DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the amendment received on 03/13/2026 and the request for continued examination received on 04/12/2026.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d) based on an application filed in FEDERAL REPUBLIC OF GERMANY on 09/20/2019.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
Claim(s) 23, 24, and 26-44 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
The term “quantum dot” appears to be claimed as a movable structure which may move through the substrate, based on the specification and claims, a feature of the claim which one of ordinary skill in the art is not enabled to make/use.
In particular, claim 23 recites the limitation “moving potential wells through the substrate, whereby a quantum dot is transported with the moving potential well” which implies that the quantum dot is a structure or region of space which is capable of physically moving through the substrate of the device in a two-dimensional space. Such a definition is not interpreted as enabled by the specification and is further interpreted by the examiner to be an unclear definition for what may constitute a quantum dot based on the level of understanding of one of ordinary skill in the art. As such, the specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and use the invention without undue experimentation.
Claim 24 further recites “continuously moving a quantum dot”.
Claim 26 further recites “branching the movement of the quantum dot”.
Claim 27 further recites “continuously moving a quantum dot”.
Claim 28 further recites “a first quantum dot of the quantum dots is transported together with the continuously moving potential well”.
Enablement, or lack thereof, is best understood through a framework of factors, referred to as the Wands factors to assess whether any necessary experimentation required by the specification is "reasonable" or is "undue", several of which will be elaborated on in relation to the claimed invention below.
The nature of this invention is not simplistic such that clear definitions are necessary for one of ordinary skill in the art to make and/or use the invention. A device used to process quantum bits (or qubits) for application in a quantum computer is quite complex. It requires extensive understanding of quantum mechanical principles and their relationship to the physical properties and abilities of real world particles. A quantum dot is defined as “a semiconductor nanocrystal exhibiting quantum mechanical effects that allow it to mimic the properties of an atom” (see Merriam-Webster online dictionary). Therefore, the plain definition of the quantum dot, when applied to the claims, is such that applicant appears to be claiming the physical movement of “a semiconductor nanocrystal” through a substrate in some sort of a diffusion process. Alternatively, the applicant’s “quantum dot” may be referring to a bounded region of space defined by (or bounded by) a surrounding energy landscape created by the corresponding gate electrodes. If this is the case, it is unclear how a region of space may physically move and occupy a different region of space through its movement. It is the examiner’s belief that the claim is intended to describe transporting an electron/hole between adjacent volumes of space, defined by the gate structure, wherein each volume of space is a separate quantum dot, i.e. the electron moves between quantum dots wherein the movement to adjacent dots is driven by the moving potential well while the quantum dot(s) is/are stationary regions of space.
The state of the prior art identified by the examiner, near the claimed effective filing date of the instant application (09/20/2019), does not enable one of ordinary skill in the art to physically move a quantum dot through a substrate. Rather it supports the interpretation that what is possible is strictly transporting an electron/hole between adjacent volumes of space, defined by the gate structure, wherein each volume of space is a separate quantum dot defined by the potential well generated by the gate structure. The following references are considered and presented herein for further explanation:
Chung, Y., Choi, J. & Sim, HS. Electron Transport in a Multiple Quantum Dot: Recent Progress. J. Korean Phys. Soc. 72, 1454–1466 (2018). https://doi.org/10.3938/jkps.72.1454 - (“Chung”)
Chung provides Figure 2 above wherein a plurality of quantum does (red circles) are defined by gate electrodes (rectangles) in a GaAs/AlGaAs heterostructure. Chung states on page 3 that “By adjusting the voltages on the coupling gates (orange rectangles), the electron tunneling strength and the electrostatic interaction between quantum dots can be controlled.” such that the quantum dots remain stationary while the electron tunnels between them.
Goswami et al., Transport through an electrostatically defined quantum dot lattice in a two-dimensional electron gas; Phys. Rev. B 85, 075427 (2012), https://doi.org/10.1103/PhysRevB.85.075427 - (“Goswami”)
Goswami provides in Figure 1 above a dual gated structure (top gate TG and perforated gate PG) which produces a “potential landscape in the two-dimensional electron gas (2DEG). . .forming a quantum dot lattice (QDL)” (see Figure description). This structure enables “transport (or tunneling according to the introduction) through an electrostatically defined quantum dot lattice” (see conclusion). This reference further insinuates that the quantum dots are static while the electrons move between them by driving electrical potential wells.
These few provided references in addition to other references identified in the prior art, but not provided herein to avoid repetition, all treat the quantum dot as a static region in space, defined by the potential well of adjacent gates, which the electron is transported through/between. The electron may move (or tunnel) to adjacent volumes defined as quantum dots, but specifically the semiconductor nanocrystal exhibiting quantum mechanical effects (quantum dot) does not physically move and remains a static region in space.
