DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 22 September 2025 have been fully considered, arguing that the rejection of claims 1 and 3 under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Oguma et al (US 20190305393 A1) modified by Matsuda et al (US 20190074761 A1) and Takahashi et al (US 20210294367 A1) insufficiently describes the noted features of the proposed invention.
Applicant's arguments filed 22 September 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive, new grounds of rejection are presented herein as necessitated by amendment.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 objected to because of a grammatical error in the limitation “and a sample-and-hold circuit configured to retaining charge corresponding to a voltage of the battery”, wherein the grammatical error is emphasized. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, and 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Momo et al (US 20140184172 A1) modified by Takahashi et al (US 20210294367 A1)
Regarding claim 1, Momo teaches a power storage device comprising a battery, a control circuit, and a converter circuit (¶0107 “power storage device that charges and discharges a power storage unit illustrated in FIG. 3 includes a power storage unit 201, a converter 202, a circuit 203, a load 204, a power supply 205, a switch 206, a switch 207, a switch 208, a coulomb counter 209, a resistor 210, and a converter 211”, ¶0113 “circuit 203 has a function of controlling the value of the output voltage from the converter 202 by generating and outputting an instruction signal that instructs the state of the converter 202”),
wherein the converter circuit is configured to select and convert a first voltage or a second voltage and supply the converted voltage to the battery (¶0109 “The converter 202 is connected to the power storage unit 201 and the circuit 203”, (¶0110 “For example, the converter 202 has a function of controlling the current value at the time of charge and discharge of the power storage unit 201 by converting voltage supplied from the power supply 205.”),
wherein the first voltage is an AC voltage, wherein the second voltage is a DC voltage (¶0394 “electric vehicle 8020 includes a power storage device 8024 that can be charged and discharged… inverter unit 8026 can convert DC power input from the power storage device 8024 into three phase AC power, can adjust the voltage, current, and frequency of the converted AC power, and can output the AC power to the drive motor unit 8027”),
wherein the control circuit comprises: a processing unit configured to control an electrical path between the battery and an ammeter (¶0122 “coulomb counter 209 detects the value of current flowing through the resistor 210 and determines the capacity (the amount of charges) of the power storage unit 201”, ¶0123 “coulomb counter 209 is electrically connected to the circuit 203 and controlled by the circuit 203”);
and a sample-and-hold circuit configured to retaining charge corresponding to a voltage of the battery (¶0245 “FIG. 12 is a circuit diagram of a configuration example of a coulomb counter”, ¶0252 “transistor 256 and the capacitor 258 have a function of a sample-and-hold circuit. When the transistor 256 is turned on, the current Ic is input to the node 260 from the voltage-current converter circuit 252”, ¶0258 “With the use of this coulomb counter, the capacity of the power storage unit in the power storage device can be determined”);
wherein a gate of the transistor comprising an oxide semiconductor is electrically connected to the processing unit (¶0249 “On/off of the transistor 256 is controlled by a signal CON input to a gate of the transistor 256”),
wherein the converter circuit is configured to select and convert a first voltage or a second voltage and supply the converted voltage to the battery (¶0109 “converter 202 is connected to the power storage unit 201 and the circuit 203”, ¶0119 “switch 208 has a function of controlling conduction between the power supply 205 and the converter 202”),
wherein the first voltage is an AC voltage, wherein the second voltage is a DC voltage (¶0394 “electric vehicle 8020 includes a power storage device 8024 that can be charged and discharged… inverter unit 8026 can convert DC power input from the power storage device 8024 into three phase AC power, can adjust the voltage, current, and frequency of the converted AC power, and can output the AC power to the drive motor unit 8027”),
and wherein the control circuit is configured to measure data of a voltage of the battery and retain the data of the voltage of the battery (¶0134 “A circuit 203 includes a processor 710, a bus bridge 711, a RAM (random access memory) 712, a memory interface 713, a controller 720, an interrupt controller 721, an I/O interface (input-output interface) 722, and a power gate unit 730”).
The power storage device depicted in Momo is discussed as an arbitrary power storage device until section 7 which begins putting the arbitrary power storage device into practical application, particularly in the electric vehicle applications of FIGs 20a-20c. Momo does not teach a power storage device wherein the sample-and-hold circuit comprises a transistor comprising an oxide semiconductor in a channel formation region.
