DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-7 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yokoi et al (US 2008/0142583 A1) in view of Milne et al (US 2012/0160860 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Yokoi teaches
a device for handling bills, i.e., automated transaction machine (101) and bill depositing/withdrawal apparatus (1) as illustrated at figures 1 and 4, for example, comprising:
a dispensing compartment, i.e., as defined by cash slot mechanism (20) and cash slot (21) as illustrated in figures 4-6, for example, configured to receive a plurality of bills (210) thereby forming a bill stack, as mentioned in abstract and paragraph 64 and as illustrated in figure 5, and which includes a depositing element, that is moveable and delimits the dispensing compartment on a first side, i.e., any one of bill hopper (216), noting the bottom of bill hopper (216) or rear plate/moving plate (205) or front plate (204) or intermediate plate (203), as illustrated in figure 5, for example delimit the dispensing compartment and constitute a first side, noting that bill hopper (216) has four sides as seen in figure 5, all of which delimit/mark/define the boundaries of the dispensing compartment (20),
wherein the plurality of bills of the bill stack (210) are disposed on top of one another in such a manner that a lowermost bill of the plurality of bills (210), i.e., interpreted as the banknote closest to feed roller (206), as illustrated in figures 5 and 6, by way one of the front side thereof or the rear side thereof, i.e., interpreted to be the front or back of the banknote, bears on the depositing element, i.e., the front plate (204), noting that Applicant does not define any particular coordinate system or reference for determining up, down, front, rear, for example,
and a delimiting element that delimits the dispensing compartment (20, 21) on a second side, i.e., any of the other ones of (203, 204, 205, 216), noting again that each one of the three side elements of the dispensing compartment also delimits the dispensing compartment on a second side with respect to that side priorly deemed a first side delimiting element-for example, if the front plate (205) is the first side, then the front plate (204) might be the second side, and noting that the bottom side of the bill hopper (216) can also constitute a second side, or the rear side (204) can be a first side with the front side (205) being a second side, for example, noting that Applicant’s broadly worded limitations invite such a multitude of interpretations,
whereby the plurality of bills (210) in the dispensing compartment (20, 21) are accessible by an operator through a third side of the dispensing compartment (20), i.e., interpreted as the opening (20a) and housing shutter (201), noting the depositing/withdrawing direction (202), as mentioned at paragraph 62 and as illustrated in figure 5,
a control unit, i.e., control unit (35) and body control unit (107), as illustrated in figure 3, for example;
at least one first sensor unit, i.e., as mentioned at paragraph 48, which states as follows.
0048] A control unit 35 provided in the bill depositing/withdrawing apparatus 1 is connected to the body control unit 107 of the machine through the bus 107a, and controls the bill depositing/withdrawing apparatus 1 in accordance with a command from the body control unit 107 and detection of a state of the bill depositing/withdrawing apparatus 1, and transmits a state of the bill depositing/withdrawing apparatus 1 to the body control unit 107 at need. The control unit is connected to drive motors, electromagnetic solenoids, and sensors for respective units (a cash slot mechanism 20 as a bill storage section, a bill discriminator 30, a temporary stocker 40, a bill conveyance path 50, a deposit box 60, a retract box 61, a non-genuine bill storing box 62, a reject box 63, a withdrawal box 70, a recycle box 80, a load/collect box 81), and drives and controls actuators according to a transaction while monitoring a state thereof by means of sensors.
Emphasis provided.
Regarding Claim 1, it is noted that Yokoi teaches at paragraph 48 that the sensors are generally configured to detect when the depositing element is in an initializing position and configured to generate a first sensor signal and to transmit the first sensor signal to the control unit (35, 107);
a first drive unit configured to move the depositing element, noting the mention of “a control unit 35…connected to the body control unit 107…and controls…drives and controls actuators according to a transaction while monitoring a state thereof by means of sensors”, as mentioned at paragraph 48 and as illustrated in figure 3, for example;
wherein the control unit (35, 107) is configured to actuate the first drive unit to move the depositing element (62); and
wherein the control unit (35, 107), in response to the first sensor signal, actuates the first drive unit, as mentioned at paragraph 48, such that the depositing element (62) is moved by a predetermined distance away from the delimiting element, from the initializing position to a first feeding position for feeding the bills (210).
Regarding Claim 1, Yokoi does not expressly teach
at least one first sensor unit configured to detect when the depositing element is in an initializing position and configured to generate a first sensor signal and to transmit the first sensor signal to the control unit;
a first drive unit configured to move the depositing element;
wherein the control unit is configured to actuate the first drive unit to move the depositing element; and
wherein the control unit, in response to the first sensor signal, actuates the first drive unit such that the depositing element is moved by a predetermined distance away from the delimiting element, from the initializing position to a first feeding position for feeding the bills.
