DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 10 and 21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on how any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant argues on pages 9-10 of the REMARKS, “As another example, Ham's Fig. 5 (reproduced and relied upon on page 26 of the Office Action) likewise fails to disclose the recited features. In Ham's Fig. 5, the two film layers connected through via V2 are coverlay 230 and thermosetting resin layer 220. Thermosetting resin layer 220 is electrically insulating and therefore cannot be equated with the claimed "further second metal wiring layer" or the claimed "corresponding first metal wiring layer"”. The Office respectfully disagrees. Layers 210, 220 are insulating layers, however C2 is referenced by Ham as circuit layers. Ham states at [0079] “circuits may contain a metal such as copper, nickel, aluminum, silver, palladium, gold, and the like. The circuits may be classified as follows: a circuit formed on one surface of the rigid insulating layer 110 may be referred to as a first circuit C1, and a circuit formed on one surface of the flexible insulating layer 200 may be referred to as a second circuit C2”.
Annotated Fig. 5 from Ham (US 2020/0176386 A1)
As seen in the annotated Fig 5 above, an uppermost circuit layer formed of second circuit C2 is on the upper surface of 210, a central circuit layer formed from second circuit C2 is on the lower 210 and a lowermost circuit layer is formed from second circuit C2 above lower 230. As also seen in the same figure of Ham, via V2 connect the uppermost circuit layer formed from C2 and the central circuit layer formed form C2. Another via V2 connects the central circuit layer formed form C2 and lowermost circuit layer C2. Another via (annotated VIA) is shown connecting C2 to C1. This is analogous to Applicant’s Fig. 4 showing three layers of 112 in the flexible portion 301. Therefore Ham teaches a side of the flexible substrate of each of the two flexible circuit layers that faces away from the flexible substrate of another flexible circuit layer is provided with a respective second metal wiring layer; and a further second metal wiring layer is disposed between the two flexible substrates of the two flexible circuit layers and is electrically connected to a corresponding first metal wiring layer through a via hole that extends through one of the two flexible substrates.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “edge…disposed inwardly” and “a further second metal wiring layer is disposed between the two flexible substrates of the two flexible circuit layers” must be shown together or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). Currently Fig. 3 shows an edge inwardly from an edge at a preset distance and separately Fig. 4 shows three circuit layers. No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to because callout 111 (“first metal wiring layer”) is pointing to the insulating layer of the rigid region in Fig 2, Fig 3 and Fig 4. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 4 – 6, 8 – 9, 21 – 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 10 and 21 recites the limitation "the" in “away from the flexible substrate”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The claim states “a plurality of first metal wiring layers each disposed on a side of a respective one of the rigid boards away from the flexible substrate”, however as the claim earlier states “each flexible circuit layer comprises a flexible substrate”, it is unclear which flexible substrate is being referenced by the antecedent article “the”.
Claims 4 – 6, 8 – 9, 13 – 16, 18 – 20, and 22 – 26 are rejected due to dependency from claims 1, 10 and 21.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4 – 6, 8, 10, 13 – 16, 18 and 20 – 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tseng (US 2020/0366012 A1) in view of Adjiwibawa (US 2021/0084777 A1) and Ham (US 2020/0176386 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Tseng discloses a circuit board (Fig 1), comprising: a first board body (300) and a second board body (200) combined with the first board body (300), wherein the first board body (300) comprises a plurality of rigid boards (330,360,380,362,382; [0033-0040]), the first board body (300) and the second board body (200) comprise two flexible circuit layers (220,222,210; [0032]) that are stacked, and comprises a flexible substrate (210), the first board body (300) further comprises a plurality of first metal wiring layers (370,340,342; [0015-0019,0030,0035,0037]) each disposed on a side of a respective one of the rigid boards (380,360,330,362) away from (the) flexible substrate (210), and the flexible circuit layer (220,222) extends to an outside of the first board body (300); wherein a part (portion of 200 outside of 300) of the flexible circuit layer outside the first board body (300) is an arbitrary functional layer (222,220 provide some function; note that the claim has not defined any specific function; structure shown could perform a function, such as to provide transmission and operation of high frequency [0065]) of the second board body (200); one end of the flexible circuit layer (220,222,210) is set as a (pressing) part (portion or region of 200 within 300; the structure could perform this function), and the (pressing) part (portion or region of 200 within 300) of the flexible circuit layer is fixedly arranged (see Fig 1; [0045-0046]) in the first board body (300); and wherein an edge (left-side edge of 210,222,220) of the flexible circuit layer (210,220,222), which is located within the first board body (300) and faces away from the second board body (200), is disposed inwardly (left-side edge of 200 is inward or towards the right with respect to left-side wall edge of 300) from an edge (left-side edge of 300) of the first board body (300) and spaced apart therefrom (there is a space between the lefts-side wall of 300 and the left side wall of 200) by a preset distance (see Fig 1 showing a specific or stipulated distance between the lefts-side wall of 300 and the left side wall of 200), and the edge (left-side edge of 210,222,220) of the flexible circuit layer (200) facing away from the second board body (200) is enclosed (left-side edge of 210,222,220 is embedded within 330; this is structurally similar to Applicant’s figure) by a corresponding one of the plurality of rigid boards (330; [0028,0033]).
Tseng does not disclose each flexible circuit layer comprises a flexible substrate, wherein a part of the flexible circuit layer outside the first board body is disposed on a single side of the first board body; the part of the flexible circuit layer on the single side of the first board body comprises a plurality of binding parts, the plurality of binding parts being provided with a plurality of first binding terminals to be fixed to and electrically connected to a plurality of second binding terminals of a display panel and wherein a side of the flexible substrate of each of the two flexible circuit layers that faces away from the flexible substrate of another flexible circuit layer is provided with a respective second metal wiring layer; and a further second metal wiring layer is disposed between the two flexible substrates of the two flexible circuit layers and is electrically connected to a corresponding first metal wiring layer through a via hole that extends through one of the two flexible substrates.
