DETAILED ACTION
Election Response
The Election filed 12/18/2025, in response to the Office Action of 9/17/2025, is acknowledged and has been entered. Applicants elected without traverse Group I, (claims 1-3, 5-18, 30 and 31), and elected the following species: (A)antigen that binds to the immune cell engaging agent (IEA) as CD3, (B) PD-L1 as the first tumor associated antigen (TA1) and (C) EGFR as the second tumor associated antigen (TA2).
Claims 1-3, 5-18, 23-27 and 30-31 are pending. Applicant is correct and claim 27 belong to group II. Claims 23-27 have been withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner under 35 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to non-elected inventions. Claims 1-3, 5-18, and 30-31 are currently under prosecution.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claimsare rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. This is a WRITTEN DESCRIPTION rejection.
The claims are drawn to a therapeutic composition comprising a multivalent antibody comprising a first variable domain that binds a first tumor antigen (TA1), a second variable domain that binds a second tumor antigen (TA2), and a third variable domain that binds an immune cell engaging antigen (IEA); and wherein the composition further comprises a second binding molecule that binds TA1 or TA2. No structure of the multivalent antibody, or sequences of the first, second or third variable domains, or the second binding molecule is recited. Dependent claims 6-8 recite the targets of the variable domains.
The instant specification discloses the following: (1) sequences of the CD3 variable domain [0080-0085], (2) sequences of the PD-L1 [0097-0105], (3) sequences of EGFR 0112-0117] No other structure of sequence of any other tumor antigen or immune cell engaging antigen is disclosed in the specification.
By the time of the filing of the instant application, it was well established in the art that the formation of an intact antigen-binding site in an antibody usually required the association of the complete heavy and light chain variable regions of a given antibody, each of which consists of three “complementarity determining regions” (“CDRs”) which provide the majority of the contact residues for the binding of the antibody to its target epitope. E.g., Almagro & Fransson, Frontiers in Bioscience 2008; 13:1619-33; (see Section 3 “Antibody Structure and the Antigen Binding Site” and Figure 1). Humanized antibodies comprise only the CDRs, or in some cases an abbreviated subset of residues within the CDRs, of a parental rodent antibody in the context of human framework sequences. Id. at Section 4. All of the CDRs of the heavy and light chain, in their proper order of CDR1, then 2, then 3, and in the context of framework sequences which maintain their required conformation are generally required to produce a humanized antibody in which the heavy and light chains associate to form an antigen-binding region that binds the same antigen as the parental rodent antibody. Id. at Section 4.
Antibody binding to the same antigen, or even the same epitope on that antigen, can be accomplished with an impressively wide variety of antibody structures, even when the antibodies are limited to those from a particular source (Gershoni et al., Epitope Mapping, Biodrugs 2007; 21 (3): 145-156 page 146 section 1.1). The skilled artisan therefore understood that antibodies from a variety of different sources may bind the same antigen and even mediate the same functional effects, but differ widely in the details of the structure of their antigen-binding sites, particularly in the amino acid sequence and length of VH-CDR3.
Further, it is not possible to predict the amino acid sequence when an epitope is recited, because there are many different epitope arrangements, such as linear and discontinuous epitopes that is dictated by the unique interaction between an antibody and its cognate epitope (Blythe et al., Benchmarking B cell epitope prediction: Underperformance of existing methods, Protein Science (2005), 14:246–248 pg. 246) . 3D structural analyses of antibody-epitope binding highlighting that the deficiency in the ability to predict the structural features of an antibody when the epitope is disclosed (Schreiber et al.,3D-Epitope-Explorer (3DEX): Localization of Conformational Epitopes within Three-Dimensional Structures of Proteins, Wiley Interscience, 2005 42–44, 60596, page 879).
The structure activity relationship of the CDR antigen binding region that binds to any tumor antigen or any immune cell engaging domain is not known and the binding epitopes cannot be predicted based on the antibody sequences.
To provide adequate written description and evidence of possession of the claimed composition antibody genus, the instant specification can structurally describe representative multivalent antibodies, or describe structural features common to the members of the genus, which features constitute a substantial portion of the genus. Alternatively, the specification can show that the claimed invention is complete by disclosure of sufficiently detailed, relevant identifying characteristics, functional characteristics when coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between function and structure, or some combination of such characteristics (see University of California v. Eli Lilly and Co., 119 F.3d 1559, 43 USPQ2d 1398 (Fed. Cir. 1997) and Enzo Biochem, Inc. V. Gen-Probe Inc.).
