REASONS FOR ALLOWANCE
Contents
Election/Restrictions 2
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101 2
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 3
Conclusion 9
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-12, 70 in the reply filed on 1/16/26 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-12, 18-24, 70 are currently pending. Claims 18-24 are withdrawn from consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-12, 70 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter as follows. Claim 1 recites an abstract idea in the form of a mental process. The claim does not integrate an abstract idea into a practical application nor recite an inventive concept. For claims 2-12, 70, further add refinements to the abstract idea without a practical application or inventive concept. Thus, the listed claims are considered non statutory subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Held et al (CV: “Learning to Track at 100 FPS with Deep Regression Networks”) in view of De Brouwer et al (US 2018/0289334 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Held teaches an imaging system comprising: i) generate a plurality of chronological images of an image area via the imaging device (see 3.1, 3.4; we feed frames of a video into a neural network, and the network successively outputs the location of the tracked object in each frame);
ii) identify a target object within the image area of a most recent image of the plurality of chronological images (see 3.2; The goal of the network is then to regress to the location of the target object within the search region.);
iii) generate a target object image area within the image area of the most recent image including the identified target object, the target object area having a perimeter within the image area of the most recent image (see 3.2; The network outputs the coordinates of the object in the current frame, relative to the search region. The network’s output consists of the coordinates of the top left and bottom right corners of the bounding box.);
iv) use a prior image of the image area, and crop the prior image to generate a cropped image area sized to the perimeter of the target object image area (see 3.2; We crop the current frame using the search region and input this crop into our network, as shown in Figure 2. The goal of the network is then to regress to the location of the target object within the search region. In more detail, the crop of the current frame t is centered at c = (cx,cy), where c is the expected mean location of the target object. We set c= c, which is equivalent to a constant position motion model, although more sophisticated motion models can be used as well. The crop of the current frame has a width and height of k2 w and k2h, respectively, where w and h are the width and height of the predicted bounding box in the previous frame, and k2 defines our search radius for the target object. In practice, we use k1 = k2 = 2. As long as the target object does not become occluded and is not moving too quickly, the target will be located within this region. For fast-moving ob jects, the size of the search region could be increased, at a cost of increasing the complexity of the network. Alternatively, to handle long-term occlusions or large movements, our tracker can be combined with another approach such as an online-trained object detector, as in the TLD framework [19], or a visual attention model [4,29,2]; we leave this for future work.);
v) generate a location region of the cropped image area within the image area of the most recent image (see 3.2; In more detail, the crop of the current frame t is centered at c = (cx,cy), where c is the expected mean location of the target object. We set c= c, which is equivalent to a constant position motion model, although more sophisticated motion models can be used as well. The crop of the current frame has a width and height of k2 w and k2h, respectively, where w and h are the width and height of the predicted bounding box in the previous frame, and k2 defines our search radius for the target object. In practice, we use k1 = k2 = 2.); and
vi) analyze the location region of the most recent image (see 3.4; During test time, we initialize the tracker with a ground-truth bounding box from the first frame, as is standard practice for single-target tracking. At each subsequent frame t, we input crops from frame t−1 and frame t into the network (as described in Section 3.2) to predict where the object is located in frame t. We continue to re-crop and feed pairs of frames into our network for the remainder of the video, and our network will track the movement of the target object throughout the entire video sequence.). Held does not teach a) an imaging device; and b) a controller in operable connection to the imaging device, the controller being operable to generate images via the imaging device, and analyze the generated images via a processor, wherein the processor includes functionality to.
De Brouwer, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a) an imaging device (see 0025; camera); and b) a controller in operable connection to the imaging device, the controller being operable to generate images via the imaging device, and analyze the generated images via a processor, wherein the processor includes functionality to (see 0026; processor).
It would have been obvious (before the effective filing date of the claimed invention) or (at the time the invention was made) to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Held to utilize the cited limitations as suggested by De Brouwer. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to enhance the accuracy, efficiency and reliability of the system (see 0006). Furthermore, the prior art collectively includes each element claimed (though not all in the same reference), and one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements in the manner explained above using known engineering design, interface and/or programming techniques, without changing a “fundamental” operating principle of Held, while the teaching of De Brouwer continues to perform the same function as originally taught prior to being combined, in order to produce the repeatable and predictable result. It is for at least the aforementioned reasons that the examiner has reached a conclusion of obviousness with respect to the claim in question.
