DETAILED ACTION
A request for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, including the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e), was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant's submission filed on March 13, 2026 has been entered, wherein claims 16, 24, 26-28, 30, and 32-82 are cancelled, claims 1-15, 17-23, 25, 29, and 31 are pending and ready for examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, 11, 12, 29, and 31are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Jung et al. (Jung hereafter) (US 20200313793 A1).
Regarding claim 1 Jung teaches, A method performed by a wireless communication device, the method comprising:
receiving, from a base station (determined based on the DCI), a configuration of a set of symbols (plurality of available symbols for the physical channel) for one or more configured transmissions (include scheduling information for a physical channel carrying a TB). (Jung; [0012] provide for enhanced data channels for URLLC. Downlink Control Information (DCI) can be received. The DCI can include scheduling information for a physical channel carrying a Transport Block (TB). The physical channel can include a plurality of repetitions of the TB. The physical channel can span at least one slot. Each of the plurality of repetitions can be within a slot of the at least one slot. A repetition duration of each of the plurality of repetitions can be determined based on a plurality of available symbols for the physical channel. The plurality of available symbols can be determined based on the DCI, [0002].);
monitoring for a DCI that uses a particular Downlink Control Information (DCI) format (Jung; [0023] If the UE is configured to monitor dynamic SFI, the UE can transmit on the higher layer configured UL symbols as well as the higher layer configured flexible symbols that are dynamically indicated as UL. Dynamic SFI carried by group common PDCCH...);
when the wireless communication device is configured to monitor for the particular DCI format (Jung; [0057] In RRC configured flexible symbols, the UE, if configured to monitor DCI format 2_0, can determine whether to receive/transmit semi-statically configured DL/UL channels/signals based on a slot format indication via DCI format 2_0. ) and does not detect a DCI that uses the particular DCI format ([0057] a UE may not expect to detect a DCI format 2_0)and either:
(a) a semi-static Time Division Duplexing (TDD) configuration is received by the wireless communication device indicating the set of symbols configured for the one or more configured transmissions as flexible (Jung; [0057] In Rel-15 NR, for a set of symbols of a slot that are indicated as DL/UL via semi-static TDD DL/UL configuration, a UE may not expect to detect a DCI format 2_0 with an SFI-index field value indicating the set of symbols of the slot as UL/DL, respectively, or as flexible.)
or
(b) the wireless communication device did not receive a semi-static TDD configuration:
{Office’s Note: Because of the alternative claim language such as “either...or”, only one of the alternative limitations has been analyzed by the examiner.}
making a determination of whether the one or more configured transmissions are allowed to be transmitted or are received (configured flexible slots/symbols in DCI scheduling an enhanced PUSCH (or PDSCH)) based on whether a value of a Radio Resource Control (RRC) parameter is configured (UE can receive an indication of slot formats for RRC configured flexible slots/symbols), wherein the value indicates (providing a slot format for the slot) whether the one or more configured transmissions are allowed or not allowed when the DCI is not detected (For RRC configured flexible symbols, if the UE does not detect DCI format 2_0) (Jung; [0057] For RRC configured flexible symbols, if the UE does not detect DCI format 2_0 providing a slot format for the slot, the UE may not receive/transmit semi-statically configured DL/UL channels/signals and the UL transmission can be cancelled as long as processing time requirement is met.[0058] a UE can receive an indication of slot formats for RRC configured flexible slots/symbols in DCI scheduling an enhanced PUSCH (or PDSCH), DCI activating a configured grant enhanced PUSCH,)
Regarding claim 29 Jung teaches, A wireless communication device, adapted to:
receive, from a base station (determined based on the DCI), a configuration of a set of symbols (plurality of available symbols for the physical channel) for one or more configured transmissions (include scheduling information for a physical channel carrying a TB). (Jung; [0012] provide for enhanced data channels for URLLC. Downlink Control Information (DCI) can be received. The DCI can include scheduling information for a physical channel carrying a Transport Block (TB). The physical channel can include a plurality of repetitions of the TB. The physical channel can span at least one slot. Each of the plurality of repetitions can be within a slot of the at least one slot. A repetition duration of each of the plurality of repetitions can be determined based on a plurality of available symbols for the physical channel. The plurality of available symbols can be determined based on the DCI, [0002]);
;