Adjiwibawa (US 2021/0084777 A1) teaches of a display module (Fig 1-2), comprising: a display panel (140); and a circuit board (110), wherein the circuit board (110) comprises a first board body (114) and a second board body (112) combined with the first board body (114) wherein the first board body (114) is a rigid board body ([0023]), the second board body (112) is a flexible board body ([0023]), the first board body (114) comprises a flexible circuit layer (120) fixedly arranged in the first board body (114), and the flexible circuit layer (120) comprises a flexible substrate (120,134); wherein the flexible circuit layer (120) of the first board body (114) and extends to an outside (left side of Fig 1-2) of the first board body (114), a part (portion or region) of the flexible circuit layer (120) outside the first board body (114) is any functional layer (provide some function; note that the claim has not defined any specific function; structure shown could perform a function, such as to connect to a display) of the second board body (114), and wherein a part (portion of 120 outside of 114) of the flexible circuit layer outside the first board body is disposed on a single side (left side as seen in Fig 1-2) of the first board body (114); the part of the flexible circuit layer (120) on the single side (left side) of the first board body (114) comprises a plurality of binding parts (126/146), the plurality of binding parts (126/146) being provided with a plurality of first binding terminals (126) to be fixed to ([0025]) and electrically connected to ([0025]) a plurality of second binding terminals (146) of a display panel (140).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the board as disclosed by Tseng wherein a part of the flexible circuit layer outside the first board body is disposed on a single side of the first board body; the part of the flexible circuit layer on the single side of the first board body comprises a plurality of binding parts, the plurality of binding parts being provided with a plurality of first binding terminals to be fixed to and electrically connected to a plurality of second binding terminals of a display panel as taught by Adjiwibawa, in order to connect electronic components associated with display panel function such as driver ICs, timing controllers, touch controllers, memory, processors, allow a PCB to be wrapped behind a display, allow for pitch matching, minimize packaging and require less space (Adjiwibawa, [0003-0007]) and furthermore since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art, as having only one side be flexible minimizes the overall size of the PCB and thus would minimize the size of the overall assembly within a higher device, such as a smartphone. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70. Please note that in the instant application, page 2 of the Applicant’s Specification [0006] “the flexible circuit layer comprises a flexible substrate and a metal wiring layer disposed on at least one side of the flexible substrate” (see also page 3, [0015]), Applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitations. Note further that the Applicant has not provided any criticality for this flexible structure being solely on one side of the rigid portion. Note also that Tseng does not teach away from comprising a flexible portion solely on one side of the rigid portion.
Ham (US 2020/0176386 A1) teaches of a circuit board (Fig 5), comprising: a first board body (at R) and a second board body (at F) combined with the first board body, wherein the first board body comprises a plurality of rigid boards (110), the first board body and the second board body comprise two flexible circuit layers (uppermost circuit layer of second circuit C2 in F and lowermost circuit layer of second circuit C2 in F; [0079-0085]) that are stacked, and each flexible circuit layer comprises a flexible substrate (upper C2 is formed on upper 210 and lowermost C2 is formed on 220), the first board body (at R) further comprises a plurality of first metal wiring layers (at C1 and C2) each disposed on a side of a respective one of the rigid boards away from the flexible substrate, and the flexible circuit layer (C2) extends to an outside of the first board body; and wherein a side (upper side of upper 210 and lower side of lower 220) of the flexible substrate (upper C2 is formed on upper 210 and lowermost C2 is formed on 220) of each of the two flexible circuit layers (uppermost and lowermost C2 in F) that faces away from the flexible substrate of another flexible circuit layer (the substrate of the other C2) is provided with a respective second metal wiring layer (uppermost C2 in F and lowermost C2 in F; [0079-0085]); and a further second metal wiring layer (centrally located layer of C2 in F; [0079-0085]) is disposed between the two flexible substrates (centrally located layer of C2 in F is between upper 210 and lower 220) of the two flexible circuit layers and is electrically connected ([0082]; see unlabeled via connecting to V1 and C1 and C2; annotated “VIA” in annotated Fig 5 above) to a corresponding first metal wiring layer (C1) through a via hole (at V1 and unlabeled via) that extends through one of the two flexible substrates (210,220).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the board as taught by Tseng in view of Adjiwibawa wherein each flexible circuit layer comprises a flexible substrate, wherein a side of the flexible substrate of each of the two flexible circuit layers that faces away from the flexible substrate of another flexible circuit layer is provided with a respective second metal wiring layer; and a further second metal wiring layer is disposed between the two flexible substrates of the two flexible circuit layers and is electrically connected to a corresponding first metal wiring layer through a via hole that extends through one of the two flexible substrates as taught by Ham, in order to provide electrical connections between circuits in the flexible portion, allow for different pitches between circuit areas (Ham, [0079-0090]). Additional layers would allow for components of a greater size to be embedded within the second board body (see Fig 4 of Ham and Fig 5 of Ham). Furthermore the combination of Tseng in view of Adjiwibawa and Ham teaches of greater electrical connections within the board which could lead to meeting demands in PCB technology, helping to form connections for driving capabilities of a display (Ham [0046-0049,0069-0079]). Many modern devices such as mobile phones and interactive user interfaces require a means to display information to a user and thus a circuit board as taught by Tseng in view of Adjiwibawa and Ham can be used for connections between components and through the circuit board for conveying complex information effectively to a user display.
Claim states “a functional layer” however it has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987)
Claim states “pressing” however it has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987)
Regarding Claim 4, Tseng further discloses the circuit board (Fig 1) according to Claim 1, wherein in a thickness direction of the first board body (300), the flexible circuit layer (200) is located in a middle position (see Fig 1) of the first board body (300).
