This office action is in response to the pre-appeal conference decision on March 2, 2026.
Prosecution is reopened and a new grounds of rejection are set forth below.
Claims 1, 3, 5-7, 9-14, and 17-19 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5, 6, 9, 12, 13, 14, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Evanyk (US Publication 20030205566A1) in further view of “Chemical Process Dynamics and Controls Book I” by University of Michigan (publicly accessible July 1, 2017); hereinafter referred to as University, Wojsznis et al. (US Patent 5453925A), and Jeter et al. (US Publication 20030080156A1).
Regarding claim 1, Evanyk teaches a method for tuning a closed-loop controller for a hot melt liquid dispensing system having an applicator configured to dispense hot melt liquid and a hot melt liquid heater associated with the applicator (FIG. 1 is a perspective view of novel adhesive dispensing appliance 10 including ... heating element 20 ... dispensing the melt through exit nozzle 8)([0028] and [0029]), the closed-loop controller configured to receive a hot melt liquid temperature setpoint and a measured hot melt liquid temperature process variable and output a duty cycle control variable for controlling the hot melt liquid heater (Manual control switch 40, which will be explained in detail hereafter, has multiple positions such as low, medium and high ... that can be selected by the user to designate the heat desired ... Temperature sensor 68 is coupled to comparator 70 ... heated to the desired temperature, and that is sensed by sensor 68, an output signal is generated by comparator 70 that causes inverting diode 73 to remove its signal on output line 76)([0030] and [0035]), the method comprising:
setting the hot melt liquid temperature setpoint (Input switch 40 is used for selecting select low, medium and high heat)([0036]; a user sets desired setpoint to low, medium, or high);
based on the hot melt liquid temperature setpoint, maintaining the hot melt liquid dispensing system at a steady state with respect to the measured hot melt liquid temperature process variable according to the duty cycle control variable (The duty cycle may be adjusted manually, or automatically based on the temperature of the adhesive in the melt chamber … the greater the differential between the actual temperature, as detected by sensor 68, and the desired temperature, as indicted by the position of manual control switch 40, the longer the duty cycle)([0014] and [0038]); and
supplying the hot melt liquid to the applicator (dispensing the melt through exit nozzle 8)([0029]).
Although Evanyk discloses of adjusting the control variable to control the hot melt liquid heater (For every four pulses received by circuit 86, only one is gated to transistor 66 allowing transistor 66 to power heating element 20 only one-fourth of the time possible for heating (i.e., one-fourth of the duty cycle))([0036]). Evanyk differs from the claim in that Evanyk fails to teach alternatively adjusting the control variable by positive and negative step value to cause sustained oscillation of the measured process variable, determining ultimate period with amplitude associated with the sustained oscillation, determining ultimate gain based on the step value and the amplitude of the sustained oscillation, determining at least one of a proportional constant, an integral constant, or a derivative constant based on at least one of the ultimate period or the ultimate gain, and implementing control comprising a PID controller using the proportional constant, the integral constant, and the derivative constant. However, alternatively adjusting a control variable by positive and negative step value to cause sustained oscillation of a measured process variable, determining ultimate period with amplitude associated with the sustained oscillation, determining ultimate gain based on the step value and the amplitude of the sustained oscillation, determining at least one of a proportional constant, an integral constant, or a derivative constant based on at least one of the ultimate period or the ultimate gain, and implementing control comprising a PID controller using the proportional constant, the integral constant, and the derivative constant is taught by University (A variety of process controls are used to manipulate processes, however the most simple and often most effective is the PID controller ... The controller attempts to correct the error between a measured process variable and desired setpoint by calculating the difference and then performing a corrective action to adjust the process accordingly. A PID controller controls a process through three parameters: Proportional (P), Integral (I), and Derivative (D) ... The most common classical controller tuning methods are the Ziegler-Nichols ... The equation below shows the PID algorithm as discussed in the previous PID Control section ... The Ziegler-Nichols closed-loop tuning method allows you to use the ultimate gain value, Ku, and the ultimate period of oscillation, Pu, to calculate Kc ... You can obtain the controller constants Kc, Ti, and Td in a system with feedback ... Create a small disturbance in the loop by changing the set point. Adjust the proportional, increasing and/or decreasing, the gain until the oscillations have constant amplitude. Record the gain value (Ku) and period of oscillation (Pu) ... Plug these values into the Ziegler-Nichols closed loop equations and determine the necessary settings for the controller)(pages 658, 659, 687, 693, and 694; notably tuning (i.e., alternately adjusting a control variable by increasing and decreasing to cause sustained oscillation) is shown in page 693 and determining proportional, an integral, and a derivative constants is shown in page 694). The examiner notes Evanyk and University teach a method for controlling controllers. As such, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Evanyk to include the adjusting, determining, and implementing of University such that the method performs tuning by alternatively adjusting a control variable by positive and negative step value to cause sustained oscillation, determines ultimate gain and ultimate period of the sustained oscillation, determines proportional, an integral, and a derivative constant values, and implements PID control using the proportional constant, the integral constant, and the derivative constant. One would be motivated to make such a combination to provide the advantage of controlling temperatures in a simple and effective manner.