monitor for a DCI that uses a particular Downlink Control Information (DCI) format (Jung; [0023] If the UE is configured to monitor dynamic SFI, the UE can transmit on the higher layer configured UL symbols as well as the higher layer configured flexible symbols that are dynamically indicated as UL. Dynamic SFI carried by group common PDCCH...);
when the wireless communication device is configured to monitor for the particular DCI format (Jung; [0057] In RRC configured flexible symbols, the UE, if configured to monitor DCI format 2_0, can determine whether to receive/transmit semi-statically configured DL/UL channels/signals based on a slot format indication via DCI format 2_0. ) and does not detect a DCI that uses the particular DCI format ([0057] a UE may not expect to detect a DCI format 2_0)and either:
(a) a semi-static Time Division Duplexing (TDD) configuration is received by the wireless communication device indicating the set of symbols configured for the one or more configured transmissions as flexible (Jung; [0057] In Rel-15 NR, for a set of symbols of a slot that are indicated as DL/UL via semi-static TDD DL/UL configuration, a UE may not expect to detect a DCI format 2_0 with an SFI-index field value indicating the set of symbols of the slot as UL/DL, respectively, or as flexible.)
or
(b) the wireless communication device did not receive a semi-static TDD configuration:
{Office’s Note: Because of the alternative claim language such as “either...or”, only one of the alternative limitations has been analyzed by the examiner.}
make a determination of whether the one or more configured transmissions are allowed to be transmitted or are received (configured flexible slots/symbols in DCI scheduling an enhanced PUSCH (or PDSCH)) based on whether a value of a Radio Resource Control (RRC) parameter is configured (UE can receive an indication of slot formats for RRC configured flexible slots/symbols), wherein the value indicates (providing a slot format for the slot) whether the one or more configured transmissions are allowed or not allowed when the DCI is not detected (For RRC configured flexible symbols, if the UE does not detect DCI format 2_0) (Jung; [0057] For RRC configured flexible symbols, if the UE does not detect DCI format 2_0 providing a slot format for the slot, the UE may not receive/transmit semi-statically configured DL/UL channels/signals and the UL transmission can be cancelled as long as processing time requirement is met.[0058] a UE can receive an indication of slot formats for RRC configured flexible slots/symbols in DCI scheduling an enhanced PUSCH (or PDSCH), DCI activating a configured grant enhanced PUSCH,)
Regarding claim 31 Jung teaches, A wireless communication device comprising:
one or more transmitters (Jung; Fig. 8 transceiver 870);
one or more receivers (Jung; Fig. 8 transceiver 870); and
processing circuitry associated with the one or more transmitters and the one or more receivers (Jung; Fig. 8 transceiver 870, and a network interface 880 coupled to the controller 820.), the processing circuitry configured to cause the wireless communication device to:
receive, from a base station (determined based on the DCI), a configuration of a set of symbols (plurality of available symbols for the physical channel) for one or more configured transmissions (include scheduling information for a physical channel carrying a TB). (Jung; [0012] provide for enhanced data channels for URLLC. Downlink Control Information (DCI) can be received. The DCI can include scheduling information for a physical channel carrying a Transport Block (TB). The physical channel can include a plurality of repetitions of the TB. The physical channel can span at least one slot. Each of the plurality of repetitions can be within a slot of the at least one slot. A repetition duration of each of the plurality of repetitions can be determined based on a plurality of available symbols for the physical channel. The plurality of available symbols can be determined based on the DCI, [0002]);
monitor for a DCI that uses a particular Downlink Control Information (DCI) format (Jung; [0023] If the UE is configured to monitor dynamic SFI, the UE can transmit on the higher layer configured UL symbols as well as the higher layer configured flexible symbols that are dynamically indicated as UL. Dynamic SFI carried by group common PDCCH...);
when the wireless communication device is configured to monitor for the particular DCI format (Jung; [0057] In RRC configured flexible symbols, the UE, if configured to monitor DCI format 2_0, can determine whether to receive/transmit semi-statically configured DL/UL channels/signals based on a slot format indication via DCI format 2_0. ) and does not detect a DCI that uses the particular DCI format ([0057] a UE may not expect to detect a DCI format 2_0)and either:
(a) a semi-static Time Division Duplexing (TDD) configuration is received by the wireless communication device indicating the set of symbols configured for the one or more configured transmissions as flexible (Jung; [0057] In Rel-15 NR, for a set of symbols of a slot that are indicated as DL/UL via semi-static TDD DL/UL configuration, a UE may not expect to detect a DCI format 2_0 with an SFI-index field value indicating the set of symbols of the slot as UL/DL, respectively, or as flexible.)
