DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species A, claims 1-4, 6-7, 10-13, 18-20, and 22-27, in the reply filed on 1/26/2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that both species share the features recited in generic claim 1. This is not found persuasive because the presence of a generic claim alone does not alone demonstrate that identified species share the same or corresponding special technical feature.
Furthermore, the analysis was based on the different arrangements of the second insulating layer found in the species, where figures 7-13c and 19-25c demonstrate different source and drain electrode geometries resulting from this.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 10 and 25-27 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to nonelected Species B, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Species B demonstrates “a boundary of an orthographic projection of the channel region on the substrate base is located within the range boundary of the orthographic projection of the second insulating layer on the substrate base” recited in these claims, and “active via” as recited in claims 20 and 26. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 1/26/2025.
Information Disclosure Statement
Acknowledgement is made of Applicant’s Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) form PTO-1449. The IDS has been considered.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore,
the “a thickness of the first active layer corresponding to the first region is less than a thickness of the first active layer corresponding to the second region” as recited in claims 1-2 and 23,
“a thickness of the metal oxide layer corresponding to the second electrode plate is less than the thickness of the first active layer corresponding to the second region” as recited in claim 18, and
“the second metal layer comprises the first electrode plate of the storage capacitor and the metal oxide layer comprises the second electrode plate of the storage capacitor; or the first metal layer comprises the first electrode plate of the storage capacitor and the second metal layer comprises the second electrode plate of the storage capacitor” as recited in claim 15,
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
For claim 15, it appears that the second electrode plate is only shown formed of a metal oxide, as the figures showing the fabrication sequence of the device show the second electrode plate being doped.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
(Re Claim 19) “the first power supply line” and “the first electrode plate” lack antecedence.
During examination, these were respectively read as “a first power supply line” and “a first electrode plate”.
(Re Claim 24) “the first electrode plate” lacks antecedence.
During examination, it was understood that “a transparent first electrode plate” and “the first electrode plate” refer to the same element.
Rejection 1/3
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-7, 11-12, 15, and 22-23 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2014/0291636), Xie (US 2016/0351643), and Oh et al. (US 2006/0008932).
(Re Claim 1) Kim teaches a display substrate comprising a first metal layer (201+101a; Fig. 3E), a metal oxide layer (104; Fig. 3E, ¶99), a second insulating layer (103; Fig. 3E) and a second metal layer (101b+115a+115b+203; Fig. 3E) which are stacked on a substrate base (100; Fig. 3E); wherein the metal oxide layer comprises a first active layer (104+104a; Fig. 3E), and the second metal layer comprises a first gate electrode (101b; Fig. 3E), a first source electrode (115a; Fig. 3E), and a first drain electrode (115b; Fig. 3E); the first active layer comprises a channel region (104a; Fig. 3E), a source transition region (first and second regions on the left; Fig. 3E markup) and a drain transition region (first and second regions on the right; Fig. 3E markup) located at two sides of the channel region, a source connection region located at a side of the source transition region away from the channel region and a drain connection region located at a side of the drain transition region away from the channel region (Fig. 3E markup); the source connection region is connected with the first source electrode, and the drain connection region is connected with the first drain electrode (Fig. 3E); the source transition region and the drain transition region each comprise a first region (where the boundary of the first region with either the source or drain connection region is situated directly on the midpoint of the part of the respective first source or drain electrode that contacts the first active layer, and the boundary of the first region with the second region is set so that the width of the first region is smaller than that of the second region; Fig. 3E markup) away from the channel region and a second region close to the channel region (Fig. 3E markup). Kim does not explicitly teach a display substrate wherein a conductivity of the first active layer corresponding to the first region is higher than a conductivity of the first active layer corresponding to the second region, or oxygen content of the first active layer corresponding to the first region is less than oxygen content of the first active layer corresponding to the second region, or a thickness of the first active layer corresponding to the first region is less than a thickness of the first active layer corresponding to the second region.
Xie teaches performing two conductorization treatments (Fig. 2, 4, and 5), with the second performed through via openings (8; Fig. 4 and 5) for a source (3; Fig. 6) and drain electrode (4; Fig. 6), thereby forming a region (22; Fig. 5) having a different ion concentration than adjacent regions (Fig. 2 and 5, ¶¶31, 54).
Oh teaches performing two conductorization treatments (Fig. 3B and 3C) resulting in regions of a first active layer (35; Fig. 3B and 3C) having different conductivities (Fig. 3C, ¶15).
A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to perform a second conductorization treatment using via openings for the first source and drain electrode (Fig. 3D markup) to form double conductorized regions overlapping with the via openings having different ion concentrations from the singly conductorized regions (Fig. 3E markup), as taught by Xie, in order to repair damage to the surface of the active layer that is exposed by the via openings (Xie: ¶25). Furthermore, a PHOSITA would find it obvious to perform the second conductorization treatment such that the double conductorized regions have a conductivity higher than a conductivity of other parts of the first active layer as a consequence of performing a second ion implantation having the same conductivity type (Oh: ¶15), which predictably results in a functional, conductorized region of a first active layer and provides a lower overall resistance in the first active layer (Oh: ¶15). See Ruiz v. A.B. Chance Co., 357 F.3d 1270, 69 USPQ2d 1686 (Fed. Cir. 2004).
From the Fig. 3E markup showing the first and second regions, modified Kim then teaches a conductivity of the first active layer corresponding to the first region is higher than a conductivity of the first active layer corresponding to the second region.
(Re Claim 2) Modified Kim teaches the display substrate according to claim 1, wherein the conductivity of the first active layer corresponding to the first region is higher than a conductivity of the first active layer corresponding to the source connection region and the drain connection region (see rejection of claim 1 and divisions of regions in the first active layer), or the oxygen content of the first active layer corresponding to the first region is less than oxygen content of the first active layer corresponding to the source connection region and the drain connection region, or the thickness of the first active layer corresponding to the first region is less than a thickness of the first active layer corresponding to the source connection region and the drain connection region.
(Re Claim 3) Modified Kim teaches the display substrate according to claim 1, wherein a width of the first region is less than a width of the source connection region (as defined; Fig. 3E markup), or the width of the first region is less than a width of the drain connection region.