Regarding Claim 5, Tseng further discloses the circuit board (Fig 1) according to Claim 1, wherein adjacent ones of the first metal wiring layers (340,370,390; [0035-0040]) located in different layers (330,360,380) are connected through a respective one of via holes (351,352,353,354), and the second metal wiring layer (120,220) and an adjacent one of the first metal wiring layers (340) in different layers are connected through another respective one of the via holes (351,352).
Regarding Claim 6, Tseng in view of Adjiwibawa and Ham teaches the limitations of the preceding claim.
Tseng does not disclose the circuit board according to Claim 1, wherein a material of the rigid boards is one or a combination of two or more of a phenolic resin, a glass fiber, and an epoxy resin; a substrate material of the flexible circuit layer is a polyimide, a polyester film, a polytetrafluoroethylene, or a polyamide fiber.
Ham teaches of a circuit board (Fig 3) , wherein a material of a rigid board (330) is one or a combination of two or more of a phenolic resin, a glass fiber, and an epoxy resin ([0062]); a substrate material of the flexible circuit layer (200) is a polyimide ([0064]), a polyester film, a polytetrafluoroethylene ([0064]), or a polyamide fiber.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the boards as taught by Tseng in view of Adjiwibawa and Ham, wherein a material of the rigid boards is one or a combination of two or more of a phenolic resin, a glass fiber, and an epoxy resin; a substrate material of the flexible circuit layer is a polyimide, a polyester film, a polytetrafluoroethylene, or a polyamide fiber as taught by Ham, in order to provide specific dielectric factors, flexibility, low bendability, high bendability or rigidity (Ham, [0062-0064]).
Regarding Claim 8, Tseng in view of Adjiwibawa and Ham teaches the limitations of the preceding claim.
Adjiwibawa further teaches the circuit board (Fig 1-2) according to Claim 1, wherein an opposite end (end about 146/126) of the flexible circuit layer (120) where the (pressing) part (portion of 120 within 114) is located is set as the plurality of binding parts (146/126; [0025] “bonded”), and the plurality of binding parts (portion or part about 146/126) of the flexible circuit layer (120) (are suspended (see Fig 1-2 shows the left side in a suspended state, and not folded under the display) before binding an external device (140)).
Note that the Applicant’s Specification at [0004-005] states the binding part is referencing a process of binding and is thus treated as a product by process claim.
The Applicant’s Specification at [0004-005] states the binding part is referencing a process of binding and is thus treated as a product by process claim. The claim states a “binding part” and “suspended before”, but “binding” and “suspended before” does not represent product structure but only refers to the process by which the layer is used or manufactured. Thus the claim is a product claim that recites a process step(s) of binding, or steps of suspending, and is thus treated as a product-by-process claim. See MPEP 2113. Note that the Applicant’s Specification at [0057] states the pressing part is referencing a process of hot pressing and is thus treated as a product by process claim. The claim states a “pressing part” but “pressing” does not represent product structure but only refers to the process by which the layer is formed. Thus the claim is a product claim that recites a process step(s) of pressing and is thus treated as a product-by-process claim. See MPEP 2113.
Regarding Claim 10, Tseng discloses a module (Fig 1), comprising: a circuit board (10), wherein the circuit board (10) comprises a first board body (300) and a second board body (200) combined with the first board body (300), wherein the first board body (300) comprises a plurality of rigid boards (330,360,380,362,382; [0033-0040]), the first board body (300) and the second board body (200) comprise two flexible circuit layers (220,222,210; [0032]) that are stacked, and comprises a flexible substrate (210), the first board body (300) further comprises a plurality of first metal wiring layers (370,340,342; [0015-0019,0030,0035,0037]) each disposed on a side of a respective one of the rigid boards (380,360,330,362) away from (the) flexible substrate (210), and the flexible circuit layer (220,222) extends to an outside of the first board body (300); wherein a part (portion of 200 outside of 300) of the flexible circuit layer outside the first board body (300) is an arbitrary functional layer (222,220 provide some function; note that the claim has not defined any specific function; structure shown could perform a function, such as to provide transmission and operation of high frequency [0065]) of the second board body (200); one end of the flexible circuit layer (220,222,210) is set as a (pressing) part (portion or region of 200 within 300; the structure could perform this function), and the (pressing) part (portion or region of 200 within 300) of the flexible circuit layer is fixedly arranged (see Fig 1; [0045-0046]) in the first board body (300); wherein an edge (left-side edge of 210,222,220) of the flexible circuit layer (210,220,222), which is located within the first board body (300) and faces away from the second board body (200), is disposed inwardly (left-side edge of 200 is inward or towards the right with respect to left-side wall edge of 300) from an edge (left-side edge of 300) of the first board body (300) and spaced apart therefrom (there is a space between the lefts-side wall of 300 and the left side wall of 200) by a preset distance (see Fig 1 showing a specific or stipulated distance between the lefts-side wall of 300 and the left side wall of 200), and the edge (left-side edge of 210,222,220) of the flexible circuit layer (200) facing away from the second board body (200) is enclosed by a corresponding one of the plurality of rigid boards (330; [0028,0033]).
Tseng does not disclose a display module comprising: a display panel; each flexible circuit layer comprises a flexible substrate, wherein a part of the flexible circuit layer outside the first board body is disposed on a single side of the first board body; the part of the flexible circuit layer on the single side of the first board body comprises a plurality of binding parts, the plurality of binding parts being provided with a plurality of first binding terminals for binding; a border area of the display panel is provided with a plurality of second binding terminals, and the plurality of binding parts of the flexible circuit layer are fixed and electrically connected to the plurality of second binding terminals of the display panel; and wherein a side of the flexible substrate of each of the two flexible circuit layers that faces away from the flexible substrate of another flexible circuit layer is provided with a respective second metal wiring layer; and a further second metal wiring layer is disposed between the two flexible substrates of the two flexible circuit layers and is electrically connected to a corresponding first metal wiring layer through a via hole that extends through one of the two flexible substrates.
