Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 30, 51-68 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chung et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2012/0002635 A1) in view of Lin et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2020/0396684 A1)
1, Chung teaches an apparatus comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory storing instructions; wherein the instructions when executed by the at least one processor [par 0089,0090, The embodiments according to the present invention can be implemented by various means, for example, hardware, firmware, software, or combinations thereof. In case of hardware configuration, the embodiments of the present invention may be implemented by one or more Application Specific Integrated Circuits (ASICs), Digital Signal Processors (DSPs), Digital Signal Processing Devices (DSPDs), Programmable Logic Devices (PLDs), Field Programmable Gate Arrays (FPGAs), processors, controllers, microcontrollers, microprocessors, etc]
cause the apparatus at least to: generate a configuration comprising an indication that control channel monitoring skipping on multiple radio frequency resources is allowed [par 0052, For example, if multiple DL CCs are needed to support high data rate, an indicator indicating that monitoring for additional DL CCs should be started may be transmitted by the L1/L2 control signaling. Meanwhile, if a less number of DL CCs than an allocated number of CCs needs to be monitored, an indicator indicating that monitoring for some DL CCs should be stopped may be transmitted through the L1/l2 control signaling],
and an indication indicating a time period during which the control channel monitoring skipping is allowed on the multiple radio frequency resources [claim 17, The method of claim 15, further comprising: skipping PDCCH monitoring on the one or more activated frequency resources during the DRX time of every DRX cycle];
and the indication indicating the time period during which control channel monitoring skipping is allowed on the multiple radio frequency resources[claim 17, The method of claim 15, further comprising: skipping PDCCH monitoring on the one or more activated frequency resources during the DRX time of every DRX cycle]; ;
Chung fail to show provide, to a terminal via higher laver signaling the configuration comprising the indication that the control channel monitoring skipping on the multiple radio frequency resources is allowed, generate a command for performing triggering control channel monitoring skipping on the multiple radio frequency resources to terminal, and provide the terminal via lower layer signaling, the command
In an analogous art Lin provide, to a terminal via higher laver signaling the configuration comprising the indication that the control channel monitoring skipping on the multiple radio frequency resources is allowed [par 0205, Higher layer signaling provided to the UE can dictate whether or not a UE can transmit a positive SR in next DRX ON durations when the UE receives an indication for skipping PDCCH monitoring in next DRX ON duration(s) or whether or not a positive SR can override an indication for skipping PDCCH monitoring],
generate a command for performing triggering control channel monitoring skipping on the multiple radio frequency resources to terminal [par 0205, In another example, the configuration of PUCCH resource for SR transmission can include an indication for whether or not UE can still transmit a positive SR in next DRX ON duration(s) when the UE receives an indication for skipping PDCCH monitoring in the DRX ON duration(s). The examiner interprets the configuration as the command which indicates skipping PDCCH monitoring],
and provide the terminal via lower layer signaling, the command [par 0220, the physical layer signal/channel that provides the indication for skipping PDCCH monitoring in a next one or more DRX ON duration(s) can indicate whether or not an indication for skipping PDCCH monitoring in next one or more DRX ON duration(s)]
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Chung and Lin because this provides managing UE operation for various transmission and reception scenarios during a DRX ON duration after receiving an indication by a power saving signal/channel to operate in a power saving mode. [Lin par 0046]
30, Chung discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one memory is storing instructions that when executed, by the at least one processor[par 0089,0090, The embodiments according to the present invention can be implemented by various means, for example, hardware, firmware, software, or combinations thereof. In case of hardware configuration, the embodiments of the present invention may be implemented by one or more Application Specific Integrated Circuits (ASICs), Digital Signal Processors (DSPs), Digital Signal Processing Devices (DSPDs), Programmable Logic Devices (PLDs), Field Programmable Gate Arrays (FPGAs), processors, controllers, microcontrollers, microprocessors, etc],
cause the apparatus at least to: generate a configuration comprising an
indication that control channel monitoring skipping on a group of multiple radio frequency resources is allowed [par 0052, For example, if multiple DL CCs are needed to support high data rate, an indicator indicating that monitoring for additional DL CCs should be started may be transmitted by the L1/L2 control signaling. Meanwhile, if a less number of DL CCs than an allocated number of CCs needs to be monitored, an indicator indicating that monitoring for some DL CCs should be stopped may be transmitted through the L1/l2 control signaling],and
and the indication indicating the time period during which control channel monitoring skipping is allowed on the multiple radio frequency resources [claim 17, The method of claim 15, further comprising: skipping PDCCH monitoring on the one or more activated frequency resources during the DRX time of every DRX cycle];
Chung provide to the terminal via higher layer signaling the configuration comprising the indication that the control channel monitoring skipping on the group of multiple radio frequency resources is allowed, generate a command for triggering control channel monitoring skipping on the group of multiple radio frequency resources; and provide. to the terminal via lower layer signaling, the command for triggering control channel monitoring skipping on the group of multiple radio frequency resources.
