DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
In response to amendment filed on 7/7/2026, Claims 1- 39, 52, 60- 68 were cancelled and claims 40- 51, 53- 59, 69- 77 are pending for examinations. Further previously given rejection based on 35 USC 112, first paragraph is withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed in the remarks on 7/7/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On page 16, applicant argues about A. Deenoo's cited failure-reporting disclosure concerns failure of conditional SCG, “…Deenoo does not disclose the claimed SCG RLF reporting, even before considering the further requirement that the SCG failure report include information about the conditional configuration stored at the wireless device and information about the one or more trigger conditions on which that conditional configuration depends”; see page 17 third paragraph. Examiner disagrees and respectfully submits that Deenoo teaches detection of SCG failure based on SCG RLF and teaches conditional SCG configuration/reconfiguration associated with SCG-failure handling. Choi teaches reporting SCG failure information to the master base station. Choi’s SCG-failure reporting message is specifically directed to an unexpected SCG failure and includes selected neighbor-cell measurement information useful for recovery and radio-resource-management action. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to employ Choi’s master-base-station-directed SCG-failure reporting procedure when Deenoo’s SCG failure is detected as an SCG RLF. The proposed combination merely applies Choi’s known SCG-failure reporting technique to Deenoo’s known SCG-RLF failure event so that the MCG may take an appropriate recovery action, including determining a replacement PSCell, changing an SCG frequency, or preparing another SCG configuration. Accordingly, the combination teaches or at least suggests transmitting, to the radio network node that provides the MCG, an SCG-failure report reporting the detected SCG RLF.
On page 17, applicant argues about B. Deenoo's trigger-condition disclosure is directed to when to apply an SCG, “….even if Deenoo teaches conditional SCG reconfiguration and trigger conditions, Deenoo still does not teach the claimed report content”; see page 18 second paragaraph.
Examiner disagrees and respectfully submits that it improperly requires the report to contain a complete conditional configuration or an expressly labeled trigger-condition field. Claim 40 does not impose either requirement. Claim 40 broadly requires “information about” the stored conditional configuration, where such information includes information about one or more trigger conditions on which the configuration depends. Deenoo teaches measurement-based trigger conditions for conditional SCG reconfiguration, including conditions based on cell-quality measurements, measurement events, and associated threshold criteria. Choi teaches that the SCG-failure report includes selected neighbor-cell measurement information, including measurement values and associated cell/frequency information for SCG serving frequencies and configured non-serving frequencies. In the combined system, Choi’s reported measurement value and associated cell/frequency context constitute information about Deenoo’s measurement-based trigger condition(s). The claimed phrase “information about” does not require transmitting a complete MeasConfig, ReportConfig, threshold value, conditional-configuration identifier, or full conditional-configuration record. The reported measurements instead convey the radio-condition information relevant to the conditional SCG configuration and its measurement-based application condition(s). Further, the MCG may use the reported information to select a replacement PSCell, change an SCG frequency, or otherwise determine an appropriate recovery action. Such network-side action is directly aligned with Deenoo’s conditional SCG-reconfiguration operation and Choi’s stated SCG-failure recovery purpose.
On page 18, applicant argues about C. Choi Does Not Cure Deenoo's Deficiency Because Choi Does Not Disclose Any Conditional Configuration Stored at the Wireless Device.
Examiner disagrees and respectfully submits that Deenoo’s paragraph [0094] teaches about WTRU may be configured with one or more trigger conditions for a secondary cell group configuration or reconfiguration. The WTRU may be configured to apply a reconfiguration associated with a secondary cell group if one or a combination of the trigger conditions described herein are satisfied. For example, the WTRU may be configured to apply a SCG reconfiguration if a measurement-based condition is satisfied. The measurement-based condition may correspond to cell quality measurement like RSRP, RSRQ, or SINR. The measurement-based condition may be configured as a measurement event (e.g., Ax, Bx or the like), for example, with one or more appropriate thresholds. The WTRU may apply a SCG reconfiguration if the measurement-based condition and one or more of the following triggering conditions are satisfied; further see [0095]. Hence Deenoo teaches the conditional SCG configuration and its storage at the wireless device and Choi is not relied upon for teaching the stored conditional configuration.
On page 19, applicant argues about D. Choi's Reported Measurements Are Not Information About a Conditional Configuration; “..at most, Choi's measurements could provide radio-condition data. But radio-condition data is not, by itself, information about a conditional configuration stored at the wireless device or information about the trigger condition(s) on which that conditional configuration depends. A measurement result does not inherently convey the trigger condition itself or anything about the stored target configuration”.
Examiner disagrees and respectfully submits that as per the recitations of claim 40,”..report includes information about the conditional configuration stored at the wireless device….”; Choi teaches reporting SCG failure information to the master base station. Choi’s SCG-failure reporting message is specifically directed to an unexpected SCG failure and includes selected neighbor-cell measurement information useful for recovery and radio-resource-management action, whereas Deenoo’s paragraph [0094] teaches about WTRU may be configured with one or more trigger conditions for a secondary cell group configuration or reconfiguration. The WTRU may be configured to apply a reconfiguration associated with a secondary cell group if one or a combination of the trigger conditions described herein are satisfied. For example, the WTRU may be configured to apply a SCG reconfiguration if a measurement-based condition is satisfied. The measurement-based condition may correspond to cell quality measurement like RSRP, RSRQ, or SINR. The measurement-based condition may be configured as a measurement event (e.g., Ax, Bx or the like), for example, with one or more appropriate thresholds. The WTRU may apply a SCG reconfiguration if the measurement-based condition and one or more of the following triggering conditions are satisfied; further see [0095]. Hence Deenoo teaches the conditional SCG configuration and its storage at the wireless device.
On pages 20- 21, E. Applicant’s argument is not persuasive because it improperly treats the reported neighbor-cell measurements as unrelated to the stored conditional SCG configuration.
Choi teaches that an SCG-failure report sent to the MCG includes selected neighbor-cell measurement results with associated cell and frequency information. Choi further explains that this information is used after SCG failure to select a replacement cell for the failed PSCell or to change SCG frequency. Deenoo teaches a stored conditional SCG configuration that depends on trigger condition(s), including measurement-based condition(s), for conditional SCG/PSCell reconfiguration. In the combined system, Choi’s reported measurement results are not merely generic post-failure measurements. The measurement values and corresponding cell/frequency context provide information concerning the radio conditions and candidate cell/frequency relevant to Deenoo’s pending conditional SCG configuration and its measurement-based trigger condition(s). In other words, they are information about the stored conditional configuration because they identify the radio context and trigger-related measurement state under which that configuration is intended to be applied.