or
(b) the wireless communication device did not receive a semi-static TDD configuration:
{Office’s Note: Because of the alternative claim language such as “either...or”, only one of the alternative limitations has been analyzed by the examiner.}
make a determination of whether the one or more configured transmissions are allowed to be transmitted or are received (configured flexible slots/symbols in DCI scheduling an enhanced PUSCH (or PDSCH)) based on whether a value of a Radio Resource Control (RRC) parameter is configured (UE can receive an indication of slot formats for RRC configured flexible slots/symbols), wherein the value indicates (providing a slot format for the slot) whether the one or more configured transmissions are allowed or not allowed when the DCI is not detected (For RRC configured flexible symbols, if the UE does not detect DCI format 2_0) (Jung; [0057] FIG. 3 is an example illustration 300 of semi-static TDD UL/DL configuration... For RRC configured flexible symbols, if the UE does not detect DCI format 2_0 providing a slot format for the slot, the UE may not receive/transmit semi-statically configured DL/UL channels/signals and the UL transmission can be cancelled as long as processing time requirement is met.[0058] a UE can receive an indication of slot formats for RRC configured flexible slots/symbols in DCI scheduling an enhanced PUSCH (or PDSCH), DCI activating a configured grant enhanced PUSCH,)
Regarding claim 2 Jung teaches, The method of claim 1
Jung further teaches, wherein the set of symbols is a set of symbols in a slot (Jung; [0057] In Rel-15 NR, for a set of symbols of a slot that are indicated as DL/UL).
Regarding claim 4 Jung teaches, The method of claim1
Jung further teaches, further comprising receiving, from the base station, a configuration for monitoring the particular DCI format (Jung; [0061] the UE can be configured to monitor a DCI format of high-reliability dynamic Slot Format Indicator (SFI)).
Regarding claim 11 Jung teaches, The method of claim1
Jung further teaches, wherein the particular DCI format is DCI format 2_0 (Jung; [0062] the DCI format of high-reliability dynamic SFI can have the same DCI field as the DCI format 2_0 ).
Regarding claim 12 Jung teaches, The method of claim1
Jung further teaches, wherein the particular DCI format is a DCI format that comprises a slot format indicator ( Jung; [0058] a UE can receive an indication of slot formats for RRC configured flexible slots/symbols in DCI ... Dynamic slot-format indication based on DCI format 2_0, ).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 13, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Title: Corrections on UE-Group Common PDCCH (NPL1 hereafter) (R1-1801975) (IDS provided).
Regarding claim 3 Jung teaches, The method of claim 1
Jung fails to explicitly teach, wherein making the determination comprises making the determination when the wireless communication device does not detect: a DCI that uses the particular DCI format and provides a slot format for the slot; and
either: (a) a semi-static Time Division Duplexing, TDD, configuration received by the wireless communication device indicates the set of symbols configured for the one or more configured transmissions as flexible
However, in the same field of endeavor NPL1 teaches, wherein making the determination comprises making the determination when the when the wireless communication device does not detect: a DCI that uses the particular DCI format and provides a slot format for the slot (NPL1; [proposal 1] ...when the UE fails to detect DCI format 2_0 due to DCI format 2_0 not being transmitted from the gNB or due to a detection error by the UE); and
either: (a) a semi-static Time Division Duplexing, TDD, configuration received by the wireless communication device indicates the set of symbols configured for the one or more configured transmissions as flexible (NPL1; [proposal 1 Remaining UE behaviors] ...the UE to assume that it failed to detect DCI format 2_0 – and cancel transmissions/receptions configured on symbols indicated as flexible by the semi-static SFI configuration)
or
(b) the wireless communication device did not receive a semi-static TDD configuration.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Jung to include the above recited limitations as taught by NPL1 in order to configure to occur on flexible symbols. (NPL1; [Proposal 1]).
