DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 03/03/2026 has been entered into the prosecution of the application.
Claim(s) 3, 5-7, 16, and 18 is/are canceled. Claim(s) 1, 4, 8-11, and 14-15 are amended.
Drawing objections are withdrawn due to the substituted drawings. Claim objections for claims 7 and 18 are withdrawn because the claims are canceled. Claim rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) is withdrawn in response to the amendment.
Currently, claim(s) 1-2, 4, 8-15, 17, and 19-20 is/are pending.
Claim Objections
Claim 15 is objected to because of the following informalities:
As to claim 15, the term “1-1st” and “1-2nd" should read “1-1th” and 1-2th”, respectively; in addition, the term “2-1t” should read “2-1th”; the term “2-2nd” should instead read “2-2th” according to paragraph [0111] of US 2022/0331816 A1.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, and 8-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho Kang Woon of KR 101745207 B1 (hereinafter, Cho) in view of Kihachiro Nakagawa of JP S5-102459 A (hereinafter, Nakagawa), Park Ji-Yong of KR 20160099310 A (hereinafter, Park ‘310), Park Ji Yong of KR 20160101408 A (hereinafter, Park ‘408), and Park Ji Yong of KR 20210019822 A (hereinafter, Park ‘822).
Fig. 1 of Cho
As to claim 1, Cho teaches to an electrical dust collection device (Cho, paragraph [0020], Fig. 2, teaches an electrostatic precipitator), comprising:
a charging part (Cho, paragraph [0021], Figs. 1-2 teaches charging unit 10) that applies charges to dust particles introduced from an outside (Cho, paragraph [0021], teaches foreign matter particles contained in the air, which is from an outside); and
a dust collection part (Cho, paragraph [0020], Fig. 2, teaches dust collecting unit 20) that collects, by electric attraction, the dust particles charged by the charging part (Cho, paragraph [0021], teaches radiating electrons through corona discharge, thereby charging them),
wherein the charging part includes:
a first charging plate (Cho, paragraph [0022], Figs. 1-2, teaches discharge plate 11) that has a plate shape (Cho, paragraph [0022], Figs. 1-2, teaches discharge plate 11), and is provided with a first charging hole (Cho, paragraph [0023], teaches multiple inlets 11a; charging foreign substances floating in the air passing through the inlet 11a) penetrated to move the dust (the term “to move the dust” is an intended use, but multiple inlets 11a of Cho is nonetheless capable of moving the dust), respectively; and
a charging electrode that includes charging pins (Cho, paragraph [0025], Figs. 1-2, teaches discharge pin 12) protruding from a center of the first charging hole (Cho, Fig. 2, teaches protruding upwards from a center of the first charging hole) to apply charges to the dust particles (the term “to apply charges to the dust particles” is an intended use, but discharge pin 12 of Cho is nonetheless capable of applying charges to the dust particles).
Fig. 2 of Cho
Cho does not explicitly teach a second charging plate.
Cho does not explicitly teach a frame-shaped charging frame.
In an analogous art, Nakagawa teaches to a first charging plate and a second charging plate that are arranged in parallel spaced apart from each other by a predetermined distance in a movement direction of the dust and have a plate shape, and are provided with a first charging hole and a second charging hole penetrated to move the dust, respectively (Nakagawa, Fig. 2, paragraph [0001], teaches a grounded porous electrode plate 21, read as a first charging plate, and a high-voltage porous electrode plate 22, read as a second charging plate, arranged opposite to this electrode plate 21 at a distance d1, wherein gas passage holes 21a are read as a first charging hole and flow holes 22a are read as a second charging hole).
Fig. 2. of Nakagawa
Figs. 3 (left) and 4 (right) of Nakagawa
Both Cho and Nakagawa relate to electrostatic precipitator for removing dust from a gas. Cho does not explicitly teach a second charging plate. Cho does teach a first charging plate. Nakagawa teaches to a first charging plate and a second charging plate that are arranged in parallel spaced apart from each other by a predetermined distance in a movement direction of the dust and have a plate shape, and are provided with a first charging hole and a second charging hole penetrated to move the dust, respectively (Nakagawa, Fig. 2, paragraph [0001], teaches a grounded porous electrode plate 21, read as a first charging plate, and a high-voltage porous electrode plate 22, read as a second charging plate, arranged opposite to this electrode plate 21 at a distance d1, wherein gas passage holes 21a are read as a first charging hole and flow holes 22a are read as a second charging hole).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to have modified the device of Cho in view of the second charging plate of Nakagawa for providing an electrostatic precipitator which can be made compact while still ensuring high dust collection performance (Nakagawa, paragraph [0001]).
Cho in view of Nakagawa does not explicitly teach a frame-shaped charging frame that is provided with the first charging plate, the second charging plate, and the charging electrode.
In an analogous art, Park ‘310 teaches a frame-shaped charging frame (Park ‘310, paragraphs [0032], [0041], and Fig. 7, teaches case 100) that is provided with the first charging plate, the second charging plate, and the charging electrode.