On page 21, F. Combination Lacks a Reasoned Motivation to Modify Deenoo's SCG Failure Report to Include Stored Conditional-Configuration Trigger-Condition Information; examiner disagrees and respectfully submits the examiner recognizes that obviousness can only be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988) and In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992). It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Choi with the teachings of Deeno to make system more effective. Having a mechanism wherein the SCG failure report includes information about the conditional configuration stored at the wireless device, wherein the information about the conditional configuration stored at the wireless device includes information about the one or more trigger conditions on which the conditional configuration depends; greater way resources can managed/utilized to carry out more reliable communication in the communication system.
On pages 22- 23, Applicant argues that, even if Deenoo teaches trigger conditions and Choi teaches SCG-failure reporting with neighbor-cell measurements, the combination does not teach information indicating whether a trigger condition was fulfilled when SCG RLF was detected. Applicant’s argument is not persuasive. Claims 43 and 50 recite information about “a trigger condition” that indicates whether or not that trigger condition was fulfilled when SCG RLF was detected. The claims do not require a distinct fulfilled/not-fulfilled status bit, an express field labelled “trigger status,” or a status indication for every trigger condition associated with a conditional configuration. Deenoo teaches an SCG-failure-associated trigger condition and SCG failure based on SCG RLF. Thus, when the UE detects and reports an SCG RLF, the report indicates that the SCG-failure/RLF trigger condition was fulfilled at the time the RLF was detected. In other words, the reported occurrence of the RLF provides information indicating satisfaction of that RLF-based trigger condition. Choi further teaches an SCG-failure report sent to the master base station, containing selected measurement information and corresponding cell/frequency context for SCG serving and non-serving frequencies. Choi teaches that the information is useful for a master base station to select a replacement PSCell or change SCG frequency after SCG failure. This way the combination still does teach claim 43's requirement that the reported trigger-condition information indicate whether or not the trigger condition was fulfilled when the SCG RLF was detected.
On page 23- 24, Applicant’s arguments regarding claims 57, 70, and 71 have been considered but are not persuasive. Applicant argues that neither Deenoo nor Choi teaches reporting information indicating how close a trigger condition was to being fulfilled when SCG failure was detected. However, the claims do not require the SCG-failure report to contain a separately calculated “distance-to-trigger” value, an express margin field, or an explicit statement that a condition was “X dB below” or “Y dB above” a trigger threshold. Rather, the claims broadly require information indicating how close the trigger condition was to fulfillment. A reported measurement value, together with the relevant trigger criterion or threshold known to the MCG, indicates the proximity of a measurement-based condition to fulfillment.
On pages 24- 25, Applicant’s argument regarding claim 72 has been considered but is not persuasive. Claim 72 recites that the information about the one or more trigger conditions includes information indicating which of the one or more trigger conditions, if any, has been fulfilled as of when the SCG failure was detected. Claim 72 does not require an explicit trigger-condition identifier, an enumerated list of every configured trigger condition, or a separate bitmap expressly identifying each fulfilled condition.
On pages 25- 26, Applicant’s argument is not persuasive because it addresses features that are not required to be supplied by Choi. Choi is relied upon principally for SCG-failure reporting content and MCG-directed recovery reporting, whereas Deenoo is relied upon for the stored conditional SCG configuration, associated trigger condition(s), and timing of SCG failure/RLF relative to conditional-configuration application. Claims 69 and 77 recite the temporal alternative that the SCG RLF is detected “before application of the configuration included in the conditional configuration.” Because the claims use “and/or,” satisfaction of this alternative is sufficient; the rejection need not establish in every embodiment that SCG RLF occurs before fulfillment of a separate trigger condition.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 40, 43, 44- 45, 47, 50- 51, 53, 57- 59, 69- 72, 74, 77 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deenoo et al. (US Pub. No. 2022/0394583 A1) in view of Choi et al. (US Pub. No. 2020/0029356 A1).
Regarding claim 40, Deenoo teaches a wireless device capable of operating in multi-connectivity operation in which the wireless device simultaneously connects to multiple radio network nodes that respectively provide multiple cell groups, including a master cell group (MCG) and a secondary cell group (SCG), the method comprising: communication circuitry; and processing circuitry configured to (see Abstract.. described herein with respect to the mobility and multi-connectivity of wireless transmit receive units. These devices may be configured to perform conditional handovers and/or conditional second cell group reconfigurations including primary secondary cell additions or changes. The devices may exchange information with a network while performing the conditional reconfigurations and/or conditional handovers. The devices may be configured with rules to handle concurrent handover and reconfiguration tasks ):
receive a conditional configuration that includes one or more trigger conditions and includes a configuration that the wireless device is to apply upon the wireless device detecting fulfillment of the one or more trigger conditions; store the conditional configuration at the wireless device (see [0094].. WTRU may be configured with one or more trigger conditions for a secondary cell group configuration or reconfiguration. The WTRU may be configured to apply a reconfiguration associated with a secondary cell group if one or a combination of the trigger conditions described herein are satisfied. For example, the WTRU may be configured to apply a SCG reconfiguration if a measurement-based condition is satisfied. The measurement-based condition may correspond to cell quality measurement like RSRP, RSRQ, or SINR. The measurement-based condition may be configured as a measurement event (e.g., Ax, Bx or the like), for example, with one or more appropriate thresholds. The WTRU may apply a SCG reconfiguration if the measurement-based condition and one or more of the following triggering conditions are satisfied; further see [0095]);
detect an SCG radio link failure (RLF) comprising a failure of a radio link for the SCG (see [0011] RLF; further see [0098] A trigger condition may be associated with SCG failure. A WTRU may be configured to apply a SCG configuration if a SCG failure is detected. The SCG configuration may correspond to an SN change. The SCG failure may be detected if one or more of the following conditions are met. The SCG failure may be detected in response to detecting a radio link failure for the SCG. The SCG failure may be detected in response to detecting a reconfiguration with sync failure of the SCG. The SCG failure may be detected in response to detecting a SCG configuration failure. The SCG failure may be detected in response to receiving an integrity check failure indication from a SCG lower layer concerning SRB3.); and
transmit, to a radio network node that provides the MCG, an SCG failure report that reports the detected SCG RLF radio link failure, wherein the SCG failure report includes information about the conditional configuration stored at the wireless device, wherein the information about the conditional configuration stored at the wireless device includes information about the one or more trigger conditions on which the conditional configuration depends (see [0133] WTRU may be configured to handle a conditional SCG reconfiguration failure. There may be a trigger condition associated with a conditional SCG reconfiguration failure. For example, a WTRU may be triggered to apply a conditional SCG configuration or reconfiguration if a previous conditional SCG reconfiguration failed. The WTRU may be configured with a plurality of conditional SCG configurations and the WTRU may attempt to apply a conditional reconfiguration to a second SCG if a conditional SCG reconfiguration fails with a first SCG. In examples, the WTRU may be configured to report the failure of a conditional SCG reconfiguration to the MCG. This may be done via a SCG failure information message, e.g., if all conditional SCG reconfigurations fail, if n (e.g., n>=1) conditional SCG reconfigurations fail, or if no conditional SCG reconfiguration meets a configured trigger condition for SCG reconfiguration. ).