The level of understanding of one of ordinary skill in the art and amount of direction provided by the inventor when combined, does not enable the movement of a quantum dot through a substrate as required of the claim. Applicant has previously provided a Wikipedia article entitled “Quantum Dot” from prior to the earliest priority date of the application in an effort to show the level of understanding of one of ordinary skill in the art. However, even this direction provided by the inventor has not clearly defined a quantum dot (semiconductor nanocrystal) which is movable through a substrate. This Wikipedia article provides multiple definitions such that the level of predictability in the art for which definition is being considered is questionable and must be clearly delineated by the inventor, which it is not in the current application.
The provided Wikipedia article details in bullet points 5 and 7 of the fabrication section: “Individual quantum dots can be created from two-dimensional electron or hole gases present in remotely doped quantum wells or semiconductor heterostructures called lateral quantum dots . . . by depositing metal electrodes (lift-off process) that allow the application of external voltages between the electron gas and the electrodes” and “Confinement in quantum dots can also arise from electrostatic potentials (generated by external electrodes, doping, strain, or impurities)”. Under this definition, the quantum dot does not move but is instead created by the gate electrodes. It is created in position by the applied potentials to a region within the 2D electron gas. Confinement and/or transport of charge carriers between neighboring quantum dots, see bullet point 5 of the fabrication section of the applicant provided Wikipedia article “Such quantum dots are mainly of interest for experiments and applications involving electron or hole transport, i.e., an electrical current” is controlled by applied potentials, i.e. the quantum dot is bound in a position within the crystal structure, defined by applied potentials, through which charge carriers are transported.
Based on the lack of enablement for “moving potential wells through the substrate, whereby a quantum dot is transported with the moving potential well” in view of the specification, claims, amendment remarks, and the prior art, the application does not enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention. Claim(s) 23 and 26-28 is/are therefore rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) for lacking enablement for a “moving quantum dot” through a substrate. The balance of claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) at least for their dependencies.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claim(s) 23, 24, and 26-44 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As described above in the 35 U.S.C. 112(a) rejections, claim 23, along with several other claims recite phrases requiring features involving a quantum dot as a structure or region of space which is capable of physically moving through the substrate of the device in a two-dimensional space. In particular claim 23 recites the limitation “moving potential wells through the substrate, whereby a quantum dot is transported with the moving potential well”. This limitation is unclear in view of the specification and drawings. The specification does not adequately describe how one may move a semiconductor nanostructure (see Merriam-Webster definition above) or a region of space through a substrate. Furthermore, Figure 7 and [0092]-[0094] refer to the same structure (#252 and #254) as being a quantum dot and/or a charge carrier. Yet, claim 23 further recites that “the quantum dot is occupied by an electron or a hole”. The examiner finds the claim indefinite as it is entirely unclear what structure is moving through the substrate (quantum dot and/or electron/hole) and if it is the quantum dot, as required by the claim, how it is able to move through the substrate. Therefore, claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) for a lack of clarity and the balance of claims are rejected at least for their dependence.
Claim 39 recites the limitation “the quantum mechanical state of a quantum dot of the quantum dots”. This limitation lacks proper antecedent basis. Claim 34, which claim 39 depends on, previously recited “a quantum dot of the quantum dots”. Thus it is unclear if claim 39 is reciting a new “quantum dot of the quantum dots” or is referencing the same quantum dot of the quantum dots as claim 34. Therefore, claim 39 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) for a lack of clarity and claim 40 is rejected at least for its dependence.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 23, 24, and 29-44 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 10,756,004 B1; Elsherbini et al.; 08/2020; (“Elsherbini”).