Evanyk-University differs from the claim in that Evanyk-University fails to explicitly teach measuring amplitude at sustained oscillation, wherein amplitude and period are determined based on a subset of cycles. However, measuring amplitude at sustained oscillation, wherein amplitude and period are determined based on a subset of cycles is taught by Wojsznis (During the first portion of the oscillation procedure, the control signal that is applied to the process under control is stepped ... After the process output signal change reaches a predetermined relay hysteresis value, the relay is switched to apply to the process input an input of the opposite direction ... This relay switching is repeated to produce one or more controlled oscillation periods, and from these periods, the Ultimate Period, Tu, and Ultimate Gain, Ku, of the process under control are determined … Referring to FIG. 3, shown is a time graph of a process variable, PV. Superimposed on the graph of process variable, PV ... Ultimate Period, Tu, is calculated as the average of differences between every other zero-crossing of process variable PV ... Ultimate Gain, Ku, is calculated from the formula ... a is the average amplitude of the oscillation in the process variable during the second portion of the self oscillation)(column 2 lines 1-21, column 6 lines 59-61, and column 7 lines 16-27; Figure 3 – determining amplitude and period for a subset of cycles (i.e., first Tu of sustained oscillation portion) is shown). The examiner notes Evanyk, University, and Wojsznis teach a method for controlling controllers. As such, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Evanyk-University to include the measuring of Wojsznis such that the method measures amplitude at sustained oscillation, wherein amplitude and period are determined based on a subset of cycles. One would be motivated to make such a combination to provide the advantage of calculating controller parameters in an accurate manner.
Although, Evanyk-University-Wojsznis discloses of supplying the hot liquid to the applicator (Evanyk - FIG. 1 is a perspective view of novel adhesive dispensing appliance 10 including ... heating element 20 ... dispensing the melt through exit nozzle 8)([0028] and [0029]), Evanyk-University-Wojsznis differs from the claim in that Evanyk-University-Wojsznis fails to teach supplying the hot liquid using a hot melt liquid pump. However, using a hot melt liquid pump to supply hot liquid is taught by Jeter (Referring to FIG. 1, a hot melt adhesive system 10 is shown, including a dispensing unit 20 ... The dispensing unit 20 includes a tank 22 ... includes one or more tank heaters 34 for melting and heating the liquid adhesive material 24 in the tank 22 ... A vertically-oriented piston pump 58 coupled to the manifold 26 pumps liquid adhesive 24 from the tank 22)([0019] and [0020]). The examiner notes Evanyk, University, Wojsznis, and Jeter teach a method for controlling controllers. As such, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Evanyk-University-Wojsznis to include the supplying of Jeter such that the method utilizes a hot melt liquid pump to supply hot liquid. One would be motivated to make such a combination to provide the advantage of facilitating precise flow control.
Regarding claim 3, Evanyk-University-Wojsznis-Jeter teach the method of 1, further comprising generating the duty cycle control variable for controlling the hot melt liquid heater implemented in at least one of an adhesive supply heater, a manifold heater, an applicator heater, and/or a hose heater (Evanyk – Further along glue path 6 is melt chamber 7 which is surrounded by one or more electrical heating element 20 for communicating radiant heat energy ... For every four pulses received by circuit 86, only one is gated to transistor 66 allowing transistor 66 to power heating element 20 only one-fourth of the time possible for heating (i.e., one-fourth of the duty cycle))([0029] and [0036]), wherein:
the hot melt liquid temperature setpoint comprises a temperature setpoint threshold range defined by a lower temperature threshold value and an upper temperature threshold value (University - To control the temperature ... IF (T<96.5) THEN ... IF (T>97.5) THEN)(page 462),
the duty cycle control variable is adjusted by the negative sign of the step value responsive to determining that the measured hot melt liquid temperature process variable is above an upper temperature threshold value, and the duty cycle control variable is adjusted by the positive sign of the step value responsive to determining that the measured hot melt liquid temperature process variable is below the lower temperature threshold value (University - The control system shown is called a closed-loop system or a feedback system because the measured value of the controlled variable is returned or "fed back" to the comparator. In the comparator the controlled variable is compared with the desired value or set point. If there is any difference between the measured variable and the set point, an error is generated. This error enters a controller)(page 654).
