DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 03/30/2026 has been entered. The 35 USC 112(b) rejection of claim 21 of the previous rejection is overcome and withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/30/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues on remarks pages 7-8 that the primary reference of record fails to teach graphene coating contacting the active material particle surfaces, and on page 9 that the primary reference fails to teach a branched resin form of the carbon-containing fibers. However, Burshtain teaches in [0189] that core(s) 110 may be in direct contact with respective shell(s) 120 – i.e. without gap 140 of Fig. 1B therebetween – and in Figs. 3C-3D as previously cited show that 120 at least partially touches particle(s) 110 at the outer surface(s). Burshtain also teaches the conductive fibers 130 can be polyaniline (in [0118, 0124]) which meets the instant disclosure of resin, and shows in Figs. 4H-4J and describes in [0124, 0127] as an adhesive matrix, which reads on claimed branches form. Therefore, the rejections over Burshtain are maintained below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 7, 10, 23-24, 26, and 28-29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Burshtain et al. (US 2017/0294648 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Burshtain teaches an electrode (anode 100, Fig. 1B) comprising: a current collector (anode slurry in contact with a current collector - e.g., a metal, such as aluminum or copper; [0042, 0046]); an active material layer (anode slurry … anode active material, [0044, 0046]);
wherein the active material layer comprises a plurality of active material particles (anode active material particles 110[A], [0045-0046] and Fig. 1B), a plurality of fibrous carbon-containing compounds (conductive fibers 130 - e.g. conductive polymers, [0046] and Fig. 1B), and graphene (coatings 120 comprises e.g. graphene, [0096, 0101]; 120 around 110, Figs. 2B, 3C, and 4A-4F),
wherein each of the plurality of fibrous carbon-containing compounds is a high molecular compound (see below citation to polyaniline satisfying “high molecular compound”),
wherein a monomer of the high molecular compound is at least one selected from … aniline, (conductive polymer - e.g., polyaniline - matrix 130 … the aniline monomers in polyaniline; [0124]) and a derivative [there]of (aniline derivatives may be used, [0120]),
wherein the plurality of fibrous carbon-containing compounds are in contact with each other (Figs. 1B, 4J, and 8C) to form a path (conductive fibers form a network throughout the anode material to provide electron paths, [0249]) penetrating the active material layer (matrix 130 configured to both hold together active material particles and also act as a conductive additive to the electrode, [0126]; conductive fibers 130 be configured to form a network throughout anode material 100, [0189]; see also 130 penetrating 100 in Fig. 1B),
wherein the graphene is over (example coating 120 comprising graphene covering modified anode active material particles 110A, [0096] and e.g. Fig. 1B, 3C, and 8C; coating 120 of e.g. graphene, [0101]) and in contact with part of a surface of each of the plurality of active material particles (surface layer coating 120: coatings 120 may be applied to one or more coating layers, each of which may be partial or full coating with respect to the surface of anode active material particles 110, [0110]; see Figs. 2B showing expansion of 110 toward 120; see also Figs. 3C-3D and 4A-4F where 120 can touch 110; In some embodiments, core(s) 110 may be in direct contact with respective shell(s) 120 per [0189] – i.e. without gap 140 therebetween),
wherein the graphene is electrically connected to the plurality of active material particles (graphene as coating 120 enhances electronic conductivity of active material particles 110A, [0101]), and
wherein the plurality of fibrous carbon-containing compounds have a net-like structure (conductive polymers form matrix 130 in which particles 110 are embedded, [0115] and Fig. 1B; matrix 130 configured to hold together active material particles, [0126]; conductive fibers 130) configured to form a network throughout anode material 100 per [0189] and Figs. 1B, 8C) reaching a surface of the active material layer (fibrous matrix 130 shown throughout anode 100 within cell 150, Fig. 1B) from a surface of the current collector (anode slurry including conductive fibers 130 positioned in contact with/bound to current collector, [0042, 0046]; conductive fibers 130 extend along long distances per [0191]).
Regarding claim 10, Burshtain teaches the limitations of claim 7 above and wherein an average diameter of primary particles of the active material is greater than or equal to 50 nm and less than or equal to 500 nm (anode active material particles 110 may have an average diameter of e.g., 50 nm, 100 nm, 200 nm, 250 nm, 300 nm, 400 nm or 500 nm per [0094, 0154] – all examples are within, and thus anticipate, the claimed range).