Regarding Claim 23. Elsherbini discloses an electronic structure component (#100, Figure 5, quantum computing assembly) for logically connecting qubits of a quantum computer (column 4, line 5, “the quantum computing assembly includes . . . a quantum processing die” and column 6, line 51, “qubit elements (e.g., superconducting qubit elements and/or spin qubit elements) included in the quantum processing die”), which is formed by a semiconductor component (column 7, line 48, “a quantum processing die 104 may include a semiconductor substrate”), comprising:
a substrate (#702 and #704, Figure 14B, base and fins) with a two-dimensional electron gas or electron hole gas (column 19, line 21, “The base 702 may include at least some of the substrate” and column 19, line 44, “The quantum well layer included in the fins 704 may be arranged normal to the z-direction, and may provide a layer in which a two-dimensional electron gas (2DEG) may form”);
gate electrode assemblies (#706 and #708, Figure 14C, gates) having gate electrodes (#706-1,2,3 and #708-1,2, Figure 14C, gates), which are arranged on a surface of the electronic structure component (Figure 14B and 14C, the gates are on a surface of the device);
electrical contacts (#720 and #722, Figure 14B and 14C, vias) for connecting the gate electrode assemblies to voltage sources (Figure 14B, vias #720 and #722 electrically connect to gate electrodes to provide voltage signals); and
parallel electrode fingers being part of the gate electrodes of the gate electrode assemblies (#706-1,2,3 and #708-1,2 of Figure 14C are parallel electrodes which are part of #706 and #708),
wherein the gate electrode assemblies configured to generate static and/or moving potential wells for processing quantum dots in the two-dimensional electron gas or hole gas (column 19, lines 50-53, “quantum well layer included in the fins . . . may provide a layer in which a two-dimensional electron gas (2DEG) may form to enable the generation of a quantum dot during operation of the spin qubit-type quantum device . . . quantum well layer itself may provide a geometric constraint on the z-location of quantum dots in the fins”, i.e. the quantum dots are processed in the 2DEG of the quantum well layer) of substrate (column 19, line 55, “To control the x-location of quantum dots in the fins 704, voltages may be applied to gates disposed on the fins 704 to adjust the energy profile along the fins 704 in the x-direction and thereby constrain the x-location of quantum dots within quantum wells (discussed in detail below with reference to the gates 706/708)”, i.e. the voltages may be applied to produce static/or moving potential wells through a changing energy profile in the substrate for controlling/processing the charge carriers),
wherein the parallel electrode fingers are interconnected in a periodically alternating manner (Figure 14C, #706 and #708 are interwoven in an alternating manner from bottom to top in the order of #706-1, #708-1, #706-2, #708-2, #706-3), for applying periodic and/or phase shifted voltages to the parallel electrode fingers (#706-1,2,3 and #708-1,2 of Figure 14C are interconnected gate electrodes which could be sent any required voltage signal through vias #720 and #722, including both periodic and phase-shifted voltage signals, see MPEP 2114.II, even if the cited prior art does not explicitly recite performing this process of applying the recited voltages, the manner of operating the device does not differentiate the apparatus claim from the prior art) for continuously moving the moving potential wells through the substrate whereby a quantum dot is transported with the moving potential well (column 19, line 55, “To control the x-location of quantum dots in the fins 704, voltages may be applied to gates disposed on the fins 704 to adjust the energy profile along the fins 704 in the x-direction and thereby constrain the x-location of quantum dots within quantum wells (discussed in detail below with reference to the gates 706/708)”, i.e. altering the position of the quantum well to provide a continuum of positions within the substrate where a potential well may move to, Examiner note: the phrase continuously moving here is interpreted to mean capable of moving from location to location, not that it requires a perfect continuum of positions. Figure 14 of the instant application shows a series of discrete positions designated by the gate electrodes which have spaces therebetween), and
wherein the quantum dot is occupied by an electron or a hole (column 22, lines 37-40, “an n-type doped region 740 may supply electrons for electron-type quantum dots 742, and a p-type doped region 740 may supply holes for hole-type quantum dots 742”, i.e. respective quantum dots may be occupied by an electron or a hole transported into them by the doped regions as appropriate and the electron or hole may be moved through the adjacent quantum dots via the changing energy landscape/potential well position).
Regarding Claim 24. Elsherbini discloses the electronic structure component according to claim 23, further comprising a functional element for continuously moving a quantum dot of the quantum dots in the substrate (column 19, line 55, “To control the x-location of quantum dots in the fins 704, voltages may be applied to gates disposed on the fins 704 to adjust the energy profile along the fins 704 in the x-direction and thereby constrain the x-location of quantum dots within quantum wells (discussed in detail below with reference to the gates 706/708)”, i.e. the gate electrodes are a functional element which move the quantum dots through the substrate in the x-direction, Examiner note: the phrase continuously moving here is interpreted to mean capable of moving from location to location, not that it requires a perfect continuum of positions. Figure 14 of the instant application does not show a continuum and instead shows a series of discrete positions designated by the gate electrodes which have spaces therebetween).
Regarding Claim 29. Elsherbini discloses the electronic structure component according to claim 23, further comprising a functional element (#721, Figure 14C, magnet line) for manipulating qubits in the quantum dots (column 24, line 7, “The magnet line 721 may be formed of a conductive material, and may be used to conduct current pulses that generate magnetic fields to influence the spin states of one or more of the quantum dots 742 that may form in the fins 704.”).
