DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, 15-18, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maeda et al. (EP 2980017 A1) (Maeda) in view of JP 6230944 B2 (JP’944).
The Examiner has provided a machine translation of JP 6230944 B2. The citation of the prior art in this rejection refer to the machine translation.
Regarding claim 1, Maeda teaches a method for producing graphite and particles for graphite production (Maeda, Title; Abstract), comprising the steps of introducing graphitizable particulates into an inside of a vertical graphitization furnace from an upper part thereof (i.e., a process for producing graphite in a vertical graphitization furnace, comprising: at least one process space which delimits a heating zone; particulate graphitizable material is fed through an entrance into the process space), heating the particulates at 2200°C to 3200°C to graphitize the particulates (i.e., a temperature of from 2200°C to 3200°C is generated in the heating zone), the obtained graphite is removed through the bottom of the furnace (i.e., graphitizable material is conveyed through the heating zone of the process space, in which it is graphitized to give graphite; graphite obtained is discharged from the process space through an exit) (Maeda, Abstract, [0021-0022]).
Further, Maeda teaches the furnace comprises a cylindrical inner tube comprising a graphite inside wall surface and a heater on or over the outside of the inner tube which is electrically-heated wire (Maeda, [0017]; [0018]), wherein the cylindrical inner tube corresponds to the process tube having an outer tube wall as it is taught to be item #18 in the instant disclosure (Specification, p. 7, line 17), and item #18 depicted in Figure 1 of the instant disclosure is the wall of the inner tube of the process space.
Further, Maeda teaches the graphitizable carbonaceous substance is optionally powdered before being introduced, wherein the average particle diameter of the powder of the graphitizable carbonaceous substance is preferably in a range of 10 to 20 μm (Maeda, [0033-0034]), which falls within the range of the presently claimed particle size (i.e., as variant A, graphitizable material whose particles have a particle size of less than 3 mm is used).
Further, Maeda teaches the furnace surrounds a tubular heating device (Maeda, [0017]) and the inside of the tube is preferably divided into a heating zone and a cooling zone from the upper part toward the bottom of the tube and the graphitizable material is introduced to the upper part of the heating zone of the tube (Maeda, [0019]). The later-introduced graphitizable material is accumulated on the earlier-introduced graphitizable material (Maeda, [0021]) (i.e., as variant C, a column of material is formed in a standing heating zone of a particular process space, said standing heating zone being encompassed by the heating zone, and graphitizable material which has been fed in through the entrance trickles from the top through a falling heating zone, which is likewise encompassed by the heating zone, onto the column of material).
Given that Maeda discloses the graphitization process that overlaps the presently claimed graphitization, including the heater being on the on the outside of the inner process tube and powdering the graphitizable carbonaceous material, it therefore would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to have the heater on the outside of the inner process tube and to use the powdered graphitizable material, which is both disclosed by Maeda and encompassed within the scope of the present claims and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
However, Maeda does not explicitly teach a tube wall comprising an outer surface made of graphite.
With respect to the difference, JP’944 teaches a continuous vertical graphitization furnace, wherein the furnace is preferably made of graphite with at least the inner wall of the furnace made of graphite (JP’944, p. 1, Technical Field; p. 2, Paragraph 5) (i.e., the entire furnace is preferably made of graphite; i.e., a tube wall made of graphite which comprises inner and outer surfaces being graphite).
As JP’944 expressly teaches, graphite is preferable because heat resistance is required (JP’944, p. 2, Paragraph 5).
JP’944 is analogous art as it is drawn to a continuous vertical graphitization furnace (JP’944, p. 1, Technical Field).
In light of the motivation of using graphite as the material for the graphitization furnace as disclosed by JP’944, it therefore would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the graphitization furnace tube of Maeda by using graphite in order to ensure there is sufficient heat resistance, and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
Further, as the heater of Maeda, in view of JP’944, may be on the inner tube, this corresponds with the limitation that the electrical heater comprises at least a portion of the process tube bounding the heating zone, as they are connected. The examiner interprets the heater as a unit being the electrical heater in contact with the process tube which is made of graphite.