But Deeno is silent about the limitations regarding wherein the SCG failure report includes information about the conditional configuration stored at the wireless device, wherein the information about the conditional configuration stored at the wireless device includes information about the one or more trigger conditions on which the conditional configuration depends.
However Choi states in [0169] about the following reasons, different pieces of information are used as the neighbor cell measurement information for the measurement result reporting message and the neighbor cell measurement information of the SCG failure message; now refer to [0171].. assuming that four non-serving frequencies f1, f2, f3, and f4 are configured in the terminal, and f1 and f2 are non-serving frequencies set for shift between frequencies, and f3 and f4 are non-serving frequencies set for multi-connection setup, the neighbor cell measurement results of f3 and f4 which are non-serving frequencies related to the multi-connection setup may not be taken as useful information in the measurement result reporting message related to the shift between frequencies. The SCG failure reporting message is a message reported to the master base station for unpredicted SCG failure. Here, the SCG failure may be classified as an abnormal situation, such as when the channel quality of PSCell among SCG serving cells has been deteriorated in such extend that it is inappropriate for performing communication, or when random access has failed. Here, the information needed for the base station is information that allows for determination of the serving cell to replace the PSCell where the failure has occurred, and accordingly, the neighbor cell measurement information for the serving frequency of the SCG among the serving frequencies currently set corresponds to that. Further, another available scheme is to change the SCG frequency into one of the non-serving frequencies as set, and in that sense, the non-serving frequency neighbor cell measurement information is also useful information.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Choi with the teachings of Deeno to make system more effective. Having a mechanism wherein the SCG failure report includes information about the conditional configuration stored at the wireless device, wherein the information about the conditional configuration stored at the wireless device includes information about the one or more trigger conditions on which the conditional configuration depends; greater way resources can managed/utilized to carry out more reliable communication in the communication system.
Regarding claim 43, Deeno in view of Choi teaches as per claim 40, wherein the information about a trigger condition includes information indicating whether or not the trigger condition was fulfilled when the SCG RLF was detected; Deeno see [0094].. WTRU may be configured with one or more trigger conditions for a secondary cell group configuration or reconfiguration. The WTRU may be configured to apply a reconfiguration associated with a secondary cell group if one or a combination of the trigger conditions described herein are satisfied. For example, the WTRU may be configured to apply a SCG reconfiguration if a measurement-based condition is satisfied. The measurement-based condition may correspond to cell quality measurement like RSRP, RSRQ, or SINR. The measurement-based condition may be configured as a measurement event (e.g., Ax, Bx or the like), for example, with one or more appropriate thresholds. The WTRU may apply a SCG reconfiguration if the measurement-based condition and one or more of the following triggering conditions are satisfied; further see [0003, 0095, 0099- 00, 0105].
Regarding claim 44, Deeno in view of Choi teaches as per claim 40, wherein Deeno teaches wherein the MCG includes a primary cell (PCell) of the MCG (see [0087].. WTRU may receive, for example, for a PSCell candidate (e.g., for each PSCell candidate), a list of allowed or linked PCells and/or applicable MCG configuration(s) if conditional SCG reconfiguration is performed. The WTRU may receive an identifier with a cell configuration (e.g., with each cell configuration)..), wherein the SCG includes a primary cell (PSCell) of the SCG (see [0087].. a list of allowed or linked PSCells and/or applicable SCG configuration(s)……), wherein the conditional configuration is a conditional PSCell change or addition configuration, wherein the configuration is a configuration that, upon the wireless device detecting fulfillment of the one or more trigger conditions, the wireless device is to apply for adding the candidate cell as the PSCell of the SCG or for changing the PSCell of the SCG to the candidate cell, and wherein the information about the conditional configuration comprises information about the conditional PSCell change or addition configuration; see [0079]... a WTRU may be configured to trigger a CHO at or following a conditional PSCell change being triggered….; further see [0106].. A WTRU may apply any of the triggers described herein (e.g., in relation to conditional PSCell change or addition) to activating an SCG. A WTRU may operate with multiple activated SCGs if the triggers for activation of these SCGs are satisfied without satisfying the trigger for deactivation of the SCGs.
Regarding claim 45, Deeno in view of Choi teaches as per claim 44, wherein Deeno teaches wherein the conditional configuration is a conditional PSCell change configuration, and wherein the configuration is a configuration that, upon the wireless device detecting fulfillment of the one or more trigger conditions, the wireless device is to apply for changing the PSCell of the SCG to the candidate cell; see [0079].. For example, a WTRU may be configured to trigger a CHO at or following a conditional PSCell change being triggered…; further see [0086].. The WTRU may apply a bias in the trigger condition for a conditional PSCell change depending on the existence of a linkage of the current PCell with the conditional PSCell candidate. This behavior of the WTRU may also apply in the case of conditional PSCell configuration. The WTRU may decide to select one or more candidates with priority (e.g., if multiple candidates exist and a CHO or conditional PSCell change is triggered) depending on the existence of a linkage of the current PCell/PSCell with the conditional PCell/PSCell candidate in question….; further see [0089].. The linkage between MCG candidates and SCG candidates may depend on a specific trigger for CHO and/or conditional PSCell change. .….if the WTRU triggers conditional PSCell change due to data arrival while camped on the current PCell, the WTRU may prioritize or limit PSCell change to PSCell candidate 1 (e.g., and not to PSCell candidate 2). If the WTRU triggers conditional PSCell change due to SCG cell quality, the WTRU may allow PSCell change to PSCell candidate 1 or PSCell candidate 2 without prioritizing either of the candidates.