Although Applicants may argue that it is possible to screen for antibodies that function as claimed, the court found in (Rochester v. Searle, 358 F.3d 916, Fed Cir., 2004) that screening assays are not sufficient to provide adequate written description for an invention because they are merely a wish or plan for obtaining the claimed chemical invention. “As we held in Lilly, “[a]n adequate written description of a DNA … ‘requires a precise definition, such as by structure, formula, chemical name, or physical properties,’ not a mere wish or plan for obtaining the claimed chemical invention.” 119 F.3d at 1566 (quoting Fiers, 984 F.2d at 1171). For reasons stated above, that requirement applies just as well to non-DNA (or RNA) chemical inventions.” Knowledge of screening methods provides no information about the structure of any future antibodies yet to be discovered that may function as claimed.
Given the lack of representative examples to support the full scope of the claimed antibodies, and lack of reasonable structure-function correlation with regards to the unknown sequences in the variable domains or CDRs of the antibodies that function as claimed, the present claims lack adequate written description.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The phrases “preferably” and “more preferably” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrases are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP 2173.05(d)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-7, 9-13, 14-18, 30 and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Granda et al (WO2019195535A1; Published 10/10/2019; cited in IDS 7/29/2022), in view of Stuhler et al (US20150079093 A1; Published 3/19/2015) and Finnefrock et al (US20110008369A1; Published 1/13/2011)
Granda teaches that multispecific binding molecules engage at least two tumor associated antigens, in addition to a TCR complex, such as CD3. Granda teaches a therapeutic composition comprising a multivalent antibody: (1) Antigen-binding module 1 – that binds to a tumor associated antigen (TAA1), (2) Antigen binding module 2 - that binds to a tumor associated antigen (TAA2), and (3) An antigen binding module 3 that binds to a human T – cell receptor (TCR), which is CD3. [0006-0009] Granda second binding molecule; such as an immune cell antibody. [0806, 0863, 0864, 0867-0869] Granda teaches that additional agent may be administered simultaneously or consecutively. [0863]
Regarding claim 2, Granda teaches that the multivalent antibody comprises an Fc region. [0129-0131] Regarding claim 3, Granda teaches that the therapeutic composition of claim 1, wherein the third variable domain and the second variable domain are associated with an Fc region, and the first variable domain is linked to the third variable domain. [see figure 2] Regarding clam 5, Granda teaches that the first, second, and/or third variable domain comprises a common light chain variable region. [0109] Regarding claims 6 and 7, Granda teaches that the variable domain that binds to the immune cell engaging antigen binds to CD3, and that the variable domain that binds to TAA1 or TAA2, may be PD-L1. [0318-0319; 0329, 0345] Regarding claim 9, Granda teaches that the first tumor associated antigen is expressed on non-tumor cells. [0088, 0327] Regarding claim 18, Granda teaches that the multivalent antibody can be formulated as a pharmaceutical composition that comprises a pharmaceutically acceptable excipient or carrier. [0791-0793] Regarding claim 30, Granda teaches a vector comprising a nucleic acid encoding the heavy chain variable region of the first, second and third variable region of the multivalent antibody [0081, 0693] Regarding claim 31, Granda teaches a host cell comprising a nucleic acid encoding the heavy chain variable region of the first, second and third variable domain of the multivalent antibody. [0052, 00692-0701]
It is noted that textural instructions are viewed as a recitation of intended use and therefore do not differentiate the claims from the prior art (see MPEP 2112.01). Claims 15-17 reads on the instructions for administering the multivalent antibody and/or the second binding molecule.
However, Granda does not teach the following that the additional agent is a second binding molecule that binds to TA1 or TA2.