{Office’s Note: Because of the alternative claim language such as “either...or”, only one of the alternative limitations has been analyzed by the examiner.}
Regarding claim 13 Jung teaches, The method of
Jung fails to explicitly teach, wherein the wireless communication device does not detect a DCI that uses the particular DCI format by a particular amount of time before a start of a set of symbols configured for the one or more configured transmissions
NPL1 further teaches, wherein the wireless communication device does not detect a DCI that uses the particular DCI format by a particular amount of time before a start of a set of symbols configured for the one or more configured transmissions (NPL1; [proposal 1] UE fails to detect DCI format 2_0 due to DCI format 2_0 not being transmitted from the gNB or due to a detection error by the UE... UE to not assume a particular direction (UL or DL) for flexible symbols – that is, for the UE to assume that it failed to detect DCI format 2_0 – and cancel transmissions/receptions configured on symbols indicated as flexible by the semi-static SFI configuration.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Jung to include the above recited limitations as taught by NPL1 in order to configure to occur on flexible symbols. (NPL1; [Proposal 1]).
Regarding claim 14 Jung teaches, The method of
Jung fails to explicitly teach, wherein the particular amount of time is a physical uplink channel processing delay of the wireless communication device
NPL1 further teaches, wherein the particular amount of time is a physical uplink channel processing delay of the wireless communication device (NPL1; Proposal 1 UEs failing to detect DCI format 2_0. Regarding the transmissions/receptions that may be unnecessarily cancelled by the UE, those are likely to be ones corresponding to SRS/CSI-RS and not to grant-free PDSCH/PUSCH or PUCCH. This is because flexible symbols can be subject to cross-link inter-cell interference and, especially for grant-free PUSCH and PUCCH transmissions,).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Jung to include the above recited limitations as taught by NPL1 in order to configure to occur on flexible symbols. (NPL1; [Proposal 1]).
Claims 5-10, 15, 23, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view Nogami et al. (Nogami hereafter) (US 20200374967 A1).
Regarding claim 5 Jung teaches, The method of claim 4
Jung fails to explicitly teach, wherein the one or more configured transmissions are one or more configured uplink transmissions, and making the determination comprises making the determination of whether the one or more configured uplink transmissions are allowed to be transmitted based on whether the parameter is configured
However, in the same field of endeavor Nogami teaches, wherein the one or more configured transmissions are one or more configured uplink transmissions, and making the determination comprises making the determination of whether the one or more configured uplink transmissions are allowed to be transmitted based on whether the parameter is configured (Nogami; [0030] The UE may include a higher layer processor configured to acquire, through radio resource control (RRC) configuration messages, first information for indicating a slot format, second information for configuring downlink reception(s), and third information for configuring uplink transmission(s) )
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Jung to include the above recited limitations as taught by Nogami in order to improve communication flexibility (Nogami; [0005]).
Regarding claim 6 Jung-Nogami teaches, The method of claim 5
Jung fails to explicitly teach, further comprising either transmitting or refraining from transmitting the one or more configured uplink transmissions on the configured set of symbols for the one or more configured uplink transmissions in accordance with the determination
Nogami further teaches, further comprising either transmitting or refraining from transmitting the one or more configured uplink transmissions on the configured set of symbols for the one or more configured uplink transmissions in accordance with the determination (Nogami; [0031] ... The base station may further include receiving circuitry configured to perform uplink reception(s) which corresponds to the uplink transmission(s) from the UE... configuring the uplink transmission(s) from the UE in the set of symbols of the slot).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Jung to include the above recited limitations as taught by Nogami in order to improve communication flexibility (Nogami; [0005]).
Regarding claim 7 Jung-Nogami teaches, The method of claim 5
Jung fails to explicitly teach, wherein the one or more configured uplink transmissions comprise:
a physical uplink control channel, PUCCH, transmission;
a physical uplink shared channel, PUSCH, transmission;
a physical random access channel, PRACH, transmission;
or
a sounding reference signal, SRS, transmission.