Both Cho in view of Nakagawa and Park ‘310 relate to an electric dust collector (Park ‘310, paragraph [0001]). Cho in view of Nakagawa does not explicitly teach a frame-shaped charging frame. Cho in view of Nakagawa does teach the first charging plate (Cho, paragraph [0022], Figs. 1-2, teaches discharge plate 11), the second charging plate (Nakagawa, Fig. 2, paragraph [0001], teaches a high-voltage porous electrode plate 22, read as a second charging plate), and the charging electrode (discharge pin 12 of Cho, Fig. 2, or of projections 23 of Nakagawa, Fig. 4) configured to flow air through multiple inlets 11a or gas passage holes 22a for providing a corona discharge. Park ‘310 teaches that a frame may be formed in various forms in which the charging module 200 can be mounted, thereby providing a structure for an integration of structural components used as electrostatic precipitator for collecting dust.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have modified the electrical dust collection device of Cho in view of Nakagawa with the frame of Park ‘310 for providing efficient corona discharge for charging dust particles and for providing a support for components of electrical dust collection device, respectively.
Cho in view of Nakagawa and Park ‘310 teaches to wherein the first charging hole of the first charging plate and the second charging hole of the second charging plate are curved (Park ‘310, paragraph [0037], teaches that the circumference of the hollow part 211 forms a curved part 211a in a curved shape) to have a shape in which circles of the first charging hole and the second charging hole overlaps with each other in a direction perpendicular to a direction in which the dust particles are introduced (Park ‘310, Fig. 2, teaches to dust particles that are introduced to a direction perpendicular to the first electrode part having a plurality of through holes, wherein multiple outlets 11a of Cho, and/or plurality of through holes 221 of Park ‘310 are read into the first charging hole and wherein flow holes 22a of Nakagawa are read into the second charging hole),
wherein the charging frame (Park ‘310, paragraph [0032], teaches a case 100) includes a first fixed frame (Park ‘310, paragraph [0039], teaches that the first housing 210 includes a first housing 210a and a second housing 210b for fixing the first electrode unit 220; the first housing 210a is read as a first fixed frame) that is provided with a first hollow portion (Park ‘310, paragraph [0037], Figs. 9 to 11, teaches a hollow portion 211 for easily guiding the air to the through hole 221 of the first electrode unit 220) corresponding to the first charging hole of the first charging plate (Cho, paragraph [0022], Figs. 1-2, teaches discharge plate 11) and fixes the first charging plate (Park ‘310, paragraphs [0015] and [0016], teaches that the charging module can be easily fixed);
and a second fixed frame (Park ‘310, paragraph [0039], teaches that the first housing 210 includes a first housing 210a and a second housing 210b for fixing the first electrode unit 220; the first housing 210b is read as a second fixed frame) that is provided with a second hollow portion (Park ‘310, Fig. 2, teaches a a second fixed frame 210b that is provided with a second hollow portion, see Fig. 2) corresponding to the second charging hole (Nakagawa, Fig. 2, paragraph [0001], teaches flow holes 22a, read as a second charging hole) of the second charging plate (Nakagawa, Fig. 2, paragraph [0001], teaches a high-voltage porous electrode plate 22, read as a second charging plate) and fixes the second charging plate (Park ‘310 teaches fixing the first charging plate, or first electrode unit 220, for supporting the charging module 200 after fixation by mounting, which would have been readily applied to the second charging plate, or a high-voltage porous electrode plate 22, of Nakagawa for supporting the charging module 200 after fixation by mounting),
and the first fixed frame to which the first charging plate is fixed and the second fixed frame to which the second charging plate is fixed are assembled and fixed to each other (Park ‘310, Fig. 7, paragraph [0046], teaches to assembling and fixing the first fixed frame, or the first housing 210a, and the second fixed frame, or the first housing 210b, to each other for supporting the charging module 200 after fixation by mounting).
Fig. 11 of Park
Cho in view of Nakagawa and Park ‘310 does not explicitly teach to a first fastening protrusion, a first fastening groove, a second fastening protrusion, and a second fastening groove.
In an analogous art, Park ‘022 teaches to the device of claim 5, wherein the other thereof is provided with a first fastening groove (see Fig. 12 of Park ‘022 below) corresponding to the first fastening protrusion to fix the first fastening protrusion and the first fastening groove to each other.
Fig. 12 of Park ‘022
Both Cho in view of Nakagawa and Park ‘310 and Park ‘022 relate to electrostatic precipitator for dust collection. Cho in view of Nakagawa and Park ‘310 does not explicitly teach a fastening groove or fastening protrusion. Cho in view of Nakagawa and Park ‘310 does teach the first fixed frame, first charging plate, second fixed frame, second charging plate (see rejection for claim 5 above). Park ‘022 teaches a fastening groove.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have modified the device of Cho in view of Nakagawa and Park ‘310 with the fastening grooves of Park ‘022 for securing charging plates in desired place for structural integration, thereby enabling efficient corona discharge.
Cho in view of Nakagawa, Park ‘310, and Park ‘022 does not explicitly teach wherein any one of the first fixed frame and the first charging plate is provided with a first fastening protrusion. However, Park ‘022, paragraph [0062], does teach a mounting portion 111 on which the shape-variable cutting portion 131a is mounted and fixed. Park ‘022 does not explicitly teach how discharge plate 120 is mounted and fixed to the mounting portion 111. Park does teach, in Fig. 12, a first fastening grove (see above).