Stuhler teaches a set of polypeptides that comprise the following: (1) a first polypeptide that binds to antigen "A1", (2) a second polypeptide binds to target "A2", and (3) a functional domain. Stuhler teaches that these antigens "A1" and "A2" are different from one another, and that the targeting moiety that targets the antigen are variable domains. [0033-0034, 0105, 0126, 0220] Stuhler teaches that it would be advantageous to target cells that simultaneously express a combination of antigens [0012] Stuhler teaches that the functional domain is a T-cell engaging domain that specifically binds to CD3. [0186] Stuhler teaches that antigen 1 “A1” is EGFR. [0163] Stuhler teaches that antigen A1 and/or antigen A2 are expressed on surface of cells of a tumor on precursor cells, or expressed on non-tumor cells. [0103-0104, 0156]
Finnefrock teaches a binding molecule that binds to PD-L1. [Abstract] Finnefrock teaches that the PD-1 binding protein is a bispecific antibody, with reduced effector function. [0085] Finnefrock teaches that the binding protein may be part of a kit. [00222] Finnefrock teaches that administration of the binding protein can be alone or in combination with other agents, that includes a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier. [0187, 0191, 0200, 0220]
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to include a second binding molecule that binds to a tumor antigen in the composition of Granda. One would have been motivated to, and have a reasonable expectation of success, because: (1) Granda teaches that multispecific binding molecules engage at least two tumor associated antigens, in addition to a TCR complex, such as CD3 and Granda second binding molecule; such as an immune cell antibody, which may be administered simultaneously or consecutively; (2) Stuhler teaches a set of polypeptides that comprise the following: (1) a first polypeptide that binds to antigen "A1", (2) a second polypeptide binds to target "A2", and (3) a functional domain, (3) Stuhler teaches that these antigens "A1" and "A2" are different from one another, and that the targeting moiety that targets the antigen are variable domains, (3) Finnefrock teaches a binding molecule that binds to PD-L1, and teaches that this agent may be combined with other agents. Given the known methods of constructing a multivalent antibody comprising first and second variable domains that bind to tumor antigens, and a third variable domain that binds to an immune cell engaging agent, and given the known methods of combining this antibody with a second antibody or binding molecule as taught by Granda, and given the known methods of other binding molecules that target tumor antigens, one of skilled in the art could have pursued adding the second binding molecule that targets a tumor associated antigen to the multivalent antibody of Granda, with a reasonable expectation of success.
It is noted that claims 14-17 require a kit of parts comprising the multivalent antibody and the second binding molecule. One would have been motivated to, and have a reasonable expectation of success, because: (1) Granda teaches that multispecific binding molecules engage at least two tumor associated antigens, in addition to a TCR complex, such as CD3 and Granda second binding molecule; such as an immune cell antibody, which may be administered simultaneously or consecutively; and (2) Finnefrock teaches a binding molecule that binds to PD-L1 that may be included in a kit, and teaches that the binding molecule can be administered with other agents. Given the known uses of kits, and given the known use of other agents comprised in a kit, one of skill in the art could have put together a kit with the claimed therapeutic composition, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claim(s) 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Granda et al (WO2019195535A1; Published 10/10/2019), Stuhler et al (US20150079093 A1; Published 3/19/2015), and Finnefrock et al (US20110008369A1; Published 1/13/2011), as applied to claims 1-3, 5-7, 9-18, 30 and 31 above, and further in view of Wang et al (US20210403575 A1; filing date 10/22/2019).
The teachings of Granda, Stuhler, and Finnefrock are recited above. However, they do not teach that TA2 binds to EGFR (claim 8).
Wang teaches a bispecific antibody that binds to EGFR and PD-L1. [0006-0007, 0028, 0029, 0047] Wang teaches that this agent can be used as monotherapy or can be combined with other agents. [0012] Wang teaches that the bispecific antibody that targets two different antigens can build a bridge between a target cell and functional molecule, and stimulates an immune response having guidance property. [0009]
It is noted that claim 8 requires that the variable domain that binds to TA2 binds to EGFR. One would have been motivated to, and have a reasonable expectation of success, because: (1) Granda teaches that multispecific binding molecules engage at least two tumor associated antigens, in addition to a TCR complex, such as CD3 and Granda second binding molecule; such as an immune cell antibody, which may be administered simultaneously or consecutively; (2) Stuhler teaches a set of polypeptides that comprise the following: (1) a first polypeptide that binds to antigen "A1", (2) a second polypeptide binds to target "A2", and (3) a functional domain, (3) Stuhler teaches that the antigen targets may include EGFR, and (4) Wang teaches a bispecific agent that targets both EGFR and PD-L1 and teaches the known benefits of targeting these two tumor antigens. Given the known agents that targets multiple tumor antigens as taught by the prior art, one of skilled in the art could have constructed the therapeutic composition of Granda to include EGFR as second tumor associated antigen.
Conclusion
/SARAH A ALSOMAIRY/Examiner, Art Unit 1646
/Zachariah Lucas/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1600