DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 10/24/2025 is acknowledged.
Applicant's election with traverse of species in the reply filed on 10/24/2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that SEQ ID NO: 75 has significant overlap with elected SEQ ID NO: 934, thus can be examined together. This is found persuasive.
The species election requirement is withdrawn and in view of the withdrawal of the species restriction requirement, if any claim presented in a divisional application includes all the limitations of a claim that is allowable in the parent application, such claim may be subject to a double patenting rejection over the claims of the parent application. Once a restriction requirement is withdrawn, the provisions of 35 U.S.C. 121 are no longer applicable.
Claims 5-8, 11-12, 15, 18-19, 21, 25-27, 28-29, 31-33, 34-35 are pending.
Claims 5-8, 11-12, 15, 18-19, 21, 25-27, 34-35 are examined here. Claims 28-29, 31-33 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse for the group election in the reply filed on 10/24/2025.
Priority
The application claims benefit to US Provisional 62/929,602, filed on 11/01/2019, via its PCT/US2020/058309, filed on 10/30/2020.
The later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention which is also disclosed in the prior application (the parent or original nonprovisional application or provisional application). The disclosure of the invention in the parent application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, except for the best mode requirement. See Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting, Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994).
The disclosure of the prior-filed application, Application No. ‘602, fails to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application. ‘602 does not disclose the SEQ ID NO: 934, but SEQ ID NO: 75 is disclosed in ‘602. Remarks point out that SEQ ID NO: 934 is not identical as instant SEQ ID NO: 74.
Thus, claim 5 and its dependents enjoy the benefit of filing date of its PCT submission, which discloses the recited SEQ ID NOs, 10/30/2020.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/29/2022 and 07/13/2023 were filed before the mailing date of the first Office Action. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 35 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 35 is rejected for multiple reasons.
Claim 35 depends on a canceled claim, thus is indefinite.
Further claim 35 recites a modified siRNA complex (screenshot of relevant SEQ ID NOs from Table 9A, pg. 191, is below) and a claim has to be complete in itself and thus the modified sequence needs to be recited in the claim along with designation of each abbreviation of nucleotide monomers used in the nucleic acid sequence.
In the interest of compact prosecution, claim 35 will be interpreted to depend on claim 34, while the SEQ ID NO: 916 and 922 will be understood to comprise the modification as noted on the abbreviation designation on pg. 169-170.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Section 33(a) of the America Invents Act reads as follows:
Notwithstanding any other provision of law, no patent may issue on a claim directed to or encompassing a human organism.
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 and section 33(a) of the America Invents Act as being directed to or encompassing a human organism. See also Animals - Patentability, 1077 Off. Gaz. Pat. Office 24 (April 21, 1987) (indicating that human organisms are excluded from the scope of patentable subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101).
Claim 26 recites a cell containing the dsRNA agent of claim 5. The claim encompasses cells in a human organism and the human organism itself. The specification provides that a human subject is administered and treated with the claimed dsRNA agent (see pg. 2, line 9-11), thus cells of the human subject will comprise the claimed dsRNA agent.
Amending the claim to an isolated cell or a cell in vitro or ex vivo will be remedial.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 5, 6, 7, 8, 11, 21, 25, 26, 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Khvorova et al. (US Pat. 8090542, Issued 01/03/2012, referred as Khvorova).
The dsRNA agent comprises the antisense strand and sense strands, SEQ ID NO: 934, with the sequence aaagaauucu uucacuuccu ccc (23 nt.), and SEQ ID NO: 928, with the sequence gaggaaguga aagaauucuu u (21 nt.), respectively. Antisense strand SEQ ID NO: 75 is auaagaauuc uuucacuucc ucc and its complementary sense strand is SEQ ID NO: 74 is aggaagugaa agaauucuua u (21 nt.).
Khvorova discloses functional and hyperfunctional siRNAs, and one of the SEQ ID NOs disclosed is 1129964. Khvorova discloses that all siRNAs duplexes of 19-mers are referred to by the sense strand; and are in 5’-3’ sense strand direction (Col. 35, line 15-17). SEQ ID NO: 1129964 is the following sense strand: aggaggaagug aaagauuua (see alignment below between instant SEQ ID NO: 928 (“Qy”) and SEQ ID NO: 1129964 (“Db”). The contiguous 17 nt. sequence has 1 mismatch with 16 matches (relevant to instant cl. 6).