Takahashi teaches a sample-and-hold circuit comprising a transistor and further comprising an oxide semiconductor in a channel formation region (¶0179 “The transistor 56B and the capacitor 58A form a sample-and-hold circuit”, the transistor is further defined ¶0410 “Top-gate self- aligned CAAC-IGZO FET stacked on a Si wafer. The top-gate self-aligned structure eliminated overlap between a top gate and a source or drain and reduced parasitic capacitance due to the overlap. This smaller parasitic capacitance can reduce charge injection and feedthrough and increase the sampling accuracy of a sample-and-hold circuit’).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing date, to modify the sample-and-hold circuit of the power storage device as taught by Momo wherein the control circuit is configured to measure data of a voltage of the battery and retain the data of the voltage of the battery as taught by Takahashi for the purpose of minimizing power loss allowing for more efficient charging of the electric vehicle.
Regarding claim 3, Momo as modified by Takahashi teaches the power storage device according to claim 1. Momo as modified by Takahashi further teaches a power storage device wherein the converter circuit is configured to convert one or more of a magnitude and a frequency of a voltage (¶0128 “predetermined current I.sub.1 is made to flow to the power storage unit 201 by the converter 202 and a voltage V.sub.1a at this time is measured by the converter 211. Further, a predetermined current I.sub.2 is made to flow to the power storage unit 201 by the converter 202 and a voltage V.sub.2a at this time is measured by the converter 211”).
Regarding claim 4, Momo as modified by Takahashi teaches the power storage device according to claim 3. Momo as modified by Takahashi further teaches a power storage device wherein the second voltage is a voltage generated by a solar cell (¶0401 “a solar cell may be provided in an exterior of the moving object to charge the power storage device 8024 when the electric vehicle is stopped or driven”).
Regarding claim 14, Momo as modified by Takahashi teaches the power storage device according to claim 1. Momo as modified by Takahashi further teaches a power storage device wherein one of a source and a drain of the transistor comprising an oxide semiconductor (Takahashi ¶0179 “The transistor 56B and the capacitor 58A form a sample-and-hold circuit”, the transistor is further defined ¶0410 “Top-gate self- aligned CAAC-IGZO FET stacked on a Si wafer”) is electrically connected to the battery (Momo FIG 3 coulomb counter 2009 electrically connected to power storage unit 201).
Regarding claim 15, Momo as modified by Takahashi teaches the power storage device according to claim 1. Momo as modified by Takahashi further teaches a power storage device wherein the sample-and-hold circuit further comprises a capacitor (¶0252 “transistor 256 and the capacitor 258 have a function of a sample-and-hold circuit”),
and wherein the other of the source and the drain of the transistor comprising an oxide semiconductor is electrically connected to the converter circuit and the capacitor (Momo FIG 3 coulomb counter 2009 electrically connected to power storage unit 201).
Claim(s) 5 and 7-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Momo modified by Takahashi and Vanderslice et al (US 5362942 A)
Regarding claim 5, Momo teaches a power storage device comprising a battery, a control circuit, and a converter circuit (¶0107 “power storage device that charges and discharges a power storage unit illustrated in FIG. 3 includes a power storage unit 201, a converter 202, a circuit 203, a load 204, a power supply 205, a switch 206, a switch 207, a switch 208, a coulomb counter 209, a resistor 210, and a converter 211”, ¶0113 “circuit 203 has a function of controlling the value of the output voltage from the converter 202 by generating and outputting an instruction signal that instructs the state of the converter 202”),
wherein the converter circuit is configured to select and convert a first voltage or a second voltage and supply the converted voltage to the battery (¶0109 “The converter 202 is connected to the power storage unit 201 and the circuit 203”),
wherein the first voltage is an AC voltage, wherein the second voltage is a DC voltage (¶0394 “electric vehicle 8020 includes a power storage device 8024 that can be charged and discharged… inverter unit 8026 can convert DC power input from the power storage device 8024 into three phase AC power, can adjust the voltage, current, and frequency of the converted AC power, and can output the AC power to the drive motor unit 8027”),
wherein the control circuit comprises a processing unit configured to control an electrical path between the battery and an ammeter (¶0122 “coulomb counter 209 detects the value of current flowing through the resistor 210 and determines the capacity (the amount of charges) of the power storage unit 201”, ¶0123 “coulomb counter 209 is electrically connected to the circuit 203 and controlled by the circuit 203”);
wherein the first sample-and-hold circuit is configured to measure and retain data of a voltage of the battery (¶0245 “FIG. 12 is a circuit diagram of a configuration example of a coulomb counter”, ¶0252 “transistor 256 and the capacitor 258 have a function of a sample-and-hold circuit. When the transistor 256 is turned on, the current Ic is input to the node 260 from the voltage-current converter circuit 252”, ¶0258 “With the use of this coulomb counter, the capacity of the power storage unit in the power storage device can be determined”),
wherein the first sample-and-hold circuit comprises a first transistor (¶0252 “transistor 256 and the capacitor 258 have a function of a sample-and-hold circuit. When the transistor 256 is turned on, the current Ic is input to the node 260 from the voltage-current converter circuit 252”),
wherein the first sample-and-hold circuit is configured to measure the data of the voltage of the battery when the first transistor is in an on state (¶0249 “On/off of the transistor 256 is controlled by a signal CON input to a gate of the transistor 256”),
and retain the data of the voltage of the battery when the first transistor is in an off state (¶0181 “Since the off-state current of the transistor 631 is extremely low, the charge in the capacitor 632 is held and thus the data is stored even when the supply of the power source voltage is stopped.”),
wherein a gate of the first transistor is electrically connected to the processing unit (FIG 2 wherein control circuit 203 is connected to a coulomb counter,¶0245 “FIG. 12 is a circuit diagram of a configuration example of a coulomb counter”, ¶0248 “integrating circuit 253 includes a transistor 256, a transistor 257, a capacitor 258, and a comparator 259”).