Adjiwibawa (US 2021/0084777 A1) teaches of a display module (Fig 1-2; 100), comprising: a display panel (140); and a circuit board (110), wherein the circuit board (110) comprises a first board body (114) and a second board body (112) combined with the first board body (114) wherein the first board body (114) is a rigid board body ([0023]), the second board body (112) is a flexible board body ([0023]), the first board body (114) comprises a flexible circuit layer (120) fixedly arranged in the first board body (114), and the flexible circuit layer (120) comprises a flexible substrate (120,134); wherein the flexible circuit layer (120) of the first board body (114) and extends to an outside (left side of Fig 1-2) of the first board body (114), a part (portion or region) of the flexible circuit layer (120) outside the first board body (114) is any functional layer (provide some function; note that the claim has not defined any specific function; structure shown could perform a function, such as to connect to a display) of the second board body (114), and wherein a part (portion of 120 outside of 114) of the flexible circuit layer outside the first board body is disposed on a single side (left side as seen in Fig 1-2) of the first board body (114); the part of the flexible circuit layer (120) on the single side (left side) of the first board body (114) comprises a plurality of binding parts (126/146), the plurality of binding parts (126/146) being provided with a plurality of first binding terminals (126) to for binding ([0025]); a border area (right side area or portion of 140 as seen in Fig 1-2) of the display panel (140) is provided with a plurality of second binding terminals (146), and the plurality of binding parts (126) of the flexible circuit layer are fixed ([0025]) and electrically connected ([0025]) to the plurality of second binding terminals (146) of the display panel (140).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the board as disclosed by Tseng comprising a display panel; wherein a part of the flexible circuit layer outside the first board body is disposed on a single side of the first board body; the part of the flexible circuit layer on the single side of the first board body comprises a plurality of binding parts, the plurality of binding parts being provided with a plurality of first binding terminals for binding, a border area of the display panel is provided with a plurality of second binding terminals, and the plurality of binding parts of the flexible circuit layer are fixed and electrically connected to the plurality of second binding terminals of the display panel as taught by Adjiwibawa, in order to connect electronic components associated with display panel function such as driver ICs, timing controllers, touch controllers, memory, processors, allow a PCB to be wrapped behind a display, allow for pitch matching, minimize packaging and require less space (Adjiwibawa, [0003-0007]) and furthermore since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art, as having only one side be flexible minimizes the overall size of the PCB and thus would minimize the size of the overall assembly within a higher device, such as a smartphone. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70. Please note that in the instant application, page 2 of the Applicant’s Specification [0006] “the flexible circuit layer comprises a flexible substrate and a metal wiring layer disposed on at least one side of the flexible substrate” (see also page 3, [0015]), Applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitations. Note further that the Applicant has not provided any criticality for this flexible structure being solely on one side of the rigid portion. Note also that Tseng does not teach away from comprising a flexible portion solely on one side of the rigid portion.
Ham teaches of a display module (Fig 5) comprising a circuit board (Fig 5), comprising: a first board body (at R) and a second board body (at F) combined with the first board body, wherein the first board body comprises a plurality of rigid boards (110), the first board body and the second board body comprise two flexible circuit layers (uppermost circuit layer of second circuit C2 in F and lowermost circuit layer of second circuit C2 in F; [0079-0085]) that are stacked, and each flexible circuit layer comprises a flexible substrate (upper C2 is formed on upper 210 and lowermost C2 is formed on 220), the first board body (at R) further comprises a plurality of first metal wiring layers (at C1 and C2) each disposed on a side of a respective one of the rigid boards away from the flexible substrate, and the flexible circuit layer (C2) extends to an outside of the first board body; and wherein a side (upper side of upper 210 and lower side of lower 220) of the flexible substrate (upper C2 is formed on upper 210 and lowermost C2 is formed on 220) of each of the two flexible circuit layers (uppermost and lowermost C2 in F) that faces away from the flexible substrate of another flexible circuit layer (the substrate of the other C2) is provided with a respective second metal wiring layer (uppermost C2 in F and lowermost C2 in F; [0079-0085]); and a further second metal wiring layer (centrally located layer of C2 in F; [0079-0085]) is disposed between the two flexible substrates (centrally located layer of C2 in F is between upper 210 and lower 220) of the two flexible circuit layers and is electrically connected ([0082]; see unlabeled via connecting to V1 and C1 and C2; annotated “VIA” in annotated Fig 5 above) to a corresponding first metal wiring layer (C1) through a via hole (at V1 and unlabeled via) that extends through one of the two flexible substrates (210,220).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the module as taught by Tseng in view of Adjiwibawa wherein each flexible circuit layer comprises a flexible substrate, wherein a side of the flexible substrate of each of the two flexible circuit layers that faces away from the flexible substrate of another flexible circuit layer is provided with a respective second metal wiring layer; and a further second metal wiring layer is disposed between the two flexible substrates of the two flexible circuit layers and is electrically connected to a corresponding first metal wiring layer through a via hole that extends through one of the two flexible substrates as taught by Ham, in order to provide electrical connections between circuits in the flexible portion, allow for different pitches between circuit areas (Ham, [0079-0090]). Additional layers would allow for components of a greater size to be embedded within the second board body (see Fig 4 of Ham and Fig 5 of Ham). Furthermore the combination of Tseng in view of Adjiwibawa and Ham teaches of greater electrical connections within the board which could lead to meeting demands in PCB technology, helping to form connections for driving capabilities of a display (Ham [0046-0049,0069-0079]). Many modern devices such as mobile phones and interactive user interfaces require a means to display information to a user and thus a circuit board as taught by Tseng in view of Adjiwibawa and Ham can be used for connections between components and through the circuit board for conveying complex information effectively to a user display.
Note that the Applicant’s Specification at [0004-005] states the binding part is referencing a process of binding and is thus treated as a product by process claim.
