DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 3/26/2026, with respect to the rejection of claim 8 under 35 U.S.C 112 have been fully considered. The rejection of claim 8 has been withdrawn because the claim was cancelled.
Applicant’s arguments, filed 3/26/2026, with respect to the drawing objections have been fully considered. The drawing objections have been withdrawn due to replacement drawings.
Applicant’s arguments, filed 3/26/2026, with respect to the rejection of claims 1, 7-10, 15-16 and 8-24 under 35 U.S.C 112 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claim 1, 7-10, 15-16 and 8-24 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, filed 3/26/2026, with respect to the rejection of claims 1, 7, 9, 10, 15-16 and 18-24 under 35 U.S.C 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of 35 U.S.C 103.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 7, 9-10, 15-16, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iida et al. (US 20140084872 A1) in view of Kessler Martin (US 20150137764 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Iida teaches a battery system (Fig. 2) comprising a battery assembly (92A) connectable to a bus (95),
wherein the battery system comprises, for the battery assembly (92A), a battery arrangement (see Fig. 2, converter 101 combined with storage battery 94A),
wherein the battery arrangement is arranged inside the battery assembly or connected in series with the battery assembly to the bus (see Fig. 2 where storage battery and DC/DC converters are located inside 92A and 92B),
wherein the battery arrangement comprises a first battery module (first battery pack inside storage battery 94A, see Fig. 2) and a slave control unit (101),
wherein the battery assembly (92A) comprises one or more further battery modules (190, 191, 192) connected in series with the first battery module (see battery packs in Fig. 2), which further battery modules are configured to constantly, statically and non-controllably contribute to the voltage over the battery assembly (¶[63] “Moreover, the storage battery may have one or more battery packs that are connected in series or parallel”; there is no indication that the battery packs can be controlled, therefore it assumed they are conventional battery modules that always output a fixed voltage),
wherein the slave control unit (101) is configured to receive, from a master control unit (Fig. 3, element 102), a first target value related to a first current to be delivered at, such as to or from, the battery assembly (¶[73] “The coordination unit 102 generates, based on a bus voltage value and a target voltage value, coordination information that is information for calculating a current value that each of storage batteries is caused to output… coordination information generated by the coordination unit 102 is simultaneously transmitted to all of the string current calculating units”),
and/or a second target value related to a voltage over the bus,
wherein the battery arrangement (converter 101 combined with storage battery 94A) is connectable to the master control unit (102) for communication of the first target value and/or the second target value (see Fig. 4, ¶[67] “Here, the coordination unit 102 can transmit the coordination information to each of the DC-DC converter 101 and the DC-DC converter 201, using a given communication path that is wired or wireless”),
Iida does not teach wherein the slave control unit is configured to adjust voltage over the first battery module to steer the first current towards the first target value, and/or to steer the voltage over the bus towards the second target value, by adjusting a first voltage over the first battery module,
- wherein the first battery module is configured to receive, from the slave control unit, a first signal representing the first voltage to be output over the first battery module,
- wherein the first signal is configurable to represent a range of voltages capable of being output over the first battery module,
- wherein the slave control unit is configured to determine the first signal based on the first target value and/or the second target value, and to send the first signal to the respective first battery module
Kessler Martin teaches a series battery management system which is analogous to the field of switchable battery arrangements, wherein further battery modules are configured to non-controllably contribute to the voltage over the battery assembly (¶[34] “The coupling elements 7a, 7b, 7c, 7d in FIG. 2 can be actuated in such a way that the energy storage cell module 5 is connected selectively between the output connections 3a and 3b or such that the energy storage cell module 5 is bridged”), and
- wherein the slave control unit is configured to adjust voltage over the first battery module to steer the first current towards the first target value, and/or to steer the voltage over the bus towards the second target value, by adjusting a first voltage over the first battery module (¶[30] One or more of the energy storage modules 3 can be configured as energy storage module 30. The energy storage modules 30 are in this case used as internal generation modules for compensation currents in the energy storage device 10”, see Figs. 2 and 3 for adjusting voltage),
- wherein the first battery module is configured to receive, from the slave control unit, a first signal representing the first voltage to be output over the first battery module ¶[46] “The current control signal can be fed into a pulse width modulation device 4, which is coupled to the closed-loop control circuit 6, and which is designed to actuate the coupling device 7 or the coupling elements 7a, 7b, 7c, 7d of at least one of the energy storage modules 30”, the actuation of the coupling elements affects the voltage output over the first energy module, see Figs. 1-2),