Regarding Claim 1, Yokoi does not expressly teach, but Milne teaches
at least one first sensor unit, i.e., cam block position sensor (124), optical sensor (106) or inductive sensor (100) as illustrated in figures 1 and 3 and as mentioned in paragraphs 81, 83 and 97, for example, configured to detect when the depositing element, i.e., moveable carriage (20) or cam block (22), is in an initializing position and configured to generate a first sensor signal and to transmit the first sensor signal to the control unit (28);
a first drive unit, i.e., cam block motor (not shown), as mentioned at paragraph 94 or stepper motor (not shown), as mentioned at paragraph 120, for example, configured to move the depositing element (20, 22);
wherein the control unit (28) is configured to actuate the first drive unit, i.e., the cam block or the stepper motor, to move the depositing element (20, 22); and
wherein the control unit (28), in response to the first sensor signal, actuates the first drive unit, i.e., the cam block or the stepper motor, such that the depositing element (20, 22) is moved by a predetermined distance away from the delimiting element, i.e., the nose (14) and removable track (26), as illustrated in figure 1, for example, and as mentioned at paragraph 67, from the initializing position to a first feeding position for feeding the bills, i.e., comparing figures 4a-4d.
Regarding Claim 1, before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided at least one first sensor unit configured to detect when the depositing element is in an initializing position and configured to generate a first sensor signal and to transmit the first sensor signal to the control unit;
a first drive unit configured to move the depositing element;
wherein the control unit is configured to actuate the first drive unit to move the depositing element; and
wherein the control unit, in response to the first sensor signal, actuates the first drive unit such that the depositing element is moved by a predetermined distance away from the delimiting element, from the initializing position to a first feeding position for feeding the bills, as taught by Milne, in Yokoi’s device for handling bills for the purpose of effectuating Yokoi’s taught mechanical element movement by control unit (35) using common sensor elements connected to said control unit.
Regarding Claim 2, Yokoi does not expressly teach wherein the at least one first sensor unit further comprises at least one sensor element that is moveable, wherein the at least one first sensor unit is disposed in such a manner that a first position of the at least one sensor element is detectable by the at least one first sensor unit, and wherein the at least one first sensor unit is configured to emit the first sensor signal as a function of detecting the at least one sensor element at the first position.
Regarding Claim 2, Yokoi does not expressly teach, but Milne teaches wherein the at least one first sensor unit (100, 106, 124) further comprises at least one sensor element (90, 92, 94) that is moveable, i.e., with respect to transmitter arm (106a) and detector arm (106b), as mentioned at paragraph 83 and as illustrated in figure 3, for example, wherein the at least one first sensor unit (100, 106, 124) is disposed in such a manner that a first position of the at least one sensor element (90, 92, 94) is detectable by the at least one first sensor unit (100, 106, 124), i.e., via transmitter arm (106a) and detector arm (106b), and wherein the at least one first sensor unit (100, 106, 124) is configured to emit the first sensor signal as a function of detecting the at least one sensor element (90, 92, 94) at the first position, as illustrated at figures 3 and 4a-4d, for example.
Regarding Claim 3, Yokoi does not expressly teach wherein the at least one first sensor unit detects the first position of the at least one sensor element when the depositing element is in the initializing position, wherein the at
least one sensor element contacts the depositing element when the depositing element is in the initializing position and moves in the direction of the delimiting element as a result of movement of the depositing element in the direction of the delimiting element.
Regarding Claim 3, Yokoi does not expressly teach, but Milne teaches wherein the at least one first sensor unit (100, 106, 124) detects the first position of the at least one sensor element (90, 92, 94) when the depositing element (20) is in the initializing position, wherein the at
least one sensor element (90, 92, 94) contacts the depositing element (20) when the depositing element (20) is in the initializing position and moves in the direction of the delimiting element (14, 26) as a result of movement of the depositing element (20) in the direction of the delimiting element (14, 26).
Regarding Claim 5, Yokoi does not expressly teach
at least one second sensor unit configured to detect the depositing element when the depositing element is in a lower position and configured to generate a second sensor signal in response to detecting the depositing element when the depositing element is
in the lower position and also configured to transmit the second sensor signal to the control unit, and wherein the control unit is configured to actuate the first drive unit to move the depositing element in response to the second sensor signal.
Regarding Claim 5, Yokoi does not expressly teach, but Milne teaches
at least one second sensor unit (100, 106, 124) configured to detect the depositing element (20) when the depositing element (20) is in a lower position and configured to generate a second sensor signal in response to detecting the depositing element (20) when the depositing element (20) is in the
lower position, noting again figures 4a-4d, and also configured to transmit the second sensor signal to the control unit (28), and wherein the control unit (28) is configured to actuate the first drive unit, i.e., cam block motor (not shown), as mentioned at paragraph 94 or stepper motor (not shown), as mentioned at paragraph 120, for example, to move the depositing element (20) in response to the second sensor signal, understood to be at least suggested to exist between the first drive unit and the controller (28).