In an analogous art Lin provide to the terminal via higher layer signaling the configuration comprising the indication that the control channel monitoring skipping on the group of multiple radio frequency resources is allowed [par 0205, Higher layer signaling provided to the UE can dictate whether or not a UE can transmit a positive SR in next DRX ON durations when the UE receives an indication for skipping PDCCH monitoring in next DRX ON duration(s) or whether or not a positive SR can override an indication for skipping PDCCH monitoring],
generate a command for triggering control channel monitoring skipping on the group of multiple radio frequency resources[par 0205, In another example, the configuration of PUCCH resource for SR transmission can include an indication for whether or not UE can still transmit a positive SR in next DRX ON duration(s) when the UE receives an indication for skipping PDCCH monitoring in the DRX ON duration(s). The examiner interprets the configuration as the command which indicates skipping PDCCH monitoring];
and provide. to the terminal via lower layer signaling, the command for triggering control channel monitoring skipping on the group of multiple radio frequency resources [par 0220, the physical layer signal/channel that provides the indication for skipping PDCCH monitoring in a next one or more DRX ON duration(s) can indicate whether or not an indication for skipping PDCCH monitoring in next one or more DRX ON duration(s)]
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Chung and Lin because this provides managing UE operation for various transmission and reception scenarios during a DRX ON duration after receiving an indication by a power saving signal/channel to operate in a power saving mode. [Lin par 0046]
51, Chung and Lin discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the control channel is a physical downlink control channel [par 0008, The state change information may be received through a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) of the second component carrier].
52, Chung and Lin demonstrate the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the multiple radio frequency resources comprises at least one of multiple frequency carriers, multiple component carriers, multiple frequency bands, multiple frequency bands, multiple cells, multiple serving cells or multiple radio access technologies [Chung, claim 18, the one or more non-primary frequency resources include one or more non-primary component carriers].
53, Chung and Lin conveys the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the multiple radio frequency resources comprises some of a set of radio frequency resources and wherein the configuration for performing control channel monitoring skipping on the multiple radio frequency resources comprises an indication indicating some of the set of radio frequency resources [Chung, par 0045, claim 17, In other words, even if a system band is comprised of N CCs, a frequency band which can be used by a specific UE may be limited to M (<N) CCs. The asymmetric carrier aggregation may be generated due to UE capabilities or limitation of available frequency bands or may be intentionally generated by network configuration. Skipping PDCCH monitoring on the one or more activated frequency resources during the DRX time of every DRX cycle].
