate 54 (¶167).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to employ the teachings of Shimizu into the photoelectric conversion element of Liu to have low sheet resistance and a high light transmittance (¶167 of Shimizu).
Furthermore, Liu discloses the joining layer 213a is formed of an organic material (e.g., Polymethyl methacrylate, PMMA; ¶34), but does not expressly disclose the organic material is a polymer material that displays adhesiveness and/or a polymer material that displays semiconductor properties.
In the same field of endeavor, Hiroshi discloses in fig. 3, a transparent electrode 13 including a transparent resin layer 16 formed of an organic material (e.g., Polymethyl methacrylate, PMMA; page 22, 6th paragraph) which displays adhesiveness (“The transparent resin layer related to the transparent conductive film of the present invention functions an adhesive between the transparent barrier layer and the transparent conductive layer”; page 10, last but one paragraph).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to employ the teachings of Hiroshi into the photoelectric conversion element of Liu in order to form a transparent electrode structure having excellent barrier properties, conductivity, chemical resistance, and in addition, suitable for dehydration treatment and smoothness (page 2, 1st paragraph).
In re claim 9, Liu, as modified by Shimizu and Hiroshi, discloses the photoelectric conversion element according to claim 1 outlined above.
Liu further discloses in fig. 1, wherein the first conductive layer 111 contains either or both of a metal oxide (e.g., fluorine-doped tin oxide (FTO); ¶22, 26) and an organic compound.
In re claim 15, Liu, as modified by Shimizu and Hiroshi, discloses the photoelectric conversion element according to claim 1 outlined above.
Liu further discloses a method of producing the photoelectric conversion element according to claim 1, the method comprising:
immersing the porous self-supporting sheet in an organic material-containing solution having the organic material dissolved in a poor solvent (¶44-48);
subsequently pulling up the porous self-supporting sheet from the organic material-containing solution (¶44-48);
subsequently heating and drying the porous self-supporting sheet so as to form the joining layer on the porous self-supporting sheet (¶44-48); and
subsequently affixing the porous self-supporting sheet to the power-generating layer with the joining layer interposed therebetween (¶49).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu, as modified by Shimizu and Hiroshi, as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Rybtchinski et al. (US 20200140439 A1; hereinafter “Rybtchinski”).
Regarding claim 4, Liu, as modified by Shimizu and Hiroshi, discloses the photoelectric conversion element according to claim 1.
Liu, as modified by Shimizu and Hiroshi, does not disclose wherein the porous self-supporting sheet has a thickness of 20 µm or more.
In the same field of endeavor, Rybtchinski discloses a porous self-supporting sheet formed from carbon nanotubes (¶254-265), wherein the porous self-supporting sheet has a thickness of 20 µm or more (Rybtchinski ¶193, 297).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to form the porous self-supporting sheet of the photoelectric conversion device of Liu, as modified by Shimizu and Hiroshi, having a thickness of 20 µm or more to attain advantageous properties, such as unchanged non linear optical (NLO) effects over time and after heating (¶297-298).
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu, as modified by Shimizu and Hiroshi, as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Yukio et al. WO2018159638 (hereinafter Yukio).
Regarding claim 7, Liu, as modified by Shimizu and Hiroshi, discloses the photoelectric conversion element according to claim 1.
Liu, as modified by Shimizu and Hiroshi, does not disclose wherein the single-walled carbon nanotubes have an average diameter (Av) and a diameter standard deviation (σ) satisfying a relationship: 0.20 <(3σ/Av) < 0.60.
In the same field of endeavor, Yukio discloses single-walled carbon nanotubes in a free-standing film with an average diameter (Av) and a diameter standard deviation (σ) satisfying a relationship: 0.20 <(3σ/Av) < 0.60 (Yukio ¶24).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to use nanotubes as disclosed by Yukio in the device of Liu, as modified by Shimizu and Hiroshi, to enhance structural integrity (Yukio ¶24).
Regarding claim 8, Liu, as modified by Shimizu and Hiroshi, discloses the photoelectric conversion element according to claim 1.
Liu, as modified by Shimizu and Hiroshi, does not disclose single-walled carbon nanotubes in a free-standing film wherein the single-walled carbon nanotubes exhibit a convex upward shape in a t-plot obtained from an adsorption isotherm.
In the same field of endeavor, Yukio discloses single-walled carbon nanotubes in a free-standing film wherein the single-walled carbon nanotubes exhibit a convex upward shape in a t-plot obtained from an adsorption isotherm (Yukio ¶24).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to use nanotubes as disclosed by Yukio in the device of Liu, as modified by Shimizu and Hiroshi, to enhance structural integrity (Yukio ¶24).
Conclusion
/NILUFA RAHIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893