(Re Claim 4) Modified Kim teaches the display substrate according to claim 1, wherein a width of the first region is less than a width of the second region (as defined; Fig. 3E markup), or a width of the first region is less than a width of the channel region.
(Re Claim 6) Modified Kim teaches the display substrate according to claim 1, wherein an orthographic projection of at least portion of the first region in the source transition region on the substrate base does not overlap with an orthographic projection of the first metal layer on the substrate base (Fig. 3E markup), or an orthographic projection of at least portion of the first region in the drain transition region on the substrate base does not overlap with the orthographic projection of the first metal layer on the substrate base.
(Re Claim 7) Modified Kim teaches the display substrate according to claim 1, wherein the first active layer further comprises a source outside region (same extent as the source connection region; Fig. 3E markup) located at a side of the source connection region away from the channel region and a drain outside region (same extent as the drain connection region; Fig. 3E markup) located at a side of the drain connection region away from the channel region; wherein a width of the first region is less than a width of the source outside region (as define; Fig. 3E markup), or the width of the first region is less than a width of the drain outside region; and/or a width of the second region is greater than a width of the source outside region, or the width of the second region is greater than a width of the drain outside region; and/or a width of the source outside region is less than a width of the source connection region, or a width of the drain outside region is less than a width of the drain connection region.
(Re Claim 11) Modified Kim teaches the display substrate according to claim 1, wherein the display substrate comprises a plurality of sub-pixels arranged regularly (¶¶6, 35), each sub-pixel comprises a pixel driving circuit (Fig. 1, ¶34) and an organic electroluminescent diode (OLED; Fig. 1, ¶38) electrically connected with the pixel driving circuit, the pixel driving circuit comprises a storage capacitor comprising a first electrode plate (201; Fig. 3C) and a second electrode plate (203; Fig. 3C), and an orthographic projection of the first electrode plate on the substrate base and an orthographic projection of the second electrode plate on the substrate base have an overlapping region (Fig. 3C).
(Re Claim 12) Modified Kim teaches the display substrate according to claim 11, wherein the pixel driving circuit further comprises a first transistor (DR-Tr; Fig. 2), a second transistor (SW-Tr; Fig. 2), and a third transistor (S-Tr; Fig. 2); a gate electrode of the first transistor is coupled to a second electrode of the second transistor (see Fig. 2 markup for gate and electrode designations), a first electrode of the first transistor is coupled to a first power supply line (VDD; Fig. 2), a second electrode of the first transistor is coupled to a first electrode of the organic electroluminescent diode, and a second electrode of the organic electroluminescent diode is coupled to a second power supply line (VSS; Fig. 2); a gate electrode of the second transistor is coupled to a first scan line (Scan; Fig. 2), and a first electrode of the second transistor is coupled to a data line (Vdata; Fig. 2); a gate electrode of the third transistor is coupled to a second scan line (Sense; Fig. 2), a first electrode of the third transistor is coupled to a compensation line (Vref; Fig. 2), and a second electrode of the third transistor is coupled to the second electrode of the first transistor; and a first electrode of the storage capacitor (203; Fig. 1, 2, and 3E) is coupled to the gate electrode of the first transistor (Fig. 1, 2, and 3E), and a second electrode of the storage capacitor (201; Fig. 1, 2, and 3E) is coupled to the second electrode of the first transistor (Fig. 1, 2, and 3E).
(Re Claim 15) Modified Kim teaches the display substrate according to claim 11, wherein the first metal layer comprises the first electrode plate of the storage capacitor and the metal oxide layer comprises the second electrode plate of the storage capacitor; or the second metal layer comprises the first electrode plate of the storage capacitor and the metal oxide layer comprises the second electrode plate of the storage capacitor; or the first metal layer comprises the first electrode plate of the storage capacitor and the second metal layer comprises the second electrode plate of the storage capacitor (as defined; see claim 1).
(Re Claim 22) Modified Kim teaches a display apparatus, comprising the display substrate of claim 1 (¶¶6, 13).
(Re Claim 23) Kim teaches a preparation method for a display substrate, comprising: forming a first metal layer (201+101a; Fig. 3E) and a metal oxide layer (104; Fig. 3E, ¶99) on a substrate base sequentially (Fig. 3A to 3C), wherein the metal oxide layer comprises a first active layer (104+104a; Fig. 3C); and forming a second insulating layer (103; Fig. 3C) and a second metal layer (101b+115a+115b+203; Fig. 3E) sequentially, and performing a conductorization treatment (Fig. 3C), and wherein the second metal layer comprises a first gate electrode (101b), a first source electrode (115a), and a first drain electrode (115b), the source transition region and the drain transition region each comprise a first region away from the channel region and a second region close to the channel region (Fig. 3E markup).
Kim does not explicitly teach a preparation method for a display substrate comprising: forming, by performing two conductorization treatments, a channel region, a source transition region and a drain transition region located at two sides of the channel region, a source connection region located at a side of the source transition region away from the channel region and a drain connection region located at a side of the drain transition region away from the channel region in the first active layer;
the source connection region is connected with the first source electrode, and the drain connection region is connected with the first drain electrode;
and a conductivity of the first active layer corresponding to the first region is higher than a conductivity of the first active layer corresponding to the second region, or oxygen content of the first active layer corresponding to the first region is less than oxygen content of the first active layer corresponding to the second region, or a thickness of the first active layer corresponding to the first region is less than a thickness of the first active layer corresponding to the second region.
Xie teaches performing two conductorization treatments (Fig. 2, 4, and 5), with the second performed through via openings (8; Fig. 4 and 5) for a source (3; Fig. 6) and drain electrode (4; Fig. 6), thereby forming a region (22; Fig. 5) having a different ion concentration than adjacent regions (Fig. 2 and 5, ¶¶31, 54).
Oh teaches performing two conductorization treatments (Fig. 3B and 3C) resulting in regions of a first active layer (35; Fig. 3B and 3C) having different conductivities (Fig. 3C, ¶15).