54, Chung and Lin create the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the multiple radio frequency resources comprises all of a set of radio frequency resources [claim 15, A method of performing power management at a user equipment configured with a primary frequency resource and one or more non-primary frequency resources in a wireless communication system],
and wherein the configuration for performing control channel monitoring skipping on the multiple radio frequency resources comprises an indication indicating all of the set of radio frequency resources[claim 17, The method of claim 15, further comprising: skipping PDCCH monitoring on the one or more activated frequency resources during the DRX time of every DRX cycle];
55, Chung demonstrates an apparatus comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory storing instructions that when executed, by the at least one processor[par 0089,0090, The embodiments according to the present invention can be implemented by various means, for example, hardware, firmware, software, or combinations thereof. In case of hardware configuration, the embodiments of the present invention may be implemented by one or more Application Specific Integrated Circuits (ASICs), Digital Signal Processors (DSPs), Digital Signal Processing Devices (DSPDs), Programmable Logic Devices (PLDs), Field Programmable Gate Arrays (FPGAs), processors, controllers, microcontrollers, microprocessors, etc],
and an indication indicating a time period during which the control channel monitoring skipping is allowed on the multiple radio frequency resources [par 0052, For example, if multiple DL CCs are needed to support high data rate, an indicator indicating that monitoring for additional DL CCs should be started may be transmitted by the L1/L2 control signaling. Meanwhile, if a less number of DL CCs than an allocated number of CCs needs to be monitored, an indicator indicating that monitoring for some DL CCs should be stopped may be transmitted through the L1/l2 control signaling. The method of claim 15, further comprising: skipping PDCCH monitoring on the one or more activated frequency resources during the DRX time of every DRX cycle],
Chung fail to show cause the apparatus at least to: receive, from a base station via higher layer signaling, a configuration comprising an indication that control channel monitoring skipping on multiple radio frequency resources is allowed
receive, from the base station via lower layer signaling, a command triggering control channel monitoring skipping on the multiple radio frequency resources; and use the configuration and the command for performing control channel monitoring skipping on the multiple radio frequency resources.
In an analogous Lin show cause the apparatus at least to: receive, from a base station via higher layer signaling, a configuration comprising an indication that control channel monitoring skipping on multiple radio frequency resources is allowed
receive [par 0202,0205, Alternatively, a serving gNB can indicate to the UE to monitor PDCCH for DRX ON duration(s) in a next monitoring occasion of a PDCCH providing the indication. The UE can also by default monitor PDCCH at next DRX ON duration(s) and can skip reception of a power saving/signal channel providing an indication for whether or not the UE monitors PDCCH at the next DRX ON duration(s). Higher layer signaling provided to the UE can dictate whether or not a UE can transmit a positive SR in next DRX ON durations when the UE receives an indication for skipping PDCCH monitoring in next DRX ON duration(s) or whether or not a positive SR can override an indication for skipping PDCCH monitoring],
from the base station via lower layer signaling, a command triggering control channel monitoring skipping on the multiple radio frequency resources [par 0205, 0220 In another example, the configuration of PUCCH resource for SR transmission can include an indication for whether or not UE can still transmit a positive SR in next DRX ON duration(s) when the UE receives an indication for skipping PDCCH monitoring in the DRX ON duration(s). The examiner interprets the configuration as the command which indicates skipping PDCCH monitoring. The physical layer signal/channel that provides the indication for skipping PDCCH monitoring in a next one or more DRX ON duration(s) can indicate whether or not an indication for skipping PDCCH monitoring in next one or more DRX ON duration(s)]]
and use the configuration and the command for performing control channel monitoring skipping on the multiple radio frequency resources[par 0220, the physical layer signal/channel that provides the indication for skipping PDCCH monitoring in a next one or more DRX ON duration(s) can indicate whether or not an indication for skipping PDCCH monitoring in next one or more DRX ON duration(s)]
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Chung and Lin because this provides managing UE operation for various transmission and reception scenarios during a DRX ON duration after receiving an indication by a power saving signal/channel to operate in a power saving mode. [Lin par 0046]
.