Momo does not teach a power storage device comprising a first sample-and-hold circuity and a second sample-and-hold circuit, and wherein the first transistor and the second transistor each comprise an oxide semiconductor in a channel formation region.
Takahashi teaches a sample-and-hold circuit comprising a transistor and further comprising an oxide semiconductor in a channel formation region (¶0179 “The transistor 56B and the capacitor 58A form a sample-and-hold circuit”, the transistor is further defined ¶0410 “Top-gate self- aligned CAAC-IGZO FET stacked on a Si wafer. The top-gate self-aligned structure eliminated overlap between a top gate and a source or drain and reduced parasitic capacitance due to the overlap. This smaller parasitic capacitance can reduce charge injection and feedthrough and increase the sampling accuracy of a sample-and-hold circuit’).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing date, to modify the sample-and-hold circuit of the power storage device as taught by Momo wherein the control circuit is configured to measure data of a voltage of the battery and retain the data of the voltage of the battery as taught by Takahashi for the purpose of minimizing power loss allowing for more efficient charging of the electric vehicle. Momo as modified by Takahashi does not teach a power storage device comprising a first sample-and-hold circuity and a second sample-and-hold circuit.
Vanderslice teaches a power storage device comprising a battery, a control circuit, and a converter circuit (FIG 1 battery 10, temperature control circuit 16, Col 3 line 17 “… DC charger 18 also has two control inputs: high/low rate charge rate control input 20, and a charger enable control input 22…”, the control inputs are regulated using a converter)
wherein the control circuit comprises a first sample-and-hold circuity and a second sample-and-hold circuit (paragraph beginning col 5 line 47 describes the functionality of comparator 36 and onboard controller 16 which measure the battery voltage and hold that measurement for a period of time until it is resampled).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing date, to modify the power storage device as taught by Momo modified by Takahashi to include a second sample and hold circuit as taught by Vanderslice for the purpose of simultaneously and independently sampling voltage and current which allows for a more accurate temperature reading to improve safe operation of the battery.
Regarding claim 7, Momo as modified by Takahashi and Vanderslice teaches the power storage device according to claim 5. Momo as modified by Takahashi and Vanderslice further teaches a power storage device configured to calculate a remaining capacity of the battery with use of: the data of the voltage of the battery retained in the first sample-and-hold circuit (¶0134 “A circuit 203 includes a processor 710, a bus bridge 711, a RAM (random access memory) 712, a memory interface 713, a controller 720, an interrupt controller 721, an I/O interface (input-output interface) 722, and a power gate unit 730”);
and the data of the current of the battery retained in the second sample-and-hold circuit (Vanderslice second sample-and-hold circuit using Momo ¶0134).
Regarding claim 8, Momo as modified by Takahashi and Vanderslice teaches the power storage device according to claim 5. Momo as modified by Takahashi and Vanderslice further teaches a power storage device wherein the converter circuit is configured to convert one or more of a magnitude and a frequency of a voltage (¶0128 “predetermined current I.sub.1 is made to flow to the power storage unit 201 by the converter 202 and a voltage V.sub.1a at this time is measured by the converter 211. Further, a predetermined current I.sub.2 is made to flow to the power storage unit 201 by the converter 202 and a voltage V.sub.2a at this time is measured by the converter 211”)..
