DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1, 3, 5, 7-9, 11-14, and 16-21 are currently pending. Claims 2, 4, 6, 10, and 15 are cancelled. Claims 1, 8, 11, 13, 14, and 17 are currently amended. Claims 1, 3, 7-9, 11-14, 16-19, and 21 are rejected under new grounds as necessitated by applicant’s amendments filed 20 November 2025. A response to applicant’s remarks can be found at the end of this Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 7-9, 11-12, 14, 16-18 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukasawa (US 20150188399 A1).
In regards to claim 1, Fukasawa teaches a magnetic levitation system for transporting a carrier in a transport direction, comprising:
a plurality (as seen in Fig. 12, 404 and 405) of magnetic bearings (A) (Fig. 5) having a first actuator (401) with a U-shaped electromagnet (410, 420) for contactlessly holding (para. [0060]) the carrier (101) in a carrier transportation space (the area where 101 is located in Fig. 5), the first actuator (401) arranged above (as seen in Fig. 6A) the carrier transportation space (the area where 101 is located in Fig. 5); and
a plurality (as seen in Fig. 12, 404 and 405) of drive units (650) (Fig. 5) having a second actuator (601) for moving the carrier (101) (Fig. 5) in the transport direction (D) (Fig. 7A),
wherein the second actuator (601) (Fig. 6A) or a projection of the second actuator (601) along the transport direction (D) (Fig. 7A) is partially surrounded (as seen in Fig. 6A) by the U-shaped electromagnet (410, 420) comprising a U-shaped core (as seen in Fig. 6A) with two legs (410, 420), the two legs (410, 420) being directed toward the carrier transportation space (the area where 101 is located in Fig. 5) and an end of each of the two legs providing two poles (423) of the U-shaped electromagnet (410, 420) for exerting magnetic levitation forces on the carrier (101); and
a contactless guiding arrangement (B) (Fig. 5) for guiding the carrier (101) in the transport direction (D) (Fig. 7A) arranged in a lower portion (as seen in Fig. 5) of the carrier transportation space (the area where 101 is located in Fig. 5), the contactless guiding arrangement (B) including one or more passive magnetic bearings adapted for generating a static magnetic field (para. [0055], lines 5-7; para. [0066]; para. [0081]; each element of the contactless guiding arrangement B “may be made of permanent magnets”), and
wherein both the first actuator (401) (Fig. 5) and the second actuator (601) are centered above (as seen in Fig. 5) the carrier transportation space (the area where 101 is located in Fig. 5), and wherein the second actuator (601)
While Fukasawa does not explicitly teach that the second actuator is arranged offset relative to the first actuator, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the second actuator being arranged offset relative to the first actuator with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of increasing the resilience and ease of maintenance of the magnetic bearings and drive units, since it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art. In re Dulberg, 289 F.2d 522, 523, 129 USPQ 348, 349 (CCPA 1961). See MPEP § 2144.04(V)(C).
In regards to claim 3, Fukasawa teaches the magnetic levitation system of claim 1, wherein the U-shaped electromagnet (410, 420) (Fig. 5) surrounds the second actuator (601) or the projection of the second actuator on two opposite lateral sides (as seen in Fig. 5)
While Fukasawa does not explicitly teach the U-shaped electromagnet surrounding the second actuator on one of a top side and a bottom side. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to surround the second actuator on the top or bottom side with the U-shaped electromagnet with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of further securing the second actuator in the vertical direction, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). See MPEP § 2144.04(VI)(C).
In regards to claim 7, Fukasawa teaches the magnetic levitation system of claim 1, wherein the second actuator (601) (Fig. 5) is a stator (para. [0073]) of a linear motor (650).
In regards to claim 8, Fukasawa teaches the magnetic levitation system of claim 1, wherein the plurality (as seen in Fig. 12, 404 and 405) of magnetic bearings (A) (Fig. 5) are actively controllable (para. [0069], lines 3-6) magnetic bearings comprising the U-shaped electromagnet (410, 420) configured to be actively controlled (para. [0069], lines 3-6) for maintaining a specified distance between (para. [0069], lines 13-14) the first actuator (401) (Fig. 5) and the carrier (101).
In regards to claim 9, Fukasawa teaches the magnetic levitation system of claim 1, wherein the carrier transportation space (the area where 101 is located in Fig. 5) is a vertical carrier transportation space having a height H extending in a vertical direction (as seen in Fig. 5) and a width W extending in a lateral direction (as seen in Fig. 5), wherein an aspect ratio of H/W is H/W > 5 (the ratio of the height of 101 over the width of 101 is clearly greater than 5).