The Applicant’s Specification at [0004-005] states the binding part is referencing a process of binding and is thus treated as a product by process claim. The claim states a “binding part” but “binding” does not represent product structure but only refers to the process by which the layer is used. Thus the claim is a product claim that recites a process step(s) of binding and is thus treated as a product-by-process claim. See MPEP 2113.
Note that the Applicant’s Specification at [0057] states the pressing part is referencing a process of hot pressing and is thus treated as a product by process claim. The claim states a “pressing part” but “pressing” does not represent product structure but only refers to the process by which the layer is formed. Thus the claim is a product claim that recites a process step(s) of pressing and is thus treated as a product-by-process claim. See MPEP 2113.
Claim states “a functional layer” however it has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987)
Claim states “pressing” however it has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987)
Regarding Claim 13, Tseng in view of Adjiwibawa and Ham teaches the limitations of the preceding claim.
Tseng further discloses the display module (Fig 1) according to Claim 10, wherein in a thickness direction of the first board body (300), the flexible circuit layer (200) is located in a middle position (see Fig 1) of the first board body (300).
Regarding Claim 14, Tseng in view of Adjiwibawa and Ham teaches the limitations of the preceding claim.
Tseng further discloses the circuit board (Fig 1) according to Claim 10, wherein adjacent ones of the first metal wiring layers (340,370,390; [0035-0040]) located in different layers (330,360,380) are connected through a respective one of via holes (351,352,353,354), and the second metal wiring layer (120,220) and an adjacent one of the first metal wiring layers (340) in different layers are connected through another respective one of the via holes (351,352).
Regarding Claim 15, Tseng in view of Adjiwibawa and Ham teaches the limitations of the preceding claim.
Tseng further discloses the display module (Fig 1) according to Claim 14, wherein the via hole (354,353,352) is filled with a metal conductive material ([0037,0038]), and the metal conductive material comprises any one of copper ([0037,0038]), aluminum ([0037,0038]), nickel, and tin.
Regarding Claim 16, Tseng in view of Adjiwibawa and Ham teaches the limitations of the preceding claim.
Tseng does not disclose the display module according to Claim 10, wherein a material of the rigid boards is one or a combination of two or more of a phenolic resin, a glass fiber, and an epoxy resin; a substrate material of the flexible circuit layer is a polyimide, a polyester film, a polytetrafluoroethylene, or a polyamide fiber.
Ham teaches of display module (Fig 3) , wherein a material of a rigid board (330) is one or a combination of two or more of a phenolic resin, a glass fiber, and an epoxy resin ([0062]); a substrate material of the flexible circuit layer (200) is a polyimide ([0064]), a polyester film, a polytetrafluoroethylene ([0064]), or a polyamide fiber.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the module as taught by Tseng in view of Adjiwibawa and Ham wherein a material of the rigid board is one or a combination of two or more of a phenolic resin, a glass fiber, and an epoxy resin; a substrate material of the flexible circuit layer is a polyimide, a polyester film, a polytetrafluoroethylene, or a polyamide fiber as taught by Ham, in order to provide specific dielectric factors, flexibility, low bendability, high bendability or rigidity (Ham, [0062-0064]).
Regarding Claim 18, Tseng in view of Adjiwibawa and Ham teaches the limitations of the preceding claim.
Adjiwibawa further teaches the display module (Fig 1-2) according to Claim 10, wherein an opposite end (end of 120 towards 140) of the flexible circuit layer (120) where the (pressing) part (portion of 120 within 114) is located is set as the plurality of binding parts (146/126), and the plurality of binding parts (126) of the flexible circuit layer (120) are suspended (are suspended (see Fig 1-2 shows the left side in a suspended state, and not folded under the display) before binding an external device (140)).
Note that the Applicant’s Specification at [0004-005] states the binding part is referencing a process of binding and is thus treated as a product by process claim.
The Applicant’s Specification at [0004-005] states the binding part is referencing a process of binding and is thus treated as a product by process claim. The claim states a “binding part” and “are suspended before”, but “binding” and “are suspended before” does not represent product structure but only refers to the process by which the layer is used or manufactured. Thus the claim is a product claim that recites a process step(s) of binding, or steps of suspending, and is thus treated as a product-by-process claim. See MPEP 2113. Note that the Applicant’s Specification at [0057] states the pressing part is referencing a process of hot pressing and is thus treated as a product by process claim. The claim states a “pressing part” but “pressing” does not represent product structure but only refers to the process by which the layer is formed. Thus the claim is a product claim that recites a process step(s) of pressing and is thus treated as a product-by-process claim. See MPEP 2113.
Regarding Claim 20, Tseng in view of Adjiwibawa teaches the limitations of the preceding claim.
Tseng further discloses the display module (Fig 1) according to Claim 10, wherein a material of the first metal wiring layer (370,340,342; [0015-0019,0030,0035-0038]) and the second metal wiring layer (370,340,342; [0015-0019,0030,0035-0038]) is tin, copper ([0035-0038]), chromium, palladium, nickel ([0035-0038]), gold ([0035-0038]), aluminum ([0035-0038]), or one of alloys ([0035-0038]) of above metal materials.
Regarding Claim 21, Tseng discloses a circuit board (Fig 1), comprising: a first board body (300) and a second board body (200) combined with the first board body (300), wherein the first board body (300) comprises a plurality of rigid boards (330,360,380,362,382; [0033-0040]), the first board body (300) and the second board body (200) comprise two flexible circuit layers (220,222,210; [0032]) that are stacked, and comprises a flexible substrate (210), the first board body (300) further comprises a plurality of first metal wiring layers (370,340,342; [0015-0019,0030,0035,0037]) each disposed on a side of a respective one of the rigid boards (380,360,330,362) away from (the) flexible substrate (210), and the flexible circuit layer (222,220) extends to an outside of the first board body (300); wherein a part (portion of 200 outside of 300) of the flexible circuit layer outside the first board body (300) is an arbitrary functional layer (222,220 provide some function; note that the claim has not defined any specific function; structure shown could perform a function, such as to provide transmission and operation of high frequency [0065]) of the second board body (200); one end of the flexible circuit layer (220,222,210) is set as a (pressing) part (portion or region of 200 within 300; the structure could perform this function), and the (pressing) part (portion or region of 200 within 300) of the flexible circuit layer is fixedly arranged (see Fig 1; [0045-0046]) in the first board body (300).