Regarding claim 5, Evanyk-University-Wojsznis-Jeter teach the method of claim 1, wherein the ultimate gain is inversely proportional to the amplitude of the sustained oscillation (University - The most common classical controller tuning methods are the Ziegler-Nichols and Cohen-Coon methods)(page 687; in Ziegler–Nichols control an increase ultimate gain results in a decrease in amplitude and conversely a decrease in ultimate gain results in an increase in amplitude).
Regarding claim 6, Evanyk-University-Wojsznis-Jeter teach the method of claim 1, wherein the proportional constant is based on and proportional to the ultimate gain (University - Plug these values into the Ziegler-Nichols closed loop equations and determine the necessary settings for the controller)(page 694; equation to determine a proportional constant that is proportional and based on ultimate gain is shown in Table 1 of the page).
Regarding claim 9, Evanyk-University-Wojsznis-Jeter teach the method of claim 1, further comprising generating the duty cycle control variable for controlling the hot melt liquid heater implemented in at least one of an adhesive supply heater, a manifold heater, an applicator heater, and/or a hose heater (Evanyk – Further along glue path 6 is melt chamber 7 which is surrounded by one or more electrical heating element 20 for communicating radiant heat energy ... For every four pulses received by circuit 86, only one is gated to transistor 66 allowing transistor 66 to power heating element 20 only one-fourth of the time possible for heating (i.e., one-fourth of the duty cycle))([0029] and [0036]), wherein the amplitude of the sustained oscillation comprises an average amplitude of the subset of cycles and the ultimate period comprises an average period over the subset of cycles (Wojsznis - FIG. 4. Ultimate Period, Tu, is calculated as the average of differences between every other zero-crossing of process variable PV (i.e., the average of the difference between time t2 and t4, the difference between t3 and t5, and the difference between t4 and t6). Ultimate Gain, Ku, is calculated from the formula … a is the average amplitude of the oscillation in the process variable during the second portion of the self oscillation)(column 7 lines 16-27).
Regarding claim 12, Evanyk teaches a system, comprising:
an applicator configured to dispense hot melt liquid (FIG. 1 is a perspective view of novel adhesive dispensing appliance 10 including … dispensing the melt through exit nozzle 8)([0028] and [0029]);
a hot melt liquid heater associated with the applicator (FIG. 1 is a perspective view of novel adhesive dispensing appliance 10 including … heating element 20)([0028] and [0029]); and
a control system configured to implement a closed-loop controller, the closed-loop controller being configured to receive a hot melt liquid temperature setpoint and a measured hot melt liquid temperature process variable and output a duty cycle control variable for controlling the hot melt liquid heater (Manual control switch 40, which will be explained in detail hereafter, has multiple positions such as low, medium and high ... that can be selected by the user to designate the heat desired ... Temperature sensor 68 is coupled to comparator 70 ... heated to the desired temperature, and that is sensed by sensor 68, an output signal is generated by comparator 70 that causes inverting diode 73 to remove its signal on output line 76)([0030] and [0035]), and the control system being further configured to tune the closed-loop controller by:
setting the hot melt liquid temperature setpoint (Input switch 40 is used for selecting select low, medium and high heat)([0036]; a user sets desired setpoint to low, medium, or high);
based on the hot melt liquid temperature setpoint, maintaining the system at a steady state with respect to the measured hot melt liquid temperature process variable and the duty cycle control variable (The duty cycle may be adjusted manually, or automatically based on the temperature of the adhesive in the melt chamber … the greater the differential between the actual temperature, as detected by sensor 68, and the desired temperature, as indicted by the position of manual control switch 40, the longer the duty cycle)([0014] and [0038]);
… supply the hot melt liquid to the applicator (dispensing the melt through exit nozzle 8)([0029]),
wherein the control system is further configured to generate the duty cycle control variable to control another hot melt liquid heater implemented in at least one of an adhesive supply heater, a manifold heater, and/or a hose heater (Further along glue path 6 is melt chamber 7 which is surrounded by one or more electrical heating element 20 for communicating radiant heat energy ... For every four pulses received by circuit 86, only one is gated to transistor 66 allowing transistor 66 to power heating element 20 only one-fourth of the time possible for heating (i.e., one-fourth of the duty cycle))([0029] and [0036]; any or all (i.e., one or more) heating elements are controlled).
