DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Specification
This application does not contain an abstract of the disclosure as required by 37 CFR 1.72(b). An abstract on a separate sheet is required. Although the WIPO publication (WO 2021/089621A1) included an English abstract, the pending application is missing an abstract.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 7, 16-17, 24-25, 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van de Sluis et al [US 2019/0344225A1], as evidenced by Fantappie [US 2011/0268845A1], and further in view of Hepperle et al [US 2013/0215710A1], Fischer [US 2010/0133708A1], Hansen [US 3,502,111], and Tachibana [US 6,253,963].
Van de Sluis et al teach method for dispensing carbonized water (title) by providing a static mixer which mixes water and CO2 (Figure 1-2, #7, 61), the static mixer including multiple stages (Figure 2, #61), the water and CO2 being at a pressure of 5-9 bar (paragraph 0012, 0014), a downstream compensator (Figure 1, #8), mixing a beverage concentrate/syrup with the carbonated water (Figure 1, #13; paragraph 0125), the CO2 provided from a regulated source in single serve portions (paragraph 0131), the water amount is regulated by a pump to provide a single serving volume (paragraph 0131), a consumer activating the system via a user interface to start a beverage order (paragraph 0152), subsequently providing water and CO2 to the static mixer (paragraph 0152), the static mixer inherently being at an ambient or reduced pressure when the water pump and CO2 source are not actively being used, and the water being municipal or tap water (paragraph 0128).
Van de Sluis et al (paragraph 0045) also disclose using the inline carbonator of US 2011/0268845 (Fantappie), wherein the inline carbonator used a flow rate of 5.15-382.97 in/s or 0.13-9.73 m/s (paragraph 0080 of ‘845).
Van de Sluis et al do not explicitly recite the static mixer having a decreasing flow cross section after each stage (claim 1), and the compensator having an offset or eccentric outlet (claim 1, 24), a fitted element with conical and cylindrical sections wherein the cylindrical section has projections less than 40% the length and the conical section having ribs (claim 1), the ribs being flexible (claim 27).
Hepperle et al teach a method for gas dispersion (title) comprising a static mixing element having multiple stages of decreasing cross section (Figure 2A, #L1-L3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the claimed decreasing flow cross section into the invention of Van de Sluis et al, in view of Hepperle et al, since both are directed to methods of mixing fluid and gas, since Van de Sluis et al already included a static mixer with multiple stages (Figure 1-2, #7, 61) as well as a passive accelerator with reduced cross section immediately after the static mixer stages (Figure 2, #62), since systems for mixing gas and fluids commonly included a static mixing element having multiple stages of decreasing cross section (Figure 2A, #L1-L3) as shown by Hepperle et al, since Hepperle et al also taught the static mixer configuration providing beneficial smaller bubble sizes and more effective gas dispersion without lengthening the static mixer (paragraph 0013-0014), since the substitution of one known element for another would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art, and since the decreasing cross section static mixer of Hepperle et al would have eliminated the need for separate static mixer elements and passive accelerator elements in the system of Van de Sluis et al, and thus removed complexity and capital costs for the system of Van de Sluis et al.
Fischer teaches a system for mixing liquids and gases, eg beer (abstract) by use of a compensator with an offset or eccentric outlet (Figure 2a, #130, A).
It further would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the claimed decreasing flow cross section into the invention of Van de Sluis et al, in view of Fischer, since both are directed to methods of mixing fluid and gas, since Van de Sluis et al already included a compensator with an outlet but simply did not mention its internal structure, since beverage mixing systems commonly included a compensator with an eccentric or offset outlet (Figure 2a, #130, A) as shown by Fischer, since the substitution of one known element for another would have yielded predictable results, and since the offset/eccentric outlet permitted the use of an axial adjusting screw (Figure 2a, #9a) for adjusting the pressure of the system of Fischer.
Hanson teaches a dispensing device comprising a compensator housing and fitted element (Figure 1-3, #30, 37, 65), the fitted element having a conical section and cylindrical section (Figure 1, #65-65a), the cylindrical section having projections which are less than 40% the length (Figure 1, #66), and the conical section being spaced from the housing by plastic ribs (Figure 1-3, #90).
Tachibana teaches a syrup drink supply nozzle assembly (title) comprising a pressure-reducing passage with a housing and conical fitted element (Figure 2 & 8, #21a-b), the conical fitted element having integral spacing ribs (Figure 8, #21b-1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the claimed fitted element features into the invention of Van de Sluis et al, in view of Fischer, Hansen, and Tachibana; since all are directed to methods of mixing and/or dispensing fluids, since Van de Sluis et al already included a compensator (Figure 1, #8) but simply did not mention the details of its construction, since Fischer already disclosed a fitted element with a cylindrical section and conical section (Figure 2a, #108), since beverage dispensing systems commonly included a compensator housing and fitted element (Figure 1-3, #30, 37, 65), the fitted element having a conical section and cylindrical section (Figure 1, #65-65a), the cylindrical section having projections which are less than 40% the length (Figure 1, #66), and the conical section being spaced from the housing by plastic ribs (Figure 1-3, #90) as shown by Hansen; since beverage dispensing systems also commonly included a conical fitted element with integral spacing ribs (Figure 8, #21b-1) as shown by Tachibana, since the claimed projections and ribs would have kept the fitted element centered in the housing while still permitting flow in the combined invention of Van de Sluis et al, in view of Fischer, Hansen, and Tachibana; and since flexible plastic ribs would have been less likely to break or shatter as compared to a more brittle material in the combined invention of Van de Sluis et al, in view of Fischer, Hansen, and Tachibana.
In conclusion, all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Claims 2, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van de Sluis et, in view of Hepperle et al, Hansen, Tachibana, Fischer, as applied above and further in view of Long [US 2020/0060314A1].
Van de Sluis et al, Fischer, Hansen, Tachibana, and Hepperle et al teach the above mentioned concepts. Van de Sluis et al also taught chilling the water (paragraph 0128). Van de Sluis et al do not explicitly recite a water temperature of 0-10C (claim 2) or 0-4C (claim 18). Long teaches a method for making carbonated water (title) by providing water at a temperature under 3C (paragraph 0108). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the claimed water temperatures into the invention of Van de Sluis et al, in view of Long, since both are directed to methods of carbonating water, since Van de Sluis et al already disclosed chilling the water (paragraph 0128) but simply did not mention a specific temperature, since water carbonating systems commonly used water at 3C (paragraph 0108) as shown by Long, since many consumers desired beverages a cold temperatures, and since the claimed water temperatures would have been used during the course of normal experimentation and optimization procedures due to factors such as the type of beverage, the degree of carbonation, and/or the preferences of the consumer in the method of Van de Sluis et al, in view of Long.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Anderson disclose a compensator with projections on the cylindrical and conical sections (Figure 1), Cornelius disclose a compensator with projections ion the cylindrical section (Figure 1).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-2, 4, 7, 16-18, 24-25, 27 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the same references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
/DREW E BECKER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1792