Regarding claim 23, Burshtain teaches the limitations of claim 7 above wherein the active material layer is provided over the current collector (uniform distribution thereof in polymerized matrix 130, Burshtain [0116]; 130 network throughout anode material per Burshtain [0189]), and wherein the net-like structure is in contact with the surface of the current collector (anode slurry including 130 is in contact with current collector, Burshtain [0042, 0046]; see also Timonov Figs. 3,5,7 as applied to modified Burshtain in claim 1 rejection above).
Regarding claim 24, Burshtain teaches the limitations of claim 7 above and a secondary battery (cell 150 as lithium ion battery, Burshtain Fig. 1B and [0054]; fast charging/discharging lithium ion battery over multiple charging and discharging cycles, Burshtain [0002, 0033, 0053, 0097]) comprising the electrode (anode 100, Burshtain Fig. 1B) according to claim 7 (see above rejection of claim 7).
Regarding claim 26, Burshtain teaches the limitations of claim 7 above wherein the plurality of active material particles form an aggregate (aggregates of anode active material particles 110A, [0089]), and wherein the graphene is arranged to surround the aggregate (coatings 120 – e.g. graphene – applied on aggregate of modified anode active material particles 110A to form composite particles 115; [0089, 0096] and Fig. 3D).
Regarding claim 28, Burshtain teaches the limitations of claim 26 above wherein the graphene is electrically (graphene coating 120 enhances electronic conductivity of active material, [0101]) connected to the plurality of particulate active materials included in the aggregate (graphene coating 120 applied as a thin film onto aggregate modified anode active material particles 110A, [0096, 0101] and Fig. 3D).
Regarding claim 29, Burshtain teaches the limitations of claim 7 above wherein the graphene has a curved shape (see curved shape of 120 in Fig. 3D, where 120 is a thin film of graphene per [0101]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burshtain et al. (US 2017/0294648 A1) as applied to claim 7 above.
Regarding claim 8, Burshtain teaches the limitations of claim 7 above and wherein an average diameter of the plurality of fibrous carbon-containing compounds is greater than or equal to 0.01 µm and less than or equal to 50 µm (conductive fibers 130 having diameters in the order of magnitude of 100 nm, Burshtain [0192]; 100 nm = 0.01 µm, thus overlapping the endpoint of claimed range – see MPEP 2144.05 I).
Claim(s) 9 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burshtain et al. (US 2017/0294648 A1) as applied to claim 7 above, in view of Timonov et al. (US 2004/0057191 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Burshtain teaches the limitations of claim 7 above but fails to teach the active material is a lithium-containing composite oxide having an olivine crystal structure.
However, Burshtain [0049] teaches a cathode electrode active material based on olivine frameworks and having lithium oxide compositions (e.g., LCO, LMO, lithium nickel cobalt aluminum oxides).
Timonov is analogous in the art of electrodes including conductive polymers (Timonov [0026-0027, 0029]) in the active material layer, teaching: an electrode (electrodes 2 and 3, Fig. 1 and [0056-0057]) comprising a current collector (current collector plate, Figs. 3 and 5) and an active material layer (electrically active substance on the electrodes, [0030]), wherein the active material layer comprises a plurality of fibrous carbon-containing compounds (polymer is capable of operating both on a positive electrode and negative electrode, [0051]; fibrous polymer films shown in Figs. 3 and 7). Timonov teaches that different polymers can be used on the surfaces of cathodes versus anodes (Timonov [0124]), also showing polymer elements for either/both electrode(s) 2 and 3 (Timonov [0056-0057] and Figs. 1 and 3; see also Timonov abstract).
Burshtain teaches battery cell 150 being an energy storage device (Burshtain [0054]), and Timonov also teaches an energy storage device such as a battery utilizing the electrode(s) containing the above polymer (Timonov abstract). Applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results supports a conclusion of obviousness per MPEP 2143 (D). Therefore, applying the fibrous polymer matrix 130 as a conductive polymer surrounding the active material to advantageously both hold together active material particles and also act as a conductive additive to the electrode (as taught by Burshtain [0126]) within a cathode electrode (instead of, or in addition to, within the anode electrode as taught toward by Timonov) to be useful alongside lithium-containing composite oxide cathode active material having an olivine crystal structure (like that of Burshtain [0049]) would have been obvious.