In regards to claim 11, Fukasawa teaches the magnetic levitation system of claim 1, further comprising the carrier (101) (Fig. 5),
wherein the carrier includes a magnetic counterpart (211) with two surfaces (211a, 211b) (Fig. 6A) extending parallel (as seen in Fig. 6A) to each other along a top surface (as seen in Fig. 6A, the top surfaces of 211a and 211b extend parallel to each other along a top surface of 101) of the carrier (101) for magnetically interacting with the first actuator (401) and a drive counterpart (251) for magnetically interacting with the second actuator (601), the drive counterpart (251) extending between (as seen in Fig. 5) the two surfaces of the magnetic counterpart (211) in the transport direction (D) (Fig. 7A).
In regards to claim 12, Fukasawa teaches the magnetic levitation system of claim 11, wherein the magnetic counterpart includes a first guided zone (430) (Fig. 4A) and a second guided zone (see annotated Fig. 4A below), wherein a recessed zone (441) is arranged between (as seen in Fig. 4A) the first guided zone (430) and the second guided zone (see annotated Fig. 4A below) in the transport direction (D) (Fig. 7A) of the carrier (101) (Fig. 5), the recessed zone (441) being recessed with respect (as seen in Fig. 4A) to the first guided zone (430) and the second guided zone (see annotated Fig. 4A below).
In regards to claim 14, Fukasawa teaches a method of transporting a carrier in a transport direction, comprising:
contactlessly holding (para. [0060]) the carrier (101) in a carrier transportation space (the area where 101 is located in Fig. 5) using a plurality (as seen in Fig. 12, 404 and 405) of magnetic bearings (A) (Fig. 5) having a first actuator (401) with a U-shaped electromagnet (410, 420); and
transporting the carrier (101) (Fig. 5) in the transport direction (D) (Fig. 7A) using a plurality (as seen in Fig. 12, 404 and 405) of drive units (650) having a second actuator (601), wherein the second actuator (601) (Fig. 6A) or a projection of the second actuator (601) along the transport direction (D) (Fig. 7A) is partially surrounded (as seen in Fig. 6A) by the U-shaped electromagnet (410, 420) comprising a U-shaped core (as seen in Fig. 6A) with two legs (410, 420), the two legs (410, 420) being directed toward the carrier transportation space (the area where 101 is located in Fig. 5) and an end of each of the two legs providing two poles (423) of the U-shaped electromagnet (410, 420) for exerting magnetic levitation forces on the carrier (101), wherein the second actuator (601)
contactlessly guiding the carrier (101) in the transport direction (D) (Fig. 7A) by employing a contactless guiding arrangement (B) (Fig. 5) arranged in a lower portion (as seen in Fig. 5) of the carrier transportation space (the area where 101 is located in Fig. 5), the contactless guiding arrangement (B) including one or more passive magnetic bearings adapted for generating a static magnetic field (para. [0055], lines 5-7; para. [0066]; para. [0081]; each element of the contactless guiding arrangement B “may be made of permanent magnets”).
While Fukasawa does not explicitly teach that the second actuator is arranged offset relative to the first actuator, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the second actuator being arranged offset relative to the first actuator with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of increasing the resilience and ease of maintenance of the magnetic bearings and drive units, since it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art. In re Dulberg, 289 F.2d 522, 523, 129 USPQ 348, 349 (CCPA 1961). See MPEP § 2144.04(V)(C).
In regards to claim 16, Fukasawa teaches the method of claim 14, wherein, during carrier transport, the two legs of the U-shaped electromagnet (410, 420) (Fig. 6A) are directed toward (as seen in Fig. 6A) two surfaces of a magnetic counterpart (211) extending along a top part (as seen in Fig. 6A, the top surfaces of 211a and 211b extend parallel to each other along a top surface of 101) of the carrier (101) in the transport direction (D) (Fig. 7A), and the second actuator (601) magnetically interacts with a drive counterpart (251) arranged between the two surfaces (as seen in Fig. 6A).
In regards to claim 17, Fukasawa teaches the magnetic levitation system of claim 1, wherein, during carrier transport, the first actuator (401) (Fig. 5) and the second actuator (601) are centrally arranged above (as seen in Fig. 5, the location of A) a center of gravity of the carrier (101).
In regards to claim 18, Fukasawa teaches the magnetic levitation system of claim 1, wherein the two legs (410, 420) (Fig. 6A) are configured for magnetically interacting with a magnetic counterpart (211) having two surfaces extending parallel to each other along a top (as seen in Fig. 6A, the top surfaces of 211a and 211b extend parallel to each other along a top surface of 101) or bottom surface of the carrier (101).
Claim(s) 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukasawa (US 20150188399 A1) in view of Bender (WO 2018145751 A1).