Evanyk differs from the claim in that Evanyk fails to teach alternatively adjusting the control variable by positive and negative step value to cause sustained oscillation of the measured process variable, determining ultimate period with amplitude associated with the sustained oscillation, determining ultimate gain based on the step value and the amplitude of the sustained oscillation, determining at least one of a proportional constant, an integral constant, or a derivative constant based on at least one of the ultimate period or the ultimate gain, and implementing control comprising a PID controller using the proportional constant, the integral constant, and the derivative constant. However, alternatively adjusting a control variable by positive and negative step value to cause sustained oscillation of a measured process variable, determining ultimate period with amplitude associated with the sustained oscillation, determining ultimate gain based on the step value and the amplitude of the sustained oscillation, determining at least one of a proportional constant, an integral constant, or a derivative constant based on at least one of the ultimate period or the ultimate gain, and implementing control comprising a PID controller using the proportional constant, the integral constant, and the derivative constant is taught by University (A variety of process controls are used to manipulate processes, however the most simple and often most effective is the PID controller ... The controller attempts to correct the error between a measured process variable and desired setpoint by calculating the difference and then performing a corrective action to adjust the process accordingly. A PID controller controls a process through three parameters: Proportional (P), Integral (I), and Derivative (D) ... The most common classical controller tuning methods are the Ziegler-Nichols ... The equation below shows the PID algorithm as discussed in the previous PID Control section ... The Ziegler-Nichols closed-loop tuning method allows you to use the ultimate gain value, Ku, and the ultimate period of oscillation, Pu, to calculate Kc ... You can obtain the controller constants Kc, Ti, and Td in a system with feedback ... Create a small disturbance in the loop by changing the set point. Adjust the proportional, increasing and/or decreasing, the gain until the oscillations have constant amplitude. Record the gain value (Ku) and period of oscillation (Pu) ... Plug these values into the Ziegler-Nichols closed loop equations and determine the necessary settings for the controller)(pages 658, 659, 687, 693, and 694; notably tuning (i.e., alternately adjusting a control variable by increasing and decreasing to cause sustained oscillation) is shown in page 693 and determining proportional, an integral, and a derivative constants is shown in page 694). The examiner notes Evanyk and University teach a system for controlling controllers. As such, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Evanyk to include the adjusting, determining, and implementing of University such that the system performs tuning by alternatively adjusts a control variable by positive and negative step value to cause sustained oscillation, determines ultimate gain and ultimate period of the sustained oscillation, determines proportional, an integral, and a derivative constant values, and implements PID control using the proportional constant, the integral constant, and the derivative constant. One would be motivated to make such a combination to provide the advantage of controlling temperatures in a simple and effective manner.
Evanyk-University differs from the claim in that Evanyk-University fails to explicitly teach measuring amplitude at sustained oscillation, wherein amplitude and period are determined based on a subset of cycles. However, measuring amplitude at sustained oscillation, wherein amplitude and period are determined based on a subset of cycles is taught by Wojsznis (During the first portion of the oscillation procedure, the control signal that is applied to the process under control is stepped ... After the process output signal change reaches a predetermined relay hysteresis value, the relay is switched to apply to the process input an input of the opposite direction ... This relay switching is repeated to produce one or more controlled oscillation periods, and from these periods, the Ultimate Period, Tu, and Ultimate Gain, Ku, of the process under control are determined … Referring to FIG. 3, shown is a time graph of a process variable, PV. Superimposed on the graph of process variable, PV ... Ultimate Period, Tu, is calculated as the average of differences between every other zero-crossing of process variable PV ... Ultimate Gain, Ku, is calculated from the formula ... a is the average amplitude of the oscillation in the process variable during the second portion of the self oscillation)(column 2 lines 1-21, column 6 lines 59-61, and column 7 lines 16-27; Figure 3 – determining amplitude and period for a subset of cycles (i.e., first Tu of sustained oscillation portion) is shown). The examiner notes Evanyk, University, and Wojsznis teach a system for controlling controllers. As such, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Evanyk-University to include the measuring of Wojsznis such that the system measures amplitude at sustained oscillation, wherein amplitude and period are determined based on a subset of cycles. One would be motivated to make such a combination to provide the advantage of calculating controller parameters in an accurate manner.