Fig. 9 of Park ‘408
In an analogous art, Park ‘408 teaches to the term, wherein any one of the first fixed frame and the first charging plate is provided with a first fastening protrusion (Fig. 9 of Park ‘408 teaches a protrusion for fixing).
Both Cho in view of Nakagawa, Park ‘310, Park ‘022 and Park ‘408 relate to electrostatic precipitator for dust collection. Cho in view of Nakagawa, Park ‘310, and Park ‘022 does not explicitly teach a first fastening protrusion. Cho in view of Nakagawa, Park ‘310, Park ‘022 does teach a first fastening groove. Park ‘408 teaches a first fastening protrusion.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective fling date of the instant invention to have modified the device of Cho in view of Nakagawa, Park ‘310, Park ‘022 with the fastening protrusion of Park ‘408 for securing charging plates in desired place for structural integration, thereby enabling efficient corona discharge.
Cho in view of Nakagawa, Park ‘310, Park ‘022, and Park ‘408 teaches to the device of claim 5, wherein any one of the second fixed frame (Park ‘310, paragraph [0039], teaches that the first housing 210 includes a first housing 210a and a second housing 210b for fixing the first electrode unit 220; the first housing 210b is read as a second fixed frame) and the second charging plate (Nakagawa, Fig. 2, paragraph [0001], teaches a high-voltage porous electrode plate 22, read as a second charging plate) is provided with a second fastening protrusion (Fig. 9 of Park ‘408 teaches a protrusion for fixing, which is considered as a second fastening protrusion, wherein the protrusion of Fig. 9 of Park ‘408 is used in combination with any one of the second fixed frame and the second charging plate above), and the other thereof is provided with a second fastening groove corresponding to the second fastening protrusion to fix the second fastening protrusion and the second fastening groove to each other (Fig. 12 of Park ‘022 teaches a groove for fixing, which is considered as a second fastening groove, wherein the groove of Fig. 12 of Park ‘022 is used in combination with the high-voltage porous electrode plate 22 of Nakagawa, Fig. 2, paragraph [0001], read as a second charging plate).
Cho in view of Nakagawa, Park ‘310, Park ‘022, and Park ‘408 does not explicitly teach wherein the first fixed frame and the second fixed frame are provided with a first fastening part and a second fastening part for fastening that respectively protrude in a direction facing each other, and the first charging plate and the second charging plate are provided with a hollow third fastening groove and fourth fastening groove through which the first fastening part and the second fastening part, respectively, penetrate.
Fig. 5 of Park ‘822
In an analogous art, Park ‘822 teaches to the term, wherein the first fixed frame (the first case 101 of Park ‘822, paragraph [0067], Fig. 5) and the second fixed frame (the second case 201 of Park ‘822, paragraph [0067], Fig. 5) are provided with a first fastening part (a fixed hook 101a of Park ‘822, paragraph [0067], Fig. 5, reads as a first fastening part) and a second fastening part (a corresponding part 201a of Park ‘822, paragraph [0067], Fig. 5, reads as a second fastening part) for fastening that respectively protrude in a direction facing each other (the fixed hook 101a of Park ‘822 and the corresponding part 201a are used for fastening and respectively protrude in a direction facing each other in operation), and the first charging plate (Cho, paragraph [0022], Figs. 1-2, teaches discharge plate 11) and the second charging plate (Nakagawa, Fig. 2, paragraph [0001], teaches a high-voltage porous electrode plate 22, read as a second charging plate) are provided with a hollow third fastening groove and fourth fastening groove (Park ‘822, Fig. 5, teaches a hollow third fastening groove and fourth fastening groove, as shown above) through which the first fastening part and the second fastening part, respectively, penetrate (the fixed hook 101a and the corresponding part 201a, respectively, penetrate the hollow third fastening groove and fourth fastening groove in operation).
Both Cho in view of Nakagawa, Park ‘310, Park ‘022, and Park ‘408 and Park ‘822 relate to electrostatic precipitator for dust collection. Cho in view of Nakagawa, Park ‘310, Park ‘022, and Park ‘408 does not explicitly teach a first fastening part and a second fastening part with a hollow third fastening groove and fourth fastening groove. Cho in view of Nakagawa, Park ‘310, Park ‘022, and Park ‘408 does teach the first fixed frame, the second fixed frame, the first charging plate, and the second charging plate. Park ‘822 teaches a first fastening part and a second fastening part with a hollow third fastening groove and fourth fastening groove.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have modified the device of Cho in view of Nakagawa, Park ‘310, Park ‘022, and Park ‘408 with the fastening parts of Park ‘822 for facilitating attachment and detachment (Park, paragraph [0067]), enabling ease of maintenance and inspection.
As to claim 2, Cho in view of Nakagawa, Park ‘310, Park ‘022, Park ‘408, and Park ‘822 teaches to the device of claim 1, wherein the charging electrode (Park ‘310, paragraph [0035], teaches second electrode part 230) is integrally formed with the charging pins (Park ‘310, paragraph [0035], teaches protrusion 232) and an electrode rod (Park ‘310, paragraph [0035] teaches a frame 231) connecting between the charging pins (Cho, paragraph [0025], teaches that the discharge pin 12 is installed on a conductive mounting portion 13 and is arranged at a certain distance from the dust collector 20 and is configured to receive high voltage electricity through the conductive mounting portion 13).
