DETAILED ACTION
Amendment to the claims was submitted on 10/14/2025, claim 2 is canceled.
Claim Status
Claims 1, 3, and 5-13 are under consideration
Claims 2 and 4 are canceled
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3 and 5-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin (US20200117088 A1, filed 2018) in view of Nakafuji (US 20140048512 A1, published 2014).
Regarding claims 1, 3, and 5-13,
Shin teaches a resin composition and a cured (calcined) film comprising of a compound (C) [abstract, claim 1], which may be the following example with formula 14 (with a weight average molecular weight of 471) [0083], reading on the instant epoxy group-containing compound.
Shin teaches including a solvent [0113].
Shin teaches their compound (C) binds with silanol groups (containing an OH group) in their siloxane polymer [0078], reading on instant site reactive with an epoxy group, reading on instant claim 3.
Shin also teaches including an epoxy compound (D) which would similarly bind with and be a part of the siloxane polymer [0085] and may contain additional structural units such as N-vinyl pyrrolidone (where the pyrrolidone (tetrahydropyrrole) structure contains a heterocyclic pyrrol (pyrrole) ring) [0092], reading on the instant heterocyclic compound.
Shin is silent to their resist composition for forming an underlayer film.
Nakafuji teaches thermosetting resins such as epoxy resins for use in underlayer film forming compositions and functions to prevent intermixing between the resultant resist underlayer film and a resist coating film provided thereon [0099-0100, 0106]. Nakafuji further teaches a method comprising steps of coating and baking their underlayer film forming composition on a substrate, coating and baking a resist film on the underlayer film, exposing the resist film with radiation such as visible light rays, ultraviolet rays, far ultraviolet rays, and electron beams, developing the exposed resist film to form a patterned film, etching the underlayer film using the patterned resist film, and etching (processing) the substrate using the patterned underlayer film [0114-0122].
As both teach similar coating compositions for forming a resist film, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to try using the method of forming and patterning an underlayer film of Nakafuji with the composition of Shin, reading on instant claims 1, 6-8, and 12-13. Further, Nakafuji teaches a known benefit in using epoxy resin containing compositions as underlayer film forming compositions, to prevent intermixing between the resultant resist underlayer film and a resist coating film provided thereon [0099].
Shin also teaches the weight average molecular weight of their siloxane polymer may be 500 to 50,000 [0057]. The resulting compound formed by binding with compound (D) would be about 971 or greater, overlapping the instantly claimed range of 300-3000, reading on instant claims 9-11. Per MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists.
Shin teaches including a surfactant [0085], reading on instant claim 5.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 10/14/2025 with respect the new claim amendments have been fully considered but are not persuasive. The above rejections have been updated accordingly.
Conclusion
/A.N.L./Examiner, Art Unit 1737
/JONATHAN JOHNSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1734