Regarding Claim 30. Elsherbini discloses the electronic structure component according to claim 29,
wherein the functional element (#721, Figure 14C, magnet line) comprises a manipulator (column 24, line 7, “The magnet line 721 . . . may be used to conduct current pulses that generate magnetic fields”) that sets a qubit of a quantum dot of the quantum dots to a definable quantum state (Column 24, line 13, “In some embodiments, the magnet line 721 may conduct a pulse to initialize an electron in a quantum dot in a particular spin state.”) in a manipulation zone (#771, Figure 14A, width of #721 which generates the magnetic field),
wherein the manipulation zone is provided in an adjacent region formed by first and second gate electrode assemblies of the gate electrode assemblies (Figure 14A-C, #771 of #721 is adjacent to the gate electrode assemblies #706 and #708).
Regarding Claim 31. Elsherbini discloses the electronic structure component according to claim 29, further comprising means for a switchable magnetic field for splitting electronic states with respect to their quantum mechanical states in the quantum dots (column 24, line 16, “the magnet line 721 may conduct current to provide a continuous, oscillating magnetic field to which the spin of a qubit may couple.”, i.e. the magnetic field may couple with the qubit to switch the electronic spin state of the qubit by switching the magnetic field).
Regarding Claim 32. Elsherbini discloses the electronic structure component according to claim 30, wherein the manipulator comprises at least one of means for generating an oscillating magnetic field or a gradient magnetic field in the manipulation zone (column 24, line 16, “the magnet line 721 may conduct current to provide a continuous, oscillating magnetic field to which the spin of a qubit may couple.”, i.e. the magnetic field may be oscillating within the region of #721).
Regarding Claim 33. Elsherbini discloses the electronic structure component according to claim 30, wherein the manipulator comprises a microwave generator (column 5, line 1, “if the quantum processing die 104 implements superconducting qubits, the control die may provide and/or detect appropriate electrical signals in any of . . . microwave lines”), which radiates microwaves into the manipulation zone to manipulate the quantum state of the quantum dot (column 17, line 21, “microwave lines used for controlling the state of the qubit elements may be referred to as drive lines . . .The drive lines may control the state of their respective qubit elements by providing a microwave pulse at the qubit frequency, which in turn stimulates a transition between the states of the qubit element”).
Regarding Claim 34. Elsherbini discloses the electronic structure component according to claim 23, further comprising a functional element (column 19, line 31, “the fins 704 organized into pairs including . . .one read fin 704”) for reading out a quantum mechanical state of a qubit in a quantum dot of the quantum dots (column 25, line 21, “The quantum dots 742 in the fin 704-2 may be used as “read” quantum dots in the sense that these quantum dots 742 may sense the quantum state of the quantum dots 742 in the fin 704-1 by detecting the electric field generated by the charge in the quantum dots 742 in the fin 704-1, and may convert the quantum state of the quantum dots 742 in the fin 704-1 into electrical signals that may be detected by the gates 706/708 on the fin 704-2”).
Regarding Claim 35. Elsherbini discloses the electronic structure component according to claim 34,
wherein the gate electrodes of the gate electrode assemblies have parallel electrode fingers (#706-1,2,3 and #708-1,2 of Figure 14C are parallel electrodes which are part of #706 and #708),whereby
in a first gate electrode assembly of the gate electrode assemblies (#704-1, Figure 14C, “active” fin), the parallel electrode fingers are interconnected in a periodically alternating manner (Figure 14C, #706 and #708 are interwoven in an alternating manner from bottom to top in the order of #706-1, #708-1, #706-2, #708-2, #706-3 within #704-1), which effects a continuous movement of the continuously moving potential well through the substrate, whereby a first quantum dot of the quantum dots is transported together with the continuously moving potential well (column 19, line 55, “To control the x-location of quantum dots in the fins 704, voltages may be applied to gates disposed on the fins 704 to adjust the energy profile along the fins 704 in the x-direction and thereby constrain the x-location of quantum dots within quantum wells (discussed in detail below with reference to the gates 706/708)”, i.e. by altering the position of the quantum well a continuum of positions within the substrate may be transported to), and
the parallel electrode fingers of a second gate electrode assembly of the gate electrode assemblies (#704-2, Figure 14C, “read” fin) form a static potential well in which a charge carrier with a known quantum mechanical state is provided (column 25, line 21, “The quantum dots 742 in the fin 704-2 may be used as “read” quantum dots in the sense that these quantum dots 742 may sense the quantum state of the quantum dots 742 in the fin 704-1 by detecting the electric field generated by the charge in the quantum dots 742 in the fin 704-1”, i.e. the quantum mechanical states of the “read” quantum dots necessarily need to be known to accurately read the “active” quantum dots), and
wherein a sensor element is provided for detecting changes in the charge, which detects the charge in the static potential well, whereby the first quantum dot is transported to a second quantum dot of the quantum dots (Column 25, line 26, “may convert the quantum state of the quantum dots 742 in the fin 704-1 into electrical signals that may be detected by the gates 706/708 on the fin 704-2. Each quantum dot 742 in the fin 704-1 may be read by its corresponding quantum dot 742 in the fin 704-2. Thus, the spin qubit-type quantum device 700 enables both quantum computation and the ability to read the results of a quantum computation.”).
