DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) submitted on 06/03/2025, 07/23/2025, and 10/14/2025 are in compliance with provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure is being considered by the Examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments (see Remarks, pages 5-9) filed on 09/03/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Claim 1. The Applicant argues (see Remarks, page 7) that ENGLAND does not teach the feature, “stacked layers of a semiconductor bonded to a backplane” of claim 1. The Applicant further argues that no portion of ENGLAND’s description describes a “backplane”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees with the arguments. The Examiner refers to the specification, paragraph [0027] of the instant application: “the backplane substrate may be a substrate”. “The backplane substrate may also have active electronic components…” Based on the above definition of “the backplane” and with an underlined word like “may be” and “may also”, the Examiner maintains the rejection of claim 1 limitation, specifically equating the “substrate", 22 as a “backplane”, having TSVs, 24 and a pad, 26, as electronic components on the substrate that can be in direct electrical communication with pGaN that defines the sub-pixels, 14a, 14b [0024].
The Applicant argues (see Remarks, page 7), that no part of ENGLAND’s description describes pads solely connected to sub pixels nor pads defining sub pixels. The Examiner respectfully disagrees and further reiterates that claim 1 limitation does not explicitly disclose or suggest what defines the sub-pixels and therefore, with the broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI), the prior art, ENGLAND teaches the claim 1 features, “stacked layers of a semiconductor bonded to a backplane; pads in a backplane defining sub pixels…array of pixels; and the stacked layers…backplane defining sub pixels”.
Regarding Claims 2-40. The claims 2–40 depend on an independent claim 1, and therefore, the Examiner maintains the rejection of the record based on the reasons similar to claim 1 mentioned above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 13, 22-23, 25-26, 33, and 38-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Luke England et al, (hereinafter ENGLAND), US 20180269191 A1.
Regarding Claim 1, ENGLAND teaches a microdevice array (Figs. 2/5, 20, micro-LED display assemblies) having a microdevice (Figs. 2/5, 20, micro-LED display assemblies) comprising:
stacked layers of a semiconductor (Figs. 2/3, 100a-100f, plurality of layers, [0025]) bonded to a backplane (Fig. 2, 22, substrate);
pads (Fig. 2, 26a, pads) in the backplane defining sub pixels (Fig. 2, 14a/14b), with multiple sub pixels for a pixel in an array of pixels (Fig. 1, 10a/10b, pixels, [0023]); and
the stacked layers bonded to the pads in the backplane defining sub pixels.
Regarding Claim 2, ENGLAND teaches the microdevice array (Figs. 2/5, 20, micro-LED display assemblies) of claim 1, where there are more than one set of stacked layers (Figs. 2/3, 100a-100f) associated with the pads (Fig. 2, 26a, pads) in the backplane (Fig. 2, 22, substrate) defining sub pixels (Fig. 2, 14a/14b).
Regarding Claim 3, ENGLAND teaches the microdevice array (Figs. 2/5, 20, micro-LED display assemblies) of claim 1, wherein one or more of top layers in the stacked layers (Figs. 2/3, 100a-100f, plurality of layers, [0025]) are etched (etching the films, [0018]).
Regarding Claim 4, ENGLAND teaches the microdevice array (Figs. 2/5, 20, micro-LED display assemblies) of claim 1, wherein the stacked layers (Figs. 2/3, 100a-100f, plurality of layers, [0025]) have VIA's (Figs. 2/3, 24, TSVs) before bonding to the backplane (Fig. 3, 22, substrate).
Regarding Claim 5, ENGLAND teaches the microdevice array (Figs. 2/5, 20, micro-LED display assemblies) of claim 4, wherein the VIA's (Figs. 2/3, 24, TSVs) are at least partially filled with a conductive layer separated from walls of the VIA's with a dielectric ([0026]).
Regarding Claim 6, ENGLAND teaches the microdevice array (Figs. 2/5, 20, micro-LED display assemblies) of claim 4, wherein the VIA's (Figs. 2/3, 24, TSVs) couple a pad (Figs. 2, 26/26a, metal pad/pads) from the backplane (Fig. 2, 22, substrate) to the top of the stack layer (Fig2. 2/3, 100a-100f, plurality of layers, [0025]).