56, Chung and Lin defines the apparatus of claim 55, Chung fail to show wherein the at least one memory is storing instructions that when executed, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to: receive, from the base station via higher layer signaling, a configuration comprising an indication that control channel monitoring skipping on a group of multiple radio frequency resources is allowed; receive, from the base station via lower layer signaling, a command triggering control channel monitoring skipping on the group of multiple radio frequency resources; and use the configuration and the command for performing control channel monitoring skipping on the group of multiple radio frequency resources.
In an analogous art Lin show wherein the at least one memory is storing instructions that when executed, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to: receive, from the base station via higher layer signaling, a configuration comprising an indication that control channel monitoring skipping on a group of multiple radio frequency resources is allowed[par 0205, Higher layer signaling provided to the UE can dictate whether or not a UE can transmit a positive SR in next DRX ON durations when the UE receives an indication for skipping PDCCH monitoring in next DRX ON duration(s) or whether or not a positive SR can override an indication for skipping PDCCH monitoring],
receive, from the base station via lower layer signaling, a command triggering control channel monitoring skipping on the group of multiple radio frequency resources par 0205, 0220 In another example, the configuration of PUCCH resource for SR transmission can include an indication for whether or not UE can still transmit a positive SR in next DRX ON duration(s) when the UE receives an indication for skipping PDCCH monitoring in the DRX ON duration(s). The examiner interprets the configuration as the command which indicates skipping PDCCH monitoring. The physical layer signal/channel that provides the indication for skipping PDCCH monitoring in a next one or more DRX ON duration(s) can indicate whether or not an indication for skipping PDCCH monitoring in next one or more DRX ON duration(s)]];
and use the configuration and the command for performing control channel monitoring skipping on the group of multiple radio frequency resources[par 0205, In another example, the configuration of PUCCH resource for SR transmission can include an indication for whether or not UE can still transmit a positive SR in next DRX ON duration(s) when the UE receives an indication for skipping PDCCH monitoring in the DRX ON duration(s). The examiner interprets the configuration as the command which indicates skipping PDCCH monitoring];.
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Chung and Lin because this provides managing UE operation for various transmission and reception scenarios during a DRX ON duration after receiving an indication by a power saving signal/channel to operate in a power saving mode. [Lin par 0046]
57, Chung and Lin reveal the apparatus of claim 55, wherein the control channel is a physical downlink control channel [Chung, par 0008, The state change information may be received through a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) of the second component carrier].
58, Chung and Lin create the apparatus of claim 55, wherein the multiple radio frequency resources comprises at least one of multiple frequency carriers, multiple component carriers, multiple frequency bands, multiple frequency bands, multiple cells, multiple serving cells or multiple radio access technologies[Chung, claim 18, the one or more non-primary frequency resources include one or more non-primary component carriers].
59, Chung and Lin conveys the apparatus of claim 55, wherein the multiple radio frequency resources comprises some of a set of radio frequency resources and wherein the configuration for performing control channel monitoring skipping on the multiple radio frequency resources comprises an indication indicating some the set of radio frequency resources [Chung, par 0045, claim 17, In other words, even if a system band is comprised of N CCs, a frequency band which can be used by a specific UE may be limited to M (<N) CCs. The asymmetric carrier aggregation may be generated due to UE capabilities or limitation of available frequency bands or may be intentionally generated by network configuration. Skipping PDCCH monitoring on the one or more activated frequency resources during the DRX time of every DRX cycle].
60, Chung and Lin display the apparatus of claim 55, wherein the multiple radio frequency resources comprises all of a set of radio frequency resources [claim 15, A method of performing power management at a user equipment configured with a primary frequency resource and one or more non-primary frequency resources in a wireless communication system],
and wherein the configuration for performing control channel monitoring skipping on the multiple radio frequency resources comprises an indication indicating all of the set of radio frequency resources[claim 17, The method of claim 15, further comprising: skipping PDCCH monitoring on the one or more activated frequency resources during the DRX time of every DRX cycle];
.
61, Chung and Lin define the apparatus of claim 55, Chung fail to show wherein the configuration is received prior to the receipt of the command.