Regarding Claim 36. Elsherbini discloses the electronic structure component according to claim 35, further comprising a magnetic field generator (#721, Figure 14C, magnet line) for generating a gradient magnetic field in order to initialize the quantum mechanical state of a quantum dot of the static potential well (Column 24, line 13, “In some embodiments, the magnet line 721 may conduct a pulse to initialize an electron in a quantum dot in a particular spin state.” wherein the magnetic pulse necessarily has a gradient).
Regarding Claim 37. Elsherbini discloses the electronic structure component according to claim 34,
wherein a second gate electrode assembly of the gate electrode assemblies (#704-2, Figure 14C, “read” fin) comprises two further gate electrodes (#706-1,2,3 and #708-1,2 of Figure 14C are parallel electrodes which are part of #704-2), which together form a static double potential well (Figure 14C, column 19, line 55, “To control the x-location of quantum dots in the fins 704, voltages may be applied to gates disposed on the fins 704 to adjust the energy profile along the fins 704 in the x-direction” such that voltages may be appropriately applied to #706-2 and #708-1 to create a double potential well in the neighboring electrodes of #740-2),
wherein each of the static potential wells has separate quantum dots of the quantum dots with different quantum mechanical states (It should be noted the limitation “each of the static potential wells has separate quantum dots of the quantum dots with different quantum mechanical states” is interpreted as an intended use, wherein a claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. (See MPEP 2114 II.) The apparatus of Elsherbini could reasonably have any number of opposing or similar quantum dots with respective quantum mechanical states in each of the wells).
Regarding Claim 38. Elsherbini discloses the electronic structure component according to claim 23, further comprising a functional element (#721, Figure 14C, magnet line) for initializing a quantum mechanical state of a quantum dot of the quantum dots (Column 24, line 13, “In some embodiments, the magnet line 721 may conduct a pulse to initialize an electron in a quantum dot in a particular spin state.”).
Regarding Claim 39. Elsherbini discloses the electronic structure component according to claim 36, further comprising a functional element (#721 and #740, Figure 14B and 14C, magnet line and doped regions) for initializing a quantum mechanical state of a quantum dot of the quantum dots (Column 24, line 13, “In some embodiments, the magnet line 721 may conduct a pulse to initialize an electron in a quantum dot in a particular spin state.” wherein the magnetic pulse necessarily has a gradient), comprising:
a reservoir, which is provided as a donor of charge carriers (column 22, line 35, “The fins 704 may include doped regions 740 that may serve as a reservoir of charge carriers for the spin qubit-type quantum device 700”),
wherein the gate electrodes of the gate electrode assemblies have parallel electrode fingers (#706-1,2,3 and #708-1,2 of Figure 14C are parallel electrodes which are part of #706 and #708);
wherein the gate electrodes of a first gate electrode assembly of the gate electrode assemblies in the substrate (#704-2, Figure 14C, “read” fin) form a static double potential well, or the gate electrodes of a first gate electrode assembly of the gate electrode assemblies in the substrate form a static potential well (Figure 14C, column 19, line 55, “To control the x-location of quantum dots in the fins 704, voltages may be applied to gates disposed on the fins 704 to adjust the energy profile along the fins 704 in the x-direction” such that voltages may be appropriately applied to #706-2 and #708-1 to create a double potential well in the neighboring electrodes of #740-2), in which charge carriers are introduced from the reservoir into the quantum dots (column 22, line 37, “an n-type doped region 740 may supply electrons for electron-type quantum dots 742, and a p-type doped region 740 may supply holes for hole-type quantum dots 742”),
wherein the gate electrodes of a second gate electrode assembly of the gate electrode assemblies (#704-1, Figure 14C, “active” fin) form the continuously moving potential well in the substrate (column 19, line 55, “To control the x-location of quantum dots in the fins 704, voltages may be applied to gates disposed on the fins 704 to adjust the energy profile along the fins 704 in the x-direction and thereby constrain the x-location of quantum dots within quantum wells (discussed in detail below with reference to the gates 706/708)”), wherein a charge carrier with its quantum mechanical state can be transported with the continuously moving potential well (column 22, line 37, “an n-type doped region 740 may supply electrons for electron-type quantum dots 742, and a p-type doped region 740 may supply holes for hole-type quantum dots 742”);
means for transferring two charge carriers from the reservoir into the static potential well (The apparatus of Elsherbini could reasonably transfer any number of opposing or similar charge carriers into each of the static wells from #740 by appropriately applying gate voltages);
a stimulator (#721, Figure 14C, magnet line) for orienting or splitting the quantum dots (column 24, line 16, “the magnet line 721 may conduct current to provide a continuous, oscillating magnetic field to which the spin of a qubit may couple.”, i.e. the magnetic field may couple with the qubit to orient the electronic spin state of the qubit by switching the magnetic field); and
means for transferring a charge carrier from the static potential well into the continuously moving potential well (The apparatus of Elsherbini could reasonably transfer any number of opposing or similar charge carriers between both moving and static wells by appropriately applying gate voltages).