Regarding Claim 13, ENGLAND teaches the microdevice array (Figs. 2/5, 20, micro-LED display assemblies), of claim 1, wherein the stacked layers (Figs. 2/3, 100a-100f, plurality of layers, [0025]) are red epitaxial light emitting layers (Table 1, [0021-0023]).
Regarding Claim 22, ENGLAND teaches the microdevice array (Figs. 2/5, 20, micro-LED display assemblies), of claim 1, wherein the microdevice array is a part of more than one microdevice array (Fig. 5, 20, micro-LED assemblies).
Regarding Claim 23, ENGLAND teaches the microdevice array (Figs. 2/5, 20, micro-LED display assemblies), of claim 22, wherein the stacked layers (Figs. 2/3, 100a-100f, plurality of layers, [0025]) are red, green or blue epitaxial light emitting layers (Table 1, [0021-0023]).
Regarding Claim 25, ENGLAND teaches the microdevice array (Figs. 2/5, 20, micro-LED display assemblies), of claim 22, wherein a second stacked layer (Figs. 2/3, 100a-100f, plurality of layers, [0025]) is bonded to the backplane (Figs. 2/3, 22, substrate) on top of a first stacked layer where the pads (Figs. 26/26a, metal pad/pads) in the backplane define the sub pixels (Figs. 2/3, 14a/14b).
Regarding Claim 26, ENGLAND teaches the microdevice array (Figs. 2/5, 20, micro-LED display assemblies) of claim 25, wherein one or more of top layers (Figs. 2/3, 100a-100f, plurality of layers, [0025]) in the second stacked layers (Figs. 2/3, 100a-100f, plurality of layers, [0025]) are etched (etching the films, [0018]).
Regarding Claim 33, ENGLAND teaches the microdevice array (Figs. 2/5, 20, micro-LED display assemblies) of claim 22, wherein the third stacked layer (Figs. 2/3, 100a-100f, plurality of layers, [0025]) is bonded to the backplane (Fig. 2, 22, substrate) on top of the second stacked layer (Figs. 2/3, 100a-100f, plurality of layers, [0025]) where the pads (Figs. 2, 26/26a, metal pad/pads) in the backplane (Fig. 3, 22, substrate) define the sub pixels (Figs. 2/3, 14a/14b).
Regarding Claim 38, ENGLAND teaches the microdevice array (Figs. 2/5, 20, micro-LED display assemblies) of claim 33, wherein the microdevices (Figs. 2/5, 20, micro-LED display assemblies) in the second and third stacked layer (Figs. 2/3, 100a-100f, plurality of layers, [0025]) are bonded to the backplane (Fig. 3, 22, substrate) prior to the bonding of the first stacked layers (Figs. 2/3, 100a-100f, plurality of layers, [0025]).
Regarding Claim 39, ENGLAND teaches the microdevice array (Figs. 2/5, 20, micro-LED display assemblies) of claim 33, wherein there is a conductive layer on top (Fig. 2, 30, conductive terminal for each pixel, [0024]) of the microdevices (Figs. 2/5, 20, micro-LED display assemblies) of the second and third stacked layers or the first stacked layer (Figs. 2/3, 100a-100f, plurality of layers, [0025]).
Regarding Claim 40, ENGLAND teaches the microdevice array (Figs. 2/5, 20, micro-LED display assemblies) of claim 33, wherein there are more than one pads (Figs. 26/26a, metal pad/pads), or more than two VIAs (Figs. 2/3, 24/50, TSVs) for each microdevice array (Figs. 2/5, 20, micro-LED display assemblies).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-12 and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ENGLAND, in view of Hsin-Chieh Huang, (hereinafter HUANG), US 20110198609 A1.
Regarding Claim 7, ENGLAND teaches the microdevice array (Figs. 2/5, 20, micro-LED display assemblies) of claim 1, wherein electrical VIA's (Figs. 2/3, 24, TSVs) are formed in the stacked layers (Figs. 2/3, 100a-100f, plurality of layers, [0025]) after the stacked layers are bonded (ILED wafer formation, [0026]) into the backplane (Fig. 3, 22, substrate).
Though ENGLAND teaches the TSVs formation by backside grinding process followed by a deep Si etch [0026], ENGLAND does not explicitly disclose the microdevice array, wherein electrical VIA's are formed in the stacked layers after the stacked layers are bonded into the backplane.