Regarding claim 47, Deenoo teaches a radio network node configured to provide a master cell group (MCG) for a wireless device capable of operating in multi-connectivity operation in which the wireless device simultaneously connects to multiple radio network nodes that respectively provide multiple cell groups, including the MCG and a secondary cell group (SCG), the radio network node comprising: communication circuitry(see Abstract.. described herein with respect to the mobility and multi-connectivity of wireless transmit receive units. These devices may be configured to perform conditional handovers and/or conditional second cell group reconfigurations including primary secondary cell additions or changes. The devices may exchange information with a network while performing the conditional reconfigurations and/or conditional handovers. The devices may be configured with rules to handle concurrent handover and reconfiguration tasks );
and processing circuitry configured to receive, from the wireless device an SCG failure report that reports an SCG radio link failure (RLF) comprising a failure of a radio link for the SCG (see [0133] WTRU may be configured to handle a conditional SCG reconfiguration failure. There may be a trigger condition associated with a conditional SCG reconfiguration failure. For example, a WTRU may be triggered to apply a conditional SCG configuration or reconfiguration if a previous conditional SCG reconfiguration failed. The WTRU may be configured with a plurality of conditional SCG configurations and the WTRU may attempt to apply a conditional reconfiguration to a second SCG if a conditional SCG reconfiguration fails with a first SCG. In examples, the WTRU may be configured to report the failure of a conditional SCG reconfiguration to the MCG. This may be done via a SCG failure information message, e.g., if all conditional SCG reconfigurations fail, if n (e.g., n>=1) conditional SCG reconfigurations fail, or if no conditional SCG reconfiguration meets a configured trigger condition for SCG reconfiguration.),
wherein the SCG failure report includes information about a conditional configuration stored at the wireless device, wherein the conditional configuration includes one or more trigger conditions and includes a configuration to be applied upon the wireless device detecting fulfillment of the one or more trigger conditions (in context with discussed above [0133] now refer to [0094].. WTRU may be configured with one or more trigger conditions for a secondary cell group configuration or reconfiguration. The WTRU may be configured to apply a reconfiguration associated with a secondary cell group if one or a combination of the trigger conditions described herein are satisfied. For example, the WTRU may be configured to apply a SCG reconfiguration if a measurement-based condition is satisfied. The measurement-based condition may correspond to cell quality measurement like RSRP, RSRQ, or SINR. The measurement-based condition may be configured as a measurement event (e.g., Ax, Bx or the like), for example, with one or more appropriate thresholds. The WTRU may apply a SCG reconfiguration if the measurement-based condition and one or more of the following triggering conditions are satisfied; further see [0095]),
wherein the information about the conditional configuration stored at the wireless device includes information about the one or more trigger conditions on which the conditional configuration depends.
But Deeno is silent about the limitations regarding wherein the information about the conditional configuration stored at the wireless device includes information about the one or more trigger conditions on which the conditional configuration depends.
However Choi states in [0169] about the following reasons, different pieces of information are used as the neighbor cell measurement information for the measurement result reporting message and the neighbor cell measurement information of the SCG failure message; now refer to [0171].. assuming that four non-serving frequencies f1, f2, f3, and f4 are configured in the terminal, and f1 and f2 are non-serving frequencies set for shift between frequencies, and f3 and f4 are non-serving frequencies set for multi-connection setup, the neighbor cell measurement results of f3 and f4 which are non-serving frequencies related to the multi-connection setup may not be taken as useful information in the measurement result reporting message related to the shift between frequencies. The SCG failure reporting message is a message reported to the master base station for unpredicted SCG failure. Here, the SCG failure may be classified as an abnormal situation, such as when the channel quality of PSCell among SCG serving cells has been deteriorated in such extend that it is inappropriate for performing communication, or when random access has failed. Here, the information needed for the base station is information that allows for determination of the serving cell to replace the PSCell where the failure has occurred, and accordingly, the neighbor cell measurement information for the serving frequency of the SCG among the serving frequencies currently set corresponds to that. Further, another available scheme is to change the SCG frequency into one of the non-serving frequencies as set, and in that sense, the non-serving frequency neighbor cell measurement information is also useful information.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Choi with the teachings of Deeno to make system more effective. Having a mechanism wherein the information about the conditional configuration stored at the wireless device includes information about the one or more trigger conditions on which the conditional configuration depends; greater way resources can managed/utilized to carry out more reliable communication in the communication system.
Regarding claim 50, Deeno in view of Choi teaches as per claim 47, wherein Deeno teaches the information about a trigger condition includes information indicating whether or not the trigger condition was fulfilled when the SCG RLF was detected; Deeno see [0094].. WTRU may be configured with one or more trigger conditions for a secondary cell group configuration or reconfiguration. The WTRU may be configured to apply a reconfiguration associated with a secondary cell group if one or a combination of the trigger conditions described herein are satisfied. For example, the WTRU may be configured to apply a SCG reconfiguration if a measurement-based condition is satisfied. The measurement-based condition may correspond to cell quality measurement like RSRP, RSRQ, or SINR. The measurement-based condition may be configured as a measurement event (e.g., Ax, Bx or the like), for example, with one or more appropriate thresholds. The WTRU may apply a SCG reconfiguration if the measurement-based condition and one or more of the following triggering conditions are satisfied; further see [0003, 0095, 0099- 00, 0105].
Regarding claim 51, Deeno in view of Choi teaches as per claim 47, wherein Deeno teaches wherein the MCG includes a primary cell (PCell) of the MCG (see [0087].. WTRU may receive, for example, for a PSCell candidate (e.g., for each PSCell candidate), a list of allowed or linked PCells and/or applicable MCG configuration(s) if conditional SCG reconfiguration is performed. The WTRU may receive an identifier with a cell configuration (e.g., with each cell configuration)..), wherein the SCG includes a primary cell (PSCell) of the SCG (see [0087].. a list of allowed or linked PSCells and/or applicable SCG configuration(s)……), wherein the conditional configuration is a conditional PSCell change or addition configuration, wherein the configuration is a configuration that, upon the wireless device detecting fulfillment of the one or more trigger conditions, the wireless device is to apply for adding the candidate cell as the PSCell of the SCG or for changing the PSCell of the SCG to the candidate cell, and wherein the information about the conditional configuration comprises information about the conditional PSCell change or addition configuration; see [0079]... a WTRU may be configured to trigger a CHO at or following a conditional PSCell change being triggered….; further see [0106].. A WTRU may apply any of the triggers described herein (e.g., in relation to conditional PSCell change or addition) to activating an SCG. A WTRU may operate with multiple activated SCGs if the triggers for activation of these SCGs are satisfied without satisfying the trigger for deactivation of the SCGs.