In an analogous art Lin show wherein the configuration is received prior to the receipt of the command In an analogous art Lin show wherein the configuration is received prior to the receipt of the command[par 0205, 0206, Method 2: Higher layer signaling provided to the UE can dictate whether or not a UE can transmit a positive SR in next DRX ON durations when the UE receives an indication for skipping PDCCH monitoring in next DRX ON duration(s) or whether or not a positive SR can override an indication for skipping PDCCH monitoring. Method 3: The physical layer signal/channel to indicate the UE to skip PDCCH monitoring in next DRX ON duration(s) can also include an indication for whether or not UE can still transmit a positive SR. According to applicant specification the configuration can be received on higher layer signaling and the command can be sent on the lower level]
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Chung and Lin because this provides managing UE operation for various transmission and reception scenarios during a DRX ON duration after receiving an indication by a power saving signal/channel to operate in a power saving mode. [Lin par 0046]
62, Chung teaches a non-transitory computer readable medium comprising computer executable instructions which, when run on one or more processors[par 0089,0090, The embodiments according to the present invention can be implemented by various means, for example, hardware, firmware, software, or combinations thereof. In case of hardware configuration, the embodiments of the present invention may be implemented by one or more Application Specific Integrated Circuits (ASICs), Digital Signal Processors (DSPs), Digital Signal Processing Devices (DSPDs), Programmable Logic Devices (PLDs), Field Programmable Gate Arrays (FPGAs), processors, controllers, microcontrollers, microprocessors, etc],
and using the configuration and the command for performing control channel monitoring skipping on the multiple radio frequency resources[claim 17, The method of claim 15, further comprising: skipping PDCCH monitoring on the one or more activated frequency resources during the DRX time of every DRX cycle];
Chung fail to show perform at least: receiving, from a base station via higher layer signaling, a configuration comprising an indication that control channel monitoring skipping on multiple radio frequency resources is allowed and an indication indicating a time period during which the control channel monitoring skipping is allowed on the multiple radio frequency resources; receiving, from the base station via lower layer signaling, a command triggering control channel monitoring skipping on the multiple radio frequency resources;
In an analogous art Lin show perform at least: receiving, from a base station via higher layer signaling, a configuration comprising an indication that control channel monitoring skipping on multiple radio frequency resources is allowed, and an indication indicating a time period during which the control channel monitoring skipping is allowed on the multiple radio frequency resources [par 0205, Higher layer signaling provided to the UE can dictate whether or not a UE can transmit a positive SR in next DRX ON durations when the UE receives an indication for skipping PDCCH monitoring in next DRX ON duration(s) or whether or not a positive SR can override an indication for skipping PDCCH monitoring],
receiving, from the base station via lower layer signaling, a command triggering control channel monitoring skipping on the multiple radio frequency resources[par 0220, the physical layer signal/channel that provides the indication for skipping PDCCH monitoring in a next one or more DRX ON duration(s) can indicate whether or not an indication for skipping PDCCH monitoring in next one or more DRX ON duration(s)]
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Chung and Lin because this provides managing UE operation for various transmission and reception scenarios during a DRX ON duration after receiving an indication by a power saving signal/channel to operate in a power saving mode. [Lin par 0046]
63, Chujng and Lin provide the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 62, Chung fail to show wherein the computer executable instructions which, when run on the one or more processors, perform at least: receiving, from the base station via higher layer signaling, a configuration comprising an indication that control channel monitoring skipping on a group of multiple radio frequency resources is allowed; receiving, from the base station via lower layer signaling, a command triggering control channel monitoring skipping on the group of multiple radio frequency resources; and using the configuration and the command for performing control channel monitoring skipping on the group of multiple radio frequency resources.