A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to perform a second conductorization treatment using via openings for the first source and drain electrode (Fig. 3D markup) to form double conductorized regions overlapping with the via openings having different ion concentrations from the singly conductorized regions (Fig. 3E markup), as taught by Xie, in order to repair damage to the surface of the active layer that is exposed by the via openings (Xie: ¶25). Furthermore, a PHOSITA would find it obvious to perform the second conductorization treatment such that the double conductorized regions have a conductivity higher than a conductivity of other parts of the first active layer as a consequence of performing a second ion implantation having the same conductivity type (Oh: ¶15), which predictably results in a functional, conductorized region of a first active layer and provides a lower overall resistance in the first active layer (Oh: ¶15). See Ruiz v. A.B. Chance Co., 357 F.3d 1270, 69 USPQ2d 1686 (Fed. Cir. 2004).
From the Fig. 3E markup showing the first and second regions, modified Kim then teaches a conductivity of the first active layer corresponding to the first region is higher than a conductivity of the first active layer corresponding to the second region, and the source connection region is connected with the first source electrode, and the drain connection region is connected with the first drain electrode, and where the boundary of the first region with either the source or drain connection region is situated directly on the midpoint of the part of the respective first source or drain electrode that contacts the first active layer, and the boundary of the first region with the second region is set so that the width of the first region is smaller than that of the second region.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2014/0291636), Xie (US 2016/0351643), Oh et al. (US 2006/0008932) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Liu et al. (US 2019/0123121), and Park et al. (US 2004/0135520).
(Re Claim 19) Modified Kim teaches the display substrate according to claim 1, wherein the first metal layer comprises a first connection electrode (101a; Fig. 3E) connected (through 102; Fig. 3E) with the first electrode plate (201; Fig. 3E); and
an orthographic projection of the first connection electrode on the substrate base and the orthographic projection of the channel region of the first active layer on the substrate base have an overlapping region (Fig. 3E).
Modified Kim does not explicitly teach the display substrate wherein the first metal layer comprises the first power supply line, and a transparent conductive thin film is disposed between the first metal layer and the substrate base.
Park teaches forming a second gate electrode (222; Fig. 8B) and a first power supply line (232; Fig. 8B) on the same level.
Liu teaches forming the plates of a capacitor (41 and 92; Fig. 11) using a transparent conductive oxide material (¶¶68, 100).
A PHOSITA would find it obvious to form a first power supply line on the same level as 101a of the first metal layer of Kim, as taught by Park (Park: Fig. 7, ¶49), in order to predictably provide a power source for transistors that are part of a pixel circuit, and to reduce the number of processing steps involved by forming both metal features simultaneously. See Ruiz v. A.B. Chance Co., 357 F.3d 1270, 69 USPQ2d 1686 (Fed. Cir. 2004).
Additionally, a PHOSITA would find it obvious to form the capacitor electrodes 201 and 203 of Kim from IGZO as taught by Liu, as conductive metal oxides and metals are both suitable for forming capacitor electrodes (Liu: ¶¶7, 100). The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945). "Reading a list and selecting a known compound to meet known requirements is no more ingenious than selecting the last piece to put in the last opening in a jig-saw puzzle." 325 U.S. at 335, 65 USPQ at 301.). See also In re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960).
Furthermore, nothing precludes the first metal layer from containing a metal oxide film, as a metal oxide still comprises metal.
This results in the first metal layer comprising a first power supply line (Park: 232), and a transparent conductive thin film (the film material the first electrode plate 201 is comprised of) disposed between the first metal layer and the substrate base (Fig. 1; Fig. 3C markup demonstrates that because 201 and 101a are on the same level, a line can be drawn from 101a to 100 that goes through 201)
Rejection 2/3
Claims 1, 19, and 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2014/0291636), Xie (US 2016/0351643), Oh et al. (US 2006/0008932), Liu et al. (US 2019/0123121), and Park et al. (US 2004/0135520).
(Re Claim 1) Kim teaches a display substrate comprising a first metal layer (201+101a; Fig. 3E), a metal oxide layer (104+104a; Fig. 3E, ¶99), a second insulating layer (103; Fig. 3E) and a second metal layer (101b+115a+115b+203; Fig. 3E) which are stacked on a substrate base (100; Fig. 3E); wherein the metal oxide layer comprises a first active layer (104+104a; Fig. 3E), and the second metal layer comprises a first gate electrode (101b; Fig. 3E), a first source electrode (115a; Fig. 3E), and a first drain electrode (115b; Fig. 3E); the first active layer comprises a channel region (104a; Fig. 3E), a source transition region (first and second regions on the left; Fig. 3E markup) and a drain transition region (first and second regions on the right; Fig. 3E markup) located at two sides of the channel region, a source connection region located at a side of the source transition region away from the channel region and a drain connection region located at a side of the drain transition region away from the channel region (Fig. 3E markup); the source connection region is connected with the first source electrode, and the drain connection region is connected with the first drain electrode (Fig. 3E); the source transition region and the drain transition region each comprise a first region (where the boundary of the first region with either the source or drain connection region is situated directly on the midpoint of the part of the respective first source or drain electrode that contacts the first active layer, and the boundary of the first region with the second region is set so that the width of the first region is smaller than that of the second region; Fig. 3E markup) away from the channel region and a second region close to the channel region (Fig. 3E markup). Kim does not explicitly teach a display substrate wherein a conductivity of the first active layer corresponding to the first region is higher than a conductivity of the first active layer corresponding to the second region, or oxygen content of the first active layer corresponding to the first region is less than oxygen content of the first active layer corresponding to the second region, or a thickness of the first active layer corresponding to the first region is less than a thickness of the first active layer corresponding to the second region.
Xie teaches performing two conductorization treatments (Fig. 2, 4, and 5), with the second performed through via openings (8; Fig. 4 and 5) for a source (3; Fig. 6) and drain electrode (4; Fig. 6), thereby forming a region (22; Fig. 5) having a different ion concentration than adjacent regions (Fig. 2 and 5, ¶¶31, 54).
Oh teaches performing two conductorization treatments (Fig. 3B and 3C) resulting in regions of a first active layer (35; Fig. 3B and 3C) having different conductivities (Fig. 3C, ¶15).