Nogami further teaches, wherein the one or more configured uplink transmissions comprise:
a physical uplink control channel, PUCCH, transmission (Nogami; [0046] the UE 102 may transmit information or data to the gNB 160 using one or more uplink channels 121. Examples of uplink channels 121 include a physical control channel (e.g., PUCCH (Physical Uplink Control Channel)),);
a physical uplink shared channel, PUSCH, transmission (Nogami; [0046] the UE 102 may transmit information or data to the gNB 160 using one or more uplink channels 121. Examples of uplink channels 121 include a physical shared channel (e.g., PUSCH (Physical Uplink Shared Channel)));
a physical random access channel, PRACH, transmission (Nogami; [0097] ... In the uplink, PUCCH, PDSCH, Physical Random Access Channel (PRACH) and the like may be transmitted.);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Jung-Nogami to include the above recited limitations as taught by Nogami in order to improve communication flexibility (Nogami; [0005]).
{Office’s Note: Because of the alternative claim language such as “either...or”, only one of the alternative limitations has been analyzed by the examiner.}
Regarding claim 8 Jung teaches, The method of claim 1
Jung fails to explicitly teach, wherein the one or more configured transmissions are one or more configured downlink transmissions, and making the determination comprises making the determination of whether the one or more configured downlink transmissions are received based on whether the parameter is configured
Nogami further teaches, wherein the one or more configured transmissions are one or more configured downlink transmissions, and making the determination comprises making the determination of whether the one or more configured downlink transmissions are received based on whether the parameter is configured (Nogami; [0030-0033] The UE may include a higher layer processor configured to acquire, through radio resource control (RRC) configuration messages, first information for indicating a slot format, second information for configuring downlink reception(s)... include performing downlink transmission(s) which corresponds to the downlink reception(s) by the UE.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Jung to include the above recited limitations as taught by Nogami in order to improve communication flexibility (Nogami; [0005]).
Regarding claim 9 Jung-Nogami teaches, The method of claim 8
Jung fails to explicitly teach, further comprising either receiving or refraining from receiving the one or more configured downlink transmissions on the configured set of symbols for the one or more configured downlink transmissions in accordance with the determination
Nogami further teaches, further comprising either receiving or refraining from receiving the one or more configured downlink transmissions on the configured set of symbols for the one or more configured downlink transmissions in accordance with the determination (Nogami; [0155] ... For paired spectrum operation, if PDCCH is detected on the set of symbols of the slot, all REs on the set of symbols in any DL BWP of the serving cell may be recognized as DL).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Jung to include the above recited limitations as taught by Nogami in order to improve communication flexibility (Nogami; [0005]).
Regarding claim 10 Jung-Nogami teaches, The method of claim 8
Jung fails to explicitly teach, wherein the one or more configured downlink transmissions comprise: a physical downlink shared channel, PDSCH, transmission
or a channel state information reference signal, CSI-RS, transmission.
Nogami further teaches, wherein the one or more configured downlink transmissions comprise: a physical downlink shared channel, PDSCH, transmission (Nogami; [0153] ... The UE 102 may have to receive SS/PBCH, PDCCH, PDSCH, or CSI-RS in the set of symbols of the slot if the UE 102 receives a corresponding indication by a DCI format with CRC scrambled by C-RNTI or a configuration by higher layers);
or a channel state information reference signal, CSI-RS, transmission.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Jung to include the above recited limitations as taught by Nogami in order to improve communication flexibility (Nogami; [0005]).
Regarding claim 15 Jung teaches, The method of claim1
Jung fails to explicitly teach, further comprising: receiving a configuration of the parameter
wherein making the determination of whether the one or more configured transmissions are allowed to be transmitted or are received based on whether the parameter is configured comprises making a determination that the one or more configured transmissions are allowed to be transmitted or are received based on receiving the configuration of the parameter
Nogami further teaches, further comprising: receiving a configuration of the parameter (Nogami; [0128] ... The higher layer processor may also set and/or store higher layer parameters carried by the higher layer messages. The higher layer processor may provide the PDSCH transmitter transport blocks and provide the PDCCH transmitter transmission parameters related to the transport blocks.);
wherein making the determination of whether the one or more configured transmissions are allowed to be transmitted or are received based on whether the parameter is configured comprises making a determination that the one or more configured transmissions are allowed to be transmitted or are received based on receiving the configuration of the parameter (Nogami; [0128] ... The UL receiver may receive multiplexed uplink physical channels and uplink physical signals via receiving antennas and de-multiplex them. The PUCCH receiver may provide the higher layer processor UCI. The PUSCH receiver may provide the higher layer processor received transport blocks.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Jung to include the above recited limitations as taught by Nogami in order to improve communication flexibility (Nogami; [0005]).