In an analogous art Lin show wherein the computer executable instructions which, when run on the one or more processors, perform at least: receiving, from the base station via higher layer signaling, a configuration comprising an indication that control channel monitoring skipping on a group of multiple radio frequency resources is allowed[par 0202,0205, Alternatively, a serving gNB can indicate to the UE to monitor PDCCH for DRX ON duration(s) in a next monitoring occasion of a PDCCH providing the indication. The UE can also by default monitor PDCCH at next DRX ON duration(s) and can skip reception of a power saving/signal channel providing an indication for whether or not the UE monitors PDCCH at the next DRX ON duration(s). Higher layer signaling provided to the UE can dictate whether or not a UE can transmit a positive SR in next DRX ON durations when the UE receives an indication for skipping PDCCH monitoring in next DRX ON duration(s) or whether or not a positive SR can override an indication for skipping PDCCH monitoring],
receiving, from the base station via lower layer signaling, a command triggering control channel monitoring skipping on the group of multiple radio frequency resources; and using the configuration and the command for performing control channel monitoring skipping on the group of multiple radio frequency resources par 0205, 0220 In another example, the configuration of PUCCH resource for SR transmission can include an indication for whether or not UE can still transmit a positive SR in next DRX ON duration(s) when the UE receives an indication for skipping PDCCH monitoring in the DRX ON duration(s). The examiner interprets the configuration as the command which indicates skipping PDCCH monitoring. The physical layer signal/channel that provides the indication for skipping PDCCH monitoring in a next one or more DRX ON duration(s) can indicate whether or not an indication for skipping PDCCH monitoring in next one or more DRX ON duration(s)]];
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Chung and Lin because this provides managing UE operation for various transmission and reception scenarios during a DRX ON duration after receiving an indication by a power saving signal/channel to operate in a power saving mode. [Lin par 0046]
64, Chung and Lin provide the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 62, wherein the control channel is a physical downlink control channel[par 0008, The state change information may be received through a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) of the second component carrier].
65, Chung and Lin demonstrate the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 62, wherein the multiple radio frequency resources comprises at least one of multiple frequency carriers, multiple component carriers, multiple frequency bands, multiple frequency bands, multiple cells, multiple serving cells or multiple radio access technologies Chung, claim 18, the one or more non-primary frequency resources include one or more non-primary component carriers].
.
66, Chung and Lin reveal the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 62, wherein the multiple radio frequency resources comprises some of a set of radio frequency resources and wherein the configuration for performing control channel monitoring skipping on the multiple radio frequency resources comprises an indication indicating some the set of radio frequency resources [Chung, par 0045, claim 17, In other words, even if a system band is comprised of N CCs, a frequency band which can be used by a specific UE may be limited to M (<N) CCs. The asymmetric carrier aggregation may be generated due to UE capabilities or limitation of available frequency bands or may be intentionally generated by network configuration. Skipping PDCCH monitoring on the one or more activated frequency resources during the DRX time of every DRX cycle].
67, Chung and Lin create the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 62, wherein the multiple radio frequency resources comprises all of a set of radio frequency resources [claim 15, A method of performing power management at a user equipment configured with a primary frequency resource and one or more non-primary frequency resources in a wireless communication system],
and wherein the configuration for performing control channel monitoring skipping on the multiple radio frequency resources comprises an indication indicating all of the set of radio frequency resources[claim 17, The method of claim 15, further comprising: skipping PDCCH monitoring on the one or more activated frequency resources during the DRX time of every DRX cycle];
.
68, Chung and Lin convey the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 62, Chung fail to show wherein the configuration is received prior to the receipt of the command.
In an analogous art Lin show wherein the configuration is received prior to the receipt of the command[par 0205, 0206, Method 2: Higher layer signaling provided to the UE can dictate whether or not a UE can transmit a positive SR in next DRX ON durations when the UE receives an indication for skipping PDCCH monitoring in next DRX ON duration(s) or whether or not a positive SR can override an indication for skipping PDCCH monitoring. Method 3: The physical layer signal/channel to indicate the UE to skip PDCCH monitoring in next DRX ON duration(s) can also include an indication for whether or not UE can still transmit a positive SR. According to applicant specification the configuration can be received on higher layer signaling and the command can be sent on the lower level]
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Chung and Lin because this provides managing UE operation for various transmission and reception scenarios during a DRX ON duration after receiving an indication by a power saving signal/channel to operate in a power saving mode. [Lin par 0046]
Response to Arguments
The claims are objected to because claim 31 is not listed. Applicant respectfully disagrees. All pending claims except claims 1 and 30 are cancelled and new claims are added so the claims as presented herein are numbered consecutively with no missing claim 31.