Regarding Claim 6, Yokoi does not expressly teach wherein the control unit in response to the second sensor signal, is configured to actuate the first drive unit to move the depositing element a predetermined distance toward the delimiting element, to the initializing position.
Regarding Claim 6, Yokoi does not expressly teach, but Milne teaches wherein the control unit (28) in response to the second sensor signal, is configured to actuate the first drive unit, i.e., the cam motor or the stepper motor, to move the depositing element (20) a predetermined distance toward the delimiting element (14, 26), to the initializing position, as illustrated in figures 4a-4d.
Regarding Claim 7, Yokoi teaches further comprising:
a closure element, i.e, housing shutter (201) as illustrated in figure 6 and as mentioned at paragraph 62, moveable between a closed position whereby the closure element (201) delimits and closes the dispensing compartment (20, 21) on the third side (20a, 201, 202) and an opened position whereby bills in the dispensing compartment are accessible by an operator, as illustrated in figure 6 and as mentioned at paragraphs 62, 63, 72, 77 and paragraph 79, noting also inlet sensor (223) and charging sensor (224) as illustrated in figures 7 and 13, for example.
Regarding Claim 14, Yokoi teaches further comprising:
a plurality of transport elements, i.e., upper rollers (291) and lower rollers (292) configured to transport bills into and out of the
dispensing compartment (20, 21);
at least one third drive unit configured to drive the plurality of transport elements (291, 292), as mentioned at paragraphs 68-70, wherein the plurality of transport elements are drivable in a first direction to move the bills to the dispensing compartment (20, 21), and wherein the plurality of transport elements (291, 292) are drivable in a second direction, counter to the first direction, to move the bills out of the dispensing compartment (20, 21);
a sixth sensor unit, i.e., bill discriminator (20), as mentioned at paragraph 58, for example, configured to detect at least one feature of the bills and configured to generate a sixth sensor signal and to transmit the sixth
sensor
signal to the control unit (35, 107), wherein the control unit (35, 107) is configured to distinguish whether at least one bill of the bills is cleared for disbursement in response to the sixth sensor signal unit, as mentioned at paragraph 58, for example; and
wherein the control unit (35, 107) controls the third drive unit to drive the plurality of transport elements (291, 292) in the first direction when the sixth sensor unit (20) detects the at least one bill cleared for disbursement, i.e., interpreted as being discriminated and ready for sorting into one of the storage cassettes as illustrated in figure 4, for example.
Claim(s) 4 and 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yokoi et al (US 2008/0142583 A1) in view of Milne et al (US 2012/0160860 A1) and further in view of Baranowski et al (US 2021/0049853 A1).
Regarding Claim(s) 4 and 9-11, Yokoi teaches the system as described above.
Regarding Claim 4, Yokoi teaches “[t]he control unit is connected to drive motors, electromagnetic solenoids, and sensors for respective units (a cash slot mechanism 20 as a bill storage section, a bill discriminator 30, a temporary stocker 40, a bill conveyance path 50, a deposit box 60, a retract box 61, a non-genuine bill storing box 62, a reject box 63, a withdrawal box 70, a recycle box 80, a load/collect box 81), and drives and controls actuators according to a transaction while monitoring a state thereof by means of sensors” as mentioned in paragraph 48, second sentence., and noting the charging detection sensor (224) that detects charging of bills as mentioned at paragraph 77 and as illustrated in figure 7, as well as inlet sensor (223) as illustrated in figure 13 and as mentioned at paragraph 79, and noting paragraph 90 mentioning sensor (223) as well as “a sensor (not shown) in the cash slot mechanism can readily detect a bill or bills possibly remaining on other parts” in the last sentence.
Regarding Claim 4, Yokoi does not expressly teach wherein the at least one sensor element is a contact pressure element pivotably connected to the delimiting element, and wherein the at least one sensor element is movable between the first position and a second position, wherein the first position is lower than the second position.
Regarding Claim 4, Yokoi does not expressly teach, but Baranowski teaches wherein the at least one sensor element is a contact pressure element, i.e., a combination of compression or extension springs and limit switches, as mentioned in paragraph 319, for example, pivotably connected to the delimiting element, and wherein the at least one sensor element is movable between the first position and a second position, wherein the first position is lower than the second position, as taught by both Yokoi and Milne, as previously described above. See paragraph 319, which states as follows.
[0319] According to some embodiments, a combination of compression or extension springs and limit switches are employed to provide feedback to the elevator motor 2115 and may be employed to maintain near constant contact pressure of the top of the stack of banknotes against stripping rollers 1974. According to some such embodiments, the use of the combination of compression or extension springs and limit switches does not require constant monitoring the pressure or contact force on the shaft 1974.sub.SH, and thus, may be employed to reduce the duty cycle of the motor 2115.