Regarding claim 23 Jung teaches, The method of claim1
Jung fails to explicitly teach, wherein a configuration of the parameter comprises different values for the parameter for different time durations.
Nogami further teaches, wherein a configuration of the parameter comprises different values for the parameter for different time durations (Nogami; [0194] The UE 2202 may use, as a k value, the value which corresponds to the field value set in the associated field in the detected PDCCH. In this case, without configurability of the presence of the field, the gNB 2260 can use the predefined fixed value so that the gNB 2260 and the UE 2202 share the same k value even during RRC (re)configuration for those higher-layer configured values. The predefined fixed value may depend on timing offset type. For example, the value for k.sub.1 may be 0, and the value for k.sub.2 or k.sub.3 may be 4. Alternatively, a value indicated though system information can be used, instead of the predefined fixed value) or different time periods.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Jung to include the above recited limitations as taught by Nogami in order to improve communication flexibility (Nogami; [0005]).
Regarding claim 25 Jung teaches, The method of claim1
Jung fails to explicitly teach, wherein a configuration of the parameter comprises a configuration of one or more specific signals for which the parameter is applicable, a configuration of one or more channels for which the parameter is applicable, or both a configuration of one or more specific signals for which the parameter is applicable and a configuration of one or more channels for which the parameter is applicable
Nogami further teaches, wherein a configuration of the parameter comprises a configuration of one or more specific signals for which the parameter is applicable, a configuration of one or more channels for which the parameter is applicable, or both a configuration of one or more specific signals for which the parameter is applicable and a configuration of one or more channels for which the parameter is applicable (Nogami; [0159] For a set of symbols of a slot that are indicated as uplink by higher layer parameter Slot-assignmentSIB1 or, when provided, by higher layer parameter Slot-assignment, the UE 102 may not be expected to be indicated by a DCI format with CRC scrambled by C-RNTI or be configured by higher layers to receive PDCCH, PDSCH, or CSI-RS in the set of symbols of the slot).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Jung to include the above recited limitations as taught by Nogami in order to improve communication flexibility (Nogami; [0005]).
Claims 17 and 19-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung in view of Title: On support of UL transmission with configured grants in NR-U (NPL2 hereafter) (R1-1906645) (IDS provided).
Regarding claim 17 Jung teaches, The method of claim1
Jung fails to explicitly teach, further comprising: receiving information that indicates whether configured uplink transmissions are allowed within a particular Channel Occupancy Time, COT, duration;
making a determination of whether configured uplink transmissions are allowed within the particular COT duration based on the information;
performing one or more actions based on the determination as to whether configured uplink transmissions are allowed within the particular COT duration
However, in the same field of endeavor NPL2 teaches, receiving information that indicates whether configured uplink transmissions are allowed within a particular Channel Occupancy Time, COT, duration (NPL2; [5. Configured grant transmission within gNB-acquired COT] eNB allows AUL transmission within eNB acquired COT in subframes belonging to the UL subframes indicated with C-PDCCH only if the COT is acquired using the largest priority class value);
making a determination of whether configured uplink transmissions are allowed within the particular COT duration based on the information (NPL2; [9. LBT and COT Sharing] 1. AUL is allowed within the eNB acquired COT and Type 2 channel access (25 us one-shot LBT) should be performed before the AUL transmission starts); and
performing one or more actions based on the determination as to whether configured uplink transmissions are allowed within the particular COT duration (NPL2; [Proposal 7] Configured grant UL transmission is allowed within the gNB acquired COT. GC-PDCCH can be used to enable/disable CG UL transmission within the gNB acquired COT).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Jung to include the above recited limitations as taught by NPL2 in order to configure grant transmission (NPL2; [5. Configured grant transmission within gNB-acquired COT]).