In regards to claim 13, Fukasawa teaches a processing system for vertically processing a substrate, comprising:
one or more magnetic levitation systems (10) (Fig. 2) for transporting one or more carriers (101) in a transport direction (D) (Fig. 7A), the one or more magnetic levitation systems (10) comprising:
a plurality (as seen in Fig. 12, 404 and 405) of magnetic bearings (A) (Fig. 5) having a first actuator (401) with a U-shaped electromagnet (410, 420) for contactlessly holding (para. [0060]) the carrier (101) in a carrier transportation space (the area where 101 is located in Fig. 5), the first actuator (401) arranged above (as seen in Fig. 5) the carrier transportation space (the area where 101 is located in Fig. 5); and
a plurality (as seen in Fig. 12, 404 and 405) of drive units (650) having a second actuator (601) for moving the carrier (101) (Fig. 5) in the transport direction (D) (Fig. 7A),
wherein the second actuator (601) (Fig. 6A) or a projection of the second actuator (601) along the transport direction (D) (Fig. 7A) is partially surrounded (as seen in Fig. 6A) by the U-shaped electromagnet (410, 420) comprising a U-shaped core (as seen in Fig. 6A) with two legs (410, 420), the two legs (410, 420) being directed toward the carrier transportation space (the area where 101 is located in Fig. 5) and an end of each of the two legs providing two poles (423) of the U-shaped electromagnet (410, 420) for exerting magnetic levitation forces on the carrier (101); and
a contactless guiding arrangement (B) (Fig. 5) for guiding the carrier (101) in the transport direction (D) (Fig. 7A) arranged in a lower portion (as seen in Fig. 5) of the carrier transportation space (the area where 101 is located in Fig. 5), the contactless guiding arrangement (B) including one or more passive magnetic bearings adapted for generating a static magnetic field (para. [0055], lines 5-7; para. [0066]; para. [0081]; each element of the contactless guiding arrangement B “may be made of permanent magnets”), and
wherein both the first actuator (401) (Fig. 5) and the second actuator (601) are centered above (as seen in Fig. 5) the carrier transportation space (the area where 101 is located in Fig. 5), and wherein the second actuator (601)
Fukasawa does not explicitly teach at least one vacuum chamber.
Bender teaches at least one vacuum chamber (para. [0062], lines 13-15).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the substrate processing system of Fukasawa to include a vacuum chamber as taught by Bender with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of providing a clean space devoid of matter for processing (see Bender, para. [0062], lines 8-10).
While Fukasawa does not explicitly teach that the second actuator is arranged offset relative to the first actuator, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the second actuator being arranged offset relative to the first actuator with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of increasing the resilience and ease of maintenance of the magnetic bearings and drive units, since it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art. In re Dulberg, 289 F.2d 522, 523, 129 USPQ 348, 349 (CCPA 1961). See MPEP § 2144.04(V)(C).
Claim(s) 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukasawa (US 20150188399 A1) in view of Chang (KR 100675559 B1).
In regards to claim 19, Fukasawa teaches the magnetic levitation system of claim 7,
Fukasawa does not teach wherein the linear motor is a synchronous linear motor.
Chang teaches wherein the linear motor is a synchronous linear motor (see machine translation, pg. 3, lines 102-104).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the linear motor of Fukasawa to include a synchronous linear motor as taught by Chang with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of directly generating linear power without a separate conversion device (see Chang, pg. 6, lines 307-309).
Claim(s) 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukasawa (US 20150188399 A1) in view of Mori (US 5641054 A).
In regards to claim 21, Fukasawa teaches the magnetic levitation system of claim 1, wherein the U-shaped electromagnet (410, 420) (Fig. 6A) is configured
Fukasawa does not teach the U-shaped electromagnet to be actively controlled in a closed loop or feedback control.
Mori teaches active control with a closed loop (col. 13, lines 58-59).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified magnetic levitation system of Fukasawa to include active control with a closed loop as taught by Mori with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of more precisely controlling the position of the carriage (col. 14, lines 6-10).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 and 20 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
As discussed in the prior Office Action dated 07 July 2025, claim 5 is allowed. Claim 20 is allowed due to dependence upon claim 5.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 20 November 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Fukasawa is completely silent regarding the second actuator being arranged offset relative to the first actuator. Examiner refers to the rejections above indicating that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the second actuator being arranged offset relative to the first actuator with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of increasing the resilience and ease of maintenance of the magnetic bearings and drive units, since it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art. In re Dulberg, 289 F.2d 522, 523, 129 USPQ 348, 349 (CCPA 1961). See MPEP § 2144.04(V)(C).
Applicant argues that Fukasawa does not teach a contactless guiding arrangement for guiding the carrier in the transport direction arranged in a lower portion of the carrier space, wherein the contactless guiding arrangement includes one or more passive magnetic bearings adapted for generating a static magnetic field. Examiner disagrees and refers to the rejections of claims 1, and 13-14 above.
Conclusion
/JAMES WILLIAM JONES/ Examiner, Art Unit 3615
/S. Joseph Morano/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3615