Qy 1 GAGGAAGUGAAAGAAUU 17
|||||||||||||| ||
Db 3 GAGGAAGUGAAAGAUUU 19
Further, Khvorova discloses that the siRNA duplex of 19-mer has antisense strand that has position 19 that corresponds to sense strand at position 1 from 5’ end, thus the antisense is fully complementary to SEQ ID NO: 1129964 and would have at least 15 contiguous nucleotides of instant SEQ ID NO: 934 with 1 mismatch as noted above (see alignment below between instant SEQ ID NO: 934 (“Qy”) and antisense strand of SEQ ID NO: 1129664 (“Db”), relevant to instant cl. 5).
Qy 5 AAUUCUUUCACUUCCUCC 22
|| |||||||||||||||
Db 2 AAAUCUUUCACUUCCUCC 19
Although Khvorova does not disclose siRNA targeting the DNAJB1-PRKACA fusion product, the inherent function of the siRNA duplex is to target a region of DNAJB1-PRKACA transcript, i.e. specifically the antisense strand will bind to its complementary sequence on the mRNA transcript; thus the siRNA duplex comprising SEQ ID NO: 1129964 will bind to DNAJB1-PRKACA transcript to knock-down its expression (relevant to instant cl. 5).
Regarding instant cl. 7 and 8, Khvorova demonstrates siRNAs modified with 2’-O-methyl group (Fig. 8a, Col. 7, line 31-36).
Regarding instant cl. 11, Khvorova discloses that siRNA can be coupled to a conjugate or ligands, including moieties, to facilitate its uptake (Col. 35, line 29-33) ; corresponding to the ligand of cl. 11.
Regarding instant cl. 21, Khvorova discloses a siRNA as a 19-mer, i.e. each strand is 19 nt.
Regarding instant cl. 25, Khvorova discloses siRNA to include non-natural phosphodiester linkages, such as phosphorothioates (Col. 12, line 8-9).
Regarding instant cl. 26, Khvorova demonstrates the function of siRNAs by transfecting them into culture cells to target various transcripts (see Example XIV, Col. 160, line 51-59) , none are DNAJB1-PRKACA gene.
Regarding instant cl. 27, Khvorova discloses that siRNAs can be used with lipid-based carriers, cationic carriers and microinjection and can be dissolved in buffer or simply formulating in a physiological acceptable solution (Col. 33, line 35-36).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12, 15, 18, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khvorova et al. (US Pat. 8090542, Issued 01/03/2012, referred as Khvorova) as applied to claim 5, 6, 7, 8, 11, 21, 25, 26, 27 above, and further in view of Nair et al. (2014, J. of Am. Chem. Soc., 136, 16958-16961).
The disclosure of rejection of cl. 5, 6, 7, 8, 11, 21, 25, 26, 27 is noted above.
Khvorova does not disclose the triantennary GalNAc ligand modified at the 3’ sense strand of the siRNA and as shown in claim 19.
Nair discloses a N-acetylgalactosamine (GalNAc)-conjugated siRNA localizes in hepatocytes and elicits robust RNAi mediated gene silencing (title). Nair synthesized GalNAc-conjugated siRNAs that had nucleotide comprising 2’-deoxy-2’-fluoro (2F) and 2’-O-methyl (2OMe) sugar modifications along with phosphorothioate modifications (see Table 1, pg. 16959). Nair conjugated the triantennary-GalNAc at the 3’ end of the sense strand (pg. 16959, Table 1; relevant to instant cl. 12, 15). Nair discloses the conjugation as diagrammed below (relevant to instant cl. 18, 19):
Fig. 2 of Nair discloses that the siRNA conjugated to triantennary-GalNAc ligand (GalNAc3) was robust in its uptake compared to other types of ligands tested when incubated with isolated primary mouse hepatocytes, which have the asialoglycoprotein receptors (ASGPRs) for the efficient GalNAc binding (pg. 16959, 16960).
One of the KSR rationale that may be used to support a conclusion of obviousness is that there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified siRNA duplex comprising SEQ ID NO: 1129964 in view of Nair and arrive at the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success. Based on improved uptake of siRNAs with triantennary GalNAc into hepatocytes of Nair, a skilled artisan would modify any of the siRNAs of Khvorova, including siRNA comprising SEQ ID NO: 1129964, for improved uptake into hepatocytes. Thus, cl. 12, 15, 18, 19 are obvious.