HUANG teaches the microdevice array (Figs. 2A/2B, LED, [0010]), wherein electrical VIA's (Figs. 2A/2B, 34/38, TSV openings) are formed (Figs. 2-7, formation of TSV opening, [0014-0015]) in the stacked layers (Figs. 2A/2B, 22, LED with layers 26, 28, 30, [0012]) after the stacked layers are bonded into the (Figs. 2A/2B, 20, substrate).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to have modified ENGLAND to incorporate the teachings of HUANG such that the microdevice array, wherein electrical VIA's are formed in the stacked layers after the stacked layers are bonded into the backplane, so that TSV opening may be formed by penetrating various LED layers and enable to create an ohmic contact (HUANG, [0014-0015]).
Regarding Claim 8, ENGLAND as modified by HUANG teaches, the microdevice array of claim 7.
ENGLAND further teaches the microdevice array (Figs. 2/5, 20, micro-LED display assemblies), wherein the VIA's (Figs. 2/3, 24, TSVs) are aligned (annotated Figure 32) with the pads (Figs. 2, 26/26a, metal pad/pads) in the other sub pixels (Fig. 2, 14a/14b) in the back plane (Fig. 3, 22, substrate).
Regarding Claim 9, ENGLAND as modified by HUANG teaches, the microdevice array of claim 8.
ENGLAND further teaches the microdevice array (Figs. 2/5, 20, micro-LED display assemblies), wherein VIA's (Figs. 2/3, 24, TSVs) have passivated sidewalls (The vias are coated with dielectric liner such as SiO2, [0026]) and the pads (Fig. 2, 26/26a, metal pad/pads) are either inside the VIA's or on the walls of the VIA's (Fig. 2, [0024, 0026]).
Regarding Claim 10, ENGLAND as modified by HUANG teaches, the microdevice array of claim 9.
ENGLAND further teaches the microdevice array (Figs. 2/5, 20, micro-LED display assemblies), wherein additional microdevices (Fig. 5, 20, micro-LED assemblies) are bonded to the pads (Fig. 2, 26/26a, metal pad/pads, [0024], [0026; exposing the pads formed on the front side of the wafer, which are in electrical contact with the pixels of the micro-LED assemblies]).
Regarding Claim 11, ENGLAND as modified by HUANG teaches, the microdevice array of claim 10.
ENGLAND further teaches the microdevice array (Figs. 2/5, 20, micro-LED display assemblies), wherein there are more than one pads (Fig. 2, 26/26a, metal pad/pads), or more than two VIAs (Fig. 4, 24/50, TSVs) for each micro device (Fig. 4, 20, micro-LED assemblies).
Regarding Claim 12, ENGLAND as modified by HUANG teaches, the microdevice array of claim 10.
ENGLAND further teaches the microdevice array (Figs. 2/5, 20, micro-LED display assemblies), wherein the micro devices (Fig. 20, micro-LED assemblies) or stacked layers (Figs. 2/3, 100a-100f, plurality of layers, [0025]) have a conductive layer on top (Fig. 2, 30, conductive terminal for each pixel, [0024]).
Regarding Claim 24, ENGLAND as modified by HUANG teaches the microdevice of claim 7.
ENGLAND further teaches the microdevice array (Figs. 2/5, 20, micro-LED display assemblies), wherein the VIA's (Figs. 2/3, 24, TSVs) are aligned with the additional microdevices (Figs. 2/5, 20, micro-LED display assemblies) in additional stacked layers (Figs. 2/3, 100a-100f, plurality of layers, [0025]) and the pads (Figs. 2, 26/26a, metal pad/pads) in the other sub pixels (Fig. 2, 14a/14b) in the backplane (Fig. 3, 22, substrate).
Claim(s) 14, 27-28 and 34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ENGLAND, in view of Christopher Bower et al, (hereinafter BOWER), US 20160351539 A1.
Regarding Claim 14, ENGLAND teaches the microdevice array (Figs. 2/5, 20, micro-LED display assemblies), of claim 4.
Though ENGLAND teaches the through-silicon vias or TSVs, ENGLAND does not explicitly disclose the microdevice array, wherein the VIA's are optical.