Emphasis provided.
Regarding Claim 4, before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided wherein the at least one sensor element is a contact pressure element pivotably connected to the delimiting element, and wherein the at least one sensor element is movable between the first position and a second position, wherein the first position is lower than the second position, as taught by Baranowski, in Yokoi’s device for handling bills for the purpose of effectuating Yokoi’s taught mechanical element movement by control unit (35) using common sensor elements in the form of compression sensor/contact pressure element based limit switches connected to said control unit, to detect banknote stacks against the two front plate (204) and rear plate (205), which thus move in the direction of the delimiting elements (204, 205) via springs combined with limit switches.
Regarding Claim 9, Yokoi teaches further comprising:
a fifth sensor unit, i.e., charging detection sensor (224) as mentioned at paragraph 77 and as illustrated at figure 7, disposed in the dispensing compartment and configured to generate a fifth sensor signal and to transmit the fifth sensor signal to the control unit (35, 107) when at least one bill is received in the dispensing compartment, as illustrated in figures 7, 12 and 13, for example.
Regarding Claim 10, Yokoi teaches wherein:
an uppermost bill of the plurality of bills by way of one the front side thereof or the rear side thereof contacts the at least one sensor element, interpreted as the contact sensor element as taught by Baranowski having compression springs combined with limit switches;
the direction from the lowermost bill to the uppermost bill is a stacking direction of the bill stack, as shown in figures 7-12, for example;
the at least one first sensor unit, as taught by Baranowski, detects the at least one sensor element position when the bill stack contacts the at least one sensor element, as taught by Baranowski; and
the sensor element moves in the direction of the delimiting element, i.e., any of the other ones of front plate (204) and rear plate (205), as a result of contacting the bill stack (210), as taught by Yokoi and Baranowski, noting that the compression springs combined with the limit switches moves in the direction of that element causing the pressure which would be the front plate and/or the rear plate (204, 205).
Regarding Claim 11, Yokoi teaches further comprising:
a fifth sensor unit, i.e., charging detection sensor (224) as illustrated in figure 7 and as mentioned at paragraph 77 and 78, for example, disposed in the dispensing compartment, i.e., as defined by cash slot mechanism (20) and cash slot (21) as illustrated in figures 4-6, for example, and configured to generate a fifth sensor signal and to transmit the fifth sensor signal to the control unit (35, 107) when at least one bill is received in the dispensing compartment (20, 21), as illustrated in figures 5-12;
wherein the control unit (35, 107) in response to receiving the first sensor signal and the fifth sensor signal, actuates the first drive unit to move the depositing element a predetermined distance away from the delimiting element, from the first feeding position to a second feeding position such that the dispensing compartment is operable to receive further bills, as illustrated in figures 5-12.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yokoi et al (US 2008/0142583 A1) in view of Milne et al (US 2012/0160860 A1) and further in view of Tanaka et al (US 2013/0015035 A1).
Regarding Claim 8, Yokoi teaches the system as described above.
Regarding Claim 8, Yokoi does not expressly teach further comprising:
at least one third sensor unit configured to detect the closure element when the closure element is in the closed position;
at least one fourth sensor unit configured to detect the closure element when the closure element is in the opened position;
a second drive unit;
wherein the at least one third sensor unit is further configured to generate a third sensor signal and to transmit the third sensor signal to the control unit;
wherein the fourth sensor unit is further configured to generate a fourth sensor signal and to transmit the fourth sensor signal to the control unit; and
wherein the control unit is further configured to actuate the second drive unit to drive the closure element in response to one at least one of the third sensor signal and the fourth sensor signal.
Regarding Claim 8, Yokoi does not expressly teach, but Tanaka teaches further comprising:
at least one third sensor unit, i.e., outer shutter full closure sensor (35a) or inner shutter full closure sensor (36a), as mentioned at paragraphs 50 and 51 and as illustrated at figures 5-10, configured to detect the closure element when the closure element is in the closed position;
at least one fourth sensor unit, i.e., outer shutter full opening sensor (35b) and inner shutter full opening sensor (36b), as mentioned at paragraph 48 and as illustrated at figures 5-10, for example, configured to detect the closure element when the closure element is in the opened position;
a second drive unit, i.e., “shutter opening and closing unit that drives the outer shutter 35 and inner shutter 36” as mentioned in paragraph 48, second sentence;
wherein the at least one third sensor unit (35a, 36a) is further configured to generate a third sensor signal and to transmit the third sensor signal to the control unit, i.e., the control unit (200) as illustrated in figure 2, the body controller (203) and paper currency handling mechanism control unit (301) as illustrated in figure 3, for example;
wherein the fourth sensor unit (35b, 36b) is further configured to generate a fourth sensor signal and to transmit the fourth sensor signal to the control unit (200, 203, 301); and
wherein the control unit (200, 203, 301) is further configured to actuate the second drive unit to drive the closure element (35, 36) in response to one at least one of the third sensor signal and the fourth sensor signal, as illustrated in the flowchart in figure 11.