Regarding claim 53, Deeno in view of Choi teaches as per claim 51, wherein Deeno teaches wherein the conditional configuration is a conditional PSCell change configuration, and wherein the configuration is a configuration that, upon the wireless device detecting fulfillment of the one or more trigger conditions, the wireless device is to apply for changing the PSCell of the SCG to the candidate cell; see [0079].. For example, a WTRU may be configured to trigger a CHO at or following a conditional PSCell change being triggered…; further see [0086].. The WTRU may apply a bias in the trigger condition for a conditional PSCell change depending on the existence of a linkage of the current PCell with the conditional PSCell candidate. This behavior of the WTRU may also apply in the case of conditional PSCell configuration. The WTRU may decide to select one or more candidates with priority (e.g., if multiple candidates exist and a CHO or conditional PSCell change is triggered) depending on the existence of a linkage of the current PCell/PSCell with the conditional PCell/PSCell candidate in question….; further see [0089].. The linkage between MCG candidates and SCG candidates may depend on a specific trigger for CHO and/or conditional PSCell change. .….if the WTRU triggers conditional PSCell change due to data arrival while camped on the current PCell, the WTRU may prioritize or limit PSCell change to PSCell candidate 1 (e.g., and not to PSCell candidate 2). If the WTRU triggers conditional PSCell change due to SCG cell quality, the WTRU may allow PSCell change to PSCell candidate 1 or PSCell candidate 2 without prioritizing either of the candidates.
Regarding claim 57, Deeno in view of Choi teaches as per claim 47,wherein the information about the one or more trigger conditions includes information indication how close the one or more trigger conditions were to being fulfilled when the SCG failure was detected; Deeno see [0094].. WTRU may be configured with one or more trigger conditions for a secondary cell group configuration or reconfiguration. The WTRU may be configured to apply a reconfiguration associated with a secondary cell group if one or a combination of the trigger conditions described herein are satisfied. For example, the WTRU may be configured to apply a SCG reconfiguration if a measurement-based condition is satisfied. The measurement-based condition may correspond to cell quality measurement like RSRP, RSRQ, or SINR. The measurement-based condition may be configured as a measurement event (e.g., Ax, Bx or the like), for example, with one or more appropriate thresholds. The WTRU may apply a SCG reconfiguration if the measurement-based condition and one or more of the following triggering conditions are satisfied; further see [0095].
Regarding claim 58, Deenoo teaches a method performed by a wireless device capable of operating in multi-connectivity operation in which the wireless device simultaneously connects to multiple radio network nodes that respectively provide multiple cell groups, including a master cell group (MCG) and a secondary cell group (SCG), the method comprising (see Abstract.. described herein with respect to the mobility and multi-connectivity of wireless transmit receive units. These devices may be configured to perform conditional handovers and/or conditional second cell group reconfigurations including primary secondary cell additions or changes. The devices may exchange information with a network while performing the conditional reconfigurations and/or conditional handovers. The devices may be configured with rules to handle concurrent handover and reconfiguration tasks ):
receiving a conditional configuration that includes one or more trigger conditions and includes a configuration that the wireless device is to apply upon the wireless device detecting fulfillment of the one or more trigger conditions; storing the conditional configuration at the wireless device (see [0094].. WTRU may be configured with one or more trigger conditions for a secondary cell group configuration or reconfiguration. The WTRU may be configured to apply a reconfiguration associated with a secondary cell group if one or a combination of the trigger conditions described herein are satisfied. For example, the WTRU may be configured to apply a SCG reconfiguration if a measurement-based condition is satisfied. The measurement-based condition may correspond to cell quality measurement like RSRP, RSRQ, or SINR. The measurement-based condition may be configured as a measurement event (e.g., Ax, Bx or the like), for example, with one or more appropriate thresholds. The WTRU may apply a SCG reconfiguration if the measurement-based condition and one or more of the following triggering conditions are satisfied; further see [0095]);
detecting an SCG radio link failure (RLF) comprising a failure of a radio link for the SCG (see [0011] RLF; further see [0098] A trigger condition may be associated with SCG failure. A WTRU may be configured to apply a SCG configuration if a SCG failure is detected. The SCG configuration may correspond to an SN change. The SCG failure may be detected if one or more of the following conditions are met. The SCG failure may be detected in response to detecting a radio link failure for the SCG. The SCG failure may be detected in response to detecting a reconfiguration with sync failure of the SCG. The SCG failure may be detected in response to detecting a SCG configuration failure. The SCG failure may be detected in response to receiving an integrity check failure indication from a SCG lower layer concerning SRB3.); and
transmitting, to a radio network node that provides the MCG, an SCG failure report that reports the detected SCG RLF radio link failure, wherein the SCG failure report includes information about the conditional configuration stored at the wireless device, wherein the information about the conditional configuration stored at the wireless device includes information about the one or more trigger conditions on which the conditional configuration depends (see [0133] WTRU may be configured to handle a conditional SCG reconfiguration failure. There may be a trigger condition associated with a conditional SCG reconfiguration failure. For example, a WTRU may be triggered to apply a conditional SCG configuration or reconfiguration if a previous conditional SCG reconfiguration failed. The WTRU may be configured with a plurality of conditional SCG configurations and the WTRU may attempt to apply a conditional reconfiguration to a second SCG if a conditional SCG reconfiguration fails with a first SCG. In examples, the WTRU may be configured to report the failure of a conditional SCG reconfiguration to the MCG. This may be done via a SCG failure information message, e.g., if all conditional SCG reconfigurations fail, if n (e.g., n>=1) conditional SCG reconfigurations fail, or if no conditional SCG reconfiguration meets a configured trigger condition for SCG reconfiguration. ).
But Deeno is silent about the limitations regarding wherein the SCG failure report includes information about the conditional configuration stored at the wireless device, wherein the information about the conditional configuration stored at the wireless device includes information about the one or more trigger conditions on which the conditional configuration depends.