BOWER teaches the microdevice array (micro-LEDs, [0292]), wherein the VIA's are optical (Fig. 26, 28, optical vias, [0162-0163]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to have modified ENGLAND to incorporate the teachings of BOWER such that the microdevice array, wherein the VIA's are optical, so that through optical vias, the light is emitted from the light emitting areas of the inorganic light emitters (30); the light emitters (30) are then disposed in the optical vias, for example using micro transfer printing, and electrically connected using photolithography (BOWER, [03150, [0322]).
Regarding Claim 27, ENGLAND teaches the microdevice array (Figs. 2/5, 20, micro-LED display assemblies) of claim 25, wherein the second stacked layer (Figs. 2/3, 100a-100f, plurality of layers, [0025]) has electrical and optical VIA's (Figs. 2/3, 24, TSVs) before bonding (Fig. 6, flowchart of the fabrication processes) to the backplane (Figs. 2/3, 22, substrate).
Though ENGLAND teaches the through-silicon vias or TSVs, ENGLAND does not explicitly disclose the microdevice array, wherein the second stacked layer has electrical and optical VIA's before bonding to the backplane.
BOWER teaches the microdevice array (micro-LEDs, [0292]), wherein the second stacked layer has electrical and optical VIA's (electrical vias, [0321-0322]; Fig. 26, 28, optical vias, [0162-0163]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to have modified ENGLAND to incorporate the teachings of BOWER such that the microdevice array, wherein the second stacked layer has electrical and optical VIA's before bonding to the backplane, so that through optical vias, the light is emitted from the light emitting areas of the inorganic light emitters (30); the light emitters (30) are then disposed in the optical vias, for example using micro transfer printing, and electrically connected using photolithography. The electrical cum optical vias can be formed in the light-absorbing material (42) and the electrically insulating layer, as needed, for example to make electrical connections to the light emitter (30) (BOWER, [0315], [0321-0322]).
Regarding Claim 28, ENGLAND as modified by BOWER teaches the microdevice array of claim 27.
ENGLAND further teaches, the microdevice (Figs. 2/5, 20, micro-LED display assemblies), wherein the electrical VIA (Figs. 2/3, 24, TSVs) couple associated pads (Fig. 2, 26/26a, metal pad/pads) to a third stacked layer (Figs. 2/3, 100a-100f, plurality of layers, [0025]).
Regarding Claim 34, ENGLAND teaches the microdevice array (Figs. 2/5, 20, micro-LED display assemblies) of claim 33, wherein the third stacked layers (Figs. 2/3, 100a-100f, plurality of layers, [0025]) has optical VIA's (Figs. 2/3, 24, TSVs) before bonding (Fig. 6, flowchart of the fabrication processes) to the backplane (Figs. 2/3, 22, substrate).
Though ENGLAND teaches the through-silicon vias or TSVs, ENGLAND does not explicitly disclose the microdevice array, wherein the second stacked layer has electrical and optical VIA's before bonding to the backplane.
BOWER teaches the microdevice array (micro-LEDs, [0292]), wherein the second stacked layer has electrical and optical VIA's (electrical vias, [0321-0322]; Fig. 26, 28, optical vias, [0162-0163]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to have modified ENGLAND to incorporate the teachings of BOWER such that the microdevice array, wherein the second stacked layer has electrical and optical VIA's before bonding to the backplane, so that through optical vias, the light is emitted from the light emitting areas of the inorganic light emitters (30); the light emitters (30) are then disposed in the optical vias, for example using micro transfer printing, and electrically connected using photolithography. The electrical cum optical vias can be formed in the light-absorbing material (42) and the electrically insulating layer, as needed, for example to make electrical connections to the light emitter (30) (BOWER, [0315], [0321-0322]).
Claim(s) 15-21, 29-30 and 35-37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ENGLAND, in view of HUANG, and further in view of BOWER.
Regarding Claim 15, ENGLAND as modified by HUANG teaches the microdevice array, of claim 7.
Though ENGLAND as modified by HUANG teaches the through-silicon vias or TSVs, ENGLAND as modified by HUANG does not explicitly disclose the microdevice array, wherein electrical VIA's are optical.