Regarding Claim 8, before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided further comprising:
at least one third sensor unit configured to detect the closure element when the closure element is in the closed position;
at least one fourth sensor unit configured to detect the closure element when the closure element is in the opened position;
a second drive unit;
wherein the at least one third sensor unit is further configured to generate a third sensor signal and to transmit the third sensor signal to the control unit;
wherein the fourth sensor unit is further configured to generate a fourth sensor signal and to transmit the fourth sensor signal to the control unit; and
wherein the control unit is further configured to actuate the second drive unit to drive the closure element in response to one at least one of the third sensor signal and the fourth sensor signal, as taught by Tanaka, in Yokoi’s device for handling bills for the purpose of effectuating Yokoi’s taught closure unit using common sensor elements connected to said control unit.
Claim(s) 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yokoi et al (US 2008/0142583 A1) in view of Milne et al (US 2012/0160860 A1) and further in view of Lee (US 2003/0121973 A1).
Regarding Claim(s) 16-20, Yokoi teaches the system as described above.
Regarding Claim 16, Yokoi teaches
wherein said depositing element, i.e., any one of (203, 204, 205, 216), is further defined as moveable along a rectilinear path of movement between at least a lower position and the initializing position, noting that any one of (203, 204, 205, 216) moves in a rectilinear path toward and away from the stack of deposited banknotes as illustrated in figures 5-12, for example,
wherein said delimiting element, i.e., any one of (203, 204, 205, 216), is further defined as pivotally moveable about a second rotation axis through at least a first delimiting position, a second delimiting position, and a third delimiting position, noting that the motion of the delimiting element (203-205 and 216) move through numerous positions represented as three points along their motion path, noting that any one of delimiting elements (203, 204, 205, 216) necessarily rotates about the rotation axis of dispensing compartment/cash slot mechanism (20) because they are attached to said cash slot mechanism (20), as illustrated in figures 5-12 and noting the second rotation axis represented by rotating motor (222) as mentioned at paragraph 66, and noting that delimiting elements (203, 204, 205, 216) are attached to cash slot mechanism (20). Note also that the rotation of cash slot mechanism (20) is independent of the movement of housing shutter (201) as illustrated in figure 5, for example.
Regarding Claim 16, Yokoi does not expressly teach
a closure element pivotally moveable about a first rotation axis between at least a closed position and an opened position; and
wherein said first rotation axis and said second rotation axis are spaced from one another.
Regarding Claim 16, Yokoi does not expressly teach, but Lee teaches
a closure element, i.e., door (20) as illustrated in figures 2 and 3, for example, pivotally moveable about a first rotation axis, i.e., hinge shaft (13), between at least a closed position and an opened position, as illustrated in figures 2 and 3, noting that the first rotation axis (13) is independent of other components of Lee’s device.
Regarding Claim 16, before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have substituted a closure element pivotally moveable about a first rotation axis between at least a closed position and an opened position, as taught by Lee, for the closure element in Yokoi’s device for handling bills for the purpose of providing a closure element that applies even pressure to a door opening/closing device through a locking mechanism, as mentioned at col. 1, lines 61-64 of Lee.
Therefore, regarding Claim 16, it would have been obvious to have used Lee’s closure element pivotally moveable about a first rotation axis between at least a closed position and an opened position, with a first rotation axis, to enclose Yokoi’s dispensing depositing element (20) with a second rotation axis so that said first rotation axis and said second rotation axis are spaced from one another, since both Lee’s and Yokoi's devices have predictable structure and function and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the efficacy and synergy of the combination based upon the references' teachings as well as common sense, logic and reason.
Regarding Claim 17, Yokoi does not expressly teach, but Lee teaches
wherein said closure element further comprises at least one protrusion a first distance from said first rotation axis and thereby moves along a first arcuate path as said disclosure element moves between said closed position and said opened position;
said delimiting element further comprises at least one engagement element with a distal tip that extends a second distance from said second rotation axis when said delimiting element is at said first delimiting position and said second delimiting position; and
said first arcuate path and said second distance intersect when said delimiting element is at said second delimiting position, whereby said distal tip is received in said at least one protrusion.