Regarding claim 9, Momo as modified by Takahashi and Vanderslice teaches the power storage device according to claim 5. Momo as modified by Takahashi and Vanderslice further teaches a power storage device wherein the second voltage is a voltage generated by a solar cell (¶0401 “a solar cell may be provided in an exterior of the moving object to charge the power storage device 8024 when the electric vehicle is stopped or driven”).
Claim(s) 10-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Momo modified by Matsuda et al (US 20190074761 A1) and Vanderslice
Regarding claim 10, Momo teaches an operation method of a power storage device comprising a battery, a control circuit, and a converter circuit, wherein the control circuit comprises a processing unit comprising a processor core (¶0107 “power storage device that charges and discharges a power storage unit illustrated in FIG. 3 includes a power storage unit 201, a converter 202, a circuit 203, a load 204, a power supply 205, a switch 206, a switch 207, a switch 208, a coulomb counter 209, a resistor 210, and a converter 211”, ¶0113 “circuit 203 has a function of controlling the value of the output voltage from the converter 202 by generating and outputting an instruction signal that instructs the state of the converter 202”),
wherein the processing unit is configured to control an electrical path between the battery and an ammeter (¶0122 “coulomb counter 209 detects the value of current flowing through the resistor 210 and determines the capacity (the amount of charges) of the power storage unit 201”, ¶0123 “coulomb counter 209 is electrically connected to the circuit 203 and controlled by the circuit 203”),
wherein the first sample-and-hold circuit comprises a first transistor (¶0252 “transistor 256 and the capacitor 258 have a function of a sample-and-hold circuit. When the transistor 256 is turned on, the current Ic is input to the node 260 from the voltage-current converter circuit 252”),
wherein the processing unit is electrically connected to a gate of the first transistor (FIG 2 wherein control circuit 203 is connected to a coulomb counter,¶0245 “FIG. 12 is a circuit diagram of a configuration example of a coulomb counter”, ¶0248 “integrating circuit 253 includes a transistor 256, a transistor 257, a capacitor 258, and a comparator 259”),
wherein the converter circuit supplies a voltage to the battery (¶0109 “The converter 202 is connected to the power storage unit 201 and the circuit 203”).
Momo does not teach an operation method of a power storage device comprising a first sample-and-hold circuit and a second sample-and-hold circuit, wherein the processing unit supplies signals to the gate of the first transistor and the gate of the second transistor to turn on the first transistor and the second transistor, wherein data of a voltage of the battery is supplied to one of a source and a drain of the first transistor, and data of a current of the battery is converted into a voltage and the voltage is supplied to one of a source and a drain of the second transistor, wherein the processing unit supplies signals to the gate of the first transistor and the gate of the second transistor to turn off the first transistor and the second transistor, and wherein the first transistor and the second transistor each comprise an oxide semiconductor in a channel formation region.
Matsuda teaches an operation method of operating an AC-DC converter comprising a first sample-and-hold circuit, wherein the first sample and hold circuit comprises a first transistor (¶0046 describes the power supply control IC 13, which contains a clock circuit element which has switching transistor, ¶0039 describes specifies the transistor SW to be a MOSFET)
wherein the processing unit is electrically connected to a gate of the first transistor (¶0041 "...power supply control IC 13. Then, on the primary side, a phototransistor 15b is provided as a light reception-side element. The phototransistor 15b is connected between a ground point and a feedback terminal FB of the power supply control IC 13...")
wherein the processing unit supplies signals to the gate of the first transistor and the gate of the second transistor to turn on the first transistor and the second transistor (¶0047 "...gate G1 that has logical disjunction of the outputs of the comparators 36a and 36b..."),
wherein data of a voltage of the battery is supplied to one of a source and a drain of the first transistor (FIG1 drain of transistor SW leads to voltage supplied to battery, measured in detection circuit 14),
wherein the processing unit supplies signals to the gate of the first transistor and the gate of the second transistor to turn off the first transistor and the second transistor (¶0050 “ECU 7 turns off the voltage converter 4 and supplies the electric power discharged from the first battery B1”),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify Momo with the AC-DC converter wherein the control circuit comprises a sample-and-hold circuit which has a function of measuring and retaining data of a voltage of the battery, as taught by Matsuda for the purpose of, safely operating a DC power storage device for operating an electric vehicle and charging it using an AC power source. Momo as modified by Matsuda does not teach an operation method of a power storage device comprising a first sample-and-hold circuit and a second sample-and-hold circuit and wherein the first transistor and the second transistor each comprise an oxide semiconductor in a channel formation region.