As to claim 4, Cho in view of Nakagawa, Park ‘310, Park ‘022, Park ‘408, and Park ‘822 teaches to the device of claim 3, wherein in the charging electrode (Park ‘310, paragraph [0035], teaches second electrode part 230), the electrode rod (Park ‘310, paragraph [0035], teaches frame 231) is formed long in the first charging hole (Cho teaches multiple outlets 11a , and/or Park ‘310, paragraph [0035], teaches that plurality of through holes 221 are formed in a flat plate of a conductive material, which either are read into the first charging hole) and the second charging hole (wherein flow holes 22a of Nakagawa are read into the second charging hole) having the shape in which the plurality of circles (Park ‘310, paragraph [0021], teaches a plurality of through holes formed in a plate shape and are circles) overlap with each other,
and the plurality of charging pins are formed to be positioned at radical centers of the overlapping circles (Park ‘310, paragraph [0021], teaches a protrusion protruding toward the center of the through hole) of the first charging hole and the second charging hole.
As to claim 8, Cho in view of Nakagawa, Park ‘310, Park ‘022, Park ‘408, and Park ‘822 teaches to the device of claim 1, wherein the first fastening part and the second fastening part are configured to remove gaseous materials (the fixed hook 101a and the corresponding part 201a of Park ‘822 fix the first fixed frame, or the first case 101 of Park ‘822, paragraph [0067], Fig. 5, and the second fixed frame, or the second case 201 of Park ‘822, paragraph [0067], Fig. 5, so as to fix the gas removal unit 400 of Park ‘822, paragraph [0070], Figs. 13 and 14, by combining the first charging plate, or discharge plate 11 of Cho, paragraph [0022], Figs. 1-2, and the second charging plate, or high-voltage porous electrode plate 22 of Nakagawa, Fig. 2, paragraph [0001], near the charging pins, or discharge pin 12 of Cho, paragraph [0025], wherein the fixed gas removal unit 400 is capable of removing gaseous materials).
As to claim 9, Cho in view of Nakagawa, Park ‘310, Park ‘022, Park ‘408, and Park ‘822 teaches to the device of claim 8, wherein the first fastening part and the second fastening part are made of a functional catalyst material, or the functional catalyst material is attached (the fixed hook 101a and the corresponding part 201a of Park ‘822 fix the first fixed frame, or the first case 101 of Park ‘822, paragraph [0067], Fig. 5, and the second fixed frame, or the second case 201 of Park ‘822, paragraph [0067], Fig. 5, so as to fix the gas removal unit 400 of Park ‘822, paragraph [0070], Figs. 13 and 14, between the first case 101 and the second case 201 of Park ‘822, and/or by combining the first charging plate, or discharge plate 11 of Cho, paragraph [0022], Figs. 1-2, and the second charging plate, or high-voltage porous electrode plate 22 of Nakagawa, Fig. 2, paragraph [0001], near the charging pins, or discharge pin 12 of Cho, paragraph [0025], wherein the fixed gas removal unit 400 is capable of removing gaseous materials) or coated to a structure (structure 410 of Park ‘822 is coated with a functional catalyst material of Park ‘822), and
the functional catalyst material is a material having one of the functions of decomposing, absorbing, and removing gas to prevent odor-causing gas or ozone from being introduced into the vehicle (the gas removal unit 400 of Park ‘822, paragraph [0069], prevents odor-causing gas or ozone from entering the vehicle by using a functional catalytic material having one of the functions of decomposing, adsorbing, and removing gas).
Fig. 8 of Park ‘822
As to claim 10, Cho in view of Nakagawa, Park ‘310, Park ‘022, Park ‘408, and Park ‘822 teaches to the device of claim 1, wherein the charging frame includes a connection frame (connecting frame 113 of Park ‘822 ) that has both ends fixed to the charging frame (see Fig. 8 of Park ‘822) to seat the charging electrode (the term “to seat the charging electrode” is an intended use, but connecting frame 113 of Park ‘822 is capable of seating the charging electrode, see Fig. 8), and is provided with an opening (connecting frame 113 of Park ‘822 is formed with an opening 113a of Park ‘822 in which a predetermined area is opened so that the charging pin 131 of Park ‘822 of the charging electrode 130 of Park ‘822 is exposed; see paragraph [0014] of Park ‘822) whose predetermined region is opened to expose a charging pin of the charging electrode (see hollow portion 112a of Park ‘822, Fig. 8), and
the connection frame is provided with a first protrusion support portion (see Fig. 10 of Park ‘822, protrusion support portion alternately supports both surfaces of the electrode rod 132 of Park ‘822 in a longitudinal direction) that alternately supports both surfaces of the electrode rod in a longitudinal direction.