- wherein the first signal is configurable to represent a range of voltages capable of being output over the first battery module (¶[39] “By virtue of the coupling elements 7a, 7b, 7c, 7d, the output voltage of the energy supply string can be varied in steps from a negative maximum value up to a positive maximum value via suitable actuation. The graduation of the voltage level in this case results depending on the graduation of the individual energy storage cell modules 5”),
- wherein the slave control unit is configured to determine the first signal based on the first target value and/or the second target value, and to send the first signal to the respective first battery module (see ¶[46] quoted above),
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Iida to incorporate the teachings of Kessler Martin to provide
wherein the slave control unit is configured to adjust voltage over the first battery module to steer the first current towards the first target value, and/or to steer the voltage over the bus towards the second target value, by adjusting a first voltage over the first battery module,
- wherein the first battery module is configured to receive, from the slave control unit, a first signal representing the first voltage to be output over the first battery module,
- wherein the first signal is configurable to represent a range of voltages capable of being output over the first battery module,
- wherein the slave control unit is configured to determine the first signal based on the first target value and/or the second target value, and to send the first signal to the respective first battery module
in order to selectively increase or decrease voltage from each battery assembly based on demand.
Regarding Claim 7, Iida in view of Kessler Martin teaches the battery system according to claim 1.
Iida further teaches wherein the slave control unit of the battery assembly is configured to adjust the first voltage to limit current through the battery assembly based on whether or not a measured current through the battery assembly is greater than an upper threshold value for the current (¶[142] “When the current target value calculated by a corresponding one of the string current calculating units is not in the range indicated by the limiting value determined by the limiting value determining unit 126, each of the limit units 130 and 230 adjusts a current target value to allow the current target value to be in the range”, ¶[142] also mentions an upper limit and lower limit).
Regarding Claim 9, Iida in view of Kessler Martin teaches the battery system according to claim 1.
Iida further teaches wherein the slave control unit (201) is configured to decrease the first voltage when the measured current is greater than the upper threshold value for the current (¶[142] “When the current target value calculated by a corresponding one of the string current calculating units is not in the range indicated by the limiting value determined by the limiting value determining unit 126, each of the limit units 130 and 230 adjusts a current target value to allow the current target value to be in the range”, the current output is impacted by the voltage of the battery)
Regarding Claim 10, Iida in view of Kessler Martin teaches the battery system according to claim 1.
Iida further teaches wherein the battery arrangement (92A) comprises the master control unit (102).
Kessler Martin further teaches a series connection of the battery assembly (10) and the battery arrangements (30, 3) to the bus (see Fig. 1),
wherein the slave control unit of the battery arrangement is configured to adjust voltage over the battery arrangement (30, 3) to steer the first current towards the first target value, and/or to steer the voltage over the bus towards the second target value, by adjusting a first voltage over the first battery module, wherein the first voltage contributes to the voltage over the battery arrangement ((¶[46] “The current control signal can be fed into a pulse width modulation device 4, which is coupled to the closed-loop control circuit 6, and which is designed to actuate the coupling device 7 or the coupling elements 7a, 7b, 7c, 7d of at least one of the energy storage modules 30”)).
Regarding Claim 15, Iida in view of Kessler Martin teaches the battery system according to claim 1.
Iida further teaches wherein the first battery assembly (92A) comprises the master control unit (102).
Regarding Claim 16, Iida in view of Kessler Martin teaches the battery system according to claim 1,
Iida further teaches wherein the slave control unit (201, see Fig. 5) of the battery assembly (92A, see Fig. 4 for configuration where the master controller 102 is located outside the first battery assembly) comprises a primary controller (108) and a secondary controller (110),
wherein the primary controller is configured to receive the second target value related to the voltage over the common bus (coordination information from 102),
wherein the second target value is a target voltage (¶[73] “The coordination unit 102 generates, based on a bus voltage value and a target voltage value, coordination information that is information for calculating a current value that each of storage batteries is caused to output”),
wherein the primary controller is configured to receive a measured voltage which represents a voltage at terminals of the battery assembly or a voltage at the bus (coordination information from 102),
wherein the primary controller is configured to send, in dependence on the target voltage and the measured voltage, a signal to the secondary controller (110, see Fig. 5),
wherein the secondary controller is configured to send to the first battery module a signal in dependence on the signal from the primary controller to control the voltage of the battery assembly (¶[75] “Each of the control units causes a corresponding one of the storage batteries to output current having magnitude indicated by the current target value”).