A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to perform a second conductorization treatment using via openings for the first source and drain electrode (Fig. 3D markup) to form double conductorized regions overlapping with the via openings having different ion concentrations from the singly conductorized regions (Fig. 3E markup), as taught by Xie, in order to repair damage to the surface of the active layer that is exposed by the via openings (Xie: ¶25). Furthermore, a PHOSITA would find it obvious to perform the second conductorization treatment such that the double conductorized regions have a conductivity higher than a conductivity of other parts of the first active layer as a consequence of performing a second ion implantation having the same conductivity type (Oh: ¶15), which predictably results in a functional, conductorized region of a first active layer and provides a lower overall resistance in the first active layer (Oh: ¶15). See Ruiz v. A.B. Chance Co., 357 F.3d 1270, 69 USPQ2d 1686 (Fed. Cir. 2004).
From the Fig. 3E markup showing the first and second regions, modified Kim then teaches a conductivity of the first active layer corresponding to the first region is higher than a conductivity of the first active layer corresponding to the second region.
Park teaches forming a second gate electrode (222; Fig. 8B) and a first power supply line (232; Fig. 8B) on the same level.
Liu teaches forming the plates of a capacitor (41 and 92; Fig. 11) using a transparent conductive oxide material (¶¶68, 100).
A PHOSITA would find it obvious to form a first power supply line on the same level as 101a of the first metal layer of Kim, as taught by Park (Park: Fig. 7, ¶49), in order to predictably provide a power source for transistors that are part of a pixel circuit, and to reduce the number of processing steps involved by forming both metal features simultaneously. See Ruiz v. A.B. Chance Co., 357 F.3d 1270, 69 USPQ2d 1686 (Fed. Cir. 2004).
Additionally, a PHOSITA would find it obvious to form the capacitor electrodes 201 and 203 of Kim from IGZO as taught by Liu, as conductive metal oxides and metals are both suitable for forming capacitor electrodes (Liu: ¶¶7, 100). The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945). "Reading a list and selecting a known compound to meet known requirements is no more ingenious than selecting the last piece to put in the last opening in a jig-saw puzzle." 325 U.S. at 335, 65 USPQ at 301.). See also In re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960).
For modified Kim then, the first metal layer comprises 101a from Kim and first power supply line 232 from Liu; the second metal layer comprises 101b+115a+115b from Kim; and the metal oxide layer comprises (104+104a+203).
(Re Claim 19) Modified Kim teaches the display substrate according to claim 1, wherein the first metal layer comprises the first power supply line and a first connection electrode (101a; Fig. 3C) connected (through 102; Fig. 3C) with the first electrode plate (201; Fig. 3C), and a transparent conductive thin film (201 is IGZO; see rejection of claim 1; Fig. 3C) is disposed between the first metal layer and the substrate base (Fig. 1; Fig. 3C markup demonstrates that because 201 and 101a are on the same level, a line can be drawn from 101a to 100 that goes through 201); and an orthographic projection of the first connection electrode on the substrate base and the orthographic projection of the channel region of the first active layer on the substrate base have an overlapping region (Fig. 3C).
(Re Claim 23) Kim teaches a preparation method for a display substrate, comprising: forming a first metal layer (201+101a; Fig. 3E) and a metal oxide layer (104+202; Fig. 3E, ¶99) on a substrate base sequentially (Fig. 3A to 3C), wherein the metal oxide layer comprises a first active layer (104+104a; Fig. 3C); and forming a second insulating layer (103; Fig. 3C) and a second metal layer (101b+115a+115b+203; Fig. 3E) sequentially, and performing a conductorization treatment (Fig. 3C), and wherein the second metal layer comprises a first gate electrode (101b), a first source electrode (115a), and a first drain electrode (115b), the source transition region and the drain transition region each comprise a first region away from the channel region and a second region close to the channel region (Fig. 3E markup).
Kim does not explicitly teach a preparation method for a display substrate comprising: forming, by performing two conductorization treatments, a channel region, a source transition region and a drain transition region located at two sides of the channel region, a source connection region located at a side of the source transition region away from the channel region and a drain connection region located at a side of the drain transition region away from the channel region in the first active layer;
the source connection region is connected with the first source electrode, and the drain connection region is connected with the first drain electrode;
and a conductivity of the first active layer corresponding to the first region is higher than a conductivity of the first active layer corresponding to the second region, or oxygen content of the first active layer corresponding to the first region is less than oxygen content of the first active layer corresponding to the second region, or a thickness of the first active layer corresponding to the first region is less than a thickness of the first active layer corresponding to the second region.
Xie teaches performing two conductorization treatments (Fig. 2, 4, and 5), with the second performed through via openings (8; Fig. 4 and 5) for a source (3; Fig. 6) and drain electrode (4; Fig. 6), thereby forming a region (22; Fig. 5) having a different ion concentration than adjacent regions (Fig. 2 and 5, ¶¶31, 54).
Oh teaches performing two conductorization treatments (Fig. 3B and 3C) resulting in regions of a first active layer (35; Fig. 3B and 3C) having different conductivities (Fig. 3C, ¶15).
A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to perform a second conductorization treatment using via openings for the first source and drain electrode (Fig. 3D markup) to form double conductorized regions overlapping with the via openings having different ion concentrations from the singly conductorized regions (Fig. 3E markup), as taught by Xie, in order to repair damage to the surface of the active layer that is exposed by the via openings (Xie: ¶25). Furthermore, a PHOSITA would find it obvious to perform the second conductorization treatment such that the double conductorized regions have a conductivity higher than a conductivity of other parts of the first active layer as a consequence of performing a second ion implantation having the same conductivity type (Oh: ¶15), which predictably results in a functional, conductorized region of a first active layer and provides a lower overall resistance in the first active layer (Oh: ¶15). See Ruiz v. A.B. Chance Co., 357 F.3d 1270, 69 USPQ2d 1686 (Fed. Cir. 2004).
From the Fig. 3E markup showing the first and second regions, modified Kim then teaches a conductivity of the first active layer corresponding to the first region is higher than a conductivity of the first active layer corresponding to the second region, and the source connection region is connected with the first source electrode, and the drain connection region is connected with the first drain electrode, and where the boundary of the first region with either the source or drain connection region is situated directly on the midpoint of the part of the respective first source or drain electrode that contacts the first active layer, and the boundary of the first region with the second region is set so that the width of the first region is smaller than that of the second region.
