DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21, 23, 25, 27-30 and 32-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsuji WO2018186328 (USPGPub 20200113216 relied on herein for translation and reference) and Loganathan “Health-promoting effects of red palm oil: evidence from animal and human studies” Nutrition Reviews, Vol. 75, Issue 2, Feb. 2017, Pages 98–113.
Regarding claims 21-23, Tsuji teaches incorporating an oxidized palm oil in a food product comprising high intensity sweetener. [0031,0034,0043] Oxidized palm oil inherently comprises carotenoid degradation products. The carotenoid degradation products are produced by heating and oxidation treatment of the carotenoid that is inherently present in palm oil. [0015] The oxidized palm oil of Tsuji comprises up to 100% of the taste improver disclosed and can be incorporated into a food product comprising high intensity sweetener in proportions of 0.001% by mass to less than 100% by mass. [0047]
Tsuji is silent regarding the carotenoid content of the palm oil disclosed.
Loganathan teaches “Red palm oil has been known for its versatility as both a food and a health remedy for centuries. It was valued as a sacred food by the pharaohs of ancient Egypt.” (Pg. 99) Loganathan details a variety of health benefits attributed to red palm oil. (see all) “Its nutritional properties are conferred mainly via its constituent phytonutrients.” (Pg. 99) Red palm oil comprises 600-750 ppm carotenoids of which 41.0% are β-carotene (246-307.5 ppm) and 41.3% are α-carotene (247.8-309.75 ppm).(Table 1) As such, red palm oil has a total content of β-carotene and α-carotene of 493.8-617.25 ppm.
Tsuji and Loganathan are both directed to compositions comprising palm oil. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to have used red palm oil as the palm oil in Tsuji in order to impart the health benefits of the phytonutrients contained in red palm oil to the composition disclosed.
For the embodiment where oxidized palm oil comprises 100% of the taste improver of Tsuji, the concentration of carotenoids in the taste improver prior to oxidation would be 600-750 ppm. When the taste improver is added to a food product in a proportion of 0.001% or more the carotenoid degradation content in terms of carotenoid prior to oxidation would be 0.6 ppm or more. This proportion overlaps with the proportions recited in claims 21 and 23. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990)
Therefore, the modification of Tsuji with Loganathan would have produced a method as recited in claims 21 and 23.
Regarding claims 25, 27, 30 and 32, the modification of Tsuji with Loganathan comprises heating and oxidation of red palm oil which would necessarily degrade the beta carotene present in red palm oil. [0036]
Regarding claims 28 and 33, Tsuji teaches the oxidized palm oil may be powdered. [0052]
Regarding claims 29 and 34, Tsuji teaches that the composition disclosed can be included in fruit juice drinks, soft drinks and alcoholic beverages.[0042] It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to have mixed the aqueous fruit juice drinks, soft drinks or alcoholic beverages containing carotenoid degradation products disclosed by Tsuji with other alcoholic beverages because fruit juice, soft drinks and alcoholic beverages were universally known in the food art to be suitable mixers for alcoholic beverages. Therefore, the method of claim 29 is rendered obvious by Tsuji.
Regarding claim 35, Loganathan teaches red palm oil comprises 600-750 ppm carotenoids of which 41.0% are β-carotene (246-307.5 ppm) and 41.3% are α-carotene (247.8-309.75 ppm).(Table 1) As such, red palm oil has a total content of β-carotene and α-carotene of 493.8-617.25 ppm.
Regarding claim 36, Tsuji teaches processing the oil to a peroxide value of 15-180 which encompasses the proportion recited in claim 36. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990)
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/Michele L Jacobson/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1793