Regarding claims 2-5, 10, Held teaches i)-vi) are iterated for each successive image of the plurality of chronological images (see 3.1, 3.4);
greater than 10, 100, 1,000, 10,000, 100,000 or more individual images (see 5.1);
i)-vi) are iterated when only one target object is identified in the image area (see intro, 3.3, 3.4);
identifying the target object in the location region of the most recent image (see 3.2, 6.2);
i)-vi) are performed via one or more convolutional neural networks (CNNs) (see 3.3).
Claims 6-9, 70 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Held et al (CV: “Learning to Track at 100 FPS with Deep Regression Networks”) with De Brouwer et al (US 2018/0289334 A1), and further in view of Sato et al (US 2013/0217061 A1).
Regarding claims 6-9, Held with De Brouwer teaches all elements as mentioned above in claim 5. Held with De Brouwer does not teach expressly analyzing the target object; classifying the target object based on an attribute of the target object; attribute is a physical feature of the target object; physical feature is size or shape.
Sato, in the same field of endeavor, teaches analyzing the target object (see abstract, 0105-0107); classifying the target object based on an attribute of the target object (see 0105-0107, 0093); attribute is a physical feature of the target object (see abstract, 0093); physical feature is size or shape (see 0093).
It would have been obvious (before the effective filing date of the claimed invention) or (at the time the invention was made) to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Held with De Brouwer to utilize the cited limitations as suggested by Sato. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to optimally detect commonalities (see 0007). Furthermore, the prior art collectively includes each element claimed (though not all in the same reference), and one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements in the manner explained above using known engineering design, interface and/or programming techniques, without changing a “fundamental” operating principle of Held with De Brouwer, while the teaching of Sato continues to perform the same function as originally taught prior to being combined, in order to produce the repeatable and predictable result. It is for at least the aforementioned reasons that the examiner has reached a conclusion of obviousness with respect to the claim in question.
Regarding claim 70, Held with De Brouwer teaches all elements as mentioned above in claim 1. Held with De Brouwer does not teach expressly functionality to recursively process images until the respective most recent image corresponds to a desired temporal snapshot of the image area.
Sato, in the same field of endeavor, teaches functionality to recursively process images until the respective most recent image corresponds to a desired temporal snapshot of the image area (see 0093, abstract).
It would have been obvious (before the effective filing date of the claimed invention) or (at the time the invention was made) to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Held with De Brouwer to utilize the cited limitations as suggested by Sato. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to optimally detect commonalities (see 0007). Furthermore, the prior art collectively includes each element claimed (though not all in the same reference), and one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements in the manner explained above using known engineering design, interface and/or programming techniques, without changing a “fundamental” operating principle of Held with De Brouwer, while the teaching of Sato continues to perform the same function as originally taught prior to being combined, in order to produce the repeatable and predictable result. It is for at least the aforementioned reasons that the examiner has reached a conclusion of obviousness with respect to the claim in question.
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Held et al (CV: “Learning to Track at 100 FPS with Deep Regression Networks”) with De Brouwer et al (US 2018/0289334 A1), and further in view of Floto et al (WO 2018/223142 A1).
Regarding claims 11-12, Held with De Brouwer teaches all elements as mentioned above in claim 5. Held with De Brouwer does not teach expressly target object is a cell or cell colony; cells of the cell colony are monoclonal.
Floto, in the same field of endeavor, teaches target object is a cell or cell colony (see abstract); cells of the cell colony are monoclonal (see abstract).
It would have been obvious (before the effective filing date of the claimed invention) or (at the time the invention was made) to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Held with De Brouwer to utilize the cited limitations as suggested by Floto. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to reduce storage size of images (see pg. 11). Furthermore, the prior art collectively includes each element claimed (though not all in the same reference), and one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements in the manner explained above using known engineering design, interface and/or programming techniques, without changing a “fundamental” operating principle of Held with De Brouwer, while the teaching of Floto continues to perform the same function as originally taught prior to being combined, in order to produce the repeatable and predictable result. It is for at least the aforementioned reasons that the examiner has reached a conclusion of obviousness with respect to the claim in question.
Conclusion
Claims 1-12, 70 are rejected.
Telephone: (571)270-1576 | Fax: 571.270.2576 | Edward.Park@uspto.gov
For email communications, please notate MPEP 502.03, which outlines procedures pertaining to communications via the internet and authorization. A sample authorization form is cited within MPEP 502.03, section II.
The examiner can normally be reached on M-F 9-6 CST.
/EDWARD PARK/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2666