BOWER teaches the microdevice array (micro-LEDs, [0292]), wherein electrical VIA's are optical (electrical vias, [0321-0322]; Fig. 26, 28, optical vias, [0162-0163]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to have modified ENGLAND to incorporate the teachings of BOWER such that the microdevice array, wherein electrical VIA's are optical, so that through optical vias, the light is emitted from the light emitting areas of the inorganic light emitters (30); the light emitters (30) are then disposed in the optical vias, for example using micro transfer printing, and electrically connected using photolithography. The electrical cum optical vias can be formed in the light-absorbing material (42) and the electrically insulating layer, as needed, for example to make electrical connections to the light emitter (30) (BOWER, [0315], [0321-0322]).
Regarding Claim 16, ENGLAND as modified by HUANG and BOWER teaches the microdevice of claim 15.
ENGLAND further teaches the microdevice array (Figs. 2/5, 20, micro-LED display assemblies), wherein the VIA's (Figs. 2/4, 24/50, TSVs) are aligned ([0026]) with the pads (Fig. 2, 26/26a, metal pad/pads) in the other sub pixels (Fig. 2, 14a/14b) in the back plane (Fig. 2, 22, substrate).
Regarding Claim 17, ENGLAND as modified by HUANG and BOWER teaches the microdevice of claim 16.
HUANG further teaches the microdevice array (Figs. 2A/2B, LED, [0010]), wherein VIA's (Fig. 7A, 42/44, TSVs) have passivated sidewalls (Fig. 7A, 39, isolation layers, [0017]) with reflective layers on the sidewalls ([0004], [0022]).
Regarding Claim 18, ENGLAND as modified by HUANG and BOWER teaches the microdevice of claim 17.
ENGLAND further teaches the microdevice array (Figs. 2/5, 20, micro-LED display assemblies), wherein additional microdevices (Fig. 2, 20, micro-LED assemblies) are bonded to the pads (Fig. 2, 26/26a, metal pad/pads).
Regarding Claim 19, ENGLAND as modified by HUANG and BOWER teaches the microdevice of claim 18.
ENGLAND further teaches the microdevice array (Figs. 2/5, 20, micro-LED display assemblies), wherein there are more than one pads (Fig. 2, 26/26a, metal pad/pads), or more than two VIAs (Fig. 4, 24/50, TSVs) for each micro device (Fig. 4, 20, micro-LED assemblies).
Regarding Claim 20, ENGLAND as modified by HUANG and BOWER teaches the microdevice of claim 18.
ENGLAND further teaches the microdevice array (Figs. 2/5, 20, micro-LED display assemblies), wherein the micro devices (Figs. 2/5, 20, micro-LED display assemblies), or stacked layers (Figs. 2/3, 100a-100f, plurality of layers, [0025]) have a conductive layer on top (Fig. 2, 30, conductive terminal for each pixel, [0024]).
Regarding Claim 21, ENGLAND as modified by HUANG and BOWER teaches the microdevice of claim 19.
ENGLAND further teaches the microdevice array (Figs. 2/5, 20, micro-LED display assemblies), wherein a bump (Figs. 4/5, 55, solder connections) comprising a microdevice (Figs. 2/5, 20, micro-LED display assemblies) couples the backplane (Figs. 2/5, 22/35, substrate/BEOL wiring ) to a pad (Figs. 2, 26/26a, metal pad/pads) formed on top of the microdevice.
Regarding Claim 29, ENGLAND teaches the microdevice array (Figs. 2/5, 20, micro-LED display assemblies) of claim 25, wherein the second stacked layer (Figs. 2/3, 100a-100f, plurality of layers, [0025]) has electrical and optical VIA's (Figs. 2/3, 24, TSVs) after bonding (Fig. 6, flowchart of the fabrication processes) the second stacked layer to the backplane (Figs. 2/3, 22, substrate).
Though ENGLAND teaches the TSVs formation by backside grinding process followed by a deep Si etch [0026], ENGLAND does not explicitly disclose the microdevice array, wherein the second stacked layer has electrical and optical VIA's after bonding the stacked layers to the backplane.
HUANG teaches the microdevice array (Figs. 2A/2B, LED, [0010]), wherein the second stacked layer (Figs. 2A/2B, 22, LED with layers 26, 28, 30, [0012]) has electrical and optical VIA's (Figs. 2A/2B, 34/38, TSV openings) after bonding the stacked layers are bonded to the backplane (Figs. 2A/2B, 20, substrate).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to have modified ENGLAND to incorporate the teachings of HUANG such that the microdevice array, wherein the second stacked layer has electrical and optical VIA's after bonding the stacked layers to the backplane, so that TSV opening may be formed by penetrating various LED layers and enable to create an ohmic contact (HUANG, [0014-0015]).
