DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-7, 9, 14-17 are pending. Claims 6-7, 9, and 15-17 are withdrawn. Prior objections and rejections not included below are withdrawn in view of Applicant’s arguments and amendments.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites the limitation wherein a “container-packed composition is a composition for suppressing a heat deterioration smell based on soy sauce or soy sauce and an ingredient”. First, it is unclear whether the composition is based on soy sauce, or whether the feature of “suppressing a heat deterioration smell” is based on soy sauce. Second, it is unclear what is intended to distinguish between “soy sauce” and “soy sauce and an ingredient”, since a composition comprising “soy sauce and an ingredient” necessarily includes soy sauce. Thus, any feature imparted by soy sauce will be present in both the “soy sauce” embodiment and the “soy sauce and an ingredient” embodiment.
Claim 5 recites the limitation of a composition compared to a “heated container-packed composition comprising corresponding soy sauce or soy sauce and an ingredient and having a phenethyl acetate content of less than 1.0 ppb”. First, it is unclear what is intended by the “comprising corresponding” limitation. Second, it is unclear whether the limitation of less than 1.0 ppb applies to the comparative composition as a whole or the soy sauce ingredient. For the purposes of examination, the limitation is interpreted as a comparative composition comprising soy sauce or soy sauce an ingredient, where the overall comparative composition has a phenethyl acetate content of less than 1.0 ppb.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Higuchi (JPH 02200161A) in view of Sugisawa (US 4842872A).
Regarding Claim 1, Higuchi teaches soy sauce with an improved aroma containing phenethyl acetate between 0.1-10ppm (100-10,000 ppb) (Abstract), which touches the claimed range.
Higuchi does not discuss utilizing soy sauce as part of a composition packed in a container.
Sugisawa teaches meat such as beef or pork packaged with soy sauce (Column 1, Lines 14-18) in a sterilized retort package (Column 2, Lines 9 and 18). Note that a package is a container. Sugisawa additionally teaches that the flavoring liquid comprises 2-25% of the weight of the meat (Column 3, Line 18), and the flavoring liquid comprises 15-35% soy sauce (Column 2, Line 59). Sugisawa therefore teaches an overall composition comprising up to 7% soy sauce (25 grams soy sauce / (25 grams soy sauce + 100 grams meat) * 35%)). Note that a composition comprising up to 7% soy sauce, where the soy sauce comprise 100 ppb of phenethyl acetate, has up to 7 ppb of phenethyl acetate. Sugisawa teaches that the soy sauce provides flavor (e.g. Column 2, Line 50).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to utilize any soy sauce, including the soy sauce of Higuchi, in the retort packaged product of Sugisawa to provide flavor, and arrive at the phenethyl acetate concentration as claimed. The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use support a prima facie obviousness determination. See MPEP 2144.07
Regarding Claims 2 and 3, Sugisawa teaches meat such as beef or pork packaged with soy sauce (Column 1, Lines 14-18). Note that a package is a container.
Regarding Claims 4 and 5, modified Higuchi does not address whether the composition is for “suppressing a heat deterioration smell” (Claim 4) or “suppresses a heated smell compared to a heated container-packed composition…having a phenethyl acetate content of less than 1.0 ppb”. However, given that modified Higuchi teaches a soy sauce composition with a phenethyl acetate content as claimed, the composition of modified Higuchi is interpreted to have the qualities as claimed.
Regarding Claim 14, Sugisawa teaches a packaged food which is sterilized in a retort pouch, which meets the limitation of a “container-packed processed food” (Column 2, Line 19).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/6/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103, Applicant argues (Page 4 of Remarks) that the combination of Higuchi and Sugisawa does not teach or suggest a retort sterilized composition comprising 1-50 ppb of phenethyl acetate.
This argument is not convincing. Where Higuchi teaches a soy sauce comprising phenethyl acetate at 100 ppb, and Sugisawa teaches utilizing a soy sauce in a retort packaged composition, it would haven obvious to one having ordinary skill to modify Higuchi by utilizing the soy sauce of Higuchi in the composition of Sugisawa to arrive at a composition with the limitations as claimed as discussed above in regards to Claim 1.
Applicant additionally argues that as shown in the instant Specification, a change in aroma profile is observed at 1-50 ppb of phenethyl acetate in retort sterilized compositions in multiple instances and across different compositions, demonstrating that a retort sterilized composition with the claimed amount of phenethyl acetate will have an improved aroma over a retort sterilized composition that does not have the claimed amount of phenethyl acetate, and the combination of Higuchi and Sugisawa would not provide to one having ordinary skill a reasonable expectation of success of the effect of a modified aroma in a retort sterilized composition.
This argument is not convincing. Note that sufficient motivation is provided to utilize the soy sauce of Higuchi in the composition of Sugisawa, as discussed above in regards to Claim 1. Examiner notes that the instant Claims are directed towards a composition. Regardless, given that the product of modified Higuchi is similar to the claimed product, with a similar intended use, composition, and processing, there is an expectation that the product of the prior art have the property of a modified aroma profile after retort processing, as claimed. Additionally, note that while modified Higuchi does not discuss the modified aroma profile after retort processing, mere recognition of latent properties in the prior art does not render nonobvious an otherwise known invention. See MPEP 2145 II.
Conclusion
/D.L./ Examiner, Art Unit 1791
/Nikki H. Dees/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1791