Park teaches forming a second gate electrode (222; Fig. 8B) and a first power supply line (232; Fig. 8B) on the same level.
Liu teaches forming the plates of a capacitor (41 and 92; Fig. 11) using a transparent conductive oxide material (¶¶68, 100).
A PHOSITA would find it obvious to form a first power supply line on the same level as 101a of the first metal layer of Kim, as taught by Park (Park: Fig. 7, ¶49), in order to predictably provide a power source for transistors that are part of a pixel circuit, and to reduce the number of processing steps involved by forming both metal features simultaneously. See Ruiz v. A.B. Chance Co., 357 F.3d 1270, 69 USPQ2d 1686 (Fed. Cir. 2004).
Additionally, a PHOSITA would find it obvious to form the capacitor electrodes 201 and 203 of Kim from IGZO as taught by Liu, as conductive metal oxides and metals are both suitable for forming capacitor electrodes (Liu: ¶¶7, 100). The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945). "Reading a list and selecting a known compound to meet known requirements is no more ingenious than selecting the last piece to put in the last opening in a jig-saw puzzle." 325 U.S. at 335, 65 USPQ at 301.). See also In re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960).
For modified Kim then, the first metal layer comprises 101a from Kim and first power supply line 232 from Liu; second metal layer comprises 101b+115a+115b from Kim, and the metal oxide layer comprises (104+104a+203).
(Re Claim 24) Modified Kim teaches the preparation method for the display substrate according to claim 23, wherein the forming the first metal layer and the metal oxide layer on the substrate base sequentially comprises: forming a transparent first electrode plate (201; Fig. 3A) and the first metal layer (Fig. 3A) on the substrate base, wherein a transparent conductive thin film (the film forming 201; Fig. 3A) is disposed between the first metal layer and the substrate base (Fig. 3C); the first metal layer comprises a first power supply line (Liu: 232) and a first connection electrode (101a; Fig. 3C), the first connection electrode is connected (through 102; Fig. 3C) with the first electrode plate (Fig. 3C); forming a first insulating layer (102; Fig. 3B) covering the first electrode plate and the first metal layer; and forming the metal oxide layer (Fig. 3B) on the first insulating layer; wherein the metal oxide layer comprises the first active layer and a second electrode plate (202; Fig. 3E), an orthographic projection of the second electrode plate on the substrate base and an orthographic projection of the first electrode plate on the substrate base have an overlapping region (Fig. 3E), and an orthographic projection of the channel region of the first active layer on the substrate base and an orthographic projection of the first connection electrode on the substrate base have an overlapping region (Fig. 3E).
Rejection 3/3
Claims 1-4, 6-7, 11, 15, and 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beak et al. (US 2018/0182836), Ge (US 2018/0188618), Xie (US 2016/0351643), and Oh et al. (US 2006/0008932).
(Re Claim 1) Beak teaches a display substrate comprising a first metal layer (142+144+160; Fig. 4F), an oxide layer (114+146; ¶¶35, 47), a second insulating layer (112; Fig. 4E) and a second metal layer (106+108+110; Fig. 4E) which are stacked on a substrate base (101; Fig. 4E); wherein the oxide layer comprises a first active layer (114; Fig. 4E), and the second metal layer comprises a first gate electrode (106; Fig. 4E), a first source electrode (108; Fig. 4E), and a first drain electrode (110; Fig. 4E); the first active layer comprises a channel region (part of 114 contacting 112; Fig. 4E), a source transition region (first region and second region on the left; Fig. 4I markup) and a drain transition region (first region and second region on the right, where the boundary of the first region, for either transition region, with either the source or drain connection region is situated directly on the midpoint of the part of the respective first source or drain electrode that contacts the first active layer; Fig. 4I markup) located at two sides of the channel region, a source connection region located at a side of the source transition region away from the channel region (Fig. 4I markup) and a drain connection region (Fig. 4I markup) located at a side of the drain transition region away from the channel region; the source connection region is connected with the first source electrode (Fig. 4I markup), and the drain connection region is connected with the first drain electrode (Fig. 4I markup); the source transition region and the drain transition region each comprise a first region away from the channel region and a second region close to the channel region (where the boundary of the first region with either the source or drain connection region is situated directly on the midpoint of the part of the respective first source or drain electrode that contacts the first active layer, and the boundary of the first region with the second region is set so that the width of the first region is smaller than that of the second region; Fig. 4I markup)
Beak does not explicitly teach a display substrate wherein the oxide layer is a metal oxide layer; and
a conductivity of the first active layer corresponding to the first region is higher than a conductivity of the first active layer corresponding to the second region, or oxygen content of the first active layer corresponding to the first region is less than oxygen content of the first active layer corresponding to the second region, or a thickness of the first active layer corresponding to the first region is less than a thickness of the first active layer corresponding to the second region.
Xie teaches performing two conductorization treatments (Fig. 2, 4, and 5), with the second performed through via openings (8; Fig. 4 and 5) for a source (3; Fig. 6) and drain electrode (4; Fig. 6), thereby forming a region (22; Fig. 5) having a different ion concentration than adjacent regions (Fig. 2 and 5, ¶¶31, 54).
Oh teaches performing two conductorization treatments (Fig. 3B and 3C) resulting in regions of a first active layer (35; Fig. 3B and 3C) having different conductivities (Fig. 3C, ¶15).
A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to perform a second conductorization treatment using via openings for the first source and drain electrode (Fig. 3D markup) to form double conductorized regions overlapping with the via openings having different ion concentrations from the singly conductorized regions (Fig. 3E markup), as taught by Xie, in order to repair damage to the surface of the active layer that is exposed by the via openings (Xie: ¶25). Furthermore, a PHOSITA would find it obvious to perform the second conductorization treatment such that the double conductorized regions have a conductivity higher than a conductivity of other parts of the first active layer as a consequence of performing a second ion implantation having the same conductivity type (Oh: ¶15), which predictably results in a functional, conductorized region of a first active layer and provides a lower overall resistance in the first active layer (Oh: ¶15). See Ruiz v. A.B. Chance Co., 357 F.3d 1270, 69 USPQ2d 1686 (Fed. Cir. 2004).