Thereby, claim 9 is rendered obvious.
Regarding claim 22, Burshtain teaches the limitations of claim 7 above and wherein a polymer comprising the plurality of fibrous carbon-containing compounds is formed by electrolytic polymerization (in-situ polymerization of conductive polymers, [0113]; acidic solution to promote polymerization … electrochemical polymerization, [0122-0123]) of the monomer (conductive polymers resulting from the polymerization of monomers 127 forms matrix 130, [0115]; polymerization of aniline monomers to polyaniline, [0122-0124]). Burshtain fails to explicitly teach:
wherein the plurality of fibrous carbon-containing compounds are aligned along a direction substantially perpendicular to the surface of the current collector.
Timonov is analogous in the art of electrodes including conductive polymers ([0026-0027, 0029]) in the active material layer, teaching: an electrode (electrodes 2 and 3, Fig. 1 and [0056-0057]) comprising a current collector (current collector plate, Figs. 3 and 5) and an active material layer (electrically active substance on the electrodes, [0030]), wherein the active material layer comprises a plurality of fibrous carbon-containing compounds (polymer is capable of operating both on a positive electrode and negative electrode, [0051]; fibrous polymer films shown in Figs. 3 and 7) and wherein the plurality of fibrous carbon-containing compounds are aligned along a direction substantially perpendicular to the surface of the current collector (Figs. 3, 5, and 7) and reaching a surface of the active material layer (electrode includes a polymer-modified conductive surface, [0048]; polymer reaches up to electrolyte as shown in Figs. 3 and 5). Timonov Fig. 5 specifically shows the polymerization direction of the polymer film layer being perpendicular versus the current collector surface. Timonov [0108, 0110] teaches formation of configured as “unidirectional” or “stack” macromolecules.
Burshtain [0115] teaches in-situ polymerization and in [0116] teaches toward uniform distribution of the anode slurry including the polymerized matrix, and in [0123] utilizing electrochemical polymerization. Timonov [0019] teaches electrochemical polymerization of source monomer being performed on inert electrodes to yield the carbon-containing/fibrous polymers being aligned substantially perpendicularly from the surface of the current collector (Timonov Figs. 3, 5, 7 cited above). Burshtain teaches the battery cell 150 being an energy storage device (Burshtain [0054]), and Timonov also teaches an energy storage device such as a battery utilizing the electrode(s) containing the above polymer (Timonov abstract). Changes in shape and rearrangement of parts are design choices within the ambit of a person having ordinary skill in the art per MPEP 2144.04 IV B and VI C, such that polymerizing the conductive polymers within Burshtain to be configured as unidirectional macromolecules aligned along a direction substantially perpendicular to the surface of the current collector as taught toward by Timonov, and still expect functionality of said polymer within the electrode active layer and resultant battery of modified Burshtain, would have been obvious.
Thereby, claim 22 is rendered obvious.
Claim(s) 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burshtain et al. (US 2017/0294648 A1) as applied to claim 24 above, in view of Bhatt et al. (US 2011/0097624 A1).
Regarding claim 25, modified Burshtain teaches the limitations of claim 24 above but fails to explicitly teach an electronic device comprising the secondary battery according to claim 24.
However, Burshtain teaches the battery cell 150 being an energy storage device (Burshtain [0054]), and Timonov also teaches an energy storage device such as a battery utilizing the electrode containing the above polymer (Timonov abstract).
Bhatt is analogous in the art of electrodes conductive polymer such as polyaniline (Bhatt abstract) and teaches such electrodes are used in flexible devices such as flexible energy storage devices (Bhatt abstract) which are useable in portable electronic devices and the like (Bhatt [0031, 0204]).
Although modified Burshtain is silent toward their electrode and energy storage device being used in an electronic device, a person having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious in view of the teaching of Bhatt to apply the conductive-polymer based electrode of modified Burshtain within a storage device to be used by an exemplary storage device as taught by Bhatt and expect predictable functionality thereof. Simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results supports a conclusion of obviousness per MPEP 2143 I (B).