Tseng does not disclose each flexible circuit layer comprises a flexible substrate, wherein a part of the flexible circuit layer outside the first board body is disposed on a single side of the first board body; the part of the flexible circuit layer on the single side of the first board body comprises a plurality of binding parts, the plurality of binding parts being provided with a plurality of first binding terminals to be fixed to and electrically connected to a plurality of second binding terminals of a display panel and a side of the flexible substrate of each of the two flexible circuit layers that faces away from the flexible substrate of another flexible circuit layer is provided with a respective second metal wiring layer; and a further second metal wiring layer is disposed between the two flexible substrates of the two flexible circuit layers and is electrically connected to a corresponding first metal wiring layer through a via hole that extends through one of the two flexible substrates.
Adjiwibawa (US 2021/0084777 A1) teaches of a display module (Fig 1-2), comprising: a display panel (140); and a circuit board (110), wherein the circuit board (110) comprises a first board body (114) and a second board body (112) combined with the first board body (114) wherein the first board body (114) is a rigid board body ([0023]), the second board body (112) is a flexible board body ([0023]), the first board body (114) comprises a flexible circuit layer (120) fixedly arranged in the first board body (114), and the flexible circuit layer (120) comprises a flexible substrate (120,134); wherein the flexible circuit layer (120) of the first board body (114) and extends to an outside (left side of Fig 1-2) of the first board body (114), a part (portion or region) of the flexible circuit layer (120) outside the first board body (114) is any functional layer (provide some function; note that the claim has not defined any specific function; structure shown could perform a function, such as to connect to a display) of the second board body (114), and wherein a part (portion of 120 outside of 114) of the flexible circuit layer outside the first board body is disposed on a single side (left side as seen in Fig 1-2) of the first board body (114); the part of the flexible circuit layer (120) on the single side (left side) of the first board body (114) comprises a plurality of binding parts (126/146), the plurality of binding parts (126/146) being provided with a plurality of first binding terminals (126) to be fixed to ([0025]) and electrically connected to ([0025]) a plurality of second binding terminals (146) of (the) display panel (140).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the board as disclosed by Tseng wherein a part of the flexible circuit layer outside the first board body is disposed on a single side of the first board body; the part of the flexible circuit layer on the single side of the first board body comprises a plurality of binding parts, the plurality of binding parts being provided with a plurality of first binding terminals to be fixed to and electrically connected to a plurality of second binding terminals of (the) display panel as taught by Adjiwibawa, in order to connect electronic components associated with display panel function such as driver ICs, timing controllers, touch controllers, memory, processors, allow a PCB to be wrapped behind a display, allow for pitch matching, minimize packaging and require less space (Adjiwibawa, [0003-0007]) and furthermore since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art, as having only one side be flexible minimizes the overall size of the PCB and thus would minimize the size of the overall assembly within a higher device, such as a smartphone. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70. Please note that in the instant application, page 2 of the Applicant’s Specification [0006] “the flexible circuit layer comprises a flexible substrate and a metal wiring layer disposed on at least one side of the flexible substrate” (see also page 3, [0015]), Applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitations. Note further that the Applicant has not provided any criticality for this flexible structure being solely on one side of the rigid portion. Note also that Tseng does not teach away from comprising a flexible portion solely on one side of the rigid portion.
Ham teaches of a display module (Fig 5) comprising a circuit board (Fig 5), comprising: a first board body (at R) and a second board body (at F) combined with the first board body, wherein the first board body comprises a plurality of rigid boards (110), the first board body and the second board body comprise two flexible circuit layers (uppermost circuit layer of second circuit C2 in F and lowermost circuit layer of second circuit C2 in F; [0079-0085]) that are stacked, and each flexible circuit layer comprises a flexible substrate (upper C2 is formed on upper 210 and lowermost C2 is formed on 220), the first board body (at R) further comprises a plurality of first metal wiring layers (at C1 and C2) each disposed on a side of a respective one of the rigid boards away from the flexible substrate, and the flexible circuit layer (C2) extends to an outside of the first board body; and wherein a side (upper side of upper 210 and lower side of lower 220) of the flexible substrate (upper C2 is formed on upper 210 and lowermost C2 is formed on 220) of each of the two flexible circuit layers (uppermost and lowermost C2 in F) that faces away from the flexible substrate of another flexible circuit layer (the substrate of the other C2) is provided with a respective second metal wiring layer (uppermost C2 in F and lowermost C2 in F; [0079-0085]); and a further second metal wiring layer (centrally located layer of C2 in F; [0079-0085]) is disposed between the two flexible substrates (centrally located layer of C2 in F is between upper 210 and lower 220) of the two flexible circuit layers and is electrically connected ([0082]; see unlabeled via connecting to V1 and C1 and C2; annotated “VIA” in annotated Fig 5 above) to a corresponding first metal wiring layer (C1) through a via hole (at V1 and unlabeled via) that extends through one of the two flexible substrates (210,220).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the module as taught by Tseng in view of Adjiwibawa wherein each flexible circuit layer comprises a flexible substrate, wherein a side of the flexible substrate of each of the two flexible circuit layers that faces away from the flexible substrate of another flexible circuit layer is provided with a respective second metal wiring layer; and a further second metal wiring layer is disposed between the two flexible substrates of the two flexible circuit layers and is electrically connected to a corresponding first metal wiring layer through a via hole that extends through one of the two flexible substrates as taught by Ham, in order to provide electrical connections between circuits in the flexible portion, allow for different pitches between circuit areas (Ham, [0079-0090]). Additional layers would allow for components of a greater size to be embedded within the second board body (see Fig 4 of Ham and Fig 5 of Ham). Furthermore the combination of Tseng in view of Adjiwibawa and Ham teaches of greater electrical connections within the board which could lead to meeting demands in PCB technology, helping to form connections for driving capabilities of a display (Ham [0046-0049,0069-0079]). Many modern devices such as mobile phones and interactive user interfaces require a means to display information to a user and thus a circuit board as taught by Tseng in view of Adjiwibawa and Ham can be used for connections between components and through the circuit board for conveying complex information effectively to a user display.