From the Fig. 4I markup showing the first and second regions, modified Beak then teaches a conductivity of the first active layer corresponding to the first region is higher than a conductivity of the first active layer corresponding to the second region.
Additionally, Ge teaches an active layer that utilizes an oxide semiconductor that is a metal oxide semiconductor.
A PHOSITA would find it obvious to use the metal oxide semiconductor material (IGZO; Ge: ¶31) for the oxide material of the oxide layer as currently defined, in order to take advantage of an increased electron mobility ratio (Ge: ¶40; Beak: ¶¶35, 47).
This results in the oxide layer becoming a metal oxide layer, as claimed.
(Re Claim 2) Modified Beak teaches the display substrate according to claim 1, wherein the conductivity of the first active layer corresponding to the first region is higher than a conductivity of the first active layer corresponding to the source connection region and the drain connection region (see the rejection of claim 1; Fig. 4I markup), or the oxygen content of the first active layer corresponding to the first region is less than oxygen content of the first active layer corresponding to the source connection region and the drain connection region, or the thickness of the first active layer corresponding to the first region is less than a thickness of the first active layer corresponding to the source connection region and the drain connection region.
(Re Claim 3) Modified Beak teaches the display substrate according to claim 1, wherein a width of the first region is less than a width of the source connection region (Fig. 4I markup), or the width of the first region is less than a width of the drain connection region.
(Re Claim 4) Modified Beak teaches the display substrate according to claim 1, wherein a width of the first region is less than a width of the second region (see the rejection of claim 1; Fig. 4I markup), or a width of the first region is less than a width of the channel region.
(Re Claim 6) Modified Beak teaches the display substrate according to claim 1, wherein an orthographic projection of at least portion of the first region in the source transition region on the substrate base does not overlap with an orthographic projection of the first metal layer on the substrate base, or an orthographic projection of at least portion of the first region in the drain transition region on the substrate base does not overlap with the orthographic projection of the first metal layer on the substrate base (Fig. 4I markup).
(Re Claim 7) Modified Beak teaches the display substrate according to claim 1, wherein the first active layer further comprises a source outside region (same extent as the source connection region; Fig. 4I markup) located at a side of the source connection region away from the channel region and a drain outside region (same extent as the drain connection region; Fig. 4I markup) located at a side of the drain connection region away from the channel region; wherein a width of the first region is less than a width of the source outside region (Fig. 4I markup), or the width of the first region is less than a width of the drain outside region (Fig. 4I markup); and/or a width of the second region is greater than a width of the source outside region, or the width of the second region is greater than a width of the drain outside region; and/or a width of the source outside region is less than a width of the source connection region, or a width of the drain outside region is less than a width of the drain connection region.
(Re Claim 11) Modifed Beak teaches the display substrate according to claim 1, wherein the display substrate comprises a plurality of sub-pixels arranged regularly (Fig. 3, ¶26), each sub-pixel comprises a pixel driving circuit and an organic electroluminescent diode electrically connected with the pixel driving circuit (Fig. 2 and 3, ¶¶26-27), the pixel driving circuit comprises a storage capacitor comprising a first electrode plate (142; Fig. 2) and a second electrode plate (146; Fig. 2), and an orthographic projection of the first electrode plate on the substrate base and an orthographic projection of the second electrode plate on the substrate base have an overlapping region (Fig. 2).
(Re Claim 15) Modified Beak teaches the display substrate according to claim 11, wherein the first metal layer comprises the first electrode plate of the storage capacitor and the metal oxide layer comprises the second electrode plate of the storage capacitor (Fig. 2); or the second metal layer comprises the first electrode plate of the storage capacitor and the metal oxide layer comprises the second electrode plate of the storage capacitor; or the first metal layer comprises the first electrode plate of the storage capacitor and the second metal layer comprises the second electrode plate of the storage capacitor.
(Re Claim 22) Modified Beak teaches a display apparatus (¶51), comprising the display substrate of claim 1.
(Re Claim 23) Beak teaches a preparation method for a display substrate, comprising: forming a first metal layer (142+144+160; Fig. 4F) and a metal oxide layer on a substrate base sequentially, wherein the metal oxide layer comprises a first active layer; and forming a second insulating layer and a second metal layer sequentially, and performing a conductorization treatment (Fig. 4E, ¶72), wherein the second metal layer comprises a first gate electrode, a first source electrode, and a first drain electrode, the source connection region is connected with the first source electrode, and the drain connection region is connected with the first drain electrode; the source transition region and the drain transition region each comprise a first region away from the channel region and a second region close to the channel region; and a conductivity of the first active layer corresponding to the first region is higher than a conductivity of the first active layer corresponding to the second region, or oxygen content of the first active layer corresponding to the first region is less than oxygen content of the first active layer corresponding to the second region, or a thickness of the first active layer corresponding to the first region is less than a thickness of the first active layer corresponding to the second region.
Beak does not explicitly teach a preparation method for a display substrate, comprising: forming, by performing two conductorization treatments, a channel region, a source transition region and a drain transition region located at two sides of the channel region, a source connection region located at a side of the source transition region away from the channel region and a drain connection region located at a side of the drain transition region away from the channel region in the first active layer; and
wherein the oxide layer is a metal oxide layer.
Xie teaches performing two conductorization treatments (Fig. 2, 4, and 5), with the second performed through via openings (8; Fig. 4 and 5) for a source (3; Fig. 6) and drain electrode (4; Fig. 6), thereby forming a region (22; Fig. 5) having a different ion concentration than adjacent regions (Fig. 2 and 5, ¶¶31, 54).
Oh teaches performing two conductorization treatments (Fig. 3B and 3C) resulting in regions of a first active layer (35; Fig. 3B and 3C) having different conductivities (Fig. 3C, ¶15).