Although, Evanyk-University-Wojsznis discloses of supplying the hot liquid to the applicator (Evanyk - FIG. 1 is a perspective view of novel adhesive dispensing appliance 10 including ... heating element 20 ... dispensing the melt through exit nozzle 8)([0028] and [0029]), Evanyk-University-Wojsznis differs from the claim in that Evanyk-University-Wojsznis fails to teach supplying the hot liquid using a hot melt liquid pump. However, using a hot melt liquid pump to supply hot liquid is taught by Jeter (Referring to FIG. 1, a hot melt adhesive system 10 is shown, including a dispensing unit 20 ... The dispensing unit 20 includes a tank 22 ... includes one or more tank heaters 34 for melting and heating the liquid adhesive material 24 in the tank 22 ... A vertically-oriented piston pump 58 coupled to the manifold 26 pumps liquid adhesive 24 from the tank 22)([0019] and [0020]). The examiner notes Evanyk, University, Wojsznis, and Jeter teach a system for controlling controllers. As such, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Evanyk-University-Wojsznis to include the supplying of Jeter such that the system utilizes a hot melt liquid pump to supply hot liquid. One would be motivated to make such a combination to provide the advantage of facilitating precise flow control.
Regarding claim 13, Evanyk-University-Wojsznis-Jeter teach the system of claim 12, wherein causing the sustained oscillation of the measured hot melt liquid temperature process variable comprises:
adjusting the duty cycle control variable by a positive sign of the step value; responsive to determining that the measured hot melt liquid temperature process variable is above the hot melt liquid temperature setpoint, adjusting the duty cycle control variable by a negative sign of the step value; responsive to determining that the measured hot melt liquid temperature process variable is below the hot melt liquid temperature setpoint, adjusting the duty cycle control variable by the positive sign of the step value; and alternately adjusting the duty cycle control variable by positive and negative signs of the step value until the oscillation is sustained (University - The control system shown is called a closed-loop system or a feedback system because the measured value of the controlled variable is returned or "fed back" to the comparator. In the comparator the controlled variable is compared with the desired value or set point. If there is any difference between the measured variable and the set point, an error is generated. This error enters a controller … A variety of process controls are used to manipulate processes, however the most simple and often most effective is the PID controller ... The controller attempts to correct the error between a measured process variable and desired setpoint by calculating the difference and then performing a corrective action to adjust the process accordingly. A PID controller controls a process through three parameters: Proportional (P), Integral (I), and Derivative (D) ... The most common classical controller tuning methods are the Ziegler-Nichols ... The equation below shows the PID algorithm as discussed in the previous PID Control section ... The Ziegler-Nichols closed-loop tuning method allows you to use the ultimate gain value, Ku, and the ultimate period of oscillation, Pu, to calculate Kc ... You can obtain the controller constants Kc, Ti, and Td in a system with feedback ... Create a small disturbance in the loop by changing the set point. Adjust the proportional, increasing and/or decreasing, the gain until the oscillations have constant amplitude. Record the gain value (Ku) and period of oscillation (Pu) ... Plug these values into the Ziegler-Nichols closed loop equations and determine the necessary settings for the controller)(pages 654, 658, 659, 676, 677, 687, 693, and 694; notably adjusting a control variable by a positive or negative sign (i.e., difference between setpoint and measured output variable) is shown on page 654).