Claim states “a functional layer” however it has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987)
Claim states “pressing” however it has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987)
Regarding Claim 22, Tseng in view of Adjiwibawa and Ham teaches the limitations of the preceding claim.
Tseng further discloses the circuit board (Fig 1) according to Claim 21, wherein in a thickness direction of the first board body (300), the flexible circuit layer (200) is located in a middle position (see Fig 1) of the first board body (300).
Regarding Claim 23, Tseng in view of Adjiwibawa and Ham teaches the limitations of the preceding claim.
Tseng further discloses the circuit board (Fig 1) according to Claim 21, wherein adjacent ones of the first metal wiring layers (340,370,390; [0035-0040]) located in different layers (330,360,380) are connected through a respective one of via holes (351,352,353,354), and one of the second metal wiring layer (120,220) and an adjacent one of the first metal wiring layers (340) in different layers are connected through another respective one of the via holes (351,352).
Regarding Claim 24, Tseng in view of Adjiwibawa and Ham teaches the limitations of the preceding claim.
Tseng does not disclose the circuit board according to Claim 21, wherein a material of the rigid boards is one or a combination of two or more of a phenolic resin, a glass fiber, and an epoxy resin; a substrate material of the flexible circuit layer is a polyimide, a polyester film, a polytetrafluoroethylene, or a polyamide fiber.
Ham teaches of a circuit board (Fig 3) , wherein a material of a rigid board (330) is one or a combination of two or more of a phenolic resin, a glass fiber, and an epoxy resin ([0062]); a substrate material of the flexible circuit layer (200) is a polyimide ([0064]), a polyester film, a polytetrafluoroethylene ([0064]), or a polyamide fiber.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the boards as taught by Tseng in view of Adjiwibawa and Ham wherein a material of the rigid boards is one or a combination of two or more of a phenolic resin, a glass fiber, and an epoxy resin; a substrate material of the flexible circuit layer is a polyimide, a polyester film, a polytetrafluoroethylene, or a polyamide fiber as taught by Ham, in order to provide specific dielectric factors, flexibility, low bendability, high bendability or rigidity (Ham, [0062-0064]).
Regarding Claim 25, Tseng in view of Adjiwibawa and Ham teaches the limitations of the preceding claim.
Adjiwibawa further teaches the circuit board (Fig 1-2) according to Claim 21, wherein an opposite end (end about 146/126) of the flexible circuit layer (120) where the (pressing) part (portion of 120 within 114) is located is set as the plurality of binding parts (146/126; [0025] “bonded”), and the plurality of binding parts (portion or part about 146/126) of the flexible circuit layer (120) (are suspended (see Fig 1-2 shows the left side in a suspended state, and not folded under the display) before binding an external device (140)).
Note that the Applicant’s Specification at [0004-005] states the binding part is referencing a process of binding and is thus treated as a product by process claim.
The Applicant’s Specification at [0004-005] states the binding part is referencing a process of binding and is thus treated as a product by process claim. The claim states a “binding part” and “suspended before”, but “binding” and “suspended before” does not represent product structure but only refers to the process by which the layer is used or manufactured. Thus the claim is a product claim that recites a process step(s) of binding, or steps of suspending, and is thus treated as a product-by-process claim. See MPEP 2113. Note that the Applicant’s Specification at [0057] states the pressing part is referencing a process of hot pressing and is thus treated as a product by process claim. The claim states a “pressing part” but “pressing” does not represent product structure but only refers to the process by which the layer is formed. Thus the claim is a product claim that recites a process step(s) of pressing and is thus treated as a product-by-process claim. See MPEP 2113.
Claim(s) 9, 19 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tseng (US 2020/0366012 A1) in view of Adjiwibawa (US 2021/0084777 A1) and Ham (US 2020/0176386 A1) as applied to claims 8 and 18 and 25 above, and further in view of Dixon (US 4,800,461).
Regarding Claim 9, Tseng in view of Adjiwibawa and Ham teaches the limitations of the preceding claim.
Adjiwibawa further teaches the circuit board (Fig 1-2) according to Claim 8, wherein the second board body (112) comprises (pressing) parts (portion of 120 within 114), and the plurality of binding parts (about 146/126).
Tseng does not disclose the circuit board according to Claim 8, wherein the second board body comprises two or more sub-boards arranged at intervals along a same direction, (pressing) parts of the sub-boards are connected to form a board, and the plurality of binding parts of the sub-boards are arranged independently of each other.
Dixon teaches of a circuit board (Fig 4), wherein a second board body (30) comprises two or more sub-boards (30, 30; see Fig 4 showing a plurality of 30) arranged at intervals along a same direction (a direction perpendicular to the direction of extension of 30), (pressing) parts (portion of 30 within 29; see Fig 3 showing how 13 extends through both the flexible and rigid regions) of the sub-boards (30) are connected to form a board, and (binding) parts (at 14,15 about 31) of the sub-boards are arranged independently (see Fig 4 showing 30 are independent form one another) of each other.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the board as taught by Tseng in view of Adjiwibawa and Ham, wherein the second board body comprises two or more sub-boards arranged at intervals along a same direction, (pressing) parts of the sub-boards are connected to form a board, and the plurality of binding parts of the sub-boards are arranged independently of each other as taught by Dixon, in order to increase complexity, to provide a simplified construction, and increase cable flexibility and (Dixon, Column 1, lines 5-55, Column 4, lines 1-12, Column 5, lines 1-25).