Regarding Claim 17, Yokoi does not expressly teach, but Lee teaches
wherein said closure element (20, 200) further comprises at least one protrusion, i.e., catching portion (31, 310) as mentioned at paragraph 41 and as illustrated in figures 1-8, a first distance from said first rotation axis, i.e., hinge shaft (13, 130), and thereby moves along a first arcuate path as said closure element moves between said closed position and said opened position, as illustrated in figures 1-9, and as mentioned in paragraph 27, for example;
said delimiting element (30, 32-34, 120, 320, 322, 323, 330, 331, 350) further comprises at least one engagement element, i.e., catching member (320) with a distal tip (322) that extends a second distance, i.e., the distance to the (30, 32-34, 120, 320, 322, 323, 330, 331, 350) from said second rotation axis, as taught by Yokoi, when said delimiting element (30, 32-34, 120, 320, 322, 323, 330, 331, 350) is at said first delimiting position and said second delimiting position, noting that the elements move through multiple positions during their movement; and
said first arcuate path and said second distance intersect when said delimiting element (30, 32-34, 120, 320, 322, 323, 330, 331, 350) is at said second delimiting position, whereby said distal tip (322) is received in said at least one protrusion (31, 310), as illustrated in figures 1-9, for example. See annotated figures 4 and 8, as follows.
Note that it is obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that when combined with Yokoi’s cash slot mechanism (20), that a second rotation axis is established relative to the first rotation axis.
Regarding Claim 18, Yokoi does not expressly teach,
wherein at least part of said at least one engagement element is elastically deformable whereby said distal tip is retractable into a remainder of said at least one engagement element and said second distance is a maximum distance between said distal tip and said second rotation axis.
Regarding Claim 18, Yokoi does not expressly teach, but Lee teaches
wherein at least part of said at least one engagement element (320) is elastically deformable, i.e., via spring (331), whereby said distal tip (322) is retractable into a remainder of said at least one engagement element (320), i.e., noting shaft (332), is retracted at least partially into solenoid (30, 330) and said second distance is a maximum distance between said distal tip (322) and said second rotation axis, as taught by Yokoi.
Regarding Claim 19, Yokoi does not expressly teach,
wherein said at least one engagement element further comprises:
a spring biasing said distal tip outward from said remainder of said at least one engagement element, to extend to said second distance.
Regarding Claim 19, Yokoi does not expressly teach, but Lee teaches
wherein said at least one engagement element (320) further comprises:
a spring (331) biasing said distal tip (322) outward from said remainder of said at least one engagement element (320), to extend to said second distance, noting again the difference in distance as illustrated in annotated figure 8, above.
Regarding Claim 20, Yokoi does not expressly teach,
wherein said distal tip is progressively urged into said remainder of said at least one engagement element, away from said second distance, by said closure element as said closure element moves said delimiting element to said third delimiting position from said second delimiting position.
Regarding Claim 20, Yokoi does not expressly teach, but Lee teaches
wherein said distal tip (322) is progressively urged into said remainder of said at least one engagement element (320), away from said second distance, by said closure element (20, 200) as said closure element (20, 200) moves said delimiting element (30, 32-34, 120, 320, 322, 323, 330, 331, 350) to said third delimiting position from said second delimiting position, noting that all of these elements move through multiple delimiting positions, as illustrated in figures 1-9, for example.
Claim(s) 12, 13 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yokoi et al (US 2008/0142583 A1) in view of Milne et al (US 2012/0160860 A1), further in view of Tanaka et al (US 2013/0015035 A1) and further in view of Berendes (US 8,500,000 B2).
Regarding Claim(s) 12, 13 and 15, Yokoi teaches the system as described above.
Regarding Claim 12, see the rejections of Claims 1, 7 and 8, for example.
Regarding Claim 12, Yokoi teaches further comprising:
a closure element (201) moveable between a closed position whereby the closure
element (201) delimits and closes the dispensing compartment (20, 21) on a third side, i.e., any of (203, 204, 205, 215), and an opened position whereby bills in the dispensing compartment (20, 21) are accessible by an operator. See also the rejection of Claims 1 and 7, above.
Regarding Claim 12, Yokoi does not expressly teach
at least one third sensor unit configured to detect the closure element
when the
closure element is in the closed position and configured to generate a third
sensor
signal:
a second drive unit;
at least one engagement element mounted on the delimiting element;
wherein the control unit is configured to actuate the first drive unit to move the depositing element,
from one of a lower position of the depositing element, the first feeding position, and a second feeding position of the depositing element, a predetermined distance to an entrainment position;
wherein the delimiting element is moved from a first delimiting position to a second delimiting position by the movement of the depositing element to the entrainment position;
wherein the control unit is further configured, in response to receiving the third
sensor
signal, to actuate the second drive unit to move the closure element from the closed position to the opened position; and
wherein the at least one engagement element engages an engagement region of the closure element.
Regarding Claim 12, Yokoi does not expressly teach, but Tanaka teaches
at least one third sensor unit (35a, 36a) configured to detect the closure element, i.e., outer shutter (35) and inner shutter (36), when the
closure element (35, 36) is in the closed position and configured to generate a third sensor
signal.
See also the rejection of Claim 8, above.