The examiner agrees.
Application No. 62/908,429 filed on September 30, 2019 (the "429 Application"). The '550, '204, and '429 Applications are referred to collectively herein as the "Lin provisionals." Only those portions of Lin that are supported by at least one of the Lin provisionals can possibly qualify as prior art to the present application. For ease of discussion, Applicants refer to Lin but does not necessarily concede that all of Lin qualifies as prior art under any section of 35 U.S.C. § 102 to the present application.
The examiner’s response the each of the Provisionals predate the applicant’s effective filing date, therefore the examiner Provisionals as a collective supports Lin’s publication.
Applicants thus respectfully submit that, for similar reasons, Kuang and Lin fail to disclose or suggest that "instructions when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to: generate a configuration comprising an indication that control channel monitoring skipping on multiple radio frequency resources is allowed," as recited in independent claim 1 as presented herein.
The Office Action alleges with respect to now-cancelled claim 38 that "Kaung and Lin fail to show wherein the command for performing control channel monitoring skipping on the multiple radio frequency resources comprises an indication triggering control channel monitoring skipping on the multiple radio frequency resources." Id. at p. 25. Applicants thus respectfully submit that, for similar reasons, Kuang and Lin fail to disclose or suggest that "instructions when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to: generate a command for triggering control channel monitoring skipping on the multiple radio frequency resources," as recited in independent claim 1 as presented herein. For at least these reasons the Examiner is respectfully requested to remove the rejection of claim 1 using Kuang and Lin and allow claim 1.
The examiner respectfully disagrees the applicant’s arguments are moot in view of newly rejected claims.
Additionally, Applicants respectfully submit that Kumar, Lin, Mahajan, Patil, and Huang fail to disclose or suggest all features of claim 1. For example, none of the Kumar, Lin, Mahajan, Patil, and Huang, alone or in any combination, disclose or suggest "instructions when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to: generate a configuration" and "generate a command" as recited in claim 1, much less to also provide the configuration via higher layer signaling and provide the command via lower layer signaling.
The examiner respectfully disagrees in Lin par 0202 and 0205, disclose Alternatively, a serving gNB can indicate to the UE to monitor PDCCH for DRX ON duration(s) in a next monitoring occasion of a PDCCH providing the indication. The UE can also by default monitor PDCCH at next DRX ON duration(s) and can skip reception of a power saving/signal channel providing an indication for whether or not the UE monitors PDCCH at the next DRX ON duration(s).
Method 2: Higher layer signaling provided to the UE can dictate whether or not a UE can transmit a positive SR in next DRX ON durations when the UE receives an indication for skipping PDCCH monitoring in next DRX ON duration(s) or whether or not a positive SR can override an indication for skipping PDCCH monitoring. The paragraphs disclose a terminal receiving higher layer signaling from a base station for monitoring indication. Paragraph 0206 of Lin disclose receiving signaling for the physical layer to indicate the UE to skip PDCCH monitoring in next DRX ON duration(s)
Claim 1 as previously presented recited that "the instructions when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to: generate at least one of a configuration or a command" (emphasis added). In addition, for similar reasons as stated above with regards to claim 1, none of the references cited disclose or suggest independent claims 55 and 62. Thus, the Examiner is requested to allow claims 55 and 62.
The examiner response the applicant argument is moot in view of newly rejected claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JASON A HARLEY/Examiner, Art Unit 2468
/MARCUS SMITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2468