Note that the Applicant’s Specification at [0004-005] states the binding part is referencing a process of binding and is thus treated as a product by process claim.
The Applicant’s Specification at [0004-005] states the binding part is referencing a process of binding and is thus treated as a product by process claim. The claim states a “binding part” but “binding” does not represent product structure but only refers to the process by which the layer is used. Thus the claim is a product claim that recites a process step(s) of binding and is thus treated as a product-by-process claim. See MPEP 2113. Note that the Applicant’s Specification at [0057] states the pressing part is referencing a process of hot pressing and is thus treated as a product by process claim. The claim states a “pressing part” but “pressing” does not represent product structure but only refers to the process by which the layer is formed. Thus the claim is a product claim that recites a process step(s) of pressing and is thus treated as a product-by-process claim. See MPEP 2113.
Regarding Claim 19, Tseng in view of Adjiwibawa and Ham teaches the limitations of the preceding claim and Adjiwibawa further discloses the circuit board (Fig 1-2) according to Claim 18, wherein the second board body (112) comprises (pressing) parts (portion of 120 within 112), and a (binding) part (about 146/126).
Tseng does not disclose the module according to Claim 18, wherein the second board body comprises two or more sub-boards arranged at intervals along a same direction, (pressing) parts of the sub-boards are connected to form a board, and the plurality of (binding) parts of the sub-boards are arranged independently of each other.
Dixon teaches of a circuit board (Fig 4), wherein a second board body (30) comprises two or more sub-boards (30, 30; see Fig 4 showing a plurality of 30) arranged at intervals along a same direction (a direction perpendicular to the direction of extension of 30), (pressing) parts (portion of 30 within 29; see Fig 3 showing how 13 extends through both the flexible and rigid regions) of the sub-boards (30) are connected to form a board, and (binding) parts (at 14,15 about 31) of the sub-boards are arranged independently (see Fig 4 showing 30 are independent form one another) of each other.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the board as taught by Tseng in view of Adjiwibawa and Ham wherein the second board body comprises two or more sub-boards arranged at intervals along a same direction, (pressing) parts of the sub-boards are connected to form a board, and the plurality of (binding) parts of the sub-boards are arranged independently of each other as taught by Dixon, in order to increase complexity, to provide a simplified construction, and increase cable flexibility and (Dixon, Column 1, lines 5-55, Column 4, lines 1-12, Column 5, lines 1-25).
Note that the Applicant’s Specification at [0004-005] states the binding part is referencing a process of binding and is thus treated as a product by process claim.
The Applicant’s Specification at [0004-005] states the binding part is referencing a process of binding and is thus treated as a product by process claim. The claim states a “binding part” but “binding” does not represent product structure but only refers to the process by which the layer is used. Thus the claim is a product claim that recites a process step(s) of binding and is thus treated as a product-by-process claim. See MPEP 2113. Note that the Applicant’s Specification at [0057] states the pressing part is referencing a process of hot pressing and is thus treated as a product by process claim. The claim states a “pressing part” but “pressing” does not represent product structure but only refers to the process by which the layer is formed. Thus the claim is a product claim that recites a process step(s) of pressing and is thus treated as a product-by-process claim. See MPEP 2113.
Regarding Claim 26, Tseng in view of Adjiwibawa and Ham teaches the limitations of the preceding claim.
Adjiwibawa further teaches the circuit board (Fig 1-2) according to Claim 25, wherein the second board body (112) comprises (pressing) parts (portion of 120 within 114), and the plurality of binding parts (about 146/126).
Tseng does not disclose the circuit board according to Claim 8, wherein the second board body comprises two or more sub-boards arranged at intervals along a same direction, (pressing) parts of the sub-boards are connected to form a board, and the plurality of binding parts of the sub-boards are arranged independently of each other.
Dixon teaches of a circuit board (Fig 4), wherein a second board body (30) comprises two or more sub-boards (30, 30; see Fig 4 showing a plurality of 30) arranged at intervals along a same direction (a direction perpendicular to the direction of extension of 30), (pressing) parts (portion of 30 within 29; see Fig 3 showing how 13 extends through both the flexible and rigid regions) of the sub-boards (30) are connected to form a board, and (binding) parts (at 14,15 about 31) of the sub-boards are arranged independently (see Fig 4 showing 30 are independent form one another) of each other.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the board as taught by Tseng in view of Adjiwibawa and Ham, wherein the second board body comprises two or more sub-boards arranged at intervals along a same direction, (pressing) parts of the sub-boards are connected to form a board, and the plurality of binding parts of the sub-boards are arranged independently of each other as taught by Dixon, in order to increase complexity, to provide a simplified construction, and increase cable flexibility and (Dixon, Column 1, lines 5-55, Column 4, lines 1-12, Column 5, lines 1-25).
Note that the Applicant’s Specification at [0004-005] states the binding part is referencing a process of binding and is thus treated as a product by process claim.
The Applicant’s Specification at [0004-005] states the binding part is referencing a process of binding and is thus treated as a product by process claim. The claim states a “binding part” but “binding” does not represent product structure but only refers to the process by which the layer is used. Thus the claim is a product claim that recites a process step(s) of binding and is thus treated as a product-by-process claim. See MPEP 2113. Note that the Applicant’s Specification at [0057] states the pressing part is referencing a process of hot pressing and is thus treated as a product by process claim. The claim states a “pressing part” but “pressing” does not represent product structure but only refers to the process by which the layer is formed. Thus the claim is a product claim that recites a process step(s) of pressing and is thus treated as a product-by-process claim. See MPEP 2113.
Conclusion
/ROSHN K VARGHESE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896