Response to Amendment
The RCE filed on 6/15/26 has been entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9-13, 30-44 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Walthert et al (US PG Pub No. 2016/0339990) in view of Rhode et al (US PG Pub No. 2015/0314663)
Regarding claim 9 and 35, Walthert teaches A vehicle comprising:
one or more systems; (60 figure 1 and 46 figure 1 paragraph 102-104)
a localization system configured to determine a location of the vehicle; and (paragraph 25 and 145)
one or more processors configured to:
identify a road feature disposed along a path of travel of the vehicle; (paragraph 26)
determine a velocity of the vehicle; (paragraph 28 and 58; take into account travel speed the damper settings can be adjusted precisely; paragraph 115 travel speed)
determine a probability of encountering the road feature based at least in part on the velocity of the vehicle; and (paragraph 26; derive the probability value for riding over ID hazard and if the probability is exceeded to adjust shock absorber… “to get ready” for hazard)
control the one or more systems based at least in part on the determined probability of encountering the road feature (paragraph 26 adjust shock to get ready for hazard).
Walthert does not explicitly teach however Rhode teaches determining a probability of encountering the road feature based at least in part on the velocity of the vehicle and based at least in part on outcomes of previous traversals of the path of travel of the vehicle (paragraph 8 615 figure 6 paragraph 26 may apply suspension profile for next time it encounters first road feature. 620-630; paragraph 29 apply suspension profile next time which encounters 2nd prod feature… location GPS of road feature paragraph 8 and abstract)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Walthert based on the teachings of Rhode to teach determining a probability of encountering the road feature based at least in part on the velocity of the vehicle and based at least in part on outcomes of previous traversals of the path of travel of the vehicle. The motivation would be to improve ride quality by adjusting the operation of vehicle suspension system (Rhode paragraph 8)
Regarding claim 10, Walthert teaches determining the probability of encountering the road feature as a function of based on the velocity of the vehicle includes obtaining a model of the probability of encountering the road feature as a function of the velocity (paragraph 57 a correction factor may for example be provided for computing the distance between front wheel and hazard. Paragraph 58 travel speed taken into account. Paragraph 59 model also look ahead hazard of root to store suspension travel is a model of probability of encountering road feature paragraph 61, 10 and 20).
Regarding claim 11, Walthert teaches wherein determining the probability of encountering the road feature includes determining the probability of encountering the road feature based on the velocity of the vehicle and the model (paragraph 56 controlling is done for example in a sense of characteristic map).
Regarding claim 12, Walthert teaches wherein the model is a lookup table or fitted function (paragraph 56 and 57 filtered function is a correction factor or paragraph 56 characteristic map is a model).
Regarding claim 13, Walthert teaches wherein the one or more systems include a semi-active suspension system or an active suspension system (paragraph 26 adjust shock absorber figure 1 100 and 46).
Regarding claim 30, Waltert teaches wherein determining a probability of encountering the road feature based on the velocity of the vehicle comprises aggregating instances of hits and misses of the road feature (paragraph 59 look ahead ID allows to store suspension travel in front of hazard so that available travel is safely sufficient; probability is high and imminent paragraph 26).
Regarding claim 31, Waltert teaches wherein the instances of hits and misses of the road feature include crowd-sourced data (paragraph 145 enables analysis and comparison with other team members or friends against earlier rides).
Regarding claim 32, Waltert teaches wherein the instances of hits and misses of the road feature include previous traversals of the road feature by the vehicle (paragraph 143-145).
Regarding claim 33, Waltert teaches wherein determining a probability of encountering the road feature based on the velocity of the vehicle comprises determining that the vehicle has exceeded a threshold velocity corresponding with a low probably of encountering the road feature (paragraph 26 threshold velocity is high and probability is exceeded so therefore not low… “get ready” for hazard).
Regarding claim 34, Waltert teaches wherein determining a probability of encountering the road feature based on the velocity of the vehicle comprises determining a velocity range corresponding to the velocity of the vehicle (paragraph 50; near zone is dependent on speed in under 1 second… and that speed range varies based on terrain).
Regarding claims 36-44, see rejection to claims 10-13, 30-34 as the limitations are substantially similar.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 9 and 35 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/GEORGE C JIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3747