Thereby, claim 25 is rendered obvious.
Claim(s) 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burshtain et al. (US 2017/0294648 A1) as applied to claim 7 above, in view of Zhamu et al. (US 2012/0064409 A1) and Joo et al. (US 2020/0227725 A1).
Regarding claim 27, modified Burshtain teaches the limitations of claim 7 above but fails to the graphene is formed by a reduction treatment performed on graphene oxide whose atomic ratio of oxygen to carbon is greater than or equal to 0.405.
Examiner notes this is a product-by-process limitation, but is being addressed below to promote compact prosecution:
Zhamu is analogous in the art of anode active material particles coated with graphene, teaching a plurality of fine anode active material particles with a size most preferably smaller than 100 nm ([0039]), and teaching these particulates being enhanced with graphene such that the graphene-enhanced particulates comprise graphene sheets inside the particulate and on the exterior surface of the particulate ([0063]). Zhamu Fig. 3A shows an aggregate of anode active material particles having graphene coating for structural embrace and electron conduction, similar to that shown in Burshtain Fig. 3D. Zhamu teaches the graphene coating being prepared from a precursor of e.g. graphene oxide ([0052-0053]). Zhamu teaches a step of chemically or thermally reducing the graphene precursor to reduce its oxygen content ([0093]). However, Zhamu does not teach a specific formula of the initial graphene oxide precursor nor atomic ratio of oxygen to carbon.
Joo is pertinent to the problem of using graphenic components within electrodes ([0007]) and teaches graphene, reduced graphene oxide, and graphene oxide are among components used as conducting additives ([0017]). Joo teaches that graphene oxide is a single or multi-layered material with high oxygen content, such as characterized by C/O atomic ratios of less than 3.0, such as about 2.0 ([0101]). When the C/O atomic ratio is exemplary 2.0, the inverse O/C ratio would equal 1/2.0 = 0.5, which is greater than 0.405 as instantly claimed. Joo teaches in [0101] that such graphene oxide can be reduced into reduced-graphene oxide to lower the oxygen content, similar to the teaching of Zhamu [0093] cited above.
Therefore, when obtaining the graphene material used in coating the electrode active material in Burshtain, a person having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to look to Zhamu and Joo to utilize graphene oxide having a high oxygen content (C/O = 2.0 per Joo, such that O/C = 0.5) as a precursor and then performing reduction treatment on such precursor (per Zhamu) to arrive at a graphene material suitable for use in electrodes to enhance conductivity (as is a common goal of Burshtain, Zhamu, and Joo per above citations).
Thereby, claim 27 is rendered obvious.
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-5, 17 and 30-31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burshtain et al. (US 2017/0294648 A1) in view of Timonov et al. (US 2004/0057191 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Burshtain teaches an electrode (anode 100, Fig. 1B) comprising: a current collector (anode slurry in contact with a current collector - e.g., a metal, such as aluminum or copper; [0042, 0046]); and an active material layer (anode slurry … anode active material, [0044, 0046]),
wherein the active material layer comprises a plurality of active material particles (anode active material particles 110, [0046] and Fig. 1B; core-shell particles 115 have 110 as cores, [0191]) and a plurality of fibrous carbon-containing compounds (conductive fibers 130 - e.g. conductive polymers, [0046] and Fig. 1B; composite anode material including core-shell particles 115 interconnected by conductive fibers 130 per [0191])
wherein each of the plurality of fibrous carbon-containing compounds is a high molecular compound (see below citation to polyaniline satisfying “high molecular compound”),
wherein a monomer of the high molecular compound is at least one selected from … aniline, (conductive polymer - e.g., polyaniline - matrix 130 … the aniline monomers in polyaniline; [0124]) and a derivative [there]of (aniline derivatives may be used, [0120]),
wherein the plurality of fibrous carbon-containing compounds have a net-like structure (conductive polymers form matrix 130 in which particles 110 are embedded, [0115] and Fig. 1B; matrix 130 configured to hold together active material particles, [0126]; conductive fibers 130) configured to form a network throughout anode material 100 per [0189] and Figs. 1B, 8C) reaching a surface of the active material layer (fibrous matrix 130 shown throughout anode 100 within cell 150, Fig. 1B) from a surface of the current collector (anode slurry including conductive fibers 130 positioned in contact with/bound to current collector, [0042, 0046]; conductive fibers 130 extend along long distances per [0191]),
wherein a polymer comprising the plurality of fibrous carbon-containing compounds is formed by electrolytic polymerization (in-situ polymerization of conductive polymers, [0113]; acidic solution to promote polymerization … electrochemical polymerization, [0122-0123]) of the monomer (conductive polymers resulting from the polymerization of monomers 127 forms matrix 130, [0115]; polymerization of aniline monomers to polyaniline, [0122-0124]).
