Priority
This application, filed 04/18/2022 is a National Stage entry of PCT/US20/56255, International Filing Date: 10/19/2020. PCT/US20/56255 Claims Priority from Provisional Application 62916942, filed 10/18/2019.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-4, 8-9, 12, 18-19, 22, 26, 28-30, 33-34, 37, 39, and 45-46 are pending as of the response filed on 10/20/25. Claims 5-7, 10-11, 13-17, 20-21, 23-25, 27, 31-32, 35-36, 38, and 40-44 have been canceled.
Applicant’s election without traverse of invention I, claims 1-4, 8-9, 12, 18-19, 22, and 26; and the species C14-4, shown below, in the reply filed on 10/20/25 is acknowledged:
.
Claims 28-30, 33-34, 37, 39, and 45-46 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 10/20/25.
The elected species C14-4 has been found to be free of the prior art. Therefore, in accordance with MPEP 803.02, search and examination have been extended to another species of formula (I), the compound C12-200:
. This compound is included within formula (I), having A1 and A2=N; L1, L6=N; R8a, R8b, R9a, R9b, R10a, R10b, R11a, and R11b=hydrogen; x, w=0; o, p, q, r, s, t=0; L3, L4=CH2; n, u=1; R4a, R4b, R15a, R15b=hydrogen; R1=C12 alkyl substituted with hydroxyl; R2=ethyl substituted with N(2-hydroxyldodecane)2; R17=2-hydroxyldodecane; R18=2-hydroxydodecane. This compound is also included within formula (IV) of claim 2, having r, s, and t =2; R1, R2, R3, R4, R5=hydrogen; m, n, o, p, and q=9. This species is included within claims 1-2, 4, 8-9, 12, 18-19, 22, and 26.
Claims 1-4, 8-9, 12, 18-19, 22, and 26 were examined and are rejected.
Claim Rejections-35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 8-9, 12, 18-19, 22, and 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frederick, WO 2017120612 A1, publ. 7/13/2017, international filing date 1/10/2017, as evidenced by PubChem, CID 49785165, Nat. Lib. Med., publ. 12/6/2010.
Frederick teaches compositions comprising one or more therapeutic polynucleotides, in particular mRNAs that encode a binding molecule, e.g., an antibody or antigen binding portion thereof, which specifically binds to cytotoxic T-lymphocyte associated protein-4 (CTLA-4) (title & abstract; para [0007], [0017], [0114]). CTLA-4 is an inhibitory checkpoint receptor, and blockade of this receptor is a therapeutic approach in a broad range of malignancies by promoting T-cell activation (para [0002-0004]). Frederick further teaches an embodiment wherein the mRNAs encoding the antibody or antigen binding portion are chimeric (para [0024], [0032], [0166], [0235], [0282]); Frederick additionally teaches the mRNAs formulated with a delivery agent, with a lipid nanoparticle exemplified (para [0024], [0033], [0167], [0238], [0468]). The mRNAs are taught to be enclosed, surrounded, or encased within the delivery agent (para [0569]). The nanoparticles are taught to comprise at least one lipid, with C12-200 exemplified within a small, defined list as a lipid (para [0033], [0167], [0238], [0474], [0476]). C12-200 has the following chemical structure, as evidenced by PubChem:
. This compound is included within formula (I), having A1 and A2=N; L1, L6=N; R8a, R8b, R9a, R9b, R10a, R10b, R11a, and R11b=hydrogen; x, w=0; o, p, q, r, s, t=0; L3, L4=CH2; n, u=1; R4a, R4b, R15a, R15b=hydrogen; R1=C12 alkyl substituted with hydroxyl; R2=ethyl substituted with N(2-hydroxyldodecane)2; R17=2-hydroxyldodecane; R18=2-hydroxydodecane. This compound is also included within formula (IV) of claim 2, having r, s, and t =2; R1, R2, R3, R4, R5=hydrogen; m, n, o, p, and q=9. Frederick further teaches an example wherein the lipoparticles also comprise cholesterol (para [0483-0484]), thereby meeting the limitation of a helper lipid as recited by claims 8-9. Frederick teaches an embodiment wherein the mRNAs encode a tumor antigen (para [0136]). The inclusion of one or more additional therapeutic agents, including therapeutic nucleic acids, is taught (para [0533], [0660]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claims to have arrived at an LNP comprising at least one mRNA molecule and at least one compound of formula (I), C12-200, wherein the mRNA encodes a CAR, in view of Frederick. As discussed above, Frederick teaches compositions comprising mRNAs that encode an antibody or antigen which specifically binds to the CTLA-4 receptor, wherein LNPs are exemplified as delivery vehicles for the mRNAs, and wherein the mRNAs are enclosed within the LNPs. Frederick further exemplifies the lipid C12-200 for the LNPs, and that the mRNAs encoding the antibody or antigen binding portion are chimeric. Additionally, an embodiment wherein the mRNAs encode a tumor specific antigen is taught. As such, one of ordinary skill in the art would have arrived at the LNP composition of the claims by routine experimentation, in consideration of the guidance provided by Frederick, and have had a reasonable expectation of success. Regarding instant claim 26, it is noted the recitation of the composition being a vaccine is optional, therefore the teachings of Frederick meet this limitation.