Though ENGLAND as modified by HUANG teaches the through-silicon vias or TSVs, ENGLAND as modified by HUANG does not explicitly disclose the microdevice array, wherein the second stacked layer has electrical and optical VIA's after bonding the stacked layers to the backplane.
BOWER teaches the microdevice array (micro-LEDs, [0292]), wherein the second stacked layer has electrical and optical VIA's (electrical vias, [0321-0322]; Fig. 26, 28, optical vias, [0162-0163]), after bonding the stacked layers to the backplane.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to have modified ENGLAND to incorporate the teachings of BOWER such that the microdevice array, wherein the second stacked layer has electrical and optical VIA's after bonding the stacked layers to the backplane, so that through optical vias, the light is emitted from the light emitting areas of the inorganic light emitters (30); the light emitters (30) are then disposed in the optical vias, for example using micro transfer printing, and electrically connected using photolithography. The electrical cum optical vias can be formed in the light-absorbing material (42) and the electrically insulating layer, as needed, for example to make electrical connections to the light emitter (30) (BOWER, [0315], [0321-0322]).
Regarding Claim 30, ENGLAND as modified by HUANG and BOWER teaches the microdevice array of claim 29.
ENGLAND further teaches the microdevice array (Figs. 2/5, 20, micro-LED display assemblies) wherein the VIA's (Figs. 2/4, 24/50, TSVs) are aligned with the additional microdevices (Figs. 2/5, 20, micro-LED display assemblies) in the first and third stacked layers (Figs. 2/3, 100a-100f, plurality of layers, [0025]) and the pads (Fig. 2, 26/26a, metal pad/pads) in the other sub pixels (Fig. 2, 14a/14b) in the backplane (Fig. 2, 22, substrate).
Regarding Claim 35, ENGLAND teaches the microdevice array (Figs. 2/5, 20, micro-LED display assemblies) of claim 33, CHAJI-1 wherein the third stacked layers (Figs. 2/3, 100a-100f, plurality of layers, [0025]) have optical VIA's (Figs. 2/4, 24/50, TSVs) after bonding (Fig. 6, flowchart of the fabrication processes) to the backplane (Fig. 2, 22, substrate).
Though ENGLAND teaches the TSVs formation by backside grinding process followed by a deep Si etch [0026], ENGLAND does not explicitly disclose the microdevice array, wherein the second stacked layer has electrical and optical VIA's after bonding the stacked layers to the backplane.
HUANG teaches the microdevice array (Figs. 2A/2B, LED, [0010]), wherein the second stacked layer (Figs. 2A/2B, 22, LED with layers 26, 28, 30, [0012]) has electrical and optical VIA's (Figs. 2A/2B, 34/38, TSV openings) after bonding the stacked layers are bonded to the backplane (Figs. 2A/2B, 20, substrate).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to have modified ENGLAND to incorporate the teachings of HUANG such that the microdevice array, wherein the second stacked layer has electrical and optical VIA's after bonding the stacked layers to the backplane, so that TSV opening may be formed by penetrating various LED layers and enable to create an ohmic contact (HUANG, [0014-0015]).
Though ENGLAND as modified by HUANG teaches the through-silicon vias or TSVs, ENGLAND as modified by HUANG does not explicitly disclose the microdevice array, wherein the second stacked layer has electrical and optical VIA's after bonding the stacked layers to the backplane.
BOWER teaches the microdevice array (micro-LEDs, [0292]), wherein the second stacked layer has electrical and optical VIA's (electrical vias, [0321-0322]; Fig. 26, 28, optical vias, [0162-0163]), after bonding the stacked layers to the backplane.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to have modified ENGLAND to incorporate the teachings of BOWER such that the microdevice array, wherein the second stacked layer has electrical and optical VIA's after bonding the stacked layers to the backplane, so that through optical vias, the light is emitted from the light emitting areas of the inorganic light emitters (30); the light emitters (30) are then disposed in the optical vias, for example using micro transfer printing, and electrically connected using photolithography. The electrical cum optical vias can be formed in the light-absorbing material (42) and the electrically insulating layer, as needed, for example to make electrical connections to the light emitter (30) (BOWER, [0315], [0321-0322]).
