DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in regard to the application filed on March 25, 2022 and in response to Applicants Amendments and Arguments/Remarks filed on April 2, 2026. The earliest effective filing date of the application is September 27, 2019.
Status of Application
The amendment filed April 2, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 3, 6, 7, and 9-16 are currently pending in the application. Claims 1 and 6 have been amended; claims 2, 4, 5, 8, and 17 have been canceled. Claims 1, 3, 6, 7, and 9-16 are hereby examined on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 6, 7, and 9-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Prakash et al. (US PG Pub. 2018/0263269; listed on IDS dated April 2, 2026) in view of Prakash et al. (US PG Pub. 2015/0018432; cited on PTO-892 dated August 15, 2025), herein after referred to as Prakash ‘269 and Prakash ‘432, respectively.
Regarding claim 1, Prakash ‘269 teaches a beverage comprising:
(i) a steviol glycoside mixture [0016] comprising rebaudioside M ([0011]; [0373]);
(ii) at least one synthetic sweetener [0377] that is sucralose ([0061]; [0064]); and
(iii) erythritol [0394] in a concentration of 0.4-0.7 wt.% ([0417], Table 2);
wherein the concentration of rebaudioside M is about 20-400 ppm [0373], and
the beverage is a carbonated beverage [0359].
Prakash ‘269 teaches that the steviol glycoside mixture comprises 20-400 ppm each rebaudiosides D and M and 10-300 ppm each rebaudiosides A, N, O, and E [0373]. Thus, the steviol glycoside mixture comprises 1.2-87 wt.% rebaudioside M (minimum and maximum calculated from taking the lower limit of rebaudioside M and the upper limit of each other rebaudioside and from taking the upper limit of rebaudioside M and the lower limit of each other rebaudioside, respectively).
Therefore, the range of erythritol taught by Prakash ‘269 lies within the claimed range of 0.1-2 wt.% and the ranges of the amount of rebaudioside M in the steviol glycoside mixture and the concentration of rebaudioside M taught by Prakash ‘269 overlaps with the claimed respective ranges of at least about 80 wt.% rebaudioside M and from about 100 ppm to about 250 ppm of rebaudioside M. Where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). See MPEP 2144.05.I.
Prakash ‘269 is silent as to the concentration of the synthetic sweetener and is thereby also silent as to the weight ratio of the steviol glycoside mixture to the synthetic sweetener. Prakash ‘269 does teach that the amount of the steviol glycoside mixture in the beverage is 50-900 ppm [0365].
Prakash ‘432, in the same field of invention, teaches a beverage comprising a steviol glycoside mixture comprising rebaudioside X (i.e., rebaudioside M) and a sweetener (Abstract; [0035]) that is a synthetic sweetener that is sucralose [0041], wherein the synthetic sweetener is present in the beverage in a concentration of 0.3-3,500 ppm [0076]. This range overlaps with the claimed range of 50-250 ppm. Where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976).
Prakash ‘432 teaches concentrations of synthetic sweeteners for beverages comprising steviol glycoside mixtures and additional sweeteners where Prakash ‘269 is silent, thereby offering a guideline as to suitable amounts of synthetic sweeteners. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the beverage of Prakash ‘269 to have the synthetic sweetener concentration of Prakash ‘432, thereby arriving at the claimed invention, with the reasonable expectation that the concentration of synthetic sweetener is suitable for use in the claimed beverage composition.
Given that modified Prakash ‘269 teaches a steviol glycoside mixture concentration of 50-900 ppm (0.005-0.09 wt.%) (Prakash ‘269: [0365]) and a synthetic sweetener concentration of 0.3-3,500 ppm (3x10-5-0.35 wt.%) (Prakash ‘432: [0076]), the weight ratio of the steviol glycoside mixture comprising rebaudioside M to the at least one synthetic sweetener is 0.014-3,000, which encompasses the claimed range of 0.5:1-3:1 (0.5-3). Where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976).
Regarding claim 3, Prakash ‘269 is silent as to that the steviol glycoside mixture comprising rebaudioside M comprises at least about 95 wt.% rebaudioside M.
However, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). Concentration of a component in a composition is a known variable that affects various properties of a resulting product, and thus, concentration is a result effective variable. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to formulate the claimed range through no more than routine optimization, as varying the concentration of rebaudioside M in a steviol glycoside mixture would achieve recognized results. Moreover, generally, differences in concentration will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration is critical. See MPEP 2144.05.II. Thus, the parameters of the amounts of rebaudioside M in the steviol glycoside mixture taught by Prakash ‘269 renders obvious the instant claim limitations.
Regarding claim 6, modified Prakash ‘269 teaches that the synthetic sweetener is present in a concentration of 0.3-3,500 ppm (Prakash ‘432: [0076]), which overlaps with the claimed range of 50-250 ppm. Where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976).
Regarding claim 7, Prakash ‘269 teaches that the beverage further comprises allulose [0378].
Claims 9 and 11 are met through the rejections of claims 1 and 7 as set forth above with regard to erythritol and allulose. Claim 1 requires the selection of phloretin or erythritol; claim 7 requires the selection of allulose, cellobiose, or hesperetin dihydrochalcone-4’-O-β-D-glucoside; by selecting erythritol to meet claim 1 and by selecting allulose to meet claim 7, claims 9, and 11 are also considered to be met.
Regarding claim 10, Prakash ‘269 teaches that the amount of allulose in the beverage is about 0.5-2 wt.% [0378], which lies within the claimed range of about 0.1-2 wt.%.
Regarding claim 12, Prakash ‘269 teaches that the beverage can be a mid-calorie, low-calorie, or zero-calorie beverage [0016].
Regarding claim 13, Prakash ‘269 teaches that the beverage is a zero-calorie beverage [0391].
Regarding claims 14 and 15, Prakash ‘269 teaches that the beverage is a cola [0392].
Claim 16 is met through the rejection of claim 1 as set forth above with regard to a carbonated beverage. Claim 1 requires the selection of a carbonated beverage or a plant protein-containing beverage; by selecting a carbonated beverage to meet claims 1, 14, and 15, claim 16 is also considered to be met.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 3, 6, 7, and 9-16 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
The new prior art rejection now uses a new prior art reference, Prakash ‘269, as the primary reference to reject the claims, using Prakash ‘432 (which was the primary reference in the previous office action/prior art rejection) as the secondary reference to modify Prakash ‘269. Although applicant’s arguments are directed towards Prakash ‘269, the new prior art rejection uses Prakash ‘269 to teach only concentration of a synthetic sweetener in a beverage, which applicant does not argue or challenge.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/M.E.S./Examiner, Art Unit 1791
/Nikki H. Dees/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1791