Claims 5 and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Graham et al. (2015, Modern Pathology, 28, 822-829), Kasashima et al. (2004, Biochimie, 86, 713-721) and Khvorova et al. (US Pat. 8090542, Issued 01/03/2012, referred as Khvorova).
The dsRNA agent comprises the antisense strand and sense strand, SEQ ID NO: 934, with the sequence, aaagaauucu uucacuuccu ccc (23 nt.) and SEQ ID NO: 928, with the sequence gaggaaguga aagaauucuu u (21 nt.), respectively. siRNA of SEQ ID NO: 928 and 934, comprises 2 nt. overhang of CC at the 3’ end of the longer antisense strand. Antisense strand SEQ ID NO: 75 is auaagaauuc uuucacuucc ucc and its complementary sense strand is SEQ ID NO: 74 is aggaagugaa agaauucuua u (21 nt.).
Graham demonstrates that DNAJB1-PRKACA (DP) fusion transcript was found in all fibrolamellar carcinomas, a subtype of hepatocellular carcinoma that predominantly affects young patients, but not in other tumor types (abstract). Further Graham discloses that the fusion transcript DNAJB1 exon 1 followed by PRKACA exon 2 and PRKACA exons at the 3’ end forming the novel chimera (pg. 823). Fig. 1c provides the contiguous 19 nt. fusion point sequence between the DNAJB1 exon 1 and PRKACA exon 2 (see below, the sequence is 5’-GGGAGGAAGtgaaagaatt, the upper case letters represent the DNAJB1 exon1, while lower case letters represent PRKACA exon 2).
Kasashima discloses a chimeric/fusion transcript AML1-MTG8 that causes acute myeloid leukemia (AML). Kasashima to further understand the chimeric/fusion transcript and if the fusion transcript knock-down could be used for therapeutic purposes, designed siRNAs to specifically target the region that represents a fusion point between AML1 and MTG8b, see Fig. 1A below from Kasashima.
In the hopes of knocking down the expression of fusion transcript (AML1-MTG8), Kasashima prepared several kinds of siRNAs targeting a 25-nucleotide region spanning the fusion point of AML1 and MTG8; siRNAs that consisted of double-stranded RNAs with 21-24 nucleotides in length, containing two nt. 3’ overhangs (dT) on each strand (pg. 716). Kasashima also disclosed designing siRNAs with a single or double mismatches and with various 2 nt. overhangs, dTdT, CT, GG (see Fig. 1B). Kasashima demonstrated knock-down of fusion AML1-MTG8 transcript (Fig. 1B, pg. 715) along with knocking-down protein expression (Fig. 1C/1D, pg. 715). Except for 1 siRNA (AM3s2), nine siRNAs, including the ones with mismatches, reduced expression of transcript levels at various potencies (see Fig. 1B).
The KSR’s “obvious to try” rationale for supporting conclusion of obviousness requires the following three findings:
(1) a finding that at the relevant time, there had been a recognized problem or need in the art, which may include a design need or market pressure to solve a problem; (2) a finding that there had been a finite number of identified, predictable potential solutions to the recognized need or problem; (3) a finding that one of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued the known potential solutions with a reasonable expectation of success.
Here, the recognized problem disclosed by Graham is that DP chimeric transcript was found in all fibrolamellar carcinoma, a carcinoma that predominantly affects young patients. Kasashima provides a method to design a finite number of identified, predictable siRNAs to target a chimeric transcript along its fusion point. Based on the observation of Graham and methodology of Kasashima, a skilled artisan could have a pursued designing reasonable number of siRNAs of various lengths (21-24 nt.) and targeting various sequences of the fusion point region of DP chimeric transcript to combat fibrolamellar carcinoma or attempt to understand its role in fibrolamellar carcinoma.
Here, Graham discloses that the sequence in the fusion point region of DP transcript comprises GGGAGGAAGtgaaagaatt, the upper case letters as DNAJB1 portion of the DP fusion transcript, while the lower case letters representing the PRKACA portion. The sequence is 19 nt. in length. Thus, a canonical antisense strand of 19 nt. would be aauucuuucacuuccuccc (see alignment between instant SEQ ID NO: 934 and Graham sequence, showing 19 nt. that are ) and its sense strand is gggaggaagugaaagaauu; thus representing a contiguous 19 nt. with 0 mismatches (relevant to instant cl. 5).