Regarding Claim 36, ENGLAND as modified by HUANG and BOWER teaches the microdevice array of claim 35.
ENGLAND further teaches the microdevice array (Figs. 2/5, 20, micro-LED display assemblies), wherein the VIA's (Figs. 2/3, 24, TSVs) are aligned with microdevices (Figs. 2/5, 20, micro-LED display assemblies) in first and second stacked layers (Figs. 2/3, 100a-100f, plurality of layers, [0025]) and the pads (Figs. 2, 26/26a, metal pad/pads) in the other sub pixels (Fig. 2, 14a/14b) in the backplane (Fig. 3, 22, substrate).
Regarding Claim 37, ENGLAND as modified by HUANG and BOWER teaches the microdevice array of claim 36.
ENGLAND further teaches the microdevice array (Figs. 2/5, 20, micro-LED display assemblies) wherein VIA's (Figs. 2/4, 24/50, TSVs) have passivated sidewalls ([0026]) with reflective layers on the sidewalls.
HUANG further teaches the microdevice array (Figs. 2A/2B, LED, [0010]), wherein electrical VIA's (Fig. 7A, 42/44, TSVs) have passivated sidewalls (Fig. 7A, 39, isolation layers, [0017]) and conductive layers formed on the walls or a pad with reflective layers on the sidewalls ([0004], [0022]) from inside the electrical VIA.
Claim(s) 31-32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ENGLAND, in view of BOWER, and further in view of HUANG.
Regarding Claim 31, ENGLAND as modified by BOWER teaches the microdevice array of claim 27.
ENGLAND further teaches the microdevice array (Figs. 2/5, 20, micro-LED display assemblies) wherein electrical VIA's (Figs. 2/4, 24/50, TSVs) have passivated sidewalls ([0026]) and the conductive layers formed on the walls of electrical VIA’s or pad (Fig. 2, 26/26a, metal pad/pads).
ENGLAND as modified by BOWER does not explicitly disclose the microdevice array, wherein electrical VIA's have passivated sidewalls and conductive layers formed on the walls or a pad with reflective layers on the sidewalls from inside the electrical VIA.
HUANG teaches the microdevice array (Figs. 2A/2B, LED, [0010]), wherein electrical VIA's (Fig. 7A, 42/44, TSVs) have passivated sidewalls (Fig. 7A, 39, isolation layers, [0017]) and conductive layers formed on the walls or a pad with reflective layers on the sidewalls ([0004], [0022]) from inside the electrical VIA.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to have ENGLAND as modified by BOWER to incorporate the teachings of HUANG such that the microdevice array, wherein electrical VIA's have passivated sidewalls and conductive layers formed on the walls or a pad with reflective layers on the sidewalls from inside the electrical VIA, so that to achieve the efficient light reflecting characteristics of the micro-LEDs (HUANG, [0004]).
Regarding Claim 32, ENGLAND as modified by BOWER teaches the microdevice array of claim 27.
BOWER further teaches the microdevice array (micro-LEDs, [0292]), with optical VIA's (Fig. 26, 28, optical vias, [0162-0163]).
ENGLAND as modified by BOWER does not explicitly disclose the microdevice array, wherein optical VIA's have passivated sidewalls with reflective layers on the sidewalls.
HUANG teaches the microdevice array (Figs. 2A/2B, LED, [0010]), wherein optical VIA's (Fig. 7A, 42/44, TSVs) have passivated sidewalls (Fig. 7A, 39, isolation layers, [0017]) with reflective layers ([0004], [0022]) on the sidewalls.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to have ENGLAND as modified by BOWER to incorporate the teachings of HUANG such that the microdevice array, wherein optical VIA's have passivated sidewalls with reflective layers on the sidewalls, so that to achieve the efficient light reflecting characteristics of the micro-LEDs (HUANG, [0004]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20160217720 A1 – Figure 5C
STATEMENT OF RELEVANCE – Cross-section of a generally closed for enabling a connection between the circuit and a repair micro device.
US 20170025075 A1 – Figure 4
STATEMENT OF RELEVANCE – Perspective of a display having light emitters and a pixel substrate on a backplane or display substrate.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SESHA SAIRAMAN SRINIVASAN/ Examiner, Art Unit 2812 /CHRISTINE S. KIM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2812