Fig. 10 of Park ‘822
As to claim 11, Cho in view of Nakagawa, Park ‘310, Park ‘022, Park ‘408, and Park ‘822 teaches to the device of claim 1, wherein the charging part further includes a charging electrode fixing member (a charging electrode fixing member in Fig. 10 of Park ‘822 is provided with a fixed groove in which the charging electrode is seated) that is provided with a fixed groove in which the charging electrode (charging electrode 130 of Park ‘822is seated in the fixed groove) is seated,
the charging frame includes a connection frame (connecting frame 113 of Park ‘822) that has both ends fixed to the charging frame to seat the charging electrode fixing frame (the term “to seat the charging electrode fixing frame” is an intended use, but connecting frame 113 of Park ‘822 is capable of seating the charging electrode fixing frame, see Fig. 8), and is provided with an opening (connecting frame 113 of Park ‘822 is formed with an opening 113a of Park ‘822 in which a predetermined area is opened so that the charging pin 131 of Park ‘822 of the charging electrode 130 of Park ‘822 is exposed; see paragraph [0014] of Park ‘822) whose predetermined region is opened to expose a charging pin of the charging electrode (see hollow portion 112a of Park ‘822, Fig. 8), and
Fig. 10 of Park ‘822
the charging electrode fixing member is provided with a second protrusion support portion (see Fig. 10 of Park ‘822, protrusion support portion alternately supports both surfaces of the electrode rod 132 of Park ‘822 in a longitudinal direction) that alternately supports both surfaces of the electrode rod in a longitudinal direction.
As to claim 12, Cho in view of Nakagawa, Park ‘310, Park ‘022, Park ‘408, and Park ‘822 teaches to the device of claim 11, wherein the charging electrode fixing member is provided with a first corresponding portion (first corresponding portion of Park ‘822 in Fig. 10 is provided with the charging electrode fixing member and a predetermined region of the fixed groove protrudes or is recessed) in which a predetermined region of the fixed groove protrudes or is recessed, and
the charging electrode is provided with a second corresponding portion (second corresponding portion of Park ‘822 in Fig. 10 has a shape corresponding to the first corresponding portion) having a shape corresponding to the first corresponding portion.
As to claim 13, Cho in view of Nakagawa, Park ‘310, Park ‘022, Park ‘408, and Park ‘822 teaches to the device of claim 12, further comprising:
a reinforcing support portion (reinforcing support member 117 of Park ‘822, paragraph [0050], connects the overlapping area of the hollow portion 112a of the first fixed frame) that connects the overlapping circles of the first hollow portion of the first fixed frame to divide a region of the first hollow portion into a plurality of regions (the term “to divide a region of the first hollow portion into a plurality of regions” is an intended use, but the reinforcing support portion of Park ‘822 would have been capable of dividing a region into a plurality of regions, see Fig. 8 and/or Fig. 11 of Park ‘822) and is formed integrally with the connection frame (the reinforcing support portion of Park ‘822 is formed integrally with the connection frame 113 of Park ‘822, shown in Fig. 8 and/or Fig. 11 of Park ‘822).
As to claim 14, Cho in view of Nakagawa, Park ‘310, Park ‘022, Park ‘408, and Park ‘822 does not explicitly teach wherein the charging electrode is formed by a single metal plate (Park ‘310, paragraph [0035], teaches that the charging electrode may be in the form of a fine metal bundle; as such, providing the charging electrode with a metal is well-known in the art of electric discharge, but Cho in view of Nakagawa and Park ‘310 does not teach the charging electrode in a form of a plate; Park ‘822 teaches a plate-shaped charging electrode 120 in Fig. 10).
Claim(s) 15, 17, and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang Woon Cho of KR 101745207 B1 (hereinafter, Cho) in view of Kihachiro Nakagawa of JP S5-102459 A (hereinafter, Nakagawa) and Ji Yong Park of KR 20160099310 A (hereinafter, Park ‘310), Ji Yong Park of KR 20210019822 A (hereinafter, Park ‘822), and Ji Yong Park of WO 2019098526 A2 (hereinafter, Park ‘526).
As to claim 15, Cho teaches to an electrical dust collection device, comprising:
a charging part (Cho, paragraph [0021], Figs. 1-2 teaches charging unit 10) that applies charges to dust particles introduced from an outside (Cho, paragraph [0021], teaches foreign matter particles contained in the air, which is from an outside); and
a dust collection part (Cho, paragraph [0020], Fig. 2, teaches dust collecting unit 20) that collects, by electric attraction, the dust particles charged by the charging part (Cho, paragraph [0021], teaches radiating electrons through corona discharge, thereby charging them),
wherein the charging part includes:
a first charging plate (Cho, paragraph [0022], Figs. 1-2, teaches discharge plate 11) that has a plate shape (Cho, paragraph [0022], Figs. 1-2, teaches discharge plate 11), and is provided with a first charging hole (Cho, paragraph [0023], teaches multiple inlets 11a; charging foreign substances floating in the air passing through the inlet 11a) penetrated to move the dust (the term “to move the dust” is an intended use, but multiple inlets 11a of Cho is nonetheless capable of moving the dust), respectively; and
a charging electrode that includes charging pins (Cho, paragraph [0025], Figs. 1-2, teaches discharge pin 12) protruding from a center of the first charging hole (Cho, Fig. 2, teaches protruding upwards from a center of the first charging hole) to apply charges to the dust particles (the term “to apply charges to the dust particles” is an intended use, but discharge pin 12 of Cho is nonetheless capable of applying charges to the dust particles).
Fig. 2 of Cho
Cho does not explicitly teach a second charging plate.
Cho does not explicitly teach a frame-shaped charging frame.