wherein each of the plurality of fibrous carbon-containing compounds comprises a branched (conductive fibers 130 may extend over a plurality of core-shell particles 115, interconnecting their cores 110 along long distances of multiple particles 115; [0191]) resin-based form (fibers 130 can be polymers per [0042], which appears branched in Fig. 1B and 4H-4J; polyaniline as cited above meets this limitation per instant disclosure; 130 is adhesive/binding matrix per [0126-0127] which also reads on branched resin).
Burshtain fails to explicitly teach:
wherein the plurality of fibrous carbon-containing compounds are aligned along a direction substantially perpendicular to the surface of the current collector.
Timonov is analogous in the art of electrodes including conductive polymers ([0026-0027, 0029]) in the active material layer, teaching: an electrode (electrodes 2 and 3, Fig. 1 and [0056-0057]) comprising a current collector (current collector plate, Figs. 3 and 5) and an active material layer (electrically active substance on the electrodes, [0030]), wherein the active material layer comprises a plurality of fibrous carbon-containing compounds (polymer is capable of operating both on a positive electrode and negative electrode, [0051]; fibrous polymer films shown in Figs. 3 and 7) and wherein the plurality of fibrous carbon-containing compounds are aligned along a direction substantially perpendicular to the surface of the current collector (Figs. 3, 5, and 7) and reaching a surface of the active material layer (electrode includes a polymer-modified conductive surface, [0048]; polymer reaches up to electrolyte as shown in Figs. 3 and 5). Timonov Fig. 5 specifically shows the polymerization direction of the polymer film layer being perpendicular versus the current collector surface. Timonov [0108, 0110] teaches formation of configured as “unidirectional” or “stack” macromolecules.
Burshtain [0115] teaches in-situ polymerization and in [0116] teaches toward uniform distribution of the anode slurry including the polymerized matrix, and in [0123] utilizing electrochemical polymerization. Timonov [0019] teaches electrochemical polymerization of source monomer being performed on inert electrodes to yield the carbon-containing/fibrous polymers being aligned substantially perpendicularly from the surface of the current collector (Timonov Figs. 3, 5, 7 cited above). Burshtain teaches the battery cell 150 being an energy storage device (Burshtain [0054]), and Timonov also teaches an energy storage device such as a battery utilizing the electrode(s) containing the above polymer (Timonov abstract). Changes in shape and rearrangement of parts are design choices within the ambit of a person having ordinary skill in the art per MPEP 2144.04 IV B and VI C, such that polymerizing the conductive polymers within Burshtain to be configured as unidirectional macromolecules aligned along a direction substantially perpendicular to the surface of the current collector as taught toward by Timonov, and still expect functionality of said polymer within the electrode active layer and resultant battery of modified Burshtain, would have been obvious.
Thereby, claim 1 is rendered obvious.
Regarding claim 2, modified Burshtain teaches the limitations of claim 1 above and wherein an average diameter of the plurality of fibrous carbon-containing compounds is greater than or equal to 0.01 µm and less than or equal to 50 µm (conductive fibers 130 having diameters in the order of magnitude of 100 nm, Burshtain [0192]; 100 nm = 0.01 µm, thus overlapping the endpoint of claimed range – see MPEP 2144.05 I).
Regarding claim 4, modified Burshtain teaches the limitations of claim 1 above wherein the active material layer is provided over the current collector (uniform distribution thereof in polymerized matrix 130, Burshtain [0116]; 130 network throughout anode material per Burshtain [0189]), and wherein the net-like structure is in contact with the surface of the current collector (anode slurry including 130 is in contact with current collector, Burshtain [0042, 0046]; see also Timonov Figs. 3,5,7 as applied to modified Burshtain in claim 1 rejection above).