Regarding Claim 12, Yokoi does not expressly teach, but Berendes teaches
at least one engagement element, i.e., locking pin (21, 22) as illustrated in figures 1-3, mounted on the delimiting element, i.e., roller shutter (12), as mentioned at col. 4, lines 35-59.
Regarding Claim 12, before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided at least one engagement element mounted on the delimiting element, as taught by Berendes, in Yokoi’s device for the purpose of effectuating Yokoi’s taught closure unit using common sensor elements connected to said control unit.
Regarding Claim 12, the remaining limitations,
wherein the control unit is configured to actuate the first drive unit to move the depositing element,
from one of a lower position of the depositing element, the first feeding position, and a second feeding position of the depositing element, a predetermined distance to an entrainment position;
wherein the delimiting element is moved from a first delimiting position to a second delimiting position by the movement of the depositing element to the entrainment position;
wherein the control unit is further configured, in response to receiving the third
sensor
signal, to actuate the second drive unit to move the closure element from the closed position to the opened position; and
wherein the at least one engagement element engages an engagement region of the closure element,
see the rejection of Claims 1-11, above.
Regarding Claim 13, see the rejection of Claims 1-12, above.
Regarding Claim 15, see the rejection of Claims 1-12, above.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/20/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant asserts at Applicant’s Remarks, received 3/20/26, (The Remarks), first full paragraph, the rejections using alternatively elements (203, 204, 205, 216) as delimiting elements.
In response to Applicant's arguments, it is noted that the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981).
Further, in response to Applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Applicant’s Claim 1 recites the phrase “a dispensing compartment which includes a depositing element that is movable and delimits the dispensing compartment on a first side and a delimiting element that delimits the dispensing compartment on a second side”.
Emphasis provided.
See Yokoi, paragraphs 64 and 65 and annotated figure 5, as follows.
[0064] As shown in FIG. 5, with the cash slot mechanism 20, a front plate 204 arranged toward a user to constitute the front of the automated transaction machine 101 when being in the feeding/stacking posture (the posture, in which bills 210 in a storage space A are inclined at around 75.degree..+-.10.degree. to the horizontal), a rear plate (moving plate) 205 arranged on an opposite side to the user, and an intermediate plate 203 arranged between the front plate 204 and the rear plate 205 are arranged in parallel to one another, and a bill hopper 216 is provided to constitute a bottom plate perpendicular to these plates. A space surrounded by these plates forms the storage space A for bills 210. The front plate 204, the rear plate 205 and the intermediate plate 203 are controlled by a drive motor (not shown) in moving in a mutually approaching direction and in a mutually distant direction (referred below to as direction of interposing movement). Also, a length of the front plate 204 from a base thereof (a side, on which the front plate abuts against the bill hopper 216) to a tip end thereof and a length of the rear plate 205 from a base thereof (a side, on which the rear plate abuts against the bill hopper 216) to a tip end thereof are substantially the same as each other, and a length of the intermediate plate 203 from a base thereof (a side, on which the intermediate plate abuts against the bill hopper 216) to a tip end thereof is half the former length. In addition, a length of the intermediate plate 203 is not limited to this but may be set to an appropriate length.
[0065] Further, as shown in FIG. 5, a separation mechanism composed of a feed roller 206 and a gate roller 207, which serve as bill feeding means, is arranged below the storage space A toward a user. Therefore, a bill 210 charged into the storage space A is fed into the apparatus owing to a rotary action of the feed roller 206, and the gate roller 207, which does not rotate in a direction of discharge, prevents two bills from being fed at a time. Thus, the bills 210 in the cash slot mechanism 20 are fed in a direction indicated by an arrow 208 to merge into a main bill conveyance path 501 (FIG. 4) via a deposit unit conveyance path 251a to be taken into the apparatus. In addition, the feed roller 206 comprises a plurality of rollers having a considerably smaller width than that of the front plate 204 and arranged so as to partially project into the storage space A from slits of the front plate 204, which are provided in a comb-shaped manner.
Emphasis provided.
As can be seen from the cited figure 5 and paragraphs 64 and 65 note that bill hopper (216) is construed as a depositing element that is movable and delimits the dispensing compartment on multiple sides, i.e., such as the bottom of the bill hopper (216) as well as the left or right side and even the top side. The rear plate/moving plate (205), front plate (204) and intermediate plate (203) are all elements that are part of the bill hopper (216) and which also delimit its dispensing compartment and represent multiple sides of said bill hopper. Note that all of these components/elements (203, 204, 205) delimit the dispensing compartment of bill hopper (216) and that each may also be construed to be a second side. Yokoi’s apparatus has predictable structure and function and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized based upon the references' teachings as well as common sense, logic and reason, that with one of elements (203, 204, 205) being chosen as the first side, that the remaining one or two elements (203, 204, 205) would be the second side. Note that elements (203 and 204) appear to be located on the right side. Nonetheless, it is readily apparent to one of ordinary skill in the art that Yokoi reads on Applicant’s limitations.