A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to perform a second conductorization treatment using via openings for the first source and drain electrode (Fig. 3D markup) to form double conductorized regions overlapping with the via openings having different ion concentrations from the singly conductorized regions (Fig. 3E markup), as taught by Xie, in order to repair damage to the surface of the active layer that is exposed by the via openings (Xie: ¶25). Furthermore, a PHOSITA would find it obvious to perform the second conductorization treatment such that the double conductorized regions have a conductivity higher than a conductivity of other parts of the first active layer as a consequence of performing a second ion implantation having the same conductivity type (Oh: ¶15), which predictably results in a functional, conductorized region of a first active layer and provides a lower overall resistance in the first active layer (Oh: ¶15). See Ruiz v. A.B. Chance Co., 357 F.3d 1270, 69 USPQ2d 1686 (Fed. Cir. 2004).
From the Fig. 4I markup showing the first and second regions, modified Kim then teaches a conductivity of the first active layer corresponding to the first region is higher than a conductivity of the first active layer corresponding to the second region, and the source connection region is connected with the first source electrode, and the drain connection region is connected with the first drain electrode, and where the boundary of the first region with either the source or drain connection region is situated directly on the midpoint of the part of the respective first source or drain electrode that contacts the first active layer, and the boundary of the first region with the second region is set so that the width of the first region is smaller than that of the second region.
Additionally, Ge teaches an active layer that utilizes an oxide semiconductor that is a metal oxide semiconductor.
A PHOSITA would find it obvious to use the metal oxide semiconductor material (IGZO; Ge: ¶31) for the oxide material of the oxide layer as currently defined, in order to take advantage of an increased electron mobility ratio (Ge: ¶40; Beak: ¶¶35, 47).
This results in the oxide layer becoming a metal oxide layer, as claimed.
Claim 12 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beak et al. (US 2018/0182836), Xie (US 2016/0351643), Ge (US 2018/0188618), and Oh et al. (US 2006/0008932) as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (US 2014/0291636).
(Re Claim 12) Modified Beak teaches the display substrate according to claim 11, but does not explicitly teach the display substrate wherein the pixel driving circuit further comprises a first transistor, a second transistor, and a third transistor; a gate electrode of the first transistor is coupled to a second electrode of the second transistor, a first electrode of the first transistor is coupled to a first power supply line, a second electrode of the first transistor is coupled to a first electrode of the organic electroluminescent diode, and a second electrode of the organic electroluminescent diode is coupled to a second power supply line; a gate electrode of the second transistor is coupled to a first scan line, and a first electrode of the second transistor is coupled to a data line; a gate electrode of the third transistor is coupled to a second scan line, a first electrode of the third transistor is coupled to a compensation line, and a second electrode of the third transistor is coupled to the second electrode of the first transistor; and a first electrode of the storage capacitor is coupled to the gate electrode of the first transistor, and a second electrode of the storage capacitor is coupled to the second electrode of the first transistor.
Kim teaches a pixel driving circuit that further comprises a first transistor (DR-Tr; Fig. 2), a second transistor (SW-Tr; Fig. 2), and a third transistor (S-Tr; Fig. 2); a gate electrode of the first transistor is coupled to a second electrode of the second transistor (see Fig. 2 markup for gate and electrode designations), a first electrode of the first transistor is coupled to a first power supply line (VDD; Fig. 2), a second electrode of the first transistor is coupled to a first electrode of the organic electroluminescent diode, and a second electrode of the organic electroluminescent diode is coupled to a second power supply line (VSS; Fig. 2); a gate electrode of the second transistor is coupled to a first scan line (Scan; Fig. 2), and a first electrode of the second transistor is coupled to a data line (Vdata; Fig. 2); a gate electrode of the third transistor is coupled to a second scan line (Sense; Fig. 2), a first electrode of the third transistor is coupled to a compensation line (Vref; Fig. 2), and a second electrode of the third transistor is coupled to the second electrode of the first transistor; and a first electrode of the storage capacitor (203; Fig. 1, 2, and 3E) is coupled to the gate electrode of the first transistor (Fig. 1, 2, and 3E), and a second electrode of the storage capacitor (201; Fig. 1, 2, and 3E) is coupled to the second electrode of the first transistor (Fig. 1, 2, and 3E).
A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to utilize the transistor and capacitor electrode connections of Kim to form the pixel circuit of modified Beak, as this is a known pixel circuit arrangement that predictably results in a working OLED display, utilizing scan, reference, Vdd, and Vss signals, as used by modified Beak (Beak: ¶¶22,86). See Ruiz v. A.B. Chance Co., 357 F.3d 1270, 69 USPQ2d 1686 (Fed. Cir. 2004).
Claims 13 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beak et al. (US 2018/0182836), Ge (US 2018/0188618), Xie (US 2016/0351643), and Oh et al. (US 2006/0008932) as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Liu et al. (US 2019/0123121).
(Re Claim 13) Modified Beak teaches a display substrate according to claim 11, wherein the display substrate further comprises a first conductive layer (201; “layer” does not preclude selecting a constituent part of another layer), the first conductive layer comprises the first electrode plate of the storage capacitor (201; Fig. 4I), and the metal oxide layer comprises the second electrode plate (146; Fig. 4I) of the storage capacitor, and the overlapping region is located in a light emitting region of the display substrate (directly beneath diode 130; Fig. 4I).
Modified Beak does not explicitly teach a display substrate wherein a material of the first electrode plate comprises a transparent conductive material.
Liu teaches forming the plates of a capacitor (41 and 92; Fig. 11) using a transparent conductive oxide material (¶¶68, 100).
A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to form the first and second electrodes 201 and 203 of Kim from IGZO as taught by Liu, as conductive metal oxides and metals are both suitable for forming capacitor electrodes (Liu: ¶¶7, 100). The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945). "Reading a list and selecting a known compound to meet known requirements is no more ingenious than selecting the last piece to put in the last opening in a jig-saw puzzle." 325 U.S. at 335, 65 USPQ at 301.). See also In re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960).
This results in modified Beak teaching a material of the first electrode plate comprises a transparent conductive material (IGZO).
(Re Claim 18) Modified Beak teaches the display substrate according to 13, but has not explicitly taught the display substrate wherein a conductivity of the metal oxide layer corresponding to the second electrode plate is higher than the conductivity of the first active layer corresponding to the second region, or oxygen content of the metal oxide layer corresponding to the second electrode plate is less than the oxygen content of the first active layer corresponding to the second region, or a thickness of the metal oxide layer corresponding to the second electrode plate is less than the thickness of the first active layer corresponding to the second region.