Regarding Claim 40. Elsherbini discloses the electronic structure component according to claim 39, wherein the stimulator (#721, Figure 14C, magnet line) is designed as a magnet, which generates a gradient magnetic field for initializing the quantum mechanical states in the two quantum dots in the continuously moving potential well (Column 24, line 13, “In some embodiments, the magnet line 721 may conduct a pulse to initialize an electron in a quantum dot in a particular spin state.” wherein the magnetic pulse necessarily has a gradient which could initialize spin states in any number of quantum dots).
Regarding Claim 41. Elsherbini discloses the electronic structure component according to claim 23, wherein the substrate of said electronic component comprises at least one of gallium arsenide (GaAs) or silicon germanium (SiGe) (column 26, line 25, “the barrier layer may be formed of silicon germanium” and the barrier layer is part of the quantum well stack, see column 26, line 12, “a quantum well stack 746 including a quantum well layer 752 and a barrier layer 754”).
Regarding Claim 42. Elsherbini discloses the electronic structure component according to claim 23, wherein respectively interconnected gate electrodes for the continuously moving potential well are configured such that at least one of a periodic or phase-shifted voltage can be applied to them (#706-1,2,3 and #708-1,2 of Figure 14C are interconnected gate electrodes which could be sent any required voltage signal through vias #720 and #722, including both periodic and phase-shifted voltage signals).
Regarding Claim 43. Elsherbini discloses the electronic structure component according to claim 23, wherein every third parallel electrode finger is connected to a gate electrode for the continuously moving potential well (column 19, line 55, “To control the x-location of quantum dots in the fins 704, voltages may be applied to gates disposed on the fins 704 to adjust the energy profile along the fins 704 in the x-direction and thereby constrain the x-location of quantum dots within quantum wells (discussed in detail below with reference to the gates 706/708)”, i.e. every electrode finger is part of the system for the movable potential well, necessarily including every third gate electrode).
Regarding Claim 44. Elsherbini discloses the structure electronic component according to claim 23, further comprising means of connection for connecting to a qubit of a quantum computer (#100 of Figure 5 is quantum computing assembly which includes qubit processing as described above such that it necessarily includes connections for qubit quantum computers).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 26-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Elsherbini as applied to claim 23 above, and further in view of US 2015/0279981 A1; Eriksson et al.; 10/2015; (“Eriksson”).
Regarding Claim 26. Elsherbini discloses the electronic structure component according to claim 23.
Elsherbini does not disclose wherein the functional element is for branching the movement of the quantum dot.
However, Eriksson teaches a quantum semiconductor device (#400, Figure 4a-c, [0042]-[0057]) comprising a structure for branching the movement of a quantum dot in orthogonal directions (Figure 4B, left-right and up-down) within the plane of 2DEG regions (#412) in a quantum well layer (#410) formed from semiconductor material Si ([0043], “tunnel barriers 418 in are formed in quantum well layer 410 between adjacent 2DEG regions of the plurality of 2DEG regions 412. Quantum well layer 410 and cap layer 416 may be formed of Si.”) and the directional arrows in Figure 4b represent the tunnel barriers through which the electrons, or quantum dots, can move ([0052], “Directional arrows indicate the location of tunnel barriers through which the electrons can move between the quantum dot regions QD1, QD2, QD3, QD4. The quantum dot reservoir regions are referenced as QR1, QR2, QR3, QR4 in FIGS. 4b and 4c. Directional arrows also indicate the location of tunnel barriers through which the electrons can move between the respective quantum dot reservoir region and quantum dot region.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to introducing the branching functionality of Eriksson into the device of Elsherbini in order to simultaneously accumulate electrons in the quantum dot regions (#QD) from the reservoirs (#QR) while preventing leakage between adjacent quantum dot regions (#QD) (see [0057] of Eriksson) and providing a higher density of pathways (see Figure 4b of Eriksson).