Regarding claim 5, modified Burshtain teaches the limitations of claim 1 above but fails to teach the active material is a lithium-containing composite oxide having an olivine crystal structure.
However, Burshtain [0049] teaches a cathode electrode active material based on olivine frameworks and having lithium oxide compositions (e.g., LCO, LMO, lithium nickel cobalt aluminum oxides). Timonov teaches that different polymers can be used on the surfaces of cathodes versus anodes (Timonov [0124]), also showing polymer elements for either electrode 2 and 3 (Timonov [0056-0057] and Figs. 1 and 3).
Applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results supports a conclusion of obviousness per MPEP 2143 (D). Therefore, applying the fibrous polymer matrix 130 as a conductive polymer surrounding the active material to advantageously both hold together active material particles and also act as a conductive additive to the electrode (as taught by Burshtain [0126]) within a cathode electrode (instead of, or in addition to, within the anode electrode as taught toward by Timonov) to be useful alongside lithium-containing composite oxide cathode active material having an olivine crystal structure (like that of Burshtain [0049]) would have been obvious.
Thereby, claim 5 is rendered obvious.
Regarding claim 17, modified Burshtain teaches the limitations of claim 1 above and a secondary battery (cell 150 as lithium ion battery, Burshtain Fig. 1B and [0054]; fast charging/discharging lithium ion battery over multiple charging and discharging cycles, Burshtain [0002, 0033, 0053, 0097]) comprising the electrode (anode 100, Burshtain Fig. 1B) according to claim 1 (see above rejection of claim 1).
Regarding claim 30, modified Burshtain teaches the limitations of claim 1 above and wherein an average diameter of each of the plurality of active material particles is greater than or equal to 50 nm and less than or equal to 500 nm (anode active material particles 110 may have an average diameter of e.g., 100 nm, 200 nm, 250 nm, 300 nm, 400 nm or 500 nm; Burshtain [0094]).
Regarding claim 31, modified Burshtain teaches the limitations of claim 1 above and wherein a path length from one branched point to a next branched point of the branched resin-based form (conductive fibers 130 may extend over a plurality of core-shell particles 115, interconnecting their cores 110 along long distances of multiple particles 115; Burshtain [0191]) of the plurality of fibrous carbon-containing compounds is greater than or equal to 1 µm and less than or equal to 300 µm (conductive fibers 130 with exemplary lengths between 3 μm and 100 μm, Burshtain [0192]).
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burshtain et al. (US 2017/0294648 A1) in view of Timonov et al. (US 2004/0057191 A1) as applied to claim 18 above, and further in view of Bhatt et al. (US 2011/0097624 A1).
Regarding claim 18, modified Burshtain teaches the limitations of claim 1 above but fails to explicitly teach an electronic device comprising the secondary battery according to claim 17.
However, Burshtain teaches the battery cell 150 being an energy storage device (Burshtain [0054]), and Timonov also teaches an energy storage device such as a battery utilizing the electrode containing the above polymer (Timonov abstract).
Bhatt is analogous in the art of electrodes conductive polymer such as polyaniline (Bhatt abstract) and teaches such electrodes are used in flexible devices such as flexible energy storage devices (Bhatt abstract) which are useable in portable electronic devices and the like (Bhatt [0031, 0204]).
Although modified Burshtain is silent toward their electrode and energy storage device being used in an electronic device, a person having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious in view of the teaching of Bhatt to apply the conductive-polymer based electrode of modified Burshtain within a storage device to be used by an exemplary storage device as taught by Bhatt and expect predictable functionality thereof. Simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results supports a conclusion of obviousness per MPEP 2143 I (B).
Thereby, claim 18 is rendered obvious.
Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Fukui et al. (US 2011/0117431 A1) teach negative electrode mixture layer containing a binder and negative electrode active material particles wherein the binder contains a polyimide resin having a branch structure (abstract), and that batteries having the branched structure resin electrode binder exhibited better charge-discharge cycle life ([0130]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JESSIE WALLS-MURRAY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1728