In an analogous art, Nakagawa teaches to a first charging plate and a second charging plate that are arranged in parallel spaced apart from each other by a predetermined distance in a movement direction of the dust and have a plate shape, and are provided with a first charging hole and a second charging hole penetrated to move the dust, respectively (Nakagawa, Fig. 2, paragraph [0001], teaches a grounded porous electrode plate 21, read as a first charging plate, and a high-voltage porous electrode plate 22, read as a second charging plate, arranged opposite to this electrode plate 21 at a distance d1, wherein gas passage holes 21a are read as a first charging hole and flow holes 22a are read as a second charging hole).
Fig. 2. of Nakagawa
Figs. 3 (left) and 4 (right) of Nakagawa
Both Cho and Nakagawa relate to electrostatic precipitator for removing dust from a gas. Cho does not explicitly teach a second charging plate. Cho does teach a first charging plate. Nakagawa teaches to a first charging plate and a second charging plate that are arranged in parallel spaced apart from each other by a predetermined distance in a movement direction of the dust and have a plate shape, and are provided with a first charging hole and a second charging hole penetrated to move the dust, respectively (Nakagawa, Fig. 2, paragraph [0001], teaches a grounded porous electrode plate 21, read as a first charging plate, and a high-voltage porous electrode plate 22, read as a second charging plate, arranged opposite to this electrode plate 21 at a distance d1, wherein gas passage holes 21a are read as a first charging hole and flow holes 22a are read as a second charging hole).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to have modified the device of Cho in view of the second charging plate of Nakagawa for providing an electrostatic precipitator which can be made compact while still ensuring high dust collection performance (Nakagawa, paragraph [0001]).
Cho in view of Nakagawa does not explicitly teach a frame-shaped charging frame that is provided with the first charging plate, the second charging plate, and the charging electrode.
In an analogous art, Park ‘310 teaches a frame-shaped charging frame (Park ‘310, paragraphs [0032], [0041], and Fig. 7, teaches case 100) that is provided with the first charging plate, the second charging plate, and the charging electrode.
Both Cho in view of Nakagawa and Park ‘310 relate to an electric dust collector (Park ‘310, paragraph [0001]). Cho in view of Nakagawa does not explicitly teach a frame-shaped charging frame. Cho in view of Nakagawa does teach the first charging plate (Cho, paragraph [0022], Figs. 1-2, teaches discharge plate 11), the second charging plate (Nakagawa, Fig. 2, paragraph [0001], teaches a high-voltage porous electrode plate 22, read as a second charging plate), and the charging electrode (discharge pin 12 of Cho, Fig. 2, or of projections 23 of Nakagawa, Fig. 4) configured to flow air through multiple inlets 11a or gas passage holes 22a for providing a corona discharge. Park ‘310 teaches that a frame may be formed in various forms in which the charging module 200 can be mounted, thereby providing a structure for an integration of structural components used as electrostatic precipitator for collecting dust.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have modified the electrical dust collection device of Cho in view of Nakagawa with the frame of Park ‘310 for providing efficient corona discharge for charging dust particles and for providing a support for components of electrical dust collection device, respectively.
Cho in view of Nakagawa and Park ‘310 does not explicitly teach wherein the dust collection part includes:
a first dust collection part that includes a plurality of first dust collection plates arranged in parallel spaced apart from each other by a predetermined distance, and a plurality of first connection portions continuously formed at one side of both end portions of the first dust collection plate to electrically connect the adjacent first dust collection plates in series; and
a second dust collection part that includes a plurality of second dust collection plates arranged in parallel spaced apart from each other by a predetermined distance, and a plurality of second connection portions continuously formed at the other side of both end portions of the second dust collection plate to electrically connect the adjacent second dust collection plates in series, and
the second dust collection plate is fitted into the first dust collection part so that the first dust collection plate and the second dust collection plate are alternately arranged to face each other, but is not in contact with the first dust collection part.
However, in an analogous art, Park ‘822 teaches to the device of claim 1, wherein the dust collection part (the dust collecting unit 200 of Park ‘822, paragraph [0023], Fig. 12, is used for collecting dust) includes:
a first dust collection part that includes a plurality of first dust collection plates arranged in parallel spaced apart from each other by a predetermined distance (Park ‘822, paragraph [0023], Fig. 12, teaches a plurality of first dust collecting plates arranged in parallel spaced apparat from each other by a predetermined distance), and a plurality of first connection portions (first connecting portion 214 of Park ‘822, paragraph [0062], Fig. 12) continuously formed at one side of both end portions of the first dust collection plate to electrically connect the adjacent first dust collection plates in series (the term “to electrically connect the adjacent first dust collection plates in series” is an intended use, but the first connecting portion 214 of Park ‘822, paragraph [0062], Fig. 12, is capable of electrically connecting the adjacent first dust collection plates in series, see Fig. 12); and
a second dust collection part that includes a plurality of second dust collection plates arranged in parallel spaced apart from each other by a predetermined distance (Park ‘822, paragraph [0023], Fig. 12, teaches a plurality of second dust collecting plates 220), and a plurality of second connection portions (the second connecting portion 224 of Park ‘822, paragraph [0062], Fig. 12) continuously formed at the other side of both end portions of the second dust collection plate to electrically connect the adjacent second dust collection plates in series (the term “to electrically connect the adjacent second dust collection plates in series” is an intended use, but the second connecting portion 224 of Park ‘822, paragraph [0062], Fig. 12, is capable of electrically connecting the adjacent first dust collection plates in series, see Fig. 12), and
the second dust collection plate is fitted into the first dust collection part so that the first dust collection plate and the second dust collection plate are alternately arranged to face each other, but is not in contact with the first dust collection part (Park ‘822, paragraph [0023], Fig. 12, teaches a plurality of second dust collecting plates 220 arranged so as not to come into contact with the plurality of first dust collecting plates 210, see Fig. 12 for alternately arranged collecting plates).