Regarding claim 14, Evanyk-University-Wojsznis-Jeter teach the system of claim 13, wherein: the hot melt liquid temperature setpoint comprises a temperature setpoint threshold range defined by a lower temperature threshold value and an upper temperature threshold value, the duty cycle control variable is adjusted by the negative sign of the step value responsive to determining that the measured hot melt liquid temperature process variable is above an upper temperature threshold value, the duty cycle control variable is adjusted by the positive sign of the step value responsive to determining that the measured hot melt liquid temperature process variable is below the lower temperature threshold value (University - To control the temperature ... IF (T<96.5) THEN ... IF (T>97.5) THEN … The control system shown is called a closed-loop system or a feedback system because the measured value of the controlled variable is returned or "fed back" to the comparator. In the comparator the controlled variable is compared with the desired value or set point. If there is any difference between the measured variable and the set point, an error is generated. This error enters a controller)(pages 462 and 654), and the control system is further configured to generate the duty cycle control variable to control the a hot melt liquid heater implemented in at least one of the adhesive supply heater, the manifold heater, and/or the hose heater (Evanyk - Further along glue path 6 is melt chamber 7 which is surrounded by one or more electrical heating element 20 for communicating radiant heat energy ... For every four pulses received by circuit 86, only one is gated to transistor 66 allowing transistor 66 to power heating element 20 only one-fourth of the time possible for heating (i.e., one-fourth of the duty cycle))([0029] and [0036]).
Regarding claim 17, Evanyk-University-Wojsznis-Jeter teach the system of claim 12, wherein the amplitude of the sustained oscillation comprises an average amplitude of the subset of cycles and the ultimate period comprises an average period over the subset of cycles (Wojsznis - FIG. 4. Ultimate Period, Tu, is calculated as the average of differences between every other zero-crossing of process variable PV (i.e., the average of the difference between time t2 and t4, the difference between t3 and t5, and the difference between t4 and t6). Ultimate Gain, Ku, is calculated from the formula … a is the average amplitude of the oscillation in the process variable during the second portion of the self oscillation)(column 7 lines 16-27); and wherein the control system is further configured to generate the duty cycle control variable to control a hot melt liquid heater implemented in at least one of an adhesive supply heater, a manifold heater, and/or a hose heater (Evanyk – Further along glue path 6 is melt chamber 7 which is surrounded by one or more electrical heating element 20 for communicating radiant heat energy ... For every four pulses received by circuit 86, only one is gated to transistor 66 allowing transistor 66 to power heating element 20 only one-fourth of the time possible for heating (i.e., one-fourth of the duty cycle))([0029] and [0036]).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Evanyk, University, Wojsznis, Jeter, in further view of “Practical PID Control” by Antonio Visioli (publicly accessible 2006); hereinafter referred to as Visioli.
Regarding claim 7, Evanyk-University-Wojsznis-Jeter teach the method as applied above further comprising generating the duty cycle control variable for controlling the hot melt liquid heater implemented in at least one of an adhesive supply heater, a manifold heater, an applicator heater, and/or a hose heater (Evanyk – Further along glue path 6 is melt chamber 7 which is surrounded by one or more electrical heating element 20 for communicating radiant heat energy ... For every four pulses received by circuit 86, only one is gated to transistor 66 allowing transistor 66 to power heating element 20 only one-fourth of the time possible for heating (i.e., one-fourth of the duty cycle))([0029] and [0036]), wherein the closed-loop controller comprises a PID controller the proportional constant comprises a proportional gain, the integral constant comprises an integral gain, and the derivative constant comprises a derivative gain (University - A PID controller controls a process through three parameters: Proportional (P), Integral (I), and Derivative (D) … You can obtain the controller constants Kc, Ti, and Td in a system with feedback)(page 659 and page 693). Evanyk-University-Wojsznis-Jeter differs from the claim in that Evanyk-University-Wojsznis-Jeter fails to teach the PID controller is in parallel form. However, a parallel form PID controller is taught by Visioli (A possible alternative scheme is the one shown in Figure 9.13 (termed parallel metered control). In this case, provided that the two closed-loop systems have the same dynamics, a high performance can be achieved in the set-point following task)(page 268). The examiner notes Evanyk, University, Wojsznis, Jeter, and Visioli teach a method for controlling controllers. As such, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Evanyk-University-Wojsznis-Jeter to include the parallel form Visioli such that the method utilizes a PID controller in parallel form to control. One would be motivated to make such a combination to provide the advantage of achieving higher performance.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-11 and 18-19 are allowed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 9, 12, and 17 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record on form PTO-892 and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Applicant is required under 37 C.F.R. § 1.111(c) to consider the reference fully when responding to this action. The document cited therein and enumerated below teaches a method and apparatus for controlling hot melt systems.
US20150264745A1
US20180236483A1
/YONGJIA PAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2118