Regarding claim 19 Jung teaches, The method of claim1
Jung fails to explicitly teach, wherein the determination is of whether all configured transmissions are allowed to be transmitted or are received
NPL2 further teaches, wherein the determination is of whether all configured transmissions are allowed to be transmitted or are received (NPL2; [Proposal 15] COT sharing is that DL broadcast signalling and scheduled DL data to the UE that initiated the COT could be also considered within a COT acquired by a UE. Such operation can improve the efficiency of channel usage in NR-U and also complies with regulatory requirements).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Jung to include the above recited limitations as taught by NPL2 in order to configure grant transmission (NPL2; [5. Configured grant transmission within gNB-acquired COT]).
Regarding claim 20 Jung teaches, The method of
Jung fails to explicitly teach, wherein the determination is of whether a particular subset of configured transmissions is allowed to be transmitted or are received
NPL2 further teaches, wherein the determination is of whether a particular subset of configured transmissions is allowed to be transmitted or are received (NPL2; [9. LBT and COT Sharing] 2. The UE could also use Cat.4 LBT to acquire its own COT to perform AUL transmission. Furthermore, this COT is allowed to be shared with the eNB for sending DL control signaling, including AUL-DFI or UL grant, to the UE which acquired the COT within remaining COT. The duration of the DL transmission is limited to up to 2 symbols.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Jung to include the above recited limitations as taught by NPL2 in order to configure grant transmission (NPL2; [5. Configured grant transmission within gNB-acquired COT]).
Regarding claim 21 Jung teaches, The method of
Jung fails to explicitly teach, wherein the determination is of whether one or more particular types of configured transmissions are allowed to be transmitted or are received.
NPL2 further teaches, wherein the determination is of whether one or more particular types of configured transmissions are allowed to be transmitted or are received (NPL2; [9 LBT and COT Sharing] LTE operation in unlicensed spectrum”, both Type 1 and Type 2 UL channel access are supported for AUL transmission).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Jung to include the above recited limitations as taught by NPL2 in order to configure grant transmission (NPL2; [5. Configured grant transmission within gNB-acquired COT]).
Regarding claim 22 Jung teaches, The method of
Jung fails to explicitly teach, wherein a configuration of the parameter comprises a configuration of one or more specific time periods when the parameter is or is not applicable
NPL2 further teaches, wherein a configuration of the parameter comprises a configuration of one or more specific time periods when the parameter is or is not applicable (NPL2; [4 Flexible starting points] When defining details of transmission starting positions for NR-U configured grant, one aspect that needs to be considered is the support of multiple numerologies in NR. The symbol durations for 30 kHz SCS and 60 kHz SCS are roughly 36 us and 18 us, respectively. Given that different starting positions should be at least 9 us apart).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Jung to include the above recited limitations as taught by NPL2 in order to configure grant transmission (NPL2; [5. Configured grant transmission within gNB-acquired COT]).
Claims 18, is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung -NPL2 in view of Li et al. (Li hereafter) (US 20220131725 A1).
Regarding claim 18 Jung -NPL2 teaches, The method of claim 17
Jung -NPL2 fails to explicitly teach, wherein the determination of whether configured uplink transmissions are allowed within the particular COT duration overrides the determination of whether the one or more configured uplink transmissions are allowed to be transmitted or are received based on whether the parameter is configured
However, in the same field of endeavor Li teaches, wherein the determination of whether configured uplink transmissions are allowed within the particular COT duration overrides the determination of whether the one or more configured uplink transmissions are allowed to be transmitted or are received based on whether the parameter is configured (Li; [0038] ...4 types of symbols exists within a period from the start of a COT to the end of the COT. That is, DL symbol for DL transmission, UL symbol for UL transmission, flexible symbol, which can be overridden as DL or UL, and a symbol, which is to create a gap).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Jung-NPL2 to include the above recited limitations as taught by Li in order to create a gap to account for the last type of symbols, (Li; [0038]).
Conclusion
/W. T/ Examiner, Art Unit 2416
/NOEL R BEHARRY/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2416