Claim Rejections-Nonstatutory Double Patenting
Claims 1-4, 8-9, 12, 18-19, 22, and 26 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6, 12, 19, 26, 28, 30, and 37 of copending Application No. 18695471 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims are drawn to a lipid nanoparticle (LNP) comprising a lipid selected from formula (I), (II), (III), (IV), (V), (VI), and (VII) and at least one mRNA molecule, wherein the mRNA molecule encodes a CAR. Formulas (I), (II), (III), (IV), (V), (VI), and (VII) are substantially similar between the copending and instant claims. See copending claims 1-3, 26, and 30; and instant claims 1-2.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-4, 8-9, 12, 18-19, 22, and 26 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 5-6, 8-9, 11-13, 18-19, 20-21, 24-26, and 28 of copending Application No. 17769858 (reference application) in view of Frederick, WO 2017120612 A1, publ. 7/13/2017, international filing date 1/10/2017. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims are drawn to a lipid nanoparticle (LNP) comprising a lipid selected from formula (I), (II), (III), (IV), (V), (VI), and (VII) and at least one mRNA molecule. Formulas (I), (II), (III), (IV), (V), (VI), and (VII) are substantially similar between the copending and instant claims. See copending claims 1-3, 5, and 21-22; and instant claims 1-2. Although the copending claims don’t explicitly recite wherein the mRNA encodes a CAR as required by the instant claims, such a modification would have been prima facie obvious in consideration of Frederick. Frederick teaches compositions comprising one or more therapeutic polynucleotides, in particular mRNAs that encode a binding molecule, e.g., an antibody or antigen binding portion thereof, which specifically binds to cytotoxic T-lymphocyte associated protein-4 (CTLA-4) (title & abstract; para [0007], [0017], [0114]). CTLA-4 is an inhibitory checkpoint receptor, and blockade of this receptor is a therapeutic approach in a broad range of malignancies by promoting T-cell activation (para [0002-0004]). Frederick further teaches an embodiment wherein the mRNAs encoding the antibody or antigen binding portion are chimeric (para [0024], [0032], [0166], [0235], [0282]); Frederick additionally teaches the mRNAs formulated with a delivery agent, with a lipid nanoparticle exemplified (para [0024], [0033], [0167], [0238], [0468]). The mRNAs are taught to be enclosed, surrounded, or encased within the delivery agent (para [0569]). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have modified the LNP of the copending claims by having the mRNA encode a CAR, CTLA-4 as Frederick teaches LNPs comprising a mRNA that encode a chimeric antigen receptor to be known in the art as therapeutic agents, and have had a reasonable expectation of success. As such, the instant and copending claims are not patentably distinct.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Information Disclosure Statements
The IDS filed on 11/16/22, 1/17/24, 1/30/25, and 9/25/25 have been considered.
Correspondence
SARAH . PIHONAK
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1627
/SARAH PIHONAK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1627