As previously mentioned above, Yokoi teaches
a device for handling bills, i.e., automated transaction machine (101) and bill depositing/withdrawal apparatus (1) as illustrated at figures 1 and 4, for example, comprising:
a dispensing compartment, i.e., as defined by cash slot mechanism (20) and cash slot (21) as illustrated in figures 4-6, for example, configured to receive a plurality of bills (210) thereby forming a bill stack, as mentioned in abstract and paragraph 64 and as illustrated in figure 5, and which includes a depositing element, that is moveable and delimits the dispensing compartment on a first side, i.e., any one of bill hopper (216), noting the bottom of bill hopper (216) or rear plate/moving plate (205) or front plate (204) or intermediate plate (203), as illustrated in figure 5, for example delimit the dispensing compartment and constitute a first side, noting that bill hopper (216) has four sides as seen in figure 5, all of which delimit/mark/define the boundaries of the dispensing compartment (20),
wherein the plurality of bills of the bill stack (210) are disposed on top of one another in such a manner that a lowermost bill of the plurality of bills (210), i.e., interpreted as the banknote closest to feed roller (206), as illustrated in figures 5 and 6, by way one of the front side thereof or the rear side thereof, i.e., interpreted to be the front or back of the banknote, bears on the depositing element, i.e., the front plate (204), noting that Applicant does not define any particular coordinate system or reference for determining up, down, front, rear, for example,
and a delimiting element that delimits the dispensing compartment (20, 21) on a second side, i.e., any of the other ones of (203, 204, 205, 216), noting again that each one of the three side elements of the dispensing compartment also delimits the dispensing compartment on a second side with respect to that side priorly deemed a first side delimiting element-for example, if the front plate (205) is the first side, then the front plate (204) might be the second side, and noting that the bottom side of the bill hopper (216) can also constitute a second side, or the rear side (204) can be a first side with the front side (205) being a second side, for example, noting that Applicant’s broadly worded limitations invite such a multitude of interpretations,
whereby the plurality of bills (210) in the dispensing compartment (20, 21) are accessible by an operator through a third side of the dispensing compartment (20), i.e., interpreted as the opening (20a) and housing shutter (201), noting the depositing/withdrawing direction (202), as mentioned at paragraph 62 and as illustrated in figure 5,
Applicant asserts that the rejection of Claim 1 lacks a rational underpinning. Applicant asserts that the rejection of Claim 1 lacks rational underpinning because the motivation is conclusory.
However, it is noted that “[a] combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results.” KSR Int’l v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S. Ct. 1731, 82 USPQ2d at 1396.
Note also that the recent decision rendered in KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S._, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007) forecloses the argument that a specific teaching, suggestion or motivation is required to support a finding of obviousness. See recent Board decision Ex Parte Smith, --USPQ2d--, slip op. at 20, (Bd. Pat. App. & Interf. June 25, 2007) (citing KSR, 82 USPQ2d at 1396) (available at http://www.uspto.gov/web/offices/dcom/bpai/prec/fd071925.pdf).
Keeping in mind that “[a] person of ordinary skill is also a person of ordinary creativity, not an automaton,” it is not persuasive that Milne’s teaching of the details of a controller with sensors to effectuate the movement of a banknote dispenser/presenter in a device for handling bills would not suggest use of such details in a similar bill handling device such as that of Yokoi9. KSR Int’l. Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 421 (2007).
Regarding Claim 1, it would have been obvious to have used Milne’s at least one first sensor unit configured to detect when the depositing element is in an initializing position and configured to generate a first sensor signal and to transmit the first sensor signal to the control unit;
a first drive unit configured to move the depositing element;
wherein the control unit is configured to actuate the first drive unit to move the depositing element; and
wherein the control unit, in response to the first sensor signal, actuates the first drive unit such that the depositing element is moved by a predetermined distance away from the delimiting element, from the initializing position to a first feeding position for feeding the bills, in Yokoi's bill handling device as a common structure suggested by Yokoi’s disclosure and fully taught by Milne’s since both Milne and Yokoi's devices have predictable structure and function and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the efficacy and synergy of the combination based upon the references' teachings as well as common sense, logic and reason.
Therefore, Claims 1-20 remains rejected.
It is strongly suggested that an interview would be advantageous to determine the best way forward with regards to Applicant’s claims.
Conclusion
Applicant is encouraged to contact the Examiner should there be any questions about this rejection or in an endeavor to explore potential amendments or potential allowable subject matter.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Tsuchiya ‘647 is cited as teaching a pressure sensor with springs (53) and limit switches (50) as illustrated in figures 9-10D and as mentioned at paragraph 55, for example.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JEFFREY A SHAPIRO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619
June 20, 2026