Regarding Claim 19, Iida in view of Kessler Martin teaches the battery system according to claim 1.
Iida further teaches wherein the battery assembly is a first battery (92A),
wherein the battery system further comprises a set of second battery assemblies, including one or more second battery assemblies (92B),
wherein the second battery assemblies are connectable in parallel with the first battery assembly to the bus (95) (see Fig. 2),
wherein the bus is a common bus (95),
wherein the battery system is configured to be operable, during charging or discharging, to distribute a common current delivered to or from the common bus to the first and second battery assemblies (¶[8] “a charge and discharge control device that controls an output value indicating magnitude of current or power which each of storage batteries connected in parallel to a DC bus outputs when charging or discharging”).
Regarding Claim 20, Iida in view of Kessler Martin teaches the battery system according to claim 19.
Iida further teaches wherein the battery system comprises, for each of the second battery assemblies, a battery arrangement (see Fig. 2),
wherein each battery arrangement is arranged inside the respective battery assembly or connected in series with the respective battery assembly to the common bus (see Fig. 2 where storage battery and DC/DC converters are located inside 92A and 92B),
wherein each battery arrangement comprises a first battery module (first battery pack inside storage battery, see Fig. 2) and a slave control unit (201),
wherein each battery assembly (92B) comprises one or more further battery modules (190, 191, 192) connected in series with the respective first battery module (see battery packs in Fig. 2), which further battery modules are configured to constantly, statically and non-controllably contribute to the voltage over the battery assembly (¶[63] “Moreover, the storage battery may have one or more battery packs that are connected in series or parallel”; there is no indication that the battery packs can be controlled, therefore it assumed they are conventional battery modules that always output a fixed voltage),
wherein each slave control unit (201) is configured to receive, from the master control unit (102), a first target value related to a first current to be delivered at, such as to or from, the respective battery assembly (¶[73] “The coordination unit 102 generates, based on a bus voltage value and a target voltage value, coordination information that is information for calculating a current value that each of storage batteries is caused to output… coordination information generated by the coordination unit 102 is simultaneously transmitted to all of the string current calculating units”),
and/or a second target value related to a voltage over the common bus,
wherein each battery arrangement (converter 201 combined with storage battery 94B) is connectable to the master control unit (102) for communication of the first target value and/or the second target value (see Fig. 4, ¶[67] “Here, the coordination unit 102 can transmit the coordination information to each of the DC-DC converter 101 and the DC-DC converter 201, using a given communication path that is wired or wireless”).
Kessler Martin further teaches wherein each slave control unit (6) is configured to adjust voltage over the respective first battery module (30) to steer the first current towards the first target value, and/or to steer the voltage over the common bus towards the second target value, by adjusting a first voltage over the first battery module (¶[30] One or more of the energy storage modules 3 can be configured as energy storage module 30. The energy storage modules 30 are in this case used as internal generation modules for compensation currents in the energy storage device 10”, see Figs. 2 and 3 for adjusting voltage),
- wherein each first battery module is configured to receive, from the respective slave control unit, a first signal representing the first voltage to be output over the first battery module (¶[46] “The current control signal can be fed into a pulse width modulation device 4, which is coupled to the closed-loop control circuit 6, and which is designed to actuate the coupling device 7 or the coupling elements 7a, 7b, 7c, 7d of at least one of the energy storage modules 30”),
- wherein the first signal is configurable to represent a range of voltages capable of being output over the respective first battery module (¶[39] “By virtue of the coupling elements 7a, 7b, 7c, 7d, the output voltage of the energy supply string can be varied in steps from a negative maximum value up to a positive maximum value via suitable actuation. The graduation of the voltage level in this case results depending on the graduation of the individual energy storage cell modules 5”),
- wherein each slave control unit is configured to determine the respective first signal based on the first target value and/or the second target value, and to send the first signal to the respective first battery module (see ¶[46] quoted above).