SEQ ID NO: 934 5 AAUUCUUUCACUUCCUCCC 23
|||||||||||||||||||
Graham-based 1 AAUUCUUUCACUUCCUCCC 19
Further, based on the GenbankTM accession numbers of DNAJB1 (NM_006145.1) and PRKACA (NM_002730.3), a skilled artisan can make siRNAs comprising 21-24 nt. strands along with 2 nt. overhang; thus a 24 nt. or 23 nt. in length would comprise the 23 nt. of instant SEQ ID NOs: 934 and 928 (relevant to instant cl. 34).
Here, the instant siRNA has a blunt end at one end, and a 2 nt. (CC) overhang at the 3’ end of the antisense strand. Khvorova discloses siRNAs of 19-mers, which were blunt ended, and discloses that Dicer enzyme processes the dsRNA into 19-23 base pair short interfering RNAs with characteristic two base 3’ overhangs (Col. 2, line 26-28). Thus, as provided in Kasashima 2 nt. overhang bases can vary, siRNA designated “AM4” comprises an antisense strand with two guanine bases overhangs at the 3’ end, while others had the canonical dTs overhang, yet siRNA AM4 was potent in inhibiting the target transcript (Fig. 1B, 715). Thus, blunt ends or varying bases of the overhangs do not appear to affect the overall inhibition of the transcript, and therefore variance in the overhang nucleotides is not a patentable distinction.
One of the KSR rationale that may be used to support a conclusion of obviousness is obvious to try. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teaching of Graham in view of Kasashima and Khvorova and arrive at the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success. Based on the observation of Graham that all fibrolamellar carcinoma have DP fusion transcript and methodology of Kasashima and Khvorova in designing siRNAs to target the fusion point region of the DP fusion transcript, a skilled artisan could have pursued designing a reasonable number of siRNAs of various lengths (21-24 nt.), comprising two bases overhangs, and targeting various fusion point regions of DP chimeric transcript to combat fibrolamellar carcinoma or attempt to understand its role in fibrolamellar carcinoma. Thus, SEQ ID NOs: 934/928 are obvious and cl. 5, 34 are obvious.
Claim 35 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Graham et al. (2015, Modern Pathology, 28, 822-829), Kasashima et al. (2004, Biochimie, 86, 713-721) and Khvorova et al. (US Pat. 8090542, Issued 01/03/2012, referred as Khvorova) as applied to claims 5, 34 above, and further in view of Foster et al. (2018, Molecular Therapy, 26, pg. 708-717), and as evidenced by Nair et al. (2014, J. of Am. Chem. Soc., 136, 16958-16961).
The modified SEQ ID NO: 916 (sense) and 922 (antisense), and 42 (sense) and 43 (antisense) are as noted below, from spec. Table 9A.
Disclosure of rejections of claims 5 and 34 are noted above.
Graham, Kasashima and Khvorova do not disclose the modified pattern of instant SEQ ID NO: 916/922.
Foster discloses that a conjugated “chemically modified, metabolically stable siRNAs to a synthetic triantennary N-acetylgalactosamine (GalNAc) ligand, represents a promising approach for safe and effective targeted delivery of RNAi therapeutics to hepatocytes in vivo” (pg. 708). Foster demonstrates substantial efficacy improvements can be achieved by optimizing the position of 2F and 2OMe modifications across both the strands of the dsRNA siRNA duplex to enhance stability without comprising intrinsic RNAi activity (abstract). Foster highlights that modifying the 2’ position of RNA can significantly enhance the stability of oligonucleotides and that the bulky 2OMe has a greater stabilizing effect than the less bulky 2F modification, however, steric bulk, “if not applied judiciously” results in reduction of RNAi activity (pg. 708). Before conducting bench studies, they conducted an in silico analysis based on a dataset of 1,890 duplexes with varying 2F and 2OMe composition across five targets and 15 target sites. The in silico results describing impact of 2F relative to 2OMe at each position in the antisense strand (AS) and sense strand (SS) was generated (Foster’s fig. 1A, B is provided below, and indicates “Negative numbers indicate activity improvement with inclusion of 2’-F relative to 2’-OMe at that position, positive numbers reflect decreased activity. Asterisks (*) indicate significant differences between 2’-F and 2’-OMe at the noted positions” (pg. 709, 710, Fig. 1).