However Choi states in [0169] about the following reasons, different pieces of information are used as the neighbor cell measurement information for the measurement result reporting message and the neighbor cell measurement information of the SCG failure message; now refer to [0171].. assuming that four non-serving frequencies f1, f2, f3, and f4 are configured in the terminal, and f1 and f2 are non-serving frequencies set for shift between frequencies, and f3 and f4 are non-serving frequencies set for multi-connection setup, the neighbor cell measurement results of f3 and f4 which are non-serving frequencies related to the multi-connection setup may not be taken as useful information in the measurement result reporting message related to the shift between frequencies. The SCG failure reporting message is a message reported to the master base station for unpredicted SCG failure. Here, the SCG failure may be classified as an abnormal situation, such as when the channel quality of PSCell among SCG serving cells has been deteriorated in such extend that it is inappropriate for performing communication, or when random access has failed. Here, the information needed for the base station is information that allows for determination of the serving cell to replace the PSCell where the failure has occurred, and accordingly, the neighbor cell measurement information for the serving frequency of the SCG among the serving frequencies currently set corresponds to that. Further, another available scheme is to change the SCG frequency into one of the non-serving frequencies as set, and in that sense, the non-serving frequency neighbor cell measurement information is also useful information.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Choi with the teachings of Deeno to make system more effective. Having a mechanism wherein the SCG failure report includes information about the conditional configuration stored at the wireless device, wherein the information about the conditional configuration stored at the wireless device includes information about the one or more trigger conditions on which the conditional configuration depends; greater way resources can managed/utilized to carry out more reliable communication in the communication system.
Regarding claim 59, Deenoo teaches a method performed by a radio network node configured to provide a master cell group (MCG) for a wireless device capable of operating in multi-connectivity operation in which the wireless device simultaneously connects to multiple radio network nodes that respectively provide multiple cell groups, including the MCG and a secondary cell group (SCG), the method comprising (see Abstract.. described herein with respect to the mobility and multi-connectivity of wireless transmit receive units. These devices may be configured to perform conditional handovers and/or conditional second cell group reconfigurations including primary secondary cell additions or changes. The devices may exchange information with a network while performing the conditional reconfigurations and/or conditional handovers. The devices may be configured with rules to handle concurrent handover and reconfiguration tasks ):
receiving, from the wireless device an SCG failure report that reports an SCG radio link failure (RLF) comprising a failure of a radio link for the SCG (see [0133] WTRU may be configured to handle a conditional SCG reconfiguration failure. There may be a trigger condition associated with a conditional SCG reconfiguration failure. For example, a WTRU may be triggered to apply a conditional SCG configuration or reconfiguration if a previous conditional SCG reconfiguration failed. The WTRU may be configured with a plurality of conditional SCG configurations and the WTRU may attempt to apply a conditional reconfiguration to a second SCG if a conditional SCG reconfiguration fails with a first SCG. In examples, the WTRU may be configured to report the failure of a conditional SCG reconfiguration to the MCG. This may be done via a SCG failure information message, e.g., if all conditional SCG reconfigurations fail, if n (e.g., n>=1) conditional SCG reconfigurations fail, or if no conditional SCG reconfiguration meets a configured trigger condition for SCG reconfiguration.),
wherein the SCG failure report includes information about a conditional configuration stored at the wireless device, wherein the conditional configuration includes one or more trigger conditions and includes a configuration to be applied upon the wireless device detecting fulfillment of the one or more trigger conditions (in context with discussed above [0133] now refer to [0094].. WTRU may be configured with one or more trigger conditions for a secondary cell group configuration or reconfiguration. The WTRU may be configured to apply a reconfiguration associated with a secondary cell group if one or a combination of the trigger conditions described herein are satisfied. For example, the WTRU may be configured to apply a SCG reconfiguration if a measurement-based condition is satisfied. The measurement-based condition may correspond to cell quality measurement like RSRP, RSRQ, or SINR. The measurement-based condition may be configured as a measurement event (e.g., Ax, Bx or the like), for example, with one or more appropriate thresholds. The WTRU may apply a SCG reconfiguration if the measurement-based condition and one or more of the following triggering conditions are satisfied; further see [0095]),
wherein the information about the conditional configuration stored at the wireless device includes information about the one or more trigger conditions on which the conditional configuration depends.
But Deeno is silent about the limitations regarding wherein the information about the conditional configuration stored at the wireless device includes information about the one or more trigger conditions on which the conditional configuration depends.
However Choi states in [0169] about the following reasons, different pieces of information are used as the neighbor cell measurement information for the measurement result reporting message and the neighbor cell measurement information of the SCG failure message; now refer to [0171].. assuming that four non-serving frequencies f1, f2, f3, and f4 are configured in the terminal, and f1 and f2 are non-serving frequencies set for shift between frequencies, and f3 and f4 are non-serving frequencies set for multi-connection setup, the neighbor cell measurement results of f3 and f4 which are non-serving frequencies related to the multi-connection setup may not be taken as useful information in the measurement result reporting message related to the shift between frequencies. The SCG failure reporting message is a message reported to the master base station for unpredicted SCG failure. Here, the SCG failure may be classified as an abnormal situation, such as when the channel quality of PSCell among SCG serving cells has been deteriorated in such extend that it is inappropriate for performing communication, or when random access has failed. Here, the information needed for the base station is information that allows for determination of the serving cell to replace the PSCell where the failure has occurred, and accordingly, the neighbor cell measurement information for the serving frequency of the SCG among the serving frequencies currently set corresponds to that. Further, another available scheme is to change the SCG frequency into one of the non-serving frequencies as set, and in that sense, the non-serving frequency neighbor cell measurement information is also useful information.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Choi with the teachings of Deeno to make system more effective. Having a mechanism wherein the information about the conditional configuration stored at the wireless device includes information about the one or more trigger conditions on which the conditional configuration depends; greater way resources can managed/utilized to carry out more reliable communication in the communication system.
Regarding claim 69, Deeno in view of Choi teaches as per claim 40, wherein detecting the SCG RLF comprises detecting the SCG RLF before fulfillment of at least one of the one or more trigger conditions and/or before application of the configuration included in the conditional configuration; Deeno see [0098].. trigger condition may be associated with SCG failure. A WTRU may be configured to apply a SCG configuration if a SCG failure is detected. …
Regarding claim 70, Deeno in view of Choi teaches as per claim 40,wherein the information about the one or more trigger conditions includes information indication how close the one or more trigger conditions were to being fulfilled when the SCG failure was detected; Deeno see [0094].. WTRU may be configured with one or more trigger conditions for a secondary cell group configuration or reconfiguration. The WTRU may be configured to apply a reconfiguration associated with a secondary cell group if one or a combination of the trigger conditions described herein are satisfied. For example, the WTRU may be configured to apply a SCG reconfiguration if a measurement-based condition is satisfied. The measurement-based condition may correspond to cell quality measurement like RSRP, RSRQ, or SINR. The measurement-based condition may be configured as a measurement event (e.g., Ax, Bx or the like), for example, with one or more appropriate thresholds. The WTRU may apply a SCG reconfiguration if the measurement-based condition and one or more of the following triggering conditions are satisfied; further see [0095].