Further, therefore, given the process tube and the heater on the outside of the inner tube of Maeda, in view of JP’944, is substantially identical to the electric heater and the process tube used in the present invention, as set forth above, it is clear that the process tube of Maeda would inherently have electrical resistance and that the electrical resistance of the process tube is increased in the portion of the process tube bounding the heating zone as it is the same material as presently claimed.
Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP 2112.01 (I).
Regarding claims 2 and 3, Maeda, in view of JP’944, teaches the process as claimed in claim 1, wherein the graphitizable carbonaceous substance naturally dropped from an opening at an upper part of the tube is held in the tube at a constant volume above the bottom part (Maeda, [0017]) (i.e., the volume remains the same, therefore the volume entering equals the volume exiting), and wherein the graphite may be removed continuously without any break (Maeda, [0022]) (i.e., the same volume of material is fed into a particular process space per unit of time as the volume of graphite which is discharged from this process space per unit of time (claim 2); the graphitizable material is fed continuously or intermittently into a particular process space and graphite is discharged continuously or intermittently from this process space (claim 3)).
Regarding claim 4, Maeda, in view of JP’944, teaches the process as claimed in claim 1, wherein the graphitizable carbonaceous substance naturally dropped from an opening at an upper part of the tube is held in the tube at a constant volume above the bottom part (Maeda, [0017]) (i.e., a fill level of the column of material is kept largely constant in the case of variant C).
Regarding claim 5, Maeda, in view of JP’944, teaches the process as claimed in claim 1, wherein inert gas is allowed to flow into the tube from the bottom part toward an upper part of the furnace (Maeda, [0021]) (i.e., in variant C, a gas is blown in countercurrent opposite to the falling direction of the graphitizable material into a falling heating zone).
Regarding claim 6, Maeda, in view of JP’944, teaches the process as claimed in claim 1, but does not explicitly teach wherein a graphitization furnace which has a plurality of process spaces and whose plurality of process spaces are operated in parallel in time is used. However, as the rate of graphite produced depends on the volume of the process space, a person of ordinary skill in the art would know to use multiple process spaces of Maeda at once in order to increase the rate of graphite production.
Although there are no disclosures on the amounts of process spaces as presently claimed, it has long been an axiom of United States patent law that it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges of result-effective variables by routine experimentation. In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1330 (Fed. Cir. 2003) ("The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages."); In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 276 (CCPA 1980) ("[D]iscovery of an optimum value of a result effective variable in a known process is ordinarily within the skill of the art."); In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456 (CCPA 1955) ("[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation."). "Only if the 'results of optimizing a variable' are 'unexpectedly good' can a patent be obtained for the claimed critical range." In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1470 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (quoting In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 620 (CCPA 1977)).
At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to vary the amounts of process spaces, including over the amounts presently claimed, in order to increase the rate of graphite production in order to produce the desired amount of graphite.
Regarding claims 7, and 15-18, Madea, in view of JP’944, teaches the process as claimed in claim 1, wherein the graphitizable carbonaceous substance is optionally powdered before being introduced into a graphitization furnace, wherein the average particle diameter of the powder of the graphitizable carbonaceous substance is preferably in a range of 10 to 20 μm (Maeda, [0033-0034]), which falls within the claimed ranges.
Regarding claim 8, Maeda, in view of JP’944, teaches the process as claimed in claim 1, wherein the graphitizable material is heated to 2200°C to 3200°C in the heating zone (Maeda, [0020]), i.e., throughout the heating zone (i.e., the temperature of the heating zone is determined, in an upper end of the heating zone and/or in approximately a middle of the heating zone and/or at a lower end of the heating zone and/or at the column of material of each process tube present).
Regarding claim 21, Maeda, in view of JP’944, teaches the process as claimed in claim 1, wherein as seen in Figure 1 of Maeda, the inner process tube where graphitization occurs is shown to have a thinner wall than the additional process spaces (Maeda, [0023]), including the outer wall (Maeda, Figure 1) (i.e., a wall thickness of the process tube is reduced in the region of the heating zone).