Both Cho in view of Nakagawa and Park ‘310 and Park ‘822 relate to an electrostatic precipitator. Cho in view of Nakagawa and Park ‘310 does not explicitly teach connection portions. Cho in view of Nakagawa and Park ‘310 does teach dust collecting unit 20, comprising dust collecting electrode 21 and dust collecting electrode 22 in Fig. 4. Park ‘822 teaches plurality of first and second connection portions that connect dust collecting plates arranged in parallel spaced apart from each other by a predetermined distance.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have modified the device of Cho in view of Nakagawa and Park ‘310 with the connection portions of Park ‘822 for connecting dust collecting plates, thereby providing a structure for an integration of structural components used as electrostatic precipitator for collecting dust.
Cho in view of Nakagawa, Park ‘310 and Park ‘822 does not explicitly teach wherein the dust collection part further includes:
a first case that is provided with a first opening whose inside is hollow and is provided with a first protrusion fixed portion supporting one side of a first dust collection plate on which a first connection portion of the first dust collection part is formed; and
a second case that is provided with a second opening whose inside is hollow and is provided with a second protrusion fixed portion supporting the other side of a second dust collection plate on which a second connection portion of the second dust collection part is formed,
the first case is provided with a first protrusion support portion supporting the other side of the first dust collection plate on which the first connection portion of the first dust collection part is not formed, and
the second case is provided with a second protrusion support portion supporting one side of the second dust collection plate on which the second connection portion of the second dust collection part is not formed.
In an analogous art, however, Park ‘526 teaches to the device of claim 15, wherein the dust collection part further includes:
a first case that is provided with a first opening whose inside is hollow (first case 500 of Park ‘526, pg. 4, has an inner side opened in the width direction and a part of the first dust collecting part 100 of Park ‘526 is inserted and joined) and is provided with a first protrusion fixed portion supporting one side of a first dust collection plate on which a first connection portion of the first dust collection part is formed (first support member 310 of Park ‘526, pg. 4, is provided with protrusions 330 capable of supporting one side of a first dust collection plate on which a first connection portion of the first dust collection part is formed, see Fig. 13 of Park ‘526); and
a second case that is provided with a second opening whose inside is hollow (second case 600 of Park ‘526, pg. 4, has an inner side opened in the width direction and a part of the second dust collecting part 200 of Park ‘526 inserted and coupled) and is provided with a second protrusion fixed portion supporting the other side of a second dust collection plate on which a second connection portion of the second dust collection part is formed (second support 410 of Park ‘526, pg. 4, is provided with protrusions 430 capable of supporting the other side of a second dust collection plate on which a second connection portion of the second dust collection part is formed),
the first case is provided with a first protrusion support portion supporting the other side of the first dust collection plate on which the first connection portion of the first dust collection part is not formed (receiving groove 520 of Park ‘526, pg. 4, Fig. 14, is provided with the first case, so as to support the other side of the first dust collection plate on which the first connection portion of the first dust collection part is not formed, see Fig. 13 of Park ‘526), and
the second case is provided with a second protrusion support portion supporting one side of the second dust collection plate on which the second connection portion of the second dust collection part is not formed (recess 620 of Park ‘526, Fig. 14 is provided with the second case of Park ‘526 and supports one side of the second dust collection plate on which the second connection portion of the second dust collection apart is not formed).
Both Cho in view of Nakagawa, Park ‘310, and Park ‘822 and Park ‘526 relate to electrostatic precipitator for collecting dust. Cho in view of Nakagawa, Park ‘310, and Park ‘822 does not explicitly teach the first case and the second case, with a first protrusion fixed proportion, a second protrusion fixed proportion, first protrusion support portion, and second protrusion support portion. Cho in view of Nakagawa, Park ‘310, and Park ‘822 does teach plurality of first and second connection portions that connect dust collecting plates arranged in parallel spaced apart from each other by a predetermined distance. Park ‘526 teaches the first case and the second case, with a first protrusion fixed proportion, a second protrusion fixed proportion, first protrusion support portion, and second protrusion support portion.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have modified the device of Cho in view of Nakagawa, Park ‘310, and Park ‘822 with the cases of Park ‘526 for connecting dust collecting plates, thereby providing a structure for an integration of structural components used as electrostatic precipitator for collecting dust.
Cho in view of Nakagawa, Park ‘310, Park ‘822 and Park ‘526 teaches wherein the first protrusion fixed portions include 1-1st protrusion fixed portions and 1-2nd protrusion fixed portions configured to support the first dust collection part at different heights (Park ‘526, Fig. 22, teaches that the first fixing member 310 comprises supporting base 310-1 and supporting member 310-2; supporting base 310-1 of Park ‘526 reads as 1-1th protrusion fixed portions and 310-2 of Park ‘526 reads as 1-2th protrusion fixed portions; both are configured to support the first dust collection part at different heights; see Fig. 22 of Park ‘526), and
wherein the second protrusion fixed portions include 2-1t fixed portions and 2-2nd protrusion fixed portions configured to support the second dust collection part at different heights (Park ‘526, Fig. 24, teaches that the second support 410 comprises supporting base 410-1 and supporting member 410-2).