However, during the second conductorization treatment of modified Beak, a left side portion of the second electrode plate 146 is exposed like the first region of the first active layer is (Fig. 4F).
A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to treat the second electrode plate 146 during the second conductorization process taught by Xie, in order to repair damage to the surface of the second electrode plate that is exposed by the via openings (Xie: ¶25).
As the second electrode plate and the first region receive the same two conductorization treatments and are formed from the same material (Beak: ¶72), and the first region has a higher conductivity than the second region, modified Beak teaches a conductivity of the metal oxide layer corresponding to the second electrode plate is higher than the conductivity of the first active layer corresponding to the second region.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beak et al. (US 2018/0182836), Ge (US 2018/0188618), Xie (US 2016/0351643), and Oh et al. (US 2006/0008932) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Liu et al. (US 2019/0123121) and Choi et al. (US 2015/0206931).
(Re Claim 19) Modified Beak teaches the display substrate according to claim 1, wherein the first metal layer comprises the first power supply line (160).
Modified Beak does not explicitly teach the display substrate wherein the first metal layer comprises a first connection electrode connected with the first electrode plate, and a transparent conductive thin film is disposed between the first metal layer and the substrate base; and
an orthographic projection of the first connection electrode on the substrate base and the orthographic projection of the channel region of the first active layer on the substrate base have an overlapping region.
Choi teaches forming a first connection electrode (250; Fig. 5) underneath a first active layer (208; Fig. 5).
A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to position a first connection electrode directly beneath the first active layer of modified Beak as taught by Choi, in order to prevent electrical interference with the first active layer (Choi: ¶49).
This first connection layer 250 of Choi is then part of the first metal layer, and also results in modified Beak teaching an orthographic projection of the first connection electrode on the substrate base and the orthographic projection of the channel region of the first active layer on the substrate base have an overlapping region.
Additionally, Liu teaches forming the plates of a capacitor (41 and 92; Fig. 11) using a transparent conductive oxide material (¶¶68, 100).
A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to form the first and second electrodes 201 and 203 of Kim from IGZO as taught by Liu, as conductive metal oxides and metals are both suitable for forming capacitor electrodes (Liu: ¶¶7, 100). The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945). "Reading a list and selecting a known compound to meet known requirements is no more ingenious than selecting the last piece to put in the last opening in a jig-saw puzzle." 325 U.S. at 335, 65 USPQ at 301.). See also In re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960).
A transparent conductive thin film is then the film that the first electrode plate 201 is comprised of, resulting in modified Beak teaching a transparent conductive thin film is disposed between the first metal layer (144; Fig. 4I) and the substrate base.
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beak et al. (US 2018/0182836), Ge (US 2018/0188618), Xie (US 2016/0351643), and Oh et al. (US 2006/0008932) as applied to claim 23 above, and further in view of Liu et al. (US 2019/0123121), and Choi et al. (US 2015/0206931).
(Re Claim 24) Modifed Beak teaches the preparation method for the display substrate according to claim 23, wherein the forming the first metal layer and the metal oxide layer on the substrate base sequentially comprises: forming the first metal layer on the substrate base (Fig. 4C); the first metal layer comprises a first power supply line (160); forming a first insulating layer(174+176+178; Fig. 4C) covering the first metal layer; and forming the metal oxide layer on the first insulating layer (Fig. 4D); wherein the metal oxide layer comprises the first active layer (114)and a second electrode plate (146).
Modified Beak does not explicitly teach the preparation method for the display substrate, wherein forming the first metal layer and the metal oxide layer on the substrate sequentially comprises:
forming a transparent first electrode plate, wherein a transparent conductive thin film is disposed between the first metal layer and the substrate base;
wherein the first metal film layer comprises a first connection electrode, the first connection electrode is connected with the first electrode plate;
forming a first insulating layer covering the first electrode plate; and
an orthographic projection of the second electrode plate on the substrate base and an orthographic projection of the first electrode plate on the substrate base have an overlapping region, and an orthographic projection of the channel region of the first active layer on the substrate base and an orthographic projection of the first connection electrode on the substrate base have an overlapping region.
Liu teaches forming the plates of a capacitor (41 and 92; Fig. 11) using a transparent conductive oxide material (¶¶68, 100).
A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to form the first and second electrodes 201 and 203 of Kim from IGZO as taught by Liu, as conductive metal oxides and metals are both suitable for forming capacitor electrodes (Liu: ¶¶7, 100). The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945). "Reading a list and selecting a known compound to meet known requirements is no more ingenious than selecting the last piece to put in the last opening in a jig-saw puzzle." 325 U.S. at 335, 65 USPQ at 301.). See also In re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960).
This results in modified Beak teaching forming a transparent first electrode plate (142; Fig. 4A), wherein a transparent conductive thin film (the film comprising 142) is disposed between the first metal layer (144) and the substrate base.
Additionally, modified Beak then teaches forming the first insulating layer covering the first electrode plate (Fig. 4C), and an orthographic projection of the second electrode plate on the substrate base and an orthographic projection of the first electrode plate on the substrate base have an overlapping region (Fig. 4E).
Choi teaches forming a first connection electrode (250; Fig. 5) underneath a first active layer (208; Fig. 5).
A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to position a first connection electrode directly beneath the first active layer of modified Beak as taught by Choi, in order to prevent electrical interference with the first active layer (Choi: ¶49).
This first connection layer 250 of Choi is then part of the first metal layer, and also results in modified Beak teaching an orthographic projection of the first connection electrode on the substrate base and the orthographic projection of the channel region of the first active layer on the substrate base have an overlapping region (Beak: Fig. 4I).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Takechi (US 2019/0273125) teaches forming an auxiliary line (658) on an IGZO film (954; Fig. 10 and 11). Liu et al. (US 2020/0098797) teaches changing the dimensions of a gate dielectric to adjust the channel length (¶89). Tohyama (US 2009/0243482) teaches forming a connection electrode to reduce contact resistance with a metal oxide film (¶99).
/CHRISTOPHER A. SCHODDE/Examiner, Art Unit 2898
/JESSICA S MANNO/SPE, Art Unit 2898