Claims 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maeda, in view of JP’944, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Iwata et al. (US 4,820,905 A) (Iwata).
Regarding claim 22, Maeda, in view of JP’944, teaches the process as claimed in claim 1, but does not explicitly teach wherein the process tube is surrounded by a protective housing and the protective housing is surrounded by an insulating housing, wherein an area located between the protective housing and the insulating housing is at least partially filled with an insulation material; and an area located between the protective housing and the process tube is filled with an inert gas.
With respect to the difference, Iwata teaches a carbonizing furnace which includes a heating chamber, a heat insulator composed of carbon fiber felt and a ceramic fiber felt which covers the heating chamber such that the carbon fiber felt is in contact with the heating chamber and the ceramic fiber felt is separated by a space from the carbon fiber felt, and a housing enclosing the heating chamber and the heat insulator, and an inlet for filling the insulator with an inert gas (Iwata, Abstract), wherein the carbon fiber felt of Iwata corresponds to the protective housing and insulation material, the housing of Iwata corresponds to the insulating housing, and the space between the carbon fiber felt and ceramic fiber felt of Iwata that is filled with inert gas corresponds to the area located between the protective housing and the process tube that is filled with inert gas.
As Iwata expressly teaches, this configuration provides a furnace which can be run continuously at a higher temperature and stably for an extended period of time without a sudden stop due to short-circuiting caused by a conductive heat insulator (Iwata, Col. 1, lines 60-65).
Iwata is analogous art as it is drawn to a furnace for heating carbon materials (Iwata, Abstract).
In light of the motivation of including the heat insulator composed of carbon fiber felt and a ceramic fiber felt which covers the heating chamber such that the carbon fiber felt is in contact with the heating chamber and the ceramic fiber felt is separated by a space from the carbon fiber felt, and a housing enclosing the heating chamber and the heat insulator, and an inlet for filling the insulator with an inert gas as disclosed by Iwata, it therefore would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the furnace of Maeda by including the heat insulator of Iwata in order to provide a furnace which can be run continuously at a higher temperature and stably for an extended period of time without a sudden stop due to short-circuiting caused by a conductive heat insulator, and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 23, Maeda, in view of JP’944 and Iwata, teaches the process as claimed in claim 22, wherein the heat insulating portion of the housing where carbon fiber felt and ceramic fiber felt are located and the space is provided is also filled with an inert gas through an inlet (i.e., corresponds to the lower cap coupled to the inert gas inlet). The substitution of air in the insulator portion with the inert gas is conducted by expelling air from an outlet (i.e., corresponds to the upper cap) (Iwata, Col. 4, lines 66-68; Col. 5, lines 1-3) (i.e., the area located between the protective housing and the process tube includes an upper cap and a lower cap which extends beyond the insulating housing and at least one inert gas inlet is coupled to at least one of the upper cap or the lower cap).
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maeda, in view of JP’944, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Zhao et al. (CN 104724702 A) (Zhao).
The Examiner has provided a machine translation of CN 104724702 A. The citation of the prior art in this rejection refer to the machine translation.
Regarding claim 24, Maeda, in view of JP’944, Maeda teaches the process as claimed in claim 1, wherein the graphite is removed from the furnace to a lower part (Maeda, Abstract), but does not explicitly teach the exit is laterally offset from the process space, and the exit is connected to the process space by an outlet conveyor, the outlet conveyor comprising a screw conveyor to control a discharge speed of the graphite.
With respect to the difference, Zhao teaches a graphitization furnace which uses a discharge screw conveyor to remove the product after cooling (Zhao, [0017]), and wherein the discharge screw conveyor is item #3 in Figure 1 of Zhao which displays the exit of the conveyor being laterally offset from the process space.
As Zhao expressly teaches, the discharge screw conveyor ensures continuous production of graphite (Zhao, [0020]).
Zhao is analogous art as it is drawn to a graphitization furnace (Zhao, Abstract).