As to claim 17, Cho in view of Nakagawa, Park ‘310, Park ‘822 and Park ‘526 teaches to the device of claim 15, wherein the first dust collection part is formed using a single sheet made of a conductive material and a dielectric material surrounding the conductive material (Cho, paragraphs [0027]-[0027], Fig. 3, teaches that first and second dust collecting electrodes 21 and 22 are surrounded by dielectric plates 24), and includes a first dust collection plate (Cho, paragraphs [0027]-[0027], Fig. 3, teaches that first and second dust collecting electrodes 21 and 22 are surrounded by dielectric plates 24) in which predetermined regions of the sheet is bonded to each other, excluding the first connection portion forming region of the sheet in a longitudinal direction (the first connection portion is excluded while region of the sheet in a longitudinal direction is formed, see Fig. 3 of Cho); and
the second dust collection part is formed using the single sheet made of a conductive material and the dielectric material surrounding the conductive material, and includes a second dust collection plate (Cho, paragraphs [0027]-[0027], Fig. 3, teaches that first and second dust collecting electrodes 21 and 22 are surrounded by dielectric plates 24) in which predetermined regions of the sheet is bonded to each other, excluding the second connection portion forming region of the sheet in the longitudinal direction (the second connection portion is excluded while region of the sheet in a longitudinal direction is formed, see Fig. 3 of Cho).
As to claim 19, Cho in view of Nakagawa, Park ‘310, Park ‘822 and Park ‘526 teaches to the device of claim 15, wherein the dust collection part further includes:
a first fixing member that includes a first support elongated in a longitudinal direction and fixes a position of the first dust collection plate (first fixing member 230 of Park ‘822, paragraph [0024], Fig. 12, fixes the position of the first dust collecting plate 210 of Park ‘822); and
a second fixing member that includes a second support elongated in the longitudinal direction and fixes a position of the second dust collection plate (second fixing member 240 of Park ‘822, paragraph [0024], Fig. 12, fixes the position of the second dust collecting plate 220 of Park ‘822).
As to claim 20, Cho in view of Nakagawa, Park ‘310, Park ‘822 and Park ‘526 teaches to the device of claim 19, wherein the first dust collection plate is provided with a first insertion groove in which the first support of the first fixing member is inserted and fixed at one side in a width direction (first insertion groove 212 of Park ‘822, paragraph [0064], Fig. 12, in which the first support of the first fixing member is inserted and fixed at one side in a width direction), and a first cut groove in which the second support of the second fixing member is positioned on the other side in the width direction (the first cut groove 213 of Park ‘822, paragraph [0064], Fig. 12, is formed on the other side in the width direction into which the second support member 241 of Park ‘822 of the second fixing member 240 of Park ‘822 is positioned), and
the second dust collection plate is provided with a second cut groove in which the first support of the first fixing member is positioned at one side in the width direction (second cut groove 223 of Park ‘822, paragraph [0065], Fig 12, is formed on one side in the width direction), and a second insertion groove in which the second support of the second fixing member is inserted and fixed at the other side in the width direction (second insertion groove 222 of Park ‘822, paragraph [0065], Fig. 12, is formed on the other side in the width direction).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/03/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On pg. 13 of 14, the applicant asserts that claim 1, as amended, is allowable over prior art. In particular, the applicant argues that none of Park ‘022, Park ‘408, and/or Park ‘822 disclose a configuration that includes both fastening grooves for coupling the first and second fixed frames and for coupling the charging plates thereto.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
On pg. 13 of 14, the applicant asserts that claim 15, as amended, is allowable over prior art. Claim 15 has been amended as an independent claim by partially incorporating claim elements of claim 1. In particular, new language is introduced in addition the incorporating the canceled claims.
However, Cho in view of Nakagawa, Park ‘310, Park ‘822 and Park ‘526 teaches wherein the first protrusion fixed portions include 1-1st protrusion fixed portions and 1-2nd protrusion fixed portions configured to support the first dust collection part at different heights (Park ‘526, Fig. 22, teaches that the first fixing member 310 comprises supporting base 310-1 and supporting member 310-2; supporting base 310-1 of Park ‘526 reads as 1-1th protrusion fixed portions and 310-2 of Park ‘526 reads as 1-2th protrusion fixed portions; both are configured to support the first dust collection part at different heights; see Fig. 22 of Park ‘526), and
wherein the second protrusion fixed portions include 2-1t fixed portions and 2-2nd protrusion fixed portions configured to support the second dust collection part at different heights (Park ‘526, Fig. 24, teaches that the second support 410 comprises supporting base 410-1 and supporting member 410-2). Please refer to the rejection above.
At least for these reasons, the rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
As noted in the Office Action from 12/03/2025, the prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Shinjirou Katsushima of US 20180093282 A1 teaches a charging device. Keigo Oda of JP 2015139769 A teaches a wet electrical dust collector. Hye-kyung Jeon of KR 2018-0022171 A teaches an electric dust collector.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOHN LEE/Examiner, Art Unit 1794
/JAMES LIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1794