Regarding claim 71, Deeno in view of Choi teaches as per claim 40, wherein information about a trigger condition includes information indicating whether or not the trigger condition was fulfilled when the SCG RLF was detected and/or information indicating how close the trigger condition was to being fulfilled when the SCG RLF was detected; Deeno see [0094].. WTRU may be configured with one or more trigger conditions for a secondary cell group configuration or reconfiguration. The WTRU may be configured to apply a reconfiguration associated with a secondary cell group if one or a combination of the trigger conditions described herein are satisfied. For example, the WTRU may be configured to apply a SCG reconfiguration if a measurement-based condition is satisfied. The measurement-based condition may correspond to cell quality measurement like RSRP, RSRQ, or SINR. The measurement-based condition may be configured as a measurement event (e.g., Ax, Bx or the like), for example, with one or more appropriate thresholds. The WTRU may apply a SCG reconfiguration if the measurement-based condition and one or more of the following triggering conditions are satisfied; further see [0095].
Regarding claim 72, Deeno in view of Choi teaches as per claim 40, wherein the information about the one or more trigger conditions includes information indicating which of the one or more trigger conditions, if any, has been fulfilled as of when the SCG failure was detected; Deeno see [0094].. WTRU may be configured with one or more trigger conditions for a secondary cell group configuration or reconfiguration. The WTRU may be configured to apply a reconfiguration associated with a secondary cell group if one or a combination of the trigger conditions described herein are satisfied. For example, the WTRU may be configured to apply a SCG reconfiguration if a measurement-based condition is satisfied. The measurement-based condition may correspond to cell quality measurement like RSRP, RSRQ, or SINR. The measurement-based condition may be configured as a measurement event (e.g., Ax, Bx or the like), for example, with one or more appropriate thresholds. The WTRU may apply a SCG reconfiguration if the measurement-based condition and one or more of the following triggering conditions are satisfied; further see [0095].
Regarding claim 74, Deeno in view of Choi teaches as per claim 51, wherein Deeno teaches wherein the conditional configuration is a conditional PSCell change configuration, and wherein the configuration is a configuration that, upon the wireless device detecting fulfillment of the one or more trigger conditions, the wireless device is to apply for changing the PSCell of the SCG to the candidate cell; see [0079].. For example, a WTRU may be configured to trigger a CHO at or following a conditional PSCell change being triggered…; further see [0086].. The WTRU may apply a bias in the trigger condition for a conditional PSCell change depending on the existence of a linkage of the current PCell with the conditional PSCell candidate. This behavior of the WTRU may also apply in the case of conditional PSCell configuration. The WTRU may decide to select one or more candidates with priority (e.g., if multiple candidates exist and a CHO or conditional PSCell change is triggered) depending on the existence of a linkage of the current PCell/PSCell with the conditional PCell/PSCell candidate in question….; further see [0089].. The linkage between MCG candidates and SCG candidates may depend on a specific trigger for CHO and/or conditional PSCell change. .….if the WTRU triggers conditional PSCell change due to data arrival while camped on the current PCell, the WTRU may prioritize or limit PSCell change to PSCell candidate 1 (e.g., and not to PSCell candidate 2). If the WTRU triggers conditional PSCell change due to SCG cell quality, the WTRU may allow PSCell change to PSCell candidate 1 or PSCell candidate 2 without prioritizing either of the candidates.
Regarding claim 77, Deeno in view of Choi teaches as per claim 47, wherein detecting the SCG RLF comprises detecting the SCG RLF before fulfillment of at least one of the one or more trigger conditions and/or before application of the configuration included in the conditional configuration; Deeno see [0098].. trigger condition may be associated with SCG failure. A WTRU may be configured to apply a SCG configuration if a SCG failure is detected. …
Claim(s) 41- 42, 48- 49 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deenoo et al. (US Pub. No. 2022/0394583 A1) in view of Choi et al. (US Pub. No. 2020/0029356 A1) and in further view of Wang et al. (US Pub. No. 2022/0007257 A1).
Regarding claim 41, Deeno in view of Choi teaches as per claim 40, but Deeno fails to teach about wherein the information about a conditional configuration stored at the wireless device further includes information identifying one or more cells and/or one or more frequencies for which the wireless device has the conditional configuration stored; Wang see [0071] and [0091]…the first location information includes at least one of location type information or location data; the location type information includes at least one of: Global Positioning System (GPS) location information, Global Navigation Satellite System (GNSS) location information, cell measurements of a plurality of neighboring cells, identifications of a plurality of serving cells….. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Wang with the teachings of Deeno in view of Choi to make system more effective. Having a mechanism wherein the information about a conditional configuration stored at the wireless device further includes information identifying one or more cells and/or one or more frequencies for which the wireless device has the conditional configuration stored; greater way resources can managed/utilized in the communication system.
Regarding claim 42, Deeno in view of Choi teaches as per claim 40, but Deeno fails to teach about wherein the information about the conditional configuration stored at the wireless device further includes at least one of any one or more of: information describing a measurement performed while monitoring for fulfillment of the one or more trigger condition for triggering application of the conditional configuration; and information indicating that a cell on which the measurement was performed is a cell for which the wireless device has a stored conditional configuration; however Wang in context with [0071- 0076] (i.e. measurement) refer to [0091- 0092]; …the first location information includes at least one of location type information or location data; the location type information includes at least one of: Global Positioning System (GPS) location information, Global Navigation Satellite System (GNSS) location information, cell measurements of a plurality of neighboring cells, identifications of a plurality of serving cells, or a plurality of beam measurement results. Furthermore, the plurality of beam measurement results are beam measurement results of a plurality of beams having measurement values satisfying a first condition, and are determined from at least one of: the beam measurement results of the serving cell or the beam measurement results of the neighboring cell,…; see [0091]. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Wang with the teachings of Deeno in view of Choi to make system more effective. Having a mechanism wherein the information about the conditional configuration stored at the wireless device further includes at least one of any one or more of: information describing a measurement performed while monitoring for fulfillment of the one or more trigger condition for triggering application of the conditional configuration; and information indicating that a cell on which the measurement was performed is a cell for which the wireless device has a stored conditional configuration; greater way resources can managed/utilized in the communication system.
Regarding claim 48, Deeno in view of Choi teaches as per claim 47, but Deeno fails to teach about wherein the information about the conditional configuration stored at the wireless device further includes information identifying one or more cells and/or one or more frequencies for which the wireless device has the conditional configuration stored; Wang see [0071] and [0091]…the first location information includes at least one of location type information or location data; the location type information includes at least one of: Global Positioning System (GPS) location information, Global Navigation Satellite System (GNSS) location information, cell measurements of a plurality of neighboring cells, identifications of a plurality of serving cells….. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Wang with the teachings of Deeno in view of Choi to make system more effective. Having a mechanism wherein the information about the conditional configuration stored at the wireless device further includes information identifying one or more cells and/or one or more frequencies for which the wireless device has the conditional configuration stored; greater way resources can managed/utilized in the communication system.