Takahashi teaches a control circuit wherein the control circuit comprises a transistor comprising an oxide semiconductor in a channel formation region (¶0179 “The transistor 56B and the capacitor 58A form a sample-and-hold circuit”, the transistor is further defined ¶0410 “Top-gate self- aligned CAAC-IGZO FET stacked on a Si wafer. The top-gate self-aligned structure eliminated overlap between a top gate and a source or drain and reduced parasitic capacitance due to the overlap. This smaller parasitic capacitance can reduce charge injection and feedthrough and increase the sampling accuracy of a sample-and-hold circuit’).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing date, to modify the sample-and-hold circuit of the method of using a power storage device as taught by Momo wherein the control circuit is configured to measure data of a voltage of the battery and retain the data of the voltage of the battery as taught by Takahashi for the purpose of minimizing power loss allowing for more efficient charging of the electric vehicle. Momo as modified by Takahashi does not teach an operation method of a power storage device comprising a first sample-and-hold circuit and a second sample-and-hold circuit.
Vanderslice teaches an operation method of a power storage device comprising a battery, a control circuit, and a converter circuit (FIG 1 Battery 10, Temperature Control Circuit 16. 0002 "...DC charger 18 also has two control inputs: a high/low rate charge rate control input 20, and a charger enable control input 22..." these two control inputs have to be regulated using a step up/step down converter),
wherein the control circuit comprises a processing unit comprising a processor core (¶0005 temperature controller 16 has a programmable feature, necessitating a processor on the controller),
and data of a current of the battery is converted into a voltage and the voltage is supplied to one of a source and a drain of the second transistor (¶0005 " temperature controller 16 limits DC charger 18 to a low rate of charge using its input 20").
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing date, to modify the operation method of a power storage device as taught by Momo modified by Takahashi to include a second sample and hold circuit as taught by Vanderslice for the purpose of simultaneously and independently sampling voltage and current which allows for a more accurate temperature reading to improve safe operation of the battery.
Regarding claim 11, Momo as modified by Matsuda and Vanderslice teaches the operation method of the power storage device according to claim 10. Momo as modified by Matsuda and Vanderslice teaches an operation method of a power storage device wherein a second processing unit is included, wherein the data of the voltage of the battery and the data obtained by converting the data of the current of the battery into the voltage are converted from analog values into digital values and then supplied to the second processing unit (¶0245 “FIG. 12 is a circuit diagram of a configuration example of a coulomb counter”, ¶0256 “integrating circuit 253, the comparator 259 is used as an analog circuit that generates a signal corresponding to the voltage Vc, such an analog circuit is not limited to the comparator 259”),
wherein power supply to the processor core is stopped, and wherein the second processing unit calculates a remaining capacity of the battery (¶0250 “The transistor 257 functions as a switch to connect the node 260 and a node 261 to which a reference voltage VREF3 is input. Thus, the transistor 257 can function as a reset circuit that resets a voltage Vc at the node 260. On/off of the transistor 257 is controlled by a signal SET input to a gate of the transistor 257”).
Regarding claim 12, Momo as modified by Matsuda and Vanderslice teaches the operation method of the power storage device according to claim 10. Momo as modified by Matsuda and Vanderslice teaches an operation method of a power storage device wherein the converter circuit is configured to convert one or more of magnitudes and frequencies of a first voltage and a second voltage, wherein the first voltage is an AC voltage, wherein the second voltage is a DC voltage (¶0394 “electric vehicle 8020 includes a power storage device 8024 that can be charged and discharged… inverter unit 8026 can convert DC power input from the power storage device 8024 into three phase AC power, can adjust the voltage, current, and frequency of the converted AC power, and can output the AC power to the drive motor unit 8027”),
and wherein the converter circuit selects and converts the first voltage or the second voltage and supplies the converted voltage to the battery (¶0109 “converter 202 is connected to the power storage unit 201 and the circuit 203”, ¶0119 “switch 208 has a function of controlling conduction between the power supply 205 and the converter 202”).
Regarding claim 13, Momo as modified by Matsuda and Vanderslice teaches the operation method of the power storage device according to claim 12. Momo as modified by Matsuda and Vanderslice teaches an operation method of a power storage device wherein the second voltage is a voltage generated by a solar cell (¶0401 “a solar cell may be provided in an exterior of the moving object to charge the power storage device 8024 when the electric vehicle is stopped or driven”).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LISA KOTOWSKI/Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/JULIAN D HUFFMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859