Regarding Claim 27. Elsherbini in view of Eriksson discloses the electronic structure component according to claim 26, wherein the functional element (Figure 4 of Eriksson) comprises
a first (Eriksson, plurality of #406a-b, Figure 4b, electrodes) and a second branching gate electrode (Eriksson, plurality of #406c, Figure 4b, electrodes) assembly of the gate electrode assemblies with gate electrodes in different directions (Eriksson, Figure 4b, #406a-c are observed to include portions which extend in a vertical direction and extend in a horizontal direction),
wherein the parallel electrode fingers of the gate electrodes are interconnected in a periodically alternating manner (Eriksson, Figure 4b, the electrodes #406a-c are observed to alternate in a periodic manner throughout the device), which effects a continuous movement of the continuously moving potential well through the substrate (Eriksson, Figure 4b, the directional arrows indicate a continuum of movement positions the electron/quantum dot can be moved into and out of), whereby
the quantum dot is transported in one direction with the continuously moving potential well of the first branching gate electrode assembly (Eriksson, [0057], “A positive or negative voltage applied to first electrode 406a and/or to second electrode 406b exponentially controls the tunnel rate through the tunnel barrier directly below each electrode 406a, 406b.”, i.e. #406a-b controls transport of the quantum dot in the vertical direction), and
the quantum dot can be moved in a different direction of travel with the continuously moving potential well in the second branching gate electrode assembly (Eriksson, [0057], “a positive voltage is applied to third electrode 406c to accumulate electrons in QD1”, i.e. #406c controls transport of the quantum dot in the horizontal direction).
Regarding Claim 28. Elsherbini in view of Eriksson discloses the electronic structure component according to claim 27, further comprising a third gate electrode assembly (Eriksson, plurality of #406d-e, Figure 4b, electrodes) of the gate electrode assemblies for generating a switchable potential barrier arrangement in a region of a branch, which is switched for the branching of the quantum dot (Eriksson, [0057], “fourth electrode 406d and fifth electrode 406e can be held at a fixed negative voltage to prevent leakage from one area to an adjacent area while a positive voltage is applied to third electrode 406c to accumulate electrons in QD1”, i.e. #406d-e provide a switchable potential barrier while #406c controls transport of the quantum dot in the horizontal direction).
Response to Arguments/Amendments
Applicant’s arguments relating to 35 U.S.C. 112(a) enablement rejection of claims 23, 24, and 26-44, see pages 8-14 of the remarks, filed 03/13/2026, have been fully considered but are not persuasive. While the applicant has identified several points of which the applicant and examiner are in agreement on, the question remains as to how a quantum dot, being defined as a region of space, may move through a substrate and occupy another region of space while still being interpreted as the same quantum dot. Examiner agrees with applicant regarding the last paragraph on page 8 of the remarks that the boundaries of the quantum dot remain undefined.
Starting on page 9, paragraph 4 through page 10, paragraph 3, applicant and examiner appear to have a common understanding that a quantum dot is defined in a portion of the semiconductor structure by the confining potential well, generated by the voltage on the gate electrodes, in which an electron or hole is confined. The potential well may be shifted by changing the voltage/potential waveform on the gate electrodes resulting in a transport of the electron/hole by moving the potential well which the electron/hole is bounded by. However, the position of page 10 paragraphs 4-5 remains unclear as applicant is arguing the same quantum dot now also occupies a different region of the substrate as a result of this transport. It is unclear how a region of space, referred to as a quantum dot, is interpreted as moving by this process. The electron is a physical structure that has moved and its movement may be observed. The potential well is an electrical waveform which has changed or shifted and may also be observed. Yet, the quantum dot remains unbounded such that it is unclear what is moving or how it is moving. To provide a larger scale physical example, consider a baseball (electron/hole) in space being bounded or held in place in a location (quantum dot) by gravitational fields of two adjacent masses (potential well from the voltage waveform). Moving the adjacent masses (shifting the waveform) will result in a movement by the baseball (electron/hole) due to the changing gravitational field (electric field) to occupy a new space (new quantum dot). In this interpretation, it would seem improper to describe the region of space the baseball is present as moving. The baseball moves through space, but space does not move, the ball occupies new space. So the question of enablement remains, what is moving when claim 23 says “quantum dot is transported” because both the well and the electron/hole are already defined as moving?