Regarding claim 49, Deeno in view of Choi teaches as per claim 47, but Deeno fails to teach about, wherein the information about a conditional configuration stored at the wireless device includes at least one of any one or more of: information describing a measurement performed while monitoring for fulfillment of a trigger condition for triggering application of the conditional configuration; and information indicating that a cell on which the measurement was performed is a cell for which the wireless device has a stored conditional configuration; however Wang in context with [0071- 0076] (i.e. measurement) refer to [0091- 0092]; …the first location information includes at least one of location type information or location data; the location type information includes at least one of: Global Positioning System (GPS) location information, Global Navigation Satellite System (GNSS) location information, cell measurements of a plurality of neighboring cells, identifications of a plurality of serving cells, or a plurality of beam measurement results. Furthermore, the plurality of beam measurement results are beam measurement results of a plurality of beams having measurement values satisfying a first condition, and are determined from at least one of: the beam measurement results of the serving cell or the beam measurement results of the neighboring cell,…; see [0091]. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Wang with the teachings of Deeno in view of Choi to make system more effective. Having a mechanism wherein the information about a conditional configuration stored at the wireless device includes at least one of any one or more of: information describing a measurement performed while monitoring for fulfillment of a trigger condition for triggering application of the conditional configuration; and information indicating that a cell on which the measurement was performed is a cell for which the wireless device has a stored conditional configuration; greater way resources can managed/utilized in the communication system.
Claim(s) 54 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deenoo et al. (US Pub. No. 2022/0394583 A1) in view of Choi et al. (US Pub. No. 2020/0029356 A1) and further in view of Purkayastha et al. (US Pub. No. 2020/0351734 A1), hereafter Punya.
Regarding claim 54, Deeno in view of Choi teaches as per claim 47, but Deeno teaches about receiving SCG failure report but silent about deciding whether to modify or release the conditional configuration; and modifying or releasing the conditional configuration depending on said deciding; however Punya states in [0034] about .. receiving, from the UE, a measurement report that indicates that a first deconfiguration measurement threshold for deconfiguring a first conditional handover configuration of a first target base station is satisfied, and releasing the first conditional handover configuration of the first target base station responsive to the measurement report….; further see [0192]. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Punya with the teachings of Deeno in view of Choi to make system more effective. Having a mechanism wherein deciding whether to modify or release the conditional configuration; and modifying or releasing the conditional configuration depending on said deciding; greater way resources can be managed/utilized in the communication system.
Claim(s) 55 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deenoo et al. (US Pub. No. 2022/0394583 A1) in view of Choi et al. (US Pub. No. 2020/0029356 A1) and further in view of Futaki et al. (US Pub. No. 2022/0030498 A1).
Regarding claim 55, Deeno in view of Choi teaches as per claim 47, but Deeno teaches about receiving SCG failure report, but silent about further comprising, based on the received report, deciding whether to trigger a procedure for preparing a target candidate for at least one of any one or more of: secondary cell group addition or change, conditional PSCell addition or change; however Futaki states in Fig. 10 and [0107] about … conditional PSCell change. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Futaki with the teachings of Deeno in view of Choi to make system more effective. Having a mechanism wherein based on the received report, deciding whether to trigger a procedure for preparing a target candidate for at least one of any one or more of: secondary cell group addition or change, conditional PSCell addition or change; greater way resources can be managed/utilized in the communication system.
Claim(s) 56 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deenoo et al. (US Pub. No. 2022/0394583 A1) in view of Choi et al. (US Pub. No. 2020/0029356 A1) and further in view of Ishii et al. (US Pub. No. 2022/0217597 A1).
Regarding claim 56, Deeno in view of Choi teaches as per claim 47, but Deeno is silent about further comprising, based on the received SCG failure report, transmitting to the wireless device delta signaling relative to the conditional configuration; however Ishii states in [0174] about … An access node of a radio access network (RAN), the access node comprising: transmitter circuitry configured to transmit to a wireless terminal a configuration message to configure a conditional handover; receiver circuitry configured to receive a measurement report from the wireless terminal; processor circuitry configured to make a determination for reconfiguring the wireless terminal based on the measurement report; wherein: the configuration message comprises one or more identities of candidate target cell(s) and one or more conditions to perform a handover autonomously, and; the decision for the wireless terminal to send the measurement report is based on the configuration message.. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Ishii with the teachings of Deeno in view of Choi to make system more effective. Having a mechanism based on the received report, transmitting to the wireless device delta signaling relative to the conditional configuration; greater way resources can be managed/utilized in the communication system.
Claim(s) 73, 76 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deenoo et al. (US Pub. No. 2022/0394583 A1) in view of Choi et al. (US Pub. No. 2020/0029356 A1) and in further view of Liu et al. (US Pub. No. 2022/0141735 A1).
Regarding claim 73, Deeno in view of Choi teaches as per claim 40, but Deeno is silent about wherein the report also includes information indicating a type of failure reported by the SCG failure report; however Liu states in [0011] about .. a connection failure type indication in the RLF report may be configured to indicate whether the RLF event may be a radio link failure, a handover failure, a beam recovery failure, or a combination thereof.. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Liu with the teachings of Deeno in view of Choi to make system more standardized.
Regarding claim 76, Deeno in view of Choi teaches as per claim 47, but Deeno is silent about wherein the report also includes information indicating a type of failure reported by the SCG failure report; however Liu states in [0011] about .. a connection failure type indication in the RLF report may be configured to indicate whether the RLF event may be a radio link failure, a handover failure, a beam recovery failure, or a combination thereof.. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Liu with the teachings of Deeno in view of Choi to make system more standardized.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 46 and 75 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see PTO-892 form for considered prior arts for record.
Reference Latheef et al. (US Pub. No. 2021/0321310 A1) teaches .. a method for handling a conditional configuration stored in a UE. The method includes receiving, by the UE, a radio resource control (RRC) message indicating a release of a secondary cell group (SCG) from a master node (MN). Further, the method includes releasing, by the UE, at least one of a stored conditional PSCell change (CPC) configuration and a variable storing a CPC configuration in response to receiving the RRC message indicating the release of the SCG.; see [0011].
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
PARTH PATEL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2479
/PARTH PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2479