Foster also reduced the overall numbers of 2F with the rationale that 2OMe significantly enhances nuclease stability thus having a greater stabilizing effect while still maintaining inhibitory activity (pg. 708).
Foster: Fig. 1A, B, pg. 710.
Reviewing Foster’s sense strand data of Fig. 1B, it appears that although there are significant inhibition differences between 2OMe and 2F at various positions, except for position 11 of sense strand (Fig. 1B), which has a strong (and a significant) preference for 2F, there is not a strong preference for 2OMe or 2F along the sense strand. Here, both instant sense strand has a 2F at position 11. Similarly reviewing the antisense strand data of Fig. 1A, there is a strong (and significant) preference for 2F at pos. 2 and 14, and a strong preference for 2OMe at position 21. Here instant antisense strand has 2F at pos. 2 and 14. Using the in silico data as a starting point, Foster tested various sense and antisense strands pattern modifications in vitro and in vivo with the aim to identify an optimal 2OMe and 2F modification pattern, while maintaining a low 2F content, across a siRNA targeting a murine transthyretin gene (abstract, Fig. 1C, D, and other figures). Thus, it is known in the art to modify the nt. positions of 2OMe and 2F on a siRNA to identify a modification pattern(s) that improves stability and maintains or increases activity.
Regarding PS linkages, Foster introduced PS linkages in the antisense strand between position 1 and 2, 2 and 3, 21 and 22 and 22 and 23 and for sense strands, between position 1 and 2 and 2 and 3 from 5’ end (all nt. positions are from 5’ end unless indicated otherwise). Foster discloses that PS linkages provide additional protection against 3’ and 5’ exonucleases and thus are placed at terminal ends (pg. 708). Thus modifying the PS linkage content is known in the art.
Regarding L96, Foster discloses that GalNAc ligand was introduced at the 3’ end of the sense strand as described in Nair et al. (as illustrated above, L96 is identical the triantennary structure of Nair disclosed above for cl. 19).
The KSR’s “obvious to try” rationale for supporting conclusion of obviousness requires the following three findings: (1) a finding that at the relevant time, there had been a recognized problem or need in the art, which may include a design need or market pressure to solve a problem; (2) a finding that there had been a finite number of identified, predictable potential solutions to the recognized need or problem; (3) a finding that one of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued the known potential solutions with a reasonable expectation of success. Foster indicates placement of a bulky 2OMe modification provides an improved nuclease stability compared to a less bulky 2F modification, and with the aims of keeping a low level of 2F modification, identifies optimal 2OMe and 2F modification pattern for the genes tested by testing numerous siRNAs with different modification patterns of 2OMe and 2F.
Foster tested the finite number of 2’-sugar modifications using 2OME and 2F to identify the optimal modification pattern comprising 2OMe and 2F modifications.
One of the KSR rationale that may be used to support a conclusion of obviousness is obvious to try. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have tried modifying sequences as taught by Graham, Kasashima, and Khvorova in view of Foster with a reasonable expectation of success. Because Foster discloses that a siRNA that is fully modified and conjugated to a targeting moiety is needed for a safe and effective targeted delivery of a siRNA and demonstrates testing 2OMe and 2F modifications positions across a siRNA to identify a modification pattern with desired siRNA activity, and Graham teaches that all fibrolamellar carcinoma have DP fusion transcript and Kasashima teach a methodology in designing siRNAs to target the fusion point region of the DP fusion transcript, and Khvorova teach an siRNA with either a blunt or overhang ends, a skilled artisan with these known, finite options would expect that these modifications would successfully result in identifying a stable siRNA targeting the DP fusion transcript at its fusion point region and comprising sequences of instant SEQ ID NO: 916/922 with an optimal modification pattern comprising 2OMe and 2F and phosphorothioate at either ends. Thus claim 35 is obvious.
Allowable Subject Matter
No claim allowed.
Conclusion
/KEYUR A VYAS/Examiner, Art Unit 1637
/Soren Harward/Primary Examiner, TC 1600