Starting on page 10, paragraph 6 through page 12, paragraph 3, applicant and examiner appear to have a common understanding that a free electron may move freely in two dimensions through a 2-DEG and that quantum dots may be defined as regions of space within that same 2-DEG within which an electron or hole may be confined to by boundary imposed by the potential well. The question of enablement remains, what is moving when claim 23 says “quantum dot is transported”?
Starting on page 12, paragraph 4 through page 13, paragraph 3, applicant and examiner appear to have a common understanding that the quantum dots boundaries, within which the electron or hole is confined or solely move within, may be in part defined by the potential well in from associated voltage waveforms and the physical boundaries of the 2-DEG. The question of enablement remains, what is moving when claim 23 says “quantum dot is transported”?
Starting on page 13, paragraph 4 through page 13, paragraph 6, this argument seems to be the main disagreement between examiner and applicant. This section states that the portion of the substrate corresponding to the quantum dot changes if a position of the well changes and that the quantum dot is not a physical structure. This again raises the question of what is the quantum dot when moving is considered. The potential well and the 2-deg together define the boundaries of the quantum dot in which the electron or hole is confined. When the potential well moves, the related electric field drives the transport of the electron/hole to the new space and, in the examiner’s opinion, defines a new quantum dot, or region of space, which confines the electron/hole. Thus, the question of enablement remains, what is moving when claim 23 says “quantum dot is transported”?
Starting on page 13, paragraph 7 through page 14, paragraph 6, applicant and examiner appear to have a common understanding that tunneling between adjacent potential wells is different from transporting an electron with the potential well. The question of enablement remains, what is moving when claim 23 says “quantum dot is transported”? The last statement of this section states that the quantum dots occupy different/changing volumes of space as they are transported. What is occupying the space remains to be answered, what is the quantum dot that is being transported?
Based on the lack of enablement for “moving potential wells through the substrate, whereby a quantum dot is transported with the moving potential well” in view of the specification, claims, amendment remarks, and the prior art, the application does not enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention. Claim(s) 23, 24, and 26-44 is/are therefore rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) for lacking enablement for a “moving quantum dot” through a substrate. All remaining claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) at least for their dependencies.
Applicant’s arguments regarding claim 23 and its dependent claims, see pages 15-16 of the remarks, filed 03/13/2026, with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 102 rejection of claim 23 and related prior art rejections of claim 23’s dependent claims have been fully considered but are not persuasive. Applicant argues that US 10,756,004 B1; Elsherbini et al.; 08/2020; (“Elsherbini”) does not disclose all of the limitations of amended claim 23.
In particular, applicant argues the Elsherbini does not disclose “parallel electrode fingers are interconnected in a periodically alternating manner, for applying periodic and/or phase shifted voltages to the parallel electrode fingers for continuously moving the moving potential wells through the substrate” as required of claim 23. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Elsherbini discloses parallel electrode fingers that are interconnected in a periodically alternating manner (Figure 14C, #706 and #708 are physically interconnected in a periodically alternating manner from bottom to top in the order of #706-1, #708-1, #706-2, #708-2, #706-3 and a direct electrical interconnection is not required by the claim), for applying periodic and/or phase shifted voltages to the parallel electrode fingers (#706-1,2,3 and #708-1,2 of Figure 14C are interconnected gate electrodes which could be sent any required voltage signal through vias #720 and #722, including both periodic and phase-shifted voltage signals, see MPEP 2114.II, even if the cited prior art does not explicitly recite performing this process the manner of operating the device does not differentiate the apparatus claim from the prior art) for continuously moving the moving potential wells through the substrate (column 19, line 55, “To control the x-location of quantum dots in the fins 704, voltages may be applied to gates disposed on the fins 704 to adjust the energy profile (potential wells) along the fins 704 in the x-direction and thereby constrain the x-location of quantum dots within quantum wells (discussed in detail below with reference to the gates 706/708)”, Examiner note: the phrase continuously moving here is interpreted to mean capable of moving from location to location, not that it requires a perfect continuum of positions. Figure 14 of the instant application shows a series of discrete positions designated by the gate electrodes which have spaces therebetween).
Claim 23 stands rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 10,756,004 B1; Elsherbini et al.; 08/2020; (“Elsherbini”). The rejections of all dependent claims under 35 U.S.C. 102 and 35 U.S.C. 103 are maintained.
Conclusion
/TYLER J WIEGAND/Examiner, Art Unit 2812 /CHRISTINE S. KIM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2812