In light of the motivation of discharging graphite to the exit using a screw conveyor as disclosed by Zhao, it therefore would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the graphitization furnace of Maeda by transporting the formed graphite to the exit using a screw conveyor in order to have a continuous production of graphite which would necessarily include controlling the discharge speed of the graphite, and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
Response to Arguments
Applicant primarily argues:
“Element 3 in FIG. 1 of Maeda is a single tube, with a tube wall identified by a uniform line from top to bottom. There is no indication in FIG. 1 that any portion of the tube wall is thicker or thinner than any other portion, and indeed there is no disclosure anywhere in the specification to disclose or suggest the same.
Furthermore, in addition to not defining what "other process spaces" refers to in paragraph 22, the Office Action further discusses an "outer tube wall" without defining which element forms the "outer tube wall."
To the extent that the "outer tube wall" is intended to be some portion of element 3 in Maeda, as discussed above, there is no indication anywhere in FIG. 1 or the description of Maeda that the tube wall has a different thickness at any point along the length of the tube. The only indication of the "wall thickness" of tube 3 is provided in FIG. 1, where the wall is a uniform line from start to finish. Additionally, Applicant notes that claim 1 as previously presented defines the outer tube wall - amended herein to say outer surface of the tube wall - as being made of graphite and that the heater at least a portion of the process tube, i.e. a portion of the process tube itself is part of the heater due to the process tube's electrical resistance. There is no disclosure that the outer surface of element 3 in Maeda is made of graphite or has any electrical resistance which would allow it to form part of the heater itself.
To the extent that the "outer tube wall" is intended to be the hash marked element surrounding element 3, there is again no teaching in Maeda that the hash marked element is made of graphite, has any electrical resistance, is used to form any portion of the heater, and it certainly does not bound or define the process area within. Indeed, the hash marked element surrounding tube 3 in FIG. 1 of Maeda is so inconsequential to the Maeda device, it is not discussed or given a reference number anywhere in the specification. There is simply no information regarding the hash marked element having electrical resistance, let alone itself forming a portion of the heating device due to such electrical resistance.
Notwithstanding, Applicant has amended claim 1 to clarify that the electrical resistance of the process tube is "increased in the portion of the process tube bounding the heating zone..."
Applicant respectfully submits that Maeda fails to disclose, teach, or suggest that any portion of wall of element 3 or the hash marked outer wall has a reduced electrical resistance at any portion thereon. Furthermore, as discussed above, element 3 in FIG. 1 is shown as a continuous line having the same thickness top to bottom, i.e. no thinning or widening of the wall to increase or decrease resistance. The hash marked portion surrounding the tube and separated from the tube by area 5 is likewise uniform, and regardless, as discussed above, does not bound or define or delimit the process area for particulate graphite.”
Remarks, p. 7-8
The examiner respectfully traverses as follows:
Firstly, claim 1 does not require a reduced wall thickness, rather a reduced wall thickness is only required in dependent claim 21. Further, element 3 of Fig. 1 is the tube as stated in Paragraph [0023], and as Maeda describes an “inner tube” having a heater on or over the outside of the inner tube in Paragraph [0017], it is clear that element 3 is the inner tube and the thickness of the inner tube is thinner than the additional process spaces including the outer wall or housing, i.e., element 17.
Secondly, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., Inc., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Applicant primarily argues that Maeda does not expressly teach the claimed tube wall comprising an outer surface made of graphite. This argument merely agrees with the basis for the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103(a), which admits that Maeda does not disclose the entire claimed invention. Rather, JP’944 is relied upon to teach claimed elements missing from Maeda. See item #8 above.
Thirdly, while applicant states that the “outer tube wall” is not defined by the examiner, in item #6, Paragraph 2 above, the examiner states the cylindrical inner tube (Maeda, [0017]) corresponds to the process tube having an outer tube wall. Therefore, the outer tube wall does not correspond to the hash marked element surrounding element 3, but rather is part of element 3.
Therefore, it is the examiner’s position that Maeda, in view of JP’944 teaches the claimed invention.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/C.M.C./Examiner, Art Unit 1732
/CORIS FUNG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1732