Regarding Claim 21, Iida in view of Kessler Martin teaches the battery system according to claim 19.
Iida further teaches wherein the first battery assembly (92A) comprises the master control unit (102),
wherein the master control unit is configured to:
obtain a measure of the common current (¶[76] “In more detail, the coordination unit 102 includes a bus voltage obtaining unit 104”),
distribute the common current equally among the set of second battery assemblies ¶[96] “When the storage batteries are caused to output current having magnitude indicated by the calculated charge and discharge current value, the current ratio calculating unit 122 calculates a current ratio indicating a ratio between current values to be output by the storage batteries”; The current will be distributed equally to all batteries having the same SOC/SOH),
and to obtain the first target value, and send the first target value to the respective slave control unit (¶[73] “The coordination unit 102 generates, based on a bus voltage value and a target voltage value, coordination information that is information for calculating a current value that each of storage batteries is caused to output… coordination information generated by the coordination unit 102 is simultaneously transmitted to all of the string current calculating units”, see Fig. 3).
Regarding Claim 22, Iida in view of Kessler Martin teaches the battery system according to claim 19,
Iida further teaches wherein the master control unit is configured to determine the first target value by assigning a portion of the common current to the first battery assembly based on a state of charge of the first battery assembly in relation to an average state of charge of the first battery assembly and the set of second battery assemblies (¶[97] “the current ratio calculating unit 122 may calculate the current ratio based on at least one of a condition and a charge level of each storage battery. Here, information indicating the condition of the storage battery is considered as a value such as a State of Health (SOH), the number of cycles of a storage battery, and an operation time. In addition, information indicating the charge level of the storage battery is considered as a value such as a State of Charge (SOC)).
Regarding Claim 23, Iida in view of Kessler Martin teaches the battery system according to claim 19.
Iida further teaches wherein the battery system is configured to distribute the common current to the first and second battery assemblies in dependence on a respective open source voltage value (Vi, V2) of the battery assemblies and/or in dependence on a respective internal resistance value (R1, R2) of the battery assemblies (¶[97] “the current ratio calculating unit 122 may calculate the current ratio based on at least one of a condition and a charge level of each storage battery. Here, information indicating the condition of the storage battery is considered as a value such as a State of Health (SOH), the number of cycles of a storage battery, and an operation time. In addition, information indicating the charge level of the storage battery is considered as a value such as a State of Charge (SOC)”; batteries with higher state of charge will have a higher open source voltage).
Regarding Claim 24, Iida in view of Kessler Martin teaches the battery system according to claim 20.
Iida further teaches wherein the distribution of the current between the battery assemblies is at least partially given by the respective voltages of the first battery modules (see ¶[97] quoted above, the voltage of each first battery module contributes to the overall voltage of the battery assembly).
Claim(s) 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iida et al. (US 20140084872 A1) in view of Kessler Martin (US 20150137764 A1) further in view of Kinoshita et al. (US 6157165 A).
Regarding Claim 18, Iida in view of Kessler Martin teaches the battery system according to claim 1.
Iida in view of Kessler Martin does not teach wherein the first battery module comprises a filter to reduce ripple in the output voltage of the first battery module.
Kinoshita teaches wherein the first battery module (Fig. 13) comprises a filter (204, 205) to reduce ripple voltage and ripple current in the output voltage of the first battery module (203) ([Col 17 Lines 62-67, Col 18 Lines 1-3] “Thereby, the high frequency components of the electric power, which produce bad effects on the battery 201 and the battery control circuit 202, are not allowed to pass through the battery 201 and the battery control circuit 202, but are by-passed by the capacitor 205. On the other hand, direct current power necessary for the battery 201 and the battery control circuit 202 can readily pass through the battery 201 and the battery control circuit 202 via the inductor 204”).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Iida in view of Kessler Martin to incorporate the teachings of Kinoshita to provide wherein the first battery module comprises a filter to reduce ripple voltage and ripple current in the output voltage of the first battery module in order to avoid increased temperature and improve the life and performance of the battery, as suggested by Kinoshita (see Col 18 Lines 4-14).